13California's exception allows possession when a minor is making a delivery by order of a parent, relative, or another adult designated by the parent.
14Colorado's exception requires the knowledge and consent of the owner of the private property when minors possess or consume alcohol (in addition to the consent or presence of a parent or guardian). Also, it is an affirmative defense to illegal possession or consumption that existence of ethyl alcohol in a minor's body is due solely to ingested confectionery or a beverage that contained less than 0.5 percent of ethyl alcohol by weight.
15Delaware's exception includes “members of the same family” and allows possession or consumption in the “private home of any of said members.”
16Idaho's exception allows possession of beer or wine when the minor is making a delivery by order of his or her parent.
17Illinois's exception allows minors to purchase or possess if they are part of a licensee's “sting operation.”
18Kansas's exception allows minors to “violate the provisions of the Kansas Liquor Control Act” if they are under the direction of a licensee's self-compliance program.
19Maryland's exception allows possession or consumption of alcohol by minors if an adult member of their immediate family allows it.
20Michigan's exception allows minors to “purchase or receive” alcohol as a part of an undercover operation by direction of an employer.
21New Jersey's exception allows possession or consumption of alcohol by minors with the permission of and in the presence of a relative 21 years or older.
22Oregon's exception indicates that its prohibitions do not apply to minors who are acting under the direction of a licensee for the purpose of investigating possible violations by the licensee's employees of laws prohibiting sales to minors.
23Wyoming's exception allows a minor licensee to possess alcohol.