band of color

New Mexico

Effective date of original law:
July 1, 1983

Ultimate Program Responsibility
New Mexico Department of
Transportation Traffic Safety Bureau
604 West San Mateo
P.O. Box 1149
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone: 505-827-1584
Toll Free: 800-541-7952
Fax: 505-827-0431
Web site: www.unm.edu/~dgrint/tsb.html

Day-to-Day Administration
Motorcycle Safety Foundation
New Mexico Motorcycle Safety Program
2 Jenner Street, Suite 150
Irvine, CA 92618-3806
Kevin Krasner, Program Director
Phone: 949-727-3227 x3016
E-mail: kkrasner@msf-usa.org

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Motorcycle registration ($2)
  • Stipulated use of funds: To institute and provide a Statewide system of motorcycle training and alcohol and drug effects education for first-time license applicants and to purchase necessary equipment and support services

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • Though the Traffic Safety Bureau and Motor Vehicle Division are separate agencies, they work cooperatively and exchange information.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
    Traffic Safety Bureau
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Motor Vehicle Division
  • Data available in electronic format: Yes
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: Yes

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: January through December
  • Number of instruction sites: 11
  • Types of providers: Rider’s Edge, universities, community colleges, high schools, and military

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 250 (est.)
  • Students enrolled: 2,259
  • No-shows or registration refunds: N/A
  • Time until course reaches capacity: N/A
  • Average waiting period to take course: N/A
  • Students on waiting list: N/A

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $110,000
  • Source of Federal funds: None
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $48.69
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $160
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $65
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: None

Curriculum

  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS,
    BRC, and ERC
  • Advisory committee: Volunteer members serve an indefinite term, but an advisory committee is not required.
  • Curricula approved by:
    Traffic Safety Bureau
  • Process to modify curricula: N/A
  • Data collected for modifications: N/A
  • Validation process for modifications: N/A







pie chart
graph - data not available
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is not required for Instructors or Chief Instructors other than the Instructor must be MSF-Certified.
  • Instructors are required to complete a two-class internship with a probationary period of two classes.
  • Annual updates are required for Instructors. Chiefs/RiderCoach Trainers and program staff monitor Instructors at least once a year.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 63
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 1
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: N/A
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: N/A
  • Instructor demographics: N/A
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Quality control measures are in place.
  • Traffic Safety Bureau is responsible for quality control.
  • Quality control is implemented at least once per year.

Program Evaluation

  • Program conducts regular evaluations.
  • Evaluation results are considered for needed changes.

Licensing Requirements
Permit

  • $2 permit issuance fee
  • Successful completion of vision test
  • Successful completion of knowledge test
  • Valid for 6 months
  • Two renewals permitted

License

  • $11.50 license endorsement fee
  • Rider must be 13 with successful completion of a rider education course. Rider must be 18 if course is not completed.
  • 13- and 14-year-olds are limited to
    100cc and no passengers.
  • Endorsement renewal period is
    4 or 8 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Motor Vehicle Division
  • Third-party testing: Yes
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Motor Vehicle Division

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Primary knowledge test used: MSF
  • Secondary knowledge test used: Local
  • Primary skills test used: Alternate MOST
  • Secondary skills test used: Local on-street

Incentives

  • Rider education waiver: Skills and knowledge
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
    Yes
  • Reciprocal license waivers: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 58,400
  • Registered motorcycles: 25,408
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed without rider education: N/A
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: None
  • Tiered licensing: Yes

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: $10,000–$25,000