Virginia


Driver licensing agency
contact information
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269
www.dmv.state.va.us
866 368-5463
Licensing Requirements
Visual acuity










Visual fields




Color vision requirement
Type of road test


Restricted licenses
Each eye with/without correction
Both eyes with/without correction
If one eye blind—other with/without correction
Absolute visual acuity minimum



Are bioptic telescopes allowed?



Minimum field requirement


Visual field testing device

None
A behind-the-wheel test is administered with the DMV examiner instructing and evaluating the person on specific driving maneuvers.
Restrictions may be based on road test performance, medical conditions, violation of probation, or court convictions. The restrictions include mandatory corrective lenses, hand controls, radius limitations, daylight driving only, mandatory ignition interlock device, and driving only to and from work/school.
20/40
20/40
20/40
20/40 in better eye for unrestricted license; 20/70 in better eye with daylight only restriction; 20/200 in better eye with other restrictions.
Yes, provided that acuity is 20/200 through carrier lens and 20/70 through telescope. A test is required.
100˚ monocular and binocular; 70˚ monocular and binocular with daylight only restriction.
Stereo Optical/Titmus 10 mm
W @ 333 mm.
Licensing Renewal Procedures
Standard















Age-based renewal procedures
Length of license validation
Renewal options and conditions










Vision testing required at time of renewal?
Written test required?

Road test required?
None
5 years
Customers may use an alternative method of renewing their driver's license every other cycle unless their license has been suspended or revoked, they have 2 or more violations, there is a DMV medical review indicator on the license, or they fail the vision test. Alternative methods include mail-in, internet, touch-tone telephone, fax, and ExtraTeller.
Yes
If the customer has had 2 or more violations in the past 5 years.
No
Reporting Procedures
Physician/medical reporting


Immunity
Legal protection


DMV follow-up


Other reporting


Anonymity
Physicians are not required to report unsafe drivers. However, for physicians who do report unsafe drivers, laws have been enacted to prohibit release of the physician’s name as the source of the report.
No
Va. Code ß 54.1-2966.1 states that if a physician reports a patient to the DMV, it shall not constitute a violation of the doctor-patient relationship unless the physician has acted with malice.
Drivers are notified in writing that the DMV has initiated a medical review and advised of the medical review requirements. Drivers are also advised of any restrictions or suspension imposed as a result of the review.
The DMV relies upon information from courts, other DMVs, law enforcement officers, physicians, and other medical professionals, relatives, and concerned citizens to help identify drivers who may be impaired.
Not anonymous. Virginia law provides confidentiality, but only for relatives and physicians.
Medical Advisory Board
Role of the MAB






MAB contact information
The MAB enables the DMV to monitor drivers throughout the state who may have physical or mental problems. The MAB assists the Commissioner with the development of medical and health standards for use in the issuance of driver’s licenses. The MAB helps the DMV avoid the issuance of licenses to persons suffering from any physical or mental disability or disease that will prevent their exercising reasonable and ordinary control over a motor vehicle while driving it on highways. The MAB reviews the more complex cases, including those referred for administrative hearings, and provides recommendations for medical review action.
Ms. Jacquelin C. Branche, RN
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Medical Review Services
PO Box 27412
Richmond VA 23269
804 367-0531
804 367-1604 fax
Dmvj3b@dmv.state.va.us


Table of Contents