band of color

Texas

Effective date of original law: September 1, 1983

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Boulevard
Austin, TX 78752-4422
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0001
Phone: 512-424-2000

Day-to-Day Administration
Clifton Burdette, Coordinator
Texas Department of Public Safety
Motorcycle Safety Unit
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0257
Phone: 512-424-2021
Fax: 512-424-2506
E-mail: clif.burdette@txdps.state
Web site: www.txdps.state.tx.us/msb

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Motorcycle license/endorsement renewal ($8), license application ($5), license examination ($5), and helmet exemption sticker ($5 for 3 years)
  • Stipulated use of funds: To defray costs of administering the motorcycle operator training and safety program

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • The motorcycle safety unit staff members work together with those responsible for the Department’s Driver License program to establish the riding test waiver.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
    Texas Department of Public Safety Motorcycle Safety Unit
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Texas Department of Public Safety Driver License Division
  • Data available in electronic format: Yes
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: None

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: January through December
  • Number of instruction sites: 59
  • Types of providers: Universities, community colleges, private contractors, high schools, Rider’s Edge, and mobile training sites

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: N/A
  • Students enrolled: 17,438
  • No-shows or registration refunds: N/A
  • Time until course reaches capacity: N/A
  • Average waiting period to take course: 60 days
  • Students on waiting list: N/A

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $662,391
  • Source of Federal funds: None
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $37.99
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $155
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $75
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: N/A

Curriculum

  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS
    and ERC
  • State advisory committee: Membership is voluntary for indefinite term lengths.
  • Curricula approved by:
    Safety Coordinator of the Department of Public Safety
  • Process to modify curricula: N/A
  • Data collected for modifications: N/A
  • Validation process for modifications: N/A


pie chart
pie chart
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is required for Instructors and Chief Instructors. Program uses MSF curricula and Instructor certification requirements. Safety coordinator supervises Instructor qualifications and Instructor certification.
  • No probation or internship requirements exist for Instructors.
  • State offers Instructor Preparation Course (IPC).
  • Annual updates are required for Instructors. Instructors are annually monitored by site by Chiefs/RiderCoach Trainers, program staff, and State coordinators.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 360
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 6
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 60
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 83%
  • Instructor demographics: 90% male, 10% female
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Quality control visits/technical assistance visits are conducted on an annual basis.
  • The Department of Public Safety Motorcycle Safety Unit conducts visits or contracts to RiderCoach trainers to conduct.
  • Quality control is implemented annually or as required.

Program Evaluation

  • Most training sites conduct regular evaluations of RiderCoaches.
  • The evaluation process involves observing and assisting in correcting errors.
  • The primary goal of evaluation is program improvement.

Special features of rider education and/or licensing program

  • State offers point reductions for riders who have successfully completed a rider
    education course

Licensing Requirements
Permit

  • $15 fee
  • Successful completion of eye exam
  • Successful completion of knowledge exam
  • Valid for length of license (6 years)
  • Unlimited renewals

License

  • $15 fee (included in permit fee)
  • Rider may be licensed at 15 upon successful completion of a rider education course. Rider must be 18 if course is not completed.
  • Motorcycle endorsement must be renewed every 6 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Department of Public Safety
  • Third-party testing: None
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Texas Department of Public Safety Driver License Division

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Primary knowledge test used: Modified MSF
  • Skills test used: Local on-street

Incentives

  • Rider education waiver: Skills
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
    Yes
  • Reciprocal license waiver: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 630,076
  • Registered motorcycles: 289,287
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: 30,134
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed without rider education: N/A
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: None
  • Tiered licensing: Yes

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Modified Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: None