APPENDIX C

Administrative Penalties for Sales and Service to Minors

The table that follows, “Administrative Penalties for Sales and Service to Minors,” documents all administrative penalty statutory maximums and guidelines for violations of State laws prohibiting alcohol sales/service to minors. Descriptions of the table columns follow:

The 1st Offense Maximum category describes the maximum penalty allowed by statute for a given violation. It may include maximums set forth by a State’s general administrative penalty statute or by specific statute. “No provision identified” indicates that our legal researchers could not identify a law addressing a particular violation. “No max identified” indicates that the legal researchers could not identify a statute or a general administrative penalty that explicitly specifies a maximum penalty.

The 1st - 4th Offense Guideline categories describe the range of penalties recommended pursuant to informal penalty guidelines, specific statutes, or general administrative penalties. Where “Same” is listed, please refer to the column at immediate left of “Same”. “Not specified” indicates that the legal researchers could not identify if the State specifically lists a penalty guideline for the particular offense. “N/A” denotes not applicable, and “No guidelines” indicates that the legal researchers were unable to identify any guidelines for the offense listed.

The Repeat Offense category describes the time within which previous violations are considered in determining repeat offenses of a violation. For example, in Alaska a sale to minor violation will be considered a second offense if the licensee has been cited for a sale to minor violation in the previous 5 years.

Administrative Penalties for Sales and Service to Minors

State
1st Offense
Maximum
1st Offense
Guideline
2nd Offense
Guideline
3rd Offense
Guideline
4th Offense Guideline
Repeat Offense
Alabama18
$1,000 fine or up to 1 year suspension/ revocation
No guidelines
 
Alaska
Fine not greater than 3 times monetary gain of sale resulting from the violation or $10,000, and/or 45-day suspension
Suspension up to 45 days, and/or fine not greater than 3 times monetary gain of sale resulting from the violation or $10,000. No revocation permitted.
Suspension up to 90 days, and/or fine not greater than 3 times monetary gain of sale resulting from the violation or $30,000. No revocation permitted.
Fine not greater than 3 times monetary gain of sale resulting from the violation or $50,000, and/or suspension/ revocation
Not specified
5
Arizona19
Fine not greater than $3,000 and/or suspension/ revocation.
Fine of $1,000 - $2,000 and/or up to 30-day suspension.
Fine of $2,000 - $3,000 and/or up to 30-day suspension.
Fine of $3,000 or more and/or 30-day suspension up to revocation.
Not specified
2
Arkansas
Fine or suspension/ revocation.
No guidelines
 
California
Suspension/ Revocation or $3,000 fine in lieu of.
Suspension/Revocation or 50 % estimated gross sales between $750 - $3,000
Same, but mandatory suspension.
Revocation
N/A
3
Colorado
15-day suspension or fine 20% estimated gross revenue up to $5,000 in lieu of.
Written warning up to 15-day suspension and/or fine 20% estimated gross revenue between $200 - $5,000
5-30-day suspension or fine 20% estimated gross revenue between $200 - $5,000.
20-45-day suspension.
45-day suspension up to revocation, within 2 years.
1
Connecticut20
Suspension/ revocation and/or fine in lieu of.
18 Years or >: 1-5-day suspension and/or $750-$1,500 fine 16-17 Years: 5-9-day suspension and/or $1,000-$1,500 fine <16: 9-12-day suspension and/or $1,250-$1,500 fine
18 Years or >: 5-9-day suspension and/or $1,500-$2,000 fine 16-17 Years: 9-11-day suspension and/or $1,500-$2,000 fine <16: 12-14-day suspension and/or $1,500-$2,500 fine
18 Years or >: 9-15-day suspension and/or $2,000-$5,000 fine 16-17 Years: 11-17-day suspension and/or $2,000-$5,000 fine <16: 15-21-day suspension and/or $2,000-$5,000 fine
Not specified
 
Delaware
Fine, suspension and/or revocation
No guidelines
 
District of Columbia
Suspension/ revocation and/or fine.
Suspension/ revocation and/or at least a $1,000 fine.
Suspension/ revocation and/or at least $2,000 fine, within 2 years.
Suspension/ revocation and/or at least $4,000 fine, within 3 years.
Revocation
 
Florida21
$1,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
$1,000 fine and 7-day license suspension
$3,000 fine and a 30-day license suspension.
Revocation
N/A
3
Georgia
Suspension/ revocation
$500-$2,500 fine and/or up to 30-day suspension.
Same
Same
Same
 
Hawaii
(Maui)
No max identified.
Fine $1,000 - $2,000.
Fine of at least $2,000 or up to 30-day suspension.
Up to 30-day suspension or Revocation
Revocation
5
Idaho
$5,000 fine or suspension not greater than 6 months.
10-day Suspension or fine in lieu of.
30-day Suspension or fine in lieu of
6-month Suspension or fine in lieu of
Not specified
2
Iowa
Suspension/ revocation and/or $1,000 fine.
$500 fine or 14-day suspension.
$1,500 fine and 30-day suspension.
$1,500 fine and 60-day suspension.
Revocation
2 or 322
Illinois
$1,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
Same
Fine up to $1,500 and/or suspension/revocation
Fine up to $2,500 and/or suspension/revocation
Same
1
Indiana
$1,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
No guidelines
1
Kansas
$1,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation.
No fine, licensee can attend training or choose a 1-weekday suspension
$100 fine per minor and/or suspension 1-weekend-day (Fri or Sat).
$300 Fine per minor and/or suspension of 1-weekend-day (Fri or Sat).
$400 Fine per minor and/or suspension of two weekend days (Fri or Sat).
 
Kentucky
Suspension/ revocation or $50/ day suspension in lieu of.
No guidelines
 2
Louisiana
$500 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
Same
$250-$1,000 fine, and/or suspension/ revocation.
$500-$2,500 fine, and/or suspension/ revocation.
Not specified
3
Maine
$1,500 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
No guidelines
 
Maryland
County specific.
 
 
Massachusetts
$500 fine and/or 1 yr in jail and/or suspension/ revocation
No guidelines
 
Michigan23
$1,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
No guidelines
2
Minnesota
$2,000 fine and/or up to 60-day suspension/ revocation
No guidelines
5
Mississippi
$1,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
$500 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
$900 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
$1,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
Not specified
2
Missouri
No max identified
No guidelines
 
Montana
$250 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
Same
$1,000 Fine
$1,500 fine and/or 20-day suspension
Revocation
3
Nebraska
Suspension/ revocation or $50 fine per day issued suspension in lieu of
$500 - $1,000 fine and/or 10-20-day suspension.
$2,000 - $4,000 fine and/or 20-50-day suspension.
$4,000 - $6,000 and/or 25-60-day suspension.
Revocation
4
Nevada
Fine up to $1,000
No guidelines
 1
New Hampshire24
$500 fine and/or 1-7 days suspension.
Fine $100 - $500 and/or 10-17-day suspension
Fine $250 - $1,000 and/or 10-24-day suspension
Fine $500 -$1,500 and/or 10-30-day suspension
(Fine $750 - $3,000 and/or 10-40-day suspension) or (40-day suspension)
 
New Jersey
15-day suspension or gross estimated profit per day suspension in lieu of.
Same
30-day suspension or gross estimated profit per day suspension.
45-day suspension or gross estimated profit per day suspension.
Revocation.
2
New Mexico
$10,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
No guidelines
 
New York
$10,000 fine and/or suspension/revocation
No guidelines
 5
North Carolina25
$500 fine and/or up to 3-year suspension/ revocation
Up to $500 fine and/or up to 3-year suspension/ revocation.
Up to $750 fine, and/or up to 3-year suspension/ revocation.
Up to $1,000 fine, and/or up to 3-year suspension/ revocation.
Not specified
 
North Dakota
Suspension/ revocation
No guidelines
 1
Ohio
Suspension/ revocation or $200 fine per day issued suspension in lieu of.
No guidelines
 2
Oklahoma
Revocation.
N/A
 
Oregon
30-day suspension/ revocation and/or $5,000 fine
Up to 10 days suspension or $1,650 fine.
Up to 30 days suspension or $4,950 fine.
Up to 30 days suspension
Revocation
2
Pennsylvania26
$5,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation.
No guidelines
Rhode Island
$500 fine and/or suspension/revocation.
Up to $500 fine and/or suspension/ revocation.
Up to $1,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation.
Same
Same
3
South Carolina
$1,500 fine and/or suspension/ revocation.
$400 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
$800 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
45 days suspension and/or revocation
Revocation.
 
South Dakota
Suspension up to 60 days or revocation or up to $75,000 offer in compromise.
No guidelines
 
Tennessee
Suspension/ revocation or $1,500 fine.
Suspension/ revocation or $300 - $1,000 fine.
Same
Same
Same
 
Texas27
60 days suspension, or fine in lieu of
7-20 days suspension or fine in lieu of
10-90 days suspension or fine in lieu of
30 days suspension revocation or fine in lieu of
Not specified.
3
Utah
$25,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation.
Fine $500 - $3,000 and/or 5 - 30 days suspension
Fine $1,000 - $9,000 and/or 10 - 90 days suspension
Fine $9,000 - $25,000 and/or 15 days suspension or revocation
Same
 
Vermont
Suspension/ revocation
No guidelines
 
Virginia28
No max identified
$2,000 fine or 25 days suspension
Not Specified
Not specified
Not specified
3
Washington
No max identified
5 days suspension or $200 fine in lieu of
10 days suspension or $400 fine in lieu of
30 days suspension or $600 fine in lieu of
Revocation
3
West Virginia
$1,000 fine and/or suspension/ revocation
No guidelines
 
Wisconsin
No penalty
No penalty
Up to 3 days suspension
3-10 days suspension
15-30 days suspension
1
Wyoming
Suspension/ revocation
No guidelines
 

18In Alabama, State law specifies that a license shall be revoked on a second or a subsequent offense. However, ABC Rules and Regulations State that a fine schedule will be established for use when a licensee wishes to plead guilty to a first or second offense charge. Researchers were unable to obtain a copy of this fine schedule.
19In Arizona, suspension days and fines may be substituted for one another, at the discretion of the compliance officer, at the rate of one day of suspension equal to $250.
20In Connecticut, administrative penalties vary based on the age of the minor who was illegally sold alcohol by the establishment, as shown.
21In Florida, all administrative fines may be substituted with license suspensions using the ratio of 1 day of suspension for each $50.
22In Iowa, an offense occurring within two years of a first offense will be considered a second offense. Any offense occurring within three years of a first offense will be considered a subsequent offense.
23In Michigan, a third or subsequent offense will result in a mandatory suspension/ revocation of license.
24New Hampshire allows for reduction of suspension length for “good behavior.” “Good behavior” is defined as compliance with all commission administrative fine payment deadlines and/or orders issued under Liq. 206.03.
25In North Carolina, the commission may accept an offer in compromise of an issued suspension, up to $5,000.
26In Pennsylvania, third and subsequent offenses will result in a mandatory suspension/ revocation.
27In Texas, a fine may be issued in lieu of issued suspension in the amount of $150 - $25,000 per day of issued suspension or fine of $75 - $500.
28In Virginia, a second or subsequent offense will result in a mandatory suspension.
top