Keg Registration

 
Keg Registration
Provision
 
Keg Definition:
Minimum Number of Gallons
 
Purchaser Information 
Type of Identification Label 
Identifi-cation 
Driver’s
License
 
Car
Registration
 
Keg Consumption Location 
Form Specified 
ABC Issued 
Approved by ABC 
Alabama
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Alaska
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Arizona
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Arkansas
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
California36
6
 
 
 
Colorado
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Connecticut36
6
 
 
 
 
 
Delaware
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
District of Columbia
4
 
 
 
 
Florida
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Georgia36
2
 
 
Hawaii
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Idaho
7.75
 
 
 
 
 
Illinois
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Indiana
7.75
 
 
 
 
 
 
Iowa
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Kansas
4
 
 
 
 
Kentucky
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Louisiana
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Maine37
7.75
 
 
 
 
Maryland
4
 
 
 
 
Massachusetts38
2
 
 
 
 
Michigan
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Minnesota
7
 
 
 
 
 
 
Mississippi
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Missouri
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Montana
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Nebraska
5
 
 
 
 
Nevada
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
New Hampshire
7
 
 
 
 
New Jersey
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
New Mexico
More
than 6
 
 
 
 
New York
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
North Carolina
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
North Dakota39
6
 
 
 
 
 
Ohio40
5
 
 
 
 
 
Oklahoma
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Oregon
7
 
 
Pennsylvania
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Rhode Island
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
South Carolina
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
South Dakota41
8 or 16
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Tennessee
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Texas
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Utah42
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Vermont43
5
 
 
 
 
 
Virginia
4
 
 
 
 
Washington
4
 
 
 
 
West Virginia
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wisconsin
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wyoming
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
State Totals
22
 
16
8
2
4
13
10
3

36In California, Connecticut, and Georgia, a deposit is required to obtain a keg, but the deposit amount is not specified.

37In Maine, a deposit of up to $50 is required.

38In Massachusetts, there are two types of fees required: (1) a container fee of not less than $10 for each keg of six or more gallons and not less than $1 for each container of less than six gallons; (2) a registration fee of $10 for each keg of six or more gallons and $4.00 for each keg of less than six gallons.

39North Dakota is the only state that specifies the type of ink to be used on the keg label.

40In Ohio, keg registration is mandatory only if five or more kegs are being purchased.

41South Dakota statute 35-1-11 defines a keg as “an eight or sixteen gallon reusable plastic or metal container.”

42In Utah, “a person may not sell, offer to sell, or otherwise furnish or supply beer to the general public in containers larger than two liters. This does not preclude licensed beer wholesalers from selling, offering to sell, or otherwise furnishing or supplying beer in containers larger than two liters to beer retailers authorized by this title to dispense beer on draft for consumption on the beer retailer's licensed premises.” In addition, “a person may not purchase or possess beer in containers larger than two liters unless that person is a beer retailer authorized by this title to dispense beer on draft for consumption on the beer retailer's licensed premises.”

43In Vermont, a $25 deposit is required.
back to main page