NHTSA Honors the Contributions of Dedicated Safety Champions at Annual Lifesavers Conference

| Washington, DC

NHTSA 10-15
Monday, March 16, 2015
Contact: Jose Alberto Ucles, 202-366-9550,

CHICAGO – The U.S. Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) presented 12 individuals and organizations with the NHTSA Public Service Award at today’s 33rd Annual Lifesavers Conference. The agency’s top public service award recognizes the tireless efforts and outstanding contributions many people make to improve highway safety throughout the country.

“The continued leadership of safety practitioners and organizations across the country is essential to tackling the most dangerous driving practices – whether the issue is drunk driving, seatbelt use, or distraction, ” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx. “The winners exemplify the highest levels of dedication and hard work that are critical to saving lives across America’s roads.”

The Lifesavers conference is the nation’s largest assembly of highway safety professionals. The conference highlights and shares emerging traffic safety data, issues and exposes participants to proven life-saving programs and best practices that they can use in their individual jurisdictions. This year’s conference, hosted by the non-profit Lifesavers organization, runs from March 15-17 in Chicago, IL and is expected to draw well over 1,700 participants and 100 exhibitors.

“NHTSA’s mission is saving lives and preventing crashes, and these winners are working every day to win that shared mission,” said NHTSA Administrator Mark Rosekind. “These awards are just a small token of our appreciation for their hard work and substantial contributions to safety.”

The NHTSA Public Service Awards recognize and honor an individual or organization who: 1) exemplifies high standards of achievements in the field of traffic safety, and 2) through his/her or the group’s accomplishments, has contributed to the quality of life in the community, state or nation. Nominations were limited to individuals and organizations who conduct these activities as volunteers or in a civic capacity. Award winners were nominated by NHTSA staff members and selected by senior NHTSA leadership.

Here are the 12 public service award winners and their plaque citations:

  • The Honorable John S. Kennedy / Court of Common Pleas of York County, PA: In recognition of his development of the York County Target 25 program and its commitment to reducing crashes, injuries and fatalities caused by repeat driving under the influence (DUI) offenders.
  • Sergeant Terry Thorne / Metropolitan Police Department Special Operations Division: In recognition of his extraordinary commitment in promoting highway safety and saving lives in the District of Columbia.
  • Florida Sheriffs Association: In recognition and appreciation of the Association’s outstanding contributions and leadership in reducing fatalities and serious injuries on the Florida roadways.
  • Ken Stecker / Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor, Prosecuting Attorney’s Association of Michigan: In recognition of his outstanding service in protecting communities and enhancing traffic safety by providing expert legal advice and training resources to Michigan’s criminal justice community.
  • Honorable Douglas J. Saloom / City Court of Lafayette, Division “B”: In recognition of his tireless efforts to clarify and enhance Louisiana’s impaired driving statutes, thereby improving the effectiveness of the state’s criminal justice process.
  • Dave Corp / Kansas Law Enforcement Liaison, Bureau of Transportation Safety and Technology: For his superior leadership and tireless dedication in advancing traffic safety programs which contribute to reducing motor vehicle deaths and injuries in Kansas.
  • Captain Anne Carpenter / Nevada Highway Patrol: For her leadership and innovation in the area of distracted driving, through the development of the It Can Wait for 28 program.
  • Hawaii State Judiciary / District Court of the First Circuit, Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Court Program: In recognition of the collaborative efforts to reduce traffic fatalities due to alcohol impaired driving by creating Hawaii’s first DWI Court program for repeat offenders.
  • Robin Abel / Advocate (Renton, WA): In recognition of bringing awareness to unsecured loads and roadway debris risks to motor vehicles on a local, state, and national level.
  • Walmart Product Safety and Compliance: In recognition of their outstanding contributions to the safe transport of children through the promotion of car seat safety messaging to consumers.
  • Jan Withers / MADD President, July 2011-December 2014: In recognition of her tireless efforts to encourage tougher legislation across the United States, her service as a victim advocate and her tenure as MADD National President.
  • Penelope “Penny” Wells / Former President and CEO of Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD): In recognition of her determined efforts to promote youth health and safety, her contributions as the SADD President and CEO, and her legacy of empowering young leaders.

Stay connected with NHTSA: Search for open recalls with VIN look up | Download the Safercar Mobile App for Apple or Android devices | Receive recall alerts by email | Visit us on | Follow us on | Watch 5-Star Safety Ratings crash tests on |