
Key Provisions of State Laws Pertaining to Older Driver Licensing Requirements 
(Current as of October 2014) 

 
 

State “Older 
Driver” Age1 

Restrictions  
on Licensing 

Renewal2 

Accelerated  
Renewal & Term  

(if applicable) 

Testing  
Mandates 

State DMV  
Suspension Authority 
for Failure to Submit  

to Examination3 

Medical 
Advisory 
Boards4 

Other  
Information 

Alabama N/A N/A 

No. 
Standard renewal – 

every 4 years.  
Ala. §32-6-1 

N/A Yes 
Ala. §32-6-44 

Yes 
Ala. §32-

6-41 
N/A 

Alaska 
69 
AS 

§28.15.101 

In-person 
AS §28.15.101 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 5 years. 
AS §28.15.101 

N/A N/A No N/A 

Arizona 
65 

A.R.S. §28-
3171 

In-person at  
age 70 

A.R.S. §28-3172 

Yes – every 5 years. 
A.R.S. §28-3171 

Vision or proof of 
verification of test 

conducted less than  
3 months before 

submission. 
A.R.S. §28-3172 

Yes 
A.R.S. §28-3314 

Yes 
A.R.S. 

§28-3051 

A driver’s license is valid until 
age 65, unless medical 

restrictions require a shorter 
expiration period. 
A.R.S. §28-3171 

Arkansas N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 4 years. 
A.C.A. §27-16-901 

N/A Yes 
A.C.A. §27-16-909 

Yes 
A.C.A. 

§27-16-
909 

N/A 

California 

70 
Cal.Vehicle 

Code 
§12814.5 

In-person 
CA DMV5 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 5 years. 
Cal.Vehicle Code 

§12816 

Vision 
CA DMV 

Yes 
CA DMV No N/A 

                                                           
1 This is the age at which the State Department of Motor Vehicle places restrictions or modifications on the driver. 
2 In this chart, restrictions on licensing renewal and testing mandates, when applicable, apply to drivers when they reach the older driver age, referenced in the preceding 
column. 
3 An examination may include, among other things, a physical examination, vision test, written driver’s test, or submission of medical reports from licensed physicians. 
4 Legislatively authorized 
5 All California DMV references are sourced to information available to the public on that State’s DMV Web site. See 
www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/about/senior/senior_top  
 

http://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/about/senior/senior_top


 Key Provisions of State Laws Pertaining to Older Driver Licensing Requirements 
(Current as of October 2014) 

 

2 
 

State “Older 
Driver” Age1 
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on Licensing 

Renewal2 

Accelerated  
Renewal & Term  

(if applicable) 

Testing  
Mandates 

State DMV  
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for Failure to Submit  

to Examination3 

Medical 
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Boards4 

Other  
Information 

Colorado 
66 

C.R.S.A. §42-
2-118 

In-person or by 
mail C.R.S.A. 
§42-2-118 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 5 years. 
C.R.S.A. §42-2-114 

Renewal by mail must 
include a signed 

statement from an 
optometrist or 

ophthalmologist 
attesting to an eye 

exam within the past 6 
months and the results. 

C.R.S.A. §42-2-118 

Yes 
C.R.S.A. §42-2-111 

Yes 
C.R.S.A. 

§42-2-112 

If deemed appropriate, the 
DMV may require a driver 
involved in a fatal motor 

vehicle crash to submit to an 
examination.  But if the DMV 
fails to mail notice within 90 

days of receiving notice of the 
crash, the DMV shall not 

require examination based on 
that crash. C.R.S.A. §42-2-111 

Connecticut 
65 

C.G.S.A. §14-
41a 

N/A 

Yes – every 2 years 
(optional)6.  

Standard renewal – 
every 6 years. 

C.G.S.A. §§14-41;  
14-41a 

N/A Yes 
C.G.S.A. §14-46e 

Yes 
C.G.S.A. 
§14-46b 

N/A 

Delaware N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. 
21 Del.C. §2715 

N/A Yes 
21 Del.C. §2724 

Yes 
21 Del.C. 

§2723 
N/A 

District of 
Columbia 

70 
18 DCMR 

§111 

In-person 
18 DCMR §111 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. 
18 DCMR §110 

Vision; doctor’s 
statement deeming 
driver mentally and 

physically qualified to 
operate a motor 

vehicle 
18 DCMR §302 

N/A 
 No 

Discretionary refusal to renew 
is specifically noted with 
regards to persons with 

diabetes, seizure disorders, 
Alzheimer’s, hearing 

impairment. D.C. Code §18-106 

                                                           
6 Drivers age ≥ 65 are permitted to renew for either a 2-year period or the general 6-year period. 
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State “Older 
Driver” Age1 
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on Licensing 

Renewal2 

Accelerated  
Renewal & Term  

(if applicable) 

Testing  
Mandates 

State DMV  
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Medical 
Advisory 
Boards4 

Other  
Information 

Florida 
80 

F.S.A. 
§322.18 

In-person, unless 
a vision test was 

submitted 
electronically in 

advance by a 
doctor or 

optometrist. 
F.S.A. §322.18 

Yes – every 6 years. 
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. 
F.S.A. §322.18 

Vision 
F.S.A. §322.18 

Yes 
F.S.A. §322.221 

Yes 
F.S.A. 

§322.125 
N/A 

Georgia 

60/64 
Ga. Code 
Ann. §40- 

5-32 

N/A 

Yes – every 5 years. 
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. 
Ga. Code Ann.  

§40-5-32 

Vision test for drivers 
age ≥ 64 

Ga. Code Ann. §40-5-32 

Yes 
Ga Comp. R. & Regs. 

375-3-5-.01 

Yes 
Ga Comp. 
R. & Regs. 
375-3-5-

.01 

Every veteran’s or honorary 
license7 expires every 8 years 

until the holder reaches age 65. 
Ga. Code Ann. §40-5-32 

Hawai’i 
72 

HRS §286-
106 

N/A 

Yes – every 2 years. 
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years.8 
HRS §286-106 

N/A Yes 
HAR §19-122-355 

Yes 
HRS §286-

4.1 

Any driver, regardless of age, 
must renew in person, or 

submit proof of an examination 
not more than 6 months prior 
to the license expiration date, 

which states the driver has met 
the physical requirements 

established by the state DMV. 
HRS §286-107 

Idaho 63 
I.C. §49-319 

In-person for 
drivers age  

≥ 70. 
IDAPA 

39.02.76.011 

No – But drivers age 
≥ 63 must renew 
every 4 years. I.C. 

§49-319 

N/A N/A No N/A 

                                                           
7 An honorably discharged veteran is entitled to a free veteran’s driver’s license. 
8 Standard renewal for drivers 24 years and younger is every 4 years. HRS §286-106 
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State “Older 
Driver” Age1 
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Renewal2 
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Renewal & Term  

(if applicable) 

Testing  
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State DMV  
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for Failure to Submit  

to Examination3 

Medical 
Advisory 
Boards4 

Other  
Information 

Illinois 
75/81 

625 ILCS 5/6-
109; 5/6-115 

N/A 

Yes – every 2 years 
for drivers age 81-86;  
12 months for drivers 

age ≥ 87. Standard 
renewal – every 

 4 years. 
625 ILCS 5/6-115 

Vision test and actual 
demonstration of 
ability to exercise 

ordinary and 
reasonable control of 
the motor vehicle for 

drivers age ≥ 75. 
625 ILCS 5/6-109 

Yes 
625 ILCS 5/6-907 

 

Yes 
625 ILCS 
5/6-902 

Every driver shall report to the 
Secretary of State any medical 
condition that is likely to cause 

loss of consciousness or any 
loss of ability to safely operate 
a motor vehicle within 10 days 
of the driver becoming aware 

of the condition.  
625 ILCS 5/6-116.5 

Indiana 75 
IC §9-24-12-1 

In-person 
IC §9-24-12-5 

Yes – every 3 years 
for drivers age 75-84 

and 2 years for 
drivers 

 age ≥ 85.  
Standard renewal – 

every 6 years. 
IC §§9-24-12-1; 9-24-

12-10 

Vision 
IC §9-24-12-5 N/A 

Yes 
IC §9-14-

4-1 

 
N/A 

Iowa 70 
IA DMV 

In-person or by 
mail for drivers 

age 70 and over. 
IA DMV9 

Yes – every 4 years 
for drivers age 70;  

3 years for 71; 
2 years for ≥72.  

Standard renewal – 
every 8 years. 
IA DMV; I.C.A. 

§321.196 

Vision 
I.C.A. §321.186A N/A 

Yes 
Iowa 

Admin. 
Code 761-

600.4 
 

N/A 

Kansas 65 
K.S.A. §8-247 N/A 

Yes – every 4 years. 
Standard renewal 

term – every 6 years. 
K.S.A. §8-247 

N/A N/A 
Yes 

K.S.A. §8-
255b 

 
N/A 

                                                           
9 All Iowa DMV references are sourced to information available to the public on that State’s DMV Web site. See www.iowadot.gov/mvd/ods/olderdrivers.htm  

http://www.iowadot.gov/mvd/ods/olderdrivers.htm


 Key Provisions of State Laws Pertaining to Older Driver Licensing Requirements 
(Current as of October 2014) 

 

5 
 

State “Older 
Driver” Age1 
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on Licensing 

Renewal2 
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Renewal & Term  

(if applicable) 

Testing  
Mandates 
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for Failure to Submit  

to Examination3 

Medical 
Advisory 
Boards4 

Other  
Information 

Kentucky N/A N/A 

No. 
Standard renewal – 

every 4 years. 
KRS §186.412 

N/A Yes 
601 KAR 13:090 

Yes 
601 KAR 
13:090 

N/A 

Louisiana 
70 

La. R.S. 
§32:412 

In-person 
La. R.S. §32:412 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 4 years.10 
La. R.S. §32:412 

N/A 
Yes 

La. R.S. §§32:424; 
40:1356 

Yes 
La. R.S. 

§40:1351 

Persons age ≥ 60, applying for a 
license for the first time in LA 
shall attach a report from a 

doctor or optometrist 
indicating visual ability, and 

from a licensed doctor 
indicating physical condition, 

including any defects that 
would impair the driver’s 

ability to exercise reasonable 
control of a motor vehicle.  

La. R.S. §32:403.1 

Maine 
40/62/65 

29-A M.R.S.A. 
§1303 

N/A 

Yes – every 4 years 
for drivers age ≥ 65. 

29-A M.R.S.A. §1406-
A 

Drivers age ≥ 40 must 
pass a vision test at the 

time of their license 
renewal. Persons age ≥ 
62 must pass a vision 
test at each renewal. 
29-A M.R.S.A. §1303 

Yes 
29-A M.R.S.A. §1258 

Yes 
29-A 

M.R.S.A. 
§1258 

N/A 

                                                           
10 Effective July 1, 2015, standard renewal shall be every 6 years. 
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State “Older 
Driver” Age1 
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Renewal2 
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Renewal & Term  

(if applicable) 

Testing  
Mandates 

State DMV  
Suspension Authority 
for Failure to Submit  

to Examination3 

Medical 
Advisory 
Boards4 

Other  
Information 

Maryland 

40 
MD Code, 

Transporta-
tion §16-115 

Vision test 
required for 

persons age ≥ 
40; mail or 
electronic 

renewal is not 
permitted. 
MD Code, 

Transportation 
§16-115 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. 
MD Code, 

Transportation §16-
115 

Persons age ≥ 40 must 
take a vision test upon 

renewal. MD Code, 
Transportation §16-

115. 

N/A 

Yes 
MD Code, 
Transport
ation §16-

118 

If a person age ≥ 70 applies for 
a new license, he/she must 
present proof of previous 
satisfactory operation of a 
motor vehicle or written 

certification from a licensed 
doctor attesting to general 

physical and mental 
qualifications. MD Code, 

Transportation §16-103.1 

Massachusetts 
75 

M.G.L.A. 90 § 
8 

In-person 
M.G.L.A. 90 § 8 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 5 years. 
M.G.L.A. 90 § 8 

Vision 
M.G.L.A. 90 §8 

Yes 
540 CMR 24.03 

Yes 
M.G.L.A. 
90 §8C 

N/A 

Michigan N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 4 years. 
M.C.L.A. §257.314 

N/A  Yes 
M.C.L.A. §257.320 

Yes 
Mich. 

Admin. 
Code R. 

257.852; 
Michigan.
gov/SOS 

A doctor or optometrist who 
submits a report regarding a 
driver’s physical or mental 
qualifications to operate a 

motor vehicle shall recommend 
a period of suspension (at least 

6 months for an operator’s 
license; at least 12 months for 
a CDL), upon a finding that the 
driver cannot operate a motor 
vehicle in such a manner that 
would jeopardize the safety of 

persons and property. 
M.C.L.A. §333.5139 

Minnesota N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 4 years. 
M.S.A. §171.27 

N/A 

Yes 
M.S.A. §171.13; 
Minnesota Rules 

7409.2800 

Yes 
Minnesot

a Rules 
7410.3000 

The Commissioner of Public 
Safety shall not require an 
examination for the reason 
that a driver has attained a 
certain age. M.S.A. §171.13 
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State “Older 
Driver” Age1 
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on Licensing 

Renewal2 

Accelerated  
Renewal & Term  

(if applicable) 

Testing  
Mandates 

State DMV  
Suspension Authority 
for Failure to Submit  

to Examination3 

Medical 
Advisory 
Boards4 

Other  
Information 

Mississippi N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 
every 4 or 8 years at 
the driver’s option. 

Miss. Code Ann.  
§63-1-47 

N/A 
Yes 

Miss. Admin. Code 31-
1:9.4 

Yes 
Miss. 

Admin. 
Code 31-

1:9.4 

N/A 

Missouri 
70 

V.A.M.S. 
§302.177 

N/A 

Yes – every 3 years. 
Standard renewal – 

every 6 years. 
V.A.M.S. §302.177 

N/A Yes 
V.A.M.S. §302.291 

Yes 
V.A.M.S. 
§302.292 

N/A 

Montana 
75 

MCA §61-5-
111 

N/A 

Yes – every 4 years. 
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. 
MCA §61-5-111 

N/A Yes 
MCA §61-5-207 

Yes 
MCA §61-

5-125 

The age of a driver, by itself, 
does not constitute evidence of 

a condition requiring 
reexamination or a medical 
evaluation. MCA §61-5-207 

Nebraska 
72 

Neb.Rev.St. 
§60-4,122 

E-renewal is not 
permitted. 

Neb.Rev.St. §60-
4,122 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 5 years. 
Neb.Rev.St. §60-490 

N/A Yes 
Neb.Rev.St. §60-4,118 

Yes 
Neb.Rev.S

t. §60-
4,118.02 

N/A 

Nevada 

65/71 
NAC 

§§483.043; 
483.430 

Mail renewal 
permitted for 

drivers age ≥ 71 
only with a letter 

from a doctor 
attesting to the 

ability of the 
driver to operate 
a motor vehicle 
and the driver’s 

visual acuity. 
NAC 483.430 

Yes – every 4 years 
for drivers age ≥ 65. 
Standard renewal – 
every 4 or 8 years.11 

NAC §483.043 

N/A Yes 
NAC 483.320 

Yes 
NAC 

§483.400 
 

N/A 

                                                           
11 Effective January 1, 2018, all license renewals shall occur every 8 years, except for drivers age ≥ 65. 
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State “Older 
Driver” Age1 

Restrictions  
on Licensing 

Renewal2 

Accelerated  
Renewal & Term  

(if applicable) 

Testing  
Mandates 

State DMV  
Suspension Authority 
for Failure to Submit  

to Examination3 

Medical 
Advisory 
Boards4 

Other  
Information 

New 
Hampshire N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 5 years. 
N.H. Rev. Stat. 

§263:10 

N/A N/A 

Yes 
N.H. Rev. 

Stat. 
§263:6-b 

Every driver who appears in 
person to renew his/her license 
must complete a visual acuity 
examination.  But every driver 

who is eligible to renew his/her 
license online12 shall attest to 
the fact that he/she meets the 

visual acuity standards. 
N.H. Code Admin. R.  

Saf-C 1007.01 

New Jersey N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 
every 48 months. 
N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 

N/A Yes 
NJ DMV 

Yes 
NJ DMV 

Every driver shall take and 
successfully pass a screening of 

his/her vision at least once 
every 10 years as a condition 

for renewal. N.J.S.A. §39:3-10c 

New Mexico 
67 

NMSA §66-5-
19 

In-person or  
by mail. 

NM DMV13 

Yes – every 4 years 
for drivers age 67-74; 

every year for  
drivers age ≥ 75.  

Standard renewal – 
every 4 or 8 years (at 

driver’s option). 
NMSA §66-5-19 

N/A Yes 
NMSA §66-5-31 

Yes 
NMSA 

§66-5-6 
N/A 

New York N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. 
Veh & Traf §506 

N/A Yes 
Veh & Traf  §506 

Yes 
Veh & 

Traf  §541 

N/A 
 

                                                           
12 A license may be renewed online only once in every other license renewal cycle. 
13 All New Mexico DMV references are sourced to information available to the public on that State’s DMV Web site. See www.mvd.newmexico.gov/  

http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/
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Driver” Age1 
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Renewal2 

Accelerated  
Renewal & Term  

(if applicable) 
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State DMV  
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to Examination3 

Medical 
Advisory 
Boards4 

Other  
Information 

North Carolina 
66 

N.C.G.S.A. 
§20-7 

N/A 

Yes – every 5 years. 
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. 
N.C.G.S.A. §20-7 

N/A Yes 
N.C.G.S.A. §20-29.1 

Yes 
N.C.G.S.A. 

§20-9 

The DMV may not require a 
person who is at least 60 years 

old to parallel park a motor 
vehicle as part of a road test. 

N.C.G.S.A. §20-7 

North Dakota 
78 

NDCC §39- 
06-19 

N/A 

Yes – every 4 years. 
Standard renewal – 

every 6 years. 
NDCC §39-06-19 

N/A Yes 
NDCC §39-06-34 

Yes 
NDAC 37-
08-01-01 

A court may direct the DMV 
director to require an 
individual to submit to 

reexamination. 
NDCC §39-06-34.1 

Ohio N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 4 years. 
R.C. §4507.09 

N/A N/A No N/A 

Oklahoma N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 4 years. 
47 Okl.St.Ann. §6-115 

N/A 

Yes 
Okla. Admin. Code 

595:10-5-17; 47 
Okl.St.Ann. §6-120 

Yes 
47 

Okl.St.Ann
. §6-118 

N/A 

Oregon 
50 

OAR 735-062-
0060 

N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. 
O.R.S. §807.130 

All drivers age ≥ 50 
must have their 

eyesight tested by the 
DMV prior to each 

renewal. 
OAR 735-062-0060 

N/A No 

While there is no established 
medical advisory board, there 

is a medical determination 
officer who determines 

whether a person is eligible for 
a license in light of mental and 
physical impairment concerns. 

O.R.S. §807.090 

Pennsylvania N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 4 years. 
75 Pa.C.S.A. §1514 

N/A Yes 
75 Pa.C.S.A. §1519 

Yes 
75 

Pa.C.S.A. 
§1517 

N/A 
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Suspension Authority 
for Failure to Submit  
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Medical 
Advisory 
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Information 

Puerto Rico N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 6 years. 
9 L.P.R.A. §5064 

N/A Yes 
9 L.P.R.A. §5071 

Yes 
9 L.P.R.A. 

§5060 
N/A 

Rhode Island 

75 
Gen.Laws 

1956, §31-10-
30 

N/A 

Yes – every 2 years. 
Standard renewal – 

every 5 years. 
Gen.Laws 1956, §31-

10-30 

N/A N/A 

Yes 
Gen.Laws 

1956, 
§31-10-44 

N/A 

South Carolina 
65 

Code 1976 
§56-1-210 

N/A 

Yes – every 5 years. 
Standard renewal – 

every 10 years. 
Code 1976 §56-1-210 

Vision test 
Code 1976 §56-1-220 

Yes 
Code 1976 §56-1-270 

Yes 
Code 1976 
§56-1-221 

Any driver involved in 4 crashes 
within a 24-month period may 
be required to take any portion 

of the driver’s license 
examination if the director of 
the DMV deems appropriate. 

Code 1976 §56-1-225 

South Dakota 
65 

SDCL §32-12-
43.1 

Mail or 
electronic 
renewal 

permitted if 
vision statement 

is included. 
SDCL §32-12-

43.1 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 5 years. 
SDCL §32-12-42 

Vision statement 
signed by a licensed 

optometrist or 
ophthalmologist. 
SDCL §32-12-43.1 

Yes 
SDCL §32-12-46 No N/A 

Tennessee N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 5 years. 
T.C.A. §55-50-337 

N/A 
Yes 

Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 
1340-01-04-.07 

Yes 
Tenn. 

Comp. R. 
& Regs. 

1340-01-
04-.06 

A driver required to undergo 
re-examination may take the 
written and/or vision portion 
of the driver examination test 
without limitation, and the on-
the-road skills portion up to 3 
times. Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 

1340-01-04-.07 
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Medical 
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Other  
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Texas 

79/85 
V.T.C.A., 

Transporta-
tion Code 

§§521.274; 
521.2711 

In-person for 
drivers age ≥ 79. 

V.T.C.A., 
Transportation 
Code §521.274 

Yes – every 2 years. 
Standard renewal – 

every 6 years. 
V.T.C.A., 

Transportation Code 
§521.2711 

N/A N/A 

Yes 
V.T.C.A., 
Health & 

Safety 
Code 

§12.092 

N/A 

Utah 
65 

U.C.A. 1953 
§53-3-214 

N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 5 years. 
U.C.A. 1953 §53-3-

214 

Vision test 
U.C.A. 1953 §53-3-214 

Yes 
U.C.A. 1953 §53-3-221 

Yes 
U.C.A. 

1953 §53-
3-303 

N/A 

Vermont N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 4 years. 
23 V.S.A. §601 

N/A N/A No 

The DMV may designate 
licensed doctors, 

ophthalmologists, oculists and 
optometrists as examiners of 

motor vehicle operators. 
23 V.S.A. §637 

Virginia 

7514 
Va. Code 

Ann. 
§46.2-330 

In-person15 
Va. Code Ann. 

§46.2-330 

Yes – every 5 years. 
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. 
Va. Code Ann. §46.2-

330 

Vision test (unless 
proof of test completed 

within 90 days)16 
Va. Code Ann. §46.2-

330 

N/A 

Yes 
Va. Code 

Ann. 
§46.2-204 

N/A 

Washington N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 5 years. 
RCWA §46.20.181 

N/A Yes 
RCWA §46.20.305 No N/A 

                                                           
14 Effective January 1, 2015 
15 Effective January 1, 2015 
16 Effective January 1, 2015 
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State “Older 
Driver” Age1 

Restrictions  
on Licensing 

Renewal2 

Accelerated  
Renewal & Term  

(if applicable) 

Testing  
Mandates 

State DMV  
Suspension Authority 
for Failure to Submit  

to Examination3 

Medical 
Advisory 
Boards4 

Other  
Information 

West Virginia N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. W. Va. 
Code §17B-2-12 

N/A Yes 
W. Va. Code §17B-3-7 

No17 
W. Va. 
Code 

§17B-2-7a 

N/A 

Wisconsin N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 8 years. 
W.S.A. §343.16 

N/A N/A 
Yes 

W.S.A. 
§343.16 

N/A 

Wyoming N/A N/A 

No.  
Standard renewal – 

every 4 years. 
W.S. 1977 §31-7-119 

N/A Yes 
W.S. 1977 §31-7-122 No N/A 

 
Notes:   
Due to increased physical impairments that many drivers face as they age, most states have enacted legislation that places additional restrictions or 
requirements on older drivers. These laws include license renewal requirements, accelerated license renewal terms, and testing mandates. Medical Advisory 
Boards are addressed, as well.  
 
Please note that most States have legislation specifying a process for a third party to request that a driver submit to examination or re-examination. For 
example, a criminal justice agency, physician or member of the general public may request cancellation of a driver’s license, but must explain the need for re-
evaluation. In some cases legislation specifies that such a request may not be anonymous. In most cases this process is not exclusive to older drivers. These 
provisions are not included in the table, as these provisions are common to most states and are typically not exclusive to older drivers, but can be applicable to 
any licensed driver with medical conditions.   
 
Key Terms: 

•  “Older Driver” Age – the age at which a State may set forth certain requirements for driver’s license renewal. Multiple ages may be noted, reflecting 
multiple requirements, as applicable. 

• Restrictions on Licensing Renewal – Generally, this category includes type of renewal required (in-person versus online, electronically, by mail, etc.) once 
a driver reaches the “Older Driver” age. 

                                                           
17 The code provides that “the driver’s licensing advisory board shall continue to exist until the first day of July, [2009].”  
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• Accelerated Renewal & Term (if applicable) – addresses whether a State requires an accelerated, or shorter, renewal period once a driver reaches the 
“Older Driver” age, and if so, the term (i.e., every 5 years). Standard renewal term is also provided.  

• Testing Mandates – includes types of testing required, if any, for older driver license renewal (i.e., vision test, physician’s statement). 
• Suspension Authority by State Motor Vehicle Department for Failure to Submit to Examination – indicates if a State’s DMV has the authority to suspend 

or revoke an older driver’s license for failure or refusal to submit to examination. An examination may include, among other things, a physical 
examination, vision test, written driver’s test, or submission of medical reports from licensed physicians. 

• Medical Advisory Boards – addresses whether the State has a legislatively authorized Medical Advisory Board in conjunction with the DMV. 
 
This publication is distributed by the U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, in the interest of information exchange. 
The opinions, findings, and conclusions expressed in this publication are those of the authors and not necessarily those of the U.S. Department of Transportation 
or the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. The content is not intended to be used for determination of Federal grant eligibility. The United States 
Government assumes no liability for its contents or use thereof. If trade or manufacturers' names or products are mentioned, it is because they are considered 
essential to the object of the publication and should not be construed as an endorsement. The United States Government does not endorse products or 
manufacturers.  
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