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IMPAIRED DRIVING IN MAINE

INCIDENCE OF IMPAIRED DRIVING
For one of every 160 miles driven in Maine in 2000, a person with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) >.08 sat
behind the wheel. Police in Maine reported 1,781 crashes involving a driver or pedestrian with a BAC of .01 or more.
Formulas developed by NHTSA were used to estimate the number of alcohol-related crashes where alcohol
involvement was not reported by the police. An estimated total of 10,700 crashes in Maine involved alcohol which killed
51 and injured an estimated 3,600 people.

Impaired Driving by Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)
In 2000, Maine drivers with:
• BACs of .10 and above were involved in an estimated 10,200 crashes that killed 38 and injured 3,200
• BACs between .08-.09 were involved in an estimated 200 crashes that killed 4 and injured 100
• Positive BACs below .08 were involved in an estimated 300 crashes that killed 9 and injured 300

COSTS
Alcohol is a factor in 23% of Maine’s crash costs. Alcohol-related crashes in Maine cost the public an estimated $0.5
billion in 2000, including $0.2 billion in monetary costs and almost $0.3 billion in quality of life losses. (For definitions of
the cost categories, see the definitions fact sheet.) Alcohol-related crashes are deadlier and more serious than other
crashes. People other than the drinking driver paid $0.3 billion of the alcohol-related crash bill.

Costs per Alcohol-Related Injury
The average alcohol-related fatality in Maine costs $3.7 million:
• $1.1 million in monetary costs
• $2.6 million in quality of life losses

The estimated cost per injured survivor of an alcohol-related crash averaged $107,000:
• $50,000 in monetary costs
• $57,000 in quality of life losses

Costs per Mile Driven
Crash costs in Maine averaged:
• $4.70 per mile driven at BACs of .10 and above
• $2.00 per mile driven at BACs between .08-.09
• $0.10 per mile driven at BACs of .00

Costs per Drink
The societal costs of alcohol-related crashes in Maine
averaged $0.90 per drink consumed. People other than the
drinking driver paid $0.50 per drink.

Impact on Auto Insurance Rates
Alcohol-related crashes accounted for an estimated 22% of
Maine’s auto insurance payments. Reducing alcohol-related
crashes by 10% would save $10 million in claims payments
and loss adjustment expenses.
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PREVENTION SAVINGS OF IMPAIRED DRIVING MEASURES
Maine already has many important impaired driving laws. They are saving money and lives. The estimates that follow
describe the expected costs and savings, given Maine’s prices and impaired driving rates. The estimates assume Maine’s
laws achieve average U.S. effectiveness levels.

Administrative License Revocation: Laws that allow police or driver licensing authorities to revoke a driver’s
license swiftly and automatically for refusing or failing a BAC test have reduced alcohol-related fatalities by
6.5% on average and saved an estimated $66,100 per driver sanctioned. The value of the driver’s lost mobility is
the large majority of the estimated $3,300 cost per driver sanctioned. Reinstatement fees assessed to offenders
typically cover start-up and operating costs.

Zero Tolerance Law: Laws like Maine’s that make it illegal for persons under 21 to drive with a positive BAC
have reduced impaired-driving fatalities by 4% on average. Per licensed youth driver, this law cost
approximately $40 and yields net savings of $900. Medical care cost savings alone exceed the intervention cost.
The primary cost is the value of mobility lost by youth who are forced to reduce their drinking or driving.

.08 BAC Law: A well-publicized State law lowering driver BAC limits to .08 can potentially reduce alcohol-
related fatalities by an average of 7%. On average, Maine’s .08 law saves an estimated $50 per licensed driver.
The value of mobility losses and alcohol sales reductions resulting from the law are the large majority of the
estimated $3.50 cost per licensed driver.

Minimum Legal Drinking Age (MLDA): To reduce alcohol-related fatal crashes among youth, Maine has
adopted a MLDA of 21. It saves an estimated $700 per youthful driver. The loss of liquor sales is the large
majority of the $200 cost per youthful driver.

POTENTIAL SAVINGS FROM FURTHER PREVENTION EFFORTS
A number of additional strategies can mitigate the harm from impaired driving. The following paragraphs estimate the
potential savings, in Maine’s prices, if other proven impaired driving prevention measures were widely implemented in
Maine.

Intensive Sobriety Checkpoint Program: Intensive enforcement of Maine State BAC limits with highly visible
sobriety checkpoints would reduce alcohol-related fatalities by at least 15% and saves approximately $76,400
per checkpoint. Including police resources, costs of travel delay and the value of mobility losses by impaired
drivers apprehended and sanctioned, the costs of conducting a checkpoint average about $10,800.

Graduated Licensing: Graduated licensing is a three-stage program that involves a learner’s permit,
intermediate (provisional) license, and full licensure. To advance between stages, young drivers are required to
demonstrate responsible driving behavior. Graduated licensing with a midnight curfew could reduce youth
fatalities by at least 5% and total alcohol-related fatalities by 2%. If implemented, savings could amount to an
estimated $600 per youthful driver  in Maine. The value of the mobility lost by youth is the large majority of the
estimated $80 cost per youthful driver.

Enforcing Serving Intoxicated Patrons Law: Using undercover police officers to enforce the State law against
serving alcohol to intoxicated bar and restaurant patrons would reduce alcohol-related crash fatalities by an estimated
11%. It would cost an estimated $0.40 per licensed driver and save about $30 per licensed driver.

Server Training: Server training programs provide education and training to servers of alcoholic beverages with
the goal of altering their serving practices to prevent patron intoxication and alcohol-impaired driving. Generally,
40% to 60% of intoxicated patrons drive after consuming alcohol in bars, clubs or restaurants. A statewide, full-
day, mandatory, face-to-face server training program with active management support has the potential to reduce
nighttime DUI injury crashes by 17%. Implementing such a program costs an estimated $80 per licensed driver
and saves about $300 in crash costs per licensed driver.
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INTERVENTIONS TARGETING REPEAT OFFENDERS
Not many repeat offenders are deterred by broad impaired driving laws. Four alternative sanctioning approaches have
proven especially effective at reducing repeat offenses.

Automobile Impoundment: Impounding vehicles after conviction for DUI or driving while suspended can decrease
recidivism by an estimated 38% and DUI crashes by about 4%. Overall,  per vehicle impounded, enforcement of this
law would cost Maine approximately $1,000 and save on average $5,000.

Ignition Interlock: Breathtesting ignition interlocks are designed to prevent anyone with a positive BAC from starting
or driving a car. Attaching an interlock to a car for a year after its operator is convicted of driving while intoxicated
would reduce recidivism by an estimated 75% and alcohol-related fatalities by 7%. It would save almost $9,700 per
vehicle equipped. Including equipment and case management costs, interlock costs would total approximately $1,170
per vehicle.

Electronically Monitored House Arrest: Electronic monitoring is an alternative to incarcerating repeat offenders. It
provides assurance of an offender’s presence within an assigned area. Monitoring programs attach a device to the wrist
or ankle that relays a continuous signal to a computer and also may require offenders to relay a breath test when
prompted by a random phone call. Implementation of this program could decrease recidivism by an estimated 31%,
causing DUI crashes to decrease by about 3% in Maine. Per person arrested, the program would cost nearly $1,700
and could avoid an estimated $6,400 in crash costs and almost $2,200 in incarceration costs.

Intensive Probation Supervision with Treatment: Intensive probation supervision with treatment is an alternative to
incarcerating repeat offenders. This early intervention program seeks to reduce alcohol-impaired driving by addressing
repeat offenders’ drinking habits and provides intensive individual counseling and monitoring. Implementation of this
program in Maine could decrease recidivism by an estimated 48%, causing DUI crashes to decrease by 4%. Typically,
per person arrested, this program costs approximately $1,500 and can avoid an estimated $7,100 in crash costs and
$620 in incarceration costs.
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PREVENTION SAVINGS OF OCCUPANT PROTECTION MEASURES
Along with impaired driving interventions, a number of important occupant protection strategies reduce impaired driving
and other highway injuries.

Primary Safety Belt Law: Passage of a primary safety belt law in Maine would allow law enforcement to stop and
ticket a driver for nonuse of a safety belt without requiring the driver to be cited for or have committed another offense.
Unbelted occupants account for 84% of impaired driving fatalities in Maine. Savings could amount to an estimated
$5,700 per new belt user. If enforced with frequent belt-use checkpoints, the value of temporary discomfort
experienced by some new belt wearers and travel delay costs at checkpoints are the large majority of the law’s
estimated $340 cost per new belt user.

Child Safety Seat Law: Infants and children who are seated in places other than the back seat account for nearly 29%
of child fatalities in Maine, and those seated in the back seat without proper restraints account for an additional 14% of
child fatalities. Drinking drivers are more likely than other drivers to transport children improperly. Traveling in a child
safety seat reduces the chance of a crash death by an estimated 71% for infants and 54% for children aged 14. Child
safety seat laws like Maine’s typically reduce occupant fatalities of children age 4 and under by approximately 15% and
their alcohol-involved deaths by an estimated 42%. The average child seat costs approximately $45 but avoids nearly
$2,000 in injury costs.

Motorcycle Helmet Use Law: Statewide, 11% of alcohol-related crash fatalities are motorcyclists; 90% of these
motorcyclists were unhelmeted. A motorcycle helmet law that covers all riders in Maine could save lives and prevent
devastating and debilitating head injuries. Wearing a motorcycle helmet reduces a rider’s risk of death by 29% and
nonfatal injury risk by 15%. On average, helmets cost about $260 in Maine and prevent nearly $4,400 in injury costs.

The estimates reported here were produced under National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Contract DTNH22-98-D-35079, Task Order 7.
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