States have until Aug. 30 to apply for a total of $2 million that can be used for education and enforcement initiatives in 22 focus cities where pedestrian deaths are greater than the national average. The 22 cities are:

Atlanta, GA
Dallas, TX
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Ft. Worth, TX
Houston, TX
Jacksonville, FL
Louisville, KY
Miami, FL
Newark, NJ
New Orleans, LA
New York City NY
Orlando, FL
Philadelphia, PA
Phoenix, AZ
Los Angeles, CA
San Antonio, TX
San Diego, CA
St. Louis, MO
San Francisco, CA
Stockton, CA
Tulsa, OK
Washington, DC

Applications must be submitted to NHTSA Contract Specialist, Wendell V. Crowder, at, or Attn: Wendell V. Crowder or 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., Room W53-405, Washington, D.C., 20590. All applications submitted must include a reference to NHTSA Cooperative Agreement Program Number DTNH22-13-R-00728, no later than 2:00 P.M Eastern Time August 30, 2013.

>> More Details on Submission Process
>> Back to News Release