|Effective date of original law:
July 1, 1988
Ultimate Program Responsibility
Tennessee Department of Safety
1150 Foster Avenue
Nashville, TN 37249
Tom Guerrant, State Coordinator
Department of Safety
Tennessee Highway Patrol
Motorcycle Rider Education Program
Tennessee Highway Patrol Training Center
275 Stewart’s Ferry Pike
Nashville, TN 37214
Phone: 615-741-3073 x114
- Source of funding: Motorcycle registration ($2) and license and permit fees ($1)
- Stipulated use of funds: To administer only expenses of motorcycle rider education program and to reimburse organizations with course sites
Relationship Among Various Programs
- Currently, the rider education program is working with the licensing agency to upgrade the motorcycle licensing system.
Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data
- Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
Motorcycle Rider Education Program
- Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
Driver License Issuance Division
- Data available in electronic format: Yes, training data
- Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: None currently, but data will be available with the new crash reporting system.
- Months of instruction: March through December
- Number of instruction sites: 16
- Types of providers: Universities, community colleges, private contractors, vocational technical schools, high schools, and Rider’s Edge
Operations and Participant Characteristics
- Courses offered: 396
- Students enrolled: 4,066
- No-shows or registration refunds: 0
- Time until course reaches capacity: N/A
- Average waiting period to take course: 2 weeks
- Students on waiting list: 0
Program Funding and Expenditures
- Annual budget: $158,800
- Source of Federal funds: None
- Average cost to State to educate rider: $39.06
- Course tuition charged to novice rider: $150
- Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $75
- Special fees in addition to course fees: Some colleges charge for the insurance.
- Approved curricula: MRC:RSS,
BRC, and ERC
- Advisory committee: Five-member advisory committee with members appointed by the Governor and commissioner. Members serve a
- Curricula approved by: Commissioner of Safety with recommendation from advisory committee and State coordinator
- Process to modify curricula: N/A
- Data collected for modifications: N/A
- Description of validation of modifications: N/A
Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation
- State certification or approval is required for Instructors and Chief Instructors. The Department of Safety prescribes Instructor qualifications.
- Annual Instructor updates. Chiefs/RiderCoach Trainers, program staff, and State coordinators monitor Instructors 2–3 times a year. Use of Quality Assurance Assessments is provided to the Site Coordinator for corrections.
- A mentorship requirement exists as directed by the site coordinator.
Profile of Instructors
- Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 139
- Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 6
- Instructor candidates in 2001: 73
- Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 84%
- Instructor demographics: 86% male, 14% female
- Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: N/A
Quality Control Procedures
- Quality control measures are in the form of site quality assurance visits and assessment by Chief Instructors and the State coordinator.
- The State coordinator is responsible for quality control.
- A minimum of three quality assurance reports are done at each training site; more are done
- The program coordinator conducts an annual program evaluation using the quality assurance assessments and personal site evaluations.
- All the Chief Instructors and the State coordinator individually evaluate each training site. All involved individuals meet to discuss and determine appropriate actions to ensure standards are achieved and maintained.
- During the annual update with site coordinators, the recommended program improvements are discussed and implemented.
Special features of rider education and/or licensing program
- State offers point reductions for riders who have successfully completed a rider
- $6.50 permit issuance fee
- Successful completion of vision test
- Successful completion of knowledge test
- Successful completion of skill test
- Valid for 1 year
- One renewal permitted or valid until individual reaches 16.
- $20.50 license endorsement fee
- Rider must be 16 with or without the successful completion of a rider education course.
- Motorcycle license must be renewed every 3–7 years. State is in transition to a 5-year license. Renewals last until the next birthday divisible by 5.
Testing and Training Responsibilities
- Testing agency: Department of Safety
- Third-party testing: Yes
- Agency responsible for training examiners: Currently the Director of License Issuance. The Motorcycle Rider Education Program is preparing to assume this responsibility.
Knowledge and Skills Tests Used
- Primary knowledge test used: Modified MSF
- Skills test used: Local on-street
- Rider education waiver: Skills and knowledge
- Reciprocity for rider education completed in
another State: Yes
- Reciprocal license waivers: Yes
Operator and Vehicle Characteristics
- Motorcycle operators licensed: 214,473
- Registered motorcycles: 81,746
- New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in
- Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: 3624
- Operators licensed without rider education: N/A
- Operators without license or proper endorsement: 64,342
Motorcyclist Licensing System
- Graduated licensing: None
- Tiered licensing: None
Public Information and Education
- Operator’s manual used: Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
- Annual budget for public information and education: None