band of color

Virginia

Effective date of original law: May 1, 1985

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269
Phone: 866-368-5463 or
800-435-5137
Fax: 804-367-6631
TDD: 800-272-9268

Day-to-Day Administration
Bruce Biondo, Program Manager
Department of Motor Vehicles
Virginia Rider Training Program
P.O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269
Phone: 804-367-1813
Fax: 804-367-6031
E-mail: dmvbab@dmv.state.va.us
Web site: www.learn2ride.com

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Motorcycle registration ($3), motorcycle license endorsement ($2 per year), and motorcycle learner’s
    permit ($3)
  • Stipulated use of funds: To administer motorcycle rider safety training courses, funding or contracting others to conduct courses
    at approved regional training centers, or other related purposes

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • The rider education program is located within the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
    Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Data available in electronic format: Some
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: None

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: January through December
  • Number of instruction sites: 18
  • Types of providers: Military, community colleges, private contractors, and mobile training sites

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: 300 (est.)
  • Students enrolled: 7,800 (est.)
  • No-shows or registration refunds: N/A
  • Time until course reaches capacity: N/A
  • Average waiting period to take course: 2–4 months
  • Students on waiting list: N/A

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $800,000 (est.)
  • Source of Federal funds: N/A
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $102.32
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $70
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $50
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: None

Curriculum

  • Approved curricula: BRC, ERC
  • Advisory committee: None
  • Curricula approved by: Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Process to modify curriculum: Changes must be approved by Department of Motor Vehicles.
  • Data collected for modifications: N/A
  • Validation process for modifications: N/A


pie chart
graph - data not available
graph - data not available
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is required for Instructors and Chief Instructors. Instructors must meet the Department of Motor Vehicles requirements and those set by the training center.
  • A 1-year internship is required.
  • State offers Instructor Preparation Course (IPC).
  • Annual updates are required for Instructors. Instructors are monitored every few years by Chiefs/RiderCoach Trainers.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 243 (est.)
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 6
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 57
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 89%
  • Instructor demographics: N/A
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Quality control measures involve monitoring by the Department of Motor Vehicles and chief trainers.
  • The Department of Motor Vehicles is responsible for quality control.

Program Evaluation

  • Program conducts regular evaluations through instruction and site monitoring.
  • Program evaluation is used for program improvement.

Licensing Requirements
Permit

  • $3 issuance fee
  • Successful completion of
    eye exam
  • Successful completion of knowledge exam
  • Valid for 1 year
  • Riders under 19 must hold a Virginia motorcycle learner’s permit for at least 9 months and successfully complete a rider education program.
  • Riders over 19 must hold a permit for 30 days or successfully complete rider education program.

License

  • $2 endorsement fee per year (a motorcycle-only license is $5)
  • Rider may be licensed at 16 upon successful completion of a rider education program. Rider must be 19 if course is not completed.
  • Motorcycle endorsement must be renewed at the same time as drivers license (every 3–7 years). Motorcycle-only license must be renewed every 5 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Third-party testing: Yes
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Department of Motor Vehicles

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Primary knowledge test used: MSF
  • Primary skills test used: Alternate MOST
  • Secondary skills test used:
    Motorcyclist Licensing Skill Test (MLST)

Incentives

  • Rider education waiver: Skills
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
    None
  • Reciprocal license waivers: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 223,050
  • Registered motorcycles: 80,190
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: N/A
  • Operators licensed without rider education: N/A
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: None
  • Tiered licensing: None

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: None