1998 SURVEY RESULTS

APPENDIX B

STATE HIGHWAY SAFETY LAWS
AT TIME OF SURVEY



STATE HIGHWAY SAFETY LAWS- KEY PROVISIONS OF SAFETY BELT USE
October 31, 1998
State 1st Belt Law Enforcement Fine Seats Vehicle and Coverage
by Law
* Usage
Rate %
Alabama July 18, 1992 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car from model year 1965. 52
Alaska September 12, 1990 Secondary $15 All Motor vehicle. Age 16 and over. 69
American Samoa January 1, 1989 Primary $25 All Passenger car, truck, and van. 81
Arizona January 1, 1991 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car and van from model year 1972. 63
Arkansas July 15, 1991 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car, truck, and van. 48
California January 1, 1986 Primary $20 All Passenger car, van, and small truck. 88
Colorado July 1, 1987 Secondary $15 Front Passenger car, van, taxi, ambulance, RV and small truck. 59
Connecticut January 1, 1986 Primary $15 Front Passenger car, van, and truck. 64
Delaware January 1, 1992 Secondary $20 Front Passenger car. 60
Dist. of Columbia December 12, 1985 Primary $50 All Vehicle seating 8 or less people. 2 points on license 66
Florida July 1, 1986 Secondary $30 Front Motor vehicle and pickup truck. 60
Georgia September 1, 1988 Primary $15 Front Passenger vehicle for under 10 people and pickup for under age 18 68
Guam November 20, 1986 Primary $70 Front Passenger car, truck, and van. 94
Hawaii December 16, 1985 Primary $20 Front All Vehicles manufactured with seatbelt or seatbelt installed 80
Idaho July 1, 1986 Secondary $5 Front Motor vehicle under 8 thousand pounds. 54
Illinois July 1, 1985 Secondary $25 Front Motor vehicle to carry under 10 people and RV. 64
Indiana July 1, 1987 Primary $25 Front Passenger car, bus, and school bus. 63
Iowa July 1, 1986 Primary $10 Front Passenger car, van, and truck 10 thousand pounds or less. 75
Kansas July 1, 1986 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car and van. 56
Kentucky July 13, 1994 Secondary $25 All Motor vehicles from model year 1965. 54
Louisiana July 1, 1986 Primary $25 Front Passenger car, van, and truck under 6 thousand pounds. 67
Maine December 27, 1995 Secondary $25 All Passenger vehicles. 61
Mariana Islands April 20, 1990 Primary $25 All Passenger car and truck. 80
Maryland July 1, 1986 Primary $25 Front Passenger/multi-purpose vehicle, truck, tractor, and bus. 71
Massachusetts February 1, 1994 Secondary $25 All Passenger car, van, and truck. 53
Michigan July 1, 1985 Secondary $25 Front Motor vehicle. 70
Minnesota August 1, 1986 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car, pickup truck, van, and RV. 65
Mississippi March 20, 1990 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car and van. 48
Missouri September 28, 1985 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car to carry under 10 people. 62
Montana October 1, 1987 Secondary $20 All Motor vehicle. 73
Nebraska January 1, 1993 Secondary $25 Front Motor vehicle. 63
Nevada July 1, 1987 Secondary $25 All Passenger car under 6 thousand pounds. 70
New Jersey March 1, 1985 Secondary $20 Front Passenger car. 62
New Mexico January 1, 1986 Primary $25 Front Motor vehicle under 10 thousand pounds. 87
New York December 1, 1984 Primary $50 Front Passenger car. 74
North Carolina October 1, 1985 Primary $25 Front Passenger motor vehicle to carry under 10 people. 83
North Dakota July 14, 1994 Secondary $20 Front Motor vehicle. 49
Ohio May 6, 1986 Secondary $25 Front Passenger/commercial car, van, tractor, and truck. 65
Oklahoma November 1, 1997 Primary $10 Front Passenger car, van, and pickup truck. 60
Oregon December 7, 1990 Primary $75 All Motor vehicle. 85
Pennsylvania November 23, 1987 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car, truck, and motor home. 65
Puerto Rico January 19, 1975 Primary $10 Front Passenger car. Over age 4. 66
Rhode Island June 18, 1991 Secondary No All Passenger car. Over age 12. 58
South Carolina July 1, 1989 Secondary $10 Front Passenger car, truck, van, RV, and taxi. 61
South Dakota January 1, 1995 Secondary $20 Front Passenger car, truck, van, RV, and taxi. 59
Tennessee April 21, 1986 Secondary $10 Front Vehicle under 8.5 thousand pounds. 61
Texas September 1, 1985 Primary $25 Front Passenger car, van, and certain trucks. 75
Utah April 28, 1986 Secondary $10 Front Motor vehicle. 63
Vermont January 1, 1994 Secondary $10 All Passenger car. 71
Virgin Islands October 1, 1991 Primary $25 Front Passenger car. 92
Virginia January 1, 1988 Secondary $25 Front Motor vehicle. 67
Washington June 11, 1986 Secondary $35 All Passenger/multi-purpose vehicle, bus, and truck. 82
West Virginia September 1, 1993 Secondary $25 Front Passenger car. Age 18 and under in rear seat. 58
Wisconsin December 1, 1987 Secondary $10 All Motor vehicle. 62
Wyoming June 8, 1989 Secondary No Front Passenger car, van, and pickup truck. 75
Total Use Laws:   49 States + D.C., Puerto Rico, and the Territories.
*Reported March 1998


U.S. Dept. of Trans.,
National Highway Traffic Safety Admin.,
Traffic Safety Programs Office (202) 366-4892,
Washington D.C. 20590