Massachusetts


Driver licensing agency
contact information
Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 199100
Boston, MA 02119-9100
www.state.ma.us/rmv
617 351-4500
Licensing Requirements
Visual acuity













Visual fields

Color vision requirement

Restricted licenses
Each eye with/without correction
Both eyes with/without correction
Absolute visual acuity minimum


Are bioptic telescopes allowed?








Minimum field requirement
Visual field testing device
Drivers must be able to distinguish red, green, and
amber.
Daytime-only restrictions available.
20/40
20/40
20/40 in better eye for unrestricted license; 20/50-20/70 in better eye for daylight only restriction.
Yes, if peripheral vision is at least 120˚ and acuity is corrected to 20/40 through the bioptic telescope and 20/100 through the carrier lens. The bioptic lens must meet certain requirements: it must be monocular, fixed focus, no greater than 3X magnification, and must be an ‘integral part of the lens.’
120˚
Optec 1000 vision testing machine
Licensing Renewal Procedures
Standard








Age-based renewal procedures
Length of license validation
Renewal options and conditions
Vision testing required at time of renewal?
Written test required?


Road test required?


None
5 years
In-person or via internet
Yes
No; however, DMV reviews on a case-by-case basis and will administer a road test if indicated.
No; however, DMV reviews on a case-by-case basis and will administer a road test if indicated.
Reporting Procedures
Physician/medical reporting


Immunity
Legal protection


DMV follow-up






Other reporting
Anonymity
Massachusetts is a self-reporting state. It is the responsibility of the driver to report to the Registry of Motor Vehicles any medical condition that may impair driving ability. However, physicians are encouraged to report unfit drivers to the Registry of Motor Vehicles.
N/A
The law does not provide any protection from liability, nor does it promise confidentiality due to the “Public Records” law which states simply that a driver is entitled to any information upon receipt of written approval.
If the report comes from the general public or a family member, it must be in writing and signed. If the report is accepted, the driver is contacted by mail and asked to obtain medical clearance to certify that he/she is safe to drive. If the DMV does not receive a response within 30 days, a second request is mailed. If there is still no response, then the license is revoked.
If the report is from a law enforcement officer or physician, it is considered an ‘immediate threat.’ The driver is contacted by mail and requested to voluntarily surrender his/her license or submit medical clearance within 10 days. If there is no response, then the license is revoked.
Will accept information from courts, other DMVs, police, family members, and other sources.
None
Medical Advisory Board
Role of the MAB



MAB contact information
The MAB provides guidance to the Registry of Motor Vehicles when there are medical issues relating to an applicant’s eligibility for a learner’s permit or driver’s license, or when an individual’s privilege to operate a motor vehicle has been—or is in danger of being—restricted, suspended, or revoked.
Mary Strachan
Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles
Medical Affairs Bureau
PO Box 199100
Boston, MA 02119-9100
617 351-9222
www.state.ma.us/rmv


Table of Contents