Page 8
APPENDIX A. STATE LAW SUMMARY

Source: NHTSA

1. States marked “Yes” are those that require a 6-month license suspension, revocation or licensing delay for persons convicted for violation of the Controlled Substances Act, or any drug offense per 23 USC Section 159. States marked “No” are those that have certified that the Governor and legislature are opposed to the enactment of such a law (2000 data).

2. Under the age of 21 unless noted. License action periods are for a first offense. The term “delay” is used to indicate that unlicensed violators will be delayed in time before they can obtain a license (2000 data).

State Drug Law License Action1 23 USC Section 159 Use and Lose Applicable to Youth2
Alabama Yes 3 to 6 month license suspension for purchase, possession or consumption of alcohol.
Alaska No 90 day revocation or delay for possession or use of drugs or alcohol.
Arizona No -
Arkansas Yes Persons under 18, one year suspension or delay, or until 18th birthday if longer, for possession or use of controlled substances.
California No 1 year suspension or delay for possession of controlled substances or alcohol.
Colorado No 3 month revocation for felony possession of controlled substances (applicable to any age). 3 month revocation for possession of alcohol by persons under 21.
Connecticut No -
Delaware Yes 30 day suspension for alcohol possession or consumption.
District of Columbia Yes 30 day suspension of driving privileges for purchase, possession or consumption of alcohol.
Florida Yes -
Georgia Yes 6 month revocation for alcohol purchase.
Hawaii No -
Idaho No 1 year suspension for purchase, possession or consumption of alcohol.
Illinois No -
Indiana Yes 90 day suspension for purchase of alcohol.
Iowa Yes -
Kansas No Courts may revoke licenses or privilege to operate of minors adjudicated as juvenile offenders.
Kentucky No 1 year revocation for persons ages 14 to 17 for possession of controlled substances.
Louisiana No 90 day suspension of persons ages 13-19 for possession of alcohol or controlled substances.
Maine No Court may suspend license or right to operate of juveniles convicted for possession of controlled substances.
Maryland No 30 day suspension for possession of alcohol.
Massachusetts Yes 90 day suspension for possession of alcohol.
Michigan No 90 day suspension for purchase or suspension of alcohol.
Minnesota No 90 day suspension for purchase or possession of alcohol.
Mississippi Yes -
Missouri No 90 day suspension for possession or use of a controlled substance, or possession of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle.
Montana No 30 to 90 day suspension of persons under age 18 for possession or consumption of alcohol or controlled substances if the person was driving when the offense occurred. Suspension of not more than 60 days for persons age 18 and older.
Nebraska No -
Nevada No 90 day suspension or delay for persons under age 18 for purchase, possession or consumption of alcohol or possessing, using, selling or distributing a controlled substance.
New Hampshire No 90 day revocation or delay for persons age 15-17 for possession, sale, using or abusing alcohol or a controlled substance.
New Jersey Yes 6 month suspension or delay for purchase, possession of consumption of alcohol.
New Mexico No 90 day revocation may be imposed for purchase, possession or consumption of alcohol, or controlled substances.
New York Yes -
North Carolina No 1 year revocation for purchase of alcohol.
North Dakota No -
Ohio Yes -
Oklahoma Yes 6 month revocation for person under age 18 for possession, purchase, use, transportation of controlled substances or alcohol.
Oregon No 1 year suspension of driving privileges of persons under age 18 for possession or use of controlled substances or alcohol.
Pennsylvania Yes 90 day suspension or delay for purchase, consumption, possession or transportation of alcohol.
Rhode Island No 3 month suspension for purchase, consumption or possession of alcohol.
South Carolina Yes 90 day suspension for possession, sale or consumption of alcohol.
South Dakota No 6 month suspension for possession of alcohol in a motor vehicle.
Tennessee No 90 day denial of driving privileges for persons under 18 for possession, use, sale of alcohol.
Texas Yes 30 day suspension or delay for purchase, consumption or possession of alcohol.
Utah No 90 day suspension of persons under 18 for purchase, possession or consumption of alcohol.
Vermont No -
Virginia Yes License may be suspended for up to 1 year for purchase or possession of alcohol.
Washington No License revocation up to one year of persons under age 18 for purchase, use or possession of alcohol or drugs.
West Virginia No -
Wisconsin Yes 90 day suspension for purchase, consumption or possession of alcohol.
Wyoming No -



Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page