National Forum on Speeding logo

June 15 -16, 2005
LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

National Academies Building
500 Fifth Street, NW., Room 100
Washington, DC


AAA
Dinh-Zarr, T. Bella
Director, Traffic Safety Policy
AAA National Office
607 14th Street SW., Suite 200
Washington, DC 20005
202-942-2060 (phone)
202-783-4788 (fax)
dinhzarr@national.aaa.com

AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety
Kissinger, J. Peter
President & CEO
AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety
607 14th Street NW., Suite 201
Washington, DC 20005
202-638-5944 ext. 2 (phone)
202-638-5943 (fax)
pkissinger@aaafoundation.org

Advocates for Highway & Auto Safety
Stone, Judith Lee “Judie”
President,
Advocates for Highway & Auto Safety
750 First Street NE., Suite 901
Washington, DC 20002
202-408-1711 (phone)
202-408-1699 (fax)
jstone@saferoads.org

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators
Czernis, Lt. Col. John T.
Deputy Director, Special Operations Command
Florida Highway Patrol
2900 Apalachee Parkway
Room B466, MS-42
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0559
850-488-1435 (phone)
850-921-4462 (fax)
czernis.john@hsmv.state.fl.us

American Association of State Highway & Transportation Officials
Deatrick, John
Deputy Director-Chief Engineer
District Department of Transportation
64 New York Avenue NE.
Washington, DC 20002
202-671-2800 (phone)
202-672-4710 (fax)
john.deatrick@dc.gov

Kobetsky, Ken
Program Director for Engineering
American Assn. of State Hwy.
and Transportation Officials
444 North Capitol Street NW. – Suite 249
Washington, DC 20001
202-624-5254 (phone)
202-624-5469 (fax)
kenk@aashto.org

Lacy, J. Kevin
State Traffic Engineer
North Carolina Dept. of Transportation
1561 Mall Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1561
919-733-3915 (phone)
919-733-2261 (fax)
jklacy@dot.state.nc.us

Read, Stephen
Safety Analysis Programs Manager
Virginia Dept. of Transportation
1401 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219
804-786-9094 (phone)
804-225-2448 (fax)
stephen.read@vdot.virginia.gov

Sinclair, Keith W.
Highway Safety Program Manager
American Assn. of State Hwy.
and Transportation Officials
7349 Eden Book Drive
Columbia, MD 21046
202-624-3648 (phone)
202-624-1445 (fax)
ksinclair@aashto.org

Warhoftig, Barry
Director, Traffic Engineering
West Virginia Dept. of Transportation
1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East
Capitol Complex, Building 5, Room A-550
Charleston, WV 25305
304-558-3722 (phone)
304-558-1209 (fax)
bwarhoftig@dot.state.wv.us

American Bus Association
Mahorney, Bill
American Bus Association
700 13th Street NW.
Washington, DC 20005
202-218-7246 (phone)
202-842-0850 (fax)
wmahorney@buses.org

American Motorcyclist Association
Moreland, Ed
Senior Legislative Assistant
American Motorcyclist Association
101 Constitution Avenue NW. – Suite 800 West
Washington, DC 20001
202-742-4301 (phone)
202-742-4304 (fax)
emoreland@ama-cycle.org

Nonis, Peter G.
Senior Legislative Assistant
American Motorcyclist Association
101 Constitution Avenue NW. – Suite 800 West
Washington, DC 20001
202-742-4301 (phone)
202-742-4304 (fax)
pnonis.ama@erols.com

American Trucking Associations, Inc.
Osiecki, Dave
Vice President, Safety, Security & Operations
American Trucking Associations, Inc.
2200 Mill Road
Alexandria, VA 22314
703-838-1847 (phone)
703-683-3226 (fax)
dosiecki@trucking.org

Centers for Disease Control
Beck, Laurie
Epidemiologist
Center for Disease Control
National Center for Injury Prevention & Control
4770 Buford Hwy. NE., MS-K63
Atlanta, GA 30341
770-488-4327 (phone)
770-488-1317 (fax)
lbeck@cdc.gov

Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance
Campbell, Stephen F.
Executive Director
Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA)
1101 17th Street NW., Suite 803
Washington, DC 20036
202-775-1623 ext. 109 (phone)
202-775-1624 (fax)
stephenc@cvsa.org

Department of Transportation
Stack, Suzanne
Safety Team Leader, Office of Policy
Office of the Secretary
U.S. Department of Transportation
400 Seventh Street SW. – Room 10317E, (P-31)
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-0863 (phone)
202-366-7618 (fax)
suzanne.stack@dot.gov

Federal Highway Administration
Alicandri, Beth
Director, Office of Safety Programs
Federal Highway Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Room 3419, HSA-20
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-6409 (phone)
202-366-3322 (fax)
beth.alicandri@fhwa.dot.gov

Balser, John
Transportation Specialist
Office of Safety Programs
Federal Highway Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Room 3415, HSA-20
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-9212 (phone)
202-366-2249 (fax)
john.balser@fhwa.dot.gov

Dodge, Linda D.
Public Safety Coordinator
ITS Joint Program Office
Federal Highway Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Room 3416, HOIT-1
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-8034 (phone)
202-493-2027 (fax)
linda.dodge@fhwa.dot.gov

Griffith, Michael
Technical Director
Office of Safety Research & Development
Federal Highway Administration
6300 Georgetown Pike
McLean, VA 22101
202-493-3316 (phone)
202-493-3417 (fax)
mike.griffith@fhwa.dot.gov

Nedzesky, A.J.
Highway Research Engineer
Federal Highway Administration
6300 Georgetown Pike, T-303
McLean, VA 22101
202-493-3369 (phone)
202-493-3417 (fax)
aj.nedzesky@fhwa.dot.gov

Trentacoste, Michael F.
Director
Office of Safety Research & Development
Federal Highway Administration
6300 Georgetown Pike
McLean, VA 22101
202-493-3260 (phone)
202-493-3107 (fax)
michael.trentacoste@fhwa.dot.gov

Warren, Davey
Co-leader, Speed Management Team
Federal Highway Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Room 3407, HSA-20
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4668 (phone)
202-366-2249 (fax)
davey.warren@fhwa.dot.gov

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
Kostelnik, John E. “Jack”
Transportation Specialist
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Room 8314, MC-ESS
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-5721 (phone)
jack.kostelnik@fmcsa.dot.gov

McMurray, Rose A.
Associate Administrator
Policy and Program Development
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW.
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-8773 (phone)
202-366-3592 (fax)
rose.mcmurray@fmcsa.dot.gov

Minor, Larry W.
Director
Office of Bus and Truck Standards & Operations
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Suite 8301, MC-PS
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4012 (phone)
202-366-8842 (fax)
larry.minor@fmcsa.dot.gov

Van Ness, Jeffrey
Transportation Specialist
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW. – Room 8301
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-8802 (phone)
202-366-8842 (fax)
Jeffrey.VanNess@fmcsa.dot.gov

Governors Highway Safety Association
Champagne, Col. James E. “Jim”
Executive Director, La. Hwy. Safety Commission
Chair, Governors Highway Safety Association
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
225-925-6993 (phone)
225-922-0083 (fax)
jchampag@dps.state.la.us

Harsha, Barbara L. “Barb”
Executive Director
Governors Highway Safety Association
750 First Street NE. – Suite 720
Washington, DC 20002-4241
202-789-0942 (phone)
202-789-0946 (fax)
bharsha@ghsa.org

Swanson, Kathryn “Kathy”
Director, Traffic Safety
Minnesota Office of Traffic Safety
444 Cedar Street, Suite 150
St. Paul, MN 55101
651-296-9507 (phone)
651-297-4844 (fax)
kathryn.swanson@state.mn.us

Zwonechek, Fred
Administrator
Nebraska Office of Highway Safety
Department of Motor Vehicles
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 94612
Lincoln, NE 68509
402-471-2515 (phone)
402-471-3865 (fax)
fzwonech@notes.state.ne.us

Highway Safety North
Hedlund, James “Jim”
Principal
Highway Safety North
1110 Homestead Road
Ithaca, NY 14850-1426
607-273-5645 (phone)
607-277-1426 (fax)
jhedlund@sprynet.com

Human Factors North, Inc.
Smiley, Alison
President
Human Factors North Inc.
118 Baldwin Street
Toronto, Canada ON M5T 1L6
416-596-1252 (phone)
416-596-6946 (fax)
asmiley@hfn.ca

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
Ferguson, Susan
Senior Vice President, Research
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
1005 N. Glebe Road, Suite 800
Arlington, VA 22201
703-247-1550 (phone)
703-247-1587 (fax)
sferguson@iihs.org

Retting, Richard
Senior Transportation Engineer
Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
1005 North Glebe Road
Arlington, VA 22201
703-247-1582 (phone)
703-247-1587 (fax)
rretting@iihs.org

Institute of Transportation Engineers
Alexander, Gerson J.
President, Positive Guidance Applications, Inc.
6102 Neilwood Drive
North Bethesda, MD 20852-3706
301-468-1984 (phone)
301-468-1311 (fax)
gjalexander@verizon.net

Caruso, Philip J.
Deputy Executive Director
Institute of Transportation Engineers
1099 14th Street NW., Suite 300W
Washington, DC 20005-3438
202-289-0222 ext. 126 (phone)
202-289-7722 (fax)
pcaruso@ite.org

Hicks, Tom
Director, Office of Traffic & Safety
Maryland State Highway Administration
7491 Connelley Drive
Hanover, MD 21076-1701
410-787-5815 (phone)
410-787-4082 (fax)
thicks@sha.state.md.us

Mason, John M.
Associate Dean
Penn State University
101 Hammond Building
University Park, PA 16802
814-865-4542 (phone)
814-863-0497 (fax)
jmason@engr.psu.edu

Noble, Douglas E.
Chief Traffic Engineer
District Department of Transportation
2000 14th Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20009
202-671-1366 (phone)
202-671-0623 (fax)
douglas.noble@dc.gov

Internat’l Association of Chiefs of Police
Bowman, Jesse F.
Commander, Traffic Division
Operations Support Bureau
Fairfax County Police Dept.
3911 Woodburn Road
Annandale, VA 22003
703-280-0551 (phone)
703-280-0624 (fax)
jf.bowman@fairfaxcounty.gov

Brown, Michael L.
Commissioner
California Highway Patrol
2555 First Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95818
916-657-7152 (phone)
916-657-7324 (fax)
pspringer@chp.ca.gov

Grant, John “Jack”
Manager, Division of State & Provincial Police
International Association of Chiefs of Police
515 N. Washington Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703-836-6767 ext. 215 (phone)
703-519-8721 (fax)
grantjc@theiacp.org

Sweeney, Earl
Assistant Commissioner
Department of Safety
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
603-271-2559 (phone)
603-271-3903 (fax)
esweeney@safety.state.nh.us
cc to: esargeant@safety.state.nh.us

Monash University
Johnston, Ian
Professor & Director
Accident Research Center
Monash University, Building 70
Victoria 3800, Austrialia
61 3-9905-4372 (phone)
61 3-9905-4363 (fax)
ian.johnston@general.monash.edu.au

National Campaign to Stop Red Light Running
Blakey, Leslie
Executive Director
National Campaign to Stop Red Light Running
1150 18th Street NW., Suite 1030
Washington, DC 20036
202-828-9100 (phone)
202-828-9112 (fax)
agregory@blakey-agnew.com

National Center for Bicycling & Walking
Wilkinson, Bill
Executive Director
National Center for Bicycling & Walking
8120 Woodmont Avenue, Suite 650
Bethesda, MD 20814
301-656-4220 (phone)
301-656-4225 (fax)
bikefe@aol.com

National Association of County Engineers
Giancola, Anthony R.
Executive Director
National Association of County Engineers
440 First Street NW.
Washington, DC 20001
202-393-5041 (phone)
202-393-2630 (fax)
agiancol@naco.org

National Association of Prosecutor Coordinators
Overton, Kimberly N.
Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor
North Carolina Conference of District Attorneys
P.O. Box 25546
Raleigh, NC 27611
919-733-3484 (phone)
919-715-0138 (fax)
kimberly.n.overton@nccourts.org

National Conference of State Legislatures
Savage, Melissa
Program Principal
National Conference of State Legislatures
7700 E. First Place
Denver, CO 80230
303-856-1527 (phone)
303-364-7800 (fax)
melissa.savage@ncsl.org

National Cooperative Highway Research Program
Lerner, Neil
Manager, Human Factors
Westat
1650 Research Boulevard
Rockville, MD 20850
301-315-5962 (phone)
301-610-5128 (fax)
lernern1@westat.com

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Amoni, Marilena
Associate Administrator
Program Development & Delivery
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW.
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-1755 (phone)
202-366-7149 (fax)
marilena.amoni@nhtsa.dot.gov

Chen, Chou-Lin
Chief, Mathematical Analysis Division
Office of Traffic Records & Analysis
National Center for Statistics & Analysis
nNational Highway Traffic Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Room 6125, NPO-121
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-1048 (phone)
202-366-3189 (fax)
chou-lin.chen@nhtsa.dot.gov

Compton, Richard P.
Director, Office of Research & Technology
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Room 5119, NTI-130
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-9591 (phone)
202-366-7096 (fax)
richard.compton@nhtsa.dot.gov

del Rio, Luis
Special Assistant
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW.
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-9825 (phone)
luis.delrio@nhtsa.dot.gov

Hardy, Earl
Highway Safety Specialist
Enforcement & Justice Services Division
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Suite 5130, NTI-122
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4292 (phone)
202-366-7721 (fax)
earl.hardy@nhtsa.dot.gov

McLaughlin, Brian
Senior Associate Administrator
Traffic Injury Control
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Room 5125G, NTI-010
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-2121 (phone)
202-366-7149 (fax)
brian.mclaughlin@nhtsa.dot.gov

Morford, Garrett
Chief, Enforcement & Justice Services Division
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., NTI-122
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4295 (phone)
202-366-7721 (fax)
gmorford@nhtsa.dot.gov

Ryan, Sue
Director, Office of Safety Programs
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Room 5130, NTI-20
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-2715 (phone)
202-366-7721 (fax)
susan.ryan@nhtsa.dot.gov

Schiavone, Terrance D. “Terry”
Regional Administrator, South East Region
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
61 Forsyth Street, Suite 17T30
Atlanta, GA 30303
404-562-3739 (phone)
404-562-3763 (fax)
terrance.schiavone@nhtsa.dot.gov

Tremont, Paul J. Ph.D
Research Psychologist
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW.
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-5595 (phone)
202-366-7096 (fax)
pjtremont@hotmail.com

Vegega, Maria
Chief, Behavioral Research Division
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., Room 5119
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4892 (phone)
202-366-7096 (fax)
maria.vegega@nhtsa.dot.gov

Weiser, Philip J.
Regional Administrator, New England Region
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
55 Broadway, DTS-903
Cambridge, MA 02143
617-494-3427 (phone)
617-494-3646 (fax)
philip.weiser@nhtsa.dot.gov

Williams, Keith
Highway Safety Specialist
Enforcement & Justice Services Division
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
400 Seventh Street SW., NTI-122
Washington, DC 20590
202-366-4295 (phone)
202-366-7721 (fax)
keith.williams@nhtsa.dot.gov

National Judicial College
Schoenfeldt, Jennifer Rains
Program Attorney
National Judicial College
Reno, NV 89557
775-327-8227 (phone)
775-784-1253 (fax)
schoenfeldt@judges.org

Smith, Robin D.
Municipal Court Judge
National Judicial College
P.O. Box 1152
Midland, TX 79702-1152
432-685-7303 (phone)
432-685-7319 (fax)
rds2000@prodigy.net

National Safety Council
Ulczycki, John T.
Director, Transportation Safety Group
National Safety Council
1121 Spring Lake Drive
Itasca, IL 60143
630-775-2160 (phone)
630-285-1613 (fax)
ulczyckj@nsc.org

National Sheriff’s Association
Acree, Micheal (Mike)
Sheriff
Douglas County Sheriff’s Office
4000 Justice Way
Castle Rock, CO 80109
303-660-7541 (phone)
303-814-8790 (fax)
macree@dcsheriff.net

SWOV Institute for Road Safety Research
Wegman, Fred
Managing Director
SWOV Institute for Road Safety Research
P.O. Box 1090
NL 2260, BB Leidschendam
Netherlands
31(0)70 317 33 32 (phone)
31(0)70 320 12 61 (fax)
fred.wegman@swov.nl

Texas Transportation Institute
Fitzpatrick, Kay
Roadway Design Program
Texas Transportation Institute
3135 Texas A&M University
CE/TTI, Room 301A
College Station, TX 77843-3135
k-fitzpatrick@tamu.edu

Transport Canada
White, James G.
Engineering Advisor
Road Safety & Motor Vehicle Regulation
Transport Canada
330 Sparks Street
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1A 0N5
613-998-1965 (phone)
613-990-2913 (fax)
whitejg@tc.gc.ca

Transportation Research Board
Pain, Richard “Rick”
Transportation Safety Coordinator
Transportation Research Board
500 Fifth Street NW.
Washington, DC 20001
202-334-2964 (phone)
202-334-2003 (fax)
rpain@nas.edu

University of Adelaide
McLean, Jack
Director, Centre for Automotive Safety Research
University of Adelaide
South Australia, Australia 5005
+61-8-8303-5997 (phone)
+61-8-8232-4995 (fax)
jack@casr.adelaide.edu.au

University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center
Robertson, H. Douglas
Director, University of North Carolina
Highway Safety Research Center
730 Martin Luther King Blvd., CB #3430
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3430
919-962-8703 (phone)
919-962-8710 (fax)
doug_robertson@unc.edu