NCJA logo
Report Home
Contents
Summary
Introduction
Issue Discussions
Recommendations
Conclusion
Appendices
NHTSA People Saving People Logo

Criminal Justice Associations Leadership Meeting
Traffic Safety Today

Final Participant List
September 29 30, 2003
Washington, DC
 

MSgt. Pete Howe
Law Enforcement Liaison
Region 5 NHTSA
1990 Governors Dr., Suite 201
Olympia Fields, IL 60461
phone: (708) 503-8892
fax:  (708) 503-8991
email: 
phowe@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Jim Jensen
Deputy Sheriff
Douglas County
4000 Justice Way
Castle Rock, CO 80109
phone: (303) 660-7505
fax:  (303) 688-1447

Mr. Patrick J. Judge
Executive Director
International Assn. of Directors
     of Law Enf. Standards and Training
2521 Country Club Way
Albion, MI 49224
phone: (517) 857-3828
fax:  (517) 857-3826
email: 
PJudge@worldnet.att.net

Judge J. Michael Kavanaugh
Bernalillo County Metropolitan Court
P. O. Box 133
Albuquerque, NM 87103
phone: (505) 841-8193
fax:  (505) 222-4813
email:
mkavanaugh@metrocourt.state.nm.us    

Mr. Dean Kuznieski
Senior Highway Safety Specialist
NHTSA
400 7th Street, S.W., NTI-111
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-9835
fax:  (202) 366-2766
email: 
dean.kuznieski@nhtsa.dot.gov
 

Ms. Jenine E. Larsen
Staff Associate
National Criminal Justice Association
720 Seventh Street, NW., Third Floor
Washington, DC 20001
phone: 202-628-8550
fax:  202-628-0080
email: 
jlarsen@ncja.org

Mr. Jessie Lee
Acting Executive Director
National Organization of
     Black Law Enforcement Executives
4609 Pinecrest Office Park Dr., Ste. F
Alexandria, VA 22312-1442
phone: (703) 658-1529
email: 
jlee@noblenatl.org

Ms. Marlene Markison
Associate Administrator
ICOR NHTSA
400 7th Street, S.W., NTI-200
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-2121
fax:  (202) 366-7394
email: 
marlene.markison@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Bob McBride
LEL Region 10
NHTSA
3140 Jackson Federal Bldg.
915 2nd Ave.
Seattle, WA 98174
phone: (206) 220-7648
fax:  (206) 220-7651
email: 
Bob.McBride@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Brian McLaughlin
Senior Associate Administrator
Traffic Injury Control
NHTSA
400 7th Street, S.W., NTI-010
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-1755
fax:  (202) 366-7149
email: 
Brian.Mclaughlin@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Jeff Michael
Director
Office of Impaired Driving and Occupant Protection
NHTSA
400 7th St., S.W., NTI-110
Washington, DC  20590
phone:  (202) 366-4299
fax:  (202) 366-7721
email: 
Jeff.Michael@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Kenneth W. Miller
President
National Assn. of State Judicial Educators
1501 South Mopac Expressway, Suite 350
Austin, TX 78746
phone: (512) 347-9927
fax:  (512) 347-9921
email: 
km16@tjctc.org

Mr. Edmond L. Minall
Law Enforcement Liaison
State of Vermont
Governor's Highway Safety Program
5 Park Row
Waterbury, VT  05403
phone:  (802) 241-5522
fax:  (802) 241-5558
email: 
tminall@dps.state.vt.us

Mr. John Moffat
Director
Washington Traffic Safety Commission
P. O. Box 40944
1000 South Cherry Street
Olympia, WA 98504-0944
phone: (360) 753-4018
fax:  (360) 586-6489
email: 
jmoffat@wtsc.wa.gov

Chief Aidan J. Moore
President
National Liquor Law Enforcement Assn.
11710 Beltsville Dr.,  Drive 300
Calverton, MD 20705-3102
phone: (603) 271-3930
fax:  (603) 271-3758
email: 
amoore@liquor.state.nh.us

Mr. Bill Naff
Program Manager
Region 3 NHTSA
10 South Howard St., Suite 6700
Baltimore, MD 21201
phone: (410) 962-0002
fax:  (410) 962-2770
email: 
bill.naff@nhtsa.dot.gov

Judge Lois Oakley
Chief State Administrative Law Judge
The Georgia Office of State Administrative Hearings
235 Peachtree St., Suite 700
Atlanta, GA 30303
phone: (404) 651-7850
email: 
loakley@osah.state.ga.us

Mr. Jack Oates
Chief, Program Implementation
ICOR NHTSA
400 Seventh Street, S.W.
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-2730
fax:  (202) 366-7394
email: 
Jack.Oates@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. James Onder
Highway Safety Specialist
Enforcement & Justice Services
NHTSA
400 7th Street, S.W., NTI-122
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-9785
fax:  (202) 366-7721
email: 
jonder@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Charles Peltier
Division Chief
Enforcement & Justice Services NHTSA
400 7th St., S.W. , NTI-122
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-4295
fax:  (202) 366-7721
email: 
chuck.peltier@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Rich Pepe
Law Enforcement Liaison
Region 2 NHTSA
222 Mamaroneck Ave., Suite 204
White Plains, NY 10605
phone: (914) 682-6162
fax:  (914) 682-6239
email: 
rpepe@nhtsa.dot.gov

Ms. Carol A. Peters
Program Manager
National Assn. of  Prosecutor Coordinators
NDAA - APRI
99 Canal Center Plaza
Alexandria, VA 22314
phone: (703) 519-1682
fax:  (703) 836-3195
email: 
carol.peters@ndaa-apri.org

Mr. Joseph M. Polisar
Chief of Police
Garden Grove Police Dept.
11301 Acacia Parkway
Garden Grove, CA 92842
phone: (714) 741-5900
fax:  (714) 741-5902
email: 
joep@ci.garden-grove.ca.us

Ms. Sandy Richardson
Senior Highway Safety Specialist
NHTSA NTI-122
Enforcement & Justice Services Div.
400 Seventh St., SW
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-4294
fax:  (202) 366-7721
email:
sandy.richardson@nhtsa.dot.gov   

Mr. Sami M. Richie
Regional Program Manager
NHTSA, Region II
222 Mamaroneck Ave, Suite 204
White Plains, NY 10605
phone: (914) 682-6162
fax:  (914) 682-6239
email: 
sami.richie@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Sal Rosano
Law Enforcement Liaison
NHTSA Region 9
201 Mission St., Suite 2230
San Francisco, CA 94105
phone: (415) 744-2995
fax:  (415) 744-2532
email:
salvatore.rosano@nhtsa.dot.gov

Ms. Susan Ryan
Director
Office of Safety Programs
NHTSA
400 Seventh Street, SW, NTI-120
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-2715
fax:  (202) 366-2766
email: 
susan.ryan@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Dave Seiler
Highway Safety Speicalist
Enforcement & Justice Services
NHTSA
400 7th St., S.W., NTI-122
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-4291
fax:  (202) 366-7721
email: 
david.seiler@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Dennis Shreve
Law Enforcement Liaison
Region 7, NHTSA
901 Locust, Room 466
Kansas City, MO 64106
phone: (816) 329-3914
fax:  (816) 329-3910
email: 
Dennis.shreve@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Raymond T. Slaughter
Director
Division of Criminal Justice
CO Department of Public Safety
700 Kipling Street, Suite 1000
Denver, CO 80215
phone: (303) 239-4451
fax:  (303) 239-4491
email:
raymond.slaughter@cdps.state.co.us

Judge Robin D. Smith
City of Midland Municipal Court
NHTSA Judicial Fellow
P. O. Box 1152
Midland, TX 79702
phone: (432) 685-7303
fax:  (432) 685-7319
email: 
rds2000@prodigy.net

Mr. Earl M. Sweeney
Director
NH Police Standards & Training Council
17 Institute Drive
Concord, NH 03301-7413
phone: (603) 271-2133
fax:  (603) 271-1785
email: 
esweeney@pstc.state.nh.us

Mr. Stephen K. Talpins
NHTSA/NAPC Prosecutor Fellow
1469 NW 13th Terrace
Miami, FL 33125
phone: (305) 324-2999
fax:  (305) 324-2910
email: 
StephenKTalpins@MiamiSAO.com

Mr. Davey Warren
Co-Team Leader
DOT Speed Team
Federal Highway Administration
Office of Safety Programs, HAS-20
400 7th St., S.W.
Washington, DC  20590
phone: (202) 366-4668
fax: (202) 366-2249

Mr. Philip Weiser
Region VIII NHTSA
555 Zang St., Rm. 430
Lakewood, CO 80228
phone: (303) 969-6922
fax:  (303) 969-6294
email: 
philip.Weiser@nhtsa.dot.gov

Ms. Marilena Amoni
Associate Administrator
Program Development & Delivery
NHTSA
400 7th St., SW, NTI-100
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-1755
fax:  (202) 366-7149
email: 
marilena.amoni@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Charles Andrews
Major
AL Department of Public Safety
P. O. Box 1511
Montgomery, AL 36102-1511
phone: (334) 242-1984
fax:  (334) 353-1319
email: 
candrews@dps.state.al.us

Mr. John Bobo
Director
National Traffic Law Center
American Prosecutors Research Institute
99 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 510
Alexandria, VA 22314
phone: (703) 519-1640
fax:  (703) 836-3195
email: 
john.bobo@ndaa-apri.org

Mr. Randy Bolin
Regional Program Manager
NHTSA - Region 7
901 Locust St., Suite 466
Kansas City, MO 64106
phone: (816) 329-3906
fax:  (816) 329-2910
email: 
randy.bolin@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Chris Broome
Law Enforcement Coordinator
NHTSA, Region IV
61 Forsyth St., SW
Atlanta, GA 30303
phone: (404) 562-3766
fax:  (404) 562-3763
email: 
chris.broome@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Gabriel J. Cano
Regional Program Manager
NHTSA, Region I
Kendall Square (CODE 903)
Cambridge, MA  02142
Phone: (617) 494-3427
Fax:  (617) 494-3646
Email: 
gcano@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Juan Cardona
Director, Traffic Safety
National Sheriffs' Association
1450 Duke Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
phone: (703) 836-7827
fax:  (703) 519-8567
email: 
jcardona@sheriffs.org

Ms. Pam Chapman
Program Analyst
Enforcement & Justice Services
NHTSA
400 Seventh St., S.W., NTI-122
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-0321
fax:  (202) 366-7721
email: 
pamela.chapman@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Brian Chodrow
Program Analyst
Enforcement and Justice Services Div.
NHTSA
400 Seventh Street, SW, NTI-122
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-7721
fax:  (202) 366-6916
email: 
brian.chodrow@nhtsa.dot.gov

Ms. Kay Chopard
Deputy Executive Director
National Criminal Justice Assn.
720 7th Street NW, Third Floor
Washington, DC 20001-3716
phone: (202) 628-8550
fax:  (202) 628-0080
email: 
kchopard@ncja.org

Ms. J. DeCarlo Ciccel
Program Analyst
Impaired Driving Division
NHTSA
400 7th St., S.W., NTI-111
Washington, DC  20590
phone: (202) 366-1694
fax:  (202) 366-2766
email:  decarlo.ciccel@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Gary L. Coe
Lieutenant Colonel
CO State Patrol
700 Kipling Street, Suite 3000
Lakewood, CO 80215
phone: (303) 239-4494
fax:  (303) 239-4481
email: 
gary.coe@cdps.state.co.us

Ms. Heidi L. Coleman
Chief
Impaired Driving Division
NHTSA
400 Seventh Street, S.W.
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-2568
fax:  (202) 366-2766
email: 
heidi.coleman@nhtsa.dot.gov

Ms. Jennifer B. Columbel
Senior Policy Advisor
Bureau of Justice Assistance
810 7th Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20531
phone: (202) 305-2429
fax:  (202) 305-1367
email: 
columbej@ojp.usdoj.gov

Mr. Edwin M. Cook
Executive Director
AZ Prosecuting Attorney's Advisory Council
3001 W. Indian School Rd., #305
Phoenix, AZ  85017
phone:  (602)  265-4779
fax:  (602)  274-4214
email: 
cook_ed@pop.state.za.us

Mr. Michael Courville
Law Enforcement Liaison Officer
Region 6 NHTSA
819 Taylor St., Rm. 8A38
Fort Worth, TX 76102
phone: (817) 978-3653
fax:  (817) 978-8339
email: 
copoffice@aol.com

Mr. Harry L. Crum
Regional Program Manager
NHTSA, Region 6
819 Taylor St., Rm 8A38
Fort Worth, TX 76102
phone: (817) 978-3653
fax:  (817) 978-8339
email: 
hcrum@nhtsa.dot.gov

Ms. Kristen Daugherty
Project Coordinator
National Drug Court Institute
4900 Seminary Road, Suite 320
Alexandria, VA 22311
phone: (703) 575-9400
fax:  (703) 575-9402
email: 
kdaugherty@ndci.org

Mr. Dale Doucet
NHTSA
400 Seventh Street, S.W., NTI-110
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-0350
fax:  (202) 366-2766
email: 
Dale.Doucet@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. William F. Dressel
President
The National Judicial College
Judicial College Bldg.
Reno, NV 89557
phone: (775) 327-8260
fax:  (775) 327-2164
email: 
dressel@judges.org

Mr. Ron Engle
Senior Highway. Safety Specialist
Enforcement and Justice Services Division
NHTSA, NTI -122
400 Seventh St., SW
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-2717
fax:  (202) 366-7721
email:  ronald.engle@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. George M. Ferris
Regional Program Manager
Region 5 NHTSA
19900 Governors Dr., Suite 201
Olympia Fields, IL 60461
phone: (708) 503-8892
fax:  (708) 503-8991
email: 
gferris@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Scott Finlayson
General Chair/Chief of Police
SACOP IACP/Springville Police Dept.
45 South Main Street
Springville, UT 84663
phone: (801) 489-9421
fax:  (801) 489-7726
email: 
chief@springville.org

Mr. Newman Flanagan
Executive Director
National District Attorneys Assoc.
99 Canal Center Plaza, #510
Alexandria, VA 22314-1503
phone: (703) 549-9222
fax:  (703) 836-3195
email: 
newman.flanagan@ndaa-apri.org

Mr. Victor E. Flango, Ph.D.
Vice President, Research & Technology
National Center for State Courts
300 Newport Avenue
Williamsburg, VA 23185
phone: (757) 259-1822
fax:  (757) 564-2081
email: 
gflango@ncsc.dni.us

Mr. Selden Fritschner
Senior Director
Law Enforcement
American Assn. of Motor Vehicle Adm.
4301 Wilson Blvd., #400
Arlington, VA 22203
phone: (703) 908-5855
fax:  (703) 908-2868
email: 
sfritschner@aamva.org

Ms. Valerie A. Gompf
Senior Highway Safety Specialist
Impaired Driving Division
NHTSA
400 7th St., S.W., NTI-111
Washington, DC  20590
phone:  (202) 366-1739
email: 
Valerie.gompf@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Steve Guderian
Regional Program Manager
HTSA Region IX
201 Mission, Suite 2230
San Francisco, CA 94105
phone: (415) 744-3089
fax:  (415) 744-2532
email: 
steven.guderian@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Phil Gulak
Chief, Occupant Protection Programs
NHTSA
400 7th Street, S.W.
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-2766
fax:  (202) 366-2725
email:  Phil.Gulak@nhtsa.dot.gov

Mr. Earl Hardy
Senior Highway Safety Specialist
Enforcement & Justice Services Div.
NHTSA
400 Seventh Street, S.W., Suite 5130
Washington, D.C.  20590
phone: (202) 366-4292
fax: (202) 366-7721
email: 
earl.hardy@nhtsa.dot.gov

Ms. Barbara Harsha
Executive Director
Governors Highway Safety Assn.
750 First St., N.E., Suite 720
Washington, DC 20002
phone: (202) 789-0942
fax:  (202) 789-0946
email: 
bharsha@statehighwaysafety.org

Janice Hartwill-Miller
Senior Highway Safety Specialist
NHTSA
Occupation Protection Division
400 7th Street, SW (Room 5130)
Washington, DC  20590
(202) 366-2684
fax: (202) 366-2766
janice.hartwill-miller@nhtsa.dot.gov

Ms. Linda L. Hassan
Staff Associate
National Criminal Justice Association
720 7th Street N.W., 3rd Floor
Washington, DC 20001-3716
phone: (202) 628-8550
fax:  (202) 628-0080
email: 
lhassan@ncja.org

Dr. Thomas A. Henderson
Executive Director of Association Svcs.
National Center for State Courts
2425 Wilson Blvd, Suite 300
Arlington, VA 22201
phone: (703) 841-5600
fax:  (703) 841-0206
email: 
thenderson@ncsc.dni.us

Ms. Elizabeth T. Hinton
Meeting Coordinator
National Criminal Justice Association
720 7th Street, NW, 3rd Floor
Washington, DC 20001-3716
phone: (202) 628-8550
fax:  (202) 628-0080
email: 
lhinton@ncja.org

Mr. Calvin K. Hodnett
Policy Analyst
Office of Community Oriented Policing Services
U.S. Dept. of Justice
1100 Vermont Ave., N.W.
Washington, DC 20530
phone: (202) 514-6022
fax:  (202) 616-8572
email: 
Calvin.Hodnett@usdoj.gov

Mr. Bob Hohn
Senior Highway Safety Specalist
Impaired Driving Division
NHTSA
400 7th Street, S.W., NTI-111
Washington, DC 20590
phone: (202) 366-9712
fax:  (202) 366-2766
email: 
bob.hohn@nhtsa.dot.gov

top