band of color

Ohio

Effective date of original law: March 11, 1987

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
1970 West Broad Street
Columbus, OH 43223-1101
Phone: 614-752-7500
Mailing Address:
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 16520
Columbus, OH 43216-6520

Day-to-Day Administration
Robert D. Secrest, Coordinator
Ohio Department of Public Safety
Motorcycle Ohio
1970 W. Broad Street
P.O. Box 182081
Columbus, OH 43218
Phone: 800-837-4337
Fax: 614-728-8330
E-mail: bsecrest@dps.state.oh.us
Web site: www.state.oh.us/odps/mo

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Motorcycle registration fee ($6)
  • Stipulated use of funds: To pay part or all costs for the motorcycle safety and education program unless otherwise provided by law

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • All departments and sections work together cooperatively.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
    Ohio Department of Public Safety/Motorcycle Ohio
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Ohio Department of Public Safety—Bureau of Motor Vehicles
  • Data available in electronic format: Some data available
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: None

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: March through November
  • Number of instruction sites: 40
  • Types of providers: Mobile training sites, universities, community colleges, and vocational technical schools

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 565
  • Students enrolled: 6,290
  • No-shows or registration refunds: 248
  • Time until course reaches capacity: 2 weeks
  • Average waiting period to take course: 3 months
  • Students on waiting list: 650

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $1,300,000
  • Source of Federal funds: None
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $206.68
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $25 for 18 and older; no cost for under 18 years
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $25
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: None

Curriculum

  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS,
    BRC, and ERC
  • Advisory committee: None
  • Curricula approved by:
    Department of Public Safety
  • Process to modify curricula: N/A
  • Data collected for modifications: N/A
  • Validation process for modifications: N/A







pie chart
pie chart
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is required for Instructors, but not for Chief Instructors.
  • Instructor candidate must have taken or audited the BRC within a 12-month period preceding enrollment in the Instructor Preparation Course.
  • Probationary period for Instructors consists of a new Instructor teaching with an experienced Instructor three or four times.
  • State offers Instructor Preparation Course (IPC).
  • Annual updates are required for Instructors. Chiefs/RiderCoach Trainers, peer, and State coordinators spot check Instructors and monitor as needed.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 178
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 2
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 42
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 86%
  • Instructor demographics: 85% male, 15% female
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Quality control measures are peer observer programs, chief visits, and coordinator visits.
  • Ohio Department of Public Safety, Motorcycle Ohio program is responsible for quality control.
  • Quality control implementation is ongoing throughout the training season. Inspector updates occur in the off-season.

Program Evaluation

  • Program conducts regular evaluations in the form of self-evaluation.
  • Chief Instructor sponsors meet twice a year to discuss program.
  • Recommendations are implemented where needed and where practical.

Licensing Requirements
Permit

  • $7.25 cost of initial permit
  • Successful completion of
    vision test
  • Successful completion of knowledge test
  • Valid for 1 year
  • Four renewals permitted

License

  • $7.50 fee as a separate license or as an endorsement to a regular operator’s license, plus $3.25 issuance fee and $1.50 laminating fee; $1 vision screening fee on renewals only.
  • Rider must be 16 with successful completion of a rider education course. Rider must be 18 if course is not completed.
  • Motorcycle license must be renewed every 4 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: State Highway Patrol
  • Third-party testing: Yes
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    State Highway Patrol

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Primary knowledge test used: Local
  • Skills test used: Alternate MOST

Incentives

  • Rider education waiver: Skills
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
    None
  • Reciprocal license waivers: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 634,500
  • Registered motorcycles: 264,434
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: 4,800
  • Operators licensed without rider education: 5,500
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: Yes
  • Tiered licensing: None

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: $5,000–$10,000