band of color

Maryland

Effective date of original law:
July 1, 1983

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Maryland Department of Transportation
7201 Corporate Center Drive
P.O. Box 548
Hanover, MD 21076
Phone: 888-713-1414
Fax: 410-865-1334

Day-to-Day Administration
Andrew Krajewski
Program Director for Driver Education
and Licensing
Motor Vehicle Administration
Motorcycle Safety Program
6601 Ritchie Hwy. NE, Room 208
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
Phone: 410-424-3731
Fax: 410-424-3101
E-mail: akrajewski@mdot.state.md.us
Web site: www.mva.state.md.us/MVAProg/
MOTO/default.htm

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Appropriation from Miscellaneous Fees Accounts
  • Stipulated use of funds: To cover all annual costs for administering the program; no dedicated funds

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • The Motor Vehicle Administration is responsible for the Motorcycle Safety Program.
  • The Maryland Highway Safety Office provides grants to the Motor Vehicle Administration.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
    Motor Vehicle Administration
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Motor Vehicle Administration
  • Data available in electronic format: Yes—through a special request
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: Crash data can be linked to rider training and to licensing data through the Motor Vehicle Administration, State Highway Administration, and National Study Center.

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: April through October
  • Number of instruction sites: 15
  • Types of providers: Community colleges, local high schools, Motor Vehicle Administration Branch Offices, and Rider’s Edge

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 454
  • Students enrolled: 5312
  • No-shows or registration refunds: 776 no-shows
  • Time until course reaches capacity: Immediately
  • Average waiting period to take course: N/A
  • Students on waiting list: 838

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $659,000
  • Source of Federal funds: Section 402
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $117.74
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $100 in-State, $150 out-of-State
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $50 in-State,
    $75 out-of-State
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: None

Curriculum

  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS,
    BRC, and ERC
  • Advisory committee: State advisory committee—membership is voluntary
  • Curricula approved by:
    Motor Vehicle Administration
  • Process to modify curricula: Use MSF materials and the Motor Vehicle Administration to adjust Maryland requirements based on laws and crash records.
  • Data collected for modifications:
    No procedure is in place.
  • Validation process for modifications: Field observations








pie chart
pie chart
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is required for Instructors and Chief Instructors.
  • One year probationary period required for Instructors.
  • State offers Instructor Preparation Course (IPC).
  • Annual updates are required for Instructors. Instructors are monitored monthly by Chiefs/RiderCoach Trainers, program staff, and peers.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 159
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 4
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 60
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 50%
  • Instructor demographics: N/A
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Motor Vehicle Administration has an ongoing quality assurance effort.
  • Motor Vehicle Administration’s quality assurance supervisors are responsible for quality control.
  • Quality control implementation is ongoing throughout the training season.

Program Evaluation

  • Program conducts regular evaluations in the form of an annual report.
  • Annual report is published, and Driver Safety Research keeps training and crash statistics.
  • Evaluation is used for program improvement, provided there is funding for improvements

Licensing Requirements
Permit

  • $30 pregraduated licensing system and $45 postgraduated licensing system*
  • Successful completion of
    eye exam
  • Successful completion of knowledge exam
  • Permit valid for 6 months (pregraduated licensing system) or 1 year (postgraduated licensing system)
  • One renewal permitted

License

  • $30 pregraduated licensing system and $45 postgraduated licensing system*
  • Rider may be licensed at 16 upon successful completion of a rider education program. Rider must be 18 if course is not completed.
  • Motorcycle endorsement must be renewed every 5 years.

*Permit fee included in license fee.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Motor Vehicle Administration
  • Third-party testing: None
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Motor Vehicle Administration

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Knowledge test used: MSF
  • Skills test used: Local off-street

Incentives

  • Rider education waiver: Skills and knowledge
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
    None
  • Reciprocal license waiver: None

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 186,468
  • Registered motorcycles: 59,443
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: 4,117
  • Operators licensed without rider education: 2,000 (est.)
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: None
  • Tiered licensing: None

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Modified Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: None