band of color

South Dakota

Effective date of original law:
July 1, 1982

Ultimate Program Responsibility
South Dakota Department of
Public Safety
Office of Driver Licensing
118 W. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 800-952-3696 (in-State)
Phone: 605-773-6883 (out-of-State)

Day-to-Day Administration
Rick Kiley
South Dakota Safety Council
3211 S. Carolyn Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone: 605-361-7785
Fax: 605-361-2156
E-mail: kickriley@sio.midco.net

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Motorcycle registration fee ($3)
  • Stipulated use of funds: To provide only motorcycle safety courses and education approved by the director

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • The South Dakota Office of Highway Safety contracts with the South Dakota Safety Council to offer Rider Education courses to novice and experienced riders throughout the State.
  • The South Dakota Department of Motor Vehicles accepts the course completion card for licensing.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
    South Dakota Safety Council and South Dakota Office of Highway Safety
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    South Dakota Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Data available in electronic format: None
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: N/A

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: April through September
  • Number of instruction sites: 10
  • Types of providers: Rider’s Edge, airports, universities, fairgrounds, high schools, Department of Transportation sites, and other private providers

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 143
  • Students enrolled: 942
  • No-shows or registration refunds: N/A
  • Time until course reaches capacity: 3–4 weeks
  • Average waiting period to take course: Immediate (beginning of season), 4–6 weeks (midseason)
  • Students on waiting list: 40–50

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $115,450
  • Source of Federal funds: N/A
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $122.56
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $75
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $60
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: N/A

Curriculum

  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS
    and ERC
  • Advisory committee: N/A
  • Curricula approved by: Director of the Department of Public Safety
  • Process to modify curriculum: Modifications are submitted to the Office of Highway Safety and if necessary to the legislature.
  • Data collected for modifications: N/A
  • Validation process for modifications: N/A


pie chart
pie chart
pie chart
graph - data not available

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • The director establishes rules for Instructor certification.
  • The Chief Instructor and program director evaluate Instructors using MSF guidelines.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 36
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 1
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 9
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 100%
  • Instructor demographics: N/A
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Quality control measures include Instructor updates and professional training, site visitations and evaluations by the director and Chief Instructor, and peer teaching.
  • The program director and Chief Instructor are responsible for quality control.
  • Quality control implementation is ongoing.

Program Evaluation

  • The program conducts ongoing, regular evaluations for program improvement.

Licensing Requirements
Permit

  • $8 permit issuance fee
  • Successful completion of
    vision test
  • Successful completion of knowledge test
  • Successful completion of
    skills test
  • Valid for 1 year
  • Riders 14–17 must hold a valid permit continuously for 180 days (90 days if rider successfully completed an approved driver education course) prior to upgrading to a Motorcycle Restricted Minor’s Permit.
    If a person has successfully completed the MSC:RSS, permit needs to be held for only
    30 continuous days.
  • Permit is not renewable, but rider may apply for another permit if it expires.

License

  • $8 license endorsement fee
  • Rider must be 16 with or without the successful completion of a rider education course.
  • Motorcycle license must be renewed every 5 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Department of Commerce and Regulation
  • Third-party testing: Yes
  • Agency responsible for training examiners: N/A

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Primary knowledge test used: MSF
  • Primary skills test used: Motorcyclist In-Traffic Test (MIT)
  • Secondary skills test used: Local on-street

Incentives

  • Rider education waiver: Skills and knowledge
  • Skills test waiver for rider education completed in another State: Yes
  • Reciprocal license waivers: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 52,641
  • Registered motorcycles: 29,175
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed without rider education: N/A
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: Yes
  • Tiered licensing: N/A

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: N/A