band of color

Delaware

Effective date of original law:
July 1, 1985

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Department of Public Safety
Office of Highway Safety
P.O. Box 1321
Dover, DE 19903-1321
Phone: 302-744-2740 

Day-to-Day Administration
Glenn Kemp,
Motorcycle Program Coordinator
Department of Public Safety
Division of Motor Vehicles
Motorcycle Program
P.O. Box 698 (mailing address)
303 Transportation Circle
(shipping address)
Dover, DE 19903
Phone: 302-744-2549
Fax: 302-739-3152
E-mail: Glenn.Kemp@state.de.us
Web site: http://www.dmv.de.gov/

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: $5 of the $8 license endorsement fee and
    $4 of the $10 motorcycle registration fee
  • Stipulated use of funds: To administer motorcycle rider education programs and to improve motorcycle licensing procedures; remaining funds to be apportioned to teaching approved motorcycle rider education courses

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • The various programs work as a team.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data: Department of Motor Vehicles, Delaware Motorcycle Program
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data: Department of Motor Vehicles, Licensing Division
  • Data available in electronic format: Most of the data can be extracted from the mainframe to a spreadsheet.
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: Crash data can be linked to rider training and licensing data with some limitations. Currently the crash data is tracked by the State Police, and the rider training information for those who successfully pass the training course is entered onto their driving record.

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: March through November
  • Number of instruction sites: 2
  • Types of providers: Department of Motor Vehicle building and hospital

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses Offered: 73
  • Students enrolled: 1201
  • No-shows or registration refunds: 134 no-shows
  • Time until course reaches capacity: 1 month (est.)
  • Average waiting period to take course: 3 months
  • Students on waiting list: 50 (est.)

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $104,957
  • Source of Federal funds:
    Highway Transportation fund grant
    for the training of an implementation team for the conversion to the BRC
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $87.39
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $50 in-State, $200 out-of-State
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $35 in-State,
    $100 out-of-State
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: $15 fee for students who transfer from one class to another

Curriculum

  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS,
    BRC, and ERC
  • Advisory committee: The Governor appoints the nine members of the advisory committee. Term lengths
    are indefinite.
  • Curricula approved by:
    Department of Public Safety
  • Process to modify curricula: Recommendations for changes to the curriculum forwarded to MSF
  • Data collected for modifications: Individual suggestions tracked with
    MSF until approved or disapproved
  • Validation process for modifications: Approval from MSF


pie chart
pie chart
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification is not required for Instructors or Chief Instructors.
  • A three-class Instructor internship is required.
  • State offers Instructor Preparation Course (IPC).
  • Annual updates for Instructors are required. Instructors are monitored annually.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 17
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 2
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 7
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 57%
  • Instructor demographics: N/A
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Chief Instructors and RiderCoach trainers perform no-notice evaluations of Instructors throughout
    each training year.
  • The coordinator for the Delaware Motorcycle Rider Education Program is responsible for
    quality control.
  • Each Instructor is evaluated at least once per year.

Program Evaluation

  • There is no in-State evaluation of the effectiveness of the training program. Program information is forwarded to MSF and SMSA annually to be used in statistical data.
  • Annual reviews of course availability are made to the public.
  • Efforts are made each year to increase program availability to the public.

Licensing Requirements
Permit

  • $5 initial fee
  • Successful completion of eye exam
  • Successful completion of State law exam
  • Successful completion of knowledge exam
  • Valid for 90 days
  • One renewal permitted

License

  • $36 initial testing fee
  • Rider may be licensed at 16 upon successful completion of a rider education course. Rider must be 18 if course is not completed.
  • Motorcycle endorsements must be renewed every 4 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Third-party testing: Yes
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Delaware Motorcycle Rider Education Program

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Knowledge test used: MSF
  • Skills test used: Alternate MOST

Incentives

  • Rider education waiver: Skills and knowledge
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
    Yes
  • Reciprocal license waiver: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 50,072
  • Registered motorcycles: 11,986
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed without rider education: N/A
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: None
  • Tiered licensing: None

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Modified Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: Under $5,000