Attempted Purchase/Purchase of Alcohol by Minors

 
Attempted
Purchase by Minors
Purchase
by Minors
EXCEPTIONS
Employment
Student
Religious
Services
Medical
Treatment
Parent/Guardian/
Custodian
Consent/Presence
Spouse
Consent/Presence
Law Enforce-ment
Alabama
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Alaska
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Arizona
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Arkansas
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
California
 
 
 
 
 
 
Colorado
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Connecticut
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Delaware3
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
District of Columbia
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Florida
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Georgia
 
 
 
 
 
Hawaii
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Idaho
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Illinois4
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Indiana5
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Iowa
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Kansas6
 
 
 
 
 
 
Kentucky
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Louisiana
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Maine
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Maryland
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Massachusetts
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Michigan7
 
 
 
 
 
 
Minnesota8
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mississippi
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Missouri
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Montana
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Nebraska
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Nevada
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
New Hampshire
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
New Jersey
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
New Mexico
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
New York9
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
North Carolina
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
North Dakota
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Ohio
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Oklahoma
 
 
 
 
 
Oregon10
 
 
 
 
 
 
Pennsylvania
 
 
 
 
 
 
Rhode Island
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
South Carolina
 
 
 
 
 
 
South Dakota
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Tennessee
 
 
 
 
 
 
Texas
 
 
 
 
 
 
Utah
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Vermont11
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Virginia
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Washington12
 
 
 
 
 
 
West Virginia
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wisconsin
 
 
 
 
 
Wyoming
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
State Totals
36
47
1
2
1
2
2
1
13

3Delaware does not have a statute that specifically prohibits attempted purchase or purchase but does prohibit “obtaining” alcohol in connection with making a false statement.

4Illinois's exception allows minors to purchase or possess alcohol if they are participating in a licensee “sting operation.”

5Indiana does not have a statute that specifically prohibits attempted purchase or purchase, but does prohibit attempted purchase or purchase in connection with making a false statement of age. Enforcement officials indicated that they use the possession statute or law prohibiting minors in taverns.

6Kansas's exception allows minors to “violate the provisions of the Kansas Liquor Control Act” if they are under the direction of a licensee self-compliance program.

7Michigan's exception allows minors to “purchase or receive” alcohol as a part of an undercover operation by direction of an employer.

8Minnesota's exception allows attempted purchase or purchase by minors if they are supervised by a person 21 years or older for “training, education, or research purposes.”

9New York does not have a statute that specifically prohibits attempted purchase or purchase but does prohibit attempted purchase or purchase through “fraudulent means.”

10Oregon's exception indicates that its prohibitions do not apply to minors who are acting under the direction of a licensee for the purpose of investigating possible violations by the licensee's employees of laws prohibiting sales to minors.

11Vermont does not have a statute that specifically prohibits attempted purchase or purchase but does prohibit “procuring” or “attempting to procure” alcohol in connection with false representations of age.

12Washington's exception allows minors 18 years and older to purchase alcohol if they are participating in employer self-compliance checks.
back to main page