Kansas


Driver licensing agency
contact information
Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles
Docking State Office Building
PO Box 2188
Topeka, Kansas 66601-2128
www.accesskansas.org/living/cars-transportation.html
785 296-3963
785 296-0691 fax
Licensing Requirements
Visual acuity









Visual fields

Color vision requirement
Type of road test
Restricted licenses
Each eye with/without correction
Both eyes with/without correction
If one eye blind—other with/without correction
Absolute visual acuity minimum





Are bioptic telescopes allowed?
Minimum field requirement

None
Non-fixed course
Up to 4 restrictions can be added at doctor’s/examiner’s discretion. These may include: corrective lenses required; daylight only; no interstate driving; no driving outside business area; driving within city limits only; mileage restrictions in increments of 5 miles up to 30 miles total; outside mirror required; mechanical aid required; automatic transmission required; prosthetic aid required; licensed driver in front seat required.
20/40
20/40
20/40
20/40 in better eye for unrestricted license; 20/60 in better eye requires doctor’s report; drivers with 20/60 or worse must demonstrate ability to operate a vehicle and maintain safe driving record for 3 years.
Yes, with eye doctor's report.
110˚ with both eyes and 55˚ monocular
Licensing Renewal Procedures
Standard






Age-based renewal procedures
Length of license validation
Renewal options and conditions
Vision testing required at time of renewal?
Written test required?
Road test required?


At age 65, renewal cycle is reduced to 4 years.
6 years
In-person
Yes
Yes
By examiner challenge, for visual acuity of 20/60 or worse, or at medical doctor’s request.
Reporting Procedures
Physician/medical reporting

Legal protection


DMV follow-up
Other reporting

Anonymity
Statutes specify that physicians are not required to volunteer information to the division or to the medical advisory board concerning the mental or physical condition of any patient.
Patients must sign a form permitting the MD or OD to release information to the DMV. Persons so reporting in good faith are statutorily immunized from civil actions for damages caused by such reporting.
Driver is notified in writing of referral.
Will accept information from courts, other DMVs, police, family members, and concerned citizens.
Letters of concern must be signed. Applicants may request a copy of the letter.
Medical Advisory Board
Role of the MAB


MAB contact information
The MAB assists the Director of Vehicles and Driver Review in interpreting conflicting information and formulating action based on the recommendation of specialists. It also helps determine the driving eligibility of complicated or borderline cases.
Kansas Driver Review
Medical Advisory Board
915 SW Harrison, Room 162
Topeka, KS 66626


Table of Contents