IMPAIRED DRIVINGIN TEXAS

I NCIDENCE OF | MPAIRED DRIVING

For oneof every 150 milesdrivenin Texasin 1999, aperson with ablood al cohol concentration (BAC) >.08 sat
behind thewhedl. Policein Texasreported 24,865 crashesinvolving adriver or pedestrianwithaBAC of .01 or more.
Formulasdevel oped by NHTSA were used to estimate the number of a cohol-related crasheswhere alcohol
involvement was not reported by the police. An estimated total of 170,190 crashesin Texasinvolved a cohol which
killed 1,751 and injured an estimated 63,500 people.

Impaired Driving by Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)

INn 1999, Texasdriverswith:

* BACsof .10and abovewereinvolvedinan estimated 161,900 crashesthat killed 1,345 and injured 55,600
*  BACsbetween .08-.09 wereinvolved in an estimated 2,790 crashesthat killed 118 and injured 2,500

* PostiveBACsbeow .08 wereinvolved in an estimated 5,500 crashesthat killed 288 and injured 5,400

Cosrts

Alcohol isafactor in 25% of Texas' crash costs. Alcohol-related crashesin Texas cost the public an estimated $10.3
billionin 1999, including $4.5 billionin monetary costsand amost $5.8 billioninquality of lifelosses. (For definitions of
the cost categories, seethedefinitionsfact sheet.) Alcohol-related crashesare deadlier and more seriousthan other
crashes. People other than the drinking driver paid $6.3 billion of the alcohol -rel ated crash bill.

Costsper Alcohol-Related I njury
Theaverageacohol-rdated fatdity in Texascosts $3.3 million:
e $1.1millioninmonetary costs

o $2.2millioninqudity of lifelosses

Theestimated cost per injured survivor of an alcohol-related crash averaged 96,000:
e $48,000in monetary costs
e $48,000inquality of lifelosses

Costsper MileDriven
Crash costsin Texasaveraged:

Cost per Vehicle Mile Traveled by BAC ) :
P y *  $6.20 per miledrivenat BACsof .10 and above

$7 7 O Monetary »  $2.70 per miledriven at BACsbetween .08-.09
$6 - O Quality of Life * $0.10 per miledrivenat BACsof .00
$5 - Costsper Drink
$4 - Thesocieta costsof alcohol-related crashesin Texas
| averaged $1.10 per drink consumed. People other thanthe
$3 drinking driver paid $.70 per drink.
$2
$1 I mpact on Auto I nsurance Rates
$- | | Alcohol-related crashes accounted for an estimated 16% of

Texas autoinsurance payments. Reducing acohol-related
crashesby 10% would save $193 millionin claims
paymentsand | oss adjustment expenses.

BACs .00 BACs .08-.09 BACs.10
and Above
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PREVENTION SAVINGSOF | MPAIRED DRIVING M EASURES

Texasdready hasmany important impaired driving laws. They are saving money and lives. The estimatesthat follow
describethe expected costsand savings, given Texas' pricesand impaired driving rates. The estimatesassume Texas
lawsachieveaverageU.S. effectivenesslevels.

AdministrativeLicense Revocation: Lawsthat allow police or driver licensing authoritiesto revokeadriver’slicense
swiftly and automatically for refusing or failing aBA C test havereduced a cohol -rel ated fatalities by 6.5% on average
could savean estimated $49,000 per driver sanctioned. Thevalue of thedriver’slost mobility would bethelarge
majority of the estimated $2,400 cost per driver sanctioned. Reinstatement fees assessed to of fenderstypically cover
start-up and operating costs.

ZeroToleranceL aw: LawslikeTexas that makeitillegal for personsunder 21 to drivewith apositive BAC have
reduced impaired-driving fatalitiesby 4% on average. Per licensed youth driver, thislaw cost approximately $30 and
yieldsnet savings of $700. Medical care cost savingsal one exceed theintervention cost. The primary cost isthevalue
of mobility lost by youth who areforced to reducetheir drinking or driving.

.08 BAC Law: A well-publicized Satelaw lowering driver BAC limitsto .08 can potentially reduce alcohol-related
fatalitiesby an average of 7%. On average, Texas .08 law savesan estimated $37 per licensed driver. Thevalue of
mobility lossesand a cohol salesreductionsresulting fromthelaw arethelargemgjority of the estimated $2.60 cost per
licensed driver.

Minimum Legal DrinkingAge(MLDA): Toreducea cohol-related fatal crashesamong youth, Texas hasadopted a
MLDA of 21. It savesan estimated $500 per youthful driver. Thelossof liquor salesisthelarge majority of the $150
cost per youthful driver.

Graduated Licensing: Graduated licensing isathree-stage program that involvesalearner’spermit, intermediate
(provisiona) license, and full licensure. To advance between stages, young driversarerequired to demonstrate

respons bledriving behavior. Graduated licensing with amidnight curfew could reduceyouth fatalitiesby at least 5% and
total alcohol-rel ated fatalitiesby 2%. Savingsamount to an estimated $500 per youthful driver in Texas. Thevaueof the
mobility lost by youthisthelarge mgjority of the estimated $60 cost per youthful driver.

POTENTIAL SAVINGSFROM FURTHER PREVENTION EFFORTS

A number of additiona strategiescan mitigatethe harm fromimpaired driving. Thefollowing paragraphsestimatethe
potential savings, in Texas prices, if other provenimpaired driving prevention measureswerewidely implementedin
Texas.

I ntensive Sobriety Checkpoint Program: Intensive enforcement of Texas State BAC limitswith highly visible
sobriety checkpointswould reduce a cohol-rel ated fatalities by at least 15% and save approximately $56,700 per
checkpoint. Including police resources, costs of travel delay and the value of mobility losses by impaired drivers
apprehended and sanctioned, the costs of conducting acheckpoint would average about $8,000.

Enforcing Serving Intoxicated PatronsL aw: Using undercover policeofficersto enforcethe Statelaw against
serving acohol tointoxicated bar and restaurant patronswoul d reduce al cohol -rel ated crash fatalitiesby an estimated
11%. It would cost an estimated $0.30 per licensed driver and save about $20 per licensed driver.

Server Training: Server training programs provide education and training to serversof alcoholic beverageswith the
god of dteringther serving practicesto prevent patronintoxication and a cohol-impaired driving. Generally, 40%to
60% of intoxicated patrons drive after consuming acohol in bars, clubs or restaurants. A statewide, full-day,
mandatory, face-to-face server training program with active management support hasthe potentia to reduce nighttime
DUI injury crashesby 17%. Implementing such aprogram costs an estimated $60 per licensed driver and saves about
$200in crash costsper licensed driver.
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I NTERVENTIONS T ARGETING REPEAT OFFENDERS
Not many repeat offendersare deterred by broad impaired driving laws. Four alternative sanctioning approacheshave
proven especidly effective at reducing repest of fenses.

Automobilel mpoundment: Impounding vehiclesafter convictionfor DUI or driving while suspended can decrease
recidivism by an estimated 38% and DUI crashes by about 4%. Overal, per vehicleimpounded, enforcement of this
law would cost Texas approximately $700 and save on average $3,700.

I gnition Interlock: Breathtestingignitioninterlocksare designed to prevent anyonewith apositive BAC from starting
or driving acar. Attaching an interlock to acar for ayear after itsoperator isconvicted of driving whileintoxicated
would reducerecidivism by an estimated 75% and a cohol-related fatalities by 7%. It would save almost $7,200 per
vehicleequipped. Including equi pment and case management costs, interlock costswoul d total approximately $870 per
vehide

Electronically Monitored HouseArrest: Electronic monitoringisan alternativeto incarcerating repest offenders. It
providesassurance of an offender’s presence within an assigned area. Monitoring programs attach adeviceto thewrist
or ankle that relays a continuous signal to acomputer and also may require offendersto relay abreath test when
prompted by arandom phone call. Implementation of this program could decrease recidivism by an estimated
31%, causing DUI crashesto decrease by about 3% in Texas. Per person arrested, the program would cost nearly
$1,300 and could avoid an estimated $4,700in crash costs and dmost $1,630 in incarceration costs.

I ntensive Probation Supervison with Treatment: Intensive probation supervision with treatment isan dternativeto
incarcerating repeat offenders. Thisearly intervention program seeksto reducea cohol-impaired driving by addressing
repest offenders’ drinking habitsand providesintensiveindividua counseling and monitoring. Implementation of this
program in Texas could decreaserecidivism by an estimated 48%, causing DUI crashesto decrease by 4%. Typicaly,
per person arrested, this program costs approximately $1,100 and can avoid an estimated $5,300 in crash costsand
$460inincarceration costs.
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PREVENTION SaviNGs oF OccurPANT PROTECTION M EASURES

Alongwithimpaired driving interventions, anumber of important occupant protection strategiesreduceimpaired driving
and other highway injuries.

Primary Safety Belt Law: Texas primary safety belt law alowslaw enforcement to stop and ticket adriver for
nonuse of asafety belt without requiring thedriver to be cited for or have committed another offense. Unbelted
occupantsaccount for 66% of impaired driving fataitiesin Texas. Savingsamount to an estimated $4,200 per new belt
user. If enforced with frequent belt-use checkpoints, the value of temporary discomfort experienced by some new belt
wearersandtravel delay costsat checkpointsarethelarge majority of thelaw’s estimated $260 cost per new belt user.

Child Safety Seat L aw: Infantsand children who are seated in places other than the back seat account for nearly
41% of child fatalitiesin Texas, and those seated in the back seat without proper restraints account for an additional
38% of childfatdities. Drinking driversaremorelikely than other driversto transport childrenimproperly. Travelingina
child safety seat reducesthe chance of acrash death by an estimated 71% for infantsand 54% for children aged 14.
Child safety seat lawslike Texas' typically reduce occupant fatalities of children age4 and under by approximately 15%
and their al cohol-involved deathsby asimilar amount. The average child seat costsapproximately $45 but avoidsnearly
$1,500ininjury costs.

MotorcycleHelmet UseL aw: Statewide, 5% of acohol-related crash fatalitiesare motorcyclists; 62% of these
motorcyclistswere unhelmeted. TA motorcyclehelmet law that coversall ridersin Texas could savelivesand prevent
devastating and debilitating head injuries. Wearing amotorcycle helmet reducesarider’srisk of death by 29% and
nonfatal injury risk by 15%. On average, helmets cost about $200in Texasand prevent nearly $3,300ininjury costs.

The estimates reported here were produced under National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Contract DTNH22-98-D-35079, Task Order 7.
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