Oregon


Driver licensing agency
contact information
Oregon Department of Transportation
Driver and Motor Vehicle Services
1905 Lana Avenue NE
Salem, OR 97314
www.odot.state.or.us/dmv
503 945-5000
Licensing Requirements
Visual acuity









Visual fields




Color vision requirement
Type of road test
Restricted licenses
Each eye with/without correction
Both eyes with/without correction
If one eye blind—other with/without correction
Absolute visual acuity minimum

Are bioptic telescopes allowed?




Minimum field requirement

Visual field testing device


None
Standardized course.
Daytime driving only for visual acuity between 20/40 and 20/70.
20/40
20/40
20/40
20/70 in better eye with
restrictions.
Bioptic telescopic lenses are not permitted to meet acuity standards; however, they may be used while driving. The client must pass the vision test with the carrier lens only.
110˚ in horizontal plane (one or both eyes).
Both Keystone driver vision screening system & OPTEC vision screening instruments are used.
Licensing Renewal Procedures
Standard




Age-based renewal procedures
Length of license validation
Renewal options and conditions
Vision testing required at time of renewal?
Written test required?
Road test required?
After age 50, vision screening is required every 8 years.
8 years
Mail-in every other cycle.
Only after age 50.
No
No
Reporting Procedures
Physician/medical reporting







Immunity

Legal protection

DMV follow-up





Other reporting

Anonymity
Oregon is in the process of phasing in a statewide mandatory medical impairment-based reporting system. Physicians and health care providers meeting the definition of “primary care provider” are required to report persons presenting functional and/or cognitive impairments that are severe and cannot be corrected/controlled by surgery, medication, therapy, driving devices, or techniques. The state also has a voluntary reporting system that can be utilized by doctors, law enforcement officers, family, and friends who have concerns about an invividual’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. Reports submitted under the voluntary system may be based on a medical condition or on unsafe driving behaviors exhibited by the individual.
Under the mandatory reporting system, primary care providers are exempt from liability for reporting.
Under the mandatory reporting system, the law provides the primary care provider with legal protection for breaking the patient’s confidentiality.
In most cases, the driving privileges of individuals reported under the mandatory system are immediately suspended. An individual may request the opportunity to demonstrate the ability to safely operate a motor vehicle via knowledge and driving tests. For cognitive impairments (and for specific functional impairments), a medical file and driving record are sent to the State Health Office for determination of whether the individual is safe to drive at the current point in time.
Under the voluntary system, the DMVS will accept information from courts, other DMVs, law enforcement officers, physicians, family members, and other sources.
Reporting is not anonymous. Under the mandatory system, only the medical information being reported is confidential. Under the voluntary system, the DMVS will make every attempt to hold the reporter's name confidential if requested.
Medical Advisory Board
Role of the MAB


MAB contact information
Oregon does not retain a medical advisory board. The State Health Office reviews medical cases and makes licensing decisions by reviewing an individual’s medical condition and ability to drive.
For more information regarding the review of medical cases, contact:
Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services
Driver Programs Section
Attn: Melody Sheffield
1905 Lana Avenue NE
Salem, OR 97314
503 945-5520


Table of Contents