NHTSA Announces Annual Public Service Awards

| Charlotte, NC

Today, the U.S. Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is presenting 13 individuals and one organization with its Lifesaver’s Public Service Safety Award.  The public safety award recognizes the vigorous dedication certain individuals and organizations demonstrate to achieve the safety of all passengers on American roadways. The awards were presented at the 35th Lifesavers conference (March 26-28, 2017), the largest annual gathering of highway safety professionals in the U.S.

Below are the names of the 14 public service award winners: 

Edward R. Frank  
Deputy Chief of Police (Retired), Altamont Police Department
Altamont, NY
In recognition of your lifelong commitment to reducing injuries and deaths on the roadways throughout the Capital District of New York State.

Vanessa Wigand
Principal Specialist, Virginia Department of Education
Richmond, VA 
For your dedication to and passion for highway safety in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

H. Chip Walls
Forensic Toxicologist, University of Miami
Miami, FL  
In recognition of your forensic toxicology expertise and analysis in support of the Metropolitan Miami’s Drug Evaluation and Classification Program.

Carol A. C. Flannagan, Ph.D. 
Research Associate Professor, University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI  
In recognition of your leadership in the analysis of large State-level crash databases.

Sudden Impact - Louisiana Passenger Safety Task Force Program
New Orleans, LA
For your contribution to teen driver safety in the State of Louisiana.

Major Carl Saizan
Louisiana State Police
For your dedication to highway safety in the State of Louisiana.

Rose White
Public Affairs Director, AAA Nebraska
Omaha, NE
In recognition and appreciation of your highway safety leadership, advocacy and education in the State of Nebraska.

Robbie Pace Courtright
President, MADD Central Missouri Chapter
Jefferson City, MO  
For your superior leadership and heartfelt dedication to reduce drunk driving in Missouri.

Lieutenant  David Wagener
Wyoming Highway Patrol
Cheyenne, WY  
For your commitment to motorcycle safety education for highway safety professionals and the traveling public.

The Honorable Richard Vlavianos
Superior Court of California, County of San Joaquin
Stockton, CA
In recognition of your role in implementing the San Joaquin County DUI Court and the role it plays in reducing crashes, injuries and fatalities caused by repeat DUI offenders.

Mark Butcher 
Citizen Advocate
Bothell, WA  
For your tireless dedication to partnering with government agencies to improve driver training and testing in the State of Washington.

Mi Ae Lipe
Citizen Advocate
Sammamish, WA  
For your tireless dedication to partnering with government agencies to improve driver training and testing in the State of Washington.

The Honorable Earl G. Penrod
Judicial Fellow, ABA in partnership with NHTSA
Princeton, IN
For your commitment to expanding judicial knowledge on impaired-driving issues and strategies to reduce DWI offender recidivism and impaired-driving crashes.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Janet Brooks 
Child Advocacy Manager (Retired), Primary Children’s Hospital
Sandy, UT

In recognition of your exemplary leadership, advocacy, and commitment to child passenger safety and injury prevention in Utah.

Stay connected with NHTSA: Search for open recalls with VIN look up  | Download the Mobile App for Apple or Android devices | Receive recall alerts by email  |Visit us on | Follow us on | Watch 5-Star Safety Ratings crash tests on |

NHTSA 202-366-9550