band of color

Vermont

Effective date of original law:
June 21, 1990

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Day-to-Day Administration
Paul Graves, Program Coordinator
Vermont Rider Education Program
Division of Enforcement and Safety
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001
Phone: 802-828-2068
Fax: 802-828-2092
E-mail: paul.graves@state.vt.us
Web site: www.dmv.state.vt.us

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Motorcycle registration ($2.50), motorcycle learner’s permit ($2), and motorcycle endorsement ($1 per year)
  • Stipulated use of funds: To administer the motorcycle rider training program and to reimburse organizations with course sites

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • The Department of Motor Vehicle Licensing runs the Rider Program.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
    Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Data available in electronic format: None
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: None

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: April through October
  • Number of instruction sites: 5
  • Types of providers: Military, high schools, hospitals, and other privately owned buildings

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 67
  • Students enrolled: 646
  • No-shows or registration
    refunds:
    68
  • Time until course reaches
    capacity:
    N/A
  • Average waiting period to take course: N/A
  • Students on waiting list: N/A

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $165,750
  • Source of Federal funds: None
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $256.58
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $100
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $50
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: N/A

Curriculum

  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS,
    IRC, and ERC
  • Advisory committee: Seven-member State advisory committee
  • Curricula approved by:
    Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Process to modify curricula: None
  • Data collected for modifications: None
  • Validation process for modifications: None


pie chart
pie chart
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is required for Instructors and Chief Instructors. The Department of Motor Vehicles prescribes minimum Instructor qualifications.
  • Program is to include Instructor training.
  • A three-course internship and three-course probationary period is required.
  • Annual updates are required for Instructors. Instructors are monitored as allowed or needed by Chiefs/RiderCoach Trainers and State coordinators.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 31
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 0
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 6
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 83%
  • Instructor demographics: 83% male, 17% female
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Quality control measures include Program Coordinator/RiderCoach trainer monitoring of the
    course as needed.
  • The Department of Motor Vehicles is responsible for quality control.
  • Quality control implementation is not on a set schedule at this time.

Program Evaluation

  • Program Coordinator is to conduct an annual evaluation.
  • Evaluation includes reviewing student comments from Student Course Evaluations, reviewing pass/fail statistics, determining whether the program is reaching all areas of the State, and determining whether the program needs additional sites/Instructors to meet student capacity.

Licensing Requirements
Permit

  • $7 written exam fee and $7 issuance fee
  • Successful completion of knowledge exam
  • Valid for 120 days
  • Two renewals permitted

License

  • $1 per year endorsement fee
  • Rider must be 16 with or without successful completion of a rider education program
  • Motorcycle endorsement must be renewed every 2 or 4 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Third-party testing: Yes
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Department of Motor Vehicles

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Primary knowledge test used: MSF
  • Skills test used: Alternate MOST

Incentives

  • Rider education waiver: Skills and knowledge
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
    Yes
  • Reciprocal license waiver: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 50,108
  • Registered motorcycles: 18,457
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed without rider education: N/A
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: None
  • Tiered licensing: None

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: None