Skip to main content
Events and Public Meetings

Speakers | Preventing Child Heatstroke in Hot Cars

April 29, 2021

Texas Event – 9:30 a.m. CT

Brian Jones 

Deputy Regional Administrator, NHTSA Region 6

Brian Jones is a deputy regional administrator for the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. He manages federal highway safety programs for Region 6, which includes Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and the Indian Nations.

Jones began his federal career with NHTSA at its headquarters office in Washington, DC, in 2012, then transferred to Region 6 in 2014. Before joining NHTSA, Jones served 25 years with the Washington State Patrol, retiring at the rank of captain. After an interim position as the director of police services for The Evergreen State College in Olympia, Washington, he served as program director for the Washington Traffic Safety Commission. He holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from The Evergreen State College and is a graduate of the Federal Bureau of Investigations National Academy.

Johnny Humphreys

Chair, Safe Kids Texas Heatstroke Task Force

Johnny Humphreys has served as chair of the Texas Heatstroke Task Force since it formed in 2011. He also serves as a child passenger safety instructor and a Safe Kids Austin board member. 

Previously, Humphreys worked for the Texas Department of State Health Services safe riders, in cooperation with the Texas Department of Transportation. During his 15 years in this position, he served on many CPS training workshops and helped coordinate statewide child restraint distribution programs. He also served on NHTSA state CPS assessment teams in Missouri, Utah, and California. Humphreys also worked as a public information officer for the Fort Worth/Tarrant County Health Department, as a community relations director for Big Brothers Big Sisters of Tarrant County and as a social worker.

Kristen Beckworth

Manager, Center for Childhood Injury Prevention, Texas Children’s Hospital

Kristen Beckworth, MPH, CHES, CPST-I, has worked in the field of injury prevention for over a decade and currently serves as the manager of the Center for Childhood Injury Prevention at Texas Children’s Hospital in Houston. She oversees several health education specialists, who lead pediatric injury prevention programming across the Greater Houston area, and is engaged in educating the community, creating strategic partnerships and training other advocates in the field of childhood injury prevention.

Beckworth has extensive experience educating children and adults on a variety of child safety topics. Beckworth is a contributing board member of the National Drowning Prevention Alliance and the Texas Heatstroke Task Force. She is active in many local, state and national groups focused on injury prevention, such as Safe Kids Greater Houston, the Southeast Texas Regional Advisory Council, Injury Free Coalition for Kids, and the Safe Kids Worldwide Network Advisory Council.

Randy Chhabra

Captain, Austin-Travis County EMS 

Randy Chhabra has served as a paramedic for more than 20 years. He currently works as a captain for Austin-Travis County EMS in Texas. In this role, he develops and implements community safety programs to help keep families safe. Chhabra is a child passenger safety instructor and the EMS/fire chair for the National Child Passenger Safety Board.

Georgia Event – 1 p.m. ET

Carmen Hayes

Regional Administrator,  NHTSA Region 4    

Carmen Hayes is a regional administrator for the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. She oversees the federal highway safety programs for Region 4, which includes Alabama, Georgia, Florida, South Carolina and Tennessee.

Hayes began her highway safety career in 1997 as an intern in NHTSA’s regional operations and program delivery office in Washington, DC. She became the deputy regional administrator for Region 4 in 2006 and worked in that capacity for eight years prior to becoming the regional administrator. During her career at NHTSA, Hayes has received many individual and team honors, including the 1999 Secretary’s Gold Medal Award for Outstanding Achievement for her exemplary work on the Garrett A. Morgan Program team in the education of Washington, DC, students in the field of transportation.

Allen Poole

Director, Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety

Allen Poole is the director of the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety. Georgia Governor Brian Kemp appointed Poole to the position in 2019.

Previously, Poole was a Georgia state trooper and served 14 years as the county commission chairman and chief executive officer in Haralson County, Georgia. His 19 years of experience patrolling roads and investigating hundreds of traffic crashes has given him firsthand knowledge of the importance of safe driving. Poole’s top priority is to make sure the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety stays focused and committed to its mission to educate the public on highway safety and to implement programs that will reduce crashes, deaths and injuries on Georgia roads. 

Amy Jacobs

Commissioner, Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning

Amy M. Jacobs is commissioner of Bright from the Start: Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning, the agency responsible for helping meet the early child care and education needs of hundreds of thousands of Georgia’s children and their families. Former Georgia Governor Nathan Deal appointed her to lead the department in 2014. As commissioner, Jacobs oversees an annual budget of more than $900 million for programs focused on child care licensing, subsidized child care, child and adult care nutrition, child care quality, and early childhood education, specifically Georgia’s Pre-K Program. 

Before joining DECAL, Jacobs served as a senior policy adviser for the Governor's planning and budget office, an office she first joined in 2001. She’s also worked in the Georgia Court of Appeals. Jacobs works with numerous organizations, including serving as co-chair of Georgia’s Children’s Cabinet. She is a graduate of the University of Georgia.

Lisa Dawson

Director, Injury Prevention Program, Division of Health Protection, Georgia Department of Public Health

Lisa Dawson is the Director of the Injury Prevention Program within the Division of Health Protection at the Georgia Department of Public Health. Dawson is also an adjunct instructor at Emory University, Rollins School of Public Health. 

Dawson started her career on a child safety seat grant and transportation safety in the mid-1990s. Her work and responsibilities soon encompassed suicide prevention, fire safety, domestic violence prevention and prevention of child abuse and neglect. Her interests have evolved to utilize comprehensive applied public health models and evidence based communication tools as well as mentor students and new professionals in public health and injury prevention.

Dr. Maneesha Agarwal

Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta/Safe Kids Georgia

Dr. Maneesha Agarwal is an assistant professor in pediatrics and emergency medicine at Emory University School of Medicine and an attending physician in pediatric emergency medicine at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta. 

Agarwal is passionate about injury prevention, and her previous work encompasses multiple fields including poisoning prevention, child passenger safety, teen driving, firearm safety, consumer product safety, and adverse childhood experiences. She enjoys research, advocacy, education, and mentoring the next generation of injury prevention leaders. She co-founded the Children's Healthcare of Atlanta Injury Prevention Program and serves as the pediatrics expert for the Injury Prevention Research Center at Emory University.