|Driver licensing agency
|Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 698
Dover, DE 19903
Color vision requirement
|Each eye with/without correction
Both eyes with/without correction
If one eye blindother with/without correction
Absolute visual acuity minimum
Are bioptic telescopes allowed?
Minimum field requirement
Daytime-only licenses available
20/50 for restricted license; beyond 20/50 driving privileges denied
Yes, on a case-by-case basis with daytime-only restrictions
Age-based renewal procedures
|Length of license validation
Renewal options and conditions
Vision testing required at time of renewal?
Written test required?
Road test required?
|Physicians should report patients subject to “losses of consciousness due to disease of the central nervous system.” Failure to do so is punishable by a fine of $5.00 to $50.00.
The driver is notified in writing of the referral and his/her license is suspended until further examination.
The DMV will accept information from courts, other DMVs, police, and family members.
The DMV protects the identity of the reporter.
|Role of the MAB
MAB contact information
|If the DMV receives conflicting or questionable medical reports, the reports are sent to the MAB. The MAB determines whether the individual is medically safe to operate a motor vehicle.
Contact the MAB through Delaware Health and Social Services at:
1901 N. DuPont Highway
New Castle, DE 19720
302 255-4429 fax