Section IV. Chart Summarizing Jurisdictions Profiled

Site
Summary of BICYCLE
HELMET USE
Law
Jurisdiction
Type
Ages
Covered
Timing
Enforcement/
Penalties
Austin,
Texas
All-rider law modified to minors-only/local level City Originally all ages

Modified to under 18
Passage: 5-1996Effective date:10 days after passage; 90-day “grace period”

Modified: 10-1997 (effective immediately)
Original version:$50 first offense$100 succeeding offensesDismissal with bicycle helmet purchase on first offense

Modified version:$20 first offense$40 succeeding offenses
Dismissal with bicycle helmet purchase
Florida/Jacksonville/
Duval Counties
Minors-only law/state level; array of county programs StateCounty-level programs Under 16 Passage:
4-1996

Effective date:
1-1-1997


Penalties
beginning:
1-1-1998
Before 1-1-1998:Safety materials and verbal warnings

Beginning 1-1-1998:
Fine: $23:
$15 (state)
$ 8 (Duval County)

Dismissal with bicycle helmet purchase on first offense
Maryland Minors-only law/state level;preceded by county laws State Under 16 Passage: 5-1995Effective date: 10-1-1995 Warnings and educational materials; no fine
Oregon Minors-only law/state level State Under 16 Passage: 7-1993Effective date: 7-1994 Fine: $25Waived with bicycle helmet purchase on first offense
Port Angeles,
Washington
All-rider law/local level City All ages Passage: 5-1993Effective date: 1-1994Penalties beginning: 1-1995 Before 1-1-1995: Warnings

After 1-1-1995:
Fine$15 plus court costs

Dismissal with bicycle helmet purchase on first offense
Seymour,
Connecticut
All-rider law/local level (repealed) City All ages Effective date:
7-1- 1998
Suspended:
7-21-1998
Repealed: 9-1998
(Repealed)
$25 first offense
$100 succeeding offenses
Dismissal with bicycle helmet purchase on first offense