Connecticut


Driver licensing agency
contact information
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161-2510
www.dmvct.org
860 263-5700
(within Hartford or outside CT)
860 842-8222 (elsewhere in CT)
Licensing Requirements
Visual acuity






Visual fields

Color vision requirement
Type of road test







Restricted licenses
Each eye with/without correction
Both eyes with/without correction
If one eye blind—other with/without correction
Absolute visual acuity minimum


Are bioptic telescopes allowed?
Minimum field requirement
Visual field testing device
None (only for commercial drivers)
The general on-the-road skills test is conducted by a DMV instructor or licensing agent. The test for a ‘graduated license’ is conducted by off-site staff who make an appointment with the applicant at his/her residence and conduct the test in a state-owned, dual control vehicle. Applicants with specific needs are trained/tested by a Handicapped Driver Training Unit certified driving instructor.
Graduated license considerations include the applicant's health problem/condition, accident record, and driving history. Restrictions include: daylight only, corrective lenses required, no highway driving, automatic transmission only, external mirrors required, special controls or equipment, and hearing aid required.
20/40
20/40
20/40
20/70 in better eye for restricted
license; some circumstances allow
for restricted license at 20/200
No
100˚ monocular; 140˚ binocular
Optec 1000
Licensing Renewal Procedures
Standard











Age-based renewal procedures
Length of license validation
Renewal options and conditions




Vision testing required at time of renewal?
Written test required?
Road test required?



Applicants age 65+ may renew for 2 years. Applicants age 65+ may renew by mail only upon submission of a written application showing hardship which shall include—but is not limited to—distance of applicant’s residence from DMV renewal facility.
6 years
In-person at DMV full-service branch, mobile unit scheduled locations, satellite offices, license renewal centers, and authorized AAA offices.
No
No
Only for new applicants and for these applicants whose license
has been expired for two or
more years.
Reporting Procedures
Physician/medical reporting



Immunity



Legal protection
DMV follow-up


Other reporting



Anonymity
Sec 14-46 states that a “physician may report to the DMV in writing the name, age, and
address of any person diagnosed by him to have any chronic health problem which in
the physician’s judgement will significantly affect the person's ability to safely operate
a motor vehicle.”
No civil action may be brought against the commissioner, the department or any of its employees, the board or any if its members, or any physician for providing any reports, records, examinations, opinions or recommendations. Any person acting in good faith
shall be immune from liability.
Only the laws regarding immunity apply.
The driver is notified in writing of his/her referral to the MAB. If the MAB requires additional information for review in order to make a recommendation, the driver is requested to file the additional medical information.
State regulations require 'reliable information' to be on file for the DMV to initiate a medical review case. This includes a written, signed report from any person in the medical/law enforcement profession, or a third party report on the DMV affidavit which requires signing in the presence of a notary public.
All information on file in a medical review case is classified as ‘confidential’. However, it is subject to release to the person or his/her representative upon written authorization from the person to release the data.
Medical Advisory Board
Role of the MAB
















MAB contact information
The MAB must be comprised of 8 specialties
1. General medicine or surgery
2. Internal medicine
3. Cardiovascular medicine
4. Neurology or neurological surgery
5. Ophthalmology
6. Orthopedic surgery
7. Psychiatry
8. Optometry
The MAB advises the commissioner on health standards relating to safe operation of motor vehicles; recommends procedures and guidelines for licensing individuals with impaired health; assists in developing medically acceptable standardized report forms; recommends training courses for motor vehicle examiners on medical aspects of operator licensure; undertakes any programs/activities the commissioner may request relating to medical aspects of motor vehicle operator licensure; makes recommendations and offers advice on individual health problem cases; and establishes guidelines for dealing with such individual cases.

Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles
Medical Review Division
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161-2510
860 263-5223
860 263-5774 fax


Table of Contents