Skip to main content
Crash Data Systems

State Data Programs

Crash Outcome Data Evaluation System (CODES) Learn more

Since the early 1980s, NHTSA has been obtaining, from various States, computer data files coded from police accident reports. NHTSA refers to the collection of these computerized State crash data files as the State Data System (SDS). SDS is maintained by NHTSA’s National Center for Statistics and Analysis (NCSA). The 34 States currently participating in SDS are: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. NCSA’s goal is to include all States in the program, providing a complete census of national traffic statistics.