band of color

Washington

Effective date of original law: June 10, 1982

Ultimate Program Responsibility
Washington Department of Licensing
1125 Washington Street SE
P.O. Box 9020
Olympia, WA 98507-9020
Phone: 360-902-3600
TDD: 360-664-8885

Day-to-Day Administration
Carl Spurgeon, Coordinator
Department of Licensing
P.O. Box 9030
Olympia, WA 98507-9030
Phone: 360-902-3853
Fax: 360-586-8351
E-mail: cspurgeon@dol.wa.gov
Web site: www.dol.wa.gov/ds/wmsp.htm

Program Administration
Legislative Provisions

  • Source of funding: Motorcycle license examination ($5), initial motorcycle license ($25 for 5 years), license renewal ($25 for 5 years), and motorcycle learner’s permit ($15)
  • Stipulated use of funds: To administer the motorcycle operator license requirement and the motorcycle operator training and education program

Relationship Among Various Programs

  • The rider education program is located within the
    Department of Licensing.

Collection of Rider Training and Licensing Data

  • Agency responsible for collecting rider training data:
    Department of Licensing
  • Agency responsible for collecting licensing data:
    Department of Licensing
  • Data available in electronic format: Limited
  • Link between crash, licensing, and rider education data: None

Rider Education
Training Delivery

  • Months of instruction: January through December
  • Number of instruction sites: 22
  • Types of providers: Military, private contractors, and mobile training sites

Operations and Participant Characteristics

  • Courses offered: N/A
  • Students enrolled: 7,514
  • No-shows or registration refunds: N/A
  • Time until course reaches capacity: N/A
  • Average waiting period to take course: 3 months
  • Students on waiting list: N/A

Program Funding and Expenditures

  • Annual budget: $1,055,992
  • Source of Federal funds: N/A
  • Average cost to State to educate rider: $140.54
  • Course tuition charged to novice rider: $100
  • Course tuition charged to experienced rider: $100
  • Special fees in addition to course fees: N/A

Curriculum

  • Approved curricula: MRC:RSS
    and ERC
  • Advisory committee: Five-member State advisory committee with members appointed by the commissioner for 2-year terms. Three members of the board (including the chairperson) shall be active motorcycle riders or members of non-profit motorcycle organizations that actively support motorcycle safety education. One member shall be a member of the public and one member shall be from the State Patrol Motorcycle unit.
  • Curricula approved by:
    Department of Licensing
  • Process to modify curriculum: RiderCoach trainers, sponsors, and the coordinator review proposed changes and reach a consensus.
  • Data collected for modifications: Data collected from suggestions from RiderCoaches, RiderCoach trainers, and crash results
  • Validation process for modifications: N/A


pie chart
pie chart
pie chart
comparison graph

Instructor Selection, Training, and Evaluation

  • State certification or approval is required for Instructors and Chief Instructors.
  • Internship requirement is a minimum of three classes.
  • Updates are required for Instructors every 2 years. Instructors are monitored at least once per year by Chiefs/Rider Coach Trainers, peers, and State coordinators.

Profile of Instructors

  • Certified Instructors/RiderCoaches: 137
  • Chief Instructors/RiderCoach Trainers: 4
  • Instructor candidates in 2001: 24
  • Percentage of successful Instructor candidates: 63%
  • Instructor demographics: 53% male, 47% female
  • Reciprocity for Instructors trained in other States: Yes

Quality Control Procedures

  • Quality control measures are ongoing evaluations every weekend.
  • The Department of Licensing is responsible for quality control.
  • The frequency of quality control implementation is weekly.

Program Evaluation

  • Program conducts regular evaluations weekly.
  • The evaluation process involves visits ranging from mentoring to highly technical.
  • Evaluation information is used for updates and meetings with sponsors.

Licensing Requirements
Permit

  • $15 fee
  • Successful completion of knowledge exam
  • Valid for 90 days
  • May be renewed once

License

  • $5 application fee, $10 document fee $10 initial endorsement fee and $25 renewal fee
  • Rider may be licensed at 16 upon successful completion of a rider education program. Rider must be 18 if course is not completed.
  • Motorcycle endorsement must be renewed every 5 years.

Operator Licensing
Testing and Training Responsibilities

  • Testing agency: Department of Licensing
  • Third-party testing: Yes
  • Agency responsible for training examiners:
    Department of Licensing

Knowledge and Skills Tests Used

  • Primary knowledge test used: MSF
  • Skills test used: Alternate MOST

Incentives

  • Rider education waiver: Skills and knowledge
  • Reciprocity for rider education completed in
    another State:
    Yes
  • Reciprocal license waivers: Yes

Operator and Vehicle Characteristics

  • Motorcycle operators licensed: 268,421
  • Registered motorcycles: 116,766
  • New motorcycle licenses/endorsements issued
    in 2001:
    N/A
  • Operators licensed through rider education in 2001: 5,165
  • Operators licensed without rider education: 5,964
  • Operators without license or proper endorsement: N/A

Motorcyclist Licensing System

  • Graduated licensing: None
  • Tiered licensing: None

Public Information and Education

  • Operator’s manual used: Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
  • Annual budget for public information and education: None