Wisconsin


Driver licensing agency
contact information
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Bureau of Driver Services
Hill Farms State Transportation Building
4802 Sheboygan Avenue
PO Box 7910
Madison, WI 53707-7910
www.dot.wisconsin.gov
608 266-2353
Licensing Requirements
Visual acuity





Visual fields


Color vision requirement
Type of road test


Restricted licenses
Each eye with/without correction
If one eye blind—other with/without correction
Absolute visual acuity minimum

Are bioptic telescopes allowed?

Minimum field requirement

Visual field testing device
Only for commercial drivers.
A knowledge and sign test are administered prior to the road test. The limited area test is on a non-fixed course, but is otherwise standardized.
Restrictions can be recommended by a physician or vision specialist or determined by the road test. Restrictions include daytime driving only, radius limitations, and/or freeway restrictions.
20/40
20/40
20/100 in better eye with or without correction.
Not for meeting vision standards, but can be used in driving.
70˚ in better eye for regular unrestricted license.
Stereo Optical machine
Licensing Renewal Procedures
Standard







Age-based renewal procedures
Length of license validation
Renewal options and conditions

Vision testing required at time of renewal?
Written test required?

Road test required?

None
8 years
In-person; by mail if client is out of state.
Yes
Determined by DOT, vision specialist, or physician.
Determined by DOT, vision specialist, or physician.
Reporting Procedures
Physician/medical reporting


Immunity
Legal protection
DMV follow-up


Other reporting
Anonymity
Physicians are encouraged though not required to report. They can report by submitting form MV3141 (“Driver Condition or Behavior Report”) or a letter on letterhead stationary. Form MV3141 is available on the DOT Web site.
Yes
Yes
Driver is notified in writing of requirement(s). Depending on requirement(s), he/she is given 15, 30, or 60 days to comply. If driver does not comply within the time period given, the driver’s license is cancelled. Driver is notified in writing of cancellation.
Will accept information from courts, other DMVs, police, family members, and other sources.
Not anonymous or confidential. (Wisconsin has an Open Records Law). However, individuals can submit “Pledge of Confidentiality” form MV3454 with form MV3141. Form MV3454 is available on the DOT Web site.
Medical Advisory Board
Role of the MAB
The MAB advises the Bureau of Driver Services on medical issues regarding individual drivers. Wisconsin has 2 types of MAB:
  1. By-Mail-Board: paper file is mailed to 3 physicians specialists (ie, neurologist, endocrinologist, ophthamalogist) for recommendations based on the client’s medical condition(s).
  2. In-Person Board: the client has an interview with 3 physicians (psychiatrist, neurologist, and internist).

Actions are based on the recommendation of the majority, the client’s driving record, medical information provided by the client’s physician and, if appropriate, driving examination results.



Table of Contents