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Background
NHTSA	encourages	States	to	
provide	for	enhanced	sanctions	
for	drivers	who	refuse	to	submit	
to	a	blood	alcohol	concentration	
(BAC)	test	after	probable	cause	for
impaired	driving	is	established.	To	
discourage	test	refusal,	sanctions	
for	refusal	should	be	stricter	than	
those	imposed	on	offenders	who	
submit	to	and	fail	a	test.

The	BAC	of	a	driving-while-
impaired	(DWI)	offender	is	one	
of	the	most	valuable	pieces	of	
evidence	in	an	impaired	driving	
case.	Enhanced	sanctions	for	
refusal	remove	a	motivation	for	
offenders	to	refuse.

 

Key Facts
n	 There	are	nearly	1.4	million	DWI	

arrests	in	the	United	States	each	
year.	

n	 Inpatient	rehabilitation	costs	for	
motor	vehicle	injuries	average	
$11,265	per	patient	and	$13,200	
per	patient	for	motorcycle	
injuries.

n	 All	States	have	some	form	of	
implied	consent	statute.	These	
laws	are	based	on	the	principle	
that	when	people	drive,	they	
have	implicitly	consented	to	
submit	to	a	lawfully	requested	
test	to	determine	the	alcohol	
content	of	their	blood,	breath,	
urine,	or	other	bodily	substance	
if	suspected	of	impaired	driving.	

n	 State	laws	vary	widely	with	
regard	to	administrative	and	
criminal	penalties	for	refusing	
to	submit	to	a	chemical	test.	All	
States	but	one	(Nevada)	have	
administrative	sanctions	for	
refusal.	

n	 To	date,	15	States	(Alaska,	
California,	Florida,	Kansas,	
Maryland,	Minnesota,	
Mississippi,	New	Hampshire,	
New	Jersey,	New	York,	Ohio,	
Oklahoma,	Oregon,	Rhode	
Island,	and	Vermont)	have	
criminal	sanctions	for	refusal	
to	submit	to	a	BAC	test	for	
those	21	and	older.	Four	States	
(Idaho,	Iowa,	North	Dakota,	and	
Virginia)	have	civil	penalties	
only,	and	3	States	(Arkansas,	
Arizona,	and	Michigan)	have	
penalties	only	for	people	
under	21.	In	addition,	41	States	
and	the	District	of	Columbia	
have	adopted	some	form	of	
administrative	license	revocation	
for	BAC	test	refusals.

n	 Refusal	is	a	separate	crime	
in	16	States	(Alaska,	Arizona,	
Arkansas,	California,	Idaho,	
Iowa,	Kansas,	Michigan,	New	
Hampshire,	New	Jersey,	New	
York,	North	Dakota,	Oregon,	
Rhode	Island,	Vermont,	and	
Virginia).	

n	 A	refusal	is	admissible	in	
criminal	cases	in	all	50	States	
and	the	District	of	Columbia,	
although	5	States	(Hawaii,	
Massachusetts,	Michigan,	
Rhode	Island,	and	Virginia)	
allow	admissibility	under	limited	
circumstances.	A	refusal	is	
admissible	in	civil	cases	in	
16	States	(Alabama,	Alaska,	
Arizona,	California,	Delaware,	
Illinois,	Indiana,	Iowa,	Louisiana,	
Missouri,	New	Mexico,	New	
York,	North	Dakota,	Oregon,	
Utah,	and	Wyoming)	and	the	
District	of	Columbia.

n	 A	variety	of	organizations,	
including	Mothers	Against	
Drunk	Driving,	the	National	
Transportation	Safety	Board,	
and	the	Century	Council	
(which	is	supported	by	the	
Nation’s	leading	distillers)	
support	enhanced	penalties	for	
offenders	who	refuse	to	submit	
to	BAC	testing.

The	percentage	of	offenders	who	
refuse	breath	tests	has	been	a	
problem	in	many	States.	As	new,	
stronger	laws	and	sanctions	



(sometimes	triggered	by	high	BAC	
levels)	are	enacted	across	the	
country,	NHTSA	continues	to	study	
breath	test	refusal	rates.

In	2005,	NHTSA	released	an	
interim	report	of	a	breath	test	
refusal	study.	The	study	included	
a	review	of	administrative	and	
criminal	sanctions	for	breath	test	
refusal	in	each	State,	using	the	
Digest of State Alcohol-Highway 
Safety Related Legislation	(NHTSA,	
2002).	

Incentive Grant Program
The	alcohol-impaired	driving	
countermeasures	incentive	grant	
program	(under	Section	410	of	
chapter	4	of	Title	23)	encourages	
States	to	adopt	and	implement	
effective	programs,	including	
Administrative	License	Revocation	
(ALR)	laws,	to	reduce	traffic	safety	
problems	resulting	from	individuals	
driving	while	impaired	by	alcohol.	
A	qualifying	State	may	use	these	
grant	funds	to	implement	and	
enforce	alcohol-impaired	driving	
prevention	programs.

To	meet	the	administrative	license	
suspension	or	revocation	system	
criterion	of	the	Section	410	grant	
program,	a	State	must	impose	
certain	sanctions	on	all	individuals	
who	fail	or	refuse	to	submit	to	a	
chemical	test,	including	that:

s	first	offenders	must	be	
subject	to	at	least	a	90-
day	license	suspension,	
except	that	after	15	days	
a	provisional	license	may	
be	issued	so	the	offender	
may	drive	to	and	from	
employment,	school,	an	
alcohol	treatment	program,	
or	an	interlock	service	
facility	and	only	in	a	vehicle	
equipped	with	an	ignition	
interlock;

s	repeat	offenders	must	be	
subject	to	at	least	a	one-year	
suspension	or	revocation,	
except	that	after	45	days	
a	provisional	license	may	
be	issued	so	the	offender	
may	drive	to	and	from	
employment,	school,	an	
alcohol	treatment	program,	
or	an	interlock	service	
facility	and	only	in	a	vehicle	
equipped	with	an	ignition;	
and

s	suspensions	or	revocations	
must	take	effect	within	30	
days	after	offenders	refuse	to	
submit	to	a	chemical	test	or	
receive	notice	of	having	failed
a	breath	test.

The	implementing	regulations	
for	the	Section	410	program	are	
located	in	23	CFR	Part	1313.
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Reports and additional 
information are available from 
your State Highway Safety Office; 
the NHTSA Regional Office serving 
your State; NHTSA Headquarters, 
Impaired Driving and Occupant 
Protection Office, ATTN: NTI 111, 
1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., 
Washington, DC 20590; 202 366 
2683, or NHTSA’s Web site at 
www.nhtsa.gov.
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