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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
 Since 1975, motor vehicle crashes have been the leading cause of death for children in 
the United States. The most effective strategy for preventing injury and death to children 
involved in crashes is using age- and size-appropriate restraints. TransAnalytics, LLC, completed 
a study that examined the factors that relate to the use and nonuse of booster seats, and identified 
strategies to improve the effectiveness of enhanced child restraint laws that cover booster-seat-
age children (booster seat laws). Project activities included:  
• an inventory of changes in State child occupant-protection laws since 2002;  
• a literature review on the use and nonuse of booster seats; 
• an observational survey of booster seat use before and after enactment of a booster seat law 

in Wisconsin;  
• focus groups with parents or caregivers to assess attitudes, knowledge, understanding, and 

use of booster seat laws;  
• focus groups with law enforcement officers to assess their attitudes, knowledge, and 

enforcement of booster seat laws; and 
• a brainstorming session with experts and law enforcement officers discussing the challenges 

of booster seat enforcement.   
  
Review of Changes in Booster Seat Laws 

While the number of States and Territories that have enacted booster seat provisions has 
increased from 11 to 39 since 2000, a wide variation in age, height, and weight requirements still 
exists.  Several States have changed their age and weight requirements to meet NHTSA’s best 
practices for booster-seat-age children. The number of jurisdictions with laws that cover children 
4 to 8 years old (currently 18, with 2 of these covering children up to age 9) has more than 
quadrupled since 2002.  Within the same time period, the number of jurisdictions with laws that 
cover children who weigh up to 80 pounds has increased to 10 states.  Unfortunately, more than 
half of the States with booster seat law provisions are still operating below best practices for age 
and weight.  In 2002, only 3 States had height provisions in their booster seat laws. As of mid-
2007, 10 States had height requirements that represent best practice (up to 57 inches).  Four other 
States have height requirements that fall short of best practice recommendations.   
   
Literature Review 

A review of recent research noted differences in knowledge, attitudes, and perceptions 
between parents and caregivers who use booster seats and those who do not.  The following 
factors were associated with nonuse of booster seats: lack of understanding of the laws; low risk 
perception; permissive parenting; lack of understanding of the safety benefits of booster seats; 
and child discomfort or resistance.  

 
Observational studies conducted during the past 5 years have reported varying 

percentages of 4- to 8-year-old children restrained in booster seats; however, the most recent 
NHTSA observational study (Glassbrenner & Ye, 2007) found 41% restrained in booster seats, 
17% in child safety seats, and 42% either inadequately protected in seat belts (33%) or 
completely unrestrained (9%).   
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Effects of Upgrading Booster Seat Laws 
Observations of booster seat use before and after Wisconsin passed its booster seat law 

showed a significant increase in the percentage of appropriately retrained children age 4 to 8 
following enactment of a booster seat law.  Child safety seat and booster seat use in this age 
group increased by 9.1 percentage points in Wisconsin, from 48.6% in the pre-law period to 
57.7% in the post-law period.  Observations of booster seat use in a comparison State, Michigan, 
showed an increase of 5.9 percentage points during the same time periods; however the increase 
was not statistically significant.   
 
Law Enforcement Attitudes 

Law enforcement officers identified a number of barriers to enforcing booster seat laws. 
These include: lack of commitment by top management (e.g., police chiefs) to enforce these 
laws; a shortage of law enforcement officers knowledgeable on the subject of child safety seats 
and booster seats; lack of resources to enforce booster seat laws; booster seat laws that are 
secondary violations; and lenient judges who dismiss booster seat citations. Law enforcement 
officers who identified reasons for parent and caregiver nonuse of booster seats cited the public's 
ignorance of the child restraint laws, and the public's failure to recognize the degree of risk to 
unrestrained or inappropriately restrained children.  
 
Parent and Caregiver Attitudes 

The parents and caregivers identified several barriers to booster seat use attributed to 
ignorance, parenting styles, and lack of enforcement. Specifically, many parents and caregivers 
lack an understanding of (a) child occupant protection laws, (b) the risks involved to their 
children when they are not appropriately restrained and (c) the safety benefits offered by booster 
seats. In addition, many parents fail to enforce discipline when children resist using the seats. 
Because of the low perceived threat of getting a ticket for booster seat violations, parents have 
not been compelled to change their habits. 
 
Strategies  

The following list of strategies to improve the effectiveness of booster seat laws was 
developed from the information generated from the previous task activities. Although many of 
these strategies are common practice, they continue to be valid approaches to increase booster 
seat use.  
 
Education 

It is important to educate those parents and caregivers who do not use, or inconsistently 
use, booster seats.  The assumption is that once parents and caregivers know how, when, and 
why they should use booster seats, they will properly secure their booster-age children. Each 
year, new children reach booster seat age, so the need to educate parents and caregivers remains 
constant. Efforts to educate parents and caregivers need to be periodically refreshed to address 
changing sensibilities, changes in law, and updated research about child passenger safety. Topics 
that should be taught include:  
• The best practices for properly securing booster-seat-age and sized children;  
• The risks caused by inappropriate restraint use; and   
• Where to find booster seat resources in low-income communities.  
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Enforcement  
Effective enforcement of booster seat laws requires coordination between several sectors 

of the enforcement community. The following strategies are interdependent, and address five key 
points:  
• Motivate law enforcement leadership to enforce occupant restraint laws; 
• Train law enforcement officers about child passenger safety issues; 
• Strictly enforce child passenger safety laws; 
• Train judges about child passenger safety issues to uphold citations; and  
• Collect appropriate enforcement data to analyze and refine booster seat law enforcement 

efforts. 
 

Legislation 
A final strategy is to promote stronger booster seat laws (e.g., without unnecessary 

exemptions in conformity with best practice recommendations) and primary enforcement of seat 
belt laws.  This study showed that passage of a booster seat law increases child safety seat and 
booster seat use. To  strengthen these laws, there is a need to increase the age and height limits in 
the booster seat provisions of the child restraint law in many States (e.g., at least to 8 years old 
and 4‘9” tall).  The study found that there are some misperceptions by parents and caregivers that 
the State law represents the best practice; therefore, if they follow the law, their children are 
safely secured.  However, the booster seat laws do not represent best practice in all States.   
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1.0 INTRODUCTION 

 
1.1   BACKGROUND 
 

Since 1975, motor vehicle crashes have been the leading cause of death for children in 
the United States (NHTSA, 2002, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2006).  Use of an 
age- and size-appropriate restraint is the most effective strategy for preventing injury and death 
to children involved in crashes.  In 2005, of the 304 fatalities among children 4 to 8 years old for 
which restraint use was known, 136 (45%) were unrestrained (NHTSA, 2006).1  The percentage 
of unrestrained children in this age group who die in single-vehicle crashes involving passenger 
cars is more than twice that of children who are restrained (NHTSA, 2005). While research 
shows that the use of an adult seat belt reduces the risk of fatalities by 48% when compared to no 
restraint use at all, a belt-positioning booster seat reduces the risk by 54% (NHTSA, 2002).  
Other research has shown a three-fold increase risk of significant injury to children who were in 
adult seat belts when compared to children in belt-positioning boosters (Durbin, Elliot, & 
Winston, 2003).  Appendix A illustrates and describes the types of booster seats. 
 

Despite the evidence for the efficacy of child restraint systems, children continue to ride 
unrestrained or improperly restrained in motor vehicles. Recent observational studies on children 
in the booster-seat-age group show that 42% are still either unrestrained or in an adult seat belt 
(Glassbrenner & Ye, 2007). Specifically, Glassbrenner and Ye (2007) found 41% restrained in 
booster seats, 17% in child safety seats, 33% inadequately protected in seat belts alone, and 9% 
completely unrestrained.   

 
There are many reasons why parents/caregivers do not restrain their child passengers 

according to recommended best practices.  These include misperception of risk, 
misunderstanding of child restraint laws and best practice, and permissiveness in allowing 
children to graduate to a seat belt before the seat belt will fit them correctly (Winston, Moll, 
Durbin, & Kassam-Adams, 2001). 
 

In 2002, recognizing the safety benefits of booster seats for children age 4 to 8, the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration revised its best practice recommendation for 
booster seat use to cover all children who have outgrown child safety seats until they are at least 
8 years old, unless they are 4’ 9” tall.  NHTSA encourages States to adopt laws that provide 
appropriate restraint use for all children, including enhanced child restraint laws that cover 
booster-seat-age children (booster seat laws).  Great progress has been made over the past 5 
years; the number of States that have passed booster seat revisions to the child restraint laws has 
grown from 11 to 38 States.  Unfortunately, there are wide variations in these laws, especially 
relating to age limits (e.g., up to 6, 7, or 8 years old), weight limits (e.g., up to 40, 60, or 80 
pounds), penalties (e.g., driver points), fines, and enforcement (e.g., secondary versus primary) 
(NHTSA, 2007, IIHS, 2007).  In addition, there are many States that have no type of provisions 
for booster-seat-age children.  
 
                                                           
1 The term “4 to 8 years old” refers to children who are 4, 5, 6, and 7 years old. 
(http://www.nhtsa.gov/cars/rules/rulings/TREAD/MileStones/BoosterSeat.htm) 
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The public supports strong child restraint laws (Boyle & VanDerwolf, 2005); and recent 
studies have shown booster seat use is higher in States that have booster seat laws (Gunn, 
Phillippi, & Cooper, 2007; Winston, Kallan, Elliott, Xie, & Durbin, 2007).  However, in past 
focus group studies, law enforcement officers have described the difficulties they have 
encountered in enforcing booster seat laws.  To increase public compliance with booster seat 
laws, they gave the following recommendations: stronger commitment by the department to 
enforce booster laws; simpler language in the booster seat law; application of points to driver 
license and higher fines; and combining booster seat ticketing efforts with current seat belt 
enforcement programs, such as Click It or Ticket (Raymond, Seifert, Golembiewski, & 
Knoblauch, 2004).  

 
 

 1.2 PROJECT OBJECTIVES AND SCOPE OF WORK 
 

  The goals of this project are to build upon the findings of recent NHTSA research and 
identify strategies to improve the effectiveness of booster seat laws.  Strategies that have been 
used to increase booster seat use include: (a) enhancing public education campaigns about 
booster seat laws and the efficacy of booster seat use; (b) Improving enforcement procedures 
(e.g., more training for officers); (c) promoting the educational role of officers (e.g., presenting 
programs to children in kindergarten through 2nd grade); and (d) using creative enforcement 
strategies (e.g., coupling seat belt with booster seat violations).  To identify new strategies, more 
information about what parents/caregivers and law enforcement officers know about their State 
booster seat laws is needed. Specifically, how do booster seat laws affect the behavior of 
parents/caregivers and law enforcement? Do parents/caregivers understand differences between 
best practice and the requirements of their State’s booster seat law? How does the enforcement 
of booster laws differ in States with a primary law versus those with a secondary law?  Finally, 
what consequences do law enforcement officers impose on booster seat law violators (e.g., 
warnings instead of citations)?   
 

The following tasks, which build upon the findings of recent NHTSA research, provide 
the background information needed to develop strategies to enhance the effectiveness of booster 
seat laws: 

 
1. An inventory of changes in State occupant protection laws since 2002; 
 
2. A review of the research literature to update knowledge about the factors that relate to 

use and nonuse of booster seats and strategies that have been successful in increasing 
booster seat use; 

 
3. Collection of observational booster seat use data in a State before and after a booster seat 

law was enacted (Wisconsin) and a comparison State without a booster seat law (Michigan); 
 
4a. Focus groups with parents/caregivers in four cities to assess their attitudes and knowledge 

about booster seat laws and enforcement of these laws (Richmond, VA, Pittsburgh, PA, 
Chicago, IL, and Sacramento, CA), to use as discussion topics for the brainstorming session;  
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4b. Focus groups with law enforcement officers in the same four cities to assess their 
attitudes and knowledge about booster seat laws and enforcement of these laws, to use as 
discussion topics for the brainstorming session;  

 
5. A brainstorming session (Washington, DC) with CPS experts and law enforcement agents 

to identify potential strategies to enhance the effectiveness of booster seat laws; and 
 
6. Distillation of the findings from Tasks 1 to 5 to develop strategies to enhance the 

effectiveness of booster seat laws. 
 

The next section of this report provides more detail about the methodology for 
conducting each of these project tasks.
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 2.0  METHODOLOGY 
 

This section of the report provides a description of each task activity; identifies the 
purpose of the activity; and explains how the results of each task were used to develop the 
methods employed in the subsequent tasks. 
 
2.1 INVENTORY OF STATE CHILD RESTRAINT LAWS 
 

The purpose of this task activity was to inventory changes to or additions of booster seat 
laws in States during the past five years.  Methods used to gather this information involved 
Internet searches for current lists of State child restraint and seat belt laws prepared by Federal 
and State highway safety agencies such as NHTSA and organizations such as the Insurance 
Institute for Highway Safety and the Automotive Coalition for Traffic Safety.  The following 
information was selected from the State child restraint and seat belt lists: 

  
• Effective date of the law; 
• Coverage of the law (e.g., maximum age and or weight requirements for child restraints; 

whether there is a booster provision; age at which a seat belt is allowed; whether seat 
belts are required in rear seats); 

• Maximum fines; 
• Driver record points and insurance points assessed; 
• Major exemptions to the child passenger laws; and 
• Laws preventing the transport of children in cargo areas of pickup trucks.  

 
The information was then organized by State into a summary sheet which describes the 

State’s child restraint and seat belt laws and other provisions related to occupant restraint and 
occupant protection.  Draft versions were then submitted to State occupant protection officials 
for verification of accuracy of the data.  These officials were identified through the list of State 
child passenger safety contacts on NHTSA’s website.  A summary of the changes in State laws 
over the past five-year period is provided in section 3 of this report. 

 
2.2 LITERATURE REVIEW 

 
A comprehensive review of the research literature included the following topics. The 

demographic characteristics of booster seat users and nonusers; parental/caregiver reasons for 
inconsistent booster seat use; barriers encountered by law enforcement officers in enforcing 
booster seat laws; interventions that were implemented to increase booster seat use; effective 
strategies used to enforce booster seat laws; and, the effectiveness of booster seat laws in 
increasing booster seat use.  For the computerized searches, the following search terms were 
used: child passenger safety (CPS); child restraints; booster seat use; vehicle design; crash and 
injury data; intervention programs; enforcement; child restraint laws; booster seat laws; 
parent/caregiver; risk perception; awareness; attitude; behavioral issues; and public information 
and education. The following is a list of sources used for this literature review.   
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(1) A computerized search of relevant subject databases included: (a) the Transportation 

Research Information Services, which covers all of the national transportation science 
and highway safety research and information produced by the U.S. Department of 
Transportation and its agencies; (b) SCOPUS, produced by the Elsevier Publishing 
Company, which covers a large selection of medical and health science journals; and (c) 
PychInfo and Sociological Abstracts, which cover a large selection of behavioral 
sciences, social psychology, and psychological journals. 

 
(2) A computerized search by Northwestern University Transportation Library staff using its 

electronic card catalog and TRANSPORT (the premier international transportation 
science subject database). 

 
(3) Communications with peer group sources and professional associations (e.g., 

Transportation Research Board’s Occupant Protection Committee – ANB45) to identify 
the most current research documents, unpublished interim and draft final reports, and 
research-in-progress reports. 
 
Study reports relevant to the aforementioned topics of investigation in this project were 

acquired through vendors, full-text electronic sources, peers, and in-house collections.  Over 75 
relevant research studies in journal articles, government publications, dissertations, information 
sheets, and gray papers were read; and categorized by type of study (i.e., child restraint use and 
misuse observations, crash and injury data, telephone interview, focus group, evaluation of 
intervention, or anecdotal).  The task report was then prepared summarizing the status of State 
child restraint laws; booster seat use data (i.e., observational surveys, crash, and telephone); 
parent/caregiver reasons for inconsistent booster seat use; law enforcements’ views about the 
booster seat laws; and potential strategies recommended from the studies.  

 
2.3 OBSERVATIONAL STUDY OF THE IMPACT OF A BOOSTER SEAT LAW 
 

The task objective was to determine whether the enactment of a booster seat law would 
increase booster seat use.  This was accomplished by collecting booster seat use data in a State 
before and after booster seat legislation was enacted.  Booster seat use data were also collected 
during the same time periods in a comparison State without a booster seat law.  Wisconsin was 
selected as the treatment State; its booster law was enacted June 1, 2006.  Michigan was selected 
as the comparison State, because no booster seat law was enacted in 2006, and because of its 
similar socio-demographic characteristics and its proximity to Wisconsin.  Figure 1 summarizes 
Wisconsin’s and Michigan’s child passenger safety laws.   

 
The Wisconsin Department of Transportation and CPS advocacy groups publicized  

the new law.  Wisconsin DOT developed a one-page information sheet and card that provided 
details of the new law for law enforcement personnel and the public. The Wisconsin Bureau  
of Transportation Safety also published an article on the new law in its May newsletter.  The 
American Automobile Association of Wisconsin and Safe Kids Worldwide (SKW) held a  
news conference in Madison on June 1, 2006, in conjunction with SKW car seat checks around 
the State.  
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Wisconsin 
Prior to June 1, 2006, Wisconsin law required all children under age 4 to be in a child restraint, 
and children between age 4 and 8 to be in a child restraint or a seat belt.  As of June 1, 2006, 
children who are between 4 and 8 or who weigh between 40 and 79 pounds, and are no taller 
than 4 feet 9 inches, are to be restrained in a booster seat. The law does not require the booster 
seat to be placed in a back seat.  Written warnings were issued for first-time violations.  Citations 
were issued starting January 1, 2007.  The child restraint law is a primary enforcement law.  The 
seat belt law is a secondary enforcement law. 
 

Michigan 
 
All children under the age of 4 must be in a child restraint system, and children between the age 
of 4 and 16 must wear a seat belt.  All front-seat occupants must wear seat belts. 
 
Both CPS and seat belt laws are primary enforcement laws. 
 

 
Figure 1.  Child Restraint Laws in Wisconsin and Michigan. 

 
Booster seat observation sites were located in urban and suburban areas, and were 

selected based on high numbers of target vehicles entering the site, safety, location, and 
permission to collect data at the site. The most common sites were shopping centers with retail 
stores that attract the target vehicle group (e.g., Wal-Mart, Toys R Us); elementary schools and 
child care centers; health care centers; and recreational sites.  This study used a convenience 
sample.  
 

Data collectors stationed in parking lots targeted drivers who were parking their cars and 
transporting at least one child passenger who appeared to be 4- to 8-years old.  For drivers who 
agreed to participate in the study, data collectors noted the vehicle type and number of 
passengers, and recorded the seating positions, race, gender, and restraint use of all occupants in 
the vehicle.  
 

Baseline data (pre-intervention) were collected in the Milwaukee, Wisconsin, area 
between May 9 and 11, 2006, and in the Detroit, Michigan, area between May 18 and 24, 2006. 
Post-intervention data were collected in Wisconsin from September 6 to 23, 2006, and in 
Michigan from September 11 to October 3, 2006. 

 
2.4 FOCUS GROUP SESSIONS 
 

Separate focus groups with parents/caregivers of booster-seat-age children and law 
enforcement officers were held to gain a better understanding of the reasons parents/caregivers 
do not consistently use booster seats and the reasons that law enforcement officers may not 
enforce booster seat laws.  The information gathered in the focus groups received consideration 
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in the formulation of potential strategies by the brainstorming session panelists in the following 
task activity.  

 
 Focus groups with parents/caregivers provided an effective qualitative way to discern 

their feelings about booster seat use and booster seat law enforcement.  In small groups, they felt 
comfortable to share their opinions and knowledge about child passenger safety, booster seats, 
child restraint laws, and enforcement of these laws.  They were asked their opinions on the type 
of strategies that would make booster seat laws more effective in increasing booster seat use in 
the Nation. 

 
Focus groups with law enforcement officers provided an effective qualitative opportunity 

to learn about officers’ feelings on the same topics.  Discussions provided insight into what the 
officers knew about booster seats, booster laws, and the issues surrounding enforcement of 
booster seat laws.  The small groups provided a comfortable setting for the officers to speak 
honestly about the barriers to enforcing child restraint laws and to candidly discuss strategies that 
would be effective in promoting booster seat laws. 

 
During October and November 2006, focus groups were held in four cities representing 

geographically diverse areas of the country.  The States chosen for the focus groups all had 
booster seat laws; however, they varied in the maximum age covered and whether enforcement 
was primary or secondary.  The booster seat law was primary in California, Illinois, and 
Virginia, but secondary in Pennsylvania at the time the focus groups were conducted.  The law 
covered children up to age 6 in California and Virginia, and up to age 8 in Illinois and 
Pennsylvania. The cities were Richmond, VA (south), Pittsburgh, PA (north), Chicago, IL 
(midwest), and Sacramento, CA (west).  Focus group companies managed the recruitment of the 
parent/caregiver groups, preparation of the rooms, equipment, refreshments, incentives, and 
reminder phone calls to participants.  The focus group companies were given a list of 
requirements for recruiting parents/caregivers, including:  they transport booster-seat-age 
children; they hold a valid driver's license; and they use booster seats either full time or 
sometimes.  

 
Law enforcement officers were recruited through requests made to NHTSA Regional 

Administrators, State CPS coordinators, and NHTSA law enforcement liaisons.  A mix of State 
and local law enforcement officers (both CPS-certified and non-CPS-certified) serving small, 
medium, and large communities was desired.  An e-mail sent to the perspective participants 
explained the project objectives and requested their participation in the focus group sessions.   

 
The focus group moderator prepared two topic guides to lead the sessions.  The 

parental/caregiver topic guide was prepared after reviewing the literature review task report and 
holding a briefing with the principal investigator (PI) to discuss past research findings 
documenting reasons for inconsistent booster seat use (misperception of safety, premature 
graduation to seat belts, lack of knowledge about law, permissive behavior with complaining 
children, etc.).  The law enforcement topic guide was prepared in the same manner, but more 
law-and-enforcement-based topics were discussed in the briefing with the moderator.  Draft topic 
guides were developed; reviewed by the PI and NHTSA and then approved for use.  A message 
concept exercises for focus group participants was also developed by the moderator and PI, 
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based on what was learned in the literature review about the reasons for nonuse of booster seats, 
and the types of educational appeals that have been successful in influencing parent/caregiver 
behavior. 

 
Three focus groups were conducted in each of the four cities; one consisting of law 

enforcement officers, one consisting of female parents/caregivers, and one consisting of male 
parents/caregivers.  Twelve participants were included in each group.  Focus group sessions 
lasted 90 minutes to 2 hours each, and were audio-recorded by facility staff.   
 
 
2.5 BRAINSTORMING SESSION 
 

A brainstorming session was held with CPS informants, NHTSA communications and 
booster program staff, CPS-certified law enforcement officers, and researchers to discuss 
implications of the findings from previous task activities and to formulate specific strategies for 
enhancing the effectiveness of booster seat laws (i.e., increase booster seat use among the 
public).  Their expertise was used to gain a better understanding of the difficulties in 
implementing booster seat interventions, reasons for intervention success and failure, and the 
challenges of enforcing various kinds of child restraint laws.  

 
Panelists were selected on the basis of their experience with developing, administering, 

and promoting CPS programs.  Law enforcement officers were selected based on their CPS 
experience (e.g., CPS-certified), leadership (e.g., experience conducting child restraint law 
enforcement programs), and through recognition by NHTSA Regional Administrators as active 
CPS promoters. Panelists in attendance were: 
 
• Emilie Crown (Montgomery County Fire Rescue, MD) 
• Tracy Hewitt (Center for Injury Research and Prevention, Children’s Hospital of 

Philadelphia, PA) 
• Officer Timothy Kehoe (Chesterfield Township Police Department, VA) 
• Officer Ken Lynch (Orland Park Township Police Department, IL) 
• Chief Leo McCarthy (Moon Township Police Department, PA) 
• Officer Joseph Riley (Elks Grove Police Department, CA) 
• Tanya Chin Ross (Safe Kids Worldwide, Washington, DC) 
• Tracy Whitman (Maryland Kids in Safety Seats, MD) 
• Kelli England Will, Ph.D. (Eastern Virginia Medical School, Norfolk, VA) 

 
The NHTSA project manager, staff from several divisions of NHTSA (Office of 

Behavioral Safety Research, Occupant Protection Division, and the Office of Communications 
and Consumer Information), and TransAnalytics project staff also attended.   

 
The brainstorming session moderator and PI developed a session agenda based on the 

task objectives.  The agenda was reviewed by NHTSA.  The session started with an overview of 
the preceding task activities and NHTSA’s current efforts on the topic (e.g., roll-call video to 
educate law enforcement on booster seat issues).  A discussion of barriers to enforcement 
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activities and parent/caregiver misperceptions of risk followed.  The afternoon session focused 
on developing strategies to enhance the effectiveness of booster seat laws.   

 
The brainstorming session agenda included:  
 
• Introductions and opening remarks; 
• Purpose of project and brainstorming session; 
• Current NHTSA booster seat programs and activities; 
• Moderator’s rules and goals of session; 
• Summary of qualitative research; 
• Key barriers to enforcing booster seat laws; 
• “Immunity fallacy” report and video; 
• Identification of realistic law enforcement approaches; 
• Identification of best messages to give to enforcement agencies; 
• Identification of best messages for law enforcement to give to the public; 
• Identification of best strategies for enforcement approaches; 
• Identification of best strategies for media approaches; and 
• Recommendations for final report. 

 
2.6 DEVELOPMENT OF STRATEGIES 
 

Strategies were developed through consideration of the outcomes of each project task.  
Specifically, the most promising ideas and recommendations culled from the literature review 
were selected for discussion in the focus groups with parents/caregivers and law enforcement 
officers.  Focus group participants also provided their perspectives on nonuse of booster seats, 
and strategies that may be effective in increasing booster seat use.  The highest ranked strategies 
and messages voted upon by the focus group participants were then discussed during the 
brainstorming sessions.  Brainstorming session participants also provided informed opinions 
about the most effective strategies and messages for increasing the effectiveness of booster  
seat laws.  

 
Strategies were formulated in three areas to address: (1) barriers to booster seat use 

caused by parent/caregiver knowledge deficits (educational strategies); (2) barriers encountered 
by law enforcement officers in enforcing booster seat laws (enforcement strategies); and (3) 
barriers to booster seat use caused by weak or non-existent laws covering children age 4 to 8 
(legislative strategies).   
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3.0 RESULTS AND ANALYSIS 

 
Booster seat laws have been enacted in 76% of the States.  This study provided evidence 

that the enactment of booster seat laws works to some degree.  However, the study also found 
that booster seat use is still relatively low in the Nation.  What are the reasons for this behavior?  
Parents/caregivers mentioned a multitude of reasons for inconsistent booster seat use including: 
lack of knowledge of the safety benefits of booster seats, misperceptions of risk from 
inappropriate restraint use, confusion about the booster seat law, and low threat of ticketing for 
booster seat violations.  Law enforcement officers cited several explanations for low 
enforcement of booster seat laws.  CPS experts and law enforcement leaders (in the CPS field) 
expressed strong opinions for potential strategies to improve booster seat use and to make 
booster seat laws more effective.  This section provides the results of each task activity and 
culminates with a list of potential strategies to enhance the effectiveness of booster seat laws.   

 
3.1 INVENTORY OF STATE CHILD RESTRAINT LAWS   
 

The objective of the first task activity in this project was to inventory changes in State 
child restraint laws since 2002.  The first child restraint law in the United States was passed in 
Tennessee in 1978 (Agran, Anderson, & Winn, 2004).  In 2000, the first enhanced child restraint 
law (known as a booster seat law) was passed in the State of Washington (effective July 1, 2002) 
to cover provisions for booster-seat-age children (Winston et al., 2007).  
 

All 50 States and the District of Columbia have child restraint laws and 49 States have 
seat belt laws. State laws vary in their definitions of which children must be restrained in which 
restraint type, and in which vehicle positions they must be restrained.  Laws in some States allow 
children riding in the rear seat to be unrestrained.  In some States, children as young as 5 may be 
restrained using the adult seat belt.  These two practices increase the risk for serious injury or 
death.  At the other end of the continuum are laws that require children up to age 9 or 80 pounds 
or 57 inches tall to be restrained in a child safety seat or booster seat.  Approximately three-
fourths of the States have booster seat provisions for children who have outgrown their child 
safety seats, but there are exemptions and limited coverage to many of these laws.  A complete 
description of each State’s occupant protection laws is provided in Appendix B.  Table 1 
summarizes the status of occupant restraint laws in all 50 States and the District of Columbia.  It 
includes the effective date of the original booster seat law within each State.  

 
By July 1, 2002, 11 States had enacted some provisions in their child restraint laws 

mandating booster seats for children older than 4 years of age.  The provisions for booster  
seat coverage by age varied among those States.  There were 8 States (AR, CA, MD, NE, OR, 
SC, VA, and WA) with maximum age up to 6; 2 States (DE and RI) with maximum age up to 7; 
and 1 State (NJ) with maximum age up to 8.  In addition, 5 States by July 1, 2002 had a 
maximum weight requirement as well.  Four States (AR, CA, DE, and RI) had a 60-pound 
maximum requirement; and 1 State (SC) had an 80-pound maximum requirement (Safe Kids 
Worldwide, 2007). 
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 By August 1, 2005, 21 more States (totaling 32 States and the District of Columbia) had 
enacted provisions in their child restraint laws mandating booster seats for children older than 4 
years of age. Sixteen States had a maximum age up to 6 (AR, CA, CO, GA, IA, LA, MD, MT, 
NE, NH, NV, OK, OR, SC, VA, and WA).  Six States had a maximum age up to 7 (DE, ID, NM, 
NY, ND and RI). Eight States and the District of Columbia had a maximum age up to 8 (DC, IL, 
IN, ME, NJ, NC, PA, WV, and VT), and Tennessee and Wyoming had a maximum age up to 9.  
As of August 1, 2005, there were 9 States with weight provisions.  Five States (AR, CA, DE, 
NM, and RI) had a 60-pound maximum requirement; and four States (ME, NC, RI, and SC) had 
an 80-pound maximum requirement.  Tennessee included a height requirement of 57 inches, and 
West Virginia included a 56-inch height requirement.  Two of these States (NC and RI) had an 
80-pound maximum requirement, and New Mexico included a 60-pound maximum weight 
requirement (NHTSA, 2005; Safe Kids Worldwide, 2007). 
 
 As of July 1, 2007, a total of 38 States and the District of Columbia had enacted 
provisions in their child restraint laws mandating booster seat or appropriate restraint use for 
older child passengers.  This includes 5 States added during the prior 2-year period (AL, HI, KS, 
MO, and WI).  Of the 5 new States with booster seat laws, 1 State has a maximum age up to 6 
(AL); and 4 States have a maximum age of 8 (HI, KS, MO, and WI).  Washington State, Oregon, 
and Virginia increased their age requirement from age 6 to age 8 during the summer of 2007.   
The current age requirements within these 39 jurisdictions are shown below:  

 
• (Up to Age 6)– AL, AR, CA, CO, GA, IA, LA, MD, MT, NE, NV, NH, OK, and SC. 
• (Up to Age 7) – CT, DE, ID, ND, NM, NY, and RI. 
• (Up to Age 8) – District of Columbia and the States of HI, IL, IN, KS, ME, MO, NJ, 

NC, OR, PA, VT, VA, WA, WV, and WI. 
• (Up to Age 9) – TN and WY. 

   
 Eight States that have a 60-pound maximum weight requirement (AR, CA, CT, DE, LA, 
MT, NV, and NM) and 10 States have an 80-pound maximum weight requirement (KS, ME, 
MO, NJ, NC, ND, RI, SC, WI, and WY).   
 
 Fourteen States have enacted booster seat provisions by including a maximum height 
requirement in their child restraint laws.  These height requirements range from less than 54 to 
less than 57 inches, as indicated below: 
 
• < 54 inches: RI. 
• < 55 inches: CO and NH. 
• < 56 inches: ND. 
• < 57 inches:  GA, HI, KS, MO, OR, PA, TN, WA, WV, and WI.  
 
 Fourteen States will allow the use of a lap-only belt for the booster-age child, if the 
vehicle does not have a lap and shoulder seat belt available for using a belt positioning booster 
(BPB) seat.  They are: CA, CO, GA, HI, IL, IN, LA, MO, NY, NC, ND, OK, OR, and WA. 
 

While the number of jurisdictions that have enacted booster seat provisions has increased 
from 11 to 39 within the past 5 years, a wide variation in the age and weight requirements still 
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exists.  Improvements have been seen in several States with age and weight requirements 
meeting best practices for booster-seat-age children. The number of jurisdictions with laws that 
cover children up to age 8 (currently 18 with 2 of these covering children up to age 9) has more 
than quadrupled since 2002.  Within the same time period, the number of jurisdictions with laws 
that cover children who weigh up to 80 pounds (currently 10 States) has increased tenfold.  
Unfortunately, more than one-half of the States with booster seat law provisions are still 
operating below best practices for age.  With regard to improvements in the height provisions of 
booster seat laws, only 3 States had such a provision in 2002.  As of mid-2007, 10 States have 
height requirements that represent best practice (up to 57 inches).  Four other States have height 
requirements that fall short of best practice recommendations.  
 

Appendix C illustrates the change in booster seat requirements by State, by upper age 
limit, between 2002 and 2007.  
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3.2 LITERATURE REVIEW   
 
 The inventory of State child restraint laws provided a historical perspective of progress in 
booster seat law enactment over the past 5 years.  The task activity also highlighted the wide 
variation across States in the features of these booster seat laws.  This information provided a 
foundation for explaining booster seat use rates uncovered during the literature review, and for 
comparing booster seat use rates in States with and without booster laws. Low booster seat use 
among 4- to 8-year-old children may be explained by lack of booster seat laws, by laws which 
make a violation a secondary offense, and by laws which fail to reach best practices.  However, 
booster seat laws may be just one factor that contributes to booster seat use or nonuse.  The 
literature review was conducted to provide an up-to-date picture of the booster seat use rates in 
the Nation; describe the effectiveness of booster seat laws; and to provide a better understanding 
of the parental/caregiver characteristics that contribute to inconsistent booster seat use among 
this age group.  Booster seat use studies included observational surveys, crash data analyses, 
telephone surveys, and focus group sessions.  The review focused primarily on studies conducted 
during the past 5 years.  
 
3.2.1 Observational Surveys  

 
 Within the past 5 years, observational studies on booster seat use have been conducted 
describing nationwide booster seat use and statewide booster seat use, employing probability-
based sampling techniques.2  Studies looking at booster seat use across multiple States using 
convenience sampling techniques have also been conducted.  Details of seven observational 
booster seat use studies are provided below. 
 
 The most recent NHTSA National Occupant Protection Use Survey (NOPUS) was 
conducted in the summer of 2006 across the United States.  The probability-based survey was 
based on observations of children in vehicles.  The survey found that 41% of children ages 4 to 8 
were in a booster seat (25% in a high-backed booster and 16% in a backless booster).  For the 
remaining children in this age group, 17% were in child safety seats, 33% were in seat belts, and 
9% were unrestrained (Glassbrenner and Ye, 2007).  
 
 Another recent NHTSA-sponsored study observed booster-seat-age children arriving at 
elementary schools in four cities.  The study used a convenience sample to evaluate the effects of 
school-based booster seat use education programs in elementary schools.  The post-intervention 
data were collected in May 2006 at 25 schools in 4 cities (Wilmington, DE, San Diego, CA, 
Chicago, IL, and Charleston, SC).  Observations of restraint use were made on 11,607 children 
between age 4 and 8 in over 8,903 vehicles.  Twenty percent of these children were found in 
booster seats (ThinkFirst National Prevention Foundation, 2007).   
                                                           
2 A probability-based survey is based on observations across a random sample of roadway design and operational 
conditions within a particular geographic cluster or census tract.  This approach allows results to be generalized to 
areas not included in the sample, to yield a National estimate of restraint use.  By comparison, a convenience-based 
survey relies on observations at sites that are chosen because they exhibit a high frequency of a particular target 
population (e.g., a parking lot outside a destination for drivers with toddlers or booster-seat-age children).  A 
convenience sample may not yield statistically-representative data that can be projected to areas not included in  
the survey. 
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 A recent study by Vanderbilt University researchers evaluated the effects of Tennessee’s 
enhanced child restraint law (enacted in July 2005) covering new requirements for 4- to 8-year-
olds (Gunn, Phillippi, & Cooper, 2007).  Pre- and post-law observation data were collected at 34 
sites (after-school programs and elementary schools) in 3 urban counties in the State, using a 
convenience sample.  The survey found a significant increase in booster seat use among this age 
group from pre-law (29%) to post-law (39%) periods.  The survey observed 1,247 children ages 
4 to 8 (618 in the post-law period). 

 
 In the summer of 2004, a large-scale booster seat use observation survey was conducted 

in Michigan with a probability-based sample of over 3,400 children 4 to 8 years old.  
Observations were made at intersections and fast-food restaurants in 31 counties which were also 
used for the annual statewide seat belt use observation study.  Researchers from the University of 
Michigan found 8.6% of these children restrained in booster seats and 5.1% in child safety seats.  
This State did not have a booster seat law; however it did have a primary seat belt law (Eby, 
Bingham, Vivoda, & Ragunathan, 2005).  

 
In the fall of 2002, a NHTSA-sponsored child restraint system use and misuse 

observational study looked at children less than 80 pounds at 75 sites in 6 States (Decina, 
Lococo, & Block, 2005).  A convenience sample of over 4,000 vehicles with these young 
children was obtained, largely at shopping centers.  Of the 2,571 children ages 4 through 8, 
22.4% were in booster seats and 19% were in child safety seats (Decina & Lococo, 2004).  
Additional analyses from the study revealed that child safety seat and booster seat usage 
decreased for each 1-year increase in age beyond age 4 (i.e., 46.1% of children age 5; 29.7% of 
children age 6; 17% of children age 7; and 6.3% of children age 8).  
 

Between May and August 2003, Washington State University’s Division of Government 
Studies and Services conducted a booster seat use observational survey.  They found 49% of 
children 4 to 8 years of age in a booster seat (weighted Statewide sample of 890), and 44.7% of 
children between 40 and 80 pounds in a booster seat (weighted Statewide sample of 823).  
Booster seat use by minorities was approximately 10% lower than that of Whites.  The 
probability-based sampling design provided an accurate estimate of statewide safety restraint 
usage (Stehr & Lovrich, 2003).  At the time this study was conducted, booster seats were 
mandatory for children weighing between 40 and 60 pounds or younger than 6 years of age. 

 
In an earlier study conducted in Washington between February and April 2000, 

researchers at the Harborview Injury Prevention and Research Center/University of Washington 
observed a convenience sample of children traveling in vehicles as they left child care centers 
and elementary schools.  Of the 1,539 children eligible for booster-seat use based on best 
practices for age and weight (e.g., 40 to 80 pounds, and/or between ages 4 and 8), only 21.3% 
were using booster seats. In this age group, use of booster seats decreased with increases in age.  
Six-year-old children were half as likely to be restrained using a booster seat relative to 4-year-
old children.  Eight-year-old children were rarely restrained in a booster seat (Ebel, Koepsell, 
Bennett, & Rivara, 2003).  At the time this study was conducted, Washington did not have a 
booster seat law. 
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3.2.2 Crash Data Analyses 
 

The most recent Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) data from 2004 showed that 
of the 334 children ages 4 to 8 who were killed in motor vehicle traffic crashes, 47% were 
unrestrained (NHTSA, 2005). Another FARS report looked at trends over a 5-year period from 
1998 through 2002. For single-vehicle fatality crashes involving children in this age group, 
28.8% of these unrestrained children did not survive.  In multiple-vehicle fatality crashes 
involving children in this age group, 26.9% of these unrestrained children did not survive 
(Starnes, 2003).  

 
The Center for Injury Research and Prevention (CIRP) at the Children’s Hospital of 

Philadelphia has collected information on more than 300,000 crashes involving over 350,000 
children since 1997. The most recently published study showed that 45% of children age 4 to 8 
involved in crashes were in child restraints (e.g., child safety seats, belt-positioning boosters, or 
shield boosters).  A further breakdown of the data showed that 27% of children ages 4 to 8 were 
restrained using belt-positioning boosters (Partners for Child Passenger Safety, 2005).     

 
 CIRP also compared injury risk and patterns of injury for children age 4 to 8 restrained 

in belt-positioning boosters compared to those using seat belts alone.  The analysis examined 
3,616 crashes between December 1998 and May 2002 involving 4,243 children.  Eighty percent 
of these children were either in a belt-positioning booster or a vehicle seat belt.  The adjusted risk 
of injury for this age group was reduced by 59% when children were restrained with the use of 
belt-positioning boosters when compared to the use of adult seat belts alone.  The children in seat 
belts alone had injuries to every body region (Durbin, Elliott, & Winston, 2003). 

 
3.2.3 Telephone Surveys 

 
The Motor Vehicle Occupant Safety Survey is a biennial national telephone survey on 

occupant protection issues sponsored by the NHTSA.  The 2003 survey used two questionnaires, 
each administered to a randomly selected sample of approximately 6,000 people 16 or older.   

 
In the most recent MVOSS survey (early 2003), 60% of participants with children 

younger than 9 reported that the (referent) child used a child safety seat all the time; and 29% of 
participants reported the child used a seat belt all the time.  Most children age 6 through 8 
discontinued using a child safety seat or booster seat.  Although booster seats are recommended 
for most children 4 through 8, the survey found only 21% of children in that age range using 
them and another 19% using forward-facing child safety seats (Boyle & Vanderwolf, 2005). 

 
The 2003 MVOSS survey asked drivers about the type of child safety seat or booster seat 

being used by age (Boyle & Vanderwolf, 2005).  The following percentages of booster seat use 
by age were obtained by participants with children younger than 9 who reported that on occasion 
a child safety seat or booster seat was being used:  
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• Children younger than age 2 = 10% 
• Age 2 = 8% 
• Age 3 = 12% 
• Age 4 = 29% 

• Age 5 = 32% 
• Age 6 = 27% 
• Age 7 = 15% 
• Age 8 = 9% 

 
Booster seat use by weight of the child was also obtained in this survey, as follows:  
 
• Less that 20 pounds = 7% 
• 20 to 29 pounds = 5% 
• 30 to 39 pounds = 15% 

• 40 to 60 pounds = 25% 
• 61 or more pounds = 9% 

 
3.2.4 Focus Group Surveys and Interviews 

 
In the late 1990s, CIRP (formerly Partners for Child Passenger Safety) examined 

premature graduation, which refers to moving children into adult seat belts before they fit 
properly, putting them at greater risk for injury.  Focus groups and telephone interviews were 
conducted with parents/caregivers of young children in New Jersey and Pennsylvania to explore 
the nature and causes of premature graduation.  Most parents/caregivers were aware that a 
booster seat was the appropriate restraint to use when a child outgrew a child safety seat, and 
many reported that they actually had used a booster seat for a short time before moving the child 
to an adult seat belt.  Differences in knowledge and risk perception were found between 
parents/caregivers who used booster seats and parents who used seat belts for their children.  
Parents/caregivers using booster seats were generally more aware of child restraint issues (e.g., 
legislation, risks, best practices), were more active in seeking information, more concerned about 
the potential of injury, and less confident about their ability to sufficiently protect their children 
from injury, than those who used seat belts to restrain children.  Parents/caregivers indicated that 
they did not always restrain children or use restraints properly because: the child was too big for 
a child restraint; they were only traveling a short distance; the child protested and refused to use 
the seat; and/or the seat was not available (Winston, Moll, Durbin, & Kassam-Adams, 2001). 

 
Other research in the late 1990s sought to identify reasons for nonuse of booster seats by 

interviewing a subset of drivers from an observation study of booster-seat-age children in the 
Washington.  Approximately 46% of respondents felt their child was large enough to stop using 
a booster; about 21% intended to use the booster seat but had not; about 11% reported problems 
with installing the booster seat in the vehicle or putting the child in the seat; 7% had not 
considered purchasing a booster seat; and 4% said their child disliked the booster seat (Ramsey, 
Simpson, & Rivara, 2000). 

 
Recent focus group work with State and local law enforcement officers in three States 

(Colorado, Maine, and Maryland) that had recently passed booster seat legislation found that 
officers strongly supported the use of booster seats and the legal requirements mandating booster 
seat use.  However, the officers reported that the complexity of CPS guidelines was a barrier to 
their use and to enforcement of booster seat laws.  They indicated that they would enforce the 
law on a case-by-case basis.  Parents/caregivers making an effort to do the right thing would 
generally be provided with education, in lieu of ticketing for violations.  Commitment from 
department heads would also influence enforcement activity.  Participants recommended that 
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booster seat citations be included in NHTSA’s Click It or Ticket campaigns. They stated that 
simpler booster seat laws and stiffer penalties (application of points and higher fines) would 
increase compliance (Raymond, Seifert, Golembiewski, & Knoblauch, 2004).  

 
3.2.5 Summary of Literature Review 
 
 While the percentage of appropriately restrained children age 4 to 8 varies across 
observation studies, one consistent behavior pattern is that the older the child, the less likely a 
booster seat will be used. 
 
 Driver seat belt use has a positive influence on children’s restraint use (Decina & Lococo, 
2004). The recent Michigan study found that children riding with belted drivers were restrained in 
booster seats about 10% of the time, while those riding with unbelted drivers were restrained in 
booster seats 1 to 2% of the time (Eby et al., 2005).  Children in minority populations and  
children being transported by older drivers were also less likely to be using booster seats (Stehr & 
Lovrich, 2003; Decina, Lococo, & Block, 2005; Eby et al., 2005; ThinkFirst National Prevention 
Foundation, 2007).   

 
The review of quantitative and qualitative research studies uncovered differences between 

users and nonusers of booster seats that related to risk perception, knowledge of the laws, 
understanding of how booster seats work, and parenting skills.  Factors that have been shown to 
contribute to parents’/caregivers’ nonuse of booster seats for their young children include: 

 
• A disconnect between recommended and evidence-based best practices and booster seat 

laws, and parent/caregiver reliance on State laws to guide safe practices;  
 
• Lack of understanding about best practices for child passenger safety; 

 
• Underestimation of the risk of being involved in a crash; 
 
• Lack of understanding of the physics involved in a crash and the injury consequences; 

 
• Misperception that a child is big enough for a vehicle seat belt (and underestimation of 

the injury prevention potential of an adult seat belt for a small child); 
 

• Lack of understanding about the safety benefits of booster seats; 
 
• Misperception that a child is too big for a booster seat; 
 
• Inconvenience of using a booster seat or switching the booster between two vehicles;  
 
• Child’s discomfort or resistance in using the booster seat; 
 
• Cost or accessibility of a booster seat prohibits its use; 
 
• Parent’s/caregiver’s perception that they won’t get caught or that the penalties are minor 

or nonexistent for not using a booster seat; and 
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• Situational circumstances may preclude the use of booster seats (e.g., extra occupants in 

the vehicle). 
 
Interventions that have been effective in increasing booster seat use were also reviewed. One 

meta-analysis study of booster seat intervention programs found that combining education with 
either incentives to acquire booster seats (e.g., discount coupons) or distribution of free booster seats 
increased booster seat use.  There is also some evidence that legislation has a beneficial effect on the 
use of booster seats (Ehiri, King, Ejere, & Mouzon, 2006).  Other studies on the impact of legislation 
have also shown increases in booster seat use after implementation of booster seat laws (Gunn, 
Phillippi, & Cooper, 2007; Winston, Kallan, Elliott, Xie, & Durbin, 2007; NHTSA, 2007).  

 
Effective messaging for booster seat intervention programs has been a topic of recent study 

by Dr. Will from Eastern Virginia Medical School and Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters.  
Will (2005) states that most caregivers possess an “immunity fallacy,” which is a reduced perception 
of risk for motor vehicle injury to their children.  Because of their false perception that driving is not 
risky, they believe that their young children are safe enough using the adult seat belt.  As a 
consequence, caregivers who encounter traditionally designed booster seat intervention messages 
(i.e., those which are primarily informational) don’t see a need for corrective action and therefore 
tune out the message. According to Will, for maximum behavioral success, injury prevention 
messages must shock and surprise parents/caregivers into paying attention to something they would 
normally dismiss as unimportant.  Properly designed fear appeals have two key elements: they must 
convince people that there is a high probability for the danger, and they must focus on the minimal 
effort required to adopt the recommended precaution.  Effective messaging for child passenger 
safety must simultaneously inform, persuade, arouse alarm, evoke high emotion, create feelings of 
vulnerability, and instill in parents/caregivers a high sense of efficacy for protecting their children 
(Will, 2005).   

 
Will (2005) notes that gore is not necessary for a properly designed fear appeal message.  

Instead, occupant protection messaging should include crash test footage that portrays the power of 
crash forces, and fear-evoking photo images of the types of injuries that may be sustained in crashes.  
In research sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control, a 6-minute video (“Boost ‘Em In The 
Back Seat!”) using a novel threat-appeal approach (without gore) was used to deliver preventative 
messages about the importance of booster seat and rear-seat use to parents.  The video intervention 
program was piloted at two after-school care centers via an interrupted time series design with two 
control sites for comparison (Will, Sabo, & Porter, 2007).  Study findings indicated that, compared 
to baseline and control assessments, the treatment group’s child passenger safety knowledge, risk-
reduction attitudes, perception of fear and efficacy, and behavioral intentions related to booster seat 
use and back seat use increased significantly from pre- to post-test.  Trend analyses confirmed 
significant increases in overall observed restraint use and booster seat use following exposure to the 
intervention video compared to baseline and control sites.   

 
The literature review uncovered barriers to the enforcement of booster seat laws.  Based on 

the findings from focus groups with law enforcement officers, there is a preference to educate as 
opposed to enforce.  Providing officers with education on the safety benefits of booster seats and a 
better understanding the child restraint laws; enacting stronger booster seat laws; and commitment 
from top management might promote more enforcement of these laws.   
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3.3 OBSERVATIONAL STUDY OF THE IMACT OF A BOOSTER SEAT LAW 
 

While the literature search in the last task found several studies that evaluated the effects 
of child restraint laws on child passenger restraint use, only one observational study (Gunn, 
Phillippi, & Cooper, 2007) and one crash data study (Winston et al., 2007) were identified that 
examined the effects of booster seat laws on booster seat use.  The observational study conducted 
in this project shed more light on the influence of booster seat law enactment on booster seat use.  

 
In this task, observations of booster seat use and nonuse were conducted in a State with a 

newly enacted booster seat law (Wisconsin) and in a neighboring comparison State with no 
booster seat law (Michigan).  Observations were made in May 2006 (pre-law) and in September 
2006 (post-law).  Wisconsin’s law was enacted on June 1, 2006.  A significant improvement 
(48.6% to 57.7%) in booster seat and child safety seat use for children age 4 to 8 was found in 
Wisconsin after the booster seat law was passed.  Even though there was improvement (41.6% to 
47.5%) in booster seat and child safety seat use in Michigan, it was not statistically significant. 
More details of the study findings are presented below. 

 
Overall, driver and vehicle characteristics (e.g., percentage of female versus male, race, 

vehicle types, and number of occupants) were similar in Wisconsin and Michigan during the pre- 
and post-intervention periods.  
 

Although booster seat use among children 4 to 8 increased from 40 to 45.9% in 
Wisconsin and from 38.6 to 40.2% in Michigan during this same period, these increases were not 
statistically significant (See Table 2).  However, during the pre- and post- booster seat law 
period, the overall patterns of restraint use (seat belt, child safety seat, booster, and unrestrained) 
for children 4 to 8 changed significantly in Wisconsin (p<.02) and in Michigan (p<.01).  In both 
States, the number of children in child safety seats and booster seats increased, and the number 
of children in seat belts decreased.  However, in Wisconsin, the number of unrestrained children 
remained relatively stable, while the number in Michigan increased.  

 
Table 2. Restraint Use for Booster-Seat-Age Children. 

 
Wisconsin Michigan Restraint Type Pre N=407 Post N=355 Pre N=472 Post N=465 

Seat Belt 30.7% 21.1% 45.6% 35.7% 
Child Safety Seat 8.6% 11.8% 3.0% 7.3% 
Booster 40.0% 45.9% 38.6% 40.2% 
Unrestrained  20.6% 21.1% 12.9% 16.8% 
Total  100.0% 100.0% 100.0% 100.0% 

 
Since there is a large variation in children’s sizes between 4 and 8, smaller children 

would be appropriately restrained in child safety seats with an internal harness, while larger 
children would be appropriately restrained in booster seats.  There is also some variation in upper 
weight limits for forward-facing child safety seats with internal harnesses (e.g., from 40 to 80 
pounds), so children 40 pounds and over may still be appropriately restrained in a child safety 
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seat. A chi-square test was performed to determine if there was a significant difference from the 
pre- to post- booster law period in the number of children who were appropriately restrained, 
without regard to the type of child restraint system.  Thus, an appropriately restrained child could 
be riding in a booster seat or in a child safety seat.  In Wisconsin, significantly more children 
were appropriately restrained from before to after the law (p<.02) while the results for Michigan 
were not significant.  The combination of child safety seat and booster seat use in Wisconsin 
showed an increase of 9.1 percentage points (48.6% to 57.7%) and the same combination yielded 
an increase in Michigan of 5.9 percentage points (41.6% to 47.5 %) (See Figure 2). 

 
There was also a trend toward fewer children inappropriately restrained for their age 

(e.g., in seat belts or completely unrestrained) as a consequence of the booster law.  In 
Wisconsin, the number of children in seat belts and the number of children who were completely 
unrestrained decreased by 9.1 percentage points (51.3% before the law; 42.2% after the law).  In 
Michigan, during this same period, the number of children in seat belts and the number of 
children who were unrestrained decreased by 6 percentage points (58.5% before the law; 52.5% 
after the law).  
 

For both States, over one-half of the booster seats were the backless type in the pre- and 
post-intervention periods. Over one-third of the booster seats were belt-positioning high back 
models in the pre- and post-intervention periods.  About 10% were combination seats and only 
about 2% were shield boosters in each period. 
 

These findings offer the first indications that Wisconsin’s booster seat law had the effect 
of increasing child restraint system use (child safety seat or booster seats) for children between 
ages 4 and 8.  However, this study had limitations because it used a convenience sample. While 
not necessarily representative of the State, the study findings showed a significant change in the 
direction of safer practices from pre- to post- booster seat law enactment.  
 

It can be inferred that the booster seat law motivated parents and caregivers to move their 
children into a restraint that was appropriate for the child’s age and weight.  Since there was no 
concomitant change in the comparison State from pre- to post-intervention (no child booster seat 
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Figure 2. Children Age 4 to 8 Appropriately Restrained in  
 Child Safety Seats or Booster Seats. 
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law was implemented in Michigan), it appears that the increase in appropriately restrained 
children in Wisconsin was the result of the new booster seat law. 
 

Findings from the observation study were included as a discussion topic in the 
subsequent focus groups conducted in this project. Discussion about the effects of booster seat 
laws on improving booster seat use in communities fueled a lively discussion with several 
parents/caregivers in the cities.  In addition, many of the law enforcement officers were quite 
surprised that enactment of a booster seat law without any enforcement in place actually changed 
behavior.  Discussions about increasing booster seat use through increased enforcement of 
booster laws ensued. Details of the focus group activity follow below. 
 
3.4 FOCUS GROUP SESSIONS 
 
 The literature review provided evidence that booster seat use increases when a booster 
seat law is enacted.  The booster seat observational study conducted in this project confirmed this 
finding.  However, the observational study also showed that the law wasn’t 100% effective.  
Three months after the primary law covering children age 4 to 8 had been in place in Wisconsin, 
21% of the booster-seat-age children were riding unrestrained and another 21% were 
inappropriately restrained in adult seat belts.  
 
 Focus groups were conducted with parents/caregivers of booster-age children to learn 
why parents/caregivers don’t always restrain their children in booster seats and what would 
motivate them to do so.  Focus groups were held with law enforcement officers to learn what the 
barriers are to enforcing booster seat laws, and what strategies would be effective in removing 
these barriers. 
 
 Parents/caregivers generally confirmed the reasons for not using booster seats that were 
highlighted in the literature review:  lack of understanding of the laws and best practices for 
restraining their children, underestimation of the risk involved when using seat belts instead of 
booster seats, indulgent parenting when their children resist using booster seats, and low threat of 
being ticketed for failure to comply (with the exception of participants from California).  A new 
reason for not using booster seats was identified by the parents/caregivers in this project.  There 
is a perception that because booster seats wobble, they are unsafe.  Therefore, many caregivers 
believe that their children are safer when restrained in an adult seat belt.  Although the strategies 
they recommended for increasing booster seat use were not necessarily new, the concept that 
messaging should focus of the risk of injury and death to their children, using visual methods 
(crash tests with dummies, actual crash pictures, and testimonials by parents whose children had 
been injured in a crash because they were inappropriately restrained) supported the idea that fear 
appeals are acceptable to parents, and would motivate them to change their behavior. 
 
 Although law enforcement officers confirmed that secondary child restraint laws are a 
barrier to their enforcement, they also provided new information about the institutional barriers 
to the enforcement of booster seat laws.  These institutional barriers are that (1) the level of 
understanding about appropriate restraint for age and weight of a child by most officers 
precludes them from stopping drivers, (2) there is a lack of funding and a lack of commitment in 
many departments for child restraint law enforcement activities, and (3) lenient judges dismiss 
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child restraint law violation cases in many States, which reduces the motivation of law 
enforcement officers to ticket for these violations.  Like the parents/caregivers, they 
recommended that educational messages provide visual and testimonial evidence of the risks of 
injury for inappropriately restrained children.  They also recommended that booster seat 
manufacturers and retailers, and pediatricians should be encouraged to inform the public about 
the laws and injury risks from non-compliance.   
 
 More detail is presented below from the focus groups about the barriers to booster seat 
use, the barriers to enforcing the laws, and strategies to improve the effectiveness of booster  
seat laws. 
 
3.4.1 Focus Groups with Law Enforcement Personnel 
 
 Focus groups with law enforcement personnel included both certified child passenger 
safety (CPS) officers and those charged with enforcing the laws but having no special training in 
the subject.  A summary of topics discussed with these officers follows.  A sample of comments 
from the officers that best represents the tone in the sessions is also included.  A code for 
location of the focus group session (R=Richmond, P = Pittsburgh, C = Chicago, and S = 
Sacramento) follows each comment. 
 
3.4.1.1  Barriers to Parent/Caregiver Use of Booster Seats 
 

Based on their interactions with drivers caught in violation of booster seat laws, law 
enforcement officers were asked why parents/caregivers don’t use booster seats (or don’t use 
them properly) to restrain their 4- to 8-year-old passengers. Officers identified the following 
barriers that stand in the way of full-time and appropriate use of child booster seats among the 
public.  These re-confirm the findings from the literature review. 
 
• Public's ignorance of the child safety laws.  Officers indicated that parents/caregivers 

don’t know the specifics of the child passenger safety laws, and how the law applies to 
their children. Parents/caregivers tell officers that the law does not apply to their children 
because of their size.  Officers also use size of child to check for child restraint law 
violations. Some will interview the child (e.g., how old are you?) as opposed to the 
parent/caregiver to ensure more honest answers.   

 
The most common excuse I've heard is that they don't know the law.  P 
 

• Public's ignorance about proper use of booster seats.  According to the officers, many 
parents don't know how to use booster seats properly.  A common error is to place the 
shoulder belt behind the child. 

 
Parents have a misconception that they can use a booster seat just with a lap belt.  That 
defeats the purpose.  The point of making them sit higher is so that the shoulder belt can 
be used.  C 
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A lot of what you do with booster seats is education.  You really have to take the time to 
sit down with parents and tell them why a BPB (belt positioning booster) isn't 
independently belted to the seat.  P  

 
• Public's failure to recognize the degree of risk to themselves and the unrestrained child.   

The officers stated that there is a strong correlation between adult use of seat belts and 
having children properly belted in booster seats. 

 
If Mom and Dad aren't buckled up, the child's most likely not buckled up either.  R  
 
Sometimes, the kids get mixed signals.  With Mom, you have to buckle up.  With Dad,  
you don't.  R 
 

• Parents/caregivers are too permissive, when their children complain about using booster 
seats.  Parents/caregivers tell the officers during traffic stops that children hate booster 
seats and refuse to stay in them.  Law enforcement officers are also told by 
parents/caregivers that the child was in the seat when the trip started but somehow 
escaped from it.  These excuses irritate the officers the most. 
 
How many times do we in enforcement hear the excuses… they won't stay in the seat, they 
cry.  My question is who is the child and who is the parent?  R 
 
I don't know how many parents say can you talk to my son.  He won't stay in his seat.  
That's ridiculous!  Who cares what (the child) likes?  You gotta be a parent.  P 

 
I have one message for you: be the parent.  If you had put (the child) in it from the 
beginning and ignored the crying, you wouldn't have a problem now.  P 
 
They say it's a baby seat and that my kid puts up a fuss because his friends are not 
 in it.  C 
 

• Booster seats are complicated.  Officers hear from parents/caregivers that the seats are 
too complicated, difficult to move from one vehicle to the next, etc.  However, the 
officers believe that the real problem is not the installation of the seats but, how the 
children are secured in the seats (e.g., the placement of the shoulder belt.) 

 
• Booster seats are too expensive.  The officers were aware that booster seats are generally 

not expensive, far less so than child safety seats; and that there are many programs in 
place to provide poor families with free or inexpensive booster sets.  
 
I issue most of my child seat tickets in the poorest areas of the city (of Richmond).  When 
they say they can't afford it, they quite honestly can't.  But, the low-income program takes 
that excuse away.  R 
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• Other common excuses.  The officers reported hearing all of the common excuses, 
including: “it’s a short trip,” “seat left in other car,” I’m not the usual driver,” or “child 
was asleep so I laid him down in the back seat.” 

 
3.4.1.2.  Barriers to the Enforcement of Booster Seat Laws 
 

The law enforcement officers stated that child safety seat and seat belt laws are strongly 
enforced.  However, booster seat laws are not rigorously enforced.  The participants expressed 
that although they would like to enforce these booster seat laws, they were more comfortable 
educating drivers and caregivers who were not following booster seat laws than they were in 
punishing them.   
 

Officers identified four institutional barriers to consistently enforcing booster seat laws.  
These included: 
 
• Judges are too lenient. Officers stated that judges are not familiar with the child restraint 

laws and are too quick to dismiss tickets for this offense.  
 

Most justices don't know much about restraints.  So, it's easier for them to wave that  
fine.  P  
 

• Shortage of knowledgeable police on the subject of child restraints and booster seats.  
The participants stated that often, officers do not feel that they are qualified to write a 
ticket or offer education because they don't feel like they know enough about child 
restraint systems, including booster seats and proper use/installation. 
  
If there is a question about whether the seat is in properly, most of us won't deal  
with that.  S 
 
Who is going to define "properly?"  The average patrolman doesn't know enough about 
child seats to argue before a judge about it, so they don't give tickets.  R 
 
A lot of them never issue child restraint tickets because they don't have the knowledge for 
doing it.  The driver will say, since I don't have it in properly, can you show me how to 
put it in.  And, they can't!  R 
 
We have 34 officers in the department.  Only about eight of them know the ins and outs of 
seat belts.  P  
 

• Lack of funding for police to enforce booster seat laws. 
 

A lot of our communities are underfunded for this and, therefore, understaffed.  C 
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• Lack of police focus.  
 

We're worried about the robberies and the drugs.  We would love to put our resources 
(into enforcing booster seat laws) but we can't.  C 
 
We don't go out in the street every day thinking "O.K. Child safety seats!  We're looking 
for the things that cause accidents like speeding and running red lights.  Half the time, we 
can't even see if there is a child in the car unless we stop them for something else.  S 
 
Two situational factors were identified by officers as barriers to enforcing booster laws.  

These include: 
 

• Violations are difficult to spot due to less than ideal sight lines. 
 
Tinted windows make it hard.  R 
 
Sometimes I can't even tell if there is a kid in the car.  R 

 
 

• Probable financial impact on some families. Officers stated that they try to give 
consideration to situational circumstances.  Most say that they will write a ticket 
regardless of any circumstance because their job is to protect children.   

 
Are you trying to do safety for the kid?  Or, are you trying to slam them for the violation, 
even when they don't have the money.  R  
 
If I see that they have made an attempt and they're trying, my emphasis is on the 
educational aspect rather than on penalizing them.  S 
 
If that person (one with six unrestrained children) is clearly not making an effort to 
restrain their six kids, then there is no doubt in my mind that they are going to get six 
tickets.  R  
 
With low-income drivers, I write the ticket to get them in (to court).  Then, I make 
arrangements to get them free seats so that they don't have to pay the fine.  P  
 
I just wrote out one woman for six tags.  I told her to go appeal it, but at least I was 
covered.  She'll have to pay for one ticket.  They'll chew her out for the rest of them.  P  
 
A very tall 7-year old in a booster seat, his head is going to come above the seat.  If there 
is not a headrest behind him, then he shouldn't be in the booster.  There are times you 
have to use some discretion in applying the law.  P  
 
Allowances need to be made for children who are big for their ages and don't fit 
comfortably in a booster.  P  
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3.4.1.3   Perceived Adequacy of Booster Seat Laws 
 

Although the law enforcement officers represented States with differing booster seat laws 
and levels of punishment, there was general agreement that (1) booster seat laws should be 
primary; (2) fines should be high; and (3) punishment should include points assessed against the 
license.  Officers from California were more satisfied with their laws than officers from Virginia, 
Pennsylvania, and Illinois.  
 

Make it primary as opposed to secondary.  Take the money that brings in and use it to 
buy more seats for those who can't afford it.  P 

 
3.4.1.4   Educational Messages to Increase Booster Seat Use  
 

Participants were presented with four “concept statements,” each focusing on an 
“argument” for convincing parents and other caregivers to use booster seats properly and 
consistently.  These concept statements are presented in Appendix D.  The four concepts focused 
on the: 
 
• RISKS associated with failure to restrain the child; 
• threat of ENFORCEMENT for failure to restrain;  
• EASE of installing and using booster seats; and 
• DUTY of a parent to properly protect a child from harm. 
 

Participants were invited to read all the statements and to put them in an order of 
preference according to their effectiveness in encouraging booster seat use.   
 

The law enforcement groups settled on two message concepts that they perceived to have 
equal merit and great power when combined, i.e. enforcement and duty. The ease concept was 
not rated high; it was a non-issue.  This is because using a booster seat properly was not 
considered difficult, especially when compared to using child safety seats properly.   
 

Even if you're stupid or irresponsible, you understand getting a ticket. S 
 
Some parents could care less about their kids.  P  

 
(Enforcement) might not stop everybody, but it will bet a lot of them to pay attention.  R 

 
In their earlier discussions, the officers expressed some skepticism about how effectively 

current laws are enforced.  But enforcement to these participants was largely a matter of using 
enforcement to educate rather than punish.  

 
We need to educate them first.  Educate instead of incarcerate.  P 
 
I truly believe in education combined with enforcement.  Educate them first.  Then, if they 
don't follow through, drop the hammer and fully enforce.  R  
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Officers were asked whether a potential public information and educational (PI&E) 
campaign should focus entirely on enforcement of the booster seat laws.  The moderator offered 
Click It or Ticket as a model for such a campaign.  Based on the officers’ comments, an 
enforcement-only focus was not recommended.  Rather, the officers indicated that an appeal 
should first be made to the desire of parents to keep their children safe.  Officers sense that most 
parents want to do the right thing, but they don't recognize the risk to their children by allowing 
them to ride unrestrained or restrained by seat belts.  So parents need to be educated about the 
consequences of failure in their duty and how they should comply with their duty. 

 
Enforcement is secondary.  Your kids are going to get hurt and it's the law.  C 

 
Enforcement might produce short-term compliance.  But long term, it's going to be the 
self-interest and protecting the child.  C 
 
If you run enforcement checks at a school drop-off zone, you'll see dramatic 
improvement.  But, the improvement will only last a few months and creep up again if you 
slack off the enforcement.  S 
 
If I were going to try to change somebody's behavior, this (Duty) is how I would do it.  C 

 
Officers were comfortable with showing graphic evidence of the risks involved in non-

compliance, but felt that this alone would not be sufficient persuasion.  
 

If people think about these risks a little bit more, they're going to go get that booster  
seat. R 

 
Reminding them that injuries can occur even at low speed is a very good point.  R 
 
That's right.  People think that if they don't speed, they're safe.  But, these things happen 
at slow speeds.  R 
 
This scared me.  If I read this or saw this, there is no question that it would affect my 
behavior.  S 

 
According to the participants, enforcement should be the ultimate threat aimed at those 

who will not recognize and do what is right.  The message sequence according to the officers 
should be: 

 
1. Do the right thing as a parent by properly protecting your child in a booster seat 

because… 
2. Failure to do that can result in terrible consequences and… 
3. As law enforcement officers, we are here to guide you in the right direction.  Ultimately 

though… 
4. The law is the law and we will enforce it.   
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3.4.1.7  Strategies Recommended by Law Enforcement   
 
Seven strategies were offered by law enforcement officers to increase booster seat use.   

  
1. An educational emphasis aimed at the children themselves, especially grades K-3.  

 
Educate the kids in grade school.  They'll have an impact on their families.  I think that is 
especially true with the Spanish families.  C 
 
How about a poster in every daycare center?  C 

 
Children are impressionable.  Get into the schools so the kids will tell Mommy and 
Daddy to put them in the seat.  R 
 
Go into the schools, talk to the students directly and hand out the brochures to go home 
to their parents.  Have the parents sign something and bring it back that they read it.  P  

 
2. More publicity with an emphasis on the risk issue.  There is a need to graphically 

demonstrate the consequences of not using a booster seat.  Posters (showing the types of 
booster seats and their proper usage in a simple and visually clear design) should be 
placed in public buildings and other places where parents gather (e.g., pediatrician offices).  
 
A lot of parents don't know what can happen to their kids.  You have to use tough love, to 
shock them.  C 
 
We need videos showing crash dummies, to show just how serious this is.  C 
 
We (the police) should all have pictures of children that have been crashed to show when 
we stop someone for this offense.  C 
 
You need that billboard on the highway that shows a very small yellow tarp and a very 
small child that wasn't in a booster seat and got in an accident.  You need that shock 
value.  S 
 
People will complain and take offense when you show an actual accident scene. It would 
be just as effective to have the mother of a victim or near victim directly addressing the 
public.  I lost my child because I was running behind that day.  S 
 
How many posters do you ever see for (booster seats), even in the public aid office?  C 

 
3. Encourage booster seat manufacturers and retailers to do more to inform the public about 

the laws and the risks involved in not properly restraining their children.  
 
If I were a seat manufacturer, I would bombard the public about the law.  C 
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I think more in-store reminders… Babies R Us, Wal-Mart… would be great for the 
parents and for the merchants.  R  
 
We should educate the sales people who are working where they sell the seats.  We are 
getting people from Toys R Us and Babies R Us at the police seminars.  P  

 
4. Continue and augment booster seat give-aways to low income parents/caregivers.  

 
Ford did a program called "Boost America."  They gave away thousands of seats.  They 
had lines (of parents) wrapped around the parking lot wherever they went.  CL 

 
5. Make better use of the captive-audience and authority aspects of pediatrician offices with 

posters, leaflets and videos. 
 
Is there a way, on a large scale, to educate parents?  (What about) a video in 
pediatrician offices?  R  

 
6. Persuade corporations to include booster seat information in their material and safety sessions. 

 
Big, private businesses, need to deal with their employees (on this topic) when they do 
their health and wellness training.  P   

 
7. Increased pressure to write tickets for restraints generally.  An example is the Chief's 

Challenge which, police say, causes them to push hard.   
 
 
3.4.2  Focus Groups with Parents/Caregivers  

 
Participants were recruited to achieve a balance among those who routinely use booster 

seats and those who only occasionally or never use them.  The objective was to develop a sense 
of (1) what parents/caregivers know about booster seats and laws in their States; (2) what 
barriers prevent compliance from occasional and non-users; (3) what motivates the regular 
booster seat user; and (4) what strategies may compel parents/caregivers to more consistently use 
booster seats.  Personal comments are included.  A code for location of the focus group session 
(R=Richmond, P = Pittsburgh, C = Chicago, and S = Sacramento) follows each comment, as 
well as a code for participant gender (F =female and M= male). 

 
3.4.2.1   Knowledge of Booster Seats and Child Restraint Laws 
 

Most participants knew about the various styles of booster seats, where to buy them, and 
how much they cost.  Most knew that the purpose of booster seats was to provide a greater 
degree of safety over seat belts.  Those who use the seats most often reported that the purpose 
was to ensure a proper, safe, and firm fit of the shoulder belt.  Some of the grandparents who 
participated reported that they would use the seats if present in their sons’ or daughters’ vehicles, 
but would not otherwise obtain a booster seat. 
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Participants reported that booster seats were comparatively easy to install (as opposed to 
child safety seats) and could easily be transported from one vehicle to another. Participants 
generally regarded booster seats as inexpensive.  It was also widely understood that seats were 
available free or discounted to the financially needy.   

 
While parents/caregivers appeared to know about booster seats, they found the child 

restraint laws confusing.  They generally knew that age, weight, and height played a role in 
determining which children should be in booster seats, but few of them could state the exact 
conditions with any confidence or precision. 
 

It has to do with when the child is 40 pounds.  You can be in the right age bracket but be 
too big or too small for the boosters.  RF 
 
I think the recommendation is to stop using boosters at 8 years old.  Though my seven-
year-old only uses seat belts.  She is very tall, so the shoulder belt rides too low when she 
is in a booster.  RF 
 
It's something about 80 pounds or 8 years of age.  CF 
 
It just changed.  What is it?  Twenty-five pounds and up for the booster?  SM 
 
The information is not clear as to when and how long they should be in booster seats.  RF 
 
I was confused when I bought mine because the box said 30 lbs.  And, I had read 
somewhere that it was 40 lbs.  So, I went online.  Even there, I had a hard time coming up 
with a definitive answer.  RF 
 
I didn't really know anything about the law until tonight.  For me, it was a common sense 
safety decision.  CM 
 
Nearly every participant had questions about when there might be exceptions to the law 

for their own children.  Many asked how the law might apply to a child who is very large or very 
small for his or her age.  Participants were also unsure about the penalties (fines, points) that 
applied in their States, which may also relate to non-compliance with the law.   
 
3.4.2.2  Barriers to Full-Time Use of Booster Seats  
 

Several themes emerged from the participants’ discussions about what prevents full-time 
booster seat use, including: (1) child’s dislike of seats; (2) failure to understand the importance  
of booster seats; (3) ignorance or lack of unawareness of risks; (4) perception that booster  
seat laws are not enforced; (5) situational factors; (6) perception that seats are not safe; (7) 
perception by parents that seats are uncomfortable for their children; and (8) difficulty fitting 
seats in the vehicle.  
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(1) Child's dislike of the seats.  Participants frequently reported that their children rebel 
against being placed in the booster seats. They stated that 4- and 5-year-old children often 
release themselves from the seat simply because they are able to or because they want to 
move around the vehicle; and children age 6 or 7 often complain incessantly about being 
uncomfortable and feeling too much like a baby. Negative peer pressure was offered as a 
definite factor, particularly when the child reaches first grade.  Some parents/caregivers 
stated that they just give up. 
 
My daughter knows how to take the belt off and will.  CF 
 
She thought it was babyish.  The day she turned 8, that was the end of it.  PF 
 
My grandkids were pretty much put off by the booster seats.  They are hard and 
uncomfortable.  As soon as they can get out of their booster seat, they get out.  My three-
year-old granddaughter tries to remove the seat from the car altogether.  That's how 
much she hates it.  RM  
 
My son just wouldn't stay in it.  As soon as I'd get him in it, he'd unbuckle the damned 
thing.  So, I said the hell with it and just took it out of the car.  RM 
 
He carries on about it so much that it's easier to just buckle him in the adult seat  
belt.  PF 
 
My daughter doesn't like the booster seat.  So, she will beat me to the car and get seated 
beside me in a seat belt.  And I just say "whatever."  CF 
 
I put my 4-year old in a booster seat, but not my 7-year old.  She's a little tall for it and 
just makes such a fuss!  So, I put her in the seat belts.  She's happy.  She's comfortable.  
No screaming and yelling.  RF 
 
My 5-year old grand daughter hates being in the booster seat, so I don't make her.  She's 
always buckled up though! CF 
 
I'm one of those soccer moms that always have the car full of kids, three or four 13-year-
olds and a couple of 5-year-olds.  Since my 5-year-old thinks he's 13, he's embarrassed to 
put the booster seat on.  So, I let him use the seat belt to save the aggravation.  CF 

 
(2)  Failure to understand the importance of booster seats.  Many parents/caregivers regard 

seat belts as the absolute equivalent of booster seats in terms of safety for anyone age 
four or older.  Parents/caregivers who considered themselves to be deeply conscientious 
of their children’s safety often found no safety advantage in using booster seats over 
restraining children in seat belts.  This was a common area of ignorance and a major 
impediment to increasing booster seat use.  
 
I never used a booster.  I just buckle them in and go!  RM 
 



 

 39

(3) Ignorance or lack of awareness of risks associated with not using booster seats.  
Participants were commonly unconcerned about nonuse of booster seats on short trips. 
They were more likely to use them on highway trips, however.   

 
I won't put it on if I'm going less than 5 minutes.  It (the booster seat) is always in the car.  
She'll sit on it but she won't put the belt on.  But, if we're going more than 5 minutes, I'll 
insist on it.  CF  

 
Oh, if we're only going halfway down the street.  SM 

 
We live in a very rural area.  Around there, none of the kids are buckled in.  But, as soon 
as you hit the blacktop, they know that they have to be buckled up.  RF 

 
If we're going on the expressway, we need to use them.  CM 

 
If we're just going from one place to the next, not very far (we don't use them).  SF 

 
We live in the country on a dirt road.  I don't worry too much about it until I hit the 
freeway.  SF 
 

(4)  Perception that booster seat laws are not enforced.  Participants indicated that it was 
unlikely that they would ever get caught violating the booster seat law.  First, they 
identified that booster law enforcement would probably be a low priority for police 
officers. They also said that tinted windows and high vehicle window placement would 
preclude observations of violations.  Second, participants reported no evidence of 
enforcement.  None of these participants had ever received such a citation or knew 
anybody who had. 

  
They're out there looking for people running red lights and speeding.  Booster seats are 
not what they're out there looking for.  RM 
 
If they catch me sliding through a light and I don't have my kid in a booster seat, then I 
might get a ticket for it.  Otherwise, I don't think I'd get a ticket for not using a booster 
seat.  RM 
 
I have never heard of anybody getting a ticket for it.  PM 

 
In addition, participants were not concerned about the severity of punishment, because 
they found it unlikely that they would be cited.  An exception was in California, where 
traffic citations tend to draw severe fines and are therefore, more feared.  In all States 
except California, participants felt that the penalties for booster seat violations were too 
light and that enforcement was next to non-existent.   

 
I don't think the penalty is enough.  You can get a $300 ticket for parking in a handicap 
spot.  You've got your kid's life in your hands when you're driving 65 mph.  The penalty's 
not enough.  There's no deterrent.  PM  
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(5)  Situational factors.  Parents/caregivers cited many other situational reasons for not 

regularly using booster seats.  These included: “It's in the other car,” “I was running 
late,” “I just wasn't thinking about it,” and “the child needed to sleep in the back seat.” 
 

The only time she's not in it is if my Dad has to pick her up.  He doesn't have one in his 
car.  But, he does buckle her in.  CF 
 
I admit that it's extremely important.  It's just that I'm usually running late for the bus 
stop.  RF 
 
I normally won't move the car out of the driveway until everybody is buckled.  They all 
know that's a hard rule.  But, when we're taking a long trip and night and I see them 
slumped over to the side of that chair, I feel so bad.  So, if they get out of it to lie down, I 
let them do it.  SF 
 
Late at night, on a long trip, it's too uncomfortable for them to sleep.  I let them lie down 
in the back.  PF  

 
(6)  Perception that booster seats are unsafe.  One of the most surprising findings in this series 

of focus group sessions was that a segment of the population believes that booster seats 
are unsafe. There is a feeling that the child is safer in conventional seat belts.  One 
common response was that the booster seat wobbles and cannot possibly be safer than a 
child safety seat. 

 
I have a personal friend that was involved in a collision and she had the child in a 
backless one.  Her daughter is now paralyzed from the waist down.  They fold them right 
in half.  SF 
 
I just don't see how those little seats make them any safer than just using seat belts.  SF 
 
I don't feel like they're safe.  They are better off in the seat belt.  The booster seats slide 
from side to side.  When you brake, the booster seat goes flying. PM  
 
I think kids are safer buckled in seat belts in the back.  The booster seat makes them too 
high and I'm afraid she's going to fly over the front seat.  Seated lower, she has that extra 
protection from the front seat, not as far to fly.  PF 

 
(7) Perception of parents/caregivers that seats are uncomfortable.  One of the most common 

complaints was that booster seats were uncomfortable for the children.  Participants 
reported that the seats shift forward and tilt from side to side every time a sharp turn is 
taken.  If the child is sleeping, there is nothing to hold him or her comfortably.  

 
As they get older, they seem to get more uncomfortable in them.  CM 
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(8) Difficulty fitting seats in the vehicle and moving them from vehicle to vehicle.  
Participants found a variety of structural shortcomings, especially when trying to use 
more than one seat in a vehicle.   

 
The way they make the booster seats so wide, it's hard to put three kids in them in the 
back seat.  CF     
 
Booster seats are easy once you get them in place.  It's very easy to get my 4-year-old in 
and out of it.  But, when I have to change from one car to another… It can be on the 
right, left or center depending on the design of the car.  The belt systems are different.  It 
can get a little crazy.  RF 
 

3.4.2.3   Motivation for Full-Time Use of Booster Seats 
 

Several themes emerged from the discussions on what motivated full-time booster seat 
use, including: (1) leading by example; (2) easy to use; (3) acceptance by children; and (4) 
parental authority.  

 
(1) Leading by example.  The most common thread among consistent users of booster seats 

was their own consistent use of seat belts.  Participants indicated that adult use of seat 
belts provides a powerful example to the child.  Also adults who do not consistently use 
belts themselves are far less likely to expect their children to be properly restrained.  
 
I do it by example.  When we get in the car, it's automatic for me and for them.  SM 

 
(2) Easy to Use. Most participants regarded the installation and use of booster seats as quite 

easy, especially compared with child safety seats.  However, not every one agreed with 
this assessment.  

 
The high-back booster can be difficult, but not the no-back booster.  They are easy.  You 
can easily adjust to right-hand or left-hand installation.  RF 

 
Booster seats are easy.  Child seats are a pain in the neck.  RM 

 
They're not hard to put on.  RF 
 

(3) Acceptance by children.  Participants stated that some children actually like the seats.  
While many children battle to get out of the seats, some are only too happy to be in them.  
For some, especially the 4- or 5-year-olds, booster seats were considered a step forward 
in growing up.  Most children just enjoy being able to see more from their higher position 
in the car.  
 
I like that they can see out the window better and so entertain themselves.  RF 
 
You see them in the rearview mirror better.  RF 
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They're real proud for buckling themselves in.  RF 
 
He was so excited to be able to sit up high.  PF 
 
At that age, they're real independent and like that they can put themselves in and buckle 
up.  RF 
 
My son loves to sit in the booster seat.  He just turned 4.  He gets in there by himself and 
tries to buckle in.  My daughter wants to sit in his booster seat.  She's just 3.  RM  
 
My daughter doesn't like to ride without the booster seat.  She loves being up high and 
seeing everything.  CF 

 
(4)  Parental authority.  Many parents/caregivers stated that they use their authority to make 

sure their children are in the booster seats. 
 

I'll threaten her that the police are going to take her away.  CF 
 

 We make a game of it.  The three girls will run to get in the car seats and see who can get 
buckled up the fastest.  CF 

 
 He hates the booster seat, but I insist on it.  If he doesn't get in it, I say 'One! Two! Three! 

And he knows what that means.  CF 
 
 I tell them if they don't get in their belts that Mom is going to jail.  CF 
 
 As far as them complaining, that's a moot point.  I'm the parent.  End of discussion.  CM 
 
 We'll just pull over.  SM 
  

My son was 3 and wouldn't stay in it.  He learned how to unbuckle himself.  I tried 
everything.  I warned him that the police would get him.  What finally worked is that I 
started the seat belt patrol.  If one of kids reports another kid for not being buckled, that 
kid (the informer) gets 25 cents.  I haven't had to dole out 25 cents for years.  RF 
 

3.4.2.4   Educational Messages to Increase Booster Seat Use 
 

Participants examined four concept statements, each focusing on an argument for 
convincing parents/caregivers to use booster seats properly and consistently.  These were the 
same concepts that were evaluated by law enforcement officers in the earlier focus groups, and 
are shown in Appendix D.  The four concepts focused on the: 
 
• RISKS associated with failure to restrain the child; 
• threat of ENFORCEMENT for failure to restrain; 
• EASE of installing and using booster seats; and 
• DUTY of a parent to properly protect a child from harm; 
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Participants read the statements and ranked them according to how effective they might be in 
encouraging booster seat use.    
 

The parent/caregiver groups took a somewhat different turn from the law enforcement 
groups.  Parents/caregivers settled on two message concepts that they perceived to have equal 
merit and great power when combined—RISK and DUTY.  While they considered law 
enforcement as one important way to motivate people to behave in a desired way, they did not 
feel that it was the only way or even the best way in the case of booster seats.  Participants felt 
that parents/caregivers like themselves failed to use booster seats primarily out of ignorance of 
three things: 
 

1. Ignorance of the proper way to install and use booster seats;   
2. Ignorance of the law; and  
3. Ignorance of the risk. 

 
Participants offered that public information and education is the best way to address 

ignorance and to persuade people at the most emotional level (i.e., the love of their children). 
Consequently, the RISK concept and the DUTY concept scored particularly well. Like the 
officers, parents/caregivers seemed to feel that an appeal should first be made to the innate desire 
of parents to keep their children safe.   
 

The RISK concept ushered in a very emotional segment of discussion with the groups.  
Many participants had not often stopped to think about the reality of the risk taken with their 
children every time they ventured out in a vehicle, even on a short trip.  Their failure to put their 
children in booster seats had many causes, though most translated back to a lack of appreciation 
for how dangerous it was not to do so. 
 
 I do drive different with my son in the car.  I am more aware of the risks.  RM 

 
I'm scared to death about drunk driving or someone molesting my child.  But nothing has 
ever pulled my heartstrings about car seats.  PF 

 
This heightened sense of risk, many said was more compelling than the fear of a traffic ticket.  
 

More than fines, the big thing to me would be learning about the risk.  PM 
 
The safety of your children is the highest factor, more so than getting a ticket.  RM 
 

Participants expressed a strong desire to see risk portrayed with visualized concepts, including 
crash dummies, victims’ relatives, and even actual crash pictures.   
 
 Fear motivates people.  It motivates me.  CM 
 

It has to be shocking, shocking enough that people will sit up and take  
notice.  SM 
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Listening to another parent talk about it is good.  You can easily put yourself in her 
place, imagine your own children.  SM 

 
ENFORCEMENT consistently drew high scores but, in discussion, always came in as 

second best to RISK and DUTY.  Parents/caregivers were often skeptical that these laws are 
enforced, although they felt they should be.  On they other hand, they were emotionally engaged, 
sometimes even surprised by, the degree of risk that was being exposed to them.  Further, they 
often took to heart the reminders of their responsibilities contained in the DUTY concept.  
 

Getting a ticket is a side issue.  A parent is going to be more concerned about the safety 
of their child.  RF 
 
Enforcement is what happens to me.  Risk is what happens to my child.  That's more 
important to me.  RM 
 
I bet the cops see a dozen kids a day without any belts.  But, they don't do anything 
because they don't want to take the time to pull you over and deal with that for 50 bucks.  
I'm sorry.  I don't think they do.  CF 

 
It was also clear from these participants that the threat of a fine and points (ENFORCEMENT) is 
also powerful, even more so when combined with the realities of RISK.  
 

I most of all don't want to get a ticket.  This was the point that spoke to me.  RF 
 
This is the kind of thing my husband would respond to.  This is the kind of thing that 
would make men say I really don't want that to happen to me. RF 
 
When I get in the car, I'm not thinking I'm going to be in an accident.  I'm thinking I'm 
going to get a ticket if I don't buckle up.  I just feel that the chances of getting a ticket are 
greater than those of being in an accident.  SF 
 
The only time people do anything is when it hits their pocket.  SM 
 
I grew up seeing public service announcements telling us to wear our seat belts.  But 
nobody did it until it became a law.  CM 

 
The EASY concept was inserted into the study based on literature findings that many 

people found child safety restraint to be a cumbersome task.  As it turned out, booster seats 
largely escaped that accusation.  Most participants found them pretty easy to use.  Consequently, 
this concept was regarded as largely pointless.  
 

I don't think easy or hard should be a determining factor for safety.  RF 
 
It's a feel-good message, but won't compel anyone to use the booster.  RF 
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The DUTY concept had very great appeal in the focus group sessions.  A few participants 
disliked the judgmental implications of the “it's your duty” statement.  
 
 I know all this stuff.  Why are you preaching at me?  RF 
 

A lot of people don't want to be told what their duty is.  But I think this would grab  
them.  RM 
 
It insulted me a bit.  But, then I thought they're right.  CF 

 
However, the majority felt challenged to step up to their responsibilities as parents. Many also 
were stimulated by the need to be less permissive when dealing with the safety of their children. 
 

I don't want to be a friend to my child.  I want to be a parent.  RM 
 
Click It or Ticket is a personal choice.  You're an adult.  With your kids, it's black and 
white.  You only have to have one accident.  And that could be it with your kid.  I'm not 
going to be lazy and rationalize why I'm not doing it this time.  CM 
 
You (the kid) can be mad at me.  You can tell me you don't love me anymore.  Doesn't 
matter.  It's my job to keep you safe and I'm going to do it.  CM 
 
It puts it back on our shoulders and that's where it belongs.  SF 
 
You want to get people to take responsibility for themselves instead of forcing them.  SM  

 
3.4.2.5   Strategies Recommended by Parents/Caregivers  
 

The following strategies for convincing the public to consistently use booster seats were 
volunteered by the focus group participants. Their recommendations largely focused on 
educational strategies to increase the public’s knowledge about how to use a booster seat and the 
specifics of the booster seat law. 
 
1. Education.  
 

• Use the public schools.  Teach children in the early grades and they will become 
disciples of booster seat safety. 

 
If there were campaigns in the schools and my kid came home with some of that 
knowledge, it would make it a lost easier to get them in the booster seats.  PM 

 
Guest speakers in the schools.  People who have actually experienced what can 
happen.  The younger kids, especially, can get pretty preachy once they get 
something in their heads.  SF 
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• Promote the public safety clinics.  
 

It's really nice when they have those car safety seat clinics.  I went to one in my 
town and found out that both of my seats were in wrong.  PM  

 
At the auto show, the police show up.  They simulate accidents to show what 
happens when the seat belts aren't in use; and, they talk about the importance of 
child restraint.  CL  

 
• Create materials to interest the children in the topic (e.g., things such as safety 

videos with popular characters, coloring books, etc.).  
 

Target kids with coloring books and that sort of thing.  SM 
 
2. Heighten the sense of risk (publicity and education delivery).  Show parents what may 

happen, and don't hesitate to be graphic.  
 

Show (through PI&E) the effects of kids getting hurt without the seat belts.  PM  
 
3. Publicity (teach the booster seat law). 
 

I think it's advertising.  When you asked us about the law, I knew what I heard on the 
national radio commercials.  I didn't know anything about the state law.  PM  

   
4. Solicit the involvement of child-oriented business.  Encourage child entertainment and fast 

food companies to run promotions or to underwrite materials directed to their child audiences.   
 

  
3.5 BRAINSTORMING SESSION 
 

 This task built upon the findings of the focus groups, the observational study, and the 
literature review, which provided the topics for discussion in the brainstorming session. The 
child passenger safety experience of the law enforcement and program coordinators participating 
in brainstorming session provided a reality check of the strategies recommended in the prior 
tasks, and helped to generate additional strategies.  In brief, several hurdles limiting booster seat 
law enforcement were identified.  These included: lack of commitment from law enforcement 
top management; lack of knowledge about child restraint laws and child passenger safety issues 
among law enforcement personnel as well as judges and prosecutors; weak child restraint laws 
(in terms of enforcement, fines, and penalties; and provisions for older booster seat age children); 
and empathy for violators.  The session concluded with proposed strategies that focused on: 
education for law enforcement; judiciary outreach; stronger child restraint laws; increased 
perception of enforcement; community education; and public messages aimed at increasing risk 
perception among drivers about the injury consequences for unrestrained and inappropriately 
restrained 4- to 8-year-old children. 
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3.5.1 Barriers to Booster Seat Law Enforcement 
  
Panelists revealed several barriers to the enforcement of booster seat laws.  These barriers 

are: lack of commitment by law enforcement top management personnel; lack of education in 
CPS issues among law enforcement and judicial personnel; weak child restraint laws; and 
empathy for violators. 

 
3.5.1.1  Lack of Commitment by Law Enforcement Agencies 
 

Panelists were in agreement that enforcement of child restraint law violations must be a 
priority that comes from the top down.  A common factor cited by the law enforcement panelists 
was that if the chief of police is unwilling to make enforcement of the booster seat law (and other 
occupant restraint laws) a priority, then these laws will not be enforced by department officers.  

 
3.5.1.2 Lack of CPS Education Among Law Enforcement Personnel 
 

The consensus among the law enforcement panelists was that most patrol officers, line 
officers, and chiefs are not well educated about child occupant restraint issues or their State’s 
child restraint laws.  There are several reasons for this, including a lack of commitment from the 
police departments to train officers on this issue; and lack of staffing, resources, and time for 
training.  Also, CPS issues are not covered in basic training for new recruits at the police academies. 

 
3.5.1.3 Lack of Judicial Outreach  
 

Panelists stated that in general, judges do not know the specifics of booster seat and other 
child restraint laws.  They often think citations for booster law violations are frivolous, and will 
reduce fines or dismiss the charge completely, particularly if minute details are excluded from 
the ticket.  Panelists commented that judges are elected officials and strive to maintain good will 
among the public by not persecuting parents/caregivers for what they think is a trivial violation. 
Many judges are lenient of the CPS issue and even admonish law enforcement officers for 
writing these “frivolous tickets.” This attitude by judges further serves to reduce officers’ 
motivation to write tickets for booster seat law violations.  
 

  
3.5.1.4  Weak Child Restraint Laws 
 

In some States, the booster seat law is a secondary enforcement law.  Thus, the driver 
must be cited for a primary violation, before a citation can be given for the booster seat violation.  
In addition, if the driver goes to court and the primary violation is dismissed, the booster seat 
violation is dismissed as well.  In many States, fines for booster seat violations are dismissed or 
reduced if the violator shows evidence at a court hearing that a booster seat was purchased or 
acquired. While this was generally acceptable to panelists as the intent of child restraint laws is 
to ensure that children are properly restrained, panelists reported anecdotal evidence of 
parents/caregivers returning the booster seat to the retailer after the court hearing.  These issues 
tend to reduce officers’ motivation to enforce booster seat laws. 
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3.5.1.5  Empathy for Parents/Caregivers 
 
 Several officers mentioned that empathy for certain types of drivers (e.g., low-income 
parents, over-burdened mothers) is often a barrier to writing tickets for violators.  Fines become 
barriers to officers in writing tickets. Officers indicated they would often rather educate than 
persecute parents/caregivers for violating booster laws.  Educating officers about the risks 
involved to a child who is inappropriately restrained may help reduce this practice.   
 
3.5.2  Strategies to Promote Booster Seat Law Enforcement  

 
  Panelists identified several strategies that would promote enforcement of booster seat 
laws.  Many of these strategies have a publicity and/or educational component, but enforcement 
is key in these strategies. 
 
3.5.2.1   Top Management Support 
 

Eliciting support from the top is not a new approach in promoting occupant restraint 
enforcement.  However, it was a dominant theme by panelists for increasing enforcement of 
child restraint and booster seat laws.  If the chief of police supports enforcement of booster seat 
laws, then the line officers and patrol staff will enforce them.  Panelists identified a need to 
develop programs that will reach the chiefs of police to support booster seat laws.  One panelist 
stated that his police chief tells the officers to “work smarter, not harder; spend the 5 minutes to 
write the ticket instead of 3 to 4 hours writing a report at the crash scene with dead bodies.”   
 
3.5.2.2   Educating Law Enforcement Personnel 

 
Panelists made the point that many law enforcement officers are unfamiliar with child 

restraint systems and the child restraint laws in their States.  If officers are educated about CPS 
issues, they will increase their involvement in educating the public and enforcing the child 
restraint laws.  The key recommendation from the brainstorming session was that law 
enforcement officers need to be educated about the appropriate child restraint system by age and 
weight of a child, as well as the details of the State’s child restraint laws.  This concept was so 
important to panelists that they strongly recommended that CPS education begin at basic training 
at the police academies.   

 
At the department level, it was suggested that a 3- to 4-hour course covering the basics 

may be more practical than the 32-hour CPS-certification course for most police departments, 
although the 32-hour course would be ideal.   

 
Some panelists suggested making CPS education part of the monthly education 

requirement by the police department.  Suggestions for in-house training included the use of 
videos, computerized training, e-mail reminders, and laminated cards with details of the child 
restraint laws for officers to take with them on the street.  Inquiries should be made with the 
mandatory police enforcement officer training commission (MPEOTC) about including training 
that focuses on child passenger safety.  Several panelists noted that tools have already been 
developed that can be used to teach the basics of proper use.  As an example, Partners for Child 
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Passenger Safety has six online videos that are 5 minutes each (in English and in Spanish), and 
address restraint use for infants, toddlers, booster-age children, and older children; lower anchors 
and tethers, and air bags.3  NHTSA has also developed a roll call video on booster seat use to 
reach patrol officers.4 

 
3.5.2.3  Judicial Outreach 
 

Panelists indicated that judges and others in the court system need to understand the 
importance of child restraint laws in protecting children, and the risks of allowing children to be 
restrained inappropriately.  They need to be educated about the appropriate restraint type by 
children’s ages and weights.  Complaints from law enforcement officers about judges not 
understanding child restraint systems or the child restraint laws; admonishing officers for writing 
“frivolous” tickets; and reducing fines for fear of constituent disapproval is a barrier to officers 
trying to enforce the law. 

 
Seminars, quarterly mandatory meetings, and other training sessions are recommended to 

educate judges to ensure better enforcement of the child restraint laws.  Panelists highlighted the 
importance of convincing the lead judge in each jurisdiction about the importance of child 
passenger safety, so it becomes a priority. It was suggested that a video like the one shown 
during the brainstorming session of a booster-age child becoming paralyzed following a crash  
in which he was restrained using the adult seat belt (with the shoulder belt behind his back) 
would be an effective introduction to the topic of appropriate restraint and why laws should  
be enforced.5 

 
3.5.2.4   Strengthen Booster Seat Laws 
 

A common complaint among police officers is the restrictions placed on occupant 
protection laws when they are secondary law violations.  Not only must there be a primary law 
violation cited to cite a driver for violating the secondary booster seat law, but the secondary 
violation is dismissed if the primary violation is dismissed in court. Thus, panelists agreed that 
promoting the enactment of primary booster seat laws would likely increase booster seat use.  As 
of July 1, 2007, child passenger safety laws are secondary or conditional in 5 States. 

 
Booster seat laws should also follow best practice recommendations.  In more than half 

of the States with booster seat laws, children under age 8 are considered by law to be 
appropriately restrained if they are using only the vehicle seat belts.  This legal but inappropriate 
restraint type puts these children at risk of injury.  Laws that reflect best practice 
recommendations will remove the confusion experienced by parents/caregivers when choosing 
an appropriate restraint for their children and law enforcement officers when they educate about 
and enforce the booster seat law. 

 

                                                           
3 Available at www.chop.edu/carseat 
4 “Booster Seats—The Missing Link,” available at www.boosterseat.gov. 
5 “Boost ‘Em in the Back Seat,” presented by Dr. Kelli Will of Eastern Virginia Medical School, developed on a 
grant from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 
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Finally, to increase booster seat use, penalties for violations must be stiffer.  Panelists 
stated that changing behavior is difficult, and that education alone will not increase compliance.  
Education coupled with large fines would be more effective.     

 
3.5.2.5   Publicity to Increase Perception of Booster Seat Law Enforcement 
 

More widespread visibility of law enforcement officers was recommended in publicity 
that encourages booster seat use.  Panelists stated that increasing the presence of law 
enforcement agents on billboards, pamphlets, and other material promoting booster seat use and 
describing the child restraint law is important.  They agreed that billboards and novellas were 
more effective when an officer was in the picture than when an officer was not.  Also, they stated 
that using local officers in ads makes a big impact with the public, by showing them that 
enforcement is happening in their community. Cable TV programs interviewing law enforcement 
officers on the topic of CPS is another way to reach the community. Using narration by law 
enforcement officers in radio and television public service announcements is important.  One 
officer suggested that using messages to convey the violence of a car crash without actually 
showing gore would be effective. His example was “We don’t want to body-bag a 4-year-old.  
We’d rather write a ticket,” and the visual component accompanying this message could be a 
yellow tarp placed over a small body. 

 
3.5.2.6 Lack of Specificity in Identifying Booster Seat Law Violations on Traffic Citations 

 
In many States, the section of the vehicle code that describes the booster seat law is a 

subsection of the vehicle code that describes the child restraint law.  In many cases, law 
enforcement officers do not write subsection numbers on citations. Therefore, unless the officer 
provides written comments on the ticket, it is impossible to distinguish between a child safety 
seat law violation and a booster seat law violation.  In other words, drivers are cited for violating 
the child restraint law, but the specific violation type (child safety seat or booster seat) will not 
be coded on the citation (or entered into department data management systems).  Similarly in 
NHTSA-sponsored seat belt enforcement program blitzes, child restraint law violations are not 
specified as child safety seat or booster seat law violations.  The practice of grouping child safety 
seat and booster seat law violations into a general category of child restraint law violations 
makes it difficult, if not impossible, to perform evaluations of the effectiveness of programs to 
increase booster seat use (such as increased enforcement of the booster seat law).   
 
3.5.2.7 Community Outreach by Law Enforcement Agents 
 

Community education programs using law enforcement officers to deliver the safety 
message is not a new concept, but it is important and needs to continue, according to the 
panelists.  Their presence in schools and at public events providing education about appropriate 
restraint use reinforces both the educational and enforcement components.  Panelists suggested 
that education checkpoints or mini-cades would be ideal places to educate the public on booster 
seat use. 
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3.5.2.8  Messages to Increase Risk Perception of Public 
 

Panelists recommended message concepts that need to be included in law-enforcement-
related publicity and educational programs.  Two important concepts to covey are:  awareness  
of the risks associated with improper restraint use and parental duty to do the right thing.  Parents 
must be made aware of the risks associated with not using booster seats.  Testimonials of 
children killed or severely injured, or simulated crash scenes showing injuries that could occur 
when children are not using booster seats were identified as possible message components.  
Panelists agreed that there is an “immunity fallacy” among parents/caregivers —a reduced 
perception of risk—that contributes to nonuse of appropriate restraints.  Panelists generally 
agreed with the concept that campaigns which are purely informational will not get parents/ 
caregivers’ attention, because parents/caregivers think these messages don’t apply to them.  They 
don’t realize the potential for harm when they allow their booster-seat-age children to ride using 
adult seat belts; they believe they have done their duty by restraining the child.  To get 
parents/caregivers’ attention, messages must have an emotional component that shocks them into 
doing the right thing.  Fear appeals to increase risk perception were supported by many panelists.  
Making parents feel guilty for not using booster seats was also a recommended message. 
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4.0   STRATEGIES TO IMPROVE THE EFFECTIVENESS OF BOOSTER SEAT LAWS  
 
 The following list of strategies, which can be categorized as education, enforcement and 
legislation, were developed in this project.  Although some strategies have been standard 
procedure, they continue to be viable. 

 
I. Educational Strategies  

 
The first group of strategies is to educate those parents and caregivers who do not use, or 

inconsistently use, booster seats.  This approach has the most face validity. The assumption is 
that once parents and caregivers know how, when, and why they should use booster seats, they 
will properly secure their booster-age children. Each year, more children reach booster seat age, 
so the need to educate parents and caregivers remains constant. Efforts to educate parents and 
caregivers need to be periodically refreshed to address changing sensibilities, changes in law, 
and updated research about child passenger safety. The following educational strategies are 
focused on parents/caregivers to increase the effectiveness of booster seat laws.  
 

A. Teach Parents and Caregivers the Best Practices for Properly Securing Booster-Seat-Age 
Children.  

 
Parents and caregivers should know the correct age, weight, and height when their child 

needs to ride in a booster seat. This includes knowing the specific details of their State’s booster 
seat law (including the fine for violating the law), and the differences between what the State 
child restraint laws require and what the best practices are for children in this age group.   

 
Many people can educate parents and caregivers about booster seat use.  This includes 

child safety advocates, car seat technicians, law enforcement officers, emergency service 
technicians and health care providers, as well as child safety seat and car manufacturers and 
retailers.  Look for opportunities with people who work with booster-seat-age children.  

 
Likewise, the settings for educating parents and caregivers also vary and can include 

health care facilities, schools, child care centers, car seat inspection stations, car dealerships, law 
enforcement agencies, fire departments, and other types of community settings.  Posters 
presenting best practices (e.g., NHTSA’s 4 Steps for Kids) can be prominently displayed in the 
child safety seat department in retail stores and in bulk mail retail flyers.  When the State law 
meets best practice, specifics of the law should also be posted in retail stores where child safety 
and booster seats are sold.  

 
Public messages—both paid media and earned media—can be very effective at 

increasing parents/caregivers’ knowledge of booster seat laws.  Messages may be disseminated 
through radio and television spots, as well as billboards, newspaper articles (unearned media) 
and handouts.  State licensing agencies can also promote information about their occupant 
restraint laws through license renewal letters to drivers; distribution of publications (e.g., driving 
manual); and displays on counters at licensing centers.   

 
 In communities that are linguistically and culturally isolated, child passenger safety 

educators should be culturally and linguistically sensitive to their audience. Health care 
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providers, child safety advocates, and community representatives should make a special effort to 
reach these audiences at health care settings, schools and community-oriented centers such as 
places of worship and ethnic markets. In addition, mobile car seat inspection stations should plan 
events in these communities.  

 
B. Teach Parents and Caregivers About the Risks of Inappropriate Restraint Use.   
 

Many parents have a low sense of risk or operate under an “immunity fallacy.”  That is, 
they believe that they will never be involved in a crash, and therefore have a general lack of 
concern about the potential for injury or death as a result of not restraining or improperly 
restraining their children.  Increasing risk perception needs to be a priority in program messages. 
The assumption is that knowledge about the negative consequences of improperly restraining a 
child will deter this behavior, and will prompt parents to want to adequately protect their children. 

  
Messages that appeal to the parents’ “sense of duty to protect their children,” and which 

uses social sanctioning to enforce the use of appropriate restraints (e.g., “it’s the right thing to 
do”) may motivate parents to properly restrain their booster-seat-age children.   

 
Other leverage points can be car insurance companies, which could apply surcharges to 

policies if crash-involved policy holders are cited for being unrestrained or for improperly 
restraining their children.   

 
C. Educate Low-Income Parents and Caregivers About Booster Seat Resources in Their 

Communities.  
 

Accessibility to booster seats is critical with low-income parents and caregivers.  Booster 
seat giveaways, low-cost seats, and store coupons should be available.  Child safety advocates 
and retail stores should collaborate to offer child restraint products in low-income communities.  
 
II.  Enforcement Strategies  
 

Potential enforcement strategies to improve effectiveness of booster seat laws encompass 
five key topic areas.  They are achieving top-management support; training, and educating more 
law enforcement personnel; conducting more judicial outreach; enforcing all occupant restraint 
laws; and publicizing enforcement activities. 
 

A. Motivate Top Law Enforcement Officials to Strictly Enforce Occupant Restraint Laws. 
 

 The first priority is to gain top management support for enforcing occupant restraint laws. 
The chiefs of police provide the direction, tone, and energy level necessary to support traffic law 
enforcement; and their willingness to engage in this enforcement activity is critical.  Agencies 
are aware of the grant money that is usually provided to conduct these programs; and 
enforcement details usually include officers working overtime and not on agency time.  If lack of 
grant money is not an issue, but lack of interest in enforcing child restraint laws prevails, then 
child safety advocates can make the point that increased traffic stops to enforce child restraint 
laws often lead to detection of other violations (drugs, guns, etc).  
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B. Train Law Enforcement Officers about Child Passenger Safety Issues 
 

Many law enforcement officers are hesitant to enforce child restraint laws and educate 
parents/caregivers about child restraints because they do not know which restraint type is 
appropriate for which age/weight child and how restraints should be used.  They also generally 
have only a vague understanding of the child restraint laws in their State.  The assumption 
underlying this strategy is that if officers were trained in CPS issues, then they would have the 
confidence and be more likely to enforce the child restraint laws. Therefore, it is recommended 
that a 3- to 4-hour course that presents the basics of child occupant protection be included in 
basic training at the police academies.  

 
Ideally, all law enforcement officers should take the 32-hour CPS certification course. 

However, this is not practical for basic training or for law enforcement departments.  However, 
police departments can train their officers in child passenger safety issues in other ways. For 
example, training may be provided through videos (e.g., NHTSA’s roll-call video for booster 
seats), computerized training, email reminders, and laminated cards with details of the child 
restraint laws on one side and appropriate restraints by age and weight on the other side for 
reference during traffic stops.  NHTSA is presently developing a curriculum to train law 
enforcement personnel with occupant protection issues relevant to their daily activities. The 
Traffic Occupant Protection Strategies (TOPS) curriculum is a one-day (4- to 8-hour) block of 
instruction that will provide road officers and line supervisors with the information they need to 
effectively assess and act on occupant protection issues at roadside. There is a component in the 
curriculum on child safety seats and booster seats. 

 
C. Train Judges About Child Passenger Safety Issues.  
 

Judicial outreach is also critical.  Law enforcement officers in the focus groups reported 
that many judges are unfamiliar with child restraint laws or think they are trivial.  Educating 
local magistrates and other members of the judiciary is recommended to enhance their 
understanding of child passenger safety issues, including the specifics of the booster seat law in 
their States.  This education could be provided during their annual training sessions.  In addition, 
38 States or Territories currently have Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutors (TSRPs) who provide 
guidance in traffic safety and the prosecution of traffic related issues, such as impaired driving.  
Similar to education and training for law enforcement agents, it is recommended that the TSRPs 
and other prosecutors be formally trained in CPS issues.   

 
D. Vigorously Enforce Child Passenger Safety Laws. 
  

 Highly visible enforcement of child restraint laws is critical to deter parents and 
caregivers from improperly restraining their children. This type of enforcement needs to 
continue.  In most cases, grant money must be offered for enforcement of occupant restraint 
laws, since most of the staff resources are provided on personnel overtime, not agency budget.  
States with secondary occupant restraint laws need to rely on the most effective methods to 
enforce these laws.  In many cases, roving patrols are the most effective means of identifying 
primary offense violators, providing the opportunity to cite drivers for observed secondary 
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occupant restraint violations. Publicity surrounding these enforcement activities is also 
important.  At a minimum, reporting weekly or monthly occupant restraint violations in the 
“Police News” section of the local newspaper may improve public perception that enforcement is 
occurring. 

 
Law enforcement officers should also enforce seat belt laws.  Higher percentages of 

children are restrained when the drivers transporting them are belted (Glassbrenner & Ye, 2007; 
Decina & Lococo, 2004).   

 
E. Collect Appropriate Enforcement Data to Refine Enforcement Efforts. 
   

 Every law enforcement agency has its own method of collecting and analyzing data 
related to crashes, fatalities, and enforcement.  However, there is a need for law enforcement 
agencies to identify the specific violation of a child restraint law when citations are written for 
these violations.  In many cases, officers record the section number of the child safety seat law, 
but not the subsection of the vehicle code that is needed to discriminate whether the infraction 
was a child safety seat or a booster seat violation.  Consistent record keeping and data 
management of child safety seat law and the booster seat law violations is critical to properly 
evaluate the effectiveness of booster seat laws. 

 
 It is also recommended that law enforcement officers be included in the publicity 
promoting booster seat laws and best practices for these children.  Their presence on billboards, 
pamphlets, cable television programs, radio programs, and public service announcements is 
critical to reinforce to the public that using appropriate child restraints is important for children’s 
safety, it is the law, and it will be enforced.  Because of the belief that many parents/caregivers 
operate under an “immunity fallacy,” it is recommended that law enforcement messages also 
convey the risks of allowing children to ride without being appropriately restrained.  A fear 
appeal presented by law enforcement officials may be the best way to get the attention of those 
who don’t realize they are doing anything dangerous by allowing their child passengers to be 
either unrestrained or inappropriately secured in a seat belt.  

 
III.  Legislation 
 
 A final recommendation is to continue to apply pressure on legislators to promote booster 
seat laws in States that do not currently have them; promote “stronger” booster seat laws; and 
promote primary enforcement of seat belt laws.  This study showed that passage of a booster seat 
law increases child safety seat and booster seat use. To  strengthen these laws, there is a need to 
increase the age, and height limits in the booster seat provisions of the child restraint law in 
many States (e.g., at least to 8 years old and 4’ 9” tall).  The study found that there are some 
misperceptions by parents/caregivers that the State law represents the best practice; therefore if 
they follow the law, their children are safely secured.  However, the booster seat laws do not 
represent best practice in all States.   
 
 A few States also have the booster seat provision as a secondary violation.  This makes it 
more difficult to enforce the booster seat laws, since the driver must first be pulled over for a 
primary violation.  In addition, if the primary violation is dismissed by the court, the booster seat 
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violation gets dismissed as well.  This is often very frustrating for law enforcement and 
discourages future enforcement of the booster seat laws.   
 
 Finally, there is a need to continue pressure on legislatures to push for primary seat belt 
laws.  Seat belt use rates are higher in States with primary seat belt laws (Glassbrenner & Ye, 
2006); and children are more likely to be restrained when drivers are buckled (Glassbrenner & 
Ye, 2007; Decina & Lococo, 2004). This legislative action alone could have significant positive 
outcomes for increasing booster seat use.  
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APPENDIX A:  Booster Seat Definitions and Types 
 

A booster seat is a platform or specially designed seat that elevates the child such that the vehicle 
seat belt properly fits the child. The seat belt restrains the child in a crash.  Booster seats are 
designed for children who have outgrown child restraint systems at 40 lbs. and are not large 
enough for a vehicle seat belt.  Children should use a belt positioning booster seat until they are 
at least 8 years old or 4’9” tall.  The three basic types—belt-positioning booster, combination 
child restraint, and shield booster—are described below, using definitions provided by Stewart, 
Lang, and Emery (2005):   

 
• The belt-positioning booster (BPB) raises the child so the 

vehicle lap and shoulder belts fit better.  The vehicle belts 
actually restrain the child.  A BPB may be a low, backless 
booster or may have a high back that provides head 
restraint and some support for the child while sleeping.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
• The combination child restraint is a forward-facing child restraint  

system that can be transformed into a belt-positioning booster by removing 
the harness.  

 
• The shield booster is a platform with a wrap-around shield.  It is for a child 

who weighs between 30 and 40 pounds.  This type of booster seat is not 
recommended for use.  Children of this weight should be in a forward-facing 
child restraint system with a harness.  

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Graphics:  A Guidebook for Observing Occupant Restraint System Use and Misuse.  (AAAFTS, 2005).  
www.aafoundation.org/pdf/restraintguidebook.pdf and Are You Using it Right?  (NHTSA, 2004; DOT HS 809 245) 
www.nhtsa.dot.gov/people/injury/childps/AreYouUsing/pages/FFSeatYES.htm 

 

Shield Booster Seat. 

High-Back Belt-Positioning 
Booster Seat. 

Backless Belt-Positioning 
Booster Seat.

Combination 
Child Restraint.
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APPENDIX B: 

 
Inventory of State Child Occupant Protection Laws and Seat Belt Laws 

(As of June 2007) 
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ALABAMA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Alabama CPS law covers children through age 15. Rear-facing child restraints are 

required for infants until at least one year of age or 20 pounds. Forward-facing restraints 
are required until the child is at least five years of age or 40 pounds. Booster seats are 
required until the child is six years of age. Use of a child restraint or seat belt is required 
for children through age 15. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 39 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes Yes Yes 

CPS Law Exemptions  Applies only to passenger cars, pickup trucks, vans with a seating capacity of 10 or less, 
minivans, and sports utility vehicles.  Does not apply to taxis and all motor vehicles with a 
seating capacity of 11 or more passengers. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and front-seat passengers must be restrained. Rear-seat passengers age 16 and 

older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Driver or occupant whose physical or medical condition prevents using a seat belt; 
Newspaper delivery people and rural letter carriers; People riding in pre-1965 vehicles;  
Passengers riding in vehicles that normally operate in reverse. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 



 

 63

ALASKA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Alaska CPS law covers children through age 15. Children less than age 4 must be in a 

child restraint. Children ages 4 through 15 must be restrained by either a child restraint, 
booster seat or seat belt, whichever is appropriate for the particular child. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 3 Na na No 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 4 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 Yes Yes No 

CPS Law Exemptions  School buses not equipped with seat belts, emergency vehicles, mail and newspaper 
carriers, people with physical or medical conditions which make use of a seat belt 
impractical, vehicles not equipped with seat belts. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  All drivers and passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 15 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions School buses not equipped with seat belts;  emergency vehicles;  mail and newspaper 
carriers;  people with physical or medical conditions which make use of a seat belt 
impractical;  vehicles not equipped with seat belts. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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ARIZONA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Arizona CPS law covers children through age 4. Children less than age 5 must be in a 

child restraint in the front or back seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 4 na na No 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 5 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles manufactured without seat belts;  recreational vehicles;  commercial motor 
vehicles;  transporting a child in an emergency to obtain medical care;  if transporting 
more than one child in a vehicle and as many child restraints as is possible are already 
installed. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  All front-seat passengers in vehicles designed to carry fewer than 10 passengers are 

required to use a lap and shoulder belt (if one is available) or just a lap belt. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles designed to carry 10 or more passengers;  vehicles manufactured prior to model 
year 1972;  vehicles not equipped with seat belts;  physician certified medical or 
psychological reasons not to wear a seat belt;  U.S. postal service letter carriers while 
performing duties. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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ARKANSAS 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Arkansas CPS law covers children through age 14. Children less than age 6 and less 

than 60 pounds must be in a child restraint. Children may be restrained by a seat belt at 
age 6 or 60 pounds, whichever comes first. Use of a child restraint or seat belt is required 
for children through age 14. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 59 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 or 60 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 100 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles for hire;  emergency vehicles;  emergency situations;  children who are 
physically unable to be restrained because of medical reasons. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and front-seat passengers must be restrained. Rear-seat passengers age 15 and 

older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles not required to have seat belts; physician certified physical disabilities; rural 
letter carriers. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: All people are prohibited from riding in the back of a pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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CALIFORNIA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The California CPS law covers children through age 15. Children must be properly 

secured in the back seat in a child restraint until they are at least 6 years old or 60 pounds. 
Children who are at least 6 years old or weigh at least 60 pounds may be restrained by a 
properly fitted seat belt. Use of a child restraint or seat belt is required for children 
through age 15. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 59 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 or 60 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 100 Yes Yes No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Court may exempt child from use of a child restraint requirement if it is determined that 
the use of a child restraint would be impractical by reason of physical unfitness, medical 
condition, or size; Children may be secured by a seat belt in case of a life-threatening 
emergency or when a child is being transported in an authorized emergency vehicle, if 
there is no child restraint available and the child is at least 1 year of age. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  All drivers and passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 20 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Taxicabs; certified physical or mental conditions; emergency vehicle passengers behind 
the front seat; newspaper and rural postal carriers; passengers over 16 using a "sleeper 
berth." Drivers of limousines for hire or an emergency vehicle must be restrained, but 
rear-seat occupants are exempt. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting any person in or on the back of a pickup or 

flatbed motor truck. People riding in or on the back of the truck also can be cited. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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COLORADO 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Colorado CPS law covers children through age 15. Children less than 1 year of age 

and less than 20 pounds must be in a rear-facing child restraint.  Children 1-3 years old 
who weigh 20-39 pounds must be in a forward-facing child restraint. Children 4-5 years 
old and less than 55 inches tall must be in a child restraint or booster seat.  Children 6-15 
years old or at least 55 inches tall must be in a child restraint or seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 40 54 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 or 55 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary for children less than age 4 and age 6-15.  Secondary for children 4-5 years old 
required to be in a booster. 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 No No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Children being transported in a medical emergency;  children are being transported in a 
motor vehicle built to commercial standards such as a school bus;  vehicles not privately 
owned. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and front-seat passengers must be restrained. Rear-seat passengers age 16 and 

older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 15 Yes Yes if less than 17 No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Members of ambulance teams involved in patient care;  Police officers performing duties;   
Physician certified physical or psychological disabling condition;  Vehicles not required to 
be equipped with seat belts;  Rural letter carriers;  Commercial vehicles; Residential 
delivery or pickup service vehicles. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: All people are prohibited from riding in the back of a pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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CONNECTICUT 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Connecticut CPS law covers children through age 15. Children less than age 1 or less 

than 20 pounds must be in a rear-facing child restraint. Children ages 1-6 or 20-59 pounds 
must be in a child restraint or booster seat. Use of a child restraint or seat belt is required 
for children through age 15. Children less than age 4 must be in the back seat unless the 
vehicle does not have a back seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 6 59 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 7 and 60 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 60 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Bus having a tonnage rating of one ton or more. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all front-seat passengers must be restrained. Rear-seat passengers age 16 and 

older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 15 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Newspaper and postal carriers;  emergency vehicles. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: People younger than age 16 are prohibited from riding in the back of a pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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DELAWARE 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Delaware CPS law covers children through age 15. Children less than age 15, in 

either the front or rear seat, must be restrained.  Children less than age 7 and less than 60 
pounds must be in a child restraint or booster seat. Children who are at least age 7 or at 
least 60 pounds must be restrained by either a child restraint, booster seat or seat belt. 
Children less than 12 years old and less than 66 inches tall must be in the rear seat if the 
vehicle has an active passenger side air bag not designed specifically for children and 
small adults. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 6 59 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 7 or 60 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Secondary for rear-seat requirements.  Primary for all other violations. 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 29 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Physical disabilities or medical reasons; vehicles not required to be equipped with belts; 
letter carriers. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  All drivers and passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Physician- or physical-therapist-certified condition prohibiting use;  vehicle not required 
to be equipped with seat belts;  U.S. Postal Service carriers while performing duties. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The District of Columbia CPS law covers children through age 15. Children less than age 

8 must be in a child restraint. Children ages 8-15 must be restrained by either a child 
restraint, booster seat or seat belt. Children must be in the rear seat if unrestrained due to 
not having a seat belt available. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 na na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 75 No Yes No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Parents or legal guardians may transport their own children without restraint if their other 
children under 16 are using all the available seat belts, but the unrestrained child may not 
be in the front seat of the vehicle. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  All drivers and passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 No Yes No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Physician-certified condition preventing use;  When all seat belts are in use by others, but 
the driver must insure that children 16 and under have preference to a seating position 
with seat belts over people over the age of 16. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: All people are prohibited from riding in the back of a pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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FLORIDA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Florida CPS law covers children through age 5. Children less than age 4 must be in a 

child restraint. Children ages 4 and 5 must be in a child restraint or seat belt. Children ages 
6-17 are covered by the Florida Seat Belt Law and must be restrained in either the front or 
rear seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 3 na na No 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 4 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 60 Yes Yes Yes 

CPS Law Exemptions  School buses (not including common carriers in the urban transportation of school 
children);  buses used to transport people for compensation;  farm tractors or other farm 
equipment;  trucks weighing more than 5,000 pounds;  motorcycles, mopeds, and 
bicycles. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  All front-seat occupants must buckle up, regardless of age.  Rear-seat occupants less than 

age 18 must also be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary: For passengers less than age 18;  Secondary: Driver and front-seat passengers 
age 18 and older. 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 30 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Physical or medical condition preventing seat belt use;  newspaper carriers;  solid waste or 
recyclable collection service employees in course of duties;  occupants of the living 
quarters of a recreational vehicle;  occupants in the front of a pickup truck when all 
available restraints are in use by others. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 18 in or on the back 

of a pickup or flatbed. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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GEORGIA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Georgia CPS law covers children through age 5. Children less than age 6 and less 

than 57 inches tall must be in a child restraint. Children 57" or taller may be in a seat belt.  
Children less than age 6 must be in the rear seat if a rear-seat position is available. 
Children ages 6-17 are covered by the Georgia Seat Belt Law and must be restrained in 
either the front or rear seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 na 57 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 or 57 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 No Yes No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Taxicabs;  public transit vehicles;  certain multifunctional-school-activities-buses are also 
exempt for 5-year-old children;  certain licensed childcare facility vans. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  All front-seat occupants must buckle up, regardless of age.  Rear-seat occupants less than 

age 18 must also be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 15 No Yes No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions If at age 18 or older: vehicles making frequent delivery stops; physical or medical 
condition preventing use of a seat belt;  rural letter carriers;  newspaper deliveries; 
vehicles operated in reverse; vehicles with a model year prior to 1965 or vehicles not 
required to have seat belts; emergency vehicles. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 18 in or on the back 

of a pickup or flatbed. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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HAWAII 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Hawaii CPS law covers children through age 7. Children less than age 4 must be in a 

child restraint. Children less than age 8 and less than 4'9" tall must be in a child restraint 
or booster seat. Children ages 8-17 are covered by the Hawaii Seat Belt Law and must be 
restrained in either the front or rear seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 na 57 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 or 58 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 100 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Emergency vehicles;  commercial vehicles;  mass transit vehicles; if the number of people 
in a vehicle exceeds the number of seat belts in the vehicle. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all front-seat passengers must be restrained by seat belts. Children ages 8-17 

must use seat belts in rear seating positions. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 45 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Emergency vehicles;  mass transit vehicles;  vehicles not required to be equipped with seat 
belts;  there are more people than seat belts and all seat belts are being used;  conditions 
which prevent restraint by the seat belt;  taxi drivers. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: All people are prohibited from riding in the back of a pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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IDAHO 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Idaho CPS law covers children through age 6. Children less than age 7, in either the 

front or rear seat, must be restrained in a child restraint. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 6 na na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 7 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 100 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  If all seat belts are in use;  If being held for nursing or attending to other immediate 
physiological needs. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Physician-certified condition;  motorcycles;  farm vehicles;  emergency vehicles;  if all 
available front seat belts are in use; mail carriers. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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ILLINOIS 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Illinois CPS law covers children through age 15. Children less than age 8 must be in a 

child restraint or booster seat. Children weighing more than 40 pounds may use a lap belt 
in the rear seat if the vehicle is not equipped with a lap and shoulder seat belt. Children 
ages 8-15 must be restrained by either a child restraint, booster seat, or seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 na na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 No No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Commercial motor vehicle; vehicles with gross vehicle weight ratings more than 9,000 
pounds. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and front-seat passengers must be restrained. All passengers of a driver less than 

age 18 must be restrained. Rear-seat passengers ages 16 and older are not required to be 
restrained if the driver is age 18 or older. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Delivery vehicles making frequent stops or delivering from the vehicle and the speed of 
the vehicle between stops does not exceed 15 mph;  physician statement that the person is 
unable to wear a seat belt;  official documentation from another state that the person is 
unable to wear a seat belt;  vehicle being operated in reverse;  vehicle with a model year 
prior to 1965;  motorcycles, motor driven cycles, or motorized pedalcycles;  vehicle which 
is not required to be equipped with seat belts; rural letter carriers. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 

 



 

 76

INDIANA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Indiana CPS law covers children through age 15. If the driver has an Indiana driver 

license: Children less than age 8 must be in a child restraint or booster. Children ages 8-15 
must be restrained by either a child restraint, booster seat or seat belt.   If the driver does 
not have an Indiana driver license: Children less than age 16 may be restrained by either a 
child restraint or a seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 na na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No Yes No 

CPS Law Exemptions  School bus; taxicab; ambulance; public passenger bus; vehicle with a capacity greater than 
9 individuals and is owned or leased and operated by a religious or nonprofit youth 
organization; antique motor vehicle;  motorcycle; law enforcement vehicle while 
performing duties; emergency situations. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and front-seat passengers must be restrained. Rear-seat passengers ages 16 and 

older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Medical conditions; commercial or Postal Service vehicle that makes frequent stops; rural 
carriers while on route;  newspaper motor route carrier or hauler making frequent stops; 
driver examiner while conducting a driving text. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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IOWA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Iowa CPS law covers children through age 10. Children less than age 1 and who 

weigh less than 20 pounds must be in a rear-facing child restraint. Children ages 1-5 must 
be in a child restraint.  Children ages 6-10 must be in a child restraint or seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 na na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Physician-certified medical, physical, or mental disabilities; school bus; motorcycles; 
vehicles manufactured before 1966;  emergency vehicles; peace officers on official duty; 
children in motor homes and not riding in the front passenger seat. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and front-seat passengers must be restrained.  Rear-seat passengers ages 11 and 

older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles manufactured before 1966; work vehicles requiring occupants to get in and out 
frequently, provided they don't exceed 25 mph between stops;  rural letter carriers making 
deliveries; buses; doctor certificate stating reason for non-use and expiration date;  
passengers (not drivers) in emergency vehicles during an emergency trip;  vans, trucks, 
buses and multipurpose vehicles manufactured before 1972;  people in the front seat of 
motor vehicles primarily used by handicapped people who utilize collapsible wheelchairs. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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KANSAS 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Kansas CPS law covers children through age 13. Children less than 4 years of age 

must be restrained in a child restraint. Children 4-7 who are less than 80 pounds and less 
than 57" tall must be restrained by a child restraint; children 8-13 years old must be 
restrained by a child restraint or seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 79 56 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 or 80 pounds or 57 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 20 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles designed for carrying more than 10 passengers; if the number of children ages 4 -
13 exceeds the number of seat belts and belts are in use by children. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and front-seat passengers must be restrained.  Rear-seat passengers ages 14 and 

older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 10 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles not required to be equipped with seat belts;  vehicles designed for carrying more 
than 10 passengers;  vehicles constructed on a truck chassis registered for more than 
12,000 pounds;  farm trucks registered for more than 16,000 pounds;  motorcycles and 
trailers;  occupants who possess a written statement from a licensed physician; mail 
carriers while engaged in delivery and collection of mail;  newspaper carriers engaged in 
newspaper delivery. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 14 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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KENTUCKY 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Kentucky CPS law does not specify the children’s ages. Children 40 inches tall or 

less must be restrained in a child restraint. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 na na 40 No 

Seat Belt Allowed  41 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles not required to have belts; farm trucks 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  All drivers and passengers over 40 inches tall must be restrained by a seat belt. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles not required to have belts; farm trucks; medical or physical conditions 
preventing use of a seat belt;  letter carriers while performing duties 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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LOUISIANA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Louisiana CPS law covers children through age 12. Children younger than 1 year of 

age or less than 20 pounds must be in rear-facing child restraints. Children ages 1-3 or 
who weigh 20-39 pounds must be in forward-facing child restraints. Children who are 4-5 
years old or who weigh 40-60 pounds must be in booster seats. Children ages 6-12 must 
be in a child restraint or seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 60 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 and 61 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Truck capacity of over 2000 pounds; ambulance or other emergency vehicle; school bus; 
church bus, private bus, or recreational vehicle which has a passenger capacity of over 10 
people; or commercial truck, van, or taxi; if vehicle is being used as an ambulance or 
other emergency vehicle; emergencies; unable to be restrained because of medical 
reasons. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and front-seat passengers must be restrained when the vehicle is in forward 

motion.  Rear-seat passengers ages 13 and older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Conditional No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Rural letter carriers; some farm vehicles; newspaper delivery people; some utility 
workers; physically or mentally disabling conditions preventing belt use. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 12 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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MAINE 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Maine CPS law covers children through age 17. Children less than 40 pounds and less 

than age 4 must be in a child restraint. Children at least 40-79  pounds and less than age 8 
must be in a child restraint or booster. Children less than age 12 and less than 100 pounds 
must be in the back seat whenever possible. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 79 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 or 80 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 62 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles not required to be equipped with seat belts; if all seating positions are occupied. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Yes 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 62 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles not required to be equipped with seat belts; if all seating positions are occupied; 
medical conditions. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 19 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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MARYLAND 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Maryland CPS law covers children through age 15. Children under the age of 6 or 

weighing less than 40 pounds must be in a child restraint. Children ages 6-15 are required 
to be in a child restraint or seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 40 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 and 40 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  If use of a child safety seat by a particular child would be impractical due to the child's 
weight, physical unfitness, or other medical reason; if the number of children subject to 
the provisions of this section exceeds the number of passenger securing locations suitable 
for securing a child either in a seat belt or in a child safety seat in accordance with this 
section, and all of those securing locations are in use by children. 
 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and front-seat passengers next to the door are required to wear seat belts. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No unk 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions People who cannot use a seat belt for physical or medical reasons;  U.S. Postal Service 
carriers or contractors delivering mail;  historic vehicles 20 years old or older. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 16 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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MASSACHUSETTS 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Massachusetts CPS law covers children through age 12. Children under 5 years of age 

and weighing less than 40 pounds must be in a child restraint.  Children ages 5-12 must be 
in a child restraint or seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 4 40 na No 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 5 or 40 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  (1) Riding as a passenger in a school bus; (2) riding as a passenger in a motor vehicle 
made before July 1, 1966, that is not equipped with seat belts; (3) physically unable to use 
either a conventional child passenger restraint or a child restraint specifically designed for 
children with special needs; provided, however, that such condition is duly certified in 
writing by a physician who shall state the nature of the disability as well as the reasons 
such restraints are inappropriate; provided, further, that no such certifying physician shall 
be subject to liability in a civil action for the issuance of or for the failure to issue such 
certificate. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions This provision shall not apply to: 
(a) any child less than 12 years of age who is subject to the provisions of section seven 
AA; 
(b) any person riding in a motor vehicle manufactured before July 1, 1966; 
(c) any person who is physically unable to use seat belts; provided, however, that such 
condition is duly certified by a physician who shall state the nature of the handicap, as 
well as the reasons such restraint is inappropriate; provided, further, that no such 
physician shall be subject to liability in any civil action for the issuance or for the failure 
to issue such certificate; 
(d) any rural carrier of the United States Postal Service operating a motor vehicle while in 
the performance of his duties; provided, however, that such rural mail carrier shall be 
subject to department regulations regarding the use of seat belts or occupant crash 
protection devices; 
(e) anyone involved in the operation of taxis, liveries, tractors, trucks with gross weight of 
eighteen thousand pounds or over, buses, and passengers of authorized emergency 
vehicles. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 12 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
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MASSACHUSETTS 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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MICHIGAN 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Michigan CPS law covers children through age 3. Children under the age of 4 must 

be in a child restraint system.  Children ages 4-15 are covered by the Michigan Seat Belt 
Law and must be restrained in either the front or rear seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 3 na na No 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 4 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 10 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Children being nursed; does not apply if the motor vehicle being driven is a bus, school 
bus, taxicab, moped, motorcycle, or other motor vehicle not required to be equipped with 
seat belts under federal law or regulations. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all front-seat occupants must wear seat belts. Safety belts must be worn by 

back seat passengers ages 4-15. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles not required to be equipped with seat belts;  individuals unable to use belts for 
physical or medical reasons (with written verification from a physician);  commercial or 
postal delivery vehicles;  when there are more passengers than available seat belts. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 18 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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MINNESOTA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Minnesota CPS law covers children through age 3. Children less than age 4 must be 

in a child restraint in the front or back seat. Children ages 4-10 are covered by the 
Minnesota Seat Belt Law and must be restrained in either the front or rear seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 3 na na No 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 4 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles not required to have belts; emergency vehicles;  police officers;  vehicles for 
hire;  children with medical conditions that prevent them from safely using a system. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by all front-seat occupants. Seat belts must be worn by back seat 

passengers ages 4-10. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions A person driving a passenger vehicle in reverse;  a person riding in a seat in which all the 
seating positions equipped with seat belts are occupied by other people;  a person who is 
in possession of a written certificate from a licensed physician verifying that because of 
medical unfitness or physical disability the person is unable to wear a seat belt;  a person 
who is actually engaged in work that requires the person to emerge from and re-enter a 
passenger vehicle at frequent intervals and who, while engaged in that work, does not 
drive or travel in that vehicle at a speed exceeding 25 miles per hour;  a rural mail carrier 
of the United States Postal Service while in the performance of duties;  a person driving or 
riding in a passenger vehicle manufactured before January 1, 1965;  a person driving or 
riding in a pickup truck while engaged in normal farming work or activity. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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MISSISSIPPI 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Mississippi CPS law covers children through age 7. Children less than age 8 must be 

restrained in the front or rear seat. Any child under the age of 4 must be in a child 
restraint. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 3 na na No 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 4 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles not required to be equipped with seat belts; farm vehicles; unable to wear a seat 
belt system for medical reasons; rural letter carriers; utility meter readers; buses. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles not required to be equipped with seat belts; farm vehicles; unable to wear a seat 
belt system for medical reasons; rural letter carriers; utility meter readers; buses. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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MISSOURI 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Missouri CPS law covers children through age 15. Children less than age 4 or less 

than 40 pounds must be in a child restraint. Children ages 4-7 who weigh at least 40 
pounds must be in a child restraint or booster seat unless they are 80 pounds or 4'9" tall. 
Children 8 and over or weighing at least 80 pounds or at least 4’9” tall are required to be 
in a booster seat. or seat belt  Use of a child restraint or seat belt is required for children 
through age 15. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 79 56 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  When transporting children in the immediate family when there are more children than 
there are seating positions in the enclosed area of a motor vehicle, the children who are 
not able to be restrained by a child safety restraint device appropriate for the child shall sit 
in the area behind the front seat of the motor vehicle unless the motor vehicle is designed 
only for a front-seat area. The driver transporting children under this scenario shall not be 
in violation of the child seat restriction law.  Does not apply to public carriers for hire or 
to students four years of age or older who are passengers on a school bus designed for 
carrying eleven passengers or more and which is manufactured or equipped pursuant to 
Missouri Minimum Standards for School Buses. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. Rear-seat passengers ages 

16 and older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 10 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Unknown 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 18 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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MONTANA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Montana CPS law covers children through age 5. Children less than age 6 and less 

than 60 pounds must be in a child restraint. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 59 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 or 60 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 100 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Children who because of a physical or medical condition or body size cannot be placed in 
a child safety restraint. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 20 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions An occupant of a motor vehicle who possesses a written statement from a licensed 
physician that the occupant is unable to wear a seatbelt for medical reasons; if all seatbelts 
are being used by other occupants; operator of a motorcycle or a motor-driven cycle; 
occupant of a vehicle licensed as special mobile equipment; an occupant who makes 
frequent stops with a motor vehicle during official job duties.  Is not applicable to a 
vehicle that is a motorbus, school bus, taxicab, moped, quadricycle, or motorcycle or is 
not required to be equipped with seat belts under 49 CFR 571 as it reads on January 1, 
1984; or has a seating capacity as designated by the manufacturer of two people and there 
are two people 4 years of age or older in the vehicle. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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NEBRASKA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Nebraska CPS law covers children through age 17. Children less than age 6 must be 

properly restrained in a child restraint. Children ages 6-17 must be in a child restraint or 
seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 na na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes Yes No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Exceptions include: taxis; mopeds and motorcycles; motor vehicles 1963 model or earlier, 
not equipped with an occupant protection system; signed, written statement from 
physician stating restraint system would be harmful; authorized emergency vehicles 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Driver and front-seat passengers must use an occupant protection system.  All people 

transported in a motor vehicle operated by a holder of a provisional operator's permit or a 
school permit must use an occupant protection system. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions A person who possesses written verification from a physician that the person is unable to 
wear an occupant protection system for medical reasons; a rural letter carrier of the United 
States Postal Service while performing his or her duties as a rural letter carrier between 
the first and last delivery points; and a member of an emergency medical service while 
involved in patient care. For purposes of this section, motor vehicle shall mean a vehicle 
required by section 60-6,266 to be equipped with an occupant protection system. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 18 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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NEVADA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Nevada CPS law covers children through age 5. Children less than age 6 and 60 

pounds or less must be in a child restraint. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 60 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 or 61 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 500 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles not required to have belts; taxicabs 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 unk unk unk 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles with an unladed weight of 6,000 pounds or more. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 18 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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NEW HAMPSHIRE 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The New Hampshire CPS law covers children through age 17. Children less than age 6 

and less than 55 inches tall must be restrained in a child restraint. Children ages 6-17 or 
who are 55 inches or taller are required to be in a seat belt or booster seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 na 54 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 or 55 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes Yes No 

CPS Law Exemptions  A person shall not be guilty of a violation of this section if the motor vehicle the person is 
driving is regularly used to transport passengers for hire, is a school bus weighing more 
than 10,000 pounds or is a school bus weighing less than 10,000 pounds that was 
manufactured without seat belts, or there is an individual education plan statement 
contraindicating the use of restraints, is a vehicle manufactured before 1968, is a 
motorcycle as defined in RSA 259:63, is an antique motor car or motorcycle as defined in 
RSA 259:4, or is being operated in a parade authorized by law or ordinance, provided that 
the parade vehicle is traveling at a speed of no more than 10 miles per hour. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  No requirements for drivers or occupants age 18 or older to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  na 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 0 na na na 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions na 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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NEW JERSEY 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The New Jersey CPS law covers children through age 17. Children less than age 8 and 

less than 80 pounds must use a child restraint or booster seat in a rear seat if a rear seat is 
available.  Children ages 8-17 or who weigh at least 80 pounds are required to be in a seat 
belt or booster seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 79 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 or 80 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 100 Yes Yes Yes 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles manufactured before July 1, 1966; physician certified physical or medical 
reasons; vehicle not required to be equipped with seat belts under federal law; rural letter 
carriers; passenger automobile originally constructed with fewer seat belt systems 
necessary to allow the passenger to be buckled. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. Rear-seat passengers ages 

18 and older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 Yes Yes Yes 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Drivers or occupants whose physical or medical condition prevents using a seat belt;  
Rural letter carriers while delivering mail;  Automobiles manufactured prior to July 1, 
1966, which do not have seat belts. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: All people are prohibited from riding in the back of a pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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NEW MEXICO 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The New Mexico CPS law covers children through age 17. Children less than 1 must be in 

a rear-facing child  restraint, in the rear seat of the vehicle when possible. Children ages 1-
4 or who weigh less than 40 pounds must be in a child restraint. Children ages 5-6 or who 
weigh less than 60 pounds must be in a child restraint or booster seat. Children ages 7-17 
must be in a child restraint or seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 59 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 and 60 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 5 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  If all seating positions equipped with seat belts are occupied. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 unk unk unk 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Individuals who have a written statement from a licensed physician; on-duty rural letter 
carriers. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 18 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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NEW YORK 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The New York CPS law covers children through age 15. Children less than age 7 must be 

in a child restraint. Children ages 7-15 must be in a seat belt or appropriate child restraint. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 6 na na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 7 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 21 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  No. Liveries, taxis, and public transportation buses are exempt from the occupant restraint 
law. However, children under the age of 4 must be restrained in a Federally approved car 
seat while riding on a school bus [Section 1229-c(11), NYS Vehicle & Traffic Law]. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. Rear-seat passengers ages 

16 and older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 20 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Drivers or occupants whose physical or medical condition prevents using a seat belt;  
Rural letter carriers while delivering mail;  Taxis;  Liveries;  Buses other than school 
buses. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: All people are prohibited from riding in the back of a pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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NORTH CAROLINA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The North Carolina CPS law covers children through age 15. Children younger than age 8 

and who weigh less than 80 pounds must be in a child restraint. Children who are at least 
age 8 or 80 pounds must be in a child restraint or seat belt. Use of a child restraint or seat 
belt is required for children through age 15. Children less than age 5 and less than 40 
pounds must be in the rear seat in vehicles with active passenger side air bags. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 79 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 or 80 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 Yes Yes No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Ambulances or other emergency vehicles; if all seating positions equipped with child  
restraints or seat belts are occupied; vehicles not required to be equipped with seat belts. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Primary for front seat; Secondary for rear seat 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 0 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions A driver or occupant whose physical or medical condition prevents using a seat belt;  
Rural letter carriers while delivering mail;  newspaper delivery people; occupants of a 
motor home (as defined in N.C.G.S. 20-4.01(27)d2) other than the driver and front-seat 
passengers. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Transportation of children less than age 12 in the open bed of a pickup truck or other 

open cargo area is prohibited 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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NORTH DAKOTA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The North Dakota CPS law covers children through age 17. Children younger than 7 and 

who are also less than 81 pounds or less than  58" must be in a child restraint.  Children 
ages 7-17 must be in a seat belt or child restraint. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 6 79 56 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 7 or 80 pounds and 57 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No Yes No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Ambulances and other emergency vehicles. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. Rear-seat passengers ages 

18 and older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 20 unk unk unk 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Drivers or occupants whose physical or medical condition prevents using a seat belt;  rural 
letter carriers while delivering mail;  drivers of farm husbandry or farm vehicles;  people 
who cannot use a seat belt because all of the available belts are already being used. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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OHIO 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Ohio CPS law covers children through age 14. Children less than age 4 or who weigh 

less than 40 pounds must be in a child restraint. Use of a child restraint or seat belt is 
required for children through age 14. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 3 39 na No 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 4 and 40 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary for children less than age 4. Secondary for ages 4-15 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Taxicabs; Public safety vehicles. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. Rear-seat occupants less 

than age 15 must also be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 30 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Postal and newspaper delivery people; people with an affidavit from a physician attesting 
that they cannot wear the belt for medical reasons. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 16 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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OKLAHOMA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Oklahoma CPS law covers children through age 12. Children less than age 6 must be 

in a child restraint. Children ages 6-12 must be in a child restraint or seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 na na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  School bus, taxicab, moped, motorcycle, or other motor vehicle not required to be 
equipped with seat belts pursuant to State or Federal laws; ambulance or emergency 
vehicle; vehicle in which all of the seat belts are in use; children who for medical reasons 
are unable to be placed in child restraints 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 20 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Individuals with a written statement from a physician;  postal workers; farm vehicles, 
vehicles not required to be equipped with seat belts 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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OREGON 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Oregon CPS law covers children through age 15. Children must ride rear-facing until 

they are both age 1 and 20 pounds. Children at least age 1 and who weigh 21-40 pounds 
must be in a forward-facing child restraint. Children over 40 pounds must be in a booster 
seat until age 8 or 4'9" tall. Use of a child restraint or seat belt is required for children 
through age 15. (Effective 07/01/07) 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 na 56 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 or 57 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 77 Yes Yes No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Privately owned commercial vehicles; taxicabs; vehicles not required to be equipped with 
seat belts or safety harnesses at the time the vehicle was manufactured; if all seating 
positions in the vehicle are occupied by other people; law enforcement vehicles; 
newspaper and mail carriers; ambulances; utility meter readers; mass transit operators; 
solid waste or recyclable materials collectors; physical conditions or medical problems 
that prevent the use of restraints. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 77 Yes Yes No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Privately owned commercial vehicles; taxicabs; vehicles not required to be equipped with 
seat belts or safety harnesses at the time the vehicle was manufactured; if all seating 
positions in the vehicle are occupied by other people; law enforcement vehicles; 
newspaper and mail carriers; ambulances; utility meter readers; mass transit operators; 
solid waste or recyclable materials collectors; physical conditions or medical problems 
that prevent the use of restraints. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 18 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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PENNSYLVANIA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Pennsylvania CPS law covers children through age 17. Children less than age 4 must 

be in a child restraint. Children ages 4-7 and less than 80 pounds and less than 4'9" must 
be in a booster seat. Children ages 8-17 are covered by the PA Seat Belt Law and must be 
restrained in either the front or rear seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 na na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 

Enforcement Type  Primary for children less than age 3.  Secondary for children 4-17 years old. 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 100 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Medical 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. Children ages 4-17 must 

use seat belts in rear seating positions. Rear-seat passengers ages 18 and older are not 
required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 10 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles manufactured prior to July 1, 1966;  occupants with certification from a 
physician;  rural letter carriers;  delivery drivers traveling less than 15 miles per hour. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 18 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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RHODE ISLAND 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Rhode Island CPS law covers children through age 17. Children less than age 18 must 

be restrained in both the front and rear seats. Children less than age 7, less than 54 inches 
tall, and who weigh less than 80 pounds must be in a child restraint. Children who are at 
least age 7 or at least 54 inches tall or at least 80 pounds must be in a child restraint or seat 
belt. Use of a child restraint or seat belt is required though age 17.  Children younger than 
7 must be restrained in the rear seat when possible. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 6 79 53 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 7 or 80 pounds or 54 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 75 No No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  This subsection applies only to those motor vehicles required by Federal law to have seat 
belts. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 75 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions The provisions of subsections (b), (f) and (g) of this section shall not apply to a driver or 
passenger of: (1) A passenger motor vehicle manufactured before July 1, 1966; (2) a 
passenger motor vehicle in which the driver or passenger possesses a written verification 
from a licensed physician that the driver or passenger is unable to wear a seat seat belt 
system for physical or medical reasons. The verification time period shall not exceed 12 
months at which time a new verification may be issued; (3) a passenger motor vehicle 
which is not required to be equipped with a safety seat belt system under federal laws; or 
(4) a passenger motor vehicle operated by a letter carrier of the United States Postal 
Service while performing the duties of a letter carrier. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 16 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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SOUTH CAROLINA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The South Carolina CPS law covers children through age 5. Children less than age 1 or 

who weigh less than 20 pounds  must be in a rear-facing child restraint.  Children ages 1-5 
weighing 20- 39 pounds must be in a forward-facing child restraint . Children ages 1-5 
weighing 40-80 pounds must be in a belt-positioning booster seat. Children less than 6 are 
not required to be in booster seats if they weigh more than 80 pounds or if they can sit 
with their backs against the car's seat and bend their legs over the seat edge without 
slouching. Children under 6 may not sit in the front seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 5 80 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 6 or 80 pounds or if belt fits 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 150 No No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Taxis; emergency vehicles when operating in an emergency situation; church, day care 
and school bus drivers; public transportation operators; commercial vehicles. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions People whose medical or physical conditions prevent using a seat belt;  Medical or rescue 
personnel attending to patients;  people riding in school, day care, or church buses;  people 
riding in public transportation vehicles except taxis;  people riding in vehicles on parade;  
United States mail carriers;  drivers who make frequent stops for pick up of delivery;  
people occupying the rear seat unless the vehicle is equipped with a shoulder harness as 
well as a lap harness; or people in vehicles where all available seat belts are being used. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 15 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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SOUTH DAKOTA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The South Dakota CPS law covers children through age 17. Children less than age 5 and 

less than 40 pounds must be in a child restraint.  Children ages 5-17 must be in a seat belt 
or child restraint. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 4 39 na No 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 5 or 40 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 20 No No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Passenger car manufactured before 1966 that has not been equipped with seat belts; if all 
the child passenger restraint systems or seat belts are occupied. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. Rear-seat passengers ages 

18 and older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 20 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Drivers or occupants whose physical or medical condition prevents using a seat belt;  rural 
letter carriers while delivering mail;  people delivering newspapers or periodical assigned 
on home delivery route;  people riding in vehicles not required to be equipped with seat 
belts under federal law;  people riding in a passenger vehicle manufactured before 
September 1, 1973. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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TENNESSEE 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Tennessee CPS law covers children through age 15. Children under age 1 or weighing 

less than 21 pounds must be in a rear-facing child restraint in the rear seat, if available.  
Children ages 1-3 and weighing at least 21 pounds must be in a forward-facing child 
restraint in the rear seat, if available.  Children ages 4-8 and less than 4'9" in height must 
be in a booster seat in the rear seat, if available.  Children ages 9-12 or at least 4'9" in 
height are required to be in a seat belt with the rear seat being recommended.  Children 
ages 13-15 are required to be in a seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 8 na 57 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 9 or 57 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 No No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  A person shall not be charged with a violation of this subsection (a) if such person 
presents a copy of the physician's prescription in compliance with the provisions of this 
subdivision (a)(4) to the arresting officer at the time of the alleged violation. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. Rear-seat passengers ages 

16 and older are not required to be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions People who cannot wear a seat belt because of a physical disability;  rural letter carriers of 
the U.S. Postal service while performing official duties;  automobile dealership 
salespeople who test-drive 50 or more vehicles a day and where the test drives are within 
1 mile of the dealership;  utility workers while performing official duties;  water, gas, and 
electric meter readers in the course of their employment;  people who are in the process of 
delivering newspapers. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 12 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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TEXAS 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Texas CPS law covers children through age 4. Children less than age 5 and less than 

36 inches tall must be in a child restraint in both the front and rear seats. Children ages 6-
16 are covered by the Texas Seat Belt Law and must be restrained in either the front or 
rear seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 4 na 35 No 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 5 or 36 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 200 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Emergency situations;  Vehicle for hire;  If all seating positions equipped with child 
restraints or seat belts are occupied. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. Rear-seat occupants less 

than age 17 must also be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Individuals who obtain a statement from a licensed physician that there is a medical 
reason that they not wear a seat belt; on-duty employees of the United States Postal 
Service;  individuals delivering newspapers. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 18 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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UTAH 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Utah CPS law covers children through age 16. Children less than age 5 must be in a 

child restraint.  Children ages 5-15 must be in a seat belt or a child restraint. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 4 na na No 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 5 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 45 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles that were not equipped with seat belts at the time of purchase (pre-July 1, 1966 
vehicles); drivers or passengers that possess a written verification from a licensed 
physician that the driver or passenger is unable to wear a seat belt for physical or medical 
reasons; the law only applies to seating positions required to be equipped with seat belts; 
the law does not apply to a passenger if all seating positions are occupied by other 
passengers. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 45 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles that were not equipped with seat belts at the time of purchase (pre-July 1, 1966 
vehicles); drivers or passengers that possess a written verification from a licensed 
physician that the driver or passenger is unable to wear a seat belt for physical or medical 
reasons; the law only applies to seating positions required to be equipped with seat belts; 
the law does not apply to a passenger if all seating positions are occupied by other 
passengers. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: All people are prohibited from riding in the back of a pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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VERMONT 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Vermont CPS law covers children through age 15. Children less than age 1 or less 

than 20 pounds must be in a rear-facing child restraint not installed in front of an active air 
bag.  Children ages 1-7 and weighing more than 20 pounds must be in a child restraint. 
Children ages 8-15 must be in a child restraint or seat belt. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 na na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicle regularly used to transport passengers for hire except if owned or operated by a 
child care facility; vehicles manufactured without seat belts; or if ordered to evacuate 
people from a stricken area. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 unk unk unk 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Rural mail carriers; certain delivery vehicles; farm tractors; emergency vehicles; 
bus or taxi; of ordered to evacuate people from a stricken area. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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VIRGINIA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Virginia CPS law covers children through age 15. Children less than age 8 must be in 

a child restraint. Children ages 8-15 must be in a child restraint or seat belt. (Effective July 
1, 2007.) 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 na na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 50 Yes Yes No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Taxicabs; school buses; executive sedans or limousines; if a licensed physician determines 
that the use of a child restraint system would be impractical by reason of the child's 
weight, physical unfitness, or other medical reason. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and front-seat passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Any person for whom a licensed physician determines that the use of a seat belt system 
would be impractical due to medical reasons;  any law-enforcement officer transporting 
people in custody or traveling in circumstances which render the wearing of a seat belt 
system impractical;  rural mail carriers for the United States Postal Service;  taxi drivers;  
utility meter readers; or personnel of commercial or municipal vehicles engaged in the 
collection or delivery of goods or services. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: Drivers are prohibited from transporting children less than age 16 in the back of a 

pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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WASHINGTON 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Washington CPS law covers children through age 15. Children less than age 8 and 

less than 4'9" tall must be in a child restraint. Children ages 8-15 or at least 4'9" tall must 
be in a child restraint or seat belt. Children under age 13 must be in the back seat where it 
is practical to do so. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 na 56 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 or 57 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 86 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles not required to be equipped with seat belts; for hire vehicles; vehicles designed 
to transport sixteen or less passengers, including the driver, operated by auto 
transportation companies; vehicles providing customer shuttle service between parking, 
convention, and hotel facilities, and airport terminals; school buses. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 37 Yes No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Operators or passengers who possess written verification from a licensed physician that 
they are unable to wear a seat belt for physical or medical reasons;  vehicle occupants for 
whom no seat belt is available when all designated seating positions are occupied.  The 
state patrol may adopt rules exempting operators or occupants of farm vehicles, 
construction equipment, and vehicles required to make frequent stops. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 

 



 

 111

WEST VIRGINIA 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The West Virginia CPS law covers children through age 7. Children less than age 8 and 

less than 4'9" tall must be in a child restraint. Children ages 8-17 are covered by the West 
Virginia Seat Belt Law and must be restrained in either the front or rear seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 na 56 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 or 57 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 20 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  If all the seat belts are being used; vehicles operated for hire 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by driver and all front-seat occupants. Rear-seat occupants less 

than age 18 must also be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? No 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Vehicles designed to transport more than 10 people, including the driver;  motorcycle, 
trailer or any motor vehicle that is not required under Federal law to have seat belts;  rural 
mail carriers; physically disabled people. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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WISCONSIN 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Wisconsin CPS law covers children through age 7. Children less than age 1 or less 

than 20 pounds must be in a rear-facing child restraint in the back seat. Children ages 1-3 
or less than 40 pounds must be in a forward-facing child restraint in the back seat.  
Children ages 4-7 and who weigh 40-79 pounds and who are less than 57 inches must be 
in a booster seat. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 7 79 56 Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 8 or 80 pounds or 57 inches 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 75 Yes No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Any child who because of a physical or medical condition or body size cannot be placed 
in a child seat restraint system, child booster seat, or seat belt; if the motor vehicle is a 
motor bus, school bus, taxicab, moped, motorcycle or is not required to be equipped with 
seat belts under sub. (1) or 49 CFR 571. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Seat belts must be worn by all drivers and front-seat occupants. All rear-seat occupants 

must wear a seat belt if a shoulder harness has been installed. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 10 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Emergency vehicles; vehicles on routes requiring more than 10 stops per mile; people 
who, because of a physical or medical condition, cannot be properly restrained in a seat 
belt; taxicabs; vehicles not required to be equipped with seat belts under 49 CFR 571; 
rural letter carriers and newspaper carriers; vehicles operated by a land surveying crew 
while conducting a land survey along or upon the highway; farm trucks or dual purpose 
farm trucks not being operated upon the highway 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? Yes: All people are prohibited from riding in the back of a pickup truck. 
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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WYOMING 
Child Passenger Safety Law 
CPS Law Summary  The Wyoming CPS law covers children through age 8. Children less than age 9 and less 

than 81 pounds must be in a child restraint. Children must be in the rear seat in vehicles 
with more than one row of seats. 

Child Restraint Required1 Maximum Age Maximum Weight Maximum Height "Booster" Provision?2 

 8 80 na Yes 

Seat Belt Allowed  Age 9 or 81 pounds 

Enforcement Type  Primary 

CPS Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 60 No No No 

CPS Law Exemptions  Vehicles not required to have seat belts; emergency and law enforcement vehicles; school 
buses; buses; if attending to the needs of the child; if parent or guardian and a licensed 
physician has determined that the weight or physical or medical condition of the child 
requires that the child not be secured in the restraint. 

Seat Belt Law 
Seat Belt Law Summary  Drivers and all passengers must be restrained. 

All in Rear Seat Covered? Yes 

Enforcement Type  Secondary 

Seat Belt Law Penalties  Max. Fine 1st  Court Costs? License Points? Insurance Points? 

 25 No No No 

Seat Belt Law Exemptions Any person who has a written statement from a physician;  any passenger vehicle not 
required to be equipped with seat belts;  carriers of the U.S. Postal Service performing 
duties as a postal carrier;  any person properly secured in a child seat restraint system;  any 
person occupying a seat in a vehicle in which the driver or passengers are using all 
operable safety restraints; vehicles designed to carry more than 11 people; emergency 
vehicles; motorcycles; any person occupying a seat in a vehicle in which all operable 
safety restraints are being used by the driver or passengers. 

Rear of Pickup Law 
Rear of Pickup Provisions? No  
1Either in a child restraint with harness or booster seat. 
2"Booster" Provision  = "Yes" If child restraint/booster is required for children older than age 4 (5+) or heavier than 40 pounds.  
“Booster" Provision  = "No" if child is allowed to be in a seat belt if heavier than 40 pounds or if older than 4 years. 
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APPENDIX C:   
 

BOOSTER SEAT REQUIREMENTS  IN EFFECT BY STATE, BY UPPER AGE LIMIT,  
BETWEEN 2002 AND 2007 

Up to Age 8Up to Age 8

Up to Age 6Up to Age 6

State Booster Seat Requirements 
By Upper Age Limit, as of July 1, 2002

State Booster Seat Requirements 
By Upper Age Limit, as of July 1, 2002

HI

AK

DC

Up to Age 9Up to Age 9

Up to Age 7Up to Age 7

No RequirementNo Requirement

Source: Safe Kids Worldwide (2007) 

Up to Age 8Up to Age 8

Up to Age 6Up to Age 6

State Booster Seat Requirements 
By Upper Age Limit, as of August 1, 2005

State Booster Seat Requirements 
By Upper Age Limit, as of August 1, 2005

HI

AK

DC

Up to Age 9Up to Age 9

Up to Age 7Up to Age 7

No RequirementNo Requirement

Source: NHTSA (2005); Safe Kids Worldwide (2007) 
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 Up to Age 8Up to Age 8

Up to Age 6Up to Age 6

State Booster Seat Requirements 
By Upper Age Limit, as of July 1, 2007

State Booster Seat Requirements 
By Upper Age Limit, as of July 1, 2007

HI

AK

DC

Up to Age 9Up to Age 9

Up to Age 7Up to Age 7

No RequirementNo Requirement

Source: NHTSA (2007) 
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APPENDIX D: 
 

MESSAGE CONCEPTS FOR CONVINCING PARENTS/CAREGIVERS TO USE BOOSTER 
SEATS CONSISTENTLY AND PROPERLY 

 
Concept A: Risk 

 
Failure to secure children (age 4 to 8) properly in a booster seat results in far too many injuries and 
fatalities every year.  These young children have outgrown their infant seats but do not yet fit safely and 
comfortably held by an adult's seat belt.   
 
The risk to this child, when not protected by a booster seat is very high indeed, regardless of where in 
the car he/she may be riding.  Because of the child's light weight, he may easily be thrown by sudden 
stops and turns, even at very low speeds and on short-distance trips. 
 
A child secured by a booster seat is not only better protected but also more comfortable and able to 
enjoy the view.  He is also less likely to engage in behaviors that are dangerous to him and distracting  
to adults.  
 
Perhaps this failure to use booster seats is due to lack of awareness of the risks involved, to the 
perceived inconvenience of moving the seats from one vehicle to another or even to the opposition of 
the child to remaining in them.  Responsible adults will see that the risks are just too great and will make 
up their minds to use booster seats every time, all the time for age-appropriate children.  
 
 

Concept B: Enforcement 
 
All over the country today, states and municipalities are stepping up efforts to enforce the laws requiring 
adults to secure their child passengers (ages 4 to 8) in booster seats.   
 
Whether these laws are violated out of ignorance or indifference, the fact remains that children are being 
needlessly, sometimes fatally, injured every year.  These terrible incidents might well have been avoided 
by proper use of booster seats.  
 
Many state laws now mandate the issuance of tickets, fines and points against operators' licenses for 
failure to use booster seats as and when appropriate.  And, police forces are renewing their efforts to see 
that these safety laws are obeyed. 
 
Booster seats help prevent injuries and fatalities and make the trip more comfortable for children and 
adults alike.  If these are not reasons enough, there is another reason to use boosters every time, all the 
time… it's against the law not to.  
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Concept C: It’s Easy 

 
In any vehicular crash, even "minor" ones, children are especially susceptible to injury.  Booster seats 
help protect children from injury and death in crashes by ensuring that the adult seat belt fits properly.   
 
Today, there is no reason not to provide your young passengers with proper protection.  There are now 
three types of booster seats available for purchase.  Consumers can select the type that is appropriate for 
their seat belt system and for the age and size of their child.   
 
Any of these three booster seats is equally easy to install; though it is necessary to learn to do so 
properly.  Installation requires no tools and the seats can be readily moved from one vehicle to another 
in no more than a minute or two.  Many of today's models are lightweight and easily carried. Perhaps 
best of all, placing and securing the child in the booster is likewise easy to do.  
 
Booster seats can be purchased from many types of retailers.  Like many products, booster seats come in 
various materials and colors and offer a range of features.  Prices vary accordingly but, on average, 
boosters can be purchased for about $50.   
 
Booster seats are easy to find, easy to install, easy on the child and easy on you.  
 
 
 

Concept D: It's Your Duty 
 
 
Young children ages 4 to 8 are among the most vulnerable passengers in a vehicle due to their small size 
and weight.  It is a well-documented fact that booster seats are the best way to save these kids from 
injury and death in the event of a crash or even sudden turning or stopping. 
 
Still, far too many adults are failing to protect their child passengers with booster seats, and for some 
very weak reasons.  Some say that booster seats are too difficult to install and to move from one vehicle 
to another.  That is simply not true.  Today's seats are quick to install and easy to carry. 
 
Maybe the weakest excuse for not using booster seats is that the child "won't" get in them or stay in 
them.  First of all, booster seats today are designed to be comfortable.  Second, the child should not have 
the final say on this matter.  If your child demanded to be allowed to play in busy traffic, you would 
certainly forbid it.  The use of booster seats should also be non-negotiable.  
 
Being a Mom, a Dad or a Grandparent takes wisdom and willpower. It is your duty to do the right thing 
for your child.  Keeping them from harm is the right thing, even when they are too immature to see it 
that way. Take charge.  Show them the right way. 
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APPENDIX E: 
CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY LAW: A GUIDE FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT 
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