band of color

Nebraska

Effective date of original law: August 15, 1981

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Nebraska Office of Highway Safety
301 Centennial Mall, South
P.O. Box 94612
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: 402-471-2515
Fax: 402-471-3865

Day-to-Day Administration
Fred Zwonechek, Administrator
Nebraska Office of Highway Safety
301 Centennial Mall, South
Lincoln, NE 68509-4612
Phone: 402-471-2515
Fax: 402-471-3865
E-mail: fredz@mail.state.ne.us
Web site: www.dmv.state.ne.us/highwaysafety/
training/#motor-cycle_safety

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Motorcycle registration fee ($3) and motorcycle license fee ($2.50), which goes into a Motorcycle Safety Education Fund to support motorcycle safety programs
  • Stipulated use of funds: To fund motorcycle safety education including administration expenses; funding priorities: 1) reimburse novice course costs; 2) Chief Instructor training; 3) Instructor training; 4) site preparation for novice students; 5) reimburse advance course costs; and 6) program promotion

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • The Department of Motor Vehicles, Nebraska Office of Highway Safety is responsible for course administration, rules, and regulations.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data: Department of Motor Vehicles—Office of Highway Safety
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Department of Motor Vehicles—Office of Highway Safety
  • Data available in electronic format: None
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: None

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: March through September
  • Number of instruction sites: 7
  • Types of providers: Rider’s Edge, military, community colleges, commercial schools, and safety councils

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 117
  • Students enrolled: 1060
  • No-shows or registration refunds: N/A
  • Time until course reaches capacity: N/A
  • Average waiting period to take course: N/A
  • Students on waiting list: N/A

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $110,000
  • Source of Federal funds: Section 402
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $103.77
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $225
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: Course not offered
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: None

Curriculum

  • Approved curriculum: MRC:RSS
  • Advisory committee: None
  • Curriculum approved by:
    Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Process to modify curriculum: Enabling Legislation/Rules and Regulations Process
  • Data collected for modifications: N/A
  • Validation process for modifications: N/A








pie chart
pie chart
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is required for Instructors and Chief Instructors.
  • The Department of Motor Vehicles is responsible for establishing minimum requirements
    for Instructors and Chief Instructors. Instructors must have at least 2 years of motorcycle riding experience.
  • Instructors must complete an internship requirement of two courses.
  • Annual updates are required for Instructors. Chiefs and RiderCoach trainers monitor Instructors annually

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 56
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 2
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 23
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 100%
  • Instructor demographics: 96% male, 4% female
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Quality control measures include Technical Assistance Reviews.
  • The Department of Motor Vehicles is responsible for quality control.
  • Quality control implementation is annual unless otherwise necessary.

Program Evaluation

  • Evaluation process involves the review of student evaluations and student scores.

Special features of rider education and/or licensing program

  • State offers point reductions for riders who have successfully completed a rider
    education course.

Licensing Requirements
Permit

  • $8 fee
  • Successful completion of
    vision test
  • Successful completion of knowledge test
  • Valid for 1 year
  • Not renewable

License

  • No endorsement fee with successful completion of required tests
  • Rider must be 16 with or without successful completion of a rider education course.
  • Motorcycle endorsements must be renewed every 5 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Third-party testing: None
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Department of Motor Vehicles

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Knowledge test used: MSF
  • Primary skills test used: Alternate MOST
  • Secondary skills test used: Motorcyclist In-Traffic Test (MIT)

Incentives

  • Rider education waiver: Skills and knowledge
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in another State: None
  • Reciprocal license waivers: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 48,196
  • Registered motorcycles: 24,881
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: 4,904
  • Operators licensed without rider education: 37,491
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: Yes
  • Tiered licensing: None

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: Less than $5,000