band of color

Nevada

Effective date of original law:
July 1, 1991

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Office of Traffic Safety
107 Jacobsen Way
Stewart Facility
Carson City, NV 89711
Phone: 775-687-5720
Fax: 775-687-5328
E-mail: TSafety@dps.state.nv.us

Day-to-Day Administration
Ken Kiphart, Program Administrator
Nevada Rider Motorcycle
Safety Program
Office of Traffic Safety
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711-0999
Phone: 775-684-7480
Fax: 775-684-7482
E-mail: nvrider@dps.state.nv.us
Web site: www.nevadarider.com

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Motorcycle registration fee ($6)
  • Stipulated use of funds: Only for expenses of the program for education of motorcycle riders, including reimbursement for Instructors.

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • State Chief Instructors train motorcycle examiners, assist in laying out testing sites, and conduct refresher training.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
    Nevada Rider Motorcycle Safety Program
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Data available in electronic format: Yes
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: None

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: January through December
  • Number of instruction sites: 18
  • Types of providers: Rider’s Edge, community colleges, and mobile training sites

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 179
  • Students enrolled: 2438
  • No-shows or registration refunds: N/A
  • Time until course reaches capacity: 3 months early
  • Average waiting period to take course: 3 months
  • Students on waiting list: 200–300

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $242,000
  • Source of Federal funds: None
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $99.26
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $100
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $49
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: N/A

Curriculum

  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS,
    BRC, and ERC
  • Advisory committee: State has a five-member advisory board. Members are appointed by the Governor and serve
    3-year terms.
  • Curricula approved by: Director of the Department of Motor Vehicles and Public Safety
  • Process to modify curricula:
    Submit curricula to director
  • Data collected for modifications: None
  • Validation process for modifications: None








pie chart
graph - data not available
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is required for Instructors, but not for Chief Instructors. Nevada only recognizes certification from MSF.
  • Instructors must complete a three-class apprenticeship.
  • State offers Instructor Preparation Course (IPC).
  • Annual updates are required for Instructors. Chiefs and RiderCoach trainers monitor Instructors annually.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 60
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 3
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 21
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 71%
  • Instructor demographics: 82% male, 18% female
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Quality control measures include formal site reviews.
  • Nevada Rider Motorcycle Safety Program is responsible for quality control.
  • Frequency of quality control implementation is twice annually per site.

Program Evaluation

  • Program conducts regular evaluations.
  • The technical assistance review includes reviews of the range, storage, classroom,
    State-owned equipment, sponsor equipment, student satisfaction, and curriculum delivery. Each sponsor and site is reviewed at least twice each year. The reviews are performed by either the program administrator or a Chief Instructor/RiderCoach Trainer under contract with the program.

Licensing Requirements
Permit

  • $19.50 permit issuance fee
  • Successful completion of vision test
  • Successful completion of knowledge test
  • Valid for 8 months

License

  • $21.75 fee
  • Rider must be 16 with or without successful completion of a rider education course.
  • License must be renewed every
    4 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Third-party testing: None
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Nevada Rider Motorcycle Safety Program

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Knowledge test used: MSF
  • Primary skills test used: Motorcyclist Licensing Skill
    Test (MLST)
  • Secondary skills test used: Alternate MOST

Incentives

  • Rider education waiver: Skills and knowledge
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
    Yes
  • Reciprocal license waivers: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 110,855
  • Registered motorcycles: 30,124
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed without rider education: N/A
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: None
  • Tiered licensing: None

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: N/A