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STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN

MISSION STATEMENT

Our mission is simple: zero fatalities on Wisconsin’s
roadways.

Our transportation system is essential to society’s
continuing prosperity and an inescapable
component to everyday life in Wisconsin; as a
society we should not accept casualties as a
foregone consequence of that system. Wisconsin
citizens and state policymakers work toward
achieving zero fatalities and incapacitating injuries
on our roadways. Our belief is that any death is one
too many, and we work toward saving as many lives

as possible using the resources available.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The Bureau of Transportation Safety (BOTS) coordi-
nates a statewide behavioral highway safety program
using federal funds given back to the state through the
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Traffic Fatalities

582
561 562
I I I I i 507

2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

Figure 1: Traffic Fatalities (FARS)

Goal C1:To decrease traffic fatalities 5 percent each year
from the 2010-2014 five-year rolling average to 509 by
December 31, 2017.

Serious Traffic Injuries

3854 3,845
3,534 3,582
2,977

2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

(NHTSA), state funds, and other resources. Funds are
primarily used to change system users' behaviors by
enforcing traffic laws, increasing drivers' perception of
the risk of being ticketed for non-compliance, increasing
public awareness of the dangers of high-risk behavior,
and informing system users of the best way to avoid or

reduce the injury severity of a crash.

Through analysis and targeting, BOTS works to provide
leadership, innovation, and program support in
partnership with state, county, and community traffic
safety leaders, professionals, and organizations.

Though not obvious from figure 1, the number of trafhic
fatalities has trended downwards over the previous seven
years. 2014 saw a significant decrease from the prior year
and remained below the 5-year (2009-2013) moving
average of 574. Figure 1 uses FARS fatality data, which
NHTSA has not yet published. There were 555 fatalities
on Wisconsin roads in 2015 according to preliminary
figures from the state’s own crash data files.

As figure 2 indicates, serious injury crashes have steadily
decreased since 2008. 2014 saw 2,986 serious injuries,
which was an 18% reduction from the 5-year average of
3,625. There were 3,006 serious injuries in 2015
according to preliminary figures from Wisconsin’s state
crash data files.

Wisconsin achieved the national goal of one fatality per
100 million Vehicle Miles Traveled (VMT) in 2009, two
years ahead of the national target date. As figure 3
indicates, Wisconsin was slightly above the goal in 2012,
but 2014 produced a significant drop to our lowest level
at 0.84 fartalities per 100 million VMT. FARS fatality
data and VMT data for 2015 are not yet available.

Fatalities per 100 Million
Vehlcle Miles Traveled (FARS)

1.26 1.27 1.27

1.04
0.91
0.79 0.84
I I I I 0I63| |

2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
I Total [N Rural [N Urban

Figure 2: Serious Traffic Injuries (State Crash Data)

Figure 3: Fatalities per 100M VMT (FARS)



Figure 4 provides the remaining performance measures and goal statements developed by the GHSA and NHTSA.

MEASURE 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2010 2016 2017

2014 GOAL GOAL

AVG Estmate using 2010~ 2016 Goal
2014 average with 5%
with 5% reductions reduction

(1. Traffic Fatalities (FARS) 572 582 615 543 507 563.8 536 509
(1. To decrease traffic fatalities 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 564 to 509 by December 31, 2017.

| (2. Serious Traffic Injuries (State Crash Data Files) 3,845 3,534 3,582 3,309 2,986 3,451.2 3,279 3,115
(2. To decrease serious traffic injuries 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 3,451 to 3,115 by December 31, 2017.

| (3a. Fatalities/VMT (FARS) 09 099 104 091 084 095 0.90 0.86
(3a. To decrease total fatalities/VMT by 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 0.95 to 0.86 by December 31, 2017.

| (3b. Rural Fatalities/VMT (FARS) 115 127 127 117 1.09 1.19 1.13 1.07
(3b. To decrease rural fatalities/VMT by 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 1.19 to 1.07 by December 31, 2017.

| (3c. Urban Fatalities/VMT (FARS) 074 071 079 063 057 0.69 0.65 0.62
(3c. To decrease urban fatalities/VMT, by 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 0.69 to 0.62 by December 31, 2017.

| (4. Unrestrained Passenger Vehicle Occupant Fatalities (FARS) 178 189 201 186 162 183.2 174 165

(4. To decrease unrestrained passenger vehicle occupant fatalities in all seating positions 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year
rolling average of 183 to 165 by December 31, 2017.

| (5. Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities (FARS) 203 197 202 176 166 188.8 179 170
(5. To decrease alcohol-impaired driving fatalities 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 189 to 170 by December 31, 2017.
(6. Speeding Related Fatalities (FARS) 202 195 209 178 168 190.4 181 172
(6. To decrease speeding-related fatalities 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 190 to 172 by December 31, 2017.
(7. Motorcyclist Fatalities (FARS) 105 88 117 85 73 93.6 89 84
(7.To decrease motorcyclist fatalities 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 94 to 84 by December 31, 2017.

(8. Unhelmeted Motorcyclist Fatalities (FARS) 82 78 87 62 51 72.0 68 65
(8.To decrease unhelmeted motorcyclist fatalities 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 72 to 65 by December 31, 2017.
(9. Drivers Age 20 or Younger Involved in Fatal Crashes (FARS) 91 83 81 58 67 76 72 69
(9. To decrease drivers age 20 or younger involved in fatal crashes 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 76 to 69 by December 31, 2017.
€10. Pedestrian Fatalities (FARS) 52 57 45 37 45 47.2 45 43
(10. To reduce pedestrian fatalities 5 percent each year from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 47 to 43 by December 31, 2017.

(11. Bicyclist Fatalities (FARS) 9 12 11 10 4 9.2 9 8
(C11.To reduce bicyclist fatalities by one from the 2010-2014 calendar year rolling average of 9.2 to 8 by December 31, 2017.

B1. Seat Belt Use Rate (Observed Seat Belt Use Survey) 79.2% 79.0% 79.9% 82.4% 84.7% 81.0% 85.1%  89.3%
A1. Number of seat belt citations issued during grant-funded enforcement activities (FFY 2015) 17,092

A2. Number of impaired-driving arrests made during grant-funded enforcement activities (FFY 2015) 2,512

A3. Number of speeding citations issued during grant-funded enforcement activities (FFY 2015) 27,218
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HIGHWAY SAFETY PLANNING PROCESS

The highway safety planning process is continuous. At any one time during the year, BOTS may be working on
previous, current, and upcoming fiscal year plans. The flowchart below illustrates the components of the planning

process.

Develop performance Define and articulate problems

goals and select
measures

Collaborate with partners
Evaluate results HSP Flowchart
and adjust problem
statements

Identify, prioritize, and

select programs and projects
Articulate objectives prog pro)

related to the goals

HIGHWAY SAFETY PLANNING TIMELINE

November to December

Prepare the prior year's Annual Report. This document is the companion
report to the same year's Highway Safety Plan. The report provides NHTSA
and the public with a summary of how funds were actually spent in that fiscal
year.

January and Continuing

Wisconsin is unique in that we have a law (s. 83.013, Wis. Stat.) that requires
all 72 of its counties to have a Traffic Safety Commission. The law further
defines who is supposed to participate at the quarterly meetings. A commission is required to include: the chief
county traffic law enforcement officer, the county highway safety coordinator, the county highway commissioner,
a DOT engineer from the regional office, the Regional Program Manager from BOTS, a State Patrol Trooper, as
well as a one representative from each of the education, medicine, and legal professions. We recognize what a
fantastic opportunity this requirement gives us to reach out and solicit ideas and input into our planning process,
and we utilize this opportunity. In addition, each State Program Manager (SPM) obtains formal and informal
recommendations, resources, and information from traditional and non-traditional partners and stakeholders,



WisDOT Leadership

including public health, emergency
medical services, enforcement and adjudi-
cation, not-for-profit  organizations,
businesses, and community coalitions. This
activity continues throughout the year (see
Appendix 3: Partners, Committees, and
Organizations). During the first quarter of
each year, BOTS program analysts and

]

managers review the prior year's data and

study the effectiveness of the prior year’s David Pabst, Mark Gottlieb, PE., Superintendent
. . Highway Safety Secretary of Wisconsin Stephen
projects. They also perform literature Coordinator DOT, Governor’s Fiztgerald,
reviews and review best practices from Representative for Wisconsin
other states. Highway Safety State Patrol

Another valuable committee is the Wisconsin DOT’s Traffic Safety Council. This is a multi-disciplinary group
that meets on the first Thursday of each month. Representatives from FHWA, FMCSA, BOTS, the Division of
Motor Vehicles, the Division of Transportation Investment Management, the Division of Transportation System
Development, the WisDOT Secretary’s Office, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison serve on the committee.
This group is responsible for authoring the Wisconsin Strategic Highway
Safety Plan (SHSP) required by USDOT for federal Highway Safety
Improvement Plan (HSIP) funds.

As an offshoot of Wisconsin’s Traffic Safety Council and in compliance
with the FAST Act, a Statewide Impaired Driving Task Force was
chartered. This Task Force has accomplished a lot. The group assembled a
broad variety of stakeholders, developed a formal charter, approved the
Statewide Impaired Driving Plan by agreeing to work on five signature
items going forward, helped us to qualify for federal funding, assisted with

the development of the federally required SHSP, and began work on

signature items.
January to June
Preliminary crash data for the prior calendar year are available by June. In

I N WI sco N SI N most cases, the most recent ten years of crash data are used to determine

the magnitude of the problem posed by each crash type and to develop
A VISION WE CAN ALL LIVE WITH trend lines. Goals are set using five-year rolling averages. In addition,
conviction, medical, demographic, survey, program effectiveness, and other
relevant data are analyzed and used as appropriate to generate rates,
identify disproportionate representation of subgroups and trends
for each program area. At the end of May, BOTS utilizes the data

to generate targeting lists for enforcement grants. Grantees for the

WiSconsimpojee- s

coming FFY are notified of their eligibility and the Regional
Program Managers assist grantees with identifying their agency
capacity (see Appendix 3: Targeting used for Speed, Occupant
Protection, and Alcohol Enforcement Grants).

-« Section 1
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BOTS evaluates the nature and magnitude of each type of
state-level and program area problem and each target location

m‘nwﬁni.‘t“‘s! or group, establishes the effectiveness of proposed program
. :

activities in addressing the problem, and determines the avail-

KEEP THE ability of resources to be applied to the problem and avail-
Pn‘V‘LEGE. ability of data and information to be used to determine
progress toward goals. Recommendations from state program
assessments are integrated into program objectives and funded
activities. A BOTS committee discusses project ideas suggested
and determines which are feasible and will be included in this
year’s HSP.

The annual HSP is coordinated with state and national strategic plans and related operational plans and guidelines,

and especially with the WisDOT Strategic Highway Safety Plan. The ten items of highest priority in the
Department's 2014-16 Strategic Highway Safety Plan are listed below (HSP-related goals bolded):

Improve Design and Operation of Intersections

Reduce Speed-Related Crashes/Curb Aggressive Driving

Reduce Head-On and Cross-Median Crashes — Prevent/Mitigate Roadway Departure Crashes
Provide Safe Pedestrian and Bicycle Travel

Reduce Alcohol/Drug Impaired Driving

Improve Driver Alertness / Reduce Driver Distraction

Reduce the Number of Unbelted Fatalities and Serious Injuries

® NNV RN

Improve Teen Driver Performance — Ensure Drivers are Licensed and Competent — Sustain Profi-
ciency in Older Drivers

9. Improve Motorcycling Safety
10. Improve Incident Management/Safe Travel in Bad Weather

Failure to be ranked in the high priority highway safety issue areas for the 2014-2016 SHSP does not mean the
topic is unimportant nor does it mean WisDOT will discontinue planned or on-going initiatives that have yielded
results. Initiatives such as curbing aggressive driving, enhancing EMS to increase survivability, making
walking/street crossing safer, making truck travel safer, ensuring safer bicycle travel, and reducing deer and
other animal crashes will still be pursued.

Discussion for Wisconsins 2017-19 Strategic Highway Safety Plan has begun this year. Priorities will be set as
part of that process, but it is expected they will be similar to the priorities in our current plan. As with prior
plans, performance measures will be reviewed and adjusted as participants see fit.

ONGOING

Feedback from NHTSA management reviews, such as the Pedestrian/Bicyclist Safety Review in 2016, the Traffic
Records Review in 2015, and the Management Review in 2014 is reviewed and incorporated into the planning
process as well. Other strategic plans are incorporated such as the 2015-2019 Wisconsin Traffic Records Strategic
Plan. Priority is given to the NHTSA Administrator's Motor Vehicle and Highway Safety Priorities, as well as
overlapping FHWA and FMCSA safety priorities and goals. The latest version of NHTSA’s Countermeasures
That Work is used as part of project development.



End of June
Internal approval of the plan is received and the HSP is submitted to NHTSA.

State-level Problem Identification

The process of identifying problems is integral to the planning process. Information used in identifying problems
includes WisDOT state crash, conviction, vehicle, roadway, traffic and survey data, BOTS program effectiveness
studies, demographic and other census data, emergency department, hospital discharge and death data from the
state Department of Health Services, national surveys, and other relevant data. These data are used, as appropriate,
in trend, factor, disproportion and other analyses of each program area. The ID process is identified under the
justification sections of each program plan. In the individual program areas, further program need and justification
is identified. Several program areas include plans for enforcement activities. It should be noted that law
enforcement grants require individual grantees to set performance measures that take into account all contacts
(citations, warning, and stops with no action) with the motoring public. Overall, BOTS attempts to fund the
programs that will have the biggest impact on traffic fatalities.

« Section 1
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STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN-. Planning and Administration

PLANNING AND ADMINISTRATION

The management of the Bureau of Transportation Safety and the planning of activities are executed using both
state and federal funds. Federal funds cover salaries and benefits of the Grants Management Supervisor, the Policy
and Program Supervisor, three Operations Program Associates, and one Limited Term Employee. Funds also
cover out of state travel and training for each of these staff members.

State money for this program covers the salary and fringe of the Director, the Section Chief, and two full-time
analysts.

Responsibilities of the staff that are categorized as Planning and Administration are to:
* Prioritize the state’s most significant highway safety challenges.
* Apply for all federal funding and writing the state’s Highway Safety Plan.
* Act as representative for the State of Wisconsin as the Highway Safety Coordinator.
* Participate on committees and task forces.
* Target for effective law enforcement grants.
* Promote highway safety in Wisconsin.
* Develop internal controls, monitoring policies, and analysis.
* Ensure grant shells have proper contract language.

* Manage the process of grant reimbursement requests from grant partners, as well as reimbursement
requests to the federal government.

* Organize and host the Governor’s Conference on Highway Safety.
* Report on results of funding to NHTSA.

* Prepare report of grants subject to the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act.

PLANNING AND ADMINISTRATION—BUDGET SUMMARY

(402) 2017-10-01-PA $340,000
(State) 2017-19-01 $530,000

Program Total $870,000
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- Occupant Protection Program Plan

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN

PROGRAM JUSTIFICATION, PERFORMANCE GOALS AND MEASURES

Justification

This section serves as Wisconsin’s occupant protection program plan as required under the FAST Act.

In 2000 (base year), Wisconsins observed statewide seat belt use was very low at 65.4%. 1,148 people were
ejected or partially ejected in crashes and 40.5% of crash victims who were not belted were either killed or incapac-
itated.

In 2015, observed average statewide seat belt use was 85.8%. While higher than 15 years ago, it is still low
compared to the rest of the country (88% national usage rate). The 14.2% of our population that does not buckle
up accounts for over 49% of our vehicle occupant fatalities. Our low usage rate means that Wisconsin is required
to meet more criteria in order to be eligible to receive funding. The first criterion which we meet is that we have
a primary enforcement law for all seating positions. Legal citation: 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, s. 347.48(2m), Wis.
Stat. See appendix supplement OP-1, pages 14-15: Chapter 347 Equipment of Vehicles.

An additional criterion Wisconsin meets is enforcement for two high-risk populations. For seat belt enforcement
grants, 50% of enforcement must be conducted during hours of darkness. Additionally, counties with a high
number of pickup truck registrations are targeted specifically for seat belt enforcement funding. More details can
be found in appendix supplement OP-2: Law Enforcement Grant Targeting Methodology, in the discussion on
how grants are targeted.

Wisconsin law enforcement agencies sustain their enforcement of seat belt and child restraint laws throughout
the year. This graph reveals that this is a sustained, yearlong effort.

Another requirement under the FAST Act is that Wisconsin submits a seat belt plan that documents how law
enforcement will participate in sustained seat belt enforcement to cover at least 70% of the state’s population.

This section serves as that plan. The percentage of the population targeted by enforcement programs is as follows:

Targeting Type Population Wisconsin Census Percentage
Population Targeted
General (night-time) All Year 2,582,353 5,753,324 44.88%
Truck Registrations 1,565,653 5,753,324 27.21%
Total 4,148,006 5,753,324 72.10% *

*The addition does not exactly match because of

rounding. 2014 Safety Belt Use by Age

for Fatal and ‘A’ Injuries

In 2015, there were 54,737 convictions for failure to 243
fasten seat belts, a 2% decrease over 2014; there were 207 25 1

3,025 convictions for child restraint violations, a 10% 182 194
decrease over 2014. For the period 1994-2015, 163

individuals not wearing a seat belt were 50.6 times more -
likely to be ejected from their vehicle. In addition, they 0

were 11.3 times more likely to be killed than someone 88 %A

69 | 73

wearing a shoulder and lap belt at the time of the crash. 57

49
A 13.69% fatality rate equates to approximately a one in [ 4 . 39
(3
1-14 15-19 20-24 25-34 35-44 45-54 55-64 65-74 75-84 85+
Belted [ NotBelted

seven chance of being killed. |1.7

Seat belt usage lags with our most inexperienced drivers,
those between the ages of 15 and 34.

14



Program Management

Coordinate, plan, and manage the state Occupant Protection Program. Wage and fringe, data processing, materials
and supplies, training and travel, printing and postage are included. Continue to provide leadership, training,
and technical assistance to agencies, organizations, and non-profit programs interested in occupant protection
education and training. Integrate occupant protection programs into community/corridor traffic safety and other
injury prevention programs. Encourage communities and grantees to view occupant protection as a sustained
effort rather than an occasional enforcement mobilization.

(402) 2017-20-01-OP $90,000

Law Enforcement

Plan for statewide participation, voluntary, and overtime-funded enforcement for the national high-visibility
“Click It or Ticket” Mobilization. The participation in Click It or Ticket is required under the FAST Act, and
Wisconsin has always had outstanding participation from our partners. Increase enforcement of Wisconsin’s
primary seat belt law. Fund multi-agency high-visibility enforcement task forces statewide that will be sustained
year-round for occupant protection, including nighttime enforcement and pilot programs. Grants in Milwaukee
County will be indicated using the 2017-20-08-OP or 2017-25-08-OP identifier.

(402) 2017-20-05-OP $630,000
(405b) 2017-25-05-M2 $355,000*

*Should additional dollars be available, more occupant protection enforcement will occur.

Mobilization Grants: Non-overtime Equipment Grants
This will be used to provide equipment to some of the law enforcement agencies that participate in the Click It

or Ticket mobilization.

(402) 2017-20-06-OP $400,000

Child Passenger Safety (CPS)

Support and administrative costs for statewide Child Passenger Safety Advisory Committee. Partnership with
Wisconsin Information Network for Safety (WINS) to support and administer statewide CPS Training, ensuring
that we recruit, train, recertify, and maintain a sufficient number of child passenger safety technicians. BOTS
will work with WINS also to provide additional CPS training materials to community partners and local events.
CPS Training for law enforcement agencies, judges and other safety partners with community programs. Youth
and senior seat belt initiatives including training opportunities for law enforcement.

(405b) 2017-25-03-M2 $180,000

15
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WISCONSIN SAFETY BELT SURVEY STRATA

Belt Use by Region

DOUGLAS

BAYFIELD

WASHBUR

BURNETT

PEPIN
BUFFALO

SAWYER

RUSK

REMPEALEAU

LA CROSSE

In 2015, belt use varied by 9.8% across the state. The Stratum 4
area is 90%, and the Stratum 1 area is lowest at 80.2%.

IRON

ASHLAND

Field Observation of Safety Belt Use in Wisconsin

In June 2015, 85.8% of passenger vehicle occupants (front

VILAS

PRICE

TAYLOR

CLARK

JACKSON

MONROE

RICHLAND

CRAWFORD

Belt Usage
2015
Stratum 1 80.2%
Stratum 2 84.4%
Stratum 3 88.5%
Stratum 4 90.0%

ONEIDA

driver and right front passenger seats) used their

safety belts.

FOREST| | ORENCE

LINCOLN

LANGLADE
OCONTO

MENOMINEE

DOOR
KEWAU
OUTAGAMIE

BROWI

WINNEBA(

MARQUE GREE|
LAKE

KEE

DANE

UKEE

ROCK RACINE

- Stratum 1: Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Washington, and Waukesha

Counties

- Stratum 2: Brown, Dane, Outagamie, Racine, Rock, and

Winnebago Counties

- Stratum 3: Columbia, Dodge, Eau Claire, Fond du Lac,

Jefferson, Kenosha, La Crosse, Marathon, Saint
Croix, Sheboygan, and Walworth Counties

- Stratum 4: Adams, Barron, Calumet, Chippewa, Dunn, Grant,

Green, lowa, Juneau, Lafayette, Manitowoc,
Marinette, Monroe, Oconto, Pierce, Polk, Portage,
Sauk, Shawano, Vernon, Waupaca, Waushara, and
Wood Counties

Source: WisDOA Demographic Services

16




Grants for community programs offering child safety restraints.

(402) 2017-20-06-OP $180,000

(405b) 2017-25-06-M2 $45,000

Senior and Aging Driving

As our driving populations continue to age, the need for
additional resources, support and education is conversely
growing. The State of Wisconsin is putting measures in place
to provide safety training for our law enforcement partners
by providing officers with an easy-to-use roadside screening
tool called the Driver Orientation Screen for Cognitive

Impairment (DOSCI). This training will allow officers to

“éga‘“ "‘,.ml best assess the needs of the driver and situation that it calls
sy familia,
iaprochese el
cinfuron:

upon.

(405b) 2016-25-03-M2 $8,000

Data and Program Evaluation

Conduct and host an Occupant Protection Program

assessment with state and federal partners as well as subject area experts.
(402) 2017-20-09-OP $25,000

Contract for CIOT Mobilization Pre/Post Observational Surveys to include April/May/June Observational
Surveys.

(405b) 2017-25-09-M2 $100,000

OCCUPANT PROTECTION—BUDGET SUMMARY

402 2017-20-01-OP $90,000
402 2017-20-05-OP $630,000
402 2017-20-06-OP $580,000
402 2017-20-09-OP $25,000
405b 2017-25-03-M2 $188,000
405b 2017-25-05-M2 $355,000
405b 2017-25-06-M2 $45,000
405b 2017-25-09-M2 $100,000

Total $2,013,000

- Occupant Protection Program Plan
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« Impaired Driving Program

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN

JUSTIFICATION

As in years past, impaired driving continues to be a serious problem in Wisconsin.

The pie chart represents WisDOT’s belief that no one solution for this problem exists and illustrates the compre-
hensive approach that needs to be considered in each community. The size of the pie pieces does not reflect their
relative importance, which varies depending on where a community is located within the state.

Impaired driving has a high economic cost to the state, as determined using national cost estimates obtained
from the National Safety Council (NSC). Applying this approach to 2015 crash statistics demonstrates the signif-
icant cost to the state.

In 2003 (Wisconsin’s base year), 9,007

alcohol related crashes resulted in
348 deaths (42% of all deaths) and
6,445 injuries. Wisconsin has seen
an improvement—in 2015, 5,145
alcohol-related crashes resulted in
181 deaths and 2,859 injuries—but
alcohol remains a factor in 32.6%

of all deaths.

As the first graph on the next page

illustrates, combined alcohol-
related fatalities and incapacitating
(A’) injuries have declined since
2005, with a significant decrease in
fatalities each year between 2008
and 2014. In 2005, the alcohol
fatality rate was 0.55 per 100M
VMT compared to 0.27 per 100M

VMT in 2014, a 51 percent

Comprehensive Approach to Addressing Impaired Driving

Legislation

Transportation

Technology Alternatives

Dates & Records

Prevention

Enforcement

Screening

and Treatment
Public Education

decrease.

The next graph provides the actual
number of drivers killed each year

since 2006 in crashes in which their Economic Loss from Traffic Crashes, 2015

alcohol concentration was above

0.08. CRASH SEVERITY TOTAL CRASHES COST PER CRASH TOTAL COST

Crash Severity Total Crashes Cost Per Crash Total Cost

Fatality (K) 181 $1,512,000 $273,672,000

Incapacitating (A) 490 $88,500 $43,365,000

*Note that the injury categories are Non-incapacitating (B) 1,358 $25,600 $34,764,800

actual people injured, unlike the Possible Injury (C) 1,011 $21,000  $21,231,000
property damage crashes, which

are events, All crashes - injury or Property Damage 5,145 $4,200 $21,609,000

not - have a property damage Total Economic Loss $394,641,800

element. For a more complete
explanation of items included in . o . . . )
Impaired driving has a high economic cost to the state, as determined using
national cost estimates obtained from the National Safety Council (NSC). Applying
this approach to 2015 crash statistics demonstrates the significant cost to the
state.

per occurrence estimates, visit
Www.nsc.org
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Alcohol Related Fatalities & ‘A’ Injuries
Per 100M VMT
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Actual number of drivers killed each year since 2003 in crashes
in which their alcohol concentration was above 0.08%.
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In 2015, 33,449 convictions for operating a motor
vehicle while intoxicated were entered into driver
records, compared to 33,660 in 2014. Please note
that the final number of convictions in 2015 may
yet increase, given the time it can take for the legal
and technical processes to complete, before the
actual conviction is posted to the Division of Motor
Vehicles database.

Underage drinking and driving is also a problem
that warrants a special, more tailored approach. In
2015, teen drivers accounted for 5% of all drivers
in crashes who were listed as had been drinking and
9% of those suspected of using other drugs.

The graph entitled Alcohol-Related Crashes by Age
Group breaks younger drivers into three age groups.
Until recently in Wisconsin, the number of alcohol-
related crashes in these three age groups has
remained rather constant when weighted by the
population of each age group.

Wisconsin remains high in self-reported underage
alcohol consumption and binge drinking.
According to the National Survey on Drug Use and
Health (NSDUH)* nearly one-fifth (19.8 percent)
of persons ages 12 to 20 reporting binge alcohol use
within the past month. 65.7% of persons ages 12-
17 “perceived no great risk from having five or
more drinks once or twice a week.” Wisconsin was
above the national average in both categories.
BOTS will continue to aggressively address

underage drinking as it relates to impaired driving.

Under the FAST Act, just as it was under MAP-21,
Wisconsin is considered a mid-range state. As with
other mid-range states, Wisconsin was required to
convene a statewide impaired driving task force and
develop a Statewide Impaired Driving Plan.
Wisconsin’s task force convened on August 6, 2013,
established a charter, set priorities, and submitted
its first report by September 1, 2013. The task force
has approved a new draft of the Statewide Impaired
Driving Plan, dated May 23, 2016. See supple-

*Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
Administration. “Behavioral Health Barometer:
Wisconsin, 2014.” http://store.samhsa.gov/shin/
content//SMA15-4895/BHBarometer-W|.pdf
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mental appendix AL-1 for this report. This report identifies six signature initiatives to work on and has made

progress.

* Reducing the Cultural Acceptance of Impaired Driving
* Reducing Drinking among Persons under Age 25

* Streamline OWI Enforcement and Prosecution Processes
* Improving Drugged Driving Recognition

* Promoting Alternative Transportation Programs

* Improving Data Collection, Sharing, and Distribution

Program Management and Strategic Planning

Coordinate, plan, and manage the state impaired driving programs. Goals include enhancing volunteer agency
participation, increasing community involvement, working with community organizations and non-profit
programs to expand impaired driving activities and efforts, and encouraging state and local input into the HSP
development process. Wage and fringe, data processing, materials and supplies, training and travel, printing, and
postage are included.

(405d) 2017-31-01-M5 $90,000

Promote Transportation Alternatives

Collaborate with the Tavern League of Wisconsin and other municipalities, counties, and nonprofit organizations
to administer safe-ride grant programs throughout the State of Wisconsin.

(State 531) 2017-39-04 $700,000

As an enhancement to law enforcement grants and efforts, additional funds will be provided to law enforcement
agencies that coordinate alternative transportation in communities. Covered activity includes publicity, trans-
portation costs and advertising, including the “Zero in Wisconsin” campaign on all marketing and advertising
materials. This will also fund grants to provide short-term alternative transportation (vans, buses or vehicles) to
transport community members from the local summer community event to their home. These festival grants are
local in nature such as a beer tent or annual fundraiser where alcohol is legally served. The grant also covers
limited marketing and advertising costs as it relates to safe drinking. There must be sufficient evidence that a safe
ride program has the potential of reducing risk due to drinking and driving. Grant applications should provide
some evidence that poor driver judgment could be expected, and that drinking and driving has been a problem
at the event they are applying for.

(405d) 2017-31-04-M5 $100,000
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PREVENT PRESCRIPTION PAINKILLER ABUSE IN WISCONSIN.

Spread the word about SaferRide. o
An app to get them home safely. NHTSA

Enforcement

Encourage law enforcement agencies to make OWI a priority by writing citations, sponsoring media events, and
working overtime in geographical areas where impaired driving is highest. Plan statewide participation, encourage
voluntary participation, and provide overtime funding for high-visibility enforcement task forces for impaired
driving, including nighttime enforcement, accompanied by media for a demographic. These task forces will
consist of multiple law enforcement agencies that coordinate their enforcement efforts during the same time
frame. Grants in Milwaukee County will be indicated using the 2017-31-08-M35 identifier.

(405d) 2017-31-05-M5 $2,500,000
(405d) 2017-37-05-XX [24/7 grant funds] $165,000
(405d) 2017-37-05-XX [IID funds] $430,000

Provide equipment for agencies participating in the national impaired driving enforcement mobilizations.
(402) 2017-30-06-AL $400,000

Drug Evaluation and Classification Program

This program supports a contracted coordinator position and includes expenses to train new Drug Recognition
Experts (DREs). In addition, costs are covered to provide continuous training and re-certification for existing
DREs. DRE expenses, including instructor wages, travel to conferences, supplies (such as DRE kits), printing,
postage, lodging and meals for students and instructors are covered. BOTS also supports DRE callouts to assist
other agencies where a DRE evaluation is needed. In the case of a DRE evaluation where synthetic cannabinoids
are suspected, BOTS will pay for the cost of the test.

WisDOT will fund related programs including Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE),
Drugs That Impair Driving (8 hour drug block), Drug Impairment Training for Educational Professional
(DITEP), and Standard Field Sobriety Testing (SFST). BOTS will continue to expand the ARIDE program by

increasing the number of classes to accommodate demand and to align with this state and national focus.

(405d) 2017-31-03-M5 $220,000

Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor

Salary and fringe for two statewide Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutors acting as a resource on legal issues, OWI,
and the prosecution of those offenders. Provide specialized training to prosecutors, judges, law enforcement, and
others in the community. The “Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor,” as defined by the federal rule, “means an
individual or entity used by the State on a full-time basis to enhance the performance of a State’s judicial system
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Report A Drunk Driver

IN WISCONSIN

Privacy-Paliey

by providing education and outreach programs and technical assis-
tance to enhance the capability of prosecutors to effectively
prosecute across-the-State traffic safety violations.” These positions
also provide technical assistance to a wide variety of professionals
such as law enforcement officers, Drug Recognition Experts, blood
and alcohol testing staff, and policy development staff.

(405d) 2017-31-03-M5 $320,000

Adjudication

Provide funding for travel cost for agencies to participate in training
offered by the National Center for DWI Courts (NCDC). These
training sessions are partnerships between NCDC, NHTSA and
the state highway safety offices.

(405d) 2017-31-03-M5 $20,000

24-7 Sobriety Programs

BOTS will create 24-7 sobriety pilot programs in selected
Wisconsin counties. These will be post-conviction programs. These
programs will require an individual convicted of driving under the
influence of alcohol to abstain from alcohol and be subject to testing
for alcohol at least twice per day. Funding will be used for start-up
projects only. Programs will be proportionally-funded to ensure
NHTSA funds will be used for that proportion of the program
whose participants have convictions related to impaired driving.
The goal is for the programs to become self-sufficient.

(405d) 2017-31-04-M5 $50,000

Drugged Driving Pilot Data

BOTS will collect data with regard to driving under the influence
of drugs for the purpose of identifying the size and scope of the
state’s drugged driving program.

(405d) 2017-31-09-M5 $10,000

Data and Program Evaluation

Contract for Knowledge, Attitude, and Behavior (KAB) mail
surveys to evaluate the effectiveness of paid media and performance
measure survey required for HSP.

(405d) 2017-31-09-M5 $75,000
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IMPAIRED DRIVING—BUDGET SUMMARY

402 2017-30-06-AL $400,000
405d 2017-31-01-M5 $90,000
405d 2017-31-03-M5 $560,000
405d 2017-31-04-M5 $150,000
405d 2017-31-05-M5 $2,500,000
405d 2017-31-09-M5 $85,000
405d (24/7) 2017-37-05-XX $165,000
405d (1ID) 2017-37-05-XX $430,000
State 531 2017-39-04 $700,000

Total $5,080,000
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PROGRAM JUSTIFICATION, PERFORMANCE
GOALS AND MEASURES

2015 Possible Contributing Circumstances

Overtake 13%  Maneuver 5%

Failure to Failure to Yield 12%

Control 4% \

Speed & — \
Inattentive

Alcohol 1%
Speed 13% \ Driving18%

Alcohol 3% All Other 2%

None Given 29%

Speed Related Crashes/100M VMT

47.50

38.99 38.66

35.78 34.77
33.37
31.86 3133

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

Speed Related Fatalities & ‘A’ Injuries
Per 100M VMT

0.45 8 0.45
| | |”2|‘33|031ImImImImIm

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

- Combined Spreed-related Fatalities and Incapacitating Injuries
Speed -related Fatalities

The number of crashes for which speed is recorded as a
possible contributing circumstance (PCC) is assumed to
be far fewer than the number of crashes for which speed
actually played a factor. This assumption is based on data
that show that speeding is the most commonly cited
driver behavior and the most common type of driver-
caused crash. Speed-related crashes resulted in 28% of
all deaths and 18% of all injuries in 2015. In addition,
154 people died and 7,641 were injured in 17,798
speed-related crashes. In total, there were 171,039
convictions for speeding violations in 2015.

Law Enforcement

Plan statewide participation, encourage voluntary partic-
ipation, and provide overtime funding for the speed and
aggressive driving enforcement campaign. Encourage
coordination between county and local law enforcement
by supporting HVE task forces. Support statewide
Wisconsin State Patrol Air Support Unit HVE deploy-
ments in partnership with local law enforcement

Number of Crashes in Wisconsin with a
Driver Possible Contributing Circumstance
of Inattentive Driving, 2011-2015

24,079

21,778 21,527 21,711 22,194 I

2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
Inattentive drivers are disproportionately younger
drivers. 34.1% of inattentive drivers are younger than
25 years of age.

Circumstance of Inattentive Driving by Age
6000 - Annually, 2011-2015 Average

<18 18-24 25-34 35-44 45-54 55-64 65-74 75-84 85and
Older

5000

4000

3000

2000

1000

0
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2011 2015 AVERAGE ECONOMIC COST PER CRASH ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST

Property-Damage-Only Crashes 15,007.8 $4,200 $63,032,760
Possible Injury Crashes 4,067.4 $21,000 $85,415,400
Non-incapacitating Injury Crashes 2,494.8 $25,600 $63,866,880
Incapacitating Injury Crashes 598.0 $88,500 $52,923,000
Fatal Crashes 89.8 $1,512,000 $135,777,600
Total 22,257.8 $401,015,640
agencies. Grants in Milwaukee County will be Fatalities and Incapicitating Injuries in
indicated using the 2017-40-08-PT identifier. Crashes with a Possible Contributing
(402) 2017-40-05-PT $675,000 Circumstance of Inattentive DriVing,
2011-2015
Evaluation Programs
Evaluate the number of crashes, fatalities, and injuries
and compare to prior data. Identify counties that
have low conviction rates for speeding tickets.
Conduct surveys to determine program effectiveness
and public knowledge and attitudes about the speed
management program. Evaluate the effectiveness of
the funding provided. Attempt to determine if speed 108 107 97 . 98
related crashes were reduced in areas where agencies atl & ~= -~ =
2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
were funded.
Surveys are included in the Impaired Driving section. B acatng e foaltes
B Total Crash Rates for
[ Total Crash Rates by Age Group, 2014 Drivers under 18 y.o0., 2005-2014
B tal Crash Rates by Age Group, 2014 | Fatal Crash Rates for Drivers
05.32 under 18 y.0., 2005-2014
42.45
13328 135.49

76.75
127.63

53.00
2410 . 1737
3 79 110.99 109.62
24.23 51 g6 0.63 047810414 10532
2 S 1615
L. :
_! 4
- - 013 _
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POLICE TRAFFIC PROGRAM—BUDGET SUMMARY

2017-40-05-PT
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PROGRAM JUSTIFICATION, PERFORMANCE GOALS AND MEASURES

Justification

The FAST Act requires states to have a Traffic Records Coordinating Committee (TRCC) and a Traffic Records
Coordinator to administer the Traffic Records Program. Members of the TRCC include owners, operators,
collectors, and users of traffic records and public health and injury control data systems. The TRCC also includes
representatives from organizations related to highway safety,
highway infrastructure, law enforcement, adjudication,
public health, EMS, and others. The TRCC Charter is in
appendix TR-1. All documents for prior 12 months and a
schedule for coming 12 months are contained in appendix
TR-2. A list of the TRCC members can be found in
appendix TR-3. The members of the TRCC have review and
approval authority with respect to state highway safety data
and systems. The TRCC members make decisions
concerning membership, the Coordinator, changes to the

state’s multi-year Strategic Plan, and performance measures
used to demonstrate progress. Appendix TR-4 provides a copy of the Strategic Plan and appendix TR-5 is a
Progress Report.

States are allowed to use grant funds for making data program improvements to core highway safety databases
related to quantifiable, measurable progress in any of the significant data program attributes of accuracy,
completeness, timeliness, uniformity, accessibility, or integration. The following are a list of the project concepts

that the TRCC has approved for grant funding.

Program Management/Analysis

Coordinate, plan, and manage the traffic records program. Administer Integrated Traffic Records Strategic Plan
(TRSP) and SHSP Data Sections. TRCC Meetings, Strategic Plan Development, and travel to national

conference.

(405c¢) 2017-58-01-M3 $10,000

Program Evaluation Analyst 1.0 FTE
(402) 2017-50-01-TR $90,000

EMS Training

This is a project at the Department of Health Services Emergency Medical Services that will provide annual
training to all service members in effort to receive consistent data

(405c¢) 2017-58-03-M3 $5,000

Critical Care Module

Purchasing a Critical Care module for the Wisconsin Ambulance Run Data System (WARDS). Will provide
more specific data related to Advanced Life Support treatment, medications and procedures being provided.

(405¢) 2017-58-03-M3 $50,000
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CODES: Enhancement/Report Generation and Analysis

Wisconsin’s Crash Outcome and Data Evaluation System (CODES) provides linked crash/health care data in
order to more completely evaluate the injury and cost impacts associated with motor vehicle crashes in Wisconsin.
This project will continue to provide crash/health information in a variety of formats, including online statewide
reports and online municipality/county-specific reports, through a comprehensive online reporting system acces-
sible to governmental, educational, and non-profit organizations.

(405c) 2017-58-03-M3 $124,000

CODES Traffic Crash Record Linkage

CODES is the primary injury surveillance system for the medical consequences of traffic crashes. This project
will match 2016 traffic crash reports to hospital inpatient and emergency department records, updating CODES.
The project will also match the state’s ambulance-run records (WARDS data) to hospital patients and to traffic

crash reports.

(405c) 2017-58-03-M3 $50,000

Hospital Patient Data Archive Improvement

This project will enhance the timeliness, accessibility, uniformity, and completeness of Wisconsin’s hospital patient
data through improvements in the quarterly processing of new records, the acquisition of records from Minnesota
and Iowa, the addition of new fields for injury surveillance, and the conversion of diagnosis codes from the ICD-
9 standard to the ICD-10.

(405c) 2017-58-03-M3 $50,000

Automation/BadgerTraCsS (Traffic and Criminal Software) Implementation

Administer grants to local and state agencies for Badger TraCS Suite and acquisition and installation of equipment.

(405c) 2017-58-06-M3 $100,000

Community Maps

Operation and maintenance for Community maps, including implementation of additional enhancements to
improve user experience. Developed to provide Wisconsin Traffic Safety Commission’s with online interface for
mapping crash data.

(405¢) 2017-58-03-M3 $40,000

New Crash Data Review

Project will be responsible for reviewing crash data as it is received in the beginning of 2017 to see if there are
any discrepancies in reporting as well as identifying potential performance metrics based in the NHTSA six-
pack. Will create training materials and outreach for improving the crash data in the first year of the new DT4000.

(405c¢) 2017-58-03-M3 $70,000

Law Enforcement Traffic Records Data Warehouse

Project will involve data investigation and planning for the detailed linkages associated with the various data sets
(licensing, registration, roadway, citations, warnings, adjudications, EMS, coroner, health records). Start the
process of examining what data elements are needed and how they will be deterministically linked to crash data.

(405c) 2017-58-03-M3 $40,000
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State Patrol Resource Allocation Mapping and Analysis

Working on creating maps and analysis to help determine where resources should be located, working to come
up with standard data sets.

(405c) 2017-58-03-M3 $50,000

Crash Database Project

This project involves completing the updating of the WisDOT crash database system, which is currently 20 years
old, in conjunction with updating the MV4000 planning and implementation process. The updated database
system will meet the 2010 NHTSA assessment indicating that WisDOT should update the crash form, will add
fields and attributes to be MMUCC compliant and will increase data quality.

(405c) 2017-58-03-M3 $100,000

National Model Steering Committee Meeting Travel

This will fund the travel of two people to attend the February and August 2017 National Model Steering
Committee meetings.

(405c) 2017-58-01-M3 $6,000

Equipment - Trimble S5 Robotic Total Stations

This provides efficient and advanced technologies to forensically map serious injury and fatal traffic crash scenes
to improve timeliness, accuracy, completeness, uniformity, accessibility, and integration of traffic crash data and
crash reconstruction reports. The data will be available to law enforcement agencies and engineers.

(405c) 2017-58-06-M3 $100,000

TRAFFIC RECORDS IMPROVEMENTS—BUDGET SUMMARY

402 2017-50-01-TR $90,000
405c 2017-58-01-M3 $16,000
405c 2017-58-03-M3 $579,000
405c 2017-58-06-M3 $200,000

Total $885,000
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PROGRAM JUSTIFICATION, PERFORMANCE
GOALS AND MEASURES

Performance Goals and Measures

2012-2014 Statewide
3-year average baseline

Injury to Death Ratios

73.1to1

2015 Actual

75.5to0 1

2016 Goal

76.8to 1

Safety Belt Use Rate in personal

injury and fatal crashes will increase.

2000 Statewide Baseline 65.4%
2015 Statewide Usage 85.8%
2016 Goal 85.1%

Justification

Crash survivability varies by location in the state, which is a result of many factors, including the speed and

quality of emergency medical response and treatment. The Wisconsin Legislature has mandated the development
of a statewide trauma care system to maximize local resources. However, recruitment and retention of first
responders is an increasingly significant issue in rural portions of the state. Response times are longer and outcomes
are worse for rural crashes, and three-year average injury-to-death ratios indicate that the areas of highest risk are
predominantly rural.

It is important to improve traffic crash survivability and injury outcome by improving the availability, timeliness,
and quality of pre-hospital care, especially in high-risk rural areas of the state.

Regional Program Managers will work with rural counties that have a low injury-to-death ratio to provide funding
for training and equipping local first responders.

Publicity and Outreach (Emergency Response)

With the Department of Health Services and the Wisconsin Division of the American Trauma Society (WATYS),
the Bureau of Transportation Safety will develop an EMS PI&E Plan with a focus on recruitment and retention
and educate the general population and emergency responders about the state Trauma System. Review and
duplicate highway safety materials for distribution locally by EMS/trauma care personnel.

(402) 2017-60-02-EM $50,000

Rural Emergency Response Programs, Equipment & Training

Fund equipment and training for initial or first-time first responder groups in targeted high-risk areas.

(402) 2017-60-03-EM $50,000

EMERGENCY MEDICAL RESPONSE—BUDGET SUMMARY

402 2017-60-02-EM PI&E $50,000
402 2017-60-03-EM

Training — Equipment $50,000

Program Total $100,000
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2012-2014 3-Year Average Injury-to-Death Ratios
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- Motorcyclist Safety Program

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN

PROGRAM JUSTIFICATION, PERFORMANCE GOALS AND MEASURES

Using a five-year rolling average (2010-2014), 93 people die and 620 people are seriously injured in motorcycle

and moped crashes in Wisconsin annually. In 2015, 535 persons were seriously injured and 81 were killed in

2,445 reported crashes involving motorcycles and mopeds. If you were a rider in a reportable motorcycle or

moped crash in 2015, you were most likely injured—only 442 motorcycle and moped crashes did not result in

2015 ‘K’ & ‘A’ Injuries by Age Group

15-24
16.5%
25-34
17.8%

55 & over

23.8%
35-44
15.6%

45-54
26.1%
2015 Percentage of

Motorcycle/MoPed Fatalities

100% 100% g7 50,

96%
85.9% 0
80% 79.3% 78.9% 78.8% 87
63.6%
I‘ % 21 A)

JAN FEB MAR APR MAY JUN JUL AUG SEP OCTNOV DEC

Percentage of Percent
Motorcycle/MoPed Fatalities Other Fa

Compared to Other Fatalities by Month

100%

age of
talities

Percentage of Known Improperly Licensed
Motorcycle/Moped Operators Riders Killed

2012

in Fatal Crashes 2012 2014

2013

2014

42%

34%

44%
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injury. The majority of these injuries are to people
over the age of 35 years old. The chart below shows
that 71% of the motorcyclist fatalities and incapaci-
tating injuries occur to individuals 35 years old and

older.

Riding motorcycles and mopeds for the vast majority
of riders is a seasonal endeavor. Very rarely does
Wisconsin have a warm enough winter for even the
most avid rider to continue around-the-year use.
Motorcyclist fatalities nonetheless accounted for 14%
of total fatalities on Wisconsin roads in 2015. The
following graph illustrates when those fatalities
occurred and what a large share of the total fatalities
motorcyclists were (and are each year) during those
months.

As discussed in the impaired driving section, alcohol
is also a significant concern in the motorcyclist
community. Of the 75 motorcycle and moped
operators killed in 2015, 69 (92.0%) were tested for
alcohol, and 28 (40.6%) of them had a positive blood
alcohol content. Over the prior five years, 84% of
motorcycle/moped crashes resulted in fatality or
injury.

Another interesting item that Wisconsin has been
working on is the proper licensing of motorcyclists.
As indicated below, the percent of improperly
licensed motorcycle/moped operators killed in fatal
crashes has increased since last year.

Wisconsin’s Motorcycle Rider Education Program
has been a successful program for 35 years as of 2015.
Five RiderCoach Trainers, two Lead RiderCoaches-
at-Large, a Quality Assurance Coordinator, 18
Quality Assurance Specialists, and over 180 Rider-
Coaches must routinely be updated and kept current
on Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) and
Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program curriculum
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FAST Act applications require that states provide the following about motorcycle riding training courses:

1. A copy of the official state document identifying the designated state authority over motorcyclist safety
issues — A copy of Wisconsin’s relevant Transportation Administrative Manual, Section RS-110 is located

in appendix MC-1

2. Document showing that the designated State authority approved the training curriculum that includes
instruction in crash avoidance and other safety-oriented operational skills for both in-class and on-the-
motorcycle is included in Wisconsin Administrative Code in chapter TRANS 129. A copy is located in
appendix MC-2

3. Document regarding locations of the motorcycle rider training course being offered in the State is
documented in appendix MC-3

4. Document showing that certified motorcycle rider training instructors teach the motorcycle rider training
course is included in TRANS 129 in appendix MC-2

5. Description of the quality control procedures to assess motorcycle rider training courses and instructor
training courses and actions taken to improve courses is included in section of the Wisconsin Motorcycle
Safety Program Policy and Procedure Manual included in appendix MC-4. A narrative of the improve-
ments that the Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program has made to its quality control procedures is
included in Appendix MC-8.

Requirements under the FAST Act also include the following requirements for the Motorcyclist Awareness

Program:

1. Copy of official State document identifying the designated State authority over motorcyclist safety issues
is included in Wisconsin’s Transportation Administrative Manual, Section RS-110 is located in appendix

MC-1.

2. Letter from the Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety regarding the development of the motor-
cyclist awareness program is provided in appendix MC-5
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3. Data used to identify and prioritize the State’s Motorcycle Safety Program areas is provided in appendix
MC-6.

4. Description of how the State achieved collaboration among agencies and organizations regarding motor-
cyclist safety issues and organizations regarding motorcyclist safety issues is provided in appendix MC-5.

5. Director David Pabst’s letter in appendix MC-7 discusses the strategic communications plan and further
discusses the Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program’s collaboration among agencies and organizations on
motorist education.

Percentage of Riders in Fatal Crashes Not Wearing a Helmet 2005 2014

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

76% 74% 76% 78% 65% 77% 92% 78% 76% 71%

The chart above indicates that the percentage of riders in fatal crashes that chose not to wear a helmet remains high.

Program Management
Coordinate, plan, and manage the Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program (WMSP). Assist the Wisconsin rider
education program and WMSP through continued clerical support to training sites. This includes wage and

fringe, data processing costs, materials & supplies, training and travel, printing and postage, and SMSA
Membership Dues.

(State 562) 2017-79-01 $120,000

Motorcycle Rider Education and Training

The Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program will expand rider education courses to address novice, intermediate,
and seasoned motorcyclists. It will also fund the WMSP (BRC - novices) Basic RiderCourse curriculum and the
WMSP (BRC2 - intermediate) Basic Rider Course-2 as a waiverable rider education course. Professional devel-
opment of RiderCoach Trainers and train-the-trainer staff including curriculum updates, motorcyclist safety
conferences and workshops.

(402) 2017-70-03-MC $60,000
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Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program/Rider Education Program: Administer classroom and hands-on rider
training programs through the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) /Funded training sites, Private/Non-
Funded training sites, and Harley-Davidson Riding Academy/Non-Funded training sites, that meet the MSF
and WMSP requirements for basic motorcycle/scooter, new, seasoned, and advanced motorcycle riders.

(State 562) 2017-79-04 $463,000

Section 405f funds will be used for the purchase of training motorcycles, three-wheel motorcycles- trikes, scooters,
traffic (motorcycle) simulators and/or other motorcycle trainers and/or traffic simulators, as well as new training
and support equipment, materials and motorcycle awareness.

(402) 2017-70-06-MC $100,000

Motorcycle Operation under the Influence of Alcohol or Other Drugs Law
Enforcement

Participate in impaired driving High-Visibility Enforcement (HVE) and deterrence activities where there is the
highest occurrence of motorcycle crashes and fatalities involving motorcyclists impaired by drugs or alcohol.

(402) 2017-70-05-MC $50,000

Communication and Outreach

Continue expansion of the role the Transportable High-End Rider Education Facility (THE REF) plays and the
number of activities it participates in to promote all aspects of motorcycle awareness, safety, and rider education.
Offer a variety of motorist and motorcyclist-related training and awareness activities as well as promote appropriate
Class M Endorsement for owners of all on-road motorcycles. Placement and promotion of SMARTrainers.

(405f) 2017-72-04-M9 $220,000

Program Evaluation

Evaluate the effectiveness of grant funding provided. Develop a method by which activity levels can be measured.
Require the reporting of rider education staff attendance at various grant funded activities and events.

(405f) 2017-72-09-M9 $5,000
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Motorcycle Awareness and Motorist Education

Using revenue generated from the sale of specialized Harley-Davidson license plates for automobiles and trucks,
the Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program will develop a specific media campaign to promote motorist awareness
of motorcycles. This campaign will be targeted to coincide with major motorcycling activities taking place during
the most active segment of the riding season.

(State 562) 2017-79-07 $100,000

MOTORCYCLE SAFETY—BUDGET SUMMARY

State 562 2017-79-01 $120,000
State 562 2017-79-04 $463,000
State 562 2017-79-07 $100,000
Federal 402 2017-70-03-MC $60,000
Federal 402 2017-70-05-MC $50,000
Federal 402 2017-70-06-MC $100,000
Federal 405f 2017-72-04-M9 $220,000
Federal 405f 2017-72-09-M9 $5,000

Total $1,118,000
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STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN

PROGRAM JUSTIFICATION, PERFORMANCE GOALS

AND MEASURES

In 2015, 55 pedestrians died in pedestrian-motor vehicle crashes.
This is more than the most recent 5-year average. Fatalities increased
by 31% from 2014. As illustrated in the graph, pedestrians killed or
incapacitated in 2015 totaled 272 people. This represents a 3.6%
increase from the most recent 5-year average. It should be noted that
while the majority of ‘A’ injuries and deaths occur in urban areas—
presumably where the majority of the activity is— a person in a rural
area is two times more likely to die in a serious accident than a
person in an urban area. It is likely that the combination of higher
speeds and a delay in transport to a trauma center explains this

difference.

Pedestrians Killed or Incapacitated
in Collisions with MVs

235 )
> )18 217
204 197
54 57 55
45
| II l ] II |

2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015

I Killed 0 Injured
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Pedestrians Killed & Injured in Collisions
with MVs by Adult Status
29 28
23 24 23 23
2 22 2 9 21
| ‘|10 : : 19 1

2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015

Male Juvenile

[ AdultFemale [ AdultMale [F Female Juvenile

There were 1,226 pedestrian injuries reported in 2015,
which is a 3.2% increase from the most recent five-year
average. Adult men and women make up the largest
number of pedestrians injured in collisions, but the
proportion of male and female juvenile pedestrians who
become injured is higher than that proportion for adults.
This is determined as a rate per 100,000 for each group.

For motor vehicles, a rate is calculated using vehicle miles
traveled (VMT); and for pedestrians and bicyclists, there
is no reliable method of determining the activity rate. In
setting goals and measures, a rate per 100,000 vehicles
is used.

In 2015, 15 bicyclists died in bicycle-motor vehicle
crashes. This is a 63.0% increase from the most recent
5-year average. Fatalities increased 275% from 2014. As
illustrated in the graph, bicyclists killed or incapacitated
in 2015 totaled 91 people. This represents a 14.6%
decrease from the most recent 5-year average.

There were 892 total bicyclist injuries reported in 2015,
which is a 6.2% decrease from the most recent 5-year
average. Adult and juvenile males make up the largest
number of bicyclists injured in collisions, but as a rate
per 100,000 for each group, male juveniles are clearly
overrepresented in injuries as indicated in the chart.

Using Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) data,
there were 45 pedestrian fatalities and 4 bicyclist fatalities
for a combined total of 49 non-motorist fatalities in
2014. Since there were 507 total fatalities using FARS
data, 9.7% of the fatalities in 2014 were non-motorists.
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2006-2015 Pedestrian and Bicyclist Fatalities

FARS Data

Bicyclists & Pedestrians Combined
63 68 62 45 61 69 56

10 12
8 w9 9 | T
55 98 s < 57 1N
53 52
| T
] 7 . 45
Number of 38
Pedestrian Fatalities
[ |
Number of

Bicyclist Fatalities

2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
Bike & Ped Percentage of Total 8.7% 9.0% 10.2% 8.0% 107% 11.9%. 9.1%

Total Fatalities for Wisconsin - 724 756 605 561 572 582 615

8.7% 9.7%

Program Management

This position will coordinate, plan,
and manage the state pedestrian and

bicyclist safety programs. This
® amount includes wage and fringe,
data processing costs, materials and
supplies, training and travel, printing
% and postage. This position will

coordinate, plan, and manage the
Trafhic Records Program. The person
in this position will work closely with
all agencies involved in traffic records
grant funding that collect and make
crash data information available.

(State 562) 2017-8901
507 $87,000

Training and Outreach Program

Schedule Teaching Safe Bicycling (TSB) workshops for
after school program facilitators, youth organizations,
non-profits, law enforcement, and other programs that
will be or have the opportunity to instruct bicycling
training courses/rodeos. Work with TSB instructors and
the Safe Routes to School program to train elementary
and middle school teachers on bicyclist and pedestrian
safety to present sessions in their classes.

(402) 2017-80-03-PS $15,000

Work with the Ped/Bike Coordinator and the Share and
Be Aware program to develop a neighborhood program
to improve walking and biking related to Safe Routes in
Milwaukee.

(402) 2017-80-03-PS $20,000

Provide two or three training workshops throughout the
state on the organization and implementation of
Walking Workshops. Work with Department of health
Services Active Communities Program to conduct
workshops in High Visibility Enforcement communities.
Train community members to organize and conduct
walking workshops in their communities.

(402) 2017-80-03-PS $10,000

Provide three pedestrian safety training workshops by
working with engineers, law enforcement, health care
providers, planners, and advocacy programs to define
and improve pedestrian safety issues in communities that
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Proper Pushb

Placement

ecommends these

dimensions

have not received the training to date. Provide one training in northern Wisconsin and two trainings in the

southern part of the state.

(402) 2017-80-03-PS $30,000

Work with Share and Be Aware and local communities and organizations to provide bicycle training courses and
rodeos.

(402) 2017-80-04-PS $5,000

Law Enforcement

Collaborate with law enforcement agencies to provide, improve the quality, and increase the number of pedestrian
and bicycle safety enforcement and education grants. Fund and increase the number of pedestrian HVE task
force grants. Implement pilot bicycle HVE task force grants. Grants in Milwaukee County will be indicated
using the 2017-80-08-PS identifier.

(402) 2017-80-05-PS $100,000

Train law enforcement personnel to become instructors for the Wisconsin Pedestrian & Bicycle Law Enforcement
Training Course. Include update on MT4000 report and information needed on bicycle and pedestrian crashes.

(402) 2017-80-03-PS $15,000
State 2017-89-01 $87,000
402 2017-80-03-PS $90,000
402 2017-80-04-PS $5,000
402 2017-80-05-PS $100,000

Total $282,000
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- Community Traffic Safety
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CONNECTING

toward zero deaths

=
w \@’- 74

ZERO

IN WISCONSIN

PROGRAM JUSTIFICATION

Program Management

BOTS has four Regional Program Managers (RPMs) that coordinate, plan, and manage the state Community
Trafhic Safety Program. Wage and fringe, data processing costs, materials and supplies, training, travel, printing,
and postage. Continue to provide leadership, training, information, and technical assistance as a liaison between
law enforcement agencies, organizations, and non-profit programs involved in community traffic safety and
WisDOT. The RPMs work closely with all law enforcement agencies (LEAs) involved in the community safety
grant program. The RPMs develop safety initiatives to reduce fatalities and injuries among high-risk groups as
indicated by crash and injury data trends, and they lead WisDOT efforts to increase participation of LEAs in the
quarterly Traffic Safety Commissions (TSCs) in each county. Participation in TSCs is essential for outreach to
LEAs for WisDOT and USDOT policy and programs. Participation by LEAs also allows WisDOT to have a
better understanding of the issues in traffic safety in local communities

(402) 2017-90-01-CP $284,000

Grants Management System Maintenance and Hosting

This will be used to fund the electronic grants management system, Wise-Grants, which manages the grants

distributed by BOTS.
(402) 2017-90-04-CP $110,000
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Outreach Program

Targeted single- or multiple-issue local programs

in communities.

T A K! M G (402) 2017-90-04-CP $15,000
A( I | " N Governor’s Conference on Highway

Safety and Law Enforcement
Act Out - Act Loud - Act Now Recognition Luncheon
This will fund the Governor’s Conference on
Highway Safety. This will also fund the Law
Enforcement Recognition Luncheon and awards. In an effort to save money and better align our program, the

luncheon will be held on the last day of the Governor’s Conference on Highway Safety.

(402) 2017-90-06-CP $375,000

COMMUNITY TRAFFIC SAFETY PROGRAMS—BUDGET SUMMARY

402 2017-90-01-CP $284,000
402 2017-90-04-CP $125,000
402 2017-90-06-CP $375,000

Total $784,000
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Program Management

Coordinate, plan, and manage the state’s program for Paid Media and Public Information and Education (PI&E).
Wage and fringe, data processing costs, materials and supplies, training and travel, printing and postage are
included. Work with Regional Program Managers, Law Enforcement Liaisons, and law enforcement agencies of
all sizes to coordinate PI&E efforts, encourage safe and effective High Visibility Enforcement, and participation

in mobilizations.

(402) 2017-40-01-PT $75,000

Public Information and Education - Occupant Protection

* Review and update information regarding child passenger safety, safety belt materials and other items in
both Spanish and English.

* Create state-specific occupant protection message using CIOT, Zero in W1 and messages targeted at the
unbuckled motor vehicle occupant.

* DPartner with teen safe driving programs to promote young adult driver seat belt use.

* Duplicate print and video materials for distribution to the public.

* Review and update web-based information and materials for accuracy and to reduce printing and dupli-
cation costs.

* Work with employers through the Wisconsin Compensation Rating Bureau and the Wisconsin
Department of Workforce Development to encourage safety belt use for their employees by making it a
work rule. Encourage law enforcement agencies that receive Federal Highway Safety program funds to
develop and enforce an employee safety belt use policy.

(405b) 2017-25-02-M2 $170,000

Outreach Program - Occupant Protection
This program funds maintenance and upkeep for the seatbelt rollover convincer, travel, and a 0.5 LTE position.

(405b) 2017-25-02-M2 $40,000
Communication Program - Impaired Driving

Continue to develop a statewide public information and education campaign to reduce OW1I injuries and fatalities
based on NHTSA’s goals and objectives utilizing various methods such as the Web, print, and TV. Contractual
services for product and placement, printing and postage. Collaborate with partners, revise and update all infor-
mation, identify specific needs and target information to various audiences including Spanish speaking customers.
Use the Website more to reduce production costs. Develop and disseminate “Best Practices” information. Provide
up-to-date educational materials and current data to the public. Collaborate with community prevention organ-
izations to assist them in developing successful evidence based prevention programs.

(405d) 2017-31-02-M5 $220,000

Motorist Awareness and Motorcyclist Conspicuity

This will fund media campaigns that address “May is National Motorcycle Safety Awareness Month” and in
Wisconsin “May is Motorcycle Awareness Month.” These campaigns will promote motorists’ awareness of motor-
cycles in a campaign to “look twice for motorcycles” via radio and television PSAs, posters, and other means.

(405f) 2017-72-02-M9 $50,000
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Public Information and Education - Pedestrian and Bicyclist

Work with partners to keep information up-to-date, add training brochures/information to WisDOT website.
Continue to work with the variety of Drivers Education Programs to ensure beginning drivers receive the correct
pedestrian/bicycle training.

(State 562) 2017-89-02 $11,000

Continue to develop new material that educates all people involved in pedestrian/bicyclist safety. Work in cooper-
ation with Share and Be Aware to develop new training/educational materials.

(State 562) 2017-89-02 $30,000
(402) 2017-80-02-PS $25,000

Public Information and Education - Community Outreach
Contract with DaneNET for production of Traffic Safety Reporter, Web design and distribution costs.
(402) 2017-90-02-CP $70,000

Prevention

Develop relationships with targeted businesses, non-profit organizations, and government agencies to develop,
design, and implement programs focusing on the high-risk behaviors of employees, especially as these behaviors
relate to impaired driving, lack of safety belt use, mobile telephone use while driving, and speeding.

(402) 2017-90-02-CP $25,000
Public Information and Education

Multiple program information outreach.
(402) 2017-90-02-CP $480,000
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Paid Media

Contract for paid media for all major behavioral areas.
(402) 2017-90-07-PM $500,000

(405d) 2017-31-07-PM $250,000
See Appendix 1 for the Paid Media Plan.

MEDIA AND OUTREACH PROGRAM —BUDGET SUMMARY

State 562 2017-89-02 $41,000
402 2017-40-01-PT $75,000
402 2017-80-02-PS $25,000
402 2017-90-02-CP $480,000
402 2017-90-07-PM $500,000
405b 2017-25-02-M2 $210,000
405d 2017-31-02-M5 $220,000
405d 2017-31-07-PM $250,000
405f 2017-72-02-M9 $50,000

Total $1,851,000
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Paid Media Plan

«- Appendix 1:

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN

APPENDIX 1: ~
PAID MEDIA PLAN A\ AFFIRM
WISDOT BUREAU OF TRANSPORTATION SAFETY

REVISED APRIL 22,2016

INTRODUCTION

2015 saw 560 deaths on Wisconsin roads, an 11% increase over 2014. The goal of the Zero in Wisconsin
campaign is to remind the public that even one death on Wisconsin’s highways is too many, so the efforts to
continue to increase awareness and compliance of the law through strategically planed media campaigns must be

maintained.

The current plan will include CLICK IT OR TICKET (May) and DRIVE SOBER OR GET PULLED OVER
(August/September) efforts, as well as three additional initiatives: Distracted Driving, Motorcycle Awareness and

Speeding;:

* Distracted driving, whether it involves texting, cell phone use or any other distraction, continues to be a
major contributor to fatalities and as such will receive a dedicated week of media support in early April,
which is Distracted Driving Awareness Month.

* According to 2012 WisDOT data, motorcycles make up 6% of all registered vehicles yet account for
nearly 19% of all traffic fatalities. Therefore, the new ALL THE GEAR, ALL THE TIME motorcycle
safety spot produced last fall will run in April just as the 2016 riding season is kicking off.

* Speeding contributed to over 29% of all fatal crashes, killing 165 people and injuring many others
according to 2013 WisDOT statistics. In an effort to help bring this statistic down and to go along with
enhanced enforcement during the July 4th Holiday, we will run the Tortoise & the Snare YOU SPEED,
YOU LOSE creative in late June/early July.

MEDIA OVERVIEW

With the proliferation of media choices, radio and TV ratings have been trending downward — 7he Big Bang
Theory, a successful program by anyone’s measure, is averaging a 3.9 A18-49 rating in the current season compared
to a 5.0 A18-49 rating in 2013, about a 25% decrease. Are people watching the program? Absolutely! It’s just
now they’re watching it “On Demand” or streaming it either directly from the network or via one of the video
streaming services. None of these other services are currently measured by Nielsen.

Adding to the challenge, 2016 is a political year and political advertising dollars are projected to be up 20% from
past presidential elections. Most campaign dollars will be allocated to broadcast TV, but other forms of media,
including Cable and Digital, are expecting to see a significant increase in spending. Although all campaigns will
be affected, those most impacted will be Distracted Driving and Motorcycle Awareness (April) and the August
DRIVE SOBER initiatives.

Cable TV is facing another challenge - that of cord cutting: people essentially dropping cable in favor of streaming
services. As people consume television content via streaming sources, they no longer subscribe to local cable.
This is especially prevalent within the younger 18-34 segment of the TV audience. Cable penetration has been
trending down, particularly in larger markets like Madison and Milwaukee, which is negatively affecting cable

television ratings performance as well.

The result of these new ways of consuming television content and meeting the challenge of political advertising,
is that fewer ratings points are available and, since demand is increasing, those that are available will be priced
higher than in the past.
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AFFIRM is used to these political challenges, having been through them many times before, including in 2008
and 2012 for WisDOT. Therefore, our recommended ZERO IN WISCONSIN media program will include
strategies to offset these challenges. First, we have reduced the target TRPs (M18-34 target rating points) in
television for each campaign. To offset those lower TRPs we are slightly increasing radio TRPs and recommending
stronger programs on Pandora and online video, two tactics that are preferred by the targeted younger segment
of the population.

General Target Audience:

The primary target for these campaigns will be men, 18-34 years of age. This group is involved in a higher
percentage of crashes overall and, according to the 2013 Wisconsin Traffic Crash Facts, are about three times
more likely than women of that same age to be involved in fatal car crashes. W18-34 and Drivers 35+ will

comprise the secondary target.

Media Tactics:

Men 18-34 have been the most difficult of these target audiences to reach, even before the recent migration to
the digital world. To determine which tactics would be most successful in these efforts, we use available research
from Scarborough, Nielsen and other syndicated sources.

Scarborough ranks media usage from heaviest to lightest. We pulled M18-34, W18-34 and A35-54 to determine
commonalities between these groups. From this information (Scarborough Research August 2013 — July 2015),
we found the following:

* M18-34 are 44% more likely than the general population to be among those who travel the most miles

within a given week

* 47% of males 18-34, 35% of females 18-34 and 48% of adults 35-54 fall into the heaviest quintiles for
radio listening ~ All targets fall into the average to light television viewing quintiles, although A35-54 are
most likely to fall into the “average” viewing quintile Internet use is heaviest among the 18-34 segment:

* 61% of men fall into the heaviest use quintiles
* 57% of women are defined as heavy users

* 41% of A35-54 are defined as heavy users

* Pandora radio has the heaviest penetration in this market with 38% of M18-34 and 49% of W18-34

listening to this streaming service

* iHeartRadio and Spotify are gaining on Pandora but still do not have the subscriber base to challenge
them in this market

* M18-34 are more likely to use the Internet or apps on their Smartphone to watch video; with YouTube
having a significant lead over Hulu
* W18-34 and A35-54 are more likely to access social networking sites

* 80% of the population currently uses a Smartphone

Despite the proliferation of “new” media, Nielsen quarterly Total Audience Report (December 2015) indicates
that traditional TV and Radio continue to be the best way to reach the largest possible audience. It also shows
that media consumption among 18-34 year olds is different from those of 35-49 or 50-64 year olds, spending
less time with traditional TV and more time viewing video content online. The following illustrates the amount
of time each group spends consuming media on a weekly basis (15:30 = 15 hours and 30 minutes):
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Age Group 18-24 25-34 35-49 50-64

Traditional TV 15:30 21:10 28:41 39:21
Time-Shifted (DVR) 1:32 2:44 3:44 3:55
Online Video 1:35 2:00 1:42 1:12
Video on Smartphone 0:39 0:24 0:17 0:0
Any App/Smartphone 11:44 10:37 10:24 7:51
AM/FM Radio 9:53 11:17 13:24 14:51

This report also includes data on African American & Hispanic audiences, reporting monthly time spent:

* African Americans spend more time with traditional TV and viewing online video than the general

audience

* Hispanic TV viewing is lower than the general audience while viewing online video is about equal to the

general audience

* Radio listening among Hispanics is higher than that of the general audience As the data shows, “tradi-
tional” media is still used by our target. The percentage of budget allocated to digital tactics, especially
mobile, will continue to grow. Following are the tactics that will be used for each of the campaigns:

Broadcast Television:

As illustrated in the Total Audience Report, television remains the one medium that can reach all demographic
groups. Time spent watching traditional TV has actually remained relatively stable across all demographic groups.
Males 16 and older are particular in their viewing habits but can be reached via sports programming and comedies.
Popular comedies in syndication include 7he Big Bang Theory, Family Guy, The Office, The Simpsons, Seinfeld,
Anger Management and Two and a Half Men. These air on local stations in Prime Access and Late Fringe, and
can also be found on Cable.

Because each market in Wisconsin differs in the amount and type of syndicated programming offered, we are
proposing a daypart mix that allows for flexibility in utilizing the most effective programs that appeal to young
men in each market:

* Recommended daypart mix include Prime/Sports (40-70%), Prime Access (5-15%) and Late Fringe (25-
45%.)

Cable Television:

Cable will again be relied upon to provide additional programming opportunities that appeal to these young
men. Cable penetration varies greatly by market and in some markets is challenged by alternate delivery systems
(ADS). It is now possible to run local advertising on AT&T and DirectTV homes in the Milwaukee market,
which will greatly improve penetration in that market. Other markets are expected to follow, but until they do
our ability to reach cable viewers with local commercials in these more rural markets will continue to be impaired.

Cable Networks focusing on sports, comedy and music will be among those used in our buys. Adult Swim,
Comedy Central and FX may remain constant in our campaigns, but we'll also look into other networks that
carry male-oriented programming,.

Radio:

As shown by research, Radio remains an effective way to reach both the primary and secondary targets. 7he
advantage of radio for WisDOT s efforts is that it reaches drivers while they are in their cars, giving us an opportunity
to influence them as they drive. Again, using Scarborough Research, it was determined that there are only slight
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variations in listening habits among the audiences. Dayparts index as follows (read as M18-34 are 19% more
likely to be listening to radio 7p-12a than the general population):

Men 18-34 Women 18-34 Adults 35-54
Listen 6a-10a 103 81 121
Listen 10a-3p 103 83 118
Listen 3p-7p 107 108 121
Listen 7p-12a 122 116 104
Listen Weekends 98 108 16

* The recommended daypart mix will include: 20% morning drive (6a-9a), 20% mid-day (9a- 3p), 30%
afternoon drive (3p-7p), 20% evening (7p-12a) and 10% weekends.

AFFIRM is recommending the inclusion of stations with signals large enough to cover the rural areas as well as
the metropolitan areas to maximize geographic reach. Example stations are included at the end of this proposal.

Formats most popular with M18-34 include:
* Album Oriented/Active Rock
e Alternative
¢ Country
* Sports
e Pop/Contemporary Hit Radio
e Urban Contemporary

Milwaukee Brewers Statewide Radio will be included in
the CLICK IT OR TICKET, YOU SPEED, YOU
LOSE, and DRIVE SOBER OR GET PULLED OVER
enforcement efforts. This network, which is hosted by
WTM]J-AM, provides statewide coverage. :30 second
spots will air in approximately 20 games during the three

BREWERS RADIO NETWORK

rew Bhvwr.
flight periods. okt o s
- g ey |
Digital: . WL e i
As the Scarborough research shows, individuals between 0. w~d BN
. . . "’E o
18 and 34 have embraced the new digital technologies mogame 3 o R
- - i o L
and often choose to view content by streaming it through iz o PR T e
their laptops, game consoles, tablets and Smartphones. GRS R BT R P
They are less likely to subscribe to cable, and more likely o Pl v s
. . . g B a™ Wooo | PoATASE . WOUX-FN
to subscribe to Netflix, Amazon Prime, Roku or Hulu. o S T
. . .. . reaEAl RIS ey S WOMT-AM
Online video advertising effectiveness has been found to = . Be B
. . .. . . WTY-AM & oI o . o WHBL:
outperform typical display banner advertising with this L e e omhe
younger demo. Video can be found on almost every s |
publisher site, in addition to those video sites like Hulu, Pl | qagy s A /%
. . Wapc£ o ol R p AR
YouTube or now Pandora and Spotify. Video can be i e e S RO AL
placed as pre-roll (running prior to the desired video), RS e | v | WA o ;

mid-roll or at the end with pre-roll being the most
common of the three. The most often used lengths are
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Category Sample Apps Category

Sl At :15 or :30 seconds with :15 second

Utilities &

m— units  typically  having  higher
mroducany | B B % ool w Mot ! ’ ’ completion rates — averaging 76% of

o — users watching all :15 seconds

_— m @ @ Ama B m - - compared to 65% of :30 second users.
A G hay _— The first :05 seconds cannot be clicked

Fhastes [rre=rwy

Ap | B3 o 2 through, so it’s important to “grab” the
O . . .
— ,... ] < g { user in that short time to increase

viewing. Interestingly, completion rates
do not vary by age group, although
men are slightly more likely to watch a
complete video than women. Research
from TubeMogul shows that pre-roll

video significantly drives brand
awareness and favorability among 18-
34 year olds. With the acceptance of

programmatic or RTB targeting, we can reach our target audience wherever they
are viewing video, not just if they use Hulu to catch up on their favorite program.
Predictive buying techniques enable us to reach the audience with ‘people vs. places’
play wherever their searches take them on the Internet. Targeting will include age
and gender, as well as location such as proximity to sports arenas and
restaurants/bars. Hulu will remain a part of the campaign where the older segments
of the target audience may likely go to access video.

Hyperlocal targeting will be used to deliver the ZERO IN WISCONSIN message

within mobile display. This uses consumer’s GPS, WiFi and cell tower triangulation

Ji
h U W U to get an exact read on their location, enabling us to deliver our ad message within

mobile apps.

The Hulu Audience by Platform

8.6MM

13.3MM

PANDORA

Following is a sample list of apps that might be used:

This program will target an area where our audience
spends their time, in this case around bars/clubs,
restaurants and sporting venues. The program will
T “geo-fence” an area within a given radius of these
locations and will be further optimized using day
parting and contextual cues such as day of week and

time of day.

This targeting capability can be used in both large and small markets,
ensuring reach throughout the state of Wisconsin. The tactic is
impression-based and analytics will be furnished at the end of each
flight as proof of performance.

Digital tactics will be used in the CLICK IT OR TICKET, DRIVE
SOBER OR GET PULLED OVER and YOU
SPEED, YOU LOSE efforts. The recommended

Audio Everywhere

program will be entirely focused on mobile,
including tablets, mirroring the media usage of the
M18-34 target. Overall the campaign will deliver
9,140,000 mobile impressions and 760,000 video
impressions. Video impressions will be priced on a

ST
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cost per completed view basis (CPCv) to maximize budget. CPCv requires 100% completion or the program
will not be charged for that impression.

Hulu streaming online video remains a key part of our recommendation because almost 95% of viewers watch
the entire advertisement. Hulu typically loads one 15 second video commercial in front of the requested video,
which isn’t much for the viewer to sit through to get to their program. Compared to the size of a commercial
pod on broadcast television, where one can get up, get refreshments, change clothes, etc., it’s very effective. Hulu
carries content from more than 500 partners including ABC, CBS, NBC, CW, Fox, Univision, NFL Network,
NASA Television, and nuvo among others. It is ranked first by ComScore for total video views, beating YouTube,
delivering more videos than the six major broadcast network sites combined. 45% of their viewers are 18-34,
71% are 18-49 (June 2015 data).

Hulu bills off 100% completions, and historically 98% of those who start the video, watched the entire video.
52% of Hulu viewers recall seeing the ad compared to 44% of those on broadcast TV. Hulu programs run across
all platforms:

to streaming music on their Smartphone or tablet. Common streaming sources include Pandora, which is the
recommended streaming service in our campaigns, iHeart Radio, and Spotify.

Listeners can listen to pre-formatted “radio stations”, or fashion their own, based on their music preferences.
Consumers must register for these sites, so listener/viewer demographics and geographic location are available.
On free sites, an audio commercial runs about four times an hour, and delivers only one 15 or 30 second
commercial at a time. iHeart Radio is offered via iHeart Media (formerly Clear Channel Radio), which owns
and operates over 850 stations throughout the country. For this year, Pandora remains the streaming source of
choice. ComScore reports that Pandora is the second most used app by Millennials, trailing only Facebook in
usage time. It has higher penetration rates in Wisconsin than either iHeart or Spotify. Most importantly, Pandora
has greater geo-targeting capabilities, allowing us to target ZERO IN WISCONSIN ads based on their subscriber’s
location.

On streaming services, users must listen to the entire commercial in order to get to the next song. Banners
accompany the commercial, which click through to the advertiser’s website. AFFIRM has successfully used
Pandora in the past five years as part of the CLICK IT OR TICKET campaign, utilizing :15 audio of the Donald
Driver seat belt ad along with corresponding banner ads that click thru

Wilco Radio

to a “Driver Safety Quiz” hosted on ZerolnWisconsin.gov. Pandora
users who clicked on the banners and successfully take the quiz are
entered to win an autographed Donald Driver football. This combi-
nation of targeted messaging and online engagement generated 5,100
entries and, more importantly, protracted interaction with the CLICK

Take IT ORTICKET campaign.
th e . r ve‘ Pandora’s Display Everywhere option includes :30 or :15 audio that is
u accompanied by a 500 x 500 tile that is served every time a user
s afety q u I Z interacts with the application — skipping a track, adjusting volume,
thumb-up or down a selection, etc. A 300 x 250 banner displays while
to win an autographed football! the next song is playing as added value. Pandora will serve ads via all
platforms, PC, Mobile, Tablet, Connected Homes and in Connected
) Cars. An annual rate has been negotiated. The annual plan also will
0:00 — 0:15 include 490,000 bonus ad impressions (300 x 250 unit). Pandora has

Your station will be right back |

towin an

Take

£ the Driver s Bz o
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302,805 unique listeners, approximately 46% of all men 18-34 in Wisconsin. Approximately 4.0 million impres-
sions will run among four designated flights: May CIOT, July SPEEDING, and August DRIVE SOBER.

As in previous years, AFFIRM underscores the importance of creating synergy between our Wisconsin
statewide enforcement mobilization media buys and the national program placed by NHTSA. We are
requesting a copy of the national buy with specific programming and dates to ensure that we are supporting
and not duplicating any NHTSA efforts.

The following campaign summaries are our initial recommendations for the 2016-17 enforcement mobilization media
buy campaigns and are based on current programming and ratings information. These may change as we get closer to
the planning period and may be replaced with programs with similar audience deliveries. The first three campaigns are
closely timed and efficiencies may be realized by negotiating all three at once. Any cost efficiencies realized will be re-
directed to buy either more ratings for that campaign or moved to another campaign to ensure deliveries for that buy.
More detailed buy summaries will be provided no later than two weeks prior to the start of each campaign.

2016 DISTRACTED DRIVING CAMPAIGN STRATEGIC PLAN
Dates: April 11 - 17, 2016 | Budget: $101,912 | Market List:

* Milwaukee PAY ATTENTION

* Madison
* Fox Valley: Appleton, Oshkosh, Green Bay ax PAY THE PRICE.

e Wausau, Stevens Point, Rhinelander
e Fau Claire, La Crosse
* (Duluth, Superior is bought by MinDOT as part of that DMA)

Demographic:

* Primary: M18-34

* Secondary: A18-34, A25-54
Gross Rating Point (GRP) Goals:

e Television: Minimum of 75 TRPs

¢ Radio: Minimum of 150 TRPs
Media:

¢ :30 Television/Cable

¢ :60 Radio

DISTRACTED DRIVING CAMPAIGN STRATEGY AND MEDIA MIX:

Crash experience shows men, 18-24 year olds have the highest incidence of distracted driving, while distracted
walking affects those of all ages. For the purposes of this plan, the primary target will be M18-34 with a secondary
target of A18+.

According to NHTSA, pedestrians were one of the few road users to experience an increase in fatalities in the
U.S., so this campaign has been expanded to include pedestrians as well as drivers. Texting and phone calls are
the two most commonly known distractions by both groups and our messaging will focus on the need for both
groups to pay more attention to their surroundings and less to their phones and other distractions such as eating,
drinking, and “primping”.

The included media will include television, cable, and radio.

Television:

75 M18-34 rating points will be purchased in broadcast TV, supplemented with targeted cable. Keeping to our
recommended daypart mix, programming may include: 7he Big Bang Theory, Family Guy, Seinfeld, The Simpsons
and Two and a Half Men. Prime programs vary by season.
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Late fringe programming has a strong male following. Popular shows include: 7he Tonight Show starring Jimmy
Fallon, Late Night with Seth Meyers, Jimmy Kimmel Live and Saturday Night Live.

Sports programming is destination viewing for our target audience. Auto racing is one of the best ways to reach
young males during April, with NASCAR extending into the broader demographic as well. Also airing in this
time would be Major League baseball and the NBA.

Again, while the priority is reaching the young male viewer, it’s important to note that most of these same
programs will reach our secondary audiences as well as or in the case of A25-54 possibly better than our primary
target!

Cable:
While cable penetration varies by market, it provides additional programming opportunities that appeal to the
hard-to-reach young men. Cable offers targeted options, ideally designed to reach our target audience. Networks
that index very high against our target (Scarborough Research) include: ESPN, FX, Adult Swim, Comedy
Central, USA and TNT. Some of these same networks index well against our W18-34 and A25-54 secondary
targets.

Radio:

150 M18-34 TRPs will be purchased in each market to support this message. 60% of the radio commercials will
run in afternoon drive, evening and weekends to correspond with the target’s listening patterns. The remaining
40% will run in morning drive and mid-day which will expand reach to the secondary targets while providing
additional frequency to the young male.

Radio formats will include Country, Rock, Alternative or Triple AAA, Contemporary Hit and Urban radio
stations. The state’s largest FM stations will be utilized, most of which are 50,000 — 100,000 watts, which will
ensure penetration into Wisconsin’s 72 counties.

T 10i-s NP

Classic Rock Thar ROCkS
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Wisconsin Department of Transportation
2016 Distracted Driving

Flight Dates: 4/11-4/17/16 :
Media: 28 | 4|11 | 18| TRPs Budget:
TELEVISION (:30)
75 TRPs M18-34 per market
EauClaire/La Crosse 75 $8,250.00
Green Bay/Appleton 75 $12,525.00
Madison 75 $12,525.00
Milwaukee 75 $22,.875.00
Wausau/Stevens Point 75 $8,250.00
$64,425.00
RADIO (:60)
150 TRPs M18-34 per market
Eau Claire 150 $4,050.00
Green Bay/Appleton/Oshkosh 150 $8,250.00
La Crosse 150 $3,750.00
Madison 150 $8,700.00
Milwaukee 150 $16,500.00
Wausau 150 $4,500.00
$45,750.00
Total Gross: $110,175.00
Less DOT Discount: $8,263.13
Total Distracted Driving Campaign: $101,911.88

2016 MOTORCYCLE AWARENESS CAMPAIGN STRATEGIC PLAN
Dates: April 25 — May 1, 2016 | Budget: $73,584 | Market List:
* Milwaukee
* Madison
* Fox Valley: Appleton, Oshkosh, Green Bay

e Wausau, Stevens Point, Rhinelander

* Eau Claire, La Crosse

* (Duluth, Superior is bought by MinDOT as part of that DMA)
Demographic:

* Primary: M18-34
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* Secondary: A18-34, A25-54
Gross Rating Point (GRP) Goals:

e Television: Minimum of 50 TRDPs

¢ Radio: Minimum of 120 TRDPs
Media:

¢ :30 Television/Cable

¢ :60 Radio

MOTORCYCLE AWARENESS CAMPAIGN STRATEGY AND MEDIA MIX:

The goal of this campaign is to promote safe riding by motorcyclists and encourage all drivers to be aware of the
need to share the road with motorcyclists. According to the most recent data available, while the number of
motorcycle crashes has decreased by about 3% from 2013 to 2014, the number of injuries hasn't significantly
changed. It’s important to reinforce the need to follow simple safe driving procedures to keep the rate of injuries
and deaths down.

The included media will be television (broadcast and cable) and radio targeted to reach males between the ages
of 18 and 34. Men are more than five times more likely to have a motorcycle license than women, and those in
the 18-34 demographic are more likely to be involved in a crash.

As a result, media tactics will continue to focus on young males as our primary audience, but as we want other
drivers to watch out for motorcyclists, our secondary target of A25 -54 will expand our message reach. Media
tactics for this campaign include:

Television:

50 M18-34 rating points will be purchased in broadcast TV, supplemented with targeted cable. As this comes
two weeks after the Distracted Driving campaign, the program mix will include many of the same syndicated
programs including: 7he Big Bang Theory, Family Guy, Seinfeld, The Simpsons and Two and a Half. Prime programs
will be added as available during these flight dates.

Late fringe programming would again include: 7he Tonight Show starring Jimmy Fallon, Late Night with Seth
Meyers, Jimmy Kimmel Live and Saturday Night Live. Sports programming would also be a continuation of the
previous campaign incorporating NASCAR, Major League baseball and the NBA.

Cable Television:

The Cable buy might include programming on: ESPN, FX, Adult Swim, Comedy Central, USA, TNT and NBC
Sports. Many of the popular comedies mentioned earlier will be included in the cable buy as appropriate, but
we'll look at other programing to reach bikers such as Motorcycle Racing on FXI and Duck Dynasty on A&E.
(See sample program list)

Radio:

Motorcycles, like cars, are equipped with radios thus the message will extend to both automobile and motorcycle
riders. To cover the entire state of Wisconsin, we will look to the same mix of local stations with strong signal
reach to cover the broadest geography possibly, supplementing if necessary to extend reach. 120 M18-34 TRPs
will be purchased in each market to support this message. 50% of the radio commercials will run in afternoon
drive, evening and weekends to correspond with the target’s listening patterns. The remaining 50% will run in
morning drive and mid-day which will expand reach to the secondary targets while providing additional frequency
to the young male.

Radio formats will include Country, Rock, Alternative or Triple AAA, Contemporary Hit and Urban radio
stations. The state’s largest FM stations will be utilized, most of which are 50,000 — 100,000 watts, which will
ensure penetration into Wisconsin’s 72 counties.
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Flight Dates: 4/25-5/1/16
Media: 25 | 2|0|16| 23| TRPS | Budget:
Television (:30)
50 TRPs M18-34 per market
EauClaire/La Crosse 50 $5,500.00
Green Bay/Appleton 50 $8,350.00
Madison 50 $8,350.00
Milwaukee 50 $15,250.00
Wausau/Stevens Point 50 $5,500.00
$42,950.00
RADIO (:60)
120 TRPs M18-34 per market
Eau Claire 120 $3,240.00
Green Bay/Appleton/Oshkosh 120 $6,600.00
La Crosse 120 $3,000.00
Madison 120 $6,960.00
Milwaukee 120 $13,200.00
Wausau 120 $3,600.00
$36,600.00
Total Gross: $79,550.00
Less DOT Discount: $5,966.25
Total Motorcycle Safety Campaign: $73,583.75

2016 CLICKIT ORTICKET (CIOT) CAMPAIGN STRATEGIC PLAN:
Dates: May 9 — May 30, 2016 | Budget: $279,711 | Market List:

e Milwaukee

* Madison

* Fox Valley: Appleton, Oshkosh, Green Bay

¢ Wausau, Stevens Point, Rhinelander

* Eau Claire, La Crosse

* (Duluth, Superior is bought by MinDOT as part of that DMA)
Demographic:

* Primary: Males 18-34,

* General Market, African American & Hispanic

* Secondary: Influencers of the primary demographic

* Qualitative: Pick-up Truck Drivers
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Gross Rating Point (GRP) Goals:

L]
* Television: Minimum of 175 Take it from a Drlver
e Radio: Minimum of 225 who always wears
Media: his Seat belt.
e :30 Television/Cable
¢ :60 Radio

¢ :15 Internet Radio and Banners (Pandora)

¢ :30 Internet Video and Banners

CIOT STRATEGY AND MEDIA MIX:

The most recent (WisDOT Field Observation Research, July
2015) data shows seat belt usage has increased to 85.8% from
the 2013 level of 82.3%. Although an improvement, it still lags
the national average of 87% (2014 US Department of Trans-
portation Trafhc Safety Facts.) The primary demographic for € O

Y0 sl “h'ver

seat belt efforts is men between the ages of 18 and 34. Women wsoagim
eit,

are 10% more likely than men to wear their seat belts.

Occupants of pick-up trucks are least likely to use seat belts.
Only 68% of those drivers or occupants wore seat belts. A
secondary target of truck drivers will be included in our media

evaluations.

The message of CLICK IT OR TICKET resonates with the

young male target: getting a ticket and the financial conse-

quences of paying it has a more immediate impact on this demographic than life-saving messaging. Of all people
surveyed, persons aged 18-34 and those 65 and over were most likely to respond that they felt theyd get a ticket
if they werent wearing one, proving they do remember the message. Media efforts will also include the secondary
market of influencers. Both the television and radio buys will be broad enough to include other demographics;
such as girlfriends, mothers, fathers and friends of the targeted young males.

Media tactics for this campaign will include television, radio including internet radio, mobile display and video.

CIOT Broadcast Television:

May marks the end of the broadcast network’s prime programming season and there are many series finales and
specials running during this time that attract strong audiences. In order to take advantage of these larger audiences
with original programming, it is recommended that we start the CIOT effort on May 9th in order to take
advantage of prime finales and sports programs. PUT levels (People Using Television), decline in the spring as
daylight hours (and outdoor activities) increase providing another reason for an earlier start to our media efforts.

The television flight will end on May 29th . 175 M18-34 rating points will be purchased for this campaign.

Syndicated programming, 7he Big Bang Theory, Family Guy, Modern Family, The Simpsons, Seinfeld, and Two and
a Half Men which air in prime access and late fringe, continue to attract the M18-34 target. About 40% of the
TRPs will be scheduled in these dayparts.

Sports programming remains a strong option during this time period. It is destination viewing for our primary
audience. One of the best sports to reach this demographic this time of year is auto racing, including NASCAR.
NASCAR’s popularity cuts all demographics and lifestyles. During this campaign, the Indy 500 Race, Major
League Baseball and the NBA Playoffs will be considered.
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This programming will be reaching the “influencers” as well: parents, teachers, coaches and girlfriends. Older
adults tend to spend more time watching television in general. And many of the prime programs, syndicated
comedies and late fringe programming that are reaching our primary target of young males, appeal to females
and older adults, too.

Cable Television:
This flight may include cable networks that focus on sports or comedy; two of the most important things to

young men. Some of the top networks for our demographic include ESPN, Comedy Central, Adult Swim, FX,
History, TBS, USA and Discovery.

Many of the popular comedies in syndication that we previously mentioned such as The Big Bang Theory, Family
Guy, and The Office are also offered on cable networks including Adult Swim and TBS. Specific programming
that attracts male audiences, such as Swamp People and Pawn Stars on History and Tosh.0 on Comedy Central.
(See sample program list.)

Radio:

Radio listening peaks during the busy summer season simply because people are more active and on the move.
The advantage of radio is a clear one for the CIOT message: it’s the only medium that effectively reaches
individuals in their cars, when they may or may not be wearing a seat belt. Therefore, we're able to reach them
and remind them to buckle up at a critical decision point. Influencers riding in the car may take the opportunity
to “nag” the offender.

* The daypart mix will include the standard dayparts of 25% Morning (6am-9am), 20% Mid-day (10am-
3pm), 30% Afternoon drive (4pm-6pm) and 15% Weekends (Saturday and Sunday daytime). In addition,
10% Evenings (7pm-2am) will be included to reach individuals that are headed out to bars, sporting
events, or other entertainment venues, since they are associated with alcohol consumption.

This daypart mix allows us to reach both segments of our target audience efficiently and effectively.

Radio will start the week of May 16 and run through Memorial Day. 225 M18-34 TRPs will be scheduled during
this period. Station mix will remain constant focusing on those that most effectively reach our target audiences.
Milwaukee Brewer’s statewide radio will be included as part of the summer buys (CIOT, Speeding and DRIVE
SOBER.)

Digital:

Digital will take on an increased importance during this period. Pandora and Hulu will be included in this buy.
To more effectively target the African American driver, who research has shown to be less compliant than the
general market in the use of safety belts, we've added a separate African American target in our online buys for
this campaign. While this audience is implicit in our overall targeting, calling it out as a separate line item will
ensure effective reach against this specific demographic. All buys are impression based. Planning levels for these

tactics:
Pandora:

* 3,080,000 impressions geo-targeted to M18-34
Hulu:

* 520,000 Impressions geo-targeted to M18-34
Mobile Display/Pre-roll:

* 4.4 million impressions geo-targeted to M18-34
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Wisconsin Department of Transportation
2016 CIOT

Flight Dates: 5/9-5/30/16

Media: 25 | 2|0]16|23|30]|6| TRPS Budget:
TELEVISION (:30)
175 TRPs M18-34 per market
EauClaire/La Crosse 175 $19,250.00
Green Bay/Appleton 175 $29,225.00
Madison 175 $29,225.00
Milwaukee 175 $53,375.00
Wausau/Stevens Point 175 $79,250.00
$150,325.00
RADIO (:60)
225 TRPs M18-34 per market
Eau Claire 225 $6,075.00
Green Bay/Appleton/Oshkosh 225 $12,375.00
La Crosse 225 $5,625.00
Madison 225 $13,050.00
Milwaukee 225 $24,750.00
Wausau 225 $6,750.00
$68,625.00
ONLINE
Streaming Radio (:30) $22,500.00
Online Video/Display $60,940.00
$83,440.00
Brewer Radio Network
Total Gross: $302,390.00
Less DOT Discount: $22,679.25
Total CIOT Campaign: $279,710.75

JULY 4TH YOU SPEED, YOU LOSE ENFORCEMENT CAMPAIGN:
Dates: June 27 — July 10, 2016 | Budget: $63,499 | Market List:

* Milwaukee

* Madison

* Fox Valley: Appleton, Oshkosh, Green Bay

* Wausau, Stevens Point, Rhinelander

e Fau Claire, La Crosse

¢ (Duluth, Superior is bought by MinDOT as part of that DMA)
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Demographic:
* Primary: Males 18-34
* Secondary: Influencers of the primary demographic
Gross Rating Point (GRP)
* Radio : Minimum of 150 TRPs
Medjia:
* :60 Radio
e :15 Internet Radio and banners (Pandora or similar)
* :15 or :30 Pre-Roll Video
* Geo-Fence Online Display

SPEED ENFORCEMENT CAMPAIGN MEDIA STRATEGY:

Young men between the ages of 18-34 continues to be the prime
demographic for the enforcement message as this age group has
the highest concentration of fatalities. But we will not ignore
women or those 35+ as they are not immune to driving over the
speed limit. Media weight against these secondary targets will be
considered when making the final vehicle selection.

The timing of this campaign around the 4th of July holiday, does
not recommend itself to television as PUT levels (people using
television) are at the lowest levels of the year. For that reason,
television is not a recommended tactic for this campaign. In place
of television, an increased pre-roll video emphasis is recom-
mended. This tactic is becoming the preferred Millennials are
consuming media, and research from the IAB (Internet Adver-
tising Bureau) shows they are receptive to ad messages placed
within video content.

Recommended tactics for this program include Radio and online
including Pandora.

Radio:

Slow it down)

Wisconsin®_«
because when

g

you speéd you lose s

k"& ZernInWlsconsin gov/speeding

150 M18-34 TRPs will be purchased during this one week campaign. Radio listening increases in the summer

months as radio is available on many platforms all of which can be carried to tailgates, picnics and other outdoor

activities.

Daypart weight will be stronger evenings and weekends, when most people are out and about. Formats will
include: Rock, Classic Rock, AAA, Contemporary Hit Radio, Sports, Country and Urban (some sample stations
shown below). Media weight will vary slightly by market, but each will achieve 150 TRPs over the campaign.
Brewer’s statewide radio will be included as part of the statewide radio effort.

- l '_"--j . "-..
1028

THE HOG

e S THE ROCKIN APPLE
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Digital (Pre-Roll/Geo-Fence)/Pandora Radio:

Digital assets pre-roll, geo-fence mobile display and Pandora radio will be included as part of this campaign. Pre-
roll video will fill in needed media weight to the M18-34 at this time. Online video will run on mobile/tablet
platforms and will be bought programmatically to maximize reach against this target. Over 1.1 million statewide
impressions will be delivered via these tactics during this campaign. Pandora radio will also be scheduled during
this campaign. A total of 1,029,000 impressions, a combination of audio and display, will be purchased during
this time period. Impressions are geo-targeted to reach M18-34 residing in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
2016 Speed Enforcement

Flight Dates: 6/27-7/10/16

Media: 27| 4 | 11|18 [25] TRPs Budget:

TELEVISION (:30)

0 TRPs M18-34 per market

EauClaire/La Crosse

Green Bay/Appleton

Madison

Milwaukee

Wausau/Stevens Point

RADIO (:60)

150 TRPs M18-34 per market

Eaqu Claire 150 $4,050.00

Green Bay/Appleton/Oshkosh 150 $8,250.00

La Crosse 150 $3,750.00

Madison 150 $8,700.00

Milwaukee 150 $16,500.00

Wausau 150 $4,500.00
$45,750.00

ONLINE

Streaming Radio (:30) $7,647.25

Online Video/Display $15,250.00
$22,897.25

Brewer Radio Network

Total Gross: $68,647.25

Less DOT Discount: $5,148.54

Total Speed Enforcement Campaign: $63,498.71
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2016 DRIVE SOBER OR GET PULLED OVER CAMPAIGN STRATEGIC PLAN:
Dates: August 15 — September 5, 2016 | Budget: $262,676 | Market List:

* Milwaukee

* Madison

* Fox Valley: Appleton, Oshkosh, Green Bay

e Wausau, Stevens Point, Rhinelander

¢ Eau Claire, La Crosse ‘
* (Duluth, Superior is bought by MinDOT as part of that DMA) -‘Q.-

hic:
Demographic nHIVE snBEH 0“
* Primary: Males 21-40 (For media buying purposes 18-34) GET P“lLEn OVEH

* General Market, African American & Hispanic V—
* Secondary: Influencers of the primary demographic
Gross Rating Point (GRP) Goals:

e Television: Minimum of 150
¢ Radio: Minimum of 225

Media:
¢ :30 Television/Cable
¢ :60 Radio
¢ :15 Internet Radio and banners (Pandora or similar)
¢ :15 & :30 Internet Video and banners (HULU)

DRIVE SOBER OR GET PULLED OVER (DRIVE SOBER) STRATEGY/MEDIA MIX:

For general planning, which will support NHTSA national efforts, a mix of broadcast television, cable television,
radio and digital tactics (radio/video/mobile) will be used. We will continue to target young males between the
ages of 21 and 40 per BOTS guidelines, but for media buying purposes the target is defined as M18-34. There
is a growing amount of research that points to the fact the gender gap is closing in terms of impaired driving,
therefore our secondary audience will be defined as W18-34.

Qualitatively, AFFIRM will also look at media tactics that successfully target the African American and Hispanic
male. Hispanic cable and radio stations in Green Bay, Madison and Milwaukee, where two-thirds of Wisconsin’s
Hispanic population resides, will be included as part of this campaign.

Broadcast Television & Cable:

Broadcast television will be a key tactic as viewing levels begin to increase in late summer. The recommended
daypart mix will be Prime/Sports (40-70%), Prime Access (5-15%) and Late Fringe (25-45%.) While Network
viewing is still at lower levels, selected Cable and Sports, including Packers pre-season games, tend to deliver
our M18-34 target audience at consistent levels. Since drinking and sports are connected on a very basic level
(hence the amount of beer commercials and signage seen during sporting events) it’s a natural and effective
environment for airing an impaired driver message. It’s likely we will be reaching drivers at the moment they’re
becoming impaired at house parties and sports bars.

150 M18-34 TRPs will be purchased during this period.
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Radio:

Radio is again an important medium for this demographic due to its portability. This age group is active and on
the go, and a medium that accompanies them in their car is important. For this campaign, radio commercials
will be stacked leading into the weekend (Thursday through Saturday), and on Labor Day, since these are tradi-
tionally the highest days for drinking. Since this medium reaches people in their cars, it can be an effective tool
to remind passengers and drivers alike of the dangers of impaired driving.

* The daypart mix will include the standard dayparts of 25% Morning (6am-9am), 20% Mid-day (10am-
3pm), 30% Afternoon drive (4pm-6pm) and 15% Weekends (Saturday and Sunday daytime). In addition,
10% Evenings (7pm-2am) will be included to reach individuals that are headed out to bars, sporting
events, or other entertainment venues, since they are associated with alcohol consumption.

Wisconsin Department of Transportation

2016 Drive Sober

Flight Dates: 8/15-9/5/16 o

Media: 1 | 8|15 |22]|20|5]|12]| TRPS Budget:

TELEVISION (:30)

150 TRPs M18-34 per market

EauClaire/La Crosse 150 $16,500.00

Green Bay/Appleton 150 $25,050.00

Madison 150 $25,050.00

Milwaukee 150 $45,750.00

Wausau/Stevens Point 150 $16,500.00

$128,850.00

RADIO (:60)

225 TRPs M18-34 per market

Eau Claire 225 $6,075.00

Green Bay/Appleton/Oshkosh 225 $12,375.00

La Crosse 225 $5,625.00

Madison 225 $13,050.00

Milwaukee 225 $24,750.00

Wausau 225 $6,750.00
$68,625.00

ONLINE

Streaming Radio (:30) $22,500.00

Online Video/Display $64,000.00
$86,500.00

Brewer Radio (Statewide)

Total Gross: $283,975.00

Less DOT Discount: $21,298.13

Total Drive Sober Campaign: $262,676.88
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The Brewer Radio Network will again be included to support this campaign.
225 M18-34 TRPs will be purchased during this period.

Digital:

Digital efforts in this campaign will mirror those of the May CIOT campaign, as both are major enforcement
periods. Targeting will be adjusted in this campaign to emphasize the Hispanic market. As indicated in the CIOT
campaign, this audience is implicit in our overall targeting, calling it out as a separate line item will ensure greater
reach against this specific demographic. These tactics will include:

Pandora:4,410,000 impressions geo-targeted to M18-34
Hulu:519,896 Impressions geo-targeted to M18-34
Geo-Fence Display/Pre-roll:
* 4.6 million impressions geo-targeted to M18-34 will be delivered

* Ethnic targeting will be employed as part of this campaign

WISDOT 2016-17 ENFORCEMENT MOBILIZATIONS MEDIA BUYS RECAP:

Campaign Gross Adjusted Gross
Distracted Driving (April) $110,175 $101,912
Motorcycle Awareness (April/May) 79,550 73,584
CIOT (May) 302,390 279,711
July 4th Speeding 68,647 63,499
DRIVE SOBER (Aug/Sept) 283,975 262,676
Brewers Radio (Statewide) 18,760 17,353
Athletic Hall of Fame Sponsorship 11,765 10,883
2016-17 Total: $875,262 $809,618

Note: Adjusted Gross numbers have been rounded

NETWORKTELEVISION CAMPAIGN PROGRAMMING SAMPLER:

SPORTS PROGRAMMING SAMPLER:

Baseball is the major summer sport, and the Milwaukee Brewers will be playing many
games durlng our CIOT and DRIVE SOBER ﬂlghts With a new GM there is bound to

The TV schedule includes over 12 games falling into each flight.

In several areas of the state, cable penetration is lower than average, based on availability. These markets tend to
be high in satellite dish. The following chart illustrates the shortfall in regards to delivering the Fox Sports
Network. In some DMA's, satellite households make up 25% or more of total television households.
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DMA Nielsen TV HH FSN Cable HH FSN Satellite HH

Milwaukee 886,770 559,700 136,037
Green Bay/Appleton 433,640 241,600 101,772
Madison 364,000 217,440 80,036
LaCrosse/Eau Claire 206,490 121,660 49,665
Wausau-Rhinelander 181,780 91,060 60,643
Duluth/Superior 175,030 76,710 59,488
TOTAL 2,247,710 1,308,170 487,641

Utilization of the Brewer broadcasts on Fox Sports Net delivers to satellite and wired cable

households. Overall, Fox Sports Net is available in 80% of homes statewide. While the 2016

Green Bay Packers season broadcast schedule is not yet published, historically Packer pre-season

games have been scheduled during the timeframe of the DRIVE SOBER campaign. Since
Packer football is the top reach vehicle for advertisers wishing to reach men in Wisconsin, it’s a key component
of our buy. Even pre-season games provide strong ratings and excellent reach. Packer football delivers strongly
against every demographic, male and female, allowing for excellent reach to the influencers, the friends and family
members, of the target 21-40 year old male drivers. This type of programming is popular in bars; reaching drivers
at the very places they may become impaired.

- __ NASCAR is an important component of the sports target. NASCAR reaches the average
Sprint ‘% American in its demographics, making it an appropriate choice for our campaigns.

LLIFP SERIES

CIOT Statewide:
Sun May 29th Coca Cola 600 Charlotte Motor Speedway FOX/5:30pm

DRIVE SOBER (Madison & Milwaukee):
Sat Aug 20nd Bass Pro Shops NRA Bristol Motor Speedway NBCS/6:30pm

This is a popular race with young men.
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TV (:30)

Eau Claire/La Crosse

Green Bay/Appleton/Oshkosh

Madison

Milwaukee

Wausau/Stevens Point

Radio (:60 & :30 Motorcycle)

Eau Claire

Green Bay/Appleton/Oshkosh

La Crosse

Madison

Milwaukee

Wausau

Online

Streaming Radio (:30)

Video/Banner

Misc.

Brewer Radio (Statewide)

Hall of Fame Sponsorship
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WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 2016-17

ENFORCEMENT CAMPAIGNS MEDIA CALENDAR
April 7, 2016

108 #lale s 8 ale s ulaalelr|s 0 # 2 o # |#)#lelu & # Gross DOT
$49,500 $45,788
$75,150 $69,514
$75,150 $69,514
$137,250| $126,956
$49,500 $45,788
$386,550| $357,559
$23,490 $21,728
$47,850 $44 261
$21,750 $20,119
$50,460 $46,676
$95,700 $88,523
$26,100 $24,143
$265,350 $245,449
$52,647 $48,699
$740,190| $129,676
$192,837| $178,374
$18,760 $17,353
$71,765 $10,883
$875,262 | $809,618
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STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN - Appendix 1: Paid Media Plan

RADIO STATIONS BY MARKET:

The following charts illustrate the stations we will consider for each designated market since they are well-
positioned to effectively reach the target male demographic of all campaigns:

[Appleton—Dshkosh—Green Bay

Rating

Signal Rating

Call Letters Format Strength M18-34

Call Letters Format Signal Strength M18-34

WIXX 101

Active
WIXX-FM CHR 96,000 Watts 1.9 Rock 12,000 Watts 16
Classic

Hits 12,000 Watts 1.3

Classic

WAPL-FM Rock 100,000 Watts 2.0 CHR 50,000 Watts 1.0

m WNCY-FM Country 45,000 Watts 2.1
-

‘33@{] WDUZ-FM Sports 3,600 Watts 1.2

Green Bay/ Appleton Nielsen TSA, Spring 15/Fall 14, M-F 6a-7p

WJQM-FM Urban 6,000 Watts 0.8
Madison Nielsen, MSA Sp15/Su15 Mon-Fri 6a-7p

. Milwaukee
Eau Claire

Signal

. . Call Letters Format Strength
Call Letters Format znal Strength

WAXX-FM Country 100,000 Watts 2.6 : WLUM-FM AAA 8,800 Wates 1.2
1028
THE 3 TH{ H[IE Classic
’ WECL-FM Rock 3,300 Watts 21 WHOG-FM Rock 50,000 Watts 0.9
Eg [ ] WQRB-FM Country 25,000 Watts 1.8
WKKV-FM  Urban 50,000 Watts 1.0
WBIZ-FM CHR 100, 000 Watts 1.8 Classic

WKLH-FM Rock 20,000 Watts 1.0
Milwaukee PPM Nielsen Oct/Nov/Dec 2015 Mon-Fri 6a-7p

Eau Claire Nielsen, M5A, Sp15/Fal4, M-F 6a-7p

La Crosse Wakisais

_ ] 3 Call Letters Format
Call Letters  Format Signal Strength

WRQT-FM Rock 50,000 Watts 2.6 WOEZEM,  Coumtry  98300Wotts | 33

WIFC-FM CHR 98,600 Watts 2.2
WCOW-FM Country 100,000 Watts 2.6

Rock 50,000 Watts 2.2
WIZM-FM CHR 100,000 Watts 2.1
La Crosse Nielsen, MSA Sp15/Fa14 Mon-Fria-7p — WHTQ-FM CHR 26,500 Watts 1.6
Classic
Rock 65,000 Watts 1.3

| Wausau Nielsen Sp15/Fali14 Mon-Fri 6a-7p
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Hispanic Radio:
To understand how Hispanic radio should be allocated, at first we need to understand the distribution of Hispanic
households in Wisconsin, according to US Census Data:

Maps 2 & 3. Latino Population, Wisconsin Counties: 2000 & 2010
Persom
| ay-s0e
2000 2010 301 2,500
2,497 - 00
001 - 10,000

ol ? g 10,001 - 39,808
-"';é" : /"’J’{%’ 408

2N 1 P\ ke

The majority of the Hispanic population is located in Southern Wisconsin, reaching up through the Fox Valley.
The younger end of the Hispanic population is increasingly bi-lingual or English-dominant, so there is very little
need for Spanish-language radio stations.

Because Milwaukee is a major market there is more research available on the Hispanic market. Adding to the
quality of the Milwaukee research is a well-represented sample of the highest concentration of Hispanics in the
state. Therefore, due to this research, when placing Spanish radio in other Wisconsin markets, we will follow
Milwaukee’s pattern of Contemporary Hit (Top 40) and Urban (Hip-Hop and Black) stations attracting more
of the new generation Hispanic than the Spanish language stations, regardless of what language is spoken in the
home.

M18-34
Total Audience

Station Format M18-34

Hispanic Audience

: Paid Media Plan

«- Appendix 1

WXSS-FM  [CHR 63,600 5,500
WLUM-FM  [AAA (Alternative) 63,400 3,600
WMYX-FM |Hot A/C 54,900 3,900
WKLH-FM  [Classic Rock 53,600 1,700
WRIT-FM Oldies 52,000 2,800
WRNW-FM [CHR 51,300 2,500
WMIL-FM Country 49,600 2,500
WHQG-FM |Album Rock 48,800 4,400
WNRG-FM  [CHR 32,500 3,200
WLDB-FM  [Soft AC 30,900 1,900
WIMR-FM  |Urban Oldies 20,200 2,600
WDDW-FM |Hispanic 5,600 4,100
Arbitron Milwaukee-Racine October/November/December 2015 PPM

81

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN



Paid Media Plan

«- Appendix 1:

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN

There are two small Hispanic stations in Milwaukee, WDDW-FM, and WJTI-AM. As shown on the previous
chart, WDDW ranks 8th among Milwaukee stations in young male Hispanic listening. Despite the fact that
W]JTI-AM only has 500 weekly listeners in the demographic, it is the only electronic media partner that is a
certified MBE with the state so a schedule will be considered.

Hispanic Radio

Clty of Signal Rating

DDNDE $1 LA MUEVES!
WLMV-AM Madison 5,000 Watts 0
WDDW-FM Kenosha/Milw 3,000 Watts 1
WITI-AM Kenosha 250 Watts :]

Hispanic radio is incorporated into the major campaigns, DRIVE SOBER and CIOT. These stations include:
Green Bay/Appleton: WAUN-FM (92.7)
Madison: WLMV-AM (1480) and WTTN-AM (1580)
Milwaukee: WDDW-FM (104.7) and WRRD-AM (1510)

OTHER CONSIDERED MEDIA

Tactics for the enforcement campaigns continue to evolve. Initially almost 90% of available media dollars were
concentrated in local market television and radio and these tactics continue to demand and earn the highest
percentage of media spend. Even in a political year, such as this one, they can be counted upon to deliver the
largest audiences of any age. Online tactics, streaming radio, video and banners have emerged as important tactics
in which to reach the 18-34 year old male. Not only are these measurable, but research has found them to work
in concert with broadcast — with broadcast driving audiences online and vice versa. In developing this plan,
AFFIRM considered other tactics that would be effective in supporting this program. Following are additional
options:

Gas Station TV

Gas Station TV is just beginning to build strength. According to Nielsen Research, 70% of respondents to a
survey recalled seeing the ad and 84% indicated they would pay more attention to the messaging the next time
they are buying gas. The median age of the viewer is 40 years old and 78% of those are between the ages of 18-
49. Most people spend about 5-7 minutes at the gas pump with each fill up.

There are currently 62 Gas Stations in Wisconsin with this capability. 45 of those are located in the Milwaukee
area. Either :15 or :30 second spots are accepted. The advantage is that, like radio, they have the ability to influence
the driver just prior to heading out on the road. It is being used by the following states as part of their highway
safety messaging tactics.
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Nielsen provides audience information based on pump transactions or impressions, but there are no other
measurements available for this tactic. The proposal for the Milwaukee market for CIOT (23 days) includes
220,431 paid impressions (:15s) @ $8,156.60 (Adjusted DOT Gross). GSTV will bonus 220,431 impressions
that can run within the August DRIVE SOBER campaign.

Gas Pump Toppers/Station Displays (Clings, Floor Graphics, etc.)

Gas station advertising is another way of placing the ad message throughout the state. These tactics are used by
numerous states including: Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Maryland, Maine, Minnesota,
Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota,
Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, and Wyoming. By using remnant or left-over space and paying only for the
production of the creative (posters, clings, etc.) these have been very affordable ways to reach a very targeted

audience.

This tactic is recommended as a means of reaching the African American audience in Milwaukee for the May
CIOT campaign. Although NHTSA reports that African American teen males travel fewer vehicle miles than
their white counterparts, they are more likely to die in a crash. Motor vehicle crashes are the second leading killer
of young black adults, age 15-24. Seat belt usage by this target lags the national average by as much as 4%,
contributing to the issue. A program, specifically targeted to this demographic, could go far in helping to reduce
deaths.

Lake Michigan

2 Ellocust St

{N_Holion St

" hontl A/
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The program would be geographically targeted to the area
defined below. Pricing for three different options follow:

Gas Pump Toppers
80 units would be placed within the defined geography

delivering an estimated 1.9 million impressions over a four
week period, with an additional four weeks of override on a
space available basis. Total production cost would be

$6,094.20.

Liquor Store Standees

Located inside liquor stores, gas stations or other venues, this
media format, known as a Standee (34” x 47”), would target
the same geographic area. The program would run 20
standees, delivering an estimated 477,120 impressions over
the four week schedule, again with the possibility of a four
week bonus or override. Pricing for this unit, again using
remnant space and charging only production costs, would

be $7,618.

Urban Kiosks

This option basically makes use of telephone kiosks that are located throughout our
targeted region near bus tops and retail locations. A four week program would
deliver approximately 1.3 million impressions at a total investment of $11,672. An
additional four weeks would be provided as added value or override.

Indoor Poster Displays Restaurants/Bars

Located in the restrooms of bars and restaurants, this media format would allow

WI DOT to reach adults that are consuming alcoholic beverages at local drinking
establishments. The posters measure 17 x 22. As added

value, the program also includes a total of 2,500 table tents _ . .
$2 DRINKS COuLD COST

and 2 mirror clings (1 per restroom), all of which would be YOU UP 10 $17.000

produced by the vendor, and a 1-month space override at
venues where available. The program would run throughout
Wisconsin at a cost of approximately $42,170.

ScreenVision

Cinema advertising has been used in past campaigns with
mixed results. As with Gas Station TV, measurement is difficult. Advertising is sold based on admissions to the
theater. General demographics on the cinema audience:

* 70% of all Americans 12+ attend at least one movie annually, 18% attend monthly

* 50% of the cinema audience is 18-49
* Average household income is $86,000
* The movie-goer is 21% more likely than the average person to be a light TV viewer

* Multi-tasking such as surfing the web, is unlikely with a movie audience
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Local ads run about 20 minutes prior to the published show time. A schedule for the CIOT campaign would
run in 58 theaters throughout the state on a total of 460 different screens. The schedule would guarantee 652,238
admissions (impressions) at a cost to the DOT of $25,319.25.

Thursday Night Lights

This program runs in Milwaukee on WCGV24, airing from mid-August through mid-October, it spotlights nine
high school match-ups. More than a television broadcast, it is an opportunity to talk to teens and their parents
through an interactive program. Past sponsors of this event have found it to be an excellent means of communi-

cating to this teen audience.

A sponsorship would include four (:30) commercials per game. Sponsorships at various price levels are available
with most including on-site exposure. This provides DOT personnel the ability to interact with the teenager and
their parents focusing on the driving behaviors that are prevalent among this audience — texting and seat belt use
are two examples. The program has been sponsored in the past; the roll-over vehicle had been a popular exhibit
at the games. Pricing varies based on the level of involvement; the range can be as low as $5,000 for commercial
spots with signage at each game to around $30,000 for a feature sponsorship that may include a half-time
interview as well as in-game features, website presence, etc.

Midwest Family Broadcast (W]JO-FM) Sponsorship

W]JJO-FM presents Sonic Boom, a concert held annually at the Southern Wisconsin Regional Airport in
Janesville. The station brings in top national talent playing on two stages for this one day event. This is a good
opportunity to reach their core listener of M18-34, reminding them to “stay sober.”

To alleviate parking issues, the station will offer shuttle service that will run continuously to park and rides and

hotels in the area. They have offered the Shuttle Sponsorship, priced at $9,250 to the WisDO'T. This will include:

* Corporate name and /or name identification on no less than 400 promotional mentions running through
October 2016

* Signage and promotion at the venue. JJO will place 8 banners throughout the grounds near the beer
serving areas, entrance gates, exit gates, etc. in addition to banners around the side stage viewing decks.
WJJO will create the banners.

* Signage on shuttles, in area hotels and establishments, and presence on the dedicated shuttle area of the
Sonic Boom website.
* 20’ x 20’ space on-site for display, people with app downloaded may enter at the booth to have a band
member record their cell phone message (or another experiential prize.)
* Advertisement on the print-at-home e-tickets. Dimensions of advertisement TBD. Advertisement on
the back of the parking permit that everyone receives when they enter the venue. Ad is full-color 8.57x5.5”
* A minimum of five (5) :30 second commercials to be played on the video screen during the event.
(commercial provided by Wisconsin DOT)
* Logo identification on our radio station’s website with a link to your website for a minimum of 8 weeks
including a click-thru to your app.
* 20 tickets for your company (Optional)
* 4 VIP passes for your company to use in the Mid-West Family VIP area at the event. (Optional)
The station would like it if the WI DOT would bring one or more of their interactive/simulator displays to the
event. If the goal is to have more people download their app, they would put together a contest where people
show their downloaded app at the WI DOT booth to enter a drawing. They would provide an experiential prize
like having one of the bands record a voicemail message for the winner along the lines of “This is (insert name
of band.) Cathy can't come to the phone right now..." Or possibly could provide a guitar signed by some of that
day's performers. They would be creative and come up with an experiential prize that can't be purchased anywhere.
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APPENDIX 2:
EQUIPMENT—PREAPPROVED AND NOT ALLOWABLE

Note: To verify equipment eligibility for your grant, contact your SPM or RPM.

ELIGIBLE, “CAN”

Equipment—Preapproved and Not Allowable
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Speed/Safety Enforcement

48" Fluorescent Enforcement Zone Signs
Cage bars for squads

Cones — reasonable amount

Direction Flashlights/Light Batons

DL Scanners

“Fatal Vision” Goggles

Laser Radar

Lights — Emergency Vehicle Lighting, Light bars
Mobile Digital Communicator (MDC)

Multi-band Radios (Expensive: approx. $6,000):
A quote is needed to determine what % will be

Alcohol Enforcement

Seatbelt Enforcement

“Fatal Vision” Goggles

Lights - Emergency Vehicle Lighting, Light

bars
PBTs

No equipment will be allowed
on Seat Belt Enforcement
Grants.

Standard Radios (approx. $2,000 each) -
Handheld and vehicle mounted

Video - Digital Squad Video Recorders and
Personal Recorders

NON-ELIGIBLE, “CAN'T”

used for enforcement Bicycles
On-site Pole Speed Sign Digital Cameras
Radar - IACP Approved Speed Enforcement Emitters

RADAR/LIDAR Devices Gloves
PBTs Hard mounted LED Pedestrian Crossing and Stop Signs
Seatbelt Cutters License Plate Readers
Speed Display Board Measuring Wheels
Standard Radios (approx. $2,000 each) Parkas

-Handheld and vehicle mounted Printer Paper for TraC$
TraCS Compatible Equipment: Radio “Base” Station

- Laptops: Panasonic “Tough Book” approx. IR

$3,700

« Docking Station: and Power Supply, Mounting
Hardware

- Thermal Printer: Printer Cables, Printer Mount

« GPS — not on its own; only with other TraCS

items

Vehicles — vehicle purchases require: 1. BOTS to
be added to the title 2. Proof of Insurance 3.
Proper Disposal

Vests — Need to use (be worn) during HVE as well
as standard enforcement.”

Video - Digital Squad Video Recorders and
Personal Recorders

Rear plastic squad seats

Software — that is RMS (Record Management System: i.e.
Visionare)

Tasers

Tire Deflation Devices (Stop Sticks or Spike Strips)
Ultrabooks

Uniforms

Vehicle Window Tint Meter

Weapons & Ammo & Related Accessories
Warranties
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APPENDIX 3:

SAFETY: PARTNERS, COMMITTEES, AND ORGANIZATIONS

Not an exhaustive list.

AAA https://
www.aaafoundation.org/

AARP www.aarp.org

AT&T-It Can Wait Program
http://www.itcanwait.com/
apps-and-tools

Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse
Program http://dpi.wi.gov/sspw/
aodaprog.html

Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
http://www.chw.org/

Federal Highway Administration
www.fhwa.dot.gov

Ford Driving Skills for Life
www.drivingskillsforlife.com

Fox47 — MSG2TEENS
http://fox47.com/sections/conte
sts/msg2teens/

Green Bay Packers
http://www.packers.com/

Governors Highway Safety Associ-
ation http://www.ghsa.org/

Governor's Bicycle Coordinating
Council

Governor’s Council on Highway
Safety

HSP stakeholder input:
May 2016

La Crosse OWI Treatment
Court
http://www.co.lacrosse.wi.us/
humanservices/js/owi.htm

Law Enforcement Agencies

MADD www.madd.org

Marshfield Clinic — Center for
Community Outreach
www.marshfieldclinic.org/
patients/?page=cco

Medical College of Wisconsin —
Injury Research Center

http://www.mcw.edu/
Injury-Research-Center.htm

National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration
www.nhtsa.dot.gov

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delin-
quency Prevention
http://ojjdp.ncjrs.org

Operation Click
http://operationclick.com/

Operation Lifesaver http://oli.org/

Pacific Institute for Research and
Evaluation www.pire.org

Rural Mutual Insurance
http://www.ruralins.com/

Safe Kids-Southeast Wisconsin
http://www.safekidswi.org/SafeK
idsWisconsin-Southeast-
Wisconsin.asp

Safe Routes to School
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/lo
calgov/aid/saferoutes.htm

State Council on Alcohol and other
Drug Abuse
www.scaoda.state.wi.us

Statewide Impaired Driving Work
Group

Substance Abuse and Mental
Health Services Administration
www.samhsa.gov/

Tavern League of Wisconsin
www.tlw.org

Traffic Records Coordinating
Committee

Traffic Safety Commissions (72
county organizations)

University of Wisconsin System
Administration
WE Bike, etc. www.webike.org

Wisconsin Association of Women
Highway Safety Leaders

Wisconsin Badgers
http://www.uwbadgers.com/

Wisconsin Bike Fed
http://www.bfw.org/
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Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Associ-
ation (WCPA)
http://www.wichiefs.org/

Wisconsin Department of Health
Services
http://dhs.wisconsin.gov

Wisconsin Department of Children
and Families http://dcf.wi.gov/

Wisconsin Department of Justice
http://www.doj.state.wi.us/

Wisconsin Department of Natural
Resources http://dnr.wi.gov/

Wisconsin Department of Tourism
www.travelwisconsin.com

WisDOT- Division of Motor Vehicles

WisDOT- Planning

Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic
Association
http://www.wiaawi.org/

Wisconsin Juvenile Officers
Association www.wjoa.com.

Wisconsin Highway Safety
Coordinators Association

Wisconsin Partnership for Activity
and Nutrition (WI PAN)

Wisconsin Safety Patrol Congress

Wisconsin Safety Patrols, Inc.
http://www.wisconsinsafety-
patrol.com/

Wisconsin State Laboratory of
Hygiene www.slh.wisc.edu

Wisconsin State Patrol Alumni
Association
http://wspalumni.org/

Wisconsin Technical College System
http://www.wtcsystem.edu/

Wisconsin Traffic Operations and
Safety Laboratory
http://www.topslab.wisc.edu/

Wisconsin Traffic Safety Officer’s
Association
http://wtsoa.org/siteFiles/
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APPENDIX 4:

LAW ENFORCEMENT GRANT TARGETING METHODOLOGY

As It Relates to Alcohol, Speed, and Occupant Protection Grants

Introduction

The following is documentation for the methodology
on how the targeting lists of political entities and their
respective law enforcement agencies were selected for
speed, and protection law

alcohol, occupant

enforcement grants.

This methodology includes the minimum three require-
ments under 23 CFR 1200.11 (c) (4), the evidence-
based traffic safety enforcement program to prevent
traffic violations, crashes, and crash fatalities and
injuries in areas most at risk for such incidents. At a
minimum, the State shall provide for:

Initial Scoring:

The Division of Motor Vehicles’ Traffic Crash files were
queried for instances of alcohol, speed, and occupant
protection related crashes, by crash type (fatal, injury,
and property damage), as noted on the MV4000 crash
report form, in Wisconsin cities, villages and townships
and grouped together by county for the calendar years
2013, 2014, and 2015. Three years of data were
collected to disguise some of the natural fluctuations
from year to year. Not all locations in Wisconsin have
recorded each of the three types of crashes during the
2013-2015 three year period; those locations were
immediately excluded from further investigation,
within their respective targeting list grant type (alcohol,
speed, and occupant protection).

Reported crashes on public roads were matched with
the people involved in the crashes, assigning numeric
weights to reported injuries (and non-injuries). The
numeric weights assigned were:

Fatal injury = 20

Incapacitating injury = 20

Non-incapacitating injury=10

Possible injury = 5

Unknown or no injury = 1
Numeric weights of the injuries (and non-injuries) were
summed by county and cities, villages, or townships,

within a county. That value was named Calculated
Score for Injuries.

A Normalized Score for injuries was calculated by
matching the Calculated Score for Injuries with the
final January 1, 2015 population estimates (per 1,000),
as released by the Wisconsin Department of Adminis-
tration’s Demographic Services Center (Ex. Calculated
Score * (1000/Population Number)) for counties, cities,
villages, and towns. Population estimates are based on
the 2010 census and an analysis of more current data
such as housing units and automobile registrations.
2015 population data was used because it is the most
recent available. An example of the formula to be used
for each of the respective seventy-two counties in the
state is the following:

Calculated Score * (1,000 / (2015 County
Population))

Each county is evaluated with regard to its Calculated
Score for Injuries and its Normalized Score to see if it
meets the criteria for selection. The county-level criteria
varies by grant type (alcohol, speed, and occupant
protection) and can be found in one of the three
respective subsections for grant types, below. The
exception to this scoring are all counties with a
population of 500,000 or greater, where counties
meeting this criterion will automatically be included in
the three law enforcement grant types (Alcohol, Speed,
and Occupant Protection).

I. Full-year Law Enforcement Grants (Alcohol
and Occupant Protection Only)

Municipalities located in multiple counties have been
combined, thus only appear once in the listings. The
county containing the largest percentage of the munic-
ipality's population has been designated the county of
record for the listings. If counties in which a munici-
pality exists are needed, please reference the worksheet
named "2015MunilnMultiCounties”, in the MS Excel
files named “2015MuniAlcWeighted TrgtNormal . xlsx”
for Alcohol and
“2015MuniOPWeighted TrgtNormal.xlsx” for

Occupant Protection.

Criteria at County Level:
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Alcohol: Select counties with the criteria of Weight >=
3,000 OR NormalScore >= 50.00 OR (Weight >=
2,000 AND NormalScore >= 30.00).

Occupant Protection: Select counties with the criteria
of Weight >= 3,000 OR NormalScore >= 40.00 OR
(Weight >= 2,000 AND NormalScore >= 30.00).

Both Alcohol and Occupant Protection:

Select the next two counties, from those counties that
are still unselected who have a Rural-Urban
Continuum Code of one through six and have the next
highest NormalScore scores from ALL counties per

RPM Region.

Criteria at Municipal Level:

A list of municipalities for each of the counties selected
as a possible grant candidate will be generated, showing
the NormalScore and Weight, for each of the munici-
palities within a county. Municipalities within each of
these counties will be selected for potential grants using
the following criteria:

Alcohol:
Weight >= 300
NormalScore >= 50.00

Occupant Protection:
WeightNo >= 50
NormalScoreNo >= 50.00

WeightNo and NormalScoreNo are computed using
crash data, where an occupant was NOT wearing
appropriate safety equipment.

Each of these municipalities will be highlighted in blue.
Please note that municipalities that have a law
enforcement agency presence, besides the county sheriff

will also be highlighted, by the use of bold text.

Il. Seasonal Law Enforcement Grants
Common to All types

Seasonal Law Enforcement Grant candidates are
selected based upon a 3-month (quarterly) time-period,
using the seasonal definition of the meteorological year.
These time period are the following:

Meteorologists use whole months to identify meteoro-
logical seasons. In the northern hemisphere the months
are the following;:

* Meteorological spring takes place during
March, April, and May

* Meteorological summer takes place during June,
July, and August

* Meteorological autumn takes place during
September, October, and November

* Meteorological winter takes place during
December, January, and February

http://www.aos.wisc.edu/~hopkins/ WES/fall_05/WES
f05supl10.heml

Spring Quarter: March, April, May
Summer Quarter: June, July, August

Autumn Quarter: September, October,
November

Winter Quarter: December, January, February

A Calculated Score for Injuries and a Normalized Score
are then calculated for each quarter of the past year
(2015 in this particular case) as one selected grouping.
Another Calculated Score for Injuries and a Normalized
Score as an average, by quarter for the five years that
precede the past year (2010-2014 in this particular case)
are also selected into another grouping.

The purpose of having these two groupings are to
identify county-level political entities that have
immediate, short-term, quarterly traffic crash issues for
the 2015 selected grouping and those that have a long-
term trend, within a specific seasonal quarter, with
regard to traffic crash issues for the 2010-2014 selected
grouping.

Each county NOT having a Rural-Urban Continuum
Code of seven through nine is evaluated with regard to
its Calculated Score for Injuries and its Normalized Score
for each of the four quarters to see if it meets the criteria
for selection. The county-level criteria varies by grant
type (alcohol, speed, and occupant protection) and can
be found in one of the three respective subsections for
grant types, below.

Counties with normalized scores that fall outside one
or more standard deviations, but less than two standard
deviations from the population group’s average, but
whose normalized score is at least 15% above the group
mean are displayed against a lightly red shaded
background and will be selected as grant candidates.
Counties with normalized scores that fall outside two
or more standard deviations from one of the six
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population group means are displayed against a more
darkly shaded background and are automatically
eligible as a grant candidate.

Alcohol (the full year will be used for the 2017
Federal Fiscal Year)

The selection of counties for alcohol-related seasonal
grants will follow the “Full-year Law Enforcement
Grants” section.

Speed (the summer quarter will be used for the
2017 Federal Fiscal Year)

The selection of counties for speed-related seasonal
grants will follow the “Common to All types” section
of the Seasonal Law Enforcement Grants section.

Occupant Protection (the full year will be used
for the 2017 Federal Fiscal Year)

The selection of counties for speed-related seasonal
grants will follow the “Full-year Law Enforcement
Grants” section.

lll. Occupant Protection Grants by
County, Based Upon the Number of
Registered Pick-up Trucks

The selection process will also make counties eligible
for Occupant Protection Grants, based upon the
number of pick-up trucks registered in a particular
county, for the year 2015, relative to the mean number
of pick-up trucks per county, for the state as a whole,
where the county has not been previously targeted for
Occupant Protection grant(s).

Counties, which have the largest number of pick-up
truck registrations statewide will be considered for full
year occupant protection grants. The local County
Sheriff’s law enforcement agency will be the first
enforcement agency contacted, for each county, given
they have county-wide jurisdiction.

IV. All Grants Types (Alcohol, Speed,

and Occupant Protection) by County,
Based Upon Population.

Counties with a population greater than or equal to
500,000 will be targeted for all three categories of law
enforcement grant types (Alcohol, Speed, and
Occupant Protection), regardless of the grant distri-

20

bution methodology (Annual, Seasonal, and Pick-up
Trucks Registered) selected for a given targeting year.

The rationale for using this metric is based upon the
particulars of the methodology time periods selected
for a targeting year. Some grants types (Ex. Speed this
year) are only being targeted, using a seasonal method-
ology. Counties with large populations (and VMT),
relative to the State as whole do not statistically have as
great of variation as counties having smaller populations
(and VMT) in the State when using the seasonal
methodology, thus could be overlooked as a targeted
county, though they do have a significant traffic safety
problem year- around, which would only be noted, if
annual year round law enforcement grants are provided
for a particular grant type (speed in this case). Basically,
there is a need to more efficiently allocate funds on a
seasonal basis (for speed in this case), but still not
exclude the more populated (and higher VMT)
counties, which lack seasonal variation in their traffic
safety issues, because their traffic safety issues exist year-
around .

Please note population was used as the metric, instead
of VMT, because of the on-going regularity and
timeliness of annual population estimates (both state
and federal) versus, the unpredictability of when VMT

data will become available, for a given year.

After each county that has been selected for a particular
type of grant (Alcohol, Speed, and Occupant
Protection) we then drilled-down to the municipal
(City, Village, or Town) level to select the specific
municipal entities that will be offered a grant. This will
be achieved by measuring the Normalized Score for
injuries and the Calculated Score for Injuries, for each of
the municipalities against the criteria set for municipal-
ities, in each of the grant types (Alcohol, Speed, and
Occupant Protection) as described in Section 1., above.
Please note that the County Sheriff of a selected county,
regardless of grant type will always be considered for a
grant, otherwise the local law enforcement agency that
has a selected municipality within its jurisdiction will
be considered to implement a grant on behalf of the
selected municipality.



APPENDIX 5:
HIGHWAY SAFETY PROGRAM COST SUMMARY
“217PLAN”"

June 2016 - Number 17-01 -Highway Safety Plan « FFY 2017 - Wisconsin

PROGRAM APPRVD PROGRAM  STATE/LOCAL

FEDERALLY FUNDED PROGRAMS

AREA COSTS FUNDS PREVIOUS BAL INCRE/(DECRE) CURRENT BAL FEDERAL SHARE
TO LOCAL
PA 340,000.00 530,000.00 340,000.00 0.00 0.00
opP 1,325,000.00 0.00 515,000.00 810,000.00 580,000.00
AL 400,000.00 700,000.00 300,000.00 100,000.00 400,000.00
PT 750,000.00 0.00 1,250,000.00 (500,000.00) 675,000.00
TR 90,000.00 0.00 90,000.00 0.00 0.00
EM 100,000.00 0.00 100,000.00 0.00 100,000.00
MC 210,000.00 683,000.00 270,000.00 (60,000.00) 180,000.00
PS 220,000.00 87,000.00 300,000.00 (80,000.00) 207,500.00
P 1,264,000.00 0.00 1,065,000.00 199,000.00 740,000.00
PM 500,000.00 0.00 580,000.00 (80,000.00) 250,000.00
Total 402 5,199,000.00 2,000,000.00 4,810,000.00 389,000.00 0.00 3,132,500.00
405b 898,000.00 32,509,730.67 1,097,000.00 (199,000.00)
405c¢ 795,000.00 1,332,620.00 (537,620.00)
405d 4,450,000.00 16,254,865.33 4,070,000.00 380,000.00
405f 275,000.00 225,000.00 50,000.00
ALLFUNDS 11,617,000.00 50,764,596.00 11,534,620.00 82,380.00 0.00 3,132,500.00

State Officials Authorized Signature:

Federal Official(s) Authorized Signature:

NAME NHTSA - NAME FHWA - NAME
TITLE TITLE TITLE
DATE DATE DATE

EFFECTIVE DATE
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APPENDIX 6:

DETAILED BUDGET
FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN BUDGET

ACTIVITY TITLE FED STATE TOT PROG LOC BENEFIT
2017-10-01 Planning & Administration 340,000
402 (PA) 340,000
2017-19-01 402 Match 530,000
State (562) 530,000
TOTAL PLAN & ADMIN FUNDS 340,000 530,000 870,000
2017-20-01 Program Mgmt 90,000
2017-20-05 Enforcement 630,000 630,000
2017-20-06 Equipment 580,000 580,000
2017-20-09 Evaluation 25,000
402 (oP) 1,325,000 1,325,000 580,000
2017-25-02 PI&E 210,000
2017-25-03 Training - Technical 188,000
2017-25-05 Enforcement 355,000
2017-25-06 Equipment 45,000
2017-25-09 Evaluation 100,000
405b (M2) 898,000 898,000
TOTAL OCC PROTECT FUNDS 2,223,000 0 2,223,000 580,000

92



ACTIVITY TITLE FED STATE TOT PROG LOC BENEFIT
2017-30-06 PI&E 400,000 400,000
402 (AL) 400,000 0 400,000 400,000
2017-31-01 Program Management 90,000
2017-31-02 PI&E 220,000
2017-31-03 Training - Technical 560,000
2017-31-04 Training - Community 150,000
2017-31-05 Enforcement 2,500,000
2017-31-09 Evaluation 85,000
405d (M5) 3,605,000 3,605,000
2017-37-05 Enforcement 165,000
405d (24/7) 405d (24/7) 165,000 165,000
2017-37-05 Enforcement 430,000
405d (lID) 405d (11D) 430,000 430,000
State 531 Safe-Ride Programs 700,000
State 700,000
TOTAL IMPAIRED DRIVING FUNDS 4,600,000 700,000 5,300,000 400,000

POLICE TRAFFIC SERVICES (PTS) 40

2017-40-01 Program Mgmt 75,000

2017-40-05 Enforcement 675,000 675,000
402 (PT) 750,000 0 750,000 675,000
TOTAL Total PTS 750,000 0 750,000 675,000

HIGHWAY SAFETY INFORMATION (Traffic Records) 50

2017-50-01 Program Mgmt 90,000
402 402-TR 90,000
2017-58-01 PI&E 16,000
2017-58-03 Training - Technical 579,000
2017-58-06 Equipment 200,000
405c (M3) 795,000 0 795,000
TOTAL RECORDS FUNDS 885,000 0 885,000
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ACTIVITY TITLE FED STATE TOT PROG LOC BENEFIT
INJURY CONTROL—EMERGENCY RESPONSE 60

2017-60-02 PI&E 50,000 50,000

2017-60-03 Training - Technical 50,000 50,000

402 (EM) 100,000 0 100,000 100,000

2017-70-03 Training - Technical 60,000 30,000
2017-70-05 Enforcement 50,000 50,000
2017-70-06 Equipment 100,000 100,000
402 (MQ) 210,000 0 210,000 180,000
2017-72-02 PI&E 50,000

2017-72-04 Training - Community 220,000

2017-72-09 Evaluation 5,000

405f (M9) 275,000 0 275,000

2017-79-01 Program Mgmt 120,000

2017-79-04 Training - Community 463,000

2017-79-07 Paid Media 100,000

State 562) 683,000

TOTAL MOTORCYCLE FUNDS 485,000 683,000 1,168,000 180,000

PEDESTRIAN, BICYCLE & SCHOOL BUS SAFETY 80

2017-80-02 PI&E 25,000 12,500
2017-80-03 Training - Technical 90,000 90,000
2017-80-04 Training - Community 5,000 5,000
2017-80-05 Enforcement 100,000 100,000
402 (PS) 220,000 0 220,000 207,500
2017-89-01 Program Management 87,000

State (562) 87,000

TOTAL PED/BIKE FUNDS 220,000 87,000 307,000 207,500
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ACTIVITY TITLE FED STATE TOT PROG LOC BENEFIT

COMMUNITY TRAFFIC SAFETY 90 Community Activity

2017-90-01 Program Mgmt 284,000

2017-90-02 PI&E 480,000 240,000
2017-90-04 Community Programs 125,000 125,000
2017-90-06 Equipment 375,000 375,000
2017-90-07 Paid Media 500,000 250,000
402 (CP) 1,764,000 0 1,764,000 990,000

2017-31-07 Paid Media 250,000

405d (M5) 250,000 0 250,000

Total Community Programs 2,014,000 0 2,014,000 990,000

Fund Totals

402 total 5,199,000 3,132,500 | (60.25%)
405b total 898,000 0
405¢ total 795,000 0
405d total (incl. 24/7 and 1ID) 4,450,000 0
405f total 275,000 0
TOTAL NHTSA FUNDS 11,617,000 3,132,500
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APPENDIX 7:

BUREAU OF TRANSPORTATION

SAFETY ORGANIZATIONAL CHART may 2016
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Note: NHTSA-funded positions are indicated by pink shading.

FThe IT Project Coordinator, the Law Enforcement Liaisons, the Community Service Specialists, and the Communications

Specialist work under contract and are not employees of the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.

The Crash Records Unit is in the process of being created. Initial hires began in May 2015 and final hires will be in January
2017.
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APPENDIX 8:
STATE CERTIFICATIONS AND ASSURANCES

APPENDIX ATO PART 1300 -CERTIFICATION AND ASSURANCES

FOR HIGHWAY SAFETY GRANTS

(23 U.S.C. CHAPTER 4; SEC. 1906, PUB. L. 109-59, AS AMENDED BY SEC. 4011, PUB.
L. 114-94)

[Each fiscal year, the Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety must sign these Certifications and Assurances
affirming that the State complies with all requirements, including applicable Federal statutes and regulations, that are
in effect during the grant period. Requirements that also apply to subrecipients are noted under the applicable caption.]

State: Wisconsin, Fiscal Year: 2017

By submitting an application for Federal grant funds under 23 U.S.C. Chapter 4 or Section 1906, the State
Highway Safety Office acknowledges and agrees to the following conditions and requirements. In my capacity
as the Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety, I hereby provide the following Certifications and Assur-

ances:

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

The State will comply with applicable statutes and regulations, including but not limited to:

* 23 U.S.C. Chapter 4 — Highway Safety Act of 1966, as amended
* Sec. 1906, Pub. L. 109-59, as amended by Sec. 4011, Pub. L. 114-94
* 23 CFR part 1300 — Uniform Procedures for State Highway Safety Grant Programs

* 2 CFR part 200 — Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for
Federal Awards

* 2 CFR part 1201 — Department of Transportation, Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles,
and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards

INTERGOVERNMENTAL REVIEW OF FEDERAL PROGRAMS

The State has submitted appropriate documentation for review to the single point of contact designated by the
Governor to review Federal programs, as required by Executive Order 12372 (Intergovernmental Review of
Federal Programs).

FEDERAL FUNDING ACCOUNTABILITY AND TRANSPARENCY ACT (FFATA)
The State will comply with FFATA guidance, OMB Guidance on FFATA Subward and Executive Compensation
Reporting, August 27, 2010,
(https://www.fsrs.gov/documents/ OMB_Guidance_on_FFATA_Subaward_and_Executive_Compensation_Repo
rting_08272010.pdf) by reporting to FSRS.gov for each sub-grant awarded:

* Name of the entity receiving the award;

e Amount of the award;

* Information on the award including transaction type, funding agency, the North American Industry Classi-
fication System code or Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance number (where applicable), program
source;

* Location of the entity receiving the award and the primary location of performance under the award,
including the city, State, congressional district, and country; and an award title descriptive of the purpose
of each funding action;

* A unique identifier (DUNS);
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* The names and total compensation of the five most highly compensated officers of the entity if:
(i) the entity in the preceding fiscal year received—
(I) 80 percent or more of its annual gross revenues in Federal awards;
(II) $25,000,000 or more in annual gross revenues from Federal awards; and

(ii) the public does not have access to information about the compensation of the senior executives of
the entity through periodic reports filed under section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of
1934 (15 U.S.C. 78m(a), 780(d)) or section 6104 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986;

* Other relevant information specified by OMB guidance.

NONDISCRIMINATION

(applies to subrecipients as well as States)

The State highway safety agency will comply with all Federal statutes and implementing regulations relating to
nondiscrimination (“Federal Nondiscrimination Authorities”). These include but are not limited to:

* Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42 U.S.C. 2000d et seq., 78 stat. 252), (prohibits discrimination
on the basis of race, color, national origin) and 49 CFR part 21;

* The Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies Act of 1970, (42 U.S.C. 4601),
(prohibits unfair treatment of persons displaced or whose property has been acquired because of Federal
or Federal-aid programs and projects);

* Federal-Aid Highway Act of 1973, (23 U.S.C. 324 et seq.), and Title IX of the Education Amendments
of 1972, as amended (20 U.S.C. 1681-1683 and 1685-1686) (prohibit discrimination on the basis of

sex);

* Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, (29 U.S.C. 794 et seq.), as amended, (prohibits discrimi-
nation on the basis of disability) and 49 CFR part 27;

* The Age Discrimination Act of 1975, as amended, (42 U.S.C. 6101 et seq.), (prohibits discrimination on
the basis of age);

* The Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987, (Pub. L. 100-209), (broadens scope, coverage and applicability
of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, The Age Discrimination Act of 1975 and Section 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, by expanding the definition of the terms "programs or activities” to include
all of the programs or activities of the Federal aid recipients, sub-recipients and contractors, whether such
programs or activities are Federally-funded or not);

* Titles IT and III of the Americans with Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. 12131-12189) (prohibits discrimination
on the basis of disability in the operation of public entities, public and private transportation systems,
places of public accommodation, and certain testing) and 49 CFR parts 37 and 38;

* Executive Order 12898, Federal Actions to Address Environmental Justice in Minority Populations and
Low-Income Populations (prevents discrimination against minority populations by discouraging programs,
policies, and activities with disproportionately high and adverse human health or environmental effects
on minority and low-income populations); and

* Executive Order 13166, Improving Access to Services for Persons with Limited English Proficiency (guards
against Title VI national origin discrimination/discrimination because of limited English proficiency
(LEP) by ensuring that funding recipients take reasonable steps to ensure that LEP persons have
meaningful access to programs (70 FR at 74087 to 74100).
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The State highway safety agency—

* Will take all measures necessary to ensure that no person in the United States shall, on the grounds of
race, color, national origin, disability, sex, age, limited English proficiency, or membership in any other
class protected by Federal Nondiscrimination Authorities, be excluded from participation in, be denied
the benefits of, or be otherwise subjected to discrimination under any of its programs or activities, so long
as any portion of the program is Federally-assisted.

* Will administer the program in a manner that reasonably ensures that any of its subrecipients, contractors,
subcontractors, and consultants receiving Federal financial assistance under this program will comply
with all requirements of the Non-Discrimination Authorities identified in this Assurance;

* Agrees to comply (and require any of its subrecipients, contractors, subcontractors, and consultants to
comply) with all applicable provisions of law or regulation governing US DOT’s or NHTSA’s access to
records, accounts, documents, information, facilities, and staff, and to cooperate and comply with any
program or compliance reviews, and/or complaint investigations conducted by US DOT or NHTSA
under any Federal Nondiscrimination Authority;

* Acknowledges that the United States has a right to seek judicial enforcement with regard to any matter
arising under these Non-Discrimination Authorities and this Assurance;

* Insert in all contracts and funding agreements with other State or private entities the following clause:
“During the performance of this contract/funding agreement, the contractor/funding recipient agrees—
a. To comply with all Federal nondiscrimination laws and regulations, as may be amended from time to
time;
b. Not to participate directly or indirectly in the discrimination prohibited by any Federal non-discrim-
ination law or regulation, as set forth in Appendix B of 49 CFR part 21 and herein;

c. To permit access to its books, records, accounts, other sources of information, and its facilities as

required by the State highway safety office, US DOT or NHTSA;

d. That, in event a contractor/funding recipient fails to comply with any nondiscrimination provisions
in this contract/funding agreement, the State highway safety agency will have the right to impose such
contract/agreement sanctions as it or NHTSA determine are appropriate, including but not limited to
withholding payments to the contractor/funding recipient under the contract/agreement until the
contractor/funding recipient complies; and/or cancelling, terminating, or suspending a contract or
funding agreement, in whole or in part; and

e. To insert this clause, including paragraphs a through e, in every subcontract and subagreement and in
every solicitation for a subcontract or sub-agreement, that receives Federal funds under this program.

THE DRUG-FREE WORKPLACE ACT OF 1988 (41 U.S.C. 8103)
The State will provide a drug-free workplace by:

a. Publishing a statement notifying employees that the unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensing,
possession or use of a controlled substance is prohibited in the grantee's workplace and specifying the
actions that will be taken against employees for violation of such prohibition;

b. Establishing a drug-free awareness program to inform employees about:
* The dangers of drug abuse in the workplace.
* The grantee's policy of maintaining a drug-free workplace.
* Any available drug counseling, rehabilitation, and employee assistance programs.
* The penalties that may be imposed upon employees for drug violations occurring in the workplace.
* Making it a requirement that each employee engaged in the performance of the grant be given a copy

of the statement required by paragraph (a).
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c. Notifying the employee in the statement required by paragraph (a) that, as a condition of employment
under the grant, the employee will —

* Abide by the terms of the statement.

* Notify the employer of any criminal drug statute conviction for a violation occurring in the workplace
no later than five days after such conviction.

d. Notifying the agency within ten days after receiving notice under subparagraph (c)(2) from an employee
or otherwise receiving actual notice of such conviction.

e. Taking one of the following actions, within 30 days of receiving notice under subparagraph (c)(2), with
respect to any employee who is so convicted —

* Taking appropriate personnel action against such an employee, up to and including termination.

* Requiring such employee to participate satisfactorily in a drug abuse assistance or rehabilitation program
approved for such purposes by a Federal, State, or local health, law enforcement, or other appropriate
agency.

f. Making a good faith effort to continue to maintain a drug-free workplace through implementation of all
of the paragraphs above.

POLITICAL ACTIVITY (HATCH ACT)

(applies to subrecipients as well as States)

The State will comply with provisions of the Hatch Act (5 U.S.C. 1501-1508), which limits the political activities
of employees whose principal employment activities are funded in whole or in part with Federal funds.

CERTIFICATION REGARDING FEDERAL LOBBYING

(applies to subrecipients as well as States)

Certification for Contracts, Grants, Loans, and Cooperative Agreements
The undersigned certifies, to the best of his or her knowledge and belief, that:

1. No Federal appropriated funds have been paid or will be paid, by or on behalf of the undersigned, to any
person for influencing or attempting to influence an officer or employee of any agency, a Member of
Congress, an officer or employee of Congress, or an employee of a Member of Congress in connection
with the awarding of any Federal contract, the making of any Federal grant, the making of any Federal
loan, the entering into of any cooperative agreement, and the extension, continuation, renewal,
amendment, or modification of any Federal contract, grant, loan, or cooperative agreement.

2. If any funds other than Federal appropriated funds have been paid or will be paid to any person for influ-
encing or attempting to influence an officer or employee of any agency, a Member of Congress, an officer
or employee of Congress, or an employee of a Member of Congress in connection with this Federal
contract, grant, loan, or cooperative agreement, the undersigned shall complete and submit Standard
Form-LLL, "Disclosure Form to Report Lobbying," in accordance with its instructions.

3. The undersigned shall require that the language of this certification be included in the award documents
for all sub-award at all tiers (including subcontracts, subgrants, and contracts under grant, loans, and
cooperative agreements) and that all subrecipients shall certify and disclose accordingly.

This certification is a material representation of fact upon which reliance was placed when this transaction was
made or entered into. Submission of this certification is a prerequisite for making or entering into this transaction
imposed by section 1352, title 31, U.S. Code. Any person who fails to file the required certification shall be
subject to a civil penalty of not less than $10,000 and not more than $100,000 for each such failure.

RESTRICTION ON STATE LOBBYING

(applies to subrecipients as well as States)
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None of the funds under this program will be used for any activity specifically designed to urge or influence a

State or local legislator to favor or oppose the adoption of any specific legislative proposal pending before any

State or local legislative body. Such activities include both direct and indirect (e.g., "grassroots") lobbying activities,

with one exception. This does not preclude a State official whose salary is supported with NHTSA funds from

engaging in direct communications with State or local legislative officials, in accordance with customary State

practice, even if such communications urge legislative officials to favor or oppose the adoption of a specific

pending legislative proposal.

CERTIFICATION REGARDING DEBARMENT AND SUSPENSION

(applies to subrecipients as well as States)

Instructions for Primary Certification (States)

1.

By signing and submitting this proposal, the prospective primary participant is providing the certification
set out below and agrees to comply with the requirements of 2 CFR Parts 180 and 1300.

. The inability of a person to provide the certification required below will not necessarily result in denial

of participation in this covered transaction. The prospective participant shall submit an explanation of
why it cannot provide the certification set out below. The certification or explanation will be considered
in connection with the department or agency's determination whether to enter into this transaction.
However, failure of the prospective primary participant to furnish a certification or an explanation shall
disqualify such person from participation in this transaction.

. The certification in this clause is a material representation of fact upon which reliance was placed when

the department or agency determined to enter into this transaction. If it is later determined that the
prospective primary participant knowingly rendered an erroneous certification, in addition to other
remedies available to the Federal Government, the department or agency may terminate this transaction
for cause or default or may pursue suspension or debarment.

The prospective primary participant shall provide immediate written notice to the department or agency

to which this proposal is submitted if at any time the prospective primary participant learns its certification
was erroneous when submitted or has become erroneous by reason of changed circumstances.

. The terms covered transaction, debarment, suspension, ineligible, lower tier, participant, person, primary tier,

principal, and voluntarily excluded, as used in this clause, have the meaning set out in the Definitions
and coverage sections of 2 CFR Part 180. You may contact the department or agency to which this
proposal is being submitted for assistance in obtaining a copy of those regulations.

. The prospective primary participant agrees by submitting this proposal that, should the proposed covered

transaction be entered into, it shall not knowingly enter into any lower tier covered transaction with a
person who is proposed for debarment under 48 CFR part 9, subpart 9.4, debarred, suspended, declared
ineligible, or voluntarily excluded from participation in this covered transaction, unless authorized by

NHTSA.

The prospective primary participant further agrees by submitting this proposal that it will include the
clause titled “Instructions for Lower Tier Certification” including the "Certification Regarding Debarment,
Suspension, Ineligibility and Voluntary Exclusion—Lower Tier Covered Transaction," provided by the
department or agency entering into this covered transaction, without modification, in all lower tier covered
transactions and in all solicitations for lower tier covered transactions and will require lower tier partici-

pants to comply with 2 CFR Parts 180 and 1300.

. A participant in a covered transaction may rely upon a certification of a prospective participant in a lower

tier covered transaction that it is not proposed for debarment under 48 CFR part 9, subpart 9.4, debarred,
suspended, ineligible, or voluntarily excluded from the covered transaction, unless it knows that the certi-
fication is erroneous. A participant may decide the method and frequency by which it determines the
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9.

eligibility of its principals. Each participant may, but is not required to, check the list of Parties Excluded
from Federal Procurement and Non-procurement Programs.

Nothing contained in the foregoing shall be construed to require establishment of a system of records in
order to render in good faith the certification required by this clause. The knowledge and information of
a participant is not required to exceed that which is normally possessed by a prudent person in the ordinary
course of business dealings.

10. Except for transactions authorized under paragraph 6 of these instructions, if a participant in a covered

transaction knowingly enters into a lower tier covered transaction with a person who is proposed for
debarment under 48 CFR part 9, subpart 9.4, suspended, debarred, ineligible, or voluntarily excluded from
participation in this transaction, the department or agency may disallow costs, annul or terminate the trans-
action, issue a stop work order, debar or suspend you, or take other remedies as appropriate.

Certification Regarding Debarment, Suspension, and Other Responsibility Matters-Primary Covered Trans-
actions

(1) The prospective primary participant certifies to the best of its knowledge and belief, that its principals:

(a) Are not presently debarred, suspended, proposed for debarment, declared ineligible, or voluntarily
excluded by any Federal department or agency;

(b) Have not within a three-year period preceding this proposal been convicted of or had a civil judgment
rendered against them for commission of fraud or a criminal offense in connection with obtaining,
attempting to obtain, or performing a public (Federal, State or local) transaction or contract under a public
transaction; violation of Federal or State antitrust statutes or commission of embezzlement, theft, forgery,
bribery, falsification or destruction of record, making false statements, or receiving stolen property;

(c) Are not presently indicted for or otherwise criminally or civilly charged by a governmental entity (Federal,

State or Local) with commission of any of the offenses enumerated in paragraph (1)(b) of this certification;
and

(d) Have not within a three-year period preceding this application/proposal had one or more public transactions

(Federal, State, or local) terminated for cause or default.

(2) Where the prospective primary participant is unable to certify to any of the Statements in this certification,

such prospective participant shall attach an explanation to this proposal.

Instructions for Lower Tier Certification

1.

2.

By signing and submitting this proposal, the prospective lower tier participant is providing the certification
set out below and agrees to comply with the requirements of 2 CFR Parts 180 and 1300.

The certification in this clause is a material representation of fact upon which reliance was placed when this
transaction was entered into. If it is later determined that the prospective lower tier participant knowingly
rendered an erroneous certification, in addition to other remedies available to the Federal government, the
department or agency with which this transaction originated may pursue available remedies, including
suspension and/or debarment.

. The prospective lower tier participant shall provide immediate written notice to the person to which this

proposal is submitted if at any time the prospective lower tier participant learns that its certification was
erroneous when submitted or has become erroneous by reason of changed circumstances.

. The terms covered transaction, debarment, suspension, ineligible, lower tier, participant, person, primary

tier, principal, and voluntarily excluded, as used in this clause, have the meanings set out in the Definition
and Coverage sections of 2 CFR Part 180. You may contact the person to whom this proposal is submitted
for assistance in obtaining a copy of those regulations.
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5. The prospective lower tier participant agrees by submitting this proposal that, should the proposed covered
transaction be entered into, it shall not knowingly enter into any lower tier covered transaction with a person
who is proposed for debarment under 48 CFR part 9, subpart 9.4, debarred, suspended, declared ineligible,

or voluntarily excluded from participation in this covered transaction, unless authorized by NHTSA.

6. The prospective lower tier participant further agrees by submitting this proposal that it will include the
clause titled “Instructions for Lower Tier Certification” including the "Certification Regarding Debarment,
Suspension, Ineligibility and Voluntary Exclusion — Lower Tier Covered Transaction," without modifi-
cation, in all lower tier covered transactions and in all solicitations for lower tier covered transactions and
will require lower tier participants to comply with 2 CFR Parts 180 and 1300.

7. A participant in a covered transaction may rely upon a certification of a prospective participant in a lower
tier covered transaction that it is not proposed for debarment under 48 CFR part 9, subpart 9.4, debarred,
suspended, ineligible, or voluntarily excluded from the covered transaction, unless it knows that the certi-
fication is erroneous. A participant may decide the method and frequency by which it determines the
eligibility of its principals. Each participant may, but is not required to, check the List of Parties Excluded
from Federal Procurement and Non-procurement Programs.

8. Nothing contained in the foregoing shall be construed to require establishment of a system of records in
order to render in good faith the certification required by this clause. The knowledge and information of
a participant is not required to exceed that which is normally possessed by a prudent person in the ordinary
course of business dealings.

9. Except for transactions authorized under paragraph 5 of these instructions, if a participant in a covered
transaction knowingly enters into a lower tier covered transaction with a person who is proposed for
debarment under 48 CFR part 9, subpart 9.4, suspended, debarred, ineligible, or voluntarily excluded
from participation in this transaction, the department or agency with which this transaction originated
may disallow costs, annul or terminate the transaction, issue a stop work order, debar or suspend you, or
take other remedies as appropriate.

Certification Regarding Debarment, Suspension, Ineligibility and Voluntary Exclusion Lower Tier
Covered Transactions:

1. The prospective lower tier participant certifies, by submission of this proposal, that neither it nor its
principals is presently debarred, suspended, proposed for debarment, declared ineligible, or voluntarily
excluded from participation in this transaction by any Federal department or agency.

2. Where the prospective lower tier participant is unable to certify to any of the statements in this certifi-
cation, such prospective participant shall attach an explanation to this proposal.

BUY AMERICA ACT

(applies to subrecipients as well as States)

The State and each subrecipient will comply with the Buy America requirement (23 U.S.C. 313) when purchasing
items using Federal funds. Buy America requires a State, or subrecipient, to purchase only steel, iron and manufac-
tured products produced in the United States with Federal funds, unless the Secretary of Transportation deter-
mines that such domestically produced items would be inconsistent with the public interest, that such materials
are not reasonably available and of a satisfactory quality, or that inclusion of domestic materials will increase the
cost of the overall project contract by more than 25 percent. In order to use Federal funds to purchase foreign
produced items, the State must submit a waiver request that provides an adequate basis and justification to and
approved by the Secretary of Transportation.

PROHIBITION ON USING GRANT FUNDS TO CHECK FOR HELMET USAGE

(applies to subrecipients as well as States)

The State and each subrecipient will not use 23 U.S.C. Chapter 4 grant funds for programs to check helmet
usage or to create checkpoints that specifically target motorcyclists.
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POLICY ON SEAT BELT USE

In accordance with Executive Order 13043, Increasing Seat Belt Use in the United States, dated April 16, 1997,
the Grantee is encouraged to adopt and enforce on-the-job seat belt use policies and programs for its employees
when operating company-owned, rented, or personally-owned vehicles. The National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration (NHTSA) is responsible for providing leadership and guidance in support of this Presidential
initiative. For information on how to implement such a program, or statistics on the potential benefits and cost-
savings to your company or organization, please visit the Buckle Up America section on NHTSA's website at
www.nhtsa.dot.gov. Additional resources are available from the Network of Employers for Traffic Safety (NETYS),
a public-private partnership headquartered in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan area, and dedicated to
improving the traflic safety practices of employers and employees. NETS is prepared to provide technical assis-
tance, a simple, user-friendly program kit, and an award for achieving the President’s goal of 90 percent seat belt
use. NETS can be contacted at 1 (888) 221-0045 or visit its website at www.traflicsafety.org.

POLICY ON BANNING TEXT MESSAGING WHILE DRIVING

In accordance with Executive Order 13513, Federal Leadership On Reducing Text Messaging While Driving,
and DOT Order 3902.10, Text Messaging While Driving, States are encouraged to adopt and enforce workplace
safety policies to decrease crashed caused by distracted driving, including policies to ban text messaging while
driving company-owned or -rented vehicles, Government-owned, leased or rented vehicles, or privately-owned
when on official Government business or when performing any work on or behalf of the Government. States are
also encouraged to conduct workplace safety initiatives in a manner commensurate with the size of the business,
such as establishment of new rules and programs or re-evaluation of existing programs to prohibit text messaging
while driving, and education, awareness, and other outreach to employees about the safety risks associated with
texting while driving.

SECTION 402 REQUIREMENTS

1. To the best of my personal knowledge, the information submitted in the Highway Safety Plan in support
of the State’s application for a grant under 23 U.S.C. 402 is accurate and complete.

2. The Governor is the responsible official for the administration of the State highway safety program, by
appointing a Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety who shall be responsible for a State highway
safety agency that has adequate powers and is suitably equipped and organized (as evidenced by appro-
priate oversight procedures governing such areas as procurement, financial administration, and the use,
management, and disposition of equipment) to carry out the program. (23 U.S.C. 402(b)(1)(A))

3. The political subdivisions of this State are authorized, as part of the State highway safety program, to
carry out within their jurisdictions local highway safety programs which have been approved by the
Governor and are in accordance with the uniform guidelines promulgated by the Secretary of Trans-

portation. (23 U.S.C. 402(b)(1)(B))

4. At least 40 percent of all Federal funds apportioned to this State under 23 U.S.C. 402 for this fiscal year
will be expended by or for the benefit of political subdivisions of the State in carrying out local highway
safety programs (23 U.S.C. 402(b)(1)(C)) or 95 percent by and for the benefit of Indian tribes (23 U.S.C.
402(h)(2)), unless this requirement is waived in writing. (This provision is not applicable to the District
of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of
the Northern Mariana Islands.)

5. The State's highway safety program provides adequate and reasonable access for the safe and convenient
movement of physically handicapped persons, including those in wheelchairs, across curbs constructed

or replaced on or after July 1, 1976, at all pedestrian crosswalks. (23 U.S.C. 402(b)(1)(D))

6. The State will provide for an evidenced-based traffic safety enforcement program to prevent traffic viola-
tions, crashes, and crash fatalities and injuries in areas most at risk for such incidents. (23 U.S.C.

402(b)(1)(E))
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7. The State will implement activities in support of national highway safety goals to reduce motor vehicle
related fatalities that also reflect the primary data-related crash factors within the State, as identified by
the State highway safety planning process, including:

e Participation in the National high-visibility law enforcement mobilizations as identified annually in the
NHTSA Communications Calendar, including not less than 3 mobilization campaigns in each fiscal year
to —

o Reduce alcohol-impaired or drug-impaired operation of motor vehicles; and
o Increase use of seatbelts by occupants of motor vehicles;
* Submission of information regarding mobilization participation into the HVE Database;

* Sustained enforcement of statutes addressing impaired driving, occupant protection, and driving in excess
of posted speed limits;

* An annual Statewide seat belt use survey in accordance with 23 CFR part 1340 for the measurement of
State seat belt use rates, except for the Secretary of Interior on behalf of Indian tribes;

* Development of Statewide data systems to provide timely and effective data analysis to support allocation
of highway safety resources;

* Coordination of Highway Safety Plan, data collection, and information systems with the State strategic
highway safety plan, as defined in 23 U.S.C. 148(a). (23 U.S.C. 402(b)(1)(F))

8. The State will actively encourage all relevant law enforcement agencies in the State to follow the guidelines

established for vehicular pursuits issued by the International Association of Chiefs of Police that are
currently in effect. (23 U.S.C. 402(j))

9. The State will not expend Section 402 funds to carry out a program to purchase, operate, or maintain an
automated traffic enforcement system. (23 U.S.C. 402(c)(4))

The State: CHECK ONLY ONE

X Certifies that automated traffic enforcement systems are not used on any public road in the State;
OR

O Is unable to certify that automated traffic enforcement systems are not used on any public road in the State,
and therefore will conduct a survey meeting the requirements of 23 CFR 1300.13(d)(3) AND will submit
the survey results to the NHTSA Regional office no later than March 1 of the fiscal year of the grant.

I understand that my statements in support of the State’s application for Federal grant funds are statements upon
which the Federal Government will rely in determining qualification for grant funds, and that knowing misstate-
ments may be subject to civil or criminal penalties under 18 U.S.C. 1001. I sign these Certifications and Assur-
ances based on personal knowledge, and after appropriate inquiry.

M Gflosce— G -(G6-20l(

Signature Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety Date

Mpek Gotreies  P.E.

Printed name of Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety
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APPENDIX 9A:
STATE CERTIFICATIONS AND ASSURANCES
OCCUPANT PROTECTION (23 U.S.C. 405(b))

Instructions: States may elect to apply for an occupant protection grant using the application requirements under
Part 1200 or Part 1300.

* If the State is applying for a grant under Part 1200 (MAP-21 IFR), check the box for Part 1.1 and complete

the form.

* If the State is applying for a grant under Part 1300 (FAST Act IFR), check the box for Part 1.2 and complete
the form.

X PART 1.1: OCCUPANT PROTECTION GRANT (23 CFR § 1200.21)
[Check the box above only if applying for this grant.]
All States: [Fill in all blanks below.]

* The lead State agency responsible for occupant protection programs will maintain its aggregate expenditures
for occupant protection programs at or above the average level of such expenditures in fiscal years 2014

and 2015. (23 U.S.C. 405(a)(9))

* The State will participate in the Click it or Ticket national mobilization in the fiscal year of the grant. The
description of the State’s planned participation is provided as HSP attachment or page # 15.

* The State’s occupant protection plan for the upcoming fiscal year is provided as HSP attachment or page
#13-18.

* Documentation of the State’s active network of child restraint inspection stations is provided as HSP
attachment or page # Supplemental Appendix OP-1.

* The State’s plan for child passenger safety technicians is provided as HSP attachment or page # Supple-
mental Appendix OP-2.

Lower Seat belt Use States:
[Check at least 3 boxes below and fill in all blanks under those checked boxes.]
X The State’s primary seat belt use law, requiring all occupants riding in a passenger motor vehicle to be
restrained in a seat belt or a child restraint, was enacted on 6/29/2009 and last amended on 06/29/2009,

is in effect, and will be enforced during the fiscal year of the grant. Legal citation(s):Section 347.48 (2m),
Wis. Stats.; Section 347.48 (4), Wis. Stats..

O The State’s occupant protection law, requiring occupants to be secured in a seat belt or age-appropriate

child restraint while in a passenger motor vehicle and a minimum fine of $25, was enacted on

and last amended on , is in effect, and will be enforced during

the fiscal year of the grant.
Legal citations: Section 347.48 (2m), Wis. Stats.; Section 347.48 (4), Wis. Stats.
* Requirement for all occupants to be secured in seat belt or age appropriate child restraint:

* Coverage of all passenger motor vehicles:

e Minimum fine of at least $25:

* Exemptions from restraint requirements:

0O The State’s seat belt enforcement plan is provided as HSP attachment or page #

O The State’s high risk population countermeasure program is provided as HSP page or attachment #
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0 The State’s comprehensive occupant protection program is provided as HSP attachment #

0 The State’s NHTSA-facilitated occupant protection program assessment was conducted on

* Exemptions from restraint requirements:

X The State’s seat belt enforcement plan is provided as HSP attachment or page #HSP pages 13-15.

X The State’s high risk population countermeasure program is provided as HSP page or attachment
#Supplemental Appendix OP-3 and HSP page 14.

0 The State’s comprehensive occupant protection program is provided as HSP attachment #

0 The State’s NHTSA-facilitated occupant protection program assessment was conducted on

PART 1.2: OCCUPANT PROTECTION GRANT (23 CFR § 1300.21)
[Check the box above only if applying for this grant.]
All States: [Fill in all blanks below.]

* The lead State agency responsible for occupant protection programs will maintain its aggregate expendi-
tures for occupant protection programs at or above the average level of such expenditures in fiscal years

2014 and 2015. (23 U.S.C. 405(a)(9))

* The State’s occupant protection program area plan for the upcoming fiscal year is provided as HSP page
or attachment #

* The State will participate in the Click it or Ticket national mobilization in the fiscal year of the grant.
The description of the State’s planned participation is provided as HSP page or attachment #

* A table that documents the State’s active network of child restraint inspection stations is provided as
HSP page or attachment # . Such table includes (1) the total
number of inspection stations/events in the State; and (2) the total number of inspection stations

and/or inspection events that service rural and urban areas and at-risk populations (e.g., low income,
minority). Each inspection station/event is staffed with at least one current nationally Certified Child
Passenger Safety Technician.

* A table, as provided in HSP page or attachment # , identifies the
number of classes to be held, location of classes, and estimated number of students needed to ensure

coverage of child passenger safety inspection stations and inspection events by nationally Certified
Child Passenger Safety Technicians.

Lower Seat belt Use States Only:
[Check at least 3 boxes below and fill in all blanks under those checked boxes.]

O The State’s primary seat belt use law, requiring all occupants riding in a passenger motor vehicle to be
restrained in a seat belt or a child restraint, was enacted on and last amended on

, is in effect, and will be enforced during the fiscal year of the grant. Legal

citation(s):

0 The State’s occupant protection law, requiring occupants to be secured in a seat belt or age-appropriate
child restraint while in a passenger motor vehicle and a minimum fine of $25, was enacted on

and last amended on , is in effect, and will be enforced during
the fiscal year of the grant.
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Legal citations:

* Requirement for all occupants to be secured in seat belt or age appropriate child restraint:

* Coverage of all passenger motor vehicles:

e Minimum fine of at least $25:

* Exemptions from restraint requirements:

O The State’s seat belt enforcement plan is provided as HSP page or attachment #

O The State’s high risk population countermeasure program is provided as HSP page or attachment #

O The State’s comprehensive occupant protection program is provided as follows:

* Date of NHTSA-facilitated program assessment conducted within 5 years prior to the application date:

* Multi-year strategic plan: HSP page or attachment #

* Name and title of State’s designated occupant protection coordinator:

* List that contains the names, titles and organizations of the statewide occupant protection task force
membership: HSP page or attachment #

O The State’s NHTSA-facilitated occupant protection program assessment of all elements of its occupant
protection program was conducted on (within 3 years of the application due date).

APPENDIX 9B:
STATE CERTIFICATIONS AND ASSURANCES
STATE TRAFFIC SAFETY INFORMATION SYSTEM IMPROVEMENTS (23 U.S.C. 405(c))

Instructions: States may elect to apply for a State Traffic Safety Information System Improvements grant using
the application requirements under Part 1200 or Part 1300.

e If the State is applying for a grant under Part 1200 (MAP-21 IFR), check the box for Part 2.1 and complete
the form.

* If the State is applying for a grant under Part 1300 (FAST Act IFR), check the box for Part 2.2 and

complete the form.
X PART 2.1: STATE TRAFFIC SAFETY INFORMATION SYSTEM IMPROVEMENTS GRANT (23 CFR § 1200.22)
[Check the box above only if applying for this grant.]

* The lead State agency responsible for traffic safety information system improvements programs will
maintain its aggregate expenditures for traffic safety information system improvements programs at or
above the average level of such expenditures in fiscal years 2014 and 2015. (23 U.S.C. 405(a)(9))

[Fill in at least one blank for each bullet below:.]

* A copy of [check one box only] the X TRCC charter or the O statute legally mandating a State TRCC is
provided as HSP attachment # Supplemental Appendix TR-1.
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* A copy of meeting schedule and all reports and other documents promulgated by the TRCC during the
12 months preceding the application due date is provided as HSP attachment # Supplemental Appendix
TR-2.

* A list of the TRCC membership and the organization and function they represent is provided as HSP

attachment #Supplemental Appendix TR-3.

* The name and title of the State’s Traffic Records Coordinator is Larry Corsi, State Program Manager, and
Neil May, Program Evaluation Analyst, Co-Chairs.

* A copy of the State Strategic Plan, including any updates, is provided as HSP attachment # Supplemental

Appendix TR-4.

* [Check one box below and fill in any blanks under that checked box.]

X The following pages in the State’s Strategic Plan provides a written description of the performance
measures, and all supporting data, that the State is relying on to demonstrate achievement of the quanti-
tative improvement in the preceding 12 months of the application due date in relation to one or more of
the significant data program attributes: pages Supplemental Appendix TR-5.

OR

0 If not detailed in the State’s Strategic Plan, the written description is provided as HSP attachment #

* The State’s most recent assessment or update of its highway safety data and traffic records system was
completed on 6/8/2015.

PART 2.2: STATE TRAFFIC SAFETY INFORMATION SYSTEM IMPROVEMENTS GRANT (23 CFR §
1300.22)

[Check the box above only if applying for this grant.]
All States:

* The lead State agency responsible for traffic safety information system improvements programs will
maintain its aggregate expenditures for traffic safety information system improvements programs at or

above the average level of such expenditures in fiscal years 2014 and 2015. (23 U.S.C. 405(a)(9))
[Fill in all blank for each bullet below.]
* The TRCC meeting dates (at least 3) during the 12 months preceding the application due date were:

e The name and title of the State’s Traffic Records Coordinator is

* A list of the TRCC members by name, title, home organization and the core safety database represented
is provided as HSP page or attachment #

* The State Strategic Plan is provided as follows:

e Description of specific, quantifiable and measurable improvements: HSP page or attachment #

e List of all recommendations from most recent assessment: HSP page or attachment #

e Recommendations to be addressed, including projects and performance measures: HSP page or
attachment # ;

® Recommendations not to be addressed, including reasons for not implementing: HSP page or
attachment #
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* Written description of the performance measures, and all supporting data, that the State is relying on to
demonstrate achievement of the quantitative improvement in the preceding 12 months of the application
due date in relation to one or more of the significant data program attributes is provided as HSP page or
attachment #

* The State’s most recent assessment or update of its highway safety data and traffic records system was
completed on

APPENDIX 9C:
STATE CERTIFICATIONS AND ASSURANCES
IMPAIRED DRIVING COUNTERMEASURES (23 U.S.C. 405(d))

Instructions: States may elect to apply for an Impaired Driving Countermeasures grant using the application
requirements under Part 1200 or Part 1300.

* If the State is applying for a grant under Part 1200 (MAP-21 IFR), check the box for Part 3.1 and complete
the form.

* If the State is applying for a grant under Part 1300 (FAST Act IFR), check the box for Part 3.2 and
complete the form.

X PART 3.1: IMPAIRED DRIVING COUNTERMEASURES GRANT (23 CFR § 1200.23)
[Check the box above only if applying for this grant.]

* The lead State agency responsible for impaired driving programs will maintain its aggregate expenditures
for impaired driving programs at or above the average level of such expenditures in fiscal years 2014 and
2015.
* The State will use the funds awarded under 23 U.S.C. 405(d) only for the implementation of programs
as provided in 23 CFR 1200.23(j) in the fiscal year of the grant.
Mid-Range State:

* The statewide impaired driving plan approved by a statewide impaired driving task force was issued on
5/16/2016 and is provided as HSP attachment # Supplemental Appendix AL-1

* A copy of information describing the statewide impaired driving task force is provided as HSP attachment
# Supplemental Appendix AL-1

High-Range State:

* A NHTSA-facilitated assessment of the State’s impaired driving program was conducted on

* The statewide impaired driving plan developed or updated on is provided as HSP
attachment #

* A copy of the information describing the statewide impaired driving task force is provided as HSP
attachment #

PART 3.2: IMPAIRED DRIVING COUNTERMEASURES GRANT (23 CFR § 1300.23) [Check the box above
only if applying for this grant.]
All States:

* The lead State agency responsible for impaired driving programs will maintain its aggregate expenditures

for impaired driving programs at or above the average level of such expenditures in fiscal years 2014 and
2015.
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Mid-Range State Only:
[Check one box below and fill in all blanks under that checked box.]

* The State submits its statewide impaired driving plan approved by a statewide impaired driving task force
on . Specifically —

* HSP page or attachment # describes the authority and basis for operation of the

Statewide impaired driving task force;

* HSP page or attachment # contains the list of names, titles and organizations of all

task force members;

e HSP page or attachment # contains the strategic plan based on Highway Safety
Guideline No. 8 — Impaired Driving,.

* The State has previously submitted a statewide impaired driving plan approved by a statewide impaired
driving task force on and continues to use this plan.

High-Range State Only:
[Check one box below and fill in all blanks under that checked box.]

* 'The State submits its statewide impaired driving plan approved by a statewide impaired driving task force

on that includes a review of a NHTSA-facilitated assessment of the State’s impaired
driving program conducted on . Specifically, —

* HSP page or attachment # describes the authority and basis for operation of the
Statewide impaired driving task force;

* HSP page or attachment # contains the list of names, titles and organizations of all
task force members;

* HSP page or attachment # contains the strategic plan based on Highway Safety
Guideline No. 8 — Impaired Driving;

e HSP page or attachment # addresses any related recommendations from the
assessment of the State’s impaired driving program;

* HSP page or attachment # contains the detailed project list for spending grant funds;

* HSP page or attachment # describes how the spending supports the State’s impaired

driving program and achievement of its performance targets.

O The State submits an updated statewide impaired driving plan approved by a statewide impaired driving
task force on and updates its assessment review and spending plan provided as HSP

page or attachment #

APPENDIX 9D:
STATE CERTIFICATIONS AND ASSURANCES
MOTORCYCLIST SAFETY (23 U.S.C. 405(f))

Instructions: States may elect to apply for a Motorcyclist Safety grant using the application requirements under
Part 1200 or Part 1300.

e If the State is applying for a grant under Part 1200 (MAP-21 IFR), check the box for Part 7.1 (formerly
Part 5 of Appendix D) and complete the form.

e If the State is applying for a grant under Part 1300 (FAST Act IFR), check the box for Part 7.2 and
complete the form.
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X PART 7.1*: MOTORCYCLIST SAFETY GRANT (23 CFR § 1200.25)
(*Under Appendix D of Part 1200, Motorcyclist Safety Grant application was Part 5.)

(*Under Appendix D of Part 1200, Motorcyclist Safety Grant application was Part 5.)
[Check the box above only if applying for this grant.]
[Check at least 2 boxes below and fill in any blanks under those checked boxes.]

X Motorcycle riding training course:

* Copy of official State document (e.g., law, regulation, binding policy directive, letter from the Governor)
identifying the designated State authority over motorcyclist safety issues is provided as HSP attachment
#Supplemental Appendix MC-1.

* Document(s) showing the designated State authority approving the training curriculum that includes
instruction in crash avoidance and other safety-oriented operational skills for both in-class and on-the-
motorcycle is provided as HSP attachment # Supplemental Appendix MC-2.

* Document(s) regarding locations of the motorcycle rider training course being offered in the State is

provided as HSP attachment # Supplemental Appendix MC-3.

* Document showing that certified motorcycle rider training instructors teach the motorcycle riding
training course is provided as HSP attachment # Supplemental Appendix MC-2.

* Description of the quality control procedures to assess motorcycle rider training courses and instructor
training courses and actions taken to improve courses is provided as HSP attachment # Supplemental
Appendices MC-4 and MC-8.

X Motorcyclist awareness program:

* Copy of official State document (e.g., law, regulation, binding policy directive, letter from the Governor)
identifying the designated State authority over motorcyclist safety issues is provided as HSP attachment
# Supplemental Appendix MC-1.

* Letter from the Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety regarding the development of the motor-
cyclist awareness program is provided as HSP attachment # Supplemental Appendix MC-5.

* Data used to identify and prioritize the State’s motorcyclist safety program areas is provided as HSP

attachment or page # Supplemental Appendix MC-6.

* Description of how the State achieved collaboration among agencies and organizations regarding motor-
cycle safety issues is provided as HSP attachment # or page #Supplemental Appendices MC-5 and MC-
7.

* Copy of the State strategic communications plan is provided as HSP attachment # Supplemental
Appendix MC-7, pages 1-2.

O Reduction of fatalities and crashes involving motorcycles:

* Data showing the total number of motor vehicle crashes involving motorcycles is provided as HSP
attachment or page #

* Description of the State’s methods for collecting and analyzing data is provided as HSP attachment or
page #

O Impaired driving program:

* Data used to identify and prioritize the State’s impaired driving and impaired motorcycle operation
problem areas is provided as HSP attachment or page #

* Detailed description of the State’s impaired driving program is provided as HSP attachment or page #
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e The State law or regulation defines impairment. Legal citation(s):

0 Reduction of fatalities and accidents involving impaired motorcyclists:

* Data showing the total number of reported crashes involving alcohol-impaired and drug-impaired
motorcycle operators is provided as HSP attachment or page #

* Description of the State’s methods for collecting and analyzing data is provided as HSP attachment or
page #

e The State law or regulation defines impairment. Legal citation(s):

0 Use of fees collected from motorcyclists for motorcycle programs: [Check one box below and fill in any

blanks under the checked box.]
0 Applying as a Law State —

* The State law or regulation requires all fees collected by the State from motorcyclists for the purpose of
funding motorcycle training and safety programs are to be used for motorcycle training and safety
programs. Legal citation(s):

AND
* The State’s law appropriating funds for FY

requires all fees collected by the State from motorcyclists

for the purpose of funding motorcycle training and safety programs be spent on motorcycle training
and safety programs. Legal citation(s):

o Applying as a Data State —

* Data and/or documentation from official State records from the previous fiscal year showing that all
fees collected by the State from motorcyclists for the purpose of funding motorcycle training and safety
programs were used for motorcycle training and safety programs is provided as HSP attachment #

0 PART 7.2: MOTORCYCLIST SAFETY GRANT (23 CFR § 1300.25)

[Check the box above only if applying for this grant.]

[Check at least 2 boxes below and fill in all blanks under those checked boxes only.]
0 Motorcycle riding training course:

* The name and organization of the head of the designated State authority over motorcyclist safety issues
is

* The head of the designated State authority over motorcyclist safety issues has approved and the State
has adopted one of the following introductory rider curricula: [Check one of the following boxes below

and fill in any blanks.]
0 Motorcycle Safety Foundation Basic Rider Course;
o TEAM OREGON Basic Rider Training;
0 Idaho STAR Basic I;
o California Motorcyclist Safety Program Motorcyclist Training Course;

g Other curriculum that meets NHTSA’s Model National Standards for Entry-Level Motorcycle Rider
Training and that has been approved by NHTSA.

* On HSP page or attachment # , a list of counties or political subdivisions in the State where
motorcycle rider training courses will be conducted during the fiscal year of the grant AND number of
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registered motorcycles in each such county or political subdivision according to official State motor

vehicle records.
O Motorcyclist awareness program:

* The name and organization of the head of the designated State authority over motorcyclist safety issues
is

* The State’s motorcyclist awareness program was developed by or in coordination with the designated
State authority having jurisdiction over motorcyclist safety issues.

* On HSP page or attachment # , performance measures and corresponding performance targets
developed for motorcycle awareness that identifies, using State crash data, the counties or political
subdivisions within the State with the highest number of motorcycle crashes involving a motorcycle

and another motor vehicle.

* On HSP page or attachment # , countermeasure strategies and projects demonstrating that
the State will implement data-driven programs in a majority of counties or political subdivisions corre-
sponding with the majority of crashes

involving at least one motorcycle and at least one motor vehicle causing a serious or fatal injury to at
least one motorcyclist or motor vehicle occupant.

O Reduction of fatalities and crashes involving motorcycles:
* Data showing the total number of motor vehicle crashes involving motorcycles is provided as HSP page

or attachment #

* Description of the State’s methods for collecting and analyzing data is provided as HSP page or
attachment #
0 Impaired driving program:
* On HSP page or attachment # , performance measures and corresponding performance targets

developed to reduce impaired motorcycle operation.

* On HSP page or attachment # , countermeasure strategies and projects demonstrating that
the State will implement data-driven programs designed to reach motorcyclists and motorists in those
jurisdictions where the incidence of motorcycle crashes involving an impaired operator is highest (i.e.,
the majority of counties or political subdivisions in the State with the highest numbers of motorcycle
crashes involving an impaired operator) based upon State data.

O Reduction of fatalities and accidents involving impaired motorcyclists:

* Data showing the total number of reported crashes involving alcohol-impaired and drug-impaired
motorcycle operators is provided as HSP page or attachment #

* Description of the State’s methods for collecting and analyzing data is provided as HSP page or
attachment #

O Use of fees collected from motorcyclists for motorcycle programs:
[Check one box only below and fill in all blanks under the checked box only.]
0 Applying as a Law State —

* The State law or regulation requires all fees collected by the State from motorcyclists for the purpose of
funding motorcycle training and safety programs are to be used for motorcycle training and safety
programs. Legal citation(s):

AND
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¢ The State’s law appropriating funds for FY requires all fees collected by the State from motorcyclists
for the purpose of funding motorcycle training and safety programs be spent on motorcycle training
and safety programs. Legal citation(s):
0 Applying as a Data State —

* Data and/or documentation from official State records from the previous fiscal year showing that all
fees collected by the State from motorcyclists for the purpose of funding motorcycle training and safety
programs were used for motorcycle training and safety programs is provided HSP page or attachment
#

APPENDIX 9E:
STATE CERTIFICATIONS AND ASSURANCES
24-7 SOBRIETY PROGRAMS (23 U.S.C. 405(d)(6)(B))

Instructions: States must apply for a 24-7 Sobriety Program grant using the application requirements Part 1300.

X PART 5: 24-7 SOBRIETY PROGRAM GRANT (23 CFR § 1300.23(H))
[Check the box above only if applying for this grant.]
[Fill in all blanks.]

The State provides citations to a law that requires all individuals convicted of driving under the influence or of
driving while intoxicated to receive a restriction on driving privileges that was enacted on 10/1/1972 and last
amended on 9/30/2003, is in effect, and will be enforced during the fiscal year of the grant. Legal citation(s):
343.30 (1q) (b), Wis. Stats.

[Check at least one of the boxes below and fill in all blanks under that checked box.]

X Law citation. The State provides citations to a law that authorizes a statewide 24-7 sobriety program that
was enacted on 10/2/2016 and last amended on , is in effect, and will be enforced
during the fiscal year of the grant. Legal citation(s): s. 343.301 (1g) (am) 2., Wis. Stats.

0 Program information. The State provides program information that authorizes a statewide 24-7 sobriety
program. The program information is provided as HSP page or attachment #

APPENDIX 9F
STATE CERTIFICATIONS AND ASSURANCES

ALCOHOL-IGNITION INTERLOCK LAWS (23 U.S.C. 405(d)(6)(A))
X PART 4: ALCOHOL-IGNITION INTERLOCK LAW GRANT (23 CFR § 1300.23(G))

[Check the box above only if applying for this grant.]
[Fill in all blanks.]

The State provides citations to a law that requires all individuals convicted of driving under the influence or of
driving while intoxicated to drive only motor vehicles with alcohol-ignition interlocks for a period of 6 months
that was enacted on and last amended on , is in effect, and will be enforced
during the fiscal year of the grant. Legal citation(s): N/A; see s. 343.301 (1g) (a) 2., Wis. Stats.
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APPENDIX 9G
STATE CERTIFICATIONS AND ASSURANCES
APPENDIX B TO PART 1300 ~APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS
FOR SECTION 405 AND SECTION 1906 GRANTS

[Each fiscal year, to apply for a grant under 23 U.S.C. 405 or Section 1906, Pub. L. 109-59, as amended by
Section 4011, Pub. L. 114-94, the State must complete and submit all required information in this appendix,
and the Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety must sign the Certifications and Assurances.]

State: Wisconsin  Fiscal Year: 2017

In my capacity as the Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety, I hereby provide the following certifications

and assurances —

* | have reviewed the above information in support of the State’s application for 23 U.S.C. 405 and Section
1906 grants, and based on my review, the information is accurate and complete to the best of my personal
knowledge.

* As condition of each grant awarded, the State will use these grant funds in accordance with the specific
statutory and regulatory requirements of that grant, and will comply with all applicable laws, regulations,
and financial and programmatic requirements for Federal grants.

* ] understand and accept that incorrect, incomplete, or untimely information submitted in support of the
State’s application may result in the denial of a grant award.

I understand that my statements in support of the State’s application for Federal grant funds are statements upon
which the Federal Government will rely in determining qualification for grant funds, and that knowing misstate-
ments may be subject to civil or criminal penalties under 18 U.S.C. 1001. I sign these Certifications and Assur-
ances based on personal knowledge, and after appropriate inquiry.

Mok, GITU~— 6-16-201C

Signature Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety Date

MAK GOTTLIER, P E.

Printed name of Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety

116



S@JUeINSSY pue suoijed1i14a) a3els :j6 03 V6 Xlpuaddy « NV1d ALI4VS AVMHOIH £10C Ad4d NISNODSIM 40 FLVLS

117



STATE OF WISCONSIN
FFY 2017

Highway Safety Plan




Scott Walker
GOVERNOR OF WISCONSIN

Mark Gottlieb, P.E.
SECRETARY, WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT
OF TRANSPORTATION

GOVERNOR’S REPRESENTATIVE
FOR HIGHWAY SAFETY

David Pabst
HIGHWAY SAFETY COORDINATOR

Supplemental Appendix

HIGHWAY
SAFETY
PLAN

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2 0 1 7

ZERO

IN WISCONSIN



STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN

State of Wisconsin
Federal Fiscal Year 2017
Highway Safety Plan

APPENDIX SUPPLEMENT

TABLE OF CONTENTS
lll. Appendix
Appendix AL-1: Wisconsin Statewide Impaired Driving Plan 3
Appendix AL-247-1 15
Appendix AL-IID-1 19
Appendix DD-1: Example Distracted Driving Question 20
Appendix DD-2: s. 343.305 21
Appendix DD-3: s. 346.89 30
Appendix DD-4: s. 346.95 32
Appendix GDL-1 ch. 343, subch. II, Wis. Stats. Issuance,
Expiration and Renewal of Licenses 33
Appendix GDL-2 s. 346.89, Wis. Stats. Inattentive driving 65
Appendix GDL-3 ch. Trans 102, Wisc. Admin. Code.
Operator’s Licenses and Identification Cards 67

Appendix OP-1: Wisconsin Information Network for Safety (WINS) Fitting Stations 78

Appendix OP-2: Wins funded grants 102
Appendix OP-3: Law enforcement Grant Targeting Methodology 112
Appendix OP-4: Wisconsin Information Network for Safety 116
Appendix TR-1: TRCC Charter 118
Appendix TR-2: TRCC Agendas, Minutes, and Meeting Schedule 120
Appendix TR-3: 2016 TRCC Members 125
Appendix TR-4: 2015-2019 Strategic Plan for Traffic

Safety Information System Improvements 126
Appendix TR-5: State Trafhic Safety Information System

Improvements Grant Interim Progress Report 148
Appendix MC-1: Transportation Administrative Manual 151
Appendix MC-2: Chapter Trans 129 Motorcycle Licensing and Courses 153
Appendix MC-3: Motorcycle Training and Registration Data by County 164
Appendix MC-4: Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety program

Policy and Procedure Manual 165
Appendix MC-5: Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety and Awareness Campaigns 167
Appendix MC-6: Total Motorcycle Crashes in 2015 168
Appendix MC-7: Motorcycle Awareness Outreach Plan 2016 169

Appendix MC-8: Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program
Quality Improvement Process 172



APPENDIX AL-1: WISCONSIN STATEWIDE

IMPAIRED DRIVING PLAN

Wisconsin Statewide Impaired Driving Task Force | May 16, 2016

Executive Summary

Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act is
the most recent enactment authorizing federal funding
for surface transportation programs. Under the FAST
Act, states qualify for impaired driving grants based on
the state’s average impaired driving fatality rate. The
rate, which uses the most recently available Fatality
Analysis Reporting System (FARS) data, is based on the
number of fatalities in alcohol-related motor vehicle
crashes for every 100,000,000 vehicle miles traveled
(VMT). For purposes of this calculation, a crash is
considered alcohol-related if it involves at least one
driver with a blood alcohol concentration of at least
0.08 percent.

Wisconsin’s average alcohol-related impaired driving
fatality rate for 2011-2013 is 0.33, which makes
Wisconsin a “mid-range state.” As with other mid-
range states and similar to the prior MAP-21 authori-
zation, Wisconsin is required to submit a statewide
impaired driving plan that is developed by a statewide
task force within the three years prior to their appli-
cation for funding for impaired driving grants.

Wisconsins FFY 2016 application, which was due June
30, 2015, was submitted with the previous Wisconsin
Statewide Impaired Driving Plan dated August 6, 2013.
The FFY 2016 application reserved a section for that
which

documented the

report,

Alcohol-Related Fatal and Serious Injury Crashes and OWI Arrests

is updated with new figures, membership lists,
programs, and major initiatives. This edition will be
submitted with Wisconsin FFY 2017 application, due
June 30, 2016.

Vision
Zero in Wisconsin: Even one preventable traffic fatality
is one too many.

Mission

In concert with Wisconsin’s Strategic Highway Safety
Plan and annual Highway Safety Plan, the Wisconsin
Statewide Impaired Driving Task Force provides a
strategy for combating impaired driving. No one
solution for this problem exists, and a comprehensive
approach needs to be considered in each community.

Background

The Impaired Driving Problem

Over the past decade, Wisconsin has experienced a
decline in both OWT arrests and alcohol-related crashes
resulting in serious injury or death (see. Fig. 1). During
this same period, Wisconsin has seen reductions in its
traffic fatalities overall. These are all positive signs that
suggest that what we are doing is working,.
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Impaired driving has a high economic cost to the state,
as determined using national cost estimates obtained
from the National Safety Council. Applying this

approach to 2014 crash statistics demonstrates the
significant cost to the state (see Fig. 3).

Crash Severity Total Crashes Cost Per Crash Total Cost
Fatality (K) 162 $1,512,000 $244,944,400
Incapacitating (A) 439 $88,500 $38,851,500
Non-incapacitating (B) 1,288 $25,600 $32,972,800
Possible Injury (C) 967 $21,000 $10,927,100
Property Damage 4,932 $4,200 $20,714,400
Total Economic Loss $348,409,800

Figure 3

Though crashes are a problem and a serious concern,
there are many impaired driving incidents that are
caught and punished without crash involvement. In
2014, Wisconsin saw 33,660 convictions for operating

a motor vehicle while intoxicated. This is a reduction
from previous years (see Fig. 4), but the number of
individuals remains

driving  while impaired

unacceptably high.
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Figure 5

Underage alcohol consumption remains high. The
2013 National Survey on Drug Use and Health reports
that 23% of Americans ages 12-20 self-report as
consumers of alcohol. In 2013, the Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention reported that in the 30 days
prior to the survey: 35% of high school students drank
alcohol; 21% of them binge drank; 10% drove after
drinking alcohol; and 22% rode with a driver who had
been drinking alcohol.! These behaviors translate to
highway crash experience. In 2014, drivers under 21

years of age accounted for 7.12% of all drivers in
alcohol-related crashes in Wisconsin. In raw numbers,
that is 351 minors who should have been absolutely
sober (see Fig. 5).

Working towards a Solution

Working to address our impaired driving problem relies
on the input and contribution of various stakeholders.
Within the Wisconsin Department of Transportation
(WisDOT), there exists a Traffic Safety Council, whose

1 Alcohol and Public Health, Fact Sheets — Underage Drinking. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention. 31 Oct 2014. http://www.cdc.gov/alcohol/fact-sheets/underage-drinking.htm.
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members represent the various divisions of the
department. Among the duties of the council is the
creation and implementation of the state’s Strategic
Highway Safety Plan (SHSP). Reducing the incidence
of impaired driving and continued data
improvement—signature initiatives of the Wisconsin
Statewide Impaired Driving Task Force—are also
priority areas in the state’s most recent SHSP. This task
force will likely play a significant role in the implemen-

tation of the overlapping issue areas of the SHSP.

There also exists a Governor’s Council on Highway
Safety, which brings together representatives from
executive agencies, the state legislature, and the general
public. The Governor’s Council is advisory to the
Governor, the WisDOT Secretary, and the Director of
WisDOT’s Bureau of Transportation Safety.

Uniquely, each of Wisconsin’s 72 counties has a Traffic
Safety Commission (TSC), which is mandated by
Wisconsin law. These commissions meet every quarter
with the goal of improving the safety of the roads
within their counties. The TSCs are a vital resource for
WisDOT and our partners in understanding the issues
that exist at the local level. Additionally, they are also
vital so that WisDOT can provide information about
behavioral highway safety matters unique to that
county as well as legislative and regulatory changes that
happen in both state and federal government. The
following are represented on each of the TSCs: the
county highway commissioner; the chief county traffic
law enforcement officer; the county highway safety
coordinator; a representative each from the disciplines
of education, medicine, and law; and three representa-
tives of WisDOT involved in law enforcement,
highways, and highway safety. These people discuss the
crashes that have happened within their counties, often
focusing on the fatalities. WisDOT, in collaboration
with the UW-Madison Traffic Operations and Safety
Laboratory (TOPS Lab), provide the TSCs with the
means to map the crashes that happen within their
counties through Community Maps. Community
Maps is a tool to identify those roadways that
repeatedly have crashes so that future crashes can be
mitigated through the collaborative efforts of those
participating in the TSCs.

Wisconsin law enforcement agencies have been creating
task forces to combat impaired driving at an unprece-
dented rate. There were 14 OWI enforcement task
forces in 2014, 23 in 2015, and 27 as of the date of this

report in 2016. These task forces are a group of multiple
law enforcement agencies that are working together to
reduce impaired driving on the roadways in their juris-
dictions through enforcement, education, and coordi-
nated efforts. The law enforcement agencies involved
utilize high-visibility enforcement. Jurisdictional opera-
tions can concentrate on a specific corridor that is
High

enforcement can also use saturation efforts, through

within  multiple jurisdictions. visibility
mutual aid requests or through deputizing multiple
agencies and may concentrate on one or more jurisdic-
tions per deployment. Our goal is to continue to
develop these task forces. Further development of these
task forces will include increased Advanced Roadside
Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) certification,
more drug recognition experts (DREs), additional
canine units, and further involvement of emergency

medical technicians (EMTs) or paramedics.

WisDOT continues to establish partnerships with
many organizations that are working to reduce
impaired driving. The Wisconsin Department of
Health Services (DHS) provides funding support for
the Alliance for Wisconsin Youth’s (AWY) five regional
prevention centers. The AWY represents local, state and
tribal agencies, public and private sectors, religious and
fraternal community organizations, educational and
youth- based organizations focused on the promotion
of strategies leading to the reduction of all substance
abuse. DHS and the AWY regional prevention centers
have a goal to reduce drinking and driving, especially
among people ages 16-34. They have sponsored
Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement
(ARIDE) and Drug Recognition Expert (DRE)
training opportunities for law enforcement officers.
WisDOT and DHS have worked to connect the AWY
regional prevention centers with the Traffic Safety
Commissions to increase collaboration at the local level.
WisDOT also partners with two drugged driving task
forces to improve the enforcement of drugged driving.
The strong partnerships that have developed as a result
of the efforts of many organizations have resulted in a
more coordinated effort to reduce impaired driving in
Wisconsin.



Statewide Impaired Driving Task Force

Concept

The Wisconsin Statewide Impaired Driving Task Force
cannot initiate, recommend, or stipulate a legislative
agenda for any state or federal government agency since
it does not have the authority to do so. This task force
was created to identify administrative best practices that
help reduce impaired driving on Wisconsin roadways.
It seeks the collaboration of interested organizations
throughout the state and delineates their shared
interests in order to align these interests to orchestrate
reasonable solutions to the problem of impaired driving
within the law as it exists. This task force is challenged
with a simple task: develop new ideas that are
actionable within existing laws and programs to
attempt changes in behavior and culture.

Creation

The charter (see Appendix A) has been updated based
on the expertise of a diverse group of partners invited
by WisDOT with the charge of preventing and
reducing impaired driving behavior.

Per the charter, members are invited to ensure repre-
sentation of key stakeholders throughout the state and
to encourage a diversity of opinions and perspectives.
Many of the members are WisDOT’s external partners
with which it has long-standing relationships, but the
task force includes new partners as well (a full list of

members is provided as Appendix B).

As part of its initial report, the task force worked
together to identify six issues as the areas of focus for
future development: reducing the cultural acceptance
of impaired driving; reducing drinking among people
under age 25; streamlining OWI enforcement and
prosecution processes; improving drugged driving
recognition; promoting alternative transportation
programs; and improving data collection, sharing, and
distribution. In addition to Wisconsin’s ongoing
programming aimed at combating drunk driving, these
six issues will be the signature initiatives for the task
force. All programming is discussed in detail in the
following section.

Programs

Preamble

While this task force has identified many issues related
to impaired driving, it will focus on providing an
update to the following signature initiatives identified
in this section.

Prevention Programs

Public Information and Education

Program: Reducing the Cultural Acceptance of
Impaired Driving

Goals: According to WisDOT crash data, the 2010-
2014 average number of alcohol-related or drug-related
traffic fatalities was 267. The Wisconsin Department of
Health Services reports that at least 1,822 deaths in
Wisconsin could be attributed to alcohol in 2012.2
Drinking establishments and alcohol retailers are
prevalent throughout the state, and Wisconsin’s beer
tax is among the lowest in the country. There is a strong
culture of drinking in the state, and this is a major
component of our impaired driving problem. Alcohol
was a factor in 32.5% of all fatalities on Wisconsin
roads in 2014. The goal of the Wisconsin Strategic
Highway Safety Plan is to decrease the prior five-year
rolling average number of drug or alcohol impaired
driving crashes by 5% every three years. A major goal
of this task force is to encourage data collection in order
to understand the extent of the problem of drug-
impaired driving. The task force identified public infor-
mation and education as one potential solution to this
problem. The task force also proposes to conduct an
attitudinal survey to obtain a measure on the cultural
acceptance of impaired driving. This task force would
also like to increase the number of high-visibility
enforcement task force deployments.

Update: Law enforcement agencies across the state have
committed to high-visibilitcy OWT task force deploy-
ments. As of the date of this report, there are currently
27 task forces with the potential for additional
involvement in 2017.

2 Wisconsin Department of Health Services. “Wisconsin Epidemiological Profile on Alcohol and Other Drug
Use, 2014, Sept. 2014. https.//www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/publications/p4/p45718-14.pdf
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Responsible Alcohol Service

Program: Reducing Drinking Among Persons Under
Age 25

Goal: Drinking among persons under age 25 is a serious
concern. Ease of access to alcohol to individuals under
the age of 21 is one factor contributing to the drinking
of young persons, as is compliance with laws
prohibiting alcohol sales to minors as well as laws
prohibiting providing alcohol to minors. Another
important factor is the drinking behavior of young
people, which can trend toward frequent binge
drinking.? Solutions identified by the task force were
education increased

better of young people,

enforcement of existing laws, and reducing acceptance

The

demographic for impaired driving public information

of problematic behavior. greatest target
and education is males ages 21-34. According to data
from the National Highway Traffic Safety Adminis-
tration (NHTSA), persons ages 21-34 accounted for
64% of BACs of .08 or higher in fatal crashes, and
males accounted for three-quarters of all drivers in fatal

crashes in 2010. 4

Update: WisDOT and its external partners have taken
multiple steps to improve responsible alcohol service in
licensed establishments and at homes, festivals, and
events.

* WisDOT has created advertisements in English
and Spanish that appeal to this demographic.

* The creation of the Drive Sober mobile app to
provide information in a format used by a
younger demographic. As of the date of this

have been nearly 68,800

report, there

downloads of the app.
e The wuse of social media to reach the

demographic.

* Sixty-nine communities are doing compliance
checks on licensed establishments.

* The Wisconsin Alcohol Policy Project is
working with AAA and law enforcement in
local municipalities and counties to set up place
of last drink data collection. Last drink data
collection involves compiling and reviewing
data on licensed establishments that over-serve
in order to examine this serious issue more
thoroughly and to improve the training of
servers and the focus of law enforcement opera-
tions.

* A list of available Responsible Beverage Server
training courses in the classroom and online is
maintained by the Wisconsin Department of
Revenue, although they do not endorse or
administer these courses.

* WisDOT has a pilot project with law
enforcement agencies in Sheboygan and
Manitowoc Counties on High Visibility

(HVEE)
campaigns. A component of HVEE campaigns

Enforcement and Education
is for law enforcement to conduct outreach with
bar owners and bartenders about serving
notification of the

responsibly, public

enforcement activities, and safe rides home.

Deterrence Programs

Laws to Deter Impaired Driving

Wisconsin has laws that prohibit intoxicated driving,
facilitate the acquisition of evidence against intoxicated
drivers, and permit a range of administrative and
judicial penalties and actions.

Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. “2013 Youth Risk Behavior Survey, Executive Summary.”
http://dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/sspw/pdf/yrbs13execsum.pdf

U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. “Traffic Safety Facts:
Research Note: Prevalence of High BAC in Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatal Crashes.” August 2012. DOT HS 811

654. http://www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/Pubs/811654.pdf


http://www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/Pubs/811654.pdf
http://dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/sspw/pdf/yrbs13execsum.pdf

Defining Intoxicated Driving

Establish .08 as the alcohol concentration at which it is illegal per se to operate a motor vehicle if a driver has two

or fewer prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations due to OWI. Wis. Stat. 340.01 (46m)(a)

Establish .04 as the alcohol concentration at which it is illegal per se to operate a commercial motor vehicle.
Wis. Stat. 346.63 (5)(a)

Establish .02 as the alcohol concentration above which it is illegal per se to operate a motor vehicle if a driver has
3 or more prior convictions, suspensions, or revocations due to OWI or if the driver has an order to have an
ignition interlock device installed. Wis. Stat. 340.01 (46m)(b)

Establish .00 as the alcohol concentration above which it is illegal per se for an individual who has not attained

the legal drinking age to operate a motor vehicle. Wis. Stat. 346.63 (2m)

Prohibit the operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs to a degree which
renders the driver incapable of safe driving Wis. Stat. 346.63 (1) (a)

Prohibit the operation of a motor vehicle with a detectable amount of a restricted controlled substance in the
blood Wis. Stat. 346.63(1)(am)

Prohibit causing injury by operation of a motor vehicle while intoxicated, with a prohibited alcohol concentration,
and with a detectable amount of a restricted controlled substance in the blood Wis. Stat 346.63 (2) (a)

Prohibit causing death by intoxicated operation of a motor vehicle. Wis. Stat. 940.09

Prohibit the consumption of alcohol in a motor vehicle and prohibit open containers of alcohol in motor vehicles.
Wis. Stat. 346.935

Providing for Effective Enforcement

Authorize police to use a preliminary breath test for a vehicle operator stopped for a suspected intoxicated
driving offense. Wis. Stat. 343.303

Any person who is on duty time with respect to a commercial motor vehicle or drives or operates a motor vehicle
upon the public highways of this state, or in those areas enumerated in s. 346.61, is deemed to have given
consent to one or more tests of his or her breath, blood or urine, for the purpose of determining the presence or
quantity in his or her blood or breath, of alcohol, controlled substances, controlled substance analogs or other
drugs, or any combination of alcohol, controlled substances, controlled substance analogs and other drugs, when

requested to do so by a law enforcement officer. Wis. Stat. 343.305 (2)

Establish the requirements under which a chemical test may be requested or required. Wis. Stat. 343.305 (3)

Providing Effective Penalties

Requires administrative suspension of operating privileges for six months upon determination of a violation of

prohibited alcohol concentration or a detectable amount of a controlled substance. Wis. Stat. 343.305 (7)

Provides for increasingly severe penalties for repeat offenders, including increasing fines and increasing periods
of confinement. Wis. Stat. 346.65 (2)

Provide for criminal penalties for those convicted of vehicular homicide. Wis. Stat. 940.09 (1¢)
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Enforcement

Program: Streamline OWI Enforcement and
Prosecution Processes

Goal: A large portion of the federal funds awarded to
Wisconsin for impaired driving are devoted to
enforcement efforts. Innovative enforcement strategies
have yielded positive results in recent years. But an
OWT arrest remains a lengthy and cumbersome process.
Obtaining warrants and blood draws are the longest
parts of the arrest process. Streamlining the process
would mean officers spend less time processing a
violation and more time conducting enforcement.
Possible solutions identified by the task force included:
investing in roadside evidentiary testing technology,
increasing the use of saturation patrols and local task
forces, standardized warrant applications, law
enforcement officers trained in drawing blood, and
increasing process efficiency within the local courts. The
warrant process is complicated by the fact that some
warrants are not electronic, and so there is a need to go

to judges” houses.

Another issue with the OWT process is that municipal
prosecutors are often private attorneys paid on an
hourly basis, and so there is financial pressure to drop
cases to reduce litigation costs. Additionally, if OWT is
charged in municipal court, the defendant can have a
trial, and then the defendant can also appeal to circuit
court. It has been suggested for the purposes of
efficiency that these defendants be afforded a single
opportunity for a trial.

Update: In response to this concern, the OWI Process
has been mapped. Due to the different procedures and
protocols used among agencies, the development of a
list of best practices have been proposed. Wisconsin
continues to look into expanding roadside collection of
blood samples.

Program: Improving Drugged Driving Recog-
nition
Goal:

to recognize alcohol impairment, recognizing drug

While law enforcement officers are well-trained

impairment remains a challenge. Illicit drugs produce
a wide range of effects, and officers are not always
prepared to recognize the signs of impairment.
Wisconsin does use Drug Recognition Experts (DRE),
but this training is expensive and somewhat impractical
to implement on a large-scale basis. Some suggested

10

solutions would be to make the abbreviated training in
Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement
(ARIDE) curriculum available to a wider range of law
enforcement officers, as well as the increased use of
roadside impairment testing devices.

Update: Though training for DREs has continued,
more emphasis has been given to ARIDE training. In
2016, WisDOT is offering ARIDE training as an
option for law enforcement agencies involved with
mobilizations. WisDOT will also hold at least four
regional trainings to increase the number of ARIDE-
trained officers involved with task forces. Dane County
has developed a drugged driving pilot project. This pilot
program tests all participants’ blood for drugs, and in
so doing will enable the state and the members of the
task force to understand what proportion of intoxicated
drivers are intoxicated by various drugs. Marinette
County has been successfully using the Driger roadside
drug testing equipment; the possibility of using this
equipment in more areas is being researched. Statewide
at the end of 2014, there were 230 DREs. This places
Wisconsin in the top ten states for number of DREs
and in the top five states for DREs per capita. Statewide
at the end of 2015, there were 2,633 ARIDE-trained
officers. Wisconsin is in the top ten states for ARIDE-
trained law enforcement officers per capita (2009-
2014), and it is the largest state by population in the
top ten.

Harm Reduction

Program: Promoting Alternative Transportation
Programs

The safe-ride grant program was established by the state
legislature to provide grants to counties, municipalities,
or non-profit organizations to cover the costs of trans-
porting persons suspected of having a prohibited
alcohol concentration from a place licensed to sell
alcohol beverages to their places of residence (Wis. Stat.
85.55). This program is supported by funds from the
driver improvement surcharge added to tickets for
OWI violations.

WisDOT continues to offer festival grants for law
enforcement agencies to promote and pay for rides for
intoxicated drivers home from local festivals.

WisDOT produced a mobile application called Drive
Sober that uses geolocation to provide users with



available alternative transportation at their particular
locations.

Goal: Reduce the incidence of impaired driving by
providing rides for intoxicated persons from places
licensed to sell alcohol to their residences. Decrease the
number of crashes, injuries, and deaths resulting from
the operation of motor vehicles while intoxicated.

Update: Effective July 2015 a new, dedicated safe-ride
surcharge was created to support the safe-ride grant
program. Persons convicted of OWI have this surcharge

added to their fines. The Tavern League of Wisconsin’s
SafeRide Program provided 85,413 rides in 2014-2015.

Program Management
Data and Records

Program: Improving Data Collection,
Sharing, and Distribution

Goal:
coordinated efforts of many different players. From

Combating impaired driving requires the

state and local agencies including schools, to the law
enforcement community, to the prosecuting attorneys,
and every agency in between, multiple stakeholders
have a unique opportunity to have an impact. Effective
coordination depends on collecting complete data and
sharing it amongst relevant stakeholders. Potential
solutions require identifying various existing databases,
the linking of that data, identifying the needs of
collectors and users, and strategic planning of future
data collection efforts. The task force would like to look
into comparing conviction rates for OW1I cases that use
blood as evidence versus those that use breath as
evidence as well as recidivism among all arrests in
general and in Treatment Alternatives and Diversion

(TAD) grants.

Conclusion

With the increased realization that impaired driving
includes legal and illegal drugs as well as alcohol abuse,
this task force is trying to incorporate countermeasures
against driving under the influence of drugs into the
countermeasures against driver impairment due to
alcohol. For example, when considering countermea-
sures against drinking among youth, this task force is
also focusing on their use of controlled substances. This
task force will also continue to support programs that

expand the number and availability of DREs, officers

11

who receive ARIDE training, and professionals that
have Drug Impairment Training for Educational
Professional (DITEP) training.

Public information and education will continue to be
a priority of this task force. In cooperation with its
Office of Public Affairs, WisDOT will continue to
coordinate media and public information programs for
state and national safety awareness weeks and

This task force will

continue to encourage participation in these mobiliza-

enforcement mobilizations.

tions. At other times, this task force will encourage law
enforcement agencies to make OWI enforcement a
priority by participating in alcohol saturation patrols,
participating in OWI high-visibility enforcement task
forces, and writing citations.

The prosecution of impaired driving will also be a
priority. WisDOT provides salary and fringe for two
statewide Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutors. These
prosecutors provide education, outreach, and technical
assistance to prosecutors and law enforcement across
the state. WisDOT also funds a Special Prosecutor on
Traffic Crimes in Dane County as a pilot program.

The task force will also continue to work with the
Department of Health Services in evaluating the
Wisconsin Assessment of the Impaired Driver (WAID)

tool.

In order to reduce the impaired driving in this state, a
wide array of partners is required. WisDOT works
diligently to build upon its existing wide range of
partners in this effort. WisDOT would like to thank its
many partners for collaborating on this and its other
endeavors to decrease the serious issue of impaired
driving in Wisconsin.

Appendix A: Charter

Background

Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act is
the most recent enactment authorizing federal funding
for surface transportation programs. As part of this
funding, Wisconsin is eligible for funds to promote
highway safety. Receipt of a portion of these funds is
contingent on meeting specific requirements within
defined issue areas. One such area is impaired driving.

The FAST Act directs that the impaired driving fatality
rate (fatalities per 100 million vehicle miles traveled)
for each state be calculated and that each state be

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN - Appendix AL-1 Wisconsin Statewide Impaired Driving Plan
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classified as either low-range (0.30 or lower), mid-range
(between 0.30 and 0.60), or high-range (0.60 or
higher). With an impaired driving fatality rate of 0.33,
Wisconsin is classified as a mid-range state. A principal
requirement of mid-range states is to convene a
statewide impaired driving task force charged with
producing a statewide impaired driving plan.

Purpose

The purpose of this task force is to produce and
implement a statewide plan for preventing and
reducing impaired driving behavior.

Composition

Membership will be by invitation of the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation, Bureau of Trans-
portation Safety (BOTS). Members will be selected to
ensure representation of key stakeholders throughout
the state and to encourage a diversity of opinions and
perspectives.

Meetings and Procedures

This task force had a meeting on May 4, 2016, at the
Wisconsin State Patrol, Southwest Region, DeForest
Post, in DeForest, Wisconsin. The task force has been
meeting quarterly since August 6, 2013, and will
continue to do so.

Deliverable

The task force will help to develop and approve a
second edition of the statewide plan, to be delivered to
NHTSA by June 30, 2016. The first edition of this plan
was first delivered to NHTSA in August 2013. BOTS
staff will assume responsibility for compiling and deliv-
ering the second edition of this document.
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Appendix B: Task Force Members
Matt Alsaker

Dane County Sheriff’s Office
alsaker.richard@danesheriff.com

Andrea Bill
UW Traffic Operations and Safety Laboratory
bill@wisc.edu

Tina BonDurant
WisDOT/DSP/BOTS
tina.bondurant@dot.wi.gov

Robert Bott
WisDOT/DSP/BOTS
robert.bott@dot.wi.gov

Martin Broyles
WisDOT/DSP/BOTS
martin.broyles@dot.wi.gov

LeeAnn Cooper
WI Department of Health Services
leeann.cooper@wi.gov

David Coughlin
Racine County Sheriff’s Office
david.coughlin@goracine.org

Ron Cramer
Eau Claire County Sheriff
ron.cramer@co.eau-claire.wi.us

Philip Duket
Alliance for Wisconsin Youth
pduket@gmail.com

Deborah Fischer
WisDOT/DMV/BDS
deborahs.fischer@dot.wi.gov

Andy Franken
Wisconsin Insurance Alliance
afranken@wial.com

Daniel Furseth
DeForest Police Department
fursethd@vi.deforest.wi.us

Krystle Gutting
Connections Counseling
krystle.gutting@connectionscounseling.com

Sue Hackworthy
WisDOT/Chemical Testing
susan.hackworthy@dot.wi.gov
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Nancy Hernandez
ABRAZO Marketing
nancy.h@abrazomarketing.com

Nick Jarmusz
AAA Wisconsin
NJJarmusz@aaawisconsin.com

Tara Jenswold
Wisconsin Department of Justice
jenswoldtm@doj.state.wi.us

Earl L. Lemieux
Ho-Chunk Nation
Earl.Lemieux@ho-chunk.com

Christopher Little
UW-Madison graduate student
cjlittle@wisc.edu

Danielle Luther
Marshfield Clinic
luther.danielle@marshfieldclinic.org

Pete Madland

Tavern League of Wisconsin
petem@tlw.org

Amy Miles

Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene
amy.miles@slh.wisc.edu

Bill Murphy

Motorcycle Safety Advisory Committee
w.murphy2034@gmail.com

David Noyce
UW Traffic Operations and Safety Laboratory
noyce@engr.wisc.edu

Shaun O’Connell
Dane County District Attorney’s Office
shaun.oconnell@da.wi.gov

David Pabst
WisDOT/DSP/BOTS
david.pabst@dot.wi.gov

Reggie Paradowski
WisDOT/DMV
reginald.paradowski@dot.wi.gov

Lishunda Patterson

Milwaukee Police Department — Safety Division

Ipatte@milwaukee.gov

Scott Ries
Marinette Police Department
sries@marinette.wi.us

Cory Roeseler
Sheboygan County Sheriff’s Office
cory.roeseler@sheboygancounty.com

Randy Romanski
WisDOT/DSP/BOTS
randy.romanski@dot.wi.gov

Randy Schultz
Brown County Sheriff’s Office, retired
RSchultz9@new.rr.com

Johanna Scott
Mosaic Communications
jscott@mosaic-wi.com

Jessica Skemp
La Crosse County District Attorney’s Office
jessica.skemp@da.wi.gov

John Sobotik
WisDOT/Office of General Counsel
john.sobotik@dot.wi.gov

Todd Thomas
Appleton Police Department
todd.thomas@appleton.org

Emily Thompson
Wisconsin Department of Justice
thompsonel@doj.state.wi.us

Nate Thompson
Wisconsin DRE Coordinator
sgtnate@sbcglobal.net

Laura Vande Hey
WisDOT/DSP/BOTS
laura.vandehey@dot.wi.gov
Randy Wiessinger

WisDOT Law Enforcement Liaison
row@wiessinger.com
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Appendix C: Plan Approval

The contents of this plan were developed by the
Wisconsin Statewide Impaired Driving Task Force. The
plan was drafted by the staff of the Wisconsin
Department of Transportation, Bureau of Trans-
portation Safety. The final draft of the plan was
distributed to task force members for review.

Members were given the option to vote yes or no. Of
the 36 task force members that are voting members, 27
elected to cast a vote. 27 of the votes cast were yes votes.
Thus, this plan was approved by a majority of the task
force members. A record of the votes follows.

Name Vote Name Vote
Matt Alsaker yes Pete Madland no vote
Andrea Bill yes Amy Miles yes
Martin Broyles yes Bill Murphy yes
LeeAnn Cooper yes David Noyce yes
David Coughlin yes Shaun 0'Connell yes
Ron Cramer novote | Reggie Paradowski yes
Philip Duket yes Lishunda Patterson yes
Deborah Fischer yes Scott Ries yes
Andy Franken yes Cory Roeseler no vote
Daniel Furseth yes Randy Romanski yes
Krystle Gutting novote | Randy Schultz yes
Sue Hackworthy yes Johanna Scott no vote
Nancy Hernandez novote | Jessica Skemp yes
Nick Jarmusz yes John Sobotik yes
Tara Jenswold yes Todd Thomas no vote
Earl Lemieux novote | Emily Thompson yes
Christopher Little yes Nate Thompson no vote
Danielle Luther yes Laura Vande Hey yes
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Appendix D: Highway Safety Plan
Guideline No. 8 - Impaired Driving

NHTSA, in its Interim Final Rule to be published on
May 23, 2016, requires that this strategic plan include
measures covering the following: prevention, the
criminal justice system, communication programs,
alcohol and drug misuse, and program evaluation and
data. The section of this plan entitled Programs
addresses prevention, communication programs, and
program evaluation and data.

WisDOT has measures addressing the criminal justice
system by funding traffic safety resource prosecutors.
WisDOT pays salary and fringe for two statewide
Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutors acting as a resource
on legal issues, OWI, and the prosecution of those
offenders. They provide specialized training to prose-
cutors, judges, law enforcement, and others in the
community. The “Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor,”
as defined by the federal rule, “means an individual or
entity used by the State on a full-time basis to enhance
the performance of a State’s judicial system by
providing education and outreach programs and
technical assistance to enhance the capability of prose-
cutors to effectively prosecute across-the-State traffic
safety violations.” These positions also provide technical
assistance to a wide variety of professionals such as law
enforcement officers, Drug Recognition Experts, blood
and alcohol testing staff, and policy development staff.

WisDOT addresses alcohol and drug abuse by funding
24-7 sobriety programs. WisDOT will create 24-7
sobriety pilot programs in selected Wisconsin counties.
These will be post-conviction programs. These
programs will require an individual convicted of driving
under the influence of alcohol to abstain from alcohol
and be subject to testing for alcohol at least twice per
day. Funding will be used for start-up projects only.
Programs will be proportionally-funded to ensure
NHTSA funds will be used for that proportion of the
program whose participants have convictions related to
impaired driving. The goal is for the programs to
become self-sufficient.
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343.28 OPERATORS' LICENSES

of a court not having a clerk, shall, as provided in s. 345.48, for-
ward to the department the record of such conviction. The record
of conviction forwarded to the department shall state whether the
offender was involved in an accident at the time of the offense,
whether the offender was operating a commercial motor vehicle
at the time of the offense and, if so, whether the offender was trans-
porting hazardous materials requiring placarding or any quantity
of a material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73, or
was operating a vehicle designed to carry, or actually carrying, 16
or more passengers, including the driver. Whenever a person is
convicted of exceeding a posted speed limit, the record of convic-
tion forwarded to the department shall include the number of
miles per hour in excess of the posted speed limit.

(2) Whenever a person is convicted of any offense for which
5.343.31 makes mandatory the revocation by the secretary of such
person’s operating privilege, the court in which the conviction
occurred may require the surrender to it of any license then held
by such person. If the court requires surrender of a license, the
court shall destroy the license. The clerk of the court, or the jus-
tice, judge or magistrate if the court has no clerk, shall, as provided
in 5. 345.48, forward to the department the record of conviction,
which shall state whether the offender was involved in an accident
at the time of the offense, whether the offender was operating a
commercial motor vehicle at the time of the offense and, if so,
whether the offender was transporting hazardous materials requir-
ing placarding or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent
or toxin under 42 CFR 73, or was operating a vehicle designed to
carry, or actually carrying, 16 or more passengers, including the
driver.

(3) If a person is convicted of committing a violation as
defined by s. 343.30 (6) (a), the clerk of the court, or the justice,
judge or magistrate if the court has no clerk, shall, as provided in
5. 345.48, forward to the department the record of conviction.

(4) Any person who fails to comply with any provision of this
section relative to forwarding records of convictions to the depart-
ment may be fined not more than $100 or imprisoned not more
than 6 months or both.

History: 1971 c. 278; 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1654 (7) (a), () 1977 ¢, 273; 1979 ¢, 331; 1989
a. 105; 1995 a. 113; 1999 a. 140; 2003 1. 33; 2009 a. 103,

343.30 Suspension and revocation by the courts.
(1) A court may suspend a person’s operating privilege for any
period not exceeding one year upon such person’s conviction in
such court of violating any of the state traffic laws or any local
ordinance enacted under ch. 349, other than a violation of s,
346.18 or a local ordinance in conformity with s. 346.18 for which
operating privilege suspension is required under s. 343.31 (2t) (a).

(1d) A court shall revoke a person’s operating privilege upon
the person’s conviction for viclating s. 343.05 (3) (a) or a local
ordinance in conformity therewith if the person, in the course of
the violation, causes great bodily harm, as defined in s. 939.22
(14), to another person or the death of another person. Any revo-
cation under this subsection shall be for a period of 6 months,
unless the court orders a period of revocation of less than 6 months
and places its reasons for ordering the lesser period of revocation
on the record.

(1g) (2) Subject to pars. (b) and (c), a court may suspend a per-
son’s operating privilege for any period not exceeding 6 months
upon the person’s conviction for violating s. 343.44 (1) (a), (b), or
(d) or a local ordinance in conformity therewith.

(b) Except as provided in par. (c), a court may revoke a per-
son’s operating privilege upon the person’s conviction for violat-
ing 5. 343.44 (1) (a), (b), or (d) or a local ordinance in conformity
therewith if the person has been convicted of 3 or more prior viola-
tions of s. 343.44 (1) (a), (b), or (d), or similar violations under s.
343.44 (1), 1997 stats., or a local ordinance in conformity there-
with, within the 5—year period preceding the violation.

(c) A court shall revoke a person’s operating privilege upon the
person’s conviction for violating s. 343.44 (1) (a) or (b), or a local
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ordinance in conformily with s. 343.44 (1) (a), if the person, in the
course of the violation, causes great bodily harm, as defined in s.
939.22 (14), to another person or the death of another person.

(d) Any revocation under this subsection shall be for a period
of 6 months, unless the court orders a period of revocation of less
than 6 months and places its reasons for ordering the lesser period
of revocation on the record.

(1n) A court shall suspend the operating privilege of a person
for a period of 15 days upon the person’s conviction by the court
of exceeding the applicable speed limit as established by s. 346.57
(4) (gm) or (h), by 25 or more miles per hour. If the conviction
makes the person subject to suspension under s. 343.085 or
343.32, the court shall order the suspension of the person’s operat-
ing privilege and notify the secretary of the order. Upon receiving
the notice, the secretary shall act as authorized under s. 343.32 or
343.085. Any suspension under this subsection shall date from
the day the secretary acts on the order of suspension of the operat-
ing privilege.

{10) Upon conviction of a person for violating s. 346.072, the
court shall suspend the violator’s operating privilege as follows:

(a) For a period of not less than 90 days nor more than one year,
if the offense resulted in damage to the property of another but did
not result in bodily harm to another.

(b) For a period of not less than 180 days nor more than 2 years,
if the offense resulted in bodily harm to another but did not result
in the death of another.

(c) For a period of 2 years, if the offense resulted in the death
of another.

(1p) Notwithstanding sub. (1), a court shall suspend the oper-
ating privilege of a person for 3 months upon the person’s convic-
tion by the court for violation of s. 346.63 (2m) or a local ordi-
nance in conformity with s. 346.63 (2m). If there was a minor
passenger under 16 years of age in the motor vehicle at the time
of the violation that gave rise to the conviction under s. 346.63
(2m) or a local ordinance in conformity with s. 346.63 (2m), the
court shall suspend the operating privilege of the person for 6
maonths.

(1q) (a) Ifa person is convicted under s. 346.63 (1) or a local
ordinance in conformity therewith, the court shall proceed under
this subsection. If a person is convicted under 5. 346.63 (2) or
940.25, or s. 940.09 where the offense involved the use of a
vehicle, the court shall proceed under pars. (¢) and (d). If a person
is referred by the department acting under s. 343.16 (5) (a), the
department shall proceed under pars. (¢) and (d) without the order
of the court.

(b) For persons convicted under s. 346.63 (1) or a local ordi-
nance in conformity therewith:

1. Except as provided in subds. 3. and 4., the court shall
revoke the person’s operating privilege under this paragraph
according to the number of previous suspensions, revocations or
convictions that would be counted under s. 343.307 (1). Suspen-
sions, revocations and convictions arising out of the same incident
shall be counted as one. If a person has a conviction, suspension
or revocation for any offense that is counted under s. 343.307 (1),
that conviction, suspension or revocation shall count as a prior
conviction, suspension or revocation under this subdivision.

2. Except as provided in sub. (1r) or subd. 3., 4. or 4m., for
the first conviction, the court shall revoke the person’s operating
privilege for not less than 6 months nor more than 9 months. The
person is eligible for an occupational license under s. 343.10 at
any time.

3. Except as provided in sub. (1r) or subd. 4m., if the number
of convictions under ss, 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s life-
time, plus the total number of other convictions, suspensions, and
revocations counted under s. 343.307 (1) within a 10-—year period,
equals 2, the court shall revoke the person’s operating privilege for
not less than one year nor more than 18 months. After the first 45
days of the revocation period has elapsed, the person is eligible for
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an occupational license under s. 343.10 if he or she has completed
the assessment and is complying with the driver safety plan
ordered under par. (c).

4. Except as provided in sub, (1r) or subd. 4m., if the number
of convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940,25 in the person’s life-
time, plus the total number of other convictions, suspensions, and
revocations counted under s. 343.307 (1), equals 3 or more, the
court shall revoke the person’s operating privilege for not less than
2 years nor more than 3 years. After the first 45 days of the revoca-
tion period has elapsed, the person is eligible for an occupational
license under s. 343.10 if he or she has completed the assessment
and is complying with the driver safety plan ordered under par. (c).

4m, If there was a minor passenger under 16 years of age in
the motor vehicle at the time of the violation that gave rise to the
conviction under s. 346.63 (1) or a local ordinance in conformity
with . 346.63 (1), the applicable minirum and maximum revoca-
tion periods under subd. 2., 3. or 4. for the conviction are doubled.

5. The time period under this paragraph shall be measured
from the dates of the refusals or violations which resulted in the
suspensions, revocations or convictions.

(c) 1. Exceptas provided in subd. 1. a., b., or d., the court shall
order the person to submit to and comply with an assessment by
an approved public treatment facility as defined in s. 51.45 (2) (c)
for examination of the person’s use of alcohol, controlled sub-
stances or controlled substance analogs and development of a
driver safety plan for the person. The court shall notify the depart-
ment of transportation of the assessment order. The court shall
notify the person that noncompliance with assessment or the
driver safety plan will result in revocation of the person’s operat-
ing privilege until the person is in compliance. The assessment
order shall:

a. Ifthe person is a resident, refer the person to an approved
public treatment facility in the county in which the person resides.
The facility named in the order may provide for assessment of the
person in another approved public treatment facility. The order
shall provide that if the person is temporarily residing in another
state, the facility named in the order may refer the person to an
appropriate treatment facility in that state for assessment and
development of a driver safety plan for the person satisfying the
requirements of that state.

b. If the person is a nonresident, refer the person to an
approved public treatment facility in this state. The order shall
provide that the facility named in the order may refer the person
to an appropriate treatment facility in the state in which the person
resides for assessment and development of a driver safety plan for
the person satisfying the requirements of that state.

c. Require a person who is referred to a treatment facility in
another state under subd. 1. a. or b, to furnish the department writ-
ten verification of his or her compliance from the agency which
administers the assessment and driver safety plan program. The
person shall provide initial verification of compliance within 60
days after the date of his or her conviction, The requirement to fur-
nish verification of compliance may be satisfied by receipt by the
department of such verification from the agency which adminis-
ters the assessment and driver safety plan program.

d. Include a statement that if the person is a member or the rel-
ative of a member of a federally recognized American Indian tribe
or band, the person may receive the assessment required under this
subdivision from an approved tribal treatment facility as defined
ins, 51,01 (2¢).

Im. The person may voluntarily submit to an assessment by
an approved public treatment facility, as defined in 5. 51.45 (2) (c),
and driver safety plan under this paragraph before the conviction.
A prosecutor may not use that voluntary submission to justify a
reduction in the charge made against the person. Upon notifica-
tion of the person’s submission to the voluntary assessment and
driver safety plan, the cowrt may take that voluntary submission
into account when determining the person’s sentence, and shall

OPERATORS’ LICENSES 343.30

suspend the order to submit to assessment pending the person’s
completion of the voluntary assessment and driver safety plan.

2. The department of health services shall establish standards
for assessment procedures and the driver safety plan programs by
rule. The department of health services shall establish by rule con-
flict of interest guidelines for providers. The conflict of interest
guidelines may not preclude an approved tribal treatment facility,
as defined in s. 51.01 (2c¢), from conducting assessments and pro-
viding treatment under this subsection.

3. Prior to developing a plan which specifies treatment, the
facility shall make a finding that treatment is necessary and appro-
priate services are available. The facility shall submit a report of
the assessment and the driver safety plan within 14 days to the
county department under s. 51,42, the plan provider, the depart-
ment of transportation and the person, except that upon request by
the facility and the person, the county department may extend the
period for assessment for not more than 20 additional workdays.
The county department shall notify the department of transporta-
tion regarding any such extension,

(d) 1. The assessment report shall order compliance with a
driver safety plan. The report shall inform the person of the fee
provisions under s. 46.03 (18) (f). The driver safety plan may
include a component that makes the person aware of the effect of
his or her offense on a victim and a victim’s family. The driver
safety plan may include treatment for the person’s misuse, abuse
or dependence on alcohol, controlled substances or controlled
substance analogs, or attendance at a school under s. 345.60, or
both. If the plan requires treatment at an approved tribal treatment
facility, as defined in s. 51.01 (2¢), the plan may include traditional
tribal treatment modes, If the plan requires inpatient treatment,
the treatment shall not exceed 30 days. A driver safety plan under
this paragraph shall include a termination date consistent with the
plan which shall not extend beyond one year.

2. The county department under s. 51.42 or approved tribal
treatment facility under s. 51.45 (7) (h) shall assure notification of
the department of transportation, in a manner prescribed by the
department, and the person of the person’s compliance or non-
compliance with assessment and with treatment. The school
under s. 345.60 shall notify the department, the county department
under s, 51.42, and the person of the person’s compliance or non-
compliance with the requirements of the school. Nonpayment of
the assessment fee or, if the person has the ability to pay, nonpay-
ment of the driver safety plan fee is noncompliance with the court
order, If the department is notified of any noncompliance, other
than for nonpayment of the assessment fee or driver safety plan
fee, it shall revoke the person’s operating privilege until the
county department under s. 51.42, the approved tribal treatment
facility under s. 51.45 (7) (h), or the school under s, 345.60 notifies
the department that the person is in compliance with assessment
or the driver safety plan. If the department is notified that a person
has not paid the assessment fee, or that a person with the ability
to pay has not paid the driver safety plan fee, the department shall
suspend the person’s operating privilege for a period of 2 years or
until it receives notice that the person has paid the fee, whichever
occurs first.

3. The department shall notify the person of the suspension
or revocation under subd. 2., the reason for the suspension or revo-
cation and the person’s right to a review. A person may request
a review of a revocation based upon failure to comply with a driver
safety plan within 10 days of notification. The review shall be
handled by the subunit of the department of transportation desig-
nated by the secretary. The issues at the review are limited to
whether the driver safety plan, if challenged, is appropriate and
whether the person is in compliance with the assessment order or
the driver safety plan. The review shall be conducted within 10
days after a request is received. If the driver safety plan is deter-
mined to be inappropriate, the department shall order a reassess-
ment and, if the person is otherwise eligible, the department shall
reinstate the person’s operating privilege. If the person is deter-
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mined to be in compliance with the assessment or driver safety
plan, and if the person is otherwise cligible, the department shall
reinstate the person’s operating privilege. If there is no decision
within the 10-day period, the department shall issue an order rein-
stating the person’s operating privilege until the review is com-
pleted, unless the delay is at the request of the person seeking the
Teview.

(e) Notwithstanding par. (c), if the court finds that the person
is already covered by an assessment or is participating in a driver
safety plan or has had evidence presented to it by a county depart-
ment under s. 51.42 that the person has recently completed assess-
ment, a driver safety plan or both, the court is not required to make
an order under par. (¢). This paragraph does not prohibit the court
from making an order under par. (c), if it deems such an order
advisable.

(f) The department may make any order which the court is
authorized or required to make under this subsection if the court
fails to do so.

(h) The court or department shall provide that the period of sus-
pension or revocation imposed under this subsection shall be
reduced by any period of suspension or revocation previously
served under s. 343,305 if the suspension or revocation under s.
343.305 and the conviction for violation of s. 346.63 (1) or (2m)
or a local ordinance in conformity therewith arise out of the same
incident or occurrence. The court or department shall order that
the period of suspension or revocation imposed under this subsec-
tion run concurrently with any period of time remaining on a sus-
pension or revocation imposed under s. 343.305 arising out of the
same incident or occurrence. The court may modify an occupa-
tional license authorized under s. 343.305 (8) (d) in accordance
with this subsection.

(1r) For any revocation the court orders under sub. (1q), the
court shall extend the revocation period by the number of days to
which the court sentences the person to imprisonment in a jail or
prison for an offense related to the revocation.

(12) If a court imposes a driver improvement surcharge under
s. 346.655 or a safe ride program surcharge under s. 346.657 and
the person fails to pay all surcharges imposed under s. 346.655 or
346.657 within 60 days after the date by which the court ordered
payment, the court may suspend the person’s operating privilege
until the person pays all surcharges imposed under s. 346.655 or
346.657, except that the suspension period may not exceed 2
years,

(2d) A court may suspend a person’s operating privilege upon
conviction of any offense specified under ss. 940.225, 948.02,
948,025, 948.07, or 948,085, if the court finds that it is inimical
to the public safety and welfare for the offender to have operating
privileges. The suspension shall be for one year or until discharge
from prison or jail sentence or probation, extended supervision or
parole with respect to the offenses specified, whichever date is
later. Receipt of a certificate of discharge from the department of
corrections or other responsible supervising agency, after one year
has elapsed since the suspension, entitles the holder to reinstate-
ment of operating privileges. The holder may be required to pres-
ent the certificate to the secretary if the secretary deems necessary.

(2g) A court may suspend or revoke a person’s operating priv-
ilege for any period not exceeding one year upon conviction of
that person for violating s. 346.67, 346.68 or 346.69. This subsec-
tion does not apply to circumstances that require the department
to revoke a person’s operating privilege under s. 343.31 (1) (d) or
(3) (i) or (j).

(2]) (a) A court may suspend a person’s operating privilege
upon the person’s first conviction for violating s. 346.44 or 346.62
(2m) and shall suspend a person’s operating privilege upon the
person’s 2nd or subsequent conviction within a 5—year period for
violating s. 346.44 or 346.62 (2m). The suspension shall be for
a period of 6 months. For purposes of determining prior convic-
tions for purposes of this Famgraph, the 5—year period shall be
measured from the dates of the violations that resulted in the con-

Updated 13—-14 Wis. Stats. 34

victions. Each conviction under s. 346.44 or 346.62 (2m) shall be
counted, except that convictions under s. 346.44 and 346.62 (2m)
arising out of the same incident or occurrence shall be counted as
a single conviction.

(3) The court that ordered the issuance of an occupational
license under s. 343.10 (4) (b) may withdraw the order to issue the
license whenever the court, upon the facts, does not see fit to per-
mit the licensee to retain the occupational license. Upon receiving
notice that a court has withdrawn its order to issue an occupational
license, the department shall cancel that license.

(4) Whenever a court suspends or revokes an operating privi-
lege under this section, the court may take possession of any sus-
pended or revoked license. If the court takes possession of a
license, it shall destroy the license. The court shall forward, as
provided in s. 34548, to the department the record of conviction
and notice of suspension or revocation. Whenever a court restricts
the operating privilege of a person, the court shall forward notice
of the restriction to the department.

(5) No court may suspend or revoke an operating privilege
except as authorized by this chapter or ch. 345, 351, or 938 ors.
T767.73, 800.095 (1) (a), 943.21 (3m), or 961.50. When a court
revokes, suspends, or restricts a juvenile’s operating privilege
under ch. 938, the department of transportation shall not disclose
information concerning or relating to the revocation, suspension,
or restriction to any person other than a court, district attorney,
county corporation counsel, city, village, or town attorney, law
enforcement agency, driver licensing agency of another jurisdic-
tion, or the minor whose operating privilege is revoked, sus-
pended, or restricted, or his or her parent or guardian. Persons
entitled to receive this information shall not disclose the informa-
tion to other persons or agencies.

(6) () In this subsection, “violation” means a violation of s.
125.07 (4) (a) or (b), 125.085 (3) (b) or 125.09 (2) or a local ordi-
nance that strictly conforms to one of those statutes or a law of a
federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state
that strictly conforms to one of those statutes.

(b) Ifa court imposes suspension of a person’s operating privi-
lege under s. 125.07 (4) (bs) or (c), 346.93 (2f) or (2g) or 938.344
(2), (2b) or (2d), the suspension imposed shall be one of the fol-
lowing:

1. For a first violation, suspension for 30 to 90 days.

2. For a violation committed within 12 months of a previous
violation, suspension for not more than one year.

3. For a violation committed within 12 months of 2 or more
previous violations, suspension for not more than 2 years,

(bm) If the court imposes a suspension of a person’s operating
privilege under s. 125.085 (3) (bd), the suspension shall be for 30
to 90 days.

(c) Except as provided by par. (d), the suspension of the operat-
ing privilege under this subsection shall commence on the date of
disposition.

(d) If the person subject to suspension under this subsection
does not hold a valid license under this chapter other than a license
under s. 343.07 or 343.08 on the date of disposition, the suspen-
sion under par. (b) shall commence on the date on which the per-
son is first eligible for issuance, renewal, or reinstatement of an
operator’s license under this chapter.

* 1971 ¢ 2135, 5; 1971 ¢. 278; 1973 . 70, 218; 1975 ¢. 5; 1975 c. 184 5.
13; 1975 ¢. 199, 297, 421; 1977 ¢, 29 5. 1654 (7) (a), (c); 1977 c. 30, 64, 193, 203;
1979 ¢. 221, 300, 331, 333, 355; 1981 c. 20; 1981 c. 795, 18; 1983 2. 17; 1983 2. 74
$s. 23m 10 26, 32; 1983 a 192; 1985 a. 80, 176, 337; 1987 3, 17, 285; 19874 332
s 64; 1989 a, 7, 31, 105, 121, 336; 1991 a. 39, 251, 277, 316; 1993 a. 16,227,317,
1995 a. 27, 77, 269, 338, 401, 425, 448; 1997 a. 35, 84, 135, 237, 283; 1999 a. 32,
109, 143; 2001 a. 15, 16, 38; 2003 a. 30, 80; 2005 a. 277; 2005 a. 443 5. 265; 2005
a. 466; 2007 a. 20 5s. 3300, 9121 (6) (a); 2007 o 134; 2009 2. 100, 102, 103,402;2011
a 113, 173, 262; 2013 . 246; 2015 a. 55.

Cross—reference: See also ch, DHS 62, Wis. adm. code.

The limitation under sub, (5) that no court may suspend or revoke an operating
privilege except as authorized by statute precludes not only restrictions on ohlmmng
a physical license document, but also on the prlvile%e to operate a vehicle. A court’s
broad authority to fashion appropriate conditions of extended supervision is limited
by the provisions of this section concemning susj and of of g

2013-14 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2015 Wis, Act 392 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before May 10, 2016.
Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after May 10, 2016 are designated by NOTES. (Published 5-10-16)

17

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN - Appendix AL-247-1 ss. 343.30-343.301, Wis. Stats. Suspension and Revocation



STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN - Appendix AL-247-1 ss. 343.30-343.301, Wis. Stats. Suspension and Revocation

Updated 201314 Wis. Stats. Published and certified under s. 35.18. May 10, 2016.

35 Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats.

privileges by the courts, State v, Hoppe, 2014 WI App 51, 354 Wis. 2d 219, 847
N.W.2d 869, 13-1457.

Suspension or revocation of operating privileges %plies to both a regular driver
license and to a chauffeur’s license. 63 Atty. Gen. 240.

343.301 Installation of ignition interlock device.
(1g) (a) A court shall enter an order under par. (am) if either of
the following applies:

1. The person improperly refused to take a test under s.
343.305.

2. The person violated s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or
940.25 and either of the following applies:

a. The person had an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or more
at the time of the offense.

b. The person has a total of one or more prior convictions, sus-
pensions, or revocations, counting convictions under ss. 940.09
(1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime and other convictions, sus-
pensions, and revocations counted under s. 343.307 (1).

(am) A court shall order one or more of the following:

1. That the person’s operating privilege for the operation of
“Class D” vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles that are
equipped with an ignition interlock device and, except as provided
in sub. (1m), shall order that each motor vehicle for which the per-
son’s name appears on the vehicle’s certificate of title or registra-
tion be equipped with an ignition interlock device.

2. That the person participate in a program deseribed in s.
165.957 or that meets the definition of a 24—7 sobriety program
under 23 USC 405 (d) (7) (A) and regulations adopted thereunder.
If the court enters an order under this subdivision, when the person
completes or otherwise does not participate in the program, the
court shall order that the person’s operating privilege for the
operation of “Class D” vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles
that are equipped with an ignition interlock device, shall specify
the duration of the arder, shall, except as provided in sub. (1m),
order that each motor vehicle for which the person’s name appears
on the vehicle’s certificate of title or registration be equipped with
an ignition interlock deviee, and shall notify the department of
such order.

NOTE: Sub. (1g) is shown as affected eff. 10-2-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 389. Prior
to 10-2-16 it reads:

(1g) A court shall order a person’s operating privilege for the operation of
“Class D" vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles that are equipped with an
ignition interlock device and, except as provided in sub. (1m), shall order that
each motor vehicle for which the person’s name appears on the vehicle’s certifi-
cate of title or registration be equipped with an ignition interlock device if either
of the following applies:

(a) The person improperly refused to take a test under s. 343,305,

(b) The person violated s, 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or 940.25 and either of
the following applies:

1. The person had an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or more at the time of the
offense,

2. The person has a total of one or more prior convictions, suspensions, or
revoeations, counting convictions under ss, 940,09 (1) and 940,25 in the person’s
lifetime and other convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under s,
343,307 (1).

(1m) If equipping each motor vehicle with an ignition inter-
lock device under sub. (1g) would cause an undue financial hard-
ship, the court may order that one or more vehicles described in
sub. (1g) not be equipped with an ignition interlock device.

(2m) (a) If the court enters an order under sub. (I1g) (am) 1.,
the court shall restrict the operating privilege under sub. (1g) (am)
1. for a period of not less than one year nor more than the maxi-
mum operating privilege revocation period permitted for the
refusal or violation, beginning on the date the department issues
any license granted under this chapter, except that if the maximum
operating privilege revocation period is less than one year, the
court shall restrict the operating privilege under sub. (1g) (am) 1.
for one year. The court may order the installation of an ignition
interlock device under sub. (1g) (am) 1. immediately upon issuing
an order under sub. (1g) (am) 1.

(b) If the court enters an order under sub. (1g) (am) 2. that does
not restrict a person’s operating privilege for the operation of
“Class D" vehicles to operating vehicles that are equipped with an

OPERATORS’ LICENSES 343.303

ignition interlock device while he or she participates in a program,
the court shall order that the time period during which the person
participates in a program, combined with the time period for
which the person’s operating privilege is restricted under sub. (1g)
(am) 2. equals not less than one year nor more than the maximum
operating privilege revocation period permitted for the refusal or
violation, except that if the maximum operating privilege revoca-
tion period is less than one year, the time period shall equal one
year. The time period for which the person’s operating privilege
is restricted under sub. (1g) (am) 2. begins on the date the depart-
ment issues any license granted under this chapter. The court may
order the person to install an ignition interlock device under sub.
(1g) (am) 2. immediately after his or her participation in the pro-
gram ends or while the person completes the program and for the
additional period of time required under this paragraph, and shall
notify the department of the date the person’s participation ended
and the duration of the order restricting the operating privilege.
A person subject to an order requiring installation of an ignition
interlock device shall, within 2 weeks after the date on which
installation of the ignition interlock device is required under the
order, submit proof to the sheriff in his or her county of residence
that an ignition interlock device has been installed in each motor
vehicle to which the order applies.

NOTE: Sub. (2m) is shown as affected eff. 10-2-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 389,
Prior to 10-2-16 it reads:

(2m) The court shall restrict the operating privilege under sub. (1g) for a
period of not less than one year nor more than the maximum operating privilege
revocation period permitted for the refusal or violation, beginning on the date
the department issues any license granted under this chapter, except that if the
maximum operating privilege revocation period is less than one year, the court
shall restrict the operating privilege under sub. (1g) for one year. The court may
order the installation of an ignition interlock device under sub. (1g) immediately
upon issuing an order under sub. (1g).

(3) (a) Except as provided in par. (b), if the court enters an
order under sub. (1g), the person shall be liable for the reasonable
cost of equipping and maintaining any ignition interlock device
installed on his or her motor vehicle,

(b) If the court finds that the person who is subject to an order
under sub. (1g) has a household income that is at or below 150 per-
cent of the nonfarm federal poverty line for the continental United
States, as defined by the federal department of labor under 42 USC
9902 (2), the court shall limit the person’s liability under par. (a)
to one—half of the cost of equipping each motor vehicle with an
ignition interlock device and one—half of the cost per day per
vehicle of maintaining the ignition interlock device.

(4) A person to whom an order under sub. (1g) applies violates
that order if he or she fails to have an ignition interlock device
installed as ordered, removes or disconnects an ignition interlock
device, requests or permits another to blow into an ignition inter-
lock device or to start a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition
interlock device for the purpose of providing the person an oper-
able motor vehicle without the necessity of first submitting a sam-
ple of his or her breath to analysis by the ignition interlock device,
or otherwise tampers with or circumvents the operation of the
ignition interlock device.

(5) If the court enters an order under sub. (1g), the court shall
impose and the person shall pay to the clerk of court an ignition
interlock surcharge of $50. The clerk of court shall transmit the
amount to the county treasurer.

History: 1999 a. 109; 2001 a. 16 ss. 341 7m to 34201, 4060gj, 4060hw, 4060hy;
2001 a. 104; 2009 a. 100; 2013 a. 168; 2015 a. 389,

Sub. (1g) (b) 2. requires an order for ignition interlock devices when a person vio-
lates 5. 346,63 (1) and has one or more prior OWI convictions. Sub, (1g) (b) 2. pro-
vides no restrictions on how to count prior convictions for purposes of ordering igni-
tion interlock devices. The ten—year look—back provision in s. 346.65 (2) (am) 2. for
purposes of determining whether to charge or penalize a ripmt OWI offender civilly
ar criminally is independent of and has no effect on orders for ignition interlock
devices under this section. Village of Grafton v. Seatz, 2014 WI App 23, 352 Wis.
2d 747, 845 N.W.2d 672, 13-1414,

Wisconsin’s New OWI Law. Mishlove & Stuckert. Wis. Law. June 2010.

343.303 Preliminary breath screening test. If a law
enforcement officer has probable cause to believe that the person
is violating or has violated s. 346.63 (1) or (2m) or a local ordi-
nance in conformity therewith, or s, 346.63 (2) or (6) or 940.25 or

2013-14 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2015 Wis. Act 392 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before May 10, 2016.
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18



APPENDIX AL-1ID-1

Updated 2013-14 Wis. Stats. Published and certified under s. 35.18. May 10, 2016.

35 Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats.

privileges by the courts. State v. Hoppe, 2014 W1 App 51, 354 Wis. 2d 219, 847
N.W.2d 869, 13-1457.

Suspension or revocation of operating privileges applies to both a regular driver
license and to a chauffeur’s license. 63 Atty. Gen. 240.

343.301 Installation of ignition interlock device.
(1g) (a) A court shall enter an order under par. (am) if either of
the following applies:

1. The person improperly refused to take a test under s.
343.305.

2. The person violated s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or
940.25 and either of the following applies:

a. The person had an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or more
at the time of the offense.

b. The person has a total of one or more prior convictions, sus-
pensions, or revocations, counting convictions under ss. 940.09
(1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime and other convictions, sus-
pensions, and revocations counted under s. 343.307 (1).

(am) A court shall order one or more of the following:

1. That the person’s operating privilege for the operation of
“Class D” vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles that are
equipped with an ignition interlock device and, except as provided
in sub. (1m), shall order that each motor vehicle for which the per-
son’s name appears on the vehicle’s certificate of title or registra-
tion be equipped with an ignition interlock device.

2. That the person participate in a program described in s.
165.957 or that meets the definition of a 24—7 sobriety program
under 23 USC 405 (d) (7) (A) and regulations adopted thereunder.
If the court enters an order under this subdivision, when the person
completes or otherwise does not participate in the program, the
court shall order that the person’s operating privilege for the
operation of “Class D” vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles
that are equipped with an ignition interlock device, shall specify
the duration of the order, shall, except as provided in sub. (1m),
order that each motor vehicle for which the person’s name appears
on the vehicle’s certificate of title or registration be equipped with
an ignition interlock device, and shall notify the department of

such order.

NOTE: Sub. (1g) is shown as affected eff. 10-2—16 by 2015 Wis. Act 389. Prior
to 10-2-16 it reads:

(1g) A court shall order a person’s operating privilege for the operation of
“Class D” vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles that are equipped with an
ignition interlock device and, except as provided in sub. (1m), shall order that
each motor vehicle for which the person’s name appears on the vehicle’s certifi-
cate of title or registration be equipped with an ignition interlock device if either
of the following applies:

(a) The person improperly refused to take a test under s. 343.305.

(b) The person violated s. 346.63 (1) or (2), 940.09 (1), or 940.25 and cither of
the following applies:

1. The person had an alcohol concentration of (.15 or more at the time of the
offense.

2. The person has a total of one or more prior convictions, suspensions, or
revocati ing convictions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s
lifetime and other convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under s.
343.307 (1).

(1m) If equipping each motor vehicle with an ignition inter-
lock device under sub. (1g) would cause an undue financial hard-
ship, the court may order that one or more vehicles described in
sub. (1g) not be equipped with an ignition interlock device.

(2m) (a) If the court enters an order under sub. (1g) (am) 1.,
the court shall restrict the operating privilege under sub. (1g) (am)
1. for a period of not less than one year nor more than the maxi-
mum operating privilege revocation period permitted for the
refusal or violation, beginning on the date the department issues
any license granted under this chapter, except that if the maximum
operating privilege revocation period is less than one year, the
court shall restrict the operating privilege under sub. (1g) (am) 1.
for one year. The court may order the installation of an ignition
interlock device under sub. (1g) (am) 1. immediately upon issuing
an order under sub. (1g) (am) 1.

(b) If the court enters an order under sub. (1g) (am) 2. that does
not restrict a person’s operating privilege for the operation of
“Class D” vehicles to operating vehicles that are equipped with an
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ignition interlock device while he or she participates in a program,
the court shall order that the time period during which the person
participates in a program, combined with the time period for
which the person’s operating privilege is restricted under sub. (1g)
(am) 2. equals not less than one year nor more than the maximum
operating privilege revocation period permitted for the refusal or
violation, except that if the maximum operating privilege revoca-
tion period is less than one year, the time period shall equal one
year. The time period for which the person’s operating privilege
is restricted under sub. (1g) (am) 2. begins on the date the depart-
ment issues any license granted under this chapter. The court may
order the person to install an ignition interlock device under sub.
(1g) (am) 2. immediately after his or her participation in the pro-
gram ends or while the person completes the program and for the
additional period of time required under this paragraph, and shall
notify the department of the date the person’s participation ended
and the duration of the order restricting the operating privilege.
A person subject to an order requiring installation of an ignition
interlock device shall, within 2 weeks after the date on which
installation of the ignition interlock device is required under the
order, submit proof to the sheriff in his or her county of residence
that an ignition interlock device has been installed in each motor
vehicle to which the order applies.

NOTE: Sub. (2m) is shown as affected eff. 10—-2-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 389,
Prior to 10-2-16 it reads:

(2m) The court shall restrict the operating privilege under sub. (1g) for a
period of not less than one year nor more than the maximum operating privilege
revocation period permitted for the refusal or violation, beginning on the date
the department issues any license granted under this chapter, except that if the
maximum operating privilege revocation period is less than one year, the court
shall restrict the operating privilege under sub. (1g) for one year. The court may
order the installation of an ignition interlock device under sub. (1g) immediately
upon issuing an order under sub. (1g).

(3) (@) Except as provided in par. (b), if the court enters an
order under sub. (1g), the person shall be liable for the reasonable
cost of equipping and maintaining any ignition interlock device
installed on his or her motor vehicle.

(b) If the court finds that the person who is subject to an order
under sub. (1g) has a household income that is at or below 150 per-
cent of the nonfarm federal poverty line for the continental United
States, as defined by the federal department of labor under 42 USC
9902 (2), the court shall limit the person’s liability under par. (a)
to one—half of the cost of equipping each motor vehicle with an
ignition interlock device and one—half of the cost per day per
vehicle of maintaining the ignition interlock device.

(4) A person to whom an order under sub, (1g) applies violates
that order if he or she fails to have an ignition interlock device
installed as ordered, removes or disconnects an ignition interlock
device, requests or permits another to blow into an ignition inter-
lock device or to start a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition
interlock device for the purpose of providing the person an oper-
able motor vehicle without the necessity of first submitting a sam-
ple of his or her breath to analysis by the ignition interlock device,
or otherwise tampers with or circumvents the operation of the
ignition interlock device.

(5) If the court enters an order under sub. (1g), the court shall
impose and the person shall pay to the clerk of court an ignition
interlock surcharge of $50. The clerk of court shall transmit the

amount to the county treasurer,

History: 1999 a. 109; 2001 a. 16 ss. 341 7m to 3420t, 4060gj, 4060hw, 4060hy;
2001 a. 104; 2009 a. 100; 2013 a. 168; 2015 a. 389.

Sub. (1g) (b) 2. requires an order for ignition interlock devices when a person vio-
lates s. 346.63 (1) and has one or more prior OWI convictions. Sub. (1g) (b) 2. pro-
vides no restrictions on how to count prior convictions for purposes of ordering igni-
tion interlock devices. The ten—year look—back provision in s, 346,65 (2) (am) 2. for
purposes of determining whether to charge or penalize a repeat OWI offender civilly
or criminzlly is independent of and has no effect on orders for ignition interlock
devices under this section. Village of Grafton v. Seatz, 2014 WI App 23, 352 Wis.
2d 747, 845 N.W.2d 672, 13-1414.

Wisconsin’s New OWI Law. Mishlove & Stuckert. Wis. Law. June 2010.

343.303 Preliminary breath screening test. If a law
enforcement officer has probable cause to believe that the person
is violating or has violated s. 346.63 (1) or (2m) or a local ordi-
nance in conformity therewith, or s. 346.63 (2) or (6) or 940.25 or
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Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after May 10, 2016 are designated by NOTES. (Published 5-10-16)

19

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN - Appendix AL-lID-1 s.343.301, Wis. Stats. Installation of ignition interlock device



Example Distracted Driver Question

- Appendix DD1:

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN

APPENDIX DD-1: EXAMPLE DISTRACTED DRIVING QUESTION

Example Distracted Driving Question

When you are driving, it is safest to use a cellular phone:
A.only when you pull over to the side of the roadway and stop.
B.anytime

C. only when driving through a residential area.

20
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343.303 OPERATORS’ LICENSES

s. 940,09 where the offense involved the use of a vehicle, or if the
officer detects any presence of alcohol, a controlled substance,
controlled substance analog or other drug, or a combination
thereof, on a person driving or operating or on duty time with
respect to a commercial motor vehicle or has reason to believe that
the person is violating or has violated s. 346.63 (7) or a local ordi-
nance in conformity therewith, the officer, prior to an arrest, may
request the person fo provide a sample of his or her breath for a
preliminary breath screening test using a device approved by the
department for this purpose. The result of this preliminary breath
screening test may be used by the law enforcement officer for the
purpose of deciding whether or not the person shall be arrested for
a violation of s. 346.63 (1), (2m), (5) or (7) or a local ordinance
in conformity therewith, or s. 346.63 (2) or (6), 940.09 (1) or
940.25 and whether or not to require or request chemical tests as
authorized under s, 343,305 (3). The result of the preliminary
breath screening test shall not be admissible in any action or pro-
ceeding except to show probable cause for an arrest, if the arrest
is challenged, or to prove that a chemical test was properly
required or requested of a person under s. 343.305 (3). Following
the screening test, additional tests may be required or requested of
the driver under s. 343.305 (3). The general penalty provision
under . 939.61 (1) does not apply to a refusal to take a preliminary
breath screening test.

History: 1981 c. 20; 1985 a. 325 3; 1985 a. 337; 1987 a. 3; 1989 a. 105; 1991 a.
277 1995 a. 448,

Ap 's t that the defendant failed a p

ut evid that the defendant ﬁ.:scdmlakcnbmalhalyzarleslwnsrele-
vant and consutulmnzlly admissible. State v. Albright, 98 Wis. 2d 663, 298 N.W.2d
196 (Ct. App. 1980).

A preliminary breath test result is not determinative of probable cause to arrest for
driving while intoxicated. A low test result does not void the grounds for arrest. Dane
County v. Sharpee, 154 Wis. 2d 515, 453 N.W.2d 508 (Ct. App. 1990).

The bar of preliminary breath tests under this section is limited to proceedings
related to arrests for offenses contemplated under this statute including those related
to motor vehicles and intoxication. State v, Beaver, 181 Wis, 2d 959, 512 N,W.2d 254
(CL. App. 1994). ) oG )

This section bars the ¢videntiary use of preliminary breath test results in motor
wvehicle violation cases, but not in other actions, Prosecutors who wish to rely on PBT
results are required to present evidence of the deviee's scientific accuracy as a
foundation for admission. State v. Doerr, 229 Wis, 2d 616, 599 N.W.2d 897 (Ct. App.
1999), 98-1047.

“Probable cause to believe™ refers to a quantum of evidence greater than rcason-
able suspicion to make an gative stop, but less than probable cause to make an
arrest. County of Jefferson v. Renz, 231 Wis. 2d 293, 603 N.W.2d 541 (1999),
973512,

Blood may be drawn in a search incident to an arrest for a non—drunk—driving
offense if the police reasanably suspect that the defendant’s blood contains evidence
of a crime. This section does not prohibit the consideration of a suspect’s refusal to
submit to a PBT for purposes of deten'mmng wheli'ler a wa.rmltless involuntary draw
of the suspect’s blood was tate v. Repenshek,
2004 WI App 229, 277 Wis. 24 780, 69[ N.W.2d 369, 03— 3089

A preliminary breath test may be requesred when an officer has a basis to justify
an investigative stop but has not established probable cause to justify an arrest. Under
the facts of this case, the officer would have been justified in asking the defendant to
take a preliminary breath test without asking him to perform any field—sobriety tests.
That the defendant successfully completed all properly administered field-sobriety
tests did not subtract from the sense view that the defendant may have had
an impermissible blood—-alcohol level. State v. Felton, 2012 W1 App 114, 344 Wis.
2d 483, 824 N.W.2d 871, 11-2119.

Under State v St. C-‘eorge 2002 WI 50, for a defendant to establish a ional
right to the admissibility of proffered expert testimony, the defendant must sa.tnfy a
two—part inquiry determining whether the evidence is clearly central to the defense
and the exclusion of the evidence is arbltrary and dlspwportlonalc to thc purpose of
the rule of exclusion, so that excl ts of the
defendant’s defense. Inan OWIp ion, even if a defend blishes a consti-
tutional right to present an expert opinion that is based in part on PBT results, the right
to do so is outweighed by the state’s compelling interest to exclude that evidence.
State v, Fischer, 2010 WI 6, 322 Wis. 2d 265, 778 N.W.2d 629, 07-1898. But see
Fischer v. Ozaukee County Circuit Court, 741 F. Supp. 2d 944 (2010).

Probable cause exists to request a preliminary breath test sample when the driver
is known to be subject to a .02 prohibited alcohol content standard, the officer knows
it would take very little alcohol for the driver to exceed that limit, and the officer
smells aleohol on the driver. State v. Goss, 2011 W1 104, 338 Wis. 2d 72, 806 N.W.2d
918, 10-1113. .

The Wi Sup Court’s d in Fischer affirming the exclusion of the
defendant’s experl‘s testimony using PBT results involved an unreasonable applica-
tion of federal law as determined by the United States Supreme Court. Fischer v
Ozaukee County Circuit Court, 741 F. Supp. 2d 944 (2010).

v breath test was

343.305 Tests for intoxication; administrative suspen-
sion and court-ordered revocation. (1) DeriniTiONs. In
this section:

(b) “Drive” means the exercise of physical control over the
speed and direction of a motor vehicle while it is in motion.
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{¢) “Operate” means the physical manipulation or activation
of any of the controls of a motor vehicle necessary to put it in
motion.

(2) IMPLIED CONSENT. Any person who is on duty time with
respect to a commercial motor vehicle or drives or operates a
motor vehicle upon the public highways of this state, or in those
arcas enumerated in s. 346.61, is deemed to have given consent to
one or more tests of his or her breath, blood or urine, for the pur-
pose of determining the presence or quantity in his or her blood
or breath, of alcohol, controlled substances, controlled substance
analogs or other drugs, or any combination of alcohol, controlled
substances, controlled substance analogs and other drugs, when
requested to do so by a law enforcement officer under sub. (3) (a)
or (am) or when required to do so under sub. (3) (ar) or (b). Any
such tests shall be administered upon the request of a law enforce-
ment officer. The law enforcement agency by which the officer
is employed shall be prepared to administer, either at its agency
or any other agency or facility, 2 of the 3 tests under sub. (3) (a),
(am), or (ar), and may designate which of the tests shall be admin-
istered first.

(3) REQUESTED OR REQUIRED. (a) Upon arrest of a person for
violation of 5. 346.63 (1), (2m) or (5) or a local ordinance in con-
formity therewith, or for a violation of s. 346.63 (2) or (6) or
940.25, or s. 940.09 where the offense involved the use of a
vehicle, or upon arrest subsequent to a refusal under par. (ar), a law
enforcement officer may request the person to provide one or
more samples of his or her breath, blood or urine for the purpose
specified under sub. (2). Compliance with a request for one type
of sample does not bar a subsequent request for a different type of
sample.

(am) Prior to arrest, a law enforcement officer may request the
person to provide one or more samples of his or her breath, blood
or urine for the purpose specified under sub. (2) whenever a law
enforcement officer detects any presence of alcohol, a controlled
substance, a controlled substance analog or other drug, or a com-
bination thereof, on a person driving or operating or on duty time
with respect to a commercial motor vehicle or has reason to
believe the person is violating or has violated s. 346.63 (7). Com-
pliance with a request for one type of sample does not bar a subse-
quent request for a different type of sample. For the purposes of
this paragraph, “law enforcement officer” includes inspectors in
the performance of duties under s. 110.07 (3).

(ar) 1. If a person is the operator of a vehicle that is involved
in an accident that causes substantial bodily harm, as defined in s.
939.22 (38), to any person, and a law enforcement officer detects
any presence of alcohol, a controlled substance, a controlled sub-
stance analog or other drug, or a combination thereof, the law
enforcement officer may request the operator to provide one or
more samples of his or her breath, blood, or urine for the purpose
specified under sub. (2). Compliance with a request for one type
of sample does not bar a subsequent request for a different type of
sample. A person who is unconscious or otherwise not capable of
withdrawing consent is presumed not to have withdrawn consent
under this subdivision and one or more samples specified in par.
(a) or (am) may be administered to the person. If a person refuses
to take a test under this subdivision, he or she may be arrested
under par. (a).

2. If a person is the operator of a vehicle that is involved in
an accident that causes the death of or great bodily harm to any
person and the law enforcement officer has reason to believe that
the person violated any state or local traffic law, the officer may
request the operator to provide one or more samples of his or her
breath, blood, or urine for the purpose specified under sub. (2).
Compliance with a request for one type of sample does not bar a
subsequent request for a different type of sample. A person who
is unconscious or otherwise not capable of withdrawing consent
is presumed not to have withdrawn consent under this subdivision
and one or more samples specified in par. (a) or (am) may be
administered to the person. If a person refuses to take a test under
this subdivision, he or she may be arrested under par. (a).
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(b) A person who is unconscious or otherwise not capable of
withdrawing consent is presumed not to have withdrawn consent
under this subsection, and if a law enforcement officer has prob-
able cause to believe that the person has violated s. 346.63 (1),
(2m) or (5) or a local ordinance in conformity therewith, or s.
346.63 (2) or (6) or 940.25, or s. 940.09 where the offense
involved the use of a vehicle, or detects any presence of alcohol,
controlled substance, controlled substance analog or other drug,
or a combination thereof, on a person driving or operating or on
duty time with respect to a commercial motor vehicle or has rea-
son to believe the person has violated s. 346.63 (7), one or more
samples specified in par. (a) or (am) may be administered to the
person.

(c) This section does not limit the right of a law enforcement
officer to obtain evidence by any other lawful means.

(4) InrorMATION. At the time that a chemical test specimen is
requested under sub. (3) (a), (am), or (ar), the law enforcement
officer shall read the following to the person from whom the test
specimen is requested:

“You have either been arrested for an offense that involves
driving or operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of
alcohol or drugs, or both, or you are the operator of a vehicle that
was involved in an accident that caused the death of, great bodily
harm to, or substantial bodily harm to a person, or you are sus-
pected of driving or being on duty time with respect to a commer-
cial motor vehicle after consuming an intoxicating beverage.,

This law enforcement agency now wants to test one or more
samples of your breath, blood or urine to determine the concentra-
tion of alcohol or drugs in your system, If any test shows more
alcohol in your system than the law permits while driving, your
operating privilege will be suspended. If you refuse to take any
test that this agency requests, your operating privilege will be
revoked and you will be subject to other penalties. The test results
or the fact that you refused testing can be used against you in court.

If you take all the requested tests, you may choose to take fur-
ther tests. You may take the alternative test that this law enforce-
ment agency provides free of charge. You also may have a test
conducted by a qualified person of your choice at your expense.
Yaou, however, will have to make your own arrangements for that
lest.

If you have a commercial driver license or were operating a
commercial motor vehicle, other consequences may result from
positive test results or from refusing testing, such as being placed
out of service or disqualified.”

(5) ADMINISTERING THE TEST; ADDITIONAL TESTS. (a) Ifthe per-
son submits to a test under this section, the officer shall direct the
administering of the test. A blood test is subject to par. (b). The
person who submits to the test is permitted, upon his or her
request, the alternative test provided by the agency under sub. (2)
or, at his or her own expense, reasonable opportunity to have any
qualified person of his or her own choosing administer a chemical
test for the purpose specified under sub. (2). If the person has not
been requested to provide a sample for a test under sub, (3) (a),
(am), or (ar), the person may request a breath test to be adminis-
tered by the agency or, at his or her own expense, reasonable
opportunity to have any qualified person administer any test spec-
ified under sub. (3) (a), (am), or (ar). The failure or inability of a
person to obtain a test at his or her own expense does not preclude
the admission of evidence of the results of any test administered
under sub. (3) (a), (am), or (ar). If a person requests the agency
to administer a breath test and if the agency is unable to perform
that test, the person may request the agency to perform a test under
sub. (3) (a), (am), or (ar) that it is able to perform. The agency shall
comply with a request made in accordance with this paragraph.

(b) Blood may be withdrawn from the person arrested for
violation of s. 346.63 (1), (2), (2m), (5), or (6) or 940.25, or s.
940.09 where the offense involved the use of a vehicle, or a local
ordinance in conformity with s. 346.63 (1), (2m), or (5), or as pro-
vided in sub. (3) (am) or (b) to determine the presence or quantity
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of alcohol, a controlled substance, a controlled substance analog,
or any other drug, or any combination of alcohol, controlled sub-
stance, controlled substance analog, and any other drug in the
blood only by a physician, registered nurse, medical technologist,
physician assistant, phlebotomist, or other medical professional
who is authorized to draw blood, or person acting under the direc-
tion of a physician.

(c) A person acting under par. (b), the employer of any such
person and any hospital where blood is withdrawn by any such
person have immunity from civil or criminal liability under s.
895.53.

(d) At the trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding
arising out of the acts committed by a person alleged to have been
driving or operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of
an intoxicant, a controlled substance, a controlled substance ana-
log or any other drug, or under the influence of any combination
of alcohol, a controlled substance, a controlled substance analog
and any other drug, to a degree which renders him or her incapable
of safely driving, or under the combined influence of an intoxicant
and any other drug to a degree which renders him or her incapable
of safely driving, or having a prohibited alcohol concentration, or
alleged to have been driving or operating or on duty time with
respect to a commercial motor vehicle while having an alcohol
concentration above 0.0 or possessing an intoxicating beverage,
regardless of its alcohol content, or within 4 hours of having con-
sumed or having been under the influence of an intoxicating bev-
erage, regardless of its alcohol content, or of having an alcohol
concentration of 0.04 or more, the results of a test administered in
accordance with this section are admissible on the issue of
whether the person was under the influence of an intoxicant, a
controlled substance, a controlled substance analog or any other
drug, or under the influence of any combination of alcohol, a con-
trolled substance, a controlled substance analog and any other
drug, to a degree which renders him or her incapable of safely
driving or under the combined influence of an intoxicant and any
other drug to a degree which renders him or her incapable of safely
driving or any issue relating to the person’s alcohol concentration.
Test results shall be given the effect required under s. 885.235.

(e) Atthe trial of any civil or criminal action or proceeding aris-
ing out of the acts committed by a person alleged to have been
driving or operating a motor vehicle while having a detectable
amount of a restricted controlled substance in his or her blood, the
results of a blood test administered in accordance with this section
are admissible on any issue relating to the presence of a detectable
amount of a restricted controlled substance in the person’s blood.
Test results shall be given the effect required under s. 885.235.

(6) REQUIREMENTS FORTESTS. (2) Chemical analyses of blood
or urine to be considered valid under this section shall have been
performed substantially according to methods approved by the
laboratory of hygiene and by an individual possessing a valid per-
mit to perform the analyses issued by the department of health ser-
vices. The department of health services shall approve laborato-
ries for the purpose of performing chemical analyses of blood or
urine for alcohol, controlled substances or controlled substance
analogs and shall develop and administer a program for regular
monitoring of the laboratories. A list of approved laboratories
shall be provided to all law enforcement agencies in the state.
Urine specimens are to be collected by methods specified by the
laboratory of hygiene. The laboratory of hygiene shall furnish an
ample supply of urine and blood specimen containers to permit all
law enforcement officers to comply with the requirements of this
seclion.

(b) The department of transportation shall approve techniques
or methods of performing chemical analysis of the breath and
shall:

1. Approve training manuals and courses throughout the state
for the training of law enforcement officers in the chemical analy-
sis of a person’s breath;

2013-14 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2015 Wis. Act 392 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before May 10, 2016.
Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after May 10, 2016 are designated by NOTES. (Published 5-10-16)

22



Updated 201314 Wis. Stats. Published and certified under s. 35.18. May 10, 2016.

343.305 OPERATORS’ LICENSES

2. Certify the qualifications and competence of individuals to
conduct the analysis;

3. Have trained technicians, approved by the secretary, test
and certify the accuracy of the equipment fo be used by law
enforcement officers for chemical analysis of a person’s breath
under sub. (3) (a), (am), or (ar) before regular use of the equipment
and periodically thereafter at intervals of not more than 120 days;
and

4. TIssue permits to individuals according to their qualifica-
tions.

Cross—reference: See also ch. Trans 311, Wis. adm. code.

(bmn) Any relevant instruction, as defined in s, 101.02 (24) (a)
1., that an applicant for an approval, certification, or permit under
par. (b) has obtained in connection with any military service, as
defined in s. 111.32 (12g), counts toward satisfying any require-
ment for instruction for an approval, certification, or permit under
par. (b) if the applicant demonstrates to the satisfaction of the
department of transportation that the instruction obtained by the
applicant is substantially equivalent to the instruction required for
the approval, certificate, or permit under par. (b).

(c) For purposes of this section, if a breath test is administered
using an infrared breath—testing instrument:

1. The test shall consist of analyses in the following sequence:
one adequate breath sample analysis, one calibration standard
analysis, and a 2nd, adequate breath sample analysis.

2. A sample is adequate if the instrument analyzes the sample
and does not indicate the sample is deficient.

3. Failure of a person to provide 2 separate, adequate breath
samples in the proper sequence constitutes a refusal,

(d) The department of transportation may promulgate rules
pertaining to the calibration and testing of preliminary breath
screening test devices.

(e) 1. In this paragraph, “licensor” means the department of
health services or, with respect to permils issued under par. (b) 4.,
the department of transportation,

2. In addition to any other information required by the licen-
sar, an application for a permit or laboratory approval under this
subsection shall include the following:

a. Except as provided in subd. 2. am., in the case of an individ-
ual, the individual’s social security number.

am. In the case of an individual who does not have a social
security number, a statement made or subscribed under oath or
affirmation that the applicant does not have a social security num-
ber. The form of the statement shall be prescribed by the depart-
ment of children and families. A permit or approval that is issued
or renewed under this section in reliance on a statement submitted
under this subd. 2. am. is invalid if the statement is false.

b. In the case of a person who is not an individual, the person’s
federal employer identification number.

3. a. The licensor shall deny an application for the issuance
or, if applicable, renewal of a permit or laboratory approval if the
information required under subd. 2. a., am. orb. is not included in
the application.

b. The licensor may not disclose any information received
under subd. 2. a. or b. except to the department of children and
families for purposes of administering s. 49.22, the department of
revenue for the sole purpose of requesting certifications under s,
73,0301, and the department of workforce development for the
sole purpose of requesting certifications under 5. 108.227.

4. A permit under this subsection shall be denied, restricted,
limited or suspended if the applicant or licensee is an individual
who is delinquent in making court—ordered payments of child or
family support, maintenance, birth expenses, medical expenses or
other expenses related to the support of a child or former spouse,
as provided in a memorandum of understanding entered into
under s. 49.857,

5. If the licensor is the department of health services, the
department of health services shall deny an application for the
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issuance or renewal of a permit or laboratory approval, or revoke
a permit or laboratory approval already issued, if the department
of revenue certifies under s. 73.0301 that the applicant or holder
of the permit or laboratory approval is liable for delinquent taxes.
An applicant for whom a permit or laboratory approval is not
issued or renewed, or an individual or laboratory whose permit or
laboratory approval is revaked, under this subdivision for delin-
quent taxes 13 entitled to a notice under s. 73.0301 (2) (b) I. b. and
a hearing under s, 73.0301 (5) (a) but is not entitled to any other
notice or hearing under this subsection.

6. If the licensor is the department of health services, the
department of health services shall deny an application for the
issuance or renewal of a permit or laboratory approval, or revoke
a permit or laboratory approval already issued, if the department
of workforce development certifies under s. 108.227 that the
applicant or holder of the permit or laboratory approval is liable
for delinquent unemployment insurance contributions. An appli-
cant for whom a permit or laboratory approval is not issued or
renewed, or an individual or laboratory whose permit or labora-
tory approval is revoked, under this subdivision for delinquent
unemployment insurance contributions is entitled to a notice
under s. 108.227 (2) (b) 1. b. and a hearing under s. 108.227 (5)
(a) but is not entitled to any other notice or hearing under this sub-
section.

(7) CHEMICAL TEST; ADMINISTRATIVE SUSPENSION. (a) Ifa per-
son submits to chemical testing administered in accordance with
this section and any test results indicate the presence of a detect-
able amount of a restricted controlled substance in the person’s
blood or a prohibited alcohol concentration, the law enforcement
officer shall report the results to the department. The person’s
operating privilege is administratively suspended for 6 months.

(b) If a person who was driving or operating or on duty time
with respect (o a commercial motor vehicle submits to chemical
testing administered in accordance with this section and any test
results indicate an alcohol concentration above 0.0, the law
enforcement officer shall issue a citation for violation of s, 346.63
(7) (a) 1., issue citations for such other violations as may apply and
issue an out—of—service order to the person for the 24 hours after
the testing, and report both the out—of—service order and the test
results to the department in the manner prescribed by the depart-
ment. If the person is a nonresident, the department shall report
issuance of the out—of-service order to the driver licensing agency
in the person’s home jurisdiction.

(8) CHEMICAL TEST: ADMINISTRATIVE SUSPENSION; ADMINIS-
TRATIVE AND JUDICIAL REVIEW. (a) The law enforcement officer
shall notify the person of the administrative suspension under sub,
(7) (a). The notice shall advise the person that his or her operating
privilege will be administratively suspended and that he or she has
the right to obtain administrative and judicial review under this
subsection. This notice of administrative suspension serves as a
30—day temporary license. An administrative suspension under
sub. (7) (a) becomes effective at the time the 30-day temporary
license expires. The officer shall submit or mail a copy of the
notice to the department.

(am) The law enforcement officer shall provide the person
with a separate form for the person to use to request the adminis-
trative review under this subsection. The form shall clearly indi-
cate how to request an administrative review and shall clearly
notify the person that this form must be submitted within 10 days
from the notice date indicated on the form or the person’s hearing
rights will be deemed waived. The form shall, in no less than
16—point boldface type, be titled: IMPORTANT NOTICE —
RESPOND WITHIN TEN (10) DAYS,

(b) 1. Within 10 days after the notification under par. (a), or,
if the notification is by mail, within 13 days, excluding Saturdays,
Sundays and holidays, after the date of the mailing, the person
may request, in writing, that the department review the adminis-
trative suspension. The review procedure is not subject to ch. 227,
Unless the hearing is by remote communication mechanism or
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record review, the department shall hold the hearing on the matter
in the county in which the offense allegedly occurred or at the
nearest office of the department if the offense allegedly occurred
in a county in which the department does not maintain an office.
The department, upon request of the person, may conduct a hear-
ing under this paragraph by telephone, video conference, or other
remote communication mechanism or by review of only the
record submitted by the arresting officer and written arguments.
The department shall hold a hearing regarding the administrative
suspension within 30 days after the date of notification under par.
(a). The person may present evidence and may be represented by
counsel. The arresting officer need not appear at the administra-
tive hearing unless subpoenaed under s. 805.07 and need not
appear in person at a hearing conducted by remote communication
mechanism or record review, but he or she must submit a copy of
his or her report and the results of the chemical test to the hearing
examiner.

2. The administrative hearing under this paragraph is limited
to the following issues:

a. The correct identity of the person.

b. Whether the person was informed of the options regarding
tests under this section as required under sub. (4).

bm. Whether the person had a prohibited alcohol concentra-
tion or a detectable amount of a restricted controlled substance in
his or her blood at the time the offense allegedly oceurred.

¢. Whether one or more tests were administered in accordance
with this section.

d. If one or more tests were administered in accordance with
this section, whether each of the test results for those tests indicate
the person had a prohibited alcohol concentration or a detectable
amount of a restricted controlled substance in his or her blood.

e. If a test was requested under sub. (3) (a), whether probable
cause existed for the arrest.

f. Whether the person was driving or operating a commercial
motor vehicle when the offense allegedly occurred.

g. Whether the person had a valid preseription for metham-
phetamine or one of its metabolic precursors or gamma—
hydroxybutyric acid or delta—9-tetrahydrocannabinol in a case in
which subd. 4m. a. and b. apply.

3. The hearing examiner shall conduct the administrative
hearing in an informal manner. No testimony given by any wit-
ness may be used in any subsequent action or proceeding. The
hearing examiner may permit testimony by telephone if the site of
the administrative hearing is equipped with telephone facilities to
allow multiple party conversations.

4. The hearing examiner shall consider and determine the reli-
ability of all of the evidence presented at the administrative hear-
ing. Statements and reports of law enforcement officers are sub-
ject to the same standards of credibility applied to all other
evidence presented.

4m. If, at the time the offense allegedly occurred, all of the
following apply, the hearing officer shall determine whether the
person had a valid preseription for methamphetamine or one of its
melabolic  precursors, gamma—hydroxybutyric acid, or
delta—9-tetrahydrocannabinol:

a. A blood test administered in accordance with this section
indicated that the person had a detectable amount of methamphet-
amine, gamma—hydroxybutyric acid, or delta—9—tetrahydrocan-
nabinol but did not have a detectable amount of any other
restricted controlled substance in his or her blood.

b. No test administered in accordance with this section indi-
cated that the person had a prohibited alcohol concentration,

5. If the hearing examiner finds that any of the following
applies, the examiner shall order that the administrative suspen-
sion of the person’s operating privilege be rescinded without pay-
ment of any fee under s. 343.21 (1) (j), (jr), or (n):

a. The criteria for administrative suspension have not been
satisfied.
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b. The person did not have a prohibited alcohol concentration
or a detectable amount of a restricted controlled substance in his
or her blood at the time the offense allegedly occurred.

¢. Inacase in which subd. 4m. a. and b. apply, the person had
a valid prescription for methamphetamine or one of its metabolic
precursors, gamma—hydroxybutyric acid, or delta—9—tetralydro-
cannabinol.

6. If the hearing examiner finds that all of the following apply,
the administrative suspension shall continue regardless of the type
of vehicle driven or operated at the time of the violation:

a, The criteria for administrative suspension have been satis-
fied.

b. The person had a prohibited alcohol concentration or a
detectable amount of a restricted controlled substance in his or her
blood at the time the offense allegedly occurred.

¢. In a case in which subd. 4m. a. and b. apply, the person did
not have a valid prescription for methamphetamine or one of its
metabolic  precursors, gamma—hydroxybutyric acid, or
delta—9—tetrahydrocannabinol.

7. The hearing examiner shall notify the person in writing of
the hearing decision, of the right to judicial review and of the
court’s authority to issue a stay of the suspension under par. (c).
The administrative suspension is vacated and the person’s operat-
ing privilege shall be automatically reinstated under s. 343.39 if
the hearing examiner fails to mail this notice to the person within
30 days after the date of the notification under par. (a).

(¢) 1. An individual aggrieved by the determination of the
hearing examiner may have the determination reviewed by the
court hearing the action relating to the applicable violation listed
under sub. (3) (a), (am), or (ar). If the individual seeks judicial
review, he or she must file the request for judicial review with the
court within 20 days of the issuance of the hearing examiner’s
decision. The court shall send a copy of that request to the depart-
ment. The judicial review shall be conducted at the time of the
trial of the underlying offense under s. 346.63. The prosecutor of
the underlying offense shall represent the interests of the depart-
ment.

2. The court shall order that the administrative suspension be
either rescinded or sustained and forward its order to the depart-
ment. The department shall vacate the administrative suspension
under sub. (7) unless, within 60 days of the date of the request for
judicial review of the administrative hearing decision, the depart-
ment has been notified of the result of the judicial review or of an
order of the court entering a stay of the hearing examiner’s order
continuing the suspension,

3. Any party aggrieved by the order of a circuit court under
subd. 2. may appeal to the court of appeals. Any party aggrieved
by the order of a municipal court under subd. 2 may appeal to the
circuit court for the county where the offense allegedly occurred.

4. A request for judicial review under this subsection does not
stay any administrative suspension order,

5. If any court orders under this subsection that the adminis-
trative suspension of the person’s operating privilege be
rescinded, the person need not pay any fee under s. 343.21 (1) (j),
(jr), or (n).

(d) A person who has his or her operating privilege administra-
tively suspended under this subsection and sub. (7) (a) is eligible
for an occupational license under s. 343.10 at any time,

(9) REFUSALS; NOTICE AND COURT HEARING. (a) If a person
refuses to take a test under sub, (3) (a), the law enforcement officer
shall immediately prepare a notice of intent to revoke, by court
order under sub. (10), the person’s operating privilege. If the per-
son was driving or operating a commercial motor vehicle, the offi-
cer shall issue an out—of-service order to the person for the 24
hours after the refusal and notify the department in the manner
prescribed by the department. The officer shall issue a copy of the
notice of intent to revoke the privilege to the person and submit or
mail a capy to the circuit court for the county in which the arrest
under sub. (3) (a) was made or to the municipal court in the munic-
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ipality in which the arrest was made if the arrest was for a violation
of a municipal ordinance under sub. (3) (a) and the municipality
has a municipal court. The officer shall also mail a copy of the
notice of intent to revoke to the attorney for that municipality or
to the district attorney for that county, as appropriate, and to the
department. Neither party is entitled to pretrial discovery in any
refusal hearing, except that, if the defendant moves within 30 days
after the initial appearance in person or by an attorney and shows
cause therefor, the court may order that the defendant be allowed
to inspect documents, including lists of names and addresses of
witnesses, if available, and to test under s, 804.09, under such con-
ditions as the court prescribes, any devices used by the plaintiff'to
determine whether a violation has been committed. The notice of
intent to revoke the person’s operating privilege shall contain sub-
stantially all of the following information:

1. That prior to a request under sub. (3) (a), the officer had
placed the person under arrest for a violation of s, 346.63 (1),(2m)
or (5) or a local ordinance in conformity therewith or s. 346.63 (2)
or (6), 940.09 (1) or 940.25 or had requested the person to take a
test under sub. (3) (ar).

2. That the officer complied with sub. (4).

3. That the person refused a request under sub. (3) (a).

4. That the person may request a hearing on the revocation
within 10 days by mailing or delivering a written request to the
court whose address is specified in the notice. If no request for a
hearing is received within the 10-day period, the revocation
period commences 30 days after the notice is issued.

5, That the issues of the hearing are limited to:

a. Whether the officer had probable cause to believe the per-
son was driving or operating a motor vehicle while under the influ-
ence of alcohol, a controlled substance or a controlled substance
analog or any combination of alcohol, a controlled substance and
a controlled substance analog, under the influence of any other
drug to a degree which renders the person incapable of safely driv-
ing, or under the combined influence of alcohol and any other drug
to a degree which renders the person incapable of safely driving,
having a restricted controlled substance in his or her blood, or hav-
ing a prohibited alcohol concentration or, if the person was driving
or operating a commercial motor vehicle, an alcohol concentra-
tion of 0.04 or more and whether the person was lawfully placed
under arrest for violation of s. 346.63 (1), (2m) or (5) or a local
ordinance in conformity therewith or s. 346.63 (2) or (6), 940.09
(1) or 940.25.

b. Whether the officer complied with sub. (4).

¢. Whether the person refused to permit the test. The person
shall not be considered to have refused the test if it is shown by a
preponderance of evidence that the refusal was due to a physical
inability to submit to the test due to a physical disability or disease
unrelated to the use of alcohol, controlled substances, controlled
substance analogs or other drugs.

6. That, if it is determined that the person refused the test,
there will be an order for the person to comply with assessment
and a driver safety plan.

(am) If a person driving or operating or on duty time with
respect to a commercial motor vehicle refuses a test under sub. (3)
(am), the law enforcement officer shall immediately issue an out—
of—service order to the person for the 24 hours after the refusal and
notify the department in the manner prescribed by the department,
and prepare a notice of intent to revoke, by court order under sub.
(10), the person’s operating privilege. The officer shall issue a
copy of the notice of intent to revoke the privilege to the person
and submit or mail a copy to the circuit court for the county in
which the refusal is made or to the municipal court in the munic-
ipality in which the refusal is made if the person’s refusal was in
violation of a municipal ordinance and the municipality has a
municipal court. The officer shall also mail a copy of the notice
of intent to revoke to the attorney for that municipality or to the
district attorney for that county, as appropriate, and to the depart-
ment. Neither party is entitled to pretrial discovery in any refusal
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hearing, except that, if the defendant moves within 30 days after
the initial appearance in person or by an attorney and shows cause
therefor, the court may order that the defendant be allowed to
inspect documents, including lists of names and addresses of wit-
nesses, if available, and to test under s. 804.09, under such condi-
tions as the court prescribes, any devices used by the plaintiff to
determine whether a violation has been committed. The notice of
intent to revoke the person’s operating privilege shall contain sub-
stantially all of the following information;

1. That the officer has issued an out—of-service order to the
person for the 24 hours after the refusal, specifying the date and
time of issuance.

2. That the officer complied with sub. (4).

3. That the person refused a request under sub. (3) (am).

4, That the person may request a hearing on the revocation
within 10 days by mailing or delivering a written request to the
court whose address is specified in the notice. If no request for a
hearing is received within the 10-day period, the revocation
period commences 30 days after the notice is issued.

5. That the issues of the hearing are limited to:

a. Whether the officer detected any presence of alcohol, con-
trolled substance, controlled substance analog or other drug, or a
combination thereof, on the person or had reason to believe that
the person was violating or had violated s. 346.63 (7).

b. Whether the officer complied with sub. (4).

¢. Whether the person refused to permit the test. The person
shall not be considered to have refused the test if it is shown by a
preponderance of evidence that the refusal was due to a physical
inability to submit to the test due to a physical disability or disease
unrelated to the use of alcohol, controlled substances, controlled
substance analogs or other drugs.

6. Thatifit is determined that the person refused the test there
will be an order for the person to camply with assessment and a
driver safety plan.

(b) The use of the notice under par. (a) or (am) by a law enforce-
ment officer in connection with the enforcement of this section is
adequate process to give the appropriate court jurisdiction over
the person.

(c) If'alaw enforcement officer informs the circuit or munici-
pal court that a person has refused to submit to a test under sub,
(3) (), (am), or (ar), the court shall be prepared to hold any
requested hearing to determine if the refusal was proper. The
scope of the hearing shall be limited to the issues outlined in par.
(a) 5.or(am) 5. Section 967.055 applies to any hearing under this
subsection.

(d) Atthe close of the hearing, or within 5 days thereafter, the
court shall determine the issues under par. (a) 5. or (am) 5. Ifall
issues are determined adversely to the person, the court shall pro-
ceed under sub. (10). If one or more of the issues is determined
favorably to the person, the court shall order that no action be
taken on the operating privilege on account of the person’s refusal
to take the test in question. This section does not preclude the pro-
secution of the person for violation of s. 346.63 (1), (2m), (5) or
(7) or a local ordinance in conformity therewith, or 5. 346.63 (2)
or (6), 940.09 (1) or 940.25.

(10) REFUSALS; COURT-ORDERED REVOCATION. (a) If the court
determines under sub, (9) (d) that a person improperly refused to
take a test or if the person does not request a hearing within 10 days
after the person has been served with the notice of intent to revoke
the person’s operating privilege, the court shall proceed under this
subsection. 1f no hearing was requested, the revocation period
shall begin 30 days after the date of the refusal. If a hearing was
requested, the revocation period shall commence 30 days after the
date of refusal or immediately upon a final determination that the
refusal was improper, whichever is later.

{b) 1. Except as provided in subds. 3. and 4., the court shall
revoke the person’s operating privilege under this paragraph
according to the number of previous suspensions, revocations or
convictions that would be counted under s. 343,307 (2). Suspen-
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sions, revocations and convictions arising out of the same incident
shall be counted as one. If a person has a conviction, suspension
or revocation for any offense that is counted under s. 343.307 (2),
that conviction, suspension or revocation shall count as a prior
conviction, suspension or revocation under this subdivision.

2. Except as provided in subd. 3., 4. or 4m., for the first
improper refusal, the court shall revoke the person’s operating
privilege for one year. After the first 30 days of the revocation
period, the person is eligible for an occupational license under s.
343.10.

3. Except as provided in subd. 4m., if the number of convic-
tions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus
the total number of other convictions, suspensions, and revoca-
tions counted under s, 343.307 (2) within a 10—year period, equals
2, the court shall revoke the person’s operating privilege for 2
years. After the first 90 days of the revocation period or, if the total
number of convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted
under this subdivision within any 5—year period equals 2 or more,
after one year of the revocation period has elapsed, the person is
eligible for an occupational license under s. 343.10 if he or she has
completed the assessment and is complying with the driver safety
plan.

4. Except as provided in subd. 4m., if the number of convic-
tions under ss. 940.09 (1) and 940.25 in the person’s lifetime, plus
the total number of other convictions, suspensions, and revoca-
tions counted under s. 343.307 (2), equals 3 or more, the court
shall revoke the petson’s operating privilege for 3 years. After the
first 120 days of the revocation period or, if the total number of
convictions, suspensions, and revocations counted under this sub-
division within any 5—year period equals 2 or more, after one year
of the revocation period has elapsed, the person is eligible for an
occupational license under s. 343.10 if he or she has completed the
assessment and is complying with the driver safety plan.

4m. If there was a minor passenger under 16 years of age in
the motor vehicle at the time of the incident that gave rise to the
improper refusal, the applicable minimum and maximum revoca-
tion periods under subd. 2., 3. or 4. for the improper refusal are
doubled.

5. The time period under this paragraph shall be measured
from the dates of the refusals or violations which resulted in revo-
cations or convictions.

(¢) 1. Except as provided in subd. 1. a. or b., the court shall
order the person to submit to and comply with an assessment by
an approved public treatment facility as defined in s. 51.45 (2) (c)
for examination of the person’s use of alcohol, controlled sub-
stances or controlled substance analogs and development of a
driver safety plan for the person. The court shall notify the person
and the department of transportation of the assessment order. The
court shall also notify the person that noncompliance with assess-
ment or the driver safety plan will result in license suspension until
the person is in compliance. The assessment order shall:

a, If the person is a resident, refer the person to an approved
public treatment facility in the county in which the person resides.
The facility named in the order may provide for assessment of the
person in another approved public treatment facility. The order
shall provide that if the person is temporarily residing in another
state, the facility named in the order may refer the person to an
appropriate treatment facility in that state for assessment and
development of a driver safety plan for the person satisfying the
requirements of that state,

b. If the person is a nonresident, refer the person to an
approved public treatment facility in this state. The order shall
provide that the facility named in the order may refer the person
to an appropriate treatment facility in the state in which the person
resides for assessment and development of a driver safety plan for
the person satisfying the requirements of that state,

¢. Require a person who is referred to a treatment facility in
another state under subd. 1. a. orb. to furnish the department writ-
ten verification of his or her compliance from the agency which
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administers the assessment and driver safety plan program. The
person shall provide initial verification of compliance within 60
days after the date of his or her conviction. The requirement to fur-
nish verification of compliance may be satisfied by receipt by the
department of such verification from the agency which adminis-
ters the assessment and driver safety plan program.

2. The department of health services shall establish standards
for assessment procedures and the driver safety plan programs by
rule. The department of health services shall establish by rule con-
flict of interest guidelines for providers.

3. Prior to developing a plan which specifies treatment, the
facility shall make a finding that treatment is necessary and appro-
priate services are available. The facility shall submit a report of
the assessment and the driver safety plan within 14 days to the
county department under s. 51.42, the plan provider, the depart-
ment of transportation and the person, except that upon request by
the facility and the person, the county department may extend the
period for assessment for not more than 20 additional workdays.
The county department shall notify the department of transporta-
tion regarding any such extension.

(d) The assessment report shall order compliance with a driver
safety plan. The report shall inform the person of the fee provi-
sions under s, 46.03 (18) (f). The driver safety plan may include
a component that makes the person aware of the effect of his or her
offense on a victim and a victim’s family. The driver safety plan
may include treatment for the person’s misuse, abuse or depen-
dence on alcohol, controlled substances or controlled substance
analogs, attendance at a school under s. 345.60, or both. If the plan
requires inpatient treatment, the treatment shall not exceed 30
days. A driver safety plan under this paragraph shall include a ter-
mination date consistent with the plan which shall not extend
beyond one year. The county department under s. 51.42 shall
assure notification of the department of transportation and the per-
son of the person’s compliance or noncompliance with assess-
ment and treatment. The school under s. 345.60 shall notify the
department, the county department under s. 51.42 and the person
of the person’s compliance or noncompliance with the require-
ments of the school, Nonpayment of the assessment fee or, if the
person has the ability to pay, nonpayment of the driver safety plan
fee is noncompliance with the court order. If the department is
notified of noncompliance, other than for nonpayment of the
assessment fee or driver safety plan fee, it shall revoke the per-
son’s operating privilege until the county department under s.
51.42 or the school under s, 345.60 notifies the department that the
person is in compliance with assessment or the driver safety plan.
If the department is notified that a person has not paid the assess-
ment fee, or that a person with the ability to pay has not paid the
driver safety plan fee, the department shall suspend the person’s
operating privilege for a period of 2 years or until it receives notice
that the person has paid the fee, whichever occurs first. The
department shall notify the person of the suspension or revoca-
tion, the reason for the suspension or revocation and the person’s
right to a review. A person may request a review of a revocation
based upon failure to comply with a driver safety plan within 10
days of notification. The review shall be handled by the subunit
of the department of transportation designated by the secretary.
The issues at the review are limited to whether the driver safety
plan, if challenged, is appropriate and whether the person is in
compliance with the assessment order or the driver safety plan.
The review shall be conducted within 10 days after a request is
received. Ifthe driver safety plan is determined to be inappropri-
ate, the department shall order a reassessment and if the person is
otherwise eligible, the department shall reinstate the person’s
operating privilege. If the person is determined to be in com-
pliance with the assessment or driver safety plan, and if the person
is otherwise eligible, the department shall reinstate the person’s
operating privilege. If there is no decision within the 10-day
period, the department shall issue an order reinstating the person’s
operating privilege until the review is completed, unless the delay
is at the request of the person seeking the review.

2013-14 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2015 Wis. Act 392 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before May 10, 2016.
Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after May 10, 2016 are designated by NOTES. (Published 5-10-16)

26



Updated 2013—14 Wis, Stats. Published and certified under s. 35,18, May 10, 2016.

343.305 OPERATORS’ LICENSES

(e) Notwithstanding par. (c), if the court finds that the person
is already covered by an assessment or is participating in a driver
safety plan or has had evidence presented to it by a county depart-
ment under s. 51.42 that the person has recently completed assess-
ment, a driver safety plan or both, the cowrt is not required to make
an order under par. (¢). This paragraph does not prohibit the court
from making an order under par. (c), if it deems such an order
advisable.

(em) One penalty for improperly refusing to submit to a test
for intoxication regarding a person arrested for a violation of s.
346.63 (2m) or (7) or a local ordinance in conformity therewith is
revocation of the person’s operating privilege for 6 months. If
there was a minor passenger under 16 years of age in the motor
vehicle at the time of the incident that gave rise to the improper
refusal, the revocation period is 12 months. After the first 15 days
of the revocation period, the person is eligible for an occupational
license under s. 343.10. Any such improper refusal or revocation
for the refusal does not count as a prior refusal or a prior revocation
under this section or ss. 343.30 (1q), 343.307 and 346.65 (2). The
person shall not be required to submit to and comply with any
assessment or driver safety plan under pars. (¢) and (d).

(f) The department may make any order which the court is
authorized or required to make under this subsection if the court
fails to do so.

(g) The court or department shall provide that the period of sus-
pension or revocation imposed under this subsection or under sub.
(7) shall be reduced by any period of suspension or revocation pre-
viously served under s. 343.30 (1p) or (1q) if both suspensions or
revocations arose out of the same incident or occurrence. The
court or department shall order that the period of suspension or
revocation imposed under this subsection or sub. (7) run concur-
rently with any time remaining on a suspension or revocation
imposed under 5. 343.30 (1p) or (1q) arising out of the same inci-
dent or occurrence.

(10g) SUSPENSIONS AND REVOCATIONS; EXTENSIONS., For any
suspension or revocation the court orders under sub. (10), the
court shall extend the suspension or revocation period by the num-
ber of days to which the court sentences the person to imprison-
ment in a jail or prison.

(10m) REFUSALS; IGNITION INTERLOCK OF A MOTOR VEHICLE.
The requirements and procedures for installation of an ignition
interlock device under s. 343.301 apply when an operating privi-
lege is revoked under sub. (10).

(11) RuLes. The department shall promulgate rules under ch.
227 necessary to administer this section. The rules shall include
provisions relating to the expeditious exchange of information
under this section between the department and law enforcement
agencies, circuit courts, municipal courts, attorneys who repre-
senl municipalities, district attorneys, and driver licensing agen-
cies of other jurisdictions. The rules may not affect any provisions

relating to court procedure.,

History: 1987 a. 3,27, 399; 1989 a. 7,31, 56, 105, 359; 1991 a. 39,251,277; 1993
a. 16,105,315,317,491; 1995 a. 27 ss. 641 2cnl., 9126 (19); 1995 a. 113, 269, 425,
426, 436, 448; 1997 a, 35, 84, 107, 191, 237, 290; 1999 a. 9, 32, 109; 2001 a. 16 s5.
3421m to 3423}, 4060gk, 4060hw, 4060hy; 2001 o 104; 2003 a. 97, 199; 2005 2 332,
413; 2007 a. 20 ss. 3303 to 3315, 9121 (6) {a); 2007 2. 136, 2009 a. 100, 103, 163,
2011 a. 120, 242; 2013 a. 36, 224.

Cross—reference: See also chs. DHS 62 and Trans 107 and 113, Wis. adm, cade.

Administration of a blood or breathalyzer test does not violate a defendant’s privi-
lege against self—incrimination. State v. Driver, 59 Wis, 2d 35, 207 N.W.2d 850
(1973).

The implied consent law must be liberally construed to effectuate its policies since
it was intended to facilitate the taking of tests for intoxication and not to inhibit the
ability of the state to remove drunken drivers from the highway. Scales v. State, 64
Wis, 2d 485, 219 N.W.2d 286 (1974),

Miranda warnings are not mquued when an arrested driver is asked to submit Lo
atest for i ion under the implied consent statute, State v, Bunders, 68 Wis, 2d
129, 227 N.W.2d 727 (1975).

There is no right to counsel prior to submitting to an intoxication test. A driver is
ohliged to promptly take or refuse the test. State v. Neitzel, 95 Wis. 2d 191, 289
N.W.2d 828 (1930).

The state need not prove that notices were sent to state officers under sub. (3) (b),
1985 stats. [now sub. (9) (a)]. State v. Polinski, 96 Wis. 24 43, 291 N.W.2d 465
(1980).
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When an officer initially requested a breath test, it was not an irrevocable election
preventing the officer from requesting a urine test instead. The driver’s refusal 1o sub-
mil urine justified revocation of his driver’s license, State v. Pawlow, 98 Wis. 2d 703,
298 N.W.2d 220 (CL App. 1980),

The state need not Bﬁ"lrrrmlu.ft:l;uI prove compliance with administrative code proce-
dures as a found for of a breathalyzer test. City of New Berlin v.
Wertz, 103 Wis. 2d 670, 314 N.W.2d 911 (Ct. App. 1981).

When a driver pled guilty to the underlying OW1 charge, a charge of refusing a test
under 5. 343,305, 1979 stats,, was progerly dismissed as unnecessary, State v
Brooks, 113 Wis. 2d 347, 335 N.W.2d 354 (1983),

A breathalyzer apy i in the ad ive code has a pima facie presumption
of accuracy. State v, Dwinell, 119 Wis, 2d 305, 349 N.W.2d 739 (CL App. 1984).

When blood alcohol content is tested under statutory procedures, the results of the
test are mandatorily admissible. The physical sample tested is not evidence intended,
required, or even susceplible of being pmduced by state under s. 971.23. State v.
Ehlen, 119 Wis, 2d 451, 35I N.W.2d 503 (1984),

A judge’s ion of a defendant's explanation for a refusal to take a
blgod test was not harmless error. State v. Bolstad, 124 Wis, 2d 576, 370 N.W.2d 257
(1985).

At a revocation hearing under sub. (3) (b) 5., 19835 stats. [now sub. (9) (a) 5.], the
state need not establish to a reasonable certainty that the defendant was the actual
driver of the vehicle stopped by the pollcz: The probable cause standard satisfies due
process. State v, Nordness, 128 Wis. 2d 15, 38| N, W.2d 300 (1986).

In sub, (2) (¢), 1985 stats. [now sub. (3) (b)], “not capable of withdrawing consent,”
must be construed narrowly and applied infrequently. State v. Disch, 129 Wis. 2d
225, 385 N.W.2d 140 (1986).

Under the facts of the case, the state’s refusal to provide an alternative blood alco-
hol teu;gig)m violate due process. State v. McCrossen, 129 Wis. 2d 277, 385 N.W.2d
161 (1 3

An arresting officer need not inform an accused that a test refusal can be used
apainst the accused at trial. State v. Crandall, 133 Wis. 2d 251, 394 N.W.2d 905
(1986).

A mental disorder cannot justify a test refusal unless it is severe enough that the
driver is deemed under sub. (3) (b) not to have refused at all. State v. Hagaman, 133
Wis. 2d 381, 395 N.W.2d 617 (Ct, App. 1986),

The implied consent law does not prevent the state from obtaining chemical test
evidence by alternative constitutional means. State v. Zielke, 137 Wis. 2d 39, 403
N.W.2d 427 (1987).

Speal of an oral revocation order under sub, (10) may not be taken under s. 808,03
(1). State v. Borowski, 164 Wis. 2d 730, 476 N.W.2d 316 (CL App. 1991),

Evidence of refusal was not admissible when the defendant was mlﬁ.lliymﬁ]rmcd
of the consequences in accordance with (fomte.r] sub. (4). State v. Algaier, 165 Wis,
2d 515,478 N.W.2d 292 (Ct. App. 1991).

Substantial compliance with the requirements of (former) sub. (4) when the
defendant was actually informed of all nghts and penalties relating to him was suffi-
cient. State v. Piskula, 168 Wis. 2d 135, 483 N.W.2d 250 (Ct. App, 1992). See also
Village of Oregon v. Bryant, 188 Wis, 2d 680, 524 N,W.2d 635 (1994).

The smh. (9) {::] requirement that a notice of intent to revoke be prepared and served
i y and not datory. State v. Moline, 170 Wis. 2d 531,489
N.W.2d 667 {Cl App. 1992).

An accused’s request under sub. (5) (a) for his or her own test only requires the
arresti ency Lo make the accused available Lo obtain the test, not to take an active
pm‘t in obtaining the test. State v. Vincent, 171 Wis, 2d 124,490 N.W.2d 761 (Ct. App.

992).

When an officer knew the defendant was | d as a and
the ensuing revoeation revolrcd all operating pnwlcga.. the commercial operator
wamings, under (former) sub. (4) were required. State v. Geraldsan, | 76 Wis, 2d 487,
500 N.W.2d 415 (Cr. App. 1993).

Overstatement of the potential penalties for refusal to submit to a chemical test was
substantial compliance with (former) sub. (4) and not grounds for reversing a revoca-
tion for refusal. State v. Sutton, 177 Wis. 2d 709, 503 N.W.2d 326 (Cr. App. 1993).

There was no error in informing a driver of all warnings under (former) sub. (4),
including ﬂlnsn applying to only commercial operators and those applying to only
nonec operators, regardless of the driver’s status, Village of Elm Grove v.
Landowski, 181 Wis, 2d 137, 510 N.W.2d 752 {(Ct. App. 1993).

Sub. (5) (b) requires a person drawing blood “under the direction of a physician™
to have general autharization from the physician rather than a specific order in ench
case. State v. Penzkofer, 184 Wis. 2d 262, 516 N.W.2d 774 (Ct. App. 1994).

The state’s burden of persuasmn ata suppressmn hearing is significantly greater
than at a refusal hearing, C is not precluded from relitigating
the issue of probable cause ata snppn:ssmn hearing. State v. Wille, 185 Wis. 2d 673
S18 N.W.2d 325 (Ct. App. 1994).

Onr:c a smpacl has rcﬁ.uaed a scoond alternate blood alechal test, there s no contin-
uing abligat for an alternate test. State v, Stary,
187 Wis. 2d "(56 S_}‘_ N.W.2d 32 {CLApp 1994).

Refusal to submit to a field sobriety test was properly admitted as evidence to deter-
mine probable cause for arrest for intoxicated operation of a motar vehicle. State v.
Babbit, 188 Wis. 2d 349, 525 N.W.2d 102 (Ct. App. 1994).

A suspect must be properly informed under the implied consent law before evi-
dence of a refusal may be admitted at a subsequent tral, but the state is not prevented
from using the evidence if a revocation hearing is not held. State v. Donner, 192 Wis.
2d 305, 531 N.W.2d 369 (Ct. App. 1995).

A driver’s “subjective confusion” over the right not to take the chemical test is not
grounds for challenging the propriety of the warnings given prior to administering the
test. There is a 3—part standard to be applied in determining the uacy of the wam-
ings. County of Ozaukee v. Quelle, 198 Wis. 2d 269, 342 N.W.2d 196 (Ct. App.
1995), 95—1074. But se¢c Washburn County v. Smith, 2008 WI 23 308 \\:s 2465,
746 N.W.2d 243, 06~-3163.

The implied consent law does not exp) mf require a suspeet's written consenl o
the blood alcohol test. A consent form will be liberally construed to determine
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whether it misinforms the suspecl of the law. State v. Spring, 204 Wis. 2d 343, 555
N.W.2d 384 (Ct, App. 1996), 96-3565.

Criminal pmucmlon for operating a motor vehicle with a pmlubﬂed blood alcohol
content subsequent to an ive of a driver's operating privileges
in the same case does not constitute mnll:ple punishment and does not constitute
double jeopardy. State v. McMaster, 206 Wis. 2d 30, 556 N.W.2d 673 (1996),
95-1159.

A finding in an administeative review under sub, (8) that there was no probable
cause for an arrest does not preclude the consideration of the same issue in a criminal
proceeding. State v, Kasian, 207 Wis, 2d 611, 558 N.W.2d 687 (Ct. App. 1996),
961603,

When an officer oxcmds the duty to give warnings prior to administering the test
and gives it is the defend "sburdcntcprowbyawupondcr—
ance of the evidence that the erroneous info caused th dant’s refusal.
State v. Ludwigson, 212 Wis, 2d 871, 569 N.W.2d 762 (Ct. App. 1997), 97-0417.

Willingness to submit to a blood alcohol test, subsequent to an earlier refusal, does
not cure the refusal. State v. Rydeski, 214 Wis. 2d 10! STINW2d417 {CL App.
1997), 97-0169.

A verbal refusal to submit to a blood alcohol test is not required to find a refusal.
Conduct may serve as the basis for finding a refusal. State v. Rydeski, 214 Wis. 2d
101, 571 N.W.2d 417 (Ct. App. 1997), 97-0169.

The chief of the DOT chemical test section is given authority to determine the pro-
cedures for evaluation of breath lesting instruments, The consideration of modifica-
tions made to a new model of a previ tested and d ion that the
2 models were analytically the same was sutﬁmenn:sung. State v. Busch, 217 Wis,
2d 429, 576 N.W.2d 904 (1998), 962822

When a defendant submitted to a blood test prior to being placed under arrest, the
test was not made pursuant to this seetion. As such, there was no right to an allemative
test under sub. (5), State v. Thurk, 224 Wis. 2d 662, §92 N.W.2d 1 (Ct. App. 1999),
98-0251.

There is no constitutional duty to inform suspected drunk drivers that the right to
counsel does not attach to the implied consent statute, State v, Reitter, 227 Wis. 2d
213, 595 N.W.2d 646 (1999), 95-0915,

A warrantless blood draw is permissible when: 1) the blood is taken to oblain evi-
dence of intoxication from a person lawfully arrested; 2) there is a clear indication
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If an officer exp]lcu]y assures or |m_plm:tly suggests that a custodial defendant has
aright to consult 1 before d her to submit to the test, the defendant
relied on the offering, and the officer nonetheless marked a refusal desptle the defen-
dant's reliance, then the refusal was reasonably made. State v, Verkler, 2003 W1 App
37, 260 Wis, 2d 391, 659 N.W.2d 137, 021545,

This section d.ocs not require that test results must be suppmssed when there is a
failure to y convey the i hended drives.
Under the eircumstances of this case on remand the defr.nd.am was entitled to pursus
an order prohibiting the automatic admissibility of the blood test result pursuant to
5. 885.235, which if granted would requm: the state to cmbhsh the admissibility of
the blood test, includi d State v. B c, 2004 WI App
57,270 Wis. 2d 675, 678 N.W.2d 203 03—1223,

The approval of an instrument undr.r sub. (6) (b) without promulgation of an
administrative rule under ch. 227 did not constitute creation of an invalid adminisira-
tive rule. County of Dane v. Winsand, 2004 W1 App 86,271 Wis. 2d 786, 679 N.W.2d
885, 03-2004,

Sub. (5) (a) does not impose a requirement that the request for an additional blood
test be made after the first test is completed. State v, Schmidt, 2004 W1 App 235,277
Wis. 2d 561, 691 N.W.2d 379, 04-0904.

‘When police have informed a suspeet of his or her right to an alternative test at
agency expense, the suspect has ample opportunity o make a request, the suspect
makes no request, and thc suspect is released from custody and feaves the presence
of dial pohce, a request for an alternative test at agency expense is
1ot a request within the meaning of sub, (5) (a). State v. Fahey, 2005 W1 App 171,
285 Wis. 2d 679, 702 N.W.2d 400, 040102

There is no right to counsel at the refusal hearmg because such a hearing is civil,
oot eriminal, in nature and therefore there is no constitutional right to effective assist-
snjc_%gf 1cw.nse1, State v. Krause, 2006 WI App 43, 289 Wis. 2d 573, 712 N.W.2d 67,

7.

Giving Miranda warnings prior to reading Informing the Accused warnings under
this seetion does not lead to a conclusion that the officer explicitly assured or implic-
itly supgested that a defendant has a right to con&u.lt counsel or to stand silent in Ihe
face of the implied consent wamings. Such a that the
must be told he or she has the right to consult with counsel before deciding to submit
to clmmmal testing and that the accused relied on the assurance or suggestion when
g to the request for a chemical test. State v, Kliss, 2007 WI App 13, 298

that evid of intoxication will be produced: 3) the method used is ble and
performed in a reasonable manner; and 4) the arrestee presents no reasonable objec-
tion. State v, Thorstad, 2000 WI App 199, 238 Wis. 2d 666, 618 N.W.2d 240,
99—1765.

Althaugh a notice of intent to revoke operating privileges under sub. (9) (a) did not
cantain “suhslamtially all” of the statutorily required information, it provided mean-
ingful notice and opportunity to be heard. As such the ervor was technical and
required a finding of prejudice for dismissal of the action, State v. Gautschi, 2000 W1
App 274, 240 Wis. .'Zd 33 622 N.W.2d 24, 99-3065.

The nol{cae under sub. (4 regarding thc consequences for failing to submit to &
blood aleohol does not violate due process. I does not mislead accused persons
regarding taking or refusing the blood alcohol test, State v, Nord, 2001 W1 App 48,
241 Wis, 2d 387, 625 N.W.2d 302, 00~1529.

In giving the wmmgs required under sub (4), an officer is required to utilize meth-
ods that, g to the at the time, are reasonable and will convey
the warnings. Whether the accused driver comprehends the warnings is not part of
the i A dnver 'S ing impairment must be taken into account and accommo-
dmn:(inqa].s“?s|I hea.rmq ur':gcr the ¢i State v. Piddington, 200!
WI 24, 241 Wis. 2d 754, 623 N.W.2d 528, 991250,

Drivers have no right to refuse a chemical test and need not consent to a test. ' When
there is a refusal, the implied consent law does not preclude police from pursuing
other constitutional avenues for collecting evidence, State v, Gibson, 2001 W1 App
71,242 Wis. 2d 267, 626 N.W.2d 73, 00-2399,

That a person agreed to a hmth test but not a blood test, did not render police insis-
tence on a blood test le. State v. Wodenjak, 247 Wis. 2d 554, 634 N'W.2d
B67.

By consenting to the taking of a blood sample, the defendant also consented to the
chemical analysis of the sample, These are not separate events for warrant require-
ment purposes. State v. VanLaarhoven, 2001 W1 App 275, 248 Wis. 2d 881, 637
N.W.2d 411, 010222

A warrantless blood draw by a physician in a jail setting may be unreasonable if
it invites an unjustified element of personal nsl: - of pain and mfechon Absent evi-
dence of those nisks, a blood draw under thos ble. State

Wis. 2d "'?5 T28 N.W.2d 9, 06-0113.
There cannot be substa.nual ccrnplxa.ucc wuh sub. (4) when the law enforcement
officer fails to give the d i information about penalties.

If the circuit court determines thal the offlce.r failed to inform the accused in com-
pliance with the statute, the court shall order that no action be taken on the operating
privilege on account of the person's refusal to take the test in question. This does not
apply misstatements of information beyond the required information, which are gov-
erned by Ludwigson. Washburn County v, Smith, 2008 WI 23, 308 Wis, 2d 65, 746
N.W.2d 243, 06-3163.

When law enforcement invokes this section to obtain a primary test for intoxica-
tion, it must: 1) provide the primary test of its choice at its own expense; 2) provide
an opportunity for a second test of its choice at agency expense; and 3) if the second
test is refused by the suspect in favor of one at his or lier own expense, it must provide
a reasonable opportunity for a test of the suspect's choice at the suspect's expense,
State v. Batt, 2010 W1 App 155, 330 Wis. 2d 159, 793 N.W.2d 104, 09-3069,

Sub, (9) (a) 5. a. does not limit the circuit court to considering whether, based on
all the evidence gathered n£n until the moment of the arrest, the officer had probable
cause to believe the defendant was operating while under the influence of an intoxi-
cant., A defendant may also contest whether he or she was lawfully placed under
arrest, As part of this inquiry, the circuit court may entertain an argument that the
arrest was unlawful because the traffic stop that preceded it was not justified by either
probable cause or reasonable suspicion. State v, Anagnos, 2012 W1 64, 341 Wis. 2d
576,815 N.W.2d 675, 10-1812.

Under Brooks, a circuit court has the discretionary authority to dismiss a refusal
charpe only if the defendant has already pleaded guilty to the underlying OWI or
OWl-related charge by the time of his or her refusal hearing, which was timely
requested. Extending Brooks to allow cireuit courls the discretionary authority to dis-
miss refusal charges in cases in which a defendant has pleaded not guilty to the under-
lying OWIL, PAC, or other related charge would contravene the purpose of this section.
State v, Bentdahl, 2013 W1 106, 351 Wis. 2d 739, 840 N.W.2d 704, 12-1426.

I1'. is incorreet to say that a driver who consents to a blood draw after receiving the

v Dnggelt 2002 WI App 32,250 Wis. 2d lll 640 N.W.2d 545,01 ~1417.

The circuits court’s improper denial of a hunng requested under sub. (8) as the
result of its misealeulation ofpu’;n that resulted in a suspension without a hmnrlg was
not a fundamental ervor entitling the defendant to dismissal of the conviction against
h.un when the court, on realizing the error, ducted a hearing and found that the
's refusal was i r and a license pension was in order, State v. Carl-

son, 2002 WI App 44, 250 Wis. 2d 562, 641 N.W.2d 451, 01-1088,

Suh (9) () does not provide the excluswt option when faced with an arrestee who
refuses to submit to s chemical test. An officer may acknowledge the refusal, com-
plete the sub, (9) (a) intent to revoke form, and then proceed with an involuntary blood
test, using reasonable force to withdraw bleod from a noncompliant suspect. The offi-
cer may necessarily infonn a suspect that such a procedure is a possibility upon his
or her Eefusal State v. Marshall, 2002 WI App 73,251 Wis. 2d 408, 642 N.W.2d 571,
01-1403,

When the amesting officer makes no specific threats beyond what arises under this
section, the threat of lost driving privileges does not constitute a coercive measure
that invalidates a defendant’s consent for 4th amendment purposes, An arresting offi-
cer, by reading the informing the accused form, simply states the truth: refusal to sub-
mit to a chemical test will result in driving privileges being revoked. Officers are
entitled to make true statements, Village of Little Chute v, Walitalo, 2002 WI App
211,256 Wis. 2d 1032, 650 N.W.2d 891, 01-3060. See also, State v. Wintlend, 2002
wi .App 3]4 258 Wis. 2d 875, 655 N, W.2d 745, 020965,

for an can amount to a refusal as long as the officer
informs the driver that there is no right to an attomey at that point. State v. Baratka,
2002 WI App 288, 258 Wis. 2d 342, 654 N.W.2d 875, 02-0770.

t ined in the “Informing the Accused" form las given “implied con-
sent.” Ifa driver consents under that cm:umsmnce. that consent is actual consent, not
unpll.ed consent. If the driver refuses to consent, he or she thereby withdraws

“implied consent” and accepts the consequences of that choice. The implied consent
law is explicitly designed to allow the driver, and not the police officer, to make the
choice as to whether the driver will give or decline to give actual consent to a blood
draw when put to the cholce between consent or automatic sanctions, State v. Padley,
2014 WI App 65, 354 Wis, 2d 545, 849 N.W.2d 867, 130852

Sub. (3) (ar) 2. is not facially unconstitutional. It does not authonze law enforce-
ment to compel an unreasonable search, as it does not authorize searches. 1t autho-
rizes law enforcement Lo require a driver to choose between giving actual consent to
a blood draw, or withdrawing “implied consent™ and suffering implied-consent—law
smtion{, State v. Padley, 2014 WI App 65, 354 Wis. 2d 545, 849 N.W.2d 867,
13085

The “reason to I:ehcw: mnda.rd in suh (3) (ar) 2 quires that the law enfi
ment officer have a * dant has itted a traffic
violation. State v. Padley, 2014 Wl App 65 354 Wis, 2d 545, 849 N.W.2d 867,
13-0852.

When a law enforcement officer has reasonable grounds to believe that an uncon-
sclous person is guilty of driving while intoxicated, a blood sample may be taken, and
the test results are admissible in evidence and may not be excluded by the trial court.
59 Alty. Gen. 183,

is di 1 62 Alty, Gen. 174,

'I‘hc method by which a law caforcement agency may provide 2 tests for blood

alcohol content under sub. (1), 1985 stats. [now sub. (2)] is discussed. The agency
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is not required to actually own or physically possess the testing devices, 63 Atty. Gen,
119.

Under s. 343.305 (1) and (4), 1985 stats., hospi 1 must administer tests
{a]n::d rcfc?;t vesults at the request of officers, subject to pcmlly under 5. 946,40, 68 Ay,

1.

Federal law requiring confidentiality of patient records has no application to the
taking of a blood sample under this section. 73 Atty. Gen. 45,

A law enforcement officer may use physical int, subject to itutional lim-
itations, in order to draw a legally justified blood sample. Refusal by a health profes-
sional to comply with a law enforcement officer’s authorized request to take a blood
sample from a person whom the officer has legally ined by force ¢
refusal to aid an officer under s. 946,40, 74 Aity. Gen. 123,

Refusal hearings under this section are discussed, 77 Auty. Gen. 4.

A Massachusetts implied consent law that mandates suspension of a license for
refusal to take a breath—analysis test did not violate the due process clause. Mackey
v. Montrym, 443 US. | (1979).

The admission into evidence of a defendant’s refusal to submit to a blood-alcohol
test did not deny the right against self~incrimination. South Dakota v. Neville, 459
U.8. 533 (1983).

Wisconsin's new administrative suspcnsion statute. 72 MLR 120 (1988).

The new OMVWI law: Wi i pproach to the problem of drinking
and driving. 'Hnmmef, WBB Apnl Ma_v 1982
Technical 4: Op g while intoxicated. Hancock and Maas-

sen. WHDB Apr 1987,

Wisconsin’s breath testing pmgr.i.m Booker. WBB QOct. 1988,

Rethinking Refusal: Wi plied Consent Law, Lotke. Wis. Law. July
1993,

Using Preliminary Breath Test Results in Trials? Don’t Hold Your Breath. Ander-
ege. Wis, Law. Jan. 2015

343.307 Prior convictions, suspensions or revoca-
tions to be counted as offenses. (1) The court shall count
the following to determine the length of a revocation under s.
343.30 (1q) (b) and to determine the penalty under ss. 114.09 (2)
and 346.65 (2):

(a) Convictions for violations under s, 346.63 (1), or a local
ordinance in conformity with that section.

(b) Convictions for violations of a law of a federally recog-
nized American Indian tribe or band in this state in conformity
with s, 346.63 (1).

(¢) Convictions for violations under s. 346.63 (2) or 940.25,
or 5. 940.09 where the offense involved the use of a vehicle.

(d) Convictions under the law of another jurisdiction that pro-
hibits a person from refusing chemical testing or using a motor
vehicle while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled
substance or controlled substance analog, or a combination
thereof; with an excess or specified range of alcohol concentra-
tion; while under the influence of any drug to a degree that renders
the person incapable of safely driving; or while having a detect-
able amount of a restricted controlled substance in his or her
blood, as those or substantially similar terms are used in that juris-
diction’s laws.

(e) Operating privilege suspensions or revocations under the
law of another jurisdiction arising out of a refusal to submit to
chemical testing.

(f) Revocations under s. 343.305 (10).

(g) Convictions for violations unders. 114.09 (1) (b) I. or Im.

(2) The court shall count the following to determine the length
of a revocation under s. 343.305 (10) and to determine the penalty
under s. 346.65 (2j) and to determine the prohibited alcohol con-
centration under s, 340,01 (46m);

(a) Convictions for violations under s. 346.63 (1) or (5), ora
local ordinance in conformity with either section.

(b) Convictions for violations of a law of a federally recog-
nized American Indian tribe or band in this state in conformity
with 5. 346.63 (1) or (5).

(c¢) Convictions for violations under s. 346.63 (2) or (6).

(d) Convictions under the law of another jurisdiction that is in
substantial conformity with 49 CFR 383.51 (b) Table 1, items (1)
to (4).

(e) Convictions under the law of another jurisdiction that pro-
hibits a person from refusing chemical testing or using a motor
vehicle while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled
substance or controlled substance analog, or a combination
thereof; with an excess or specified range of alcohol concentra-
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tion; while under the influence of any drug to a degree that renders
the person incapable of safely driving; or while having a detect-
able amount of a restricted controlled substance in his or her
blood, as those or substantially similar terms are used in that juris-
diction’s laws.

(f) Operating privilege suspensions or revocations under the
law of another jurisdiction arising out of a refusal to submit to
chemical testing.

(g) Revocations under s. 343.305 (10).

(h) Convictions for violations under s. 940.09 (1) or 940.25.

(3) If the same elements of the offense must be proven under
a local ordinance or under a law of a federally recognized Ameri-
can Indian tribe or band in this state as under s. 346.63 (1) (a),
(am), or (b), any combination of 5. 346.63 (1) (a), (am), or (b), or
s, 346.63 (35), the local ordinance or the law of a federally recog-
nized American Indian tribe or band in this state shall be consid-
ered to be in conformity with s. 346.63 (1) (a), (am), or (b), any
combination of s. 346.63 (1) (a), (am), or (b), or s. 346.63 (5), for
purposes of ss. 343.30 (1q) (b) 1., 343.305 (10) (b) 1. and 346.65
(2) and (2j).

History: 1977 e. 193; 1981 c. 20, 184; 1985 a. 80, 337; 1987 a. 3; 1989 a. 105,
2?153"50: 1991 a. 39, 277; 1995 a. 445; 1997 a. 84; 2001 a. 33, 97; 2007 a. 20; 2009
i

An Iilinois court's placement of an OWI offender under court supervision is a con-
viction that is counted 2s a prior offense under sub. (1) (d) when charging an QW1
suspect in Wisconsin, Placement under court supervision as a result of a determina-
tion that the defendant violated or failed to comply with the law in a court of original
jurisdiction meets the definition of conviction under 5. 340.01 (9r). State v. List, 2004
W1 App 230, 277 Wis. 2d 836, 691 N.W.2d 366, 033149,

The final phmc of sub. (1) {d), “as those or subatanh.aily similar terms are used in
that jurisdiction’s laws,” indicates the broad scope of that provision. When determin-
inga ty, Wisconsin counts prior offenses committed in states with OWI statutes
that differ significantly from Wisconsin's. “Substantially similar" simply cmpha-
sizes that the out—of—state statule need only prohibit conduct similar to the list of
hibited conduct in sub. (1) (d). State v. Puchacz, 2010 W1 App 30, 323 Wis. 2d 74
780 N.W.2d 536, 090840,

The definition of ‘canviction” in s. 340.01 (9r) applies to “convictions” in sub. (1)
(d). Under sub. (1) (c1), the other jurisdiction need only have a law that prohibits con-
duet specified in sub, (1) (d). The lllinois “zero tolerance™ law punishes a person who
is less than 21 years of age for refusing to submit to a chemical test, or for using a
maotor vehicle with an aleohol coneentration above 0.00 and thus, in the context of
sub. (1) (d), was a conviction under a law of another jurisdiction that prohibits refusal
of chemical testing or prohibits using a motor vehicle with an excess or specified
range of alcohol concentration. State v. Carter, 2010 WI 132, 330 Wis. 2d 1, 794
N.W.2d 213, 083144

In sub. (1) (d), the phrase “with an excess ar specified range of aleahol concentra-
tion™ modifies, the plrase “using a motor vehicle,” not the ?hmc using & motor
vehicle while mlnxlcalcd or under the infl of a or ¢on-
trolled sul analog, or 2 bination thereof.” Thus, the statute should be read
as follows: convictions under the law of another unsdlclmu that prohibits a person
from using a motor vehicle with an excess or specifi od range of alcohol concentration,
State v. Carter, 2010 WI 132, 330 Wis. 2d 1, 794 N.W.2d 213, 08-3144,

Section 340.01 (9r) defines “conviction™ as including having “violated or failed to
comply with the law in & court of original jurisdiction.”” By not appearing in court on
the specified date, as directed, the defendant did not “comply with the law.” State v.
Marilee Devries, 2011 W1 App 78, 334 Wis. 2d 430, 801 N.W.2d 336, 09-3166.

The elements of an undtrﬁfmg ﬁrsl—oﬂ'cnsc OWI need not be proven to a ;ury
beyond a reasonable doubt in a criminal for a sut oW1
State v, \"crlmgcn 2013 Wi App 16, 346 Wis. 2d I96 $27 N.W.ad 891, 11-2033.

Sub. (1) (d)’s inclusion of out-of—state convictions under a law that pwh:blts driv-
ing "“with an excess or specified range of alcohol concentration” does not violate the

Equal Protection Clause, even if a consequence is to treat Illinois zero tolerance
og' enses. d:ffercmiy than Wisconsin absolute sobriety offenses. Ease of administra-
tion in W courts provides a | basis for a single, straightforward, and
broad definition of out-of-state offenses applicable to all other jurisdictions. The
definition consistently counts all convictions under out—of—state laws prohibiting
driving with an excess or specified range of alcohal concentration regardless of their
labels or treatment. State v. Hirsch, 2014 WT App 39, 353 Wis. 2d 453, 847 N.W.2d
192, 130427,

Every term in sub. (1) (d) relates in some way to a person operating a motor vehicle
with either drugs or aleohol, or both, in his or her system. That critical aspect is com-
pletely absent from the reckless driving offense of which the defendant was con-
victed, The initinl charge, sanctions, and potential future consequences are of no
moment. State v. Jackson, 2014 WI App 50, 354 Wis. 2d 99, 851 N.W.2d 465,
13-1282

A cnnviction that has been collaterally attacked meets the definition of “convic-
tion™ under 5. 340.01 (9r) because a collateral attnck does not overturn or vacate the
conviction. Insiead, il allempls lo avoid the conviction'” s force of law in a subsequenl
criminal proceeding. Thus, as long as the adjudi guilt is v , the con-
viction remains on DOT’s records and should be :nunled in determining whether to
revoke the offender’s operating privilege. OAG 2-14

343.31 Revocation or suspension of licenses after cer-
tain convictions or declarations. (1) The department shall
revoke a person’s aperating privilege upon receiving a record of
conviction showing that the person has been convicted of any of
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aside for the exclusive use of bicycles and electric personal assis-
tive mobility devices.

(4) No person may operate a bicycle, electric personal assis-
tive mobility device, or moped upon a roadway where a sign is
erected indicating that bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility
device, or moped riding is prohibited.

(5) Except as provided in ss. 346.23, 346.24, 346.37, and
346.38, every rider of a bicycle or electric personal assistive
maobility device shall, upon entering on a highway, yield the right—
of-way to motor vehicles.

History: 1973 ¢. 182; 1977 ¢. 208, 288; 1979 ¢. 197; 1985 a. 69; 1995 a. 138: 2001
. 90; 2009 a. 22,97,

346.803 Riding bicycle or electric personal assistive
mobility device on bicycle way. (1) Every person operating
a bicycle or electric personal assistive mobility device upon a
bicycle way shall:

(a) Exercise due care and give an audible signal when passing
a bicycle or electric personal assistive mobility device rider or a
pedestrian proceeding in the same direction.

(b) Obey each traffic signal or sign facing a roadway which
runs parallel and adjacent to a bicycle way.

(2) Every person operating a bicycle or electric personal assis-
tive mobility device upon a bicycle way open to 2—way traffic
shall ride on the right side of the bicycle way.

(3) Every operator of a bicycle or electric personal assistive
mobility device entering a bicycle way shall yield the right—
of-way to all bicycles and pedestrians in the bicycle way.

(4) Except as provided in s. 349.236 (1) (bm), a person may
operate an electric personal assistive mobility device upon any
bicycle path.

History: 1973 c. 182; 2001 a. 90.

346.804 Riding bicycle on sidewalk. When local authori-
ties under s, 346.94 (1) permit bicycles on the sidewalk, every per-
son operating a bicycle upon a sidewalk shall yield the right—
of-way to any pedestrian and shall exercise due care and give an
audible signal when passing a bicycle or electric personal assistive
mobility device rider or a pedestrian proceeding in the same direc-
tion.
History: 1973 c. 182; 2001 a. 90.

346.805 Riding electric personal assistive mobility
device on sidewalk. Except as provided in ss. 346.94 (18) (a)
2. and 349.236 (1) (b), a person may operate an electric personal
assistive mobility device upon any sidewalk. Every person oper-
ating an electric personal assistive mobility device upon a side-
walk shall yield the right—of-way to any pedestrian or bicyelist
and shall exercise due care and give an audible signal when pass-
ing a bicycle or other electric personal assistive mobility device
or a pedestrian proceeding in the same direction.
History: 2001 a. 90,

346.82 Penalty for violating sections 346.77 to
346.805. (1) Any person violating ss. 346.77, 346.79 (1) to (3),
or 346.80 to 346.805 may be required to forfeit not more than $20.

(2) Any person violating s. 346.78 or 346.79 (4) may be
required to forfeit not less than $10 nor more than $20 for the first
offense and not less than $25 nor more than $50 for the 2nd or sub-

sequent conviction within a year.
History: 1971 c. 278; 1973 c. 182; 1983 a. 243; 2001 a. 90, 2003 a. 321.

SUBCHAPTER XIII
MISCELLANEOUS RULES

346.87 Limitations on backing. The operator of a vehicle
shall not back the same unless such movement can be made with
reasonable safety.

RULES OF THE ROAD 346.89

346.88 Obstruction of operator's view or driving
mechanism. (1) No person shall drive a vehicle when it is so
loaded or when there are in the front seat such number of persons,
or any persons so situated, as to obstruct the view of the operator
to the front or to the sides or as to interfere with the operator having
free use of both hands and feet to the operating mechanisms or
controls of the vehicle.

(2) No passenger in a vehicle shall ride in such a position as
to interfere with the operator’s view ahead or to the sides or to
interfere with the operator’s control of the operating mechanism
of the vehicle.

(3) (a) No person shall drive any motor vehicle with any sign,
poster or other nontransparent material upon the front windshield,
front side wings, side windows in the driver's compartment or rear
window of such vehicle other than a certificate or other sticker
issued by order of a governmental agency. Such permitted sticker
shall not cover more than 15 square inches of glass surface and
shall be placed in the lower left—hand corner of the windshield; the
left corner being on the driver’s left when seated behind the wheel.

(b) No person shall drive any motor vehicle upon a highway
with any object so placed or suspended in or upon the vehicle so
as to obstruct the driver’s clear view through the front windshield.

(c) No person shall drive any motor vehicle upon a highway
s0 loaded or with any object so placed or suspended in or upon the
vehicle so as to obstruct the driver’s clear vision through the rear
window unless such vehicle is equipped with an outside rear view
mirror meeting the requirements of s, 347.40,

(d) Signal lamps used by authorized emergency vehicles shall
not be considered a violation of this section.

(4) The windshield, side wings and side and rear windows of
a motor vehicle shall be kept reasonably clean at all times.

Sub. (3) () ereates an absolute prohibition on “any sign, poster or other nontrans-
parent material upon the front windshield . . ." By contrast, sub. (4?3&[:5 *The wind-
shield, side wings and side and rear windows of a motor vehicle shall be kept reason-
ably clean at all times.” There is “no reason why the legislature would choose to ban
oil change stickers, often no more than one or two square inches in size and placed
in a top corner of a windshield, but require that same area of a windshield be only ‘rea-
sonably’ clean.” Instead, sub. (3) (a) is interpreted to prohibit the atachment of signs,

sters, and other items of a similar nature to the front windshield of a molar vehicle,

tate v. Houghton, 2015 W1 79 364 Wis. 2d 234, 868 N.W.2d 143, 13-1581.

Sub (3) (b), which requires that an object obs!rucr a driver's clear view to be a
violation, does not mean that every object in a driver's clear view is a violation.
Rather, sub. (13) (b) requires a material obstruction, even if minor, in order to be con-

sidered a violation of the statute. State v, Hnughlorl, 2015 W1 79 364 Wis, 2d 234,
H68 N.W.2d 143, 13-1581.

346.89 Inattentive driving. (1) No person while driving a
motor vehicle may be engaged or occupied with an activity, other
than driving the vehicle, that interferes or reasonably appears to
interfere with the person’s ability to drive the vehicle safely.

(3) (a) No person may drive, as defined in s. 343.305 (1) (b),
any motor vehicle while composing or sending an electronic text
message or an electronic mail message.

(b) This subsection does not apply to any of the following:

1. The operator of an authorized emergency vehicle,

2. The use of any device whose primary function is transmit-
ting and recciving emergency alert messages and messages
related to the operation of the vehicle or an accessory that is inte-
grated into the electrical system of a vehicle, including a global
positioning system device.

3. Anamateur radio operator who holds a valid amateur radio
operator’s license issued by the federal communications commis-
sion when he or she is using dedicated amateur radio 2-way radio
communication equipment and observing proper amateur radio
operating procedures.

4. The use of a voice—operated or hands—free device if the
driver of the motor vehicle does not use his or her hands to operate
the device, except to activate or deactivate a feature or function of
the device.

(4) (a) Subject to sub. (3), no person who holds a probationary
license issued under s. 343.085, or an instruction permit issued
under s. 343.07, may drive, as defined in s. 343.305 (1) (b), any
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motor vehicle while using a cellular or other wireless telephone,
except to report an emergency.
(b) 1. In this paragraph:

a. “Commercial motor vehicle™ has the meaning given in 49
CFR 390.5.

b. *“Drive” means the exercise of physical control over the
speed and direction of a motor vehicle while il is in motion or is
temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control device,
or other momentary delay.

¢. “Mobile telephone™ has the meaning given in 49 CFR
390.5.

2. Subject to sub, (3), except to report an emergency to law
enforcement officials or other emergency service providers, no
person may drive any commercial motor vehicle while using a
hand—-held mobile telephone in any the following manners:

a. Using at least one hand to hold a mobile telephone or any
connected accessory to conduct a voice communication.

b. Dialing or answering a mobile telephone by pressing more
than a single button.

c. Reaching for a mobile telephone in a manner that requires
the driver to maneuver so that he or she is no longer in a seated
driving position.

NOTE: Sub. (4) is shown as affccted eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123, Prior
to 7-1—16 it reads:

(4) Subject to sub. (3), no person who holds a probationary llicense issued
under s. 343.085, or an instruction permit issued under s. 343.07, may drive, as

defined in s. 343,305 (1) (b), any motor vehicle while using a cellular or other
wireless telephone, except to report an emergency.

(4m) No person may drive, as defined in s. 343.305 (1) (b),
any motor vehicle while using a cellular or other wireless tele-
phone, including using the telephone for a purpose other than
communication, where persons engaged in work in a highway
maintenance or construction area or in a utility work area are at
risk from traffic, except to report an emergency. This subsection
does not apply to the use of a voice—operated or hands—free device
if the driver of the motor vehicle does not use his or her hands to
operate the device, except to activate or deactivate a feature or
function of the device.

NOTE: Sub. (4m) is created eff, 10-1—16 by 2015 Wis, Act 308,

(5) Subject to subs. (3) and (6), no person while driving a
motor vehicle, other than an authorized emergency vehicle, a
commercial motor vehicle described in s. 340.01 (8), or a tow
truck, may operate or be in a position to directly observe any elec-
tronic device located within the vehicle that is activated and that
is providing entertainment primarily by visual means. This sub-
section does not prohibit a person from using a cellular telephone
for purposes of verbal communication.

(6) Subsection (5) does not apply to any of the following:

(a) Any global positioning system device.

(b) The display by any device of information related to the
operation, navigation, condition, radio, or safety of the vehicle or
that is intended to be used to enhance the driver’s view forward,
behind, or to the sides of a motor vehicle.

(c) The display by any device of information related to traflic,
road, or weather conditions.

(d) Any device in a vehicle that permits the vehicle driver to
monitor vehicle occupants seated rearward of the driver.

(e) Any device installed or mounted, either permanently or
temporarily, in the vehicle that, with respect to the vehicle opera-
tor, functions as provided in par. (a), (b), (¢), or (d) while simulta-
neously providing entertainment visible only from passenger
seats of the vehicle.

History: 2009 a. 220; 2011 a. 164; 2013 a. 350; 2015 a. 123, 308.

346.90 Following emergency vehicle. The operator of
any vehicle other than one on official business shall not follow an
authorized emergency vehicle responding to a call or alarm closer
than 500 feet or drive into or park his or her vehicle within the

Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats. 38

block where, or within 300 feet of the driveway entrance or similar
point of access to a driveway or road on which, fire apparatus has
stopped in response to an alarm. The personal vehicles of mem-
bers of a volunteer fire department answering the alarm are con-
sidered on official business.

History: 1975 c. 253, 421.

346.91 Crossing fire hose. No person without the consent

of the fire department official in command may drive a vehicle

over any unprotected hose of a fire department when such hose is

laid down on any street or private driveway to be used at any train-

ing exercise, scene of an emergency, or alarm of emergency.,
History: 1985 a. 187; 2005 a. 144,

346.915 Following snowplows. (1) In this section,
“snowplow” means a vehicle that is operated by a person
employed by or on behalf of an authority in charge of the mainte-
nance of the highway to perform highway winter maintenance
snow and ice removal, including plowing, salting, and sanding,
during either a storm or cleanup following a storm and which is
using lamps described in s. 347.26 (7).

(2) (a) The operator of any vehicle that is not a snowplow may
not follow a snowplow closer than the following distances, if the
snowplow is engaged in highway winter maintenance snow and
ice removal, as described in sub. (1), and is using lamps described
ins. 347.26 (7):

1. Two hundred feet upon any highway having a posted speed
limit of more than 35 miles per hour.

2. Seventy—five feet upon any highway having a posted speed
limit of 35 miles per hour or less.

(b) Paragraph (a) does not apply when overtaking and passing
a snowplow, but the fact that the operator of any vehicle follows
the snowplow more closely than permitted by par. (a) for one mile
or more or follows more closely than permitted by par. (a) when
the snowplow is moving at the maximum speed limit is prima
facie evidence that the operator of such following vehicle is vio-
lating par. (a).

(c) Paragraph (a) does not apply to a snowplow that is stopped
or standing in the highway.

(3) The operator of any vehicle that is not a snowplow and that
approaches from the rear any snowplow that is engaged in high-
way winter maintenance snow and ice removal, as described in
sub. (1), and is using lamps described in s. 347.26 (7) and that is
stopped at an intersection shall stop not less than 20 feet from the
snowplow and remain stopped until the snowplow resumes
motion.

History: 2001 o 34; 2009 a 255; 2011 a. 260.

346.92 lllegal riding. (1) No person shall drive a vehicle
when any person other than an employee engaged in the necessary
discharge of the employee’s duty is upon any portion thereof not
designed or intended for the use of passengers.

(2) No person other than an employee engaged in the neces-
sary discharge of the employee’s duty shall ride upon any portion
of a vehicle not designed or intended for the use of passengers.

(3) This section does not apply to persons riding within truck
bodies in spaces intended for merchandise or to the operator of any
such vehicle.

History: 1991 a. 316,

346.922 Transporting children in cargo areas of motor
trucks. (1) Notwithstanding s. 346.92, no person may operate
upon a highway a motor truck having a gross weight of 10,000
pounds or less when any child under the age of 16 years is in an
open cargo area of the motor truck.

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to any of the following:

(a) A person operating a farm truck in conjunction with farm
operations.
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years of age and who shall be informed of the contents thercof.
Service under this paragraph may be made by any traffic officer
employed by the authority issuing the citation and shall be per-
formed within 72 hours after a report containing all of the informa-
tion in sub. (2) was delivered to a traffic officer under par. (a) 1.

(c) If with reasonable diligence the owner cannot be served
under par. (a) or (b) or if the owner lives outside of the jurisdiction
of the issuing authority, service may be made by certified mail
addressed to the owner’s last—known address. Service under this
paragraph shall be performed by posting the certified mail within
72 hours after a report containing all of the information in sub. (2)
was delivered to a traffic officer under par. (a) 1. Except for own-
ers who live outside of the jurisdiction of the issuing authority, ser-
vice under this paragraph may not be performed unless service
under pars. (a) and (b) has been attempted.

(4) Defenses to the imposition of liability under this section
include:

(a) That a report that the vehicle was stolen was given to a traf-
fic officer before the violation occurred or within a reasonable
time after the violation occurred.

(b) If the owner of the vehicle provides a traffic officer
employed by the authority issuing the citation with the name and
address of the person operating the vehicle or having the vehicle
under his or her control at the time of the violation and sufficient
information for the officer to determine that probable cause does
not exist to believe that the owner of the vehicle was operating the
vehicle or having the vehicle under his or her control at the time
of the violation, then the owner of the vehicle shall not be liable
under this section or under s. 346.94 (16).

(c) If the vehicle is owned by a lessor of vehicles and at the time
of the violation the vehicle was in the possession of a lessee, and
the lessor provides a traffic officer employed by the authority issu-
ing the citation with the information required under s. 343.46 (3),
then the lessee and not the lessor shall be liable under this section
or under s. 346.94 (16).

(d) If the vehicle is owned by a dealer, as defined in s. 340.01
(11) (intro.) but including the persons specified in s. 340.01 (11)
(a) to (d), and at the time of the violation the vehicle was being
operated by or was under the control of any person on a trial run,
and if the dealer provides a traffic officer employed by the author-
ity issuing the citation with the name, address and operator’s
license number of the person operating the vehicle or having the
vehicle under his or her control on a trial run, then that person, and
not the dealer, shall be liable under this section or under the appli-
cable provision of's. 346.94 (16).

(5) Notwithstanding s. 346.94 (16) (b) 6., this section does not
apply to the operation of a motorcycle.

History: 1995 a. 373; 1997 a. 27; 1999 a. 80.

346.95 Penalty for violating sections 346.87 to 346.94.
(1) Any person violating s. 346.87, 346.88, 346.89 (4), (4m), or
(5), 346.90 to 346.92, or 346.94 (1), (9), (10), (11), (12), or (15)
may be required to forfeit not less than $20 nor more than $40 for
the first offense and not less than $50 nor more than $100 for the

2nd or subsequent conviction within a year.
NOTE: Sub. (1) is shown as amended eff. 10-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 308. Prior
to 10-1-16 it reads:
(1) Any person violating s. 346,87, 346,88, 346,89 (4) or (5), 346.90 to 346,92
or 346.94 (1), (9), (10), (11), (12) or (15) may be required to forfeit not less than
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£20 nor more than $40 for the first offense and not less than $50 nor more than
$100 for the 2nd or subsequent conviction within a year,

(2) Any person violating s. 346.89 (1) or (3) (a) or 346.94 (2),
(4), or (7) may be required to forfeit not less than $20 nor more
than $400.

(2m) Any person violating s. 346.935 may be required to for-
feit not more than $100.

(3) Any person violating s. 346.94 (5) or (14) shall be required
to forfeit $50 for each offense.

(4) Any person violating s. 346.923, 346.925, or 346.94 (8),
(8m), or (8s) may be required to forfeit not more than $20 for the
first offense and not more than $50 for each subsequent offense.

(5) Any person violating s. 346.94 (13) or (21) may be
required to forfeit not more than $200.

(5e) Any person violating s. 346.94 (16) may be required to
forfeit not less than $40 nor more than $80 for the first offense and
not less than $100 nor more than $200 for the 2nd or subsequent
conviction within a year.

(5g) A vehicle owner or other person found liable under s.
346.945 may be required to forfeit not less than $40 nor more than
$80 for the first offense and not less than $100 nor more than $200
for the 2nd or subsequent conviction within a year. Imposition of
liability under s. 346.945 shall not result in suspension or revoca-
tion of a person’s operating license under s. 343.30, nor shall it
result in demerit points being recorded on a person’s driving
record under s. 343.32 (2) (a).

(6) Any person violating s. 346.94 (17) or (18) may be
required to forfeit not less than $10 nor more than $20 for the first
offense and not less than $25 nor more than $50 for the 2nd or sub-
sequent conviction within a year.

(7) Any person violating s. 346.922 may be required to forfeit
not less than $10 nor more than $25 for the first offense and not
less than $25 nor more than $200 for a 2nd or subsequent convic-
tion within 3 years.

(8) Any person violating s. 346.94 (19) may be required to for-
feit not less than $30 nor more than $300.

(9) Any person violating s. 346.924 may be required to forfeit
not less than $500 nor more than $5,000. Each violation consti-
tutes a separate offense.

(10) (a) Any person who violates s. 346.94 (20) (b) and any
person 16 years of age or older who violates s. 346.94 (20) (a) may
be required to forfeit not less than $20 nor more than $40 for the
first offense and not less than $50 nor more than $100 for the 2nd
or subsequent conviction within a year.

(b) No forfeiture may be assessed for a violation of s. 346.94
(20) (a) if the violator is less than 16 years of age when the offense
QCCurs.

(11) Any person violating s. 346.94 (22) (c) or (d) may be
required to forfeit not more than $200.

(12) (a) Any person violating s. 346.94 (23) (b), (c), (d), (¢),
or (f) may be required to forfeit not less than $200 nor more than
$500.

(b) Any person violating s. 346.94 (23) (g) may be required to
forfeit not less than $1,000 nor more than $2,000.

History: 1971 ¢. 278; 1973 c. 182, 314, 336; 1975 c. 297, 320; 1977 c. 68; 1983
a. 56,175, 538; 1989 a. 335 5,89; 1991 a. 83; 1993 a, 260,455; 1995 a. 194,373, 420;
1999 a. 109; 2001 a. 90; 2003 a. 192, 297, 327; 2005 a. 250; 2009 a. 22, 157, 220,
311; 2011 a. 164; 2013 a. 106, 350; 2015 a. 308,
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343.03 OPERATORS’ LICENSES

other than parking violations, or after a conviction of the holder
of an operator’s license issued by another jurisdiction, other than
a commercial driver license, for any such violation while operat-
ing a commercial motor vehicle, the department shall notify the
driver licensing agency of the jurisdiction that issued the license
of the conviction.

History: 1989 a. 105; 1991 a_ 12,32, 39; 1995 a. 113; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 20; 2009
a. 28, 103; 2011 a. 23,32; 2015 a. 77, 123,

343.04 Vehicle classifications. (1) VeuicLE cLasses. For
purposes of this chapter, motor vehicles are divided into the fol-
lowing classes:

(a) Class A. A “Class A” motor vehicle is any combination of
vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating, actual gross weight or
registered weight of over 26,000 pounds, if the aggregate total
gross vehicle weight rating, actual gross weight or registered
weight of the vehicle or vehicles being towed is in excess of
10,000 pounds.

(b) Class B. A “Class B” motor vehicle is any single vehicle
with a gross vehicle weight rating, actual gross weight or regis-
tered weight of over 26,000 pounds, and any such vehicle towing
a vehicle or vehicles with an aggregate total gross vehicle weight
rating, actual gross weight or registered weight of 10,000 pounds
or less.

(c) Class C. A “Class C” motor vehicle is any single vehicle
with a gross vehicle weight rating, actual gross weight and regis-
tered weight of 26,000 pounds or less, including any such vehicle
towing a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating, actual gross
weight and registered weight of less than 10,000 pounds, if any of
the following applies:

1. The vehicle is designed to transport 16 or more passengers,
including the driver.

2. The vehicle is transporting hazardous materials requiring
placarding or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or
toxin under 42 CFR 73,

(d) Class D. A “Class D™ vehicle is any motor vehicle not
included in par. (a), (b), (c) or ().

(e) Class M. A “Class M” vehicle is any Type 1 motorcycle.

(2) VenicLE TyPes. For purposes of this chapter, certain
vehicles intended to carry school children or other passengers, or
having special operating characteristics, are divided into the fol-
lowing vehicle types specified in pars. (a) to (f):

(a) Hazardous materials transporter. Hazardous materials
transporter vehicles are vehicles transporting hazardous materials
requiring placarding or any quantity of a material listed as a select
agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73.

(b) Full air brakes equipped. Full air brakes equipped vehicles
are commercial motor vehicles equipped with a braking system
operating fully on the air brake principle.

NOTE: Par. (b) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123, Prior
to 7-1-16 it reads:

(b) Air brakes equipped. Air brakes equipped vehicles are cial motor
vehicles equipped with a braking system of ing fully or partly on the air
brake principle.

(bm) Partial air brakes equipped. Partial air brakes equipped
vehicles are commercial motor vehicles equipped with a braking
system operating partially on the air brake principle and partially
on the air over hydraulic brake principle.

NOTE: Par. (bm) is created eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123,

(¢) Tanks. Tanks are commercial motor vehicles which are
tank vehicles.

(d) Passenger carrying. Passenger—carrying vehicles are
motor vehicles designed to carry, or actually carrying, 16 or more
passengers, including the driver.

(e) School buses. All school buses, including those which are
commiercial motor vehicles.

() Vehicles towing double or triple trailers. Vehicles towing
double or triple trailers are commercial motor vehicles with

double or triple trailers.
History: 1989 a. 105; 1999 u. 140; 2003 a. 33; 2015 a, 123,
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343.05 Operators to be licensed; exceptions. (1) Gen-
ERAL PROVISIONS. (a) Except as provided in this subsection, no
person may at any time have more than one operator’s license.
This prohibition includes, without limitation, having licenses
from more than one state, having licenses under more than one
name or birthdate, and having more than one license issued for the
operation of different types or classes of vehicles. This paragraph
does not apply to any person who has only operator’s licenses
issued by this state and by a country, province, or subdivision that
is a party to an agreement under s. 343.16 (1) (d).

(c) A person may have both an operator’s license and a duly
issued instruction permit allowing restricted operation of a vehicle
group not authorized by the license.

(2) COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLES. (a) No person may operate
a commercial motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless the
person is one of the following:

1. A resident who is at least 18 years of age, who is not dis-
qualified under s. 343.315, who has a valid commercial driver
license which is not revoked, suspended, canceled or expired and,
for the operation of any vehicle type under s. 343.04 (2), has an
endorsement authorizing operation of the vehicle type.

2. A nonresident who has in his or her immediate possession
a valid commercial driver license issued to the person in another
jurisdiction or Mexico bearing all endorsements required for the
specific class and type of vehicle being operated. A license is not
valid under this subdivision if the license is restricted to operation
inside the person’s home jurisdiction, or if the person is otherwise
violating restrictions or exceeding operating authorization stated
on the person’s license. If the nonresident is operating a commer-
cial motor vehicle in interstate commerce, he or she must be at
least 21 years of age.

4. A person with a temporary license under s. 343.305 (8) (a)
which expressly authorizes the operation of the applicable class
and type of commercial motor vehicle and which is not expired.

(b) This subsection does not apply to a person whose operation
of a commercial motor vehicle is subject to waiver under s.
343.055.

(c) A tow truck operator holding a valid commercial driver
license who is engaged in the removal of a disabled or wrecked
vehicle from the highway or eliminating a hazard is not required
to hold an endorsement to his or her commercial driver license
regardless of the type of vehicle being towed. This exception to
the requirement for an endorsement does not apply to any subse-
quent towing of the vehicle, including moving the vehicle from
one repair facility to another, unless one of the following applies:

1. The tow truck operator is accompanied by a driver who
holds the required endorsements.

2. The vehicle is a vehicle that requires a “P” endorsement for
its operation.

(3) NONCOMMERCIAL VEHICLES. Except as provided in sub.
(4):

(a) No person may operate a motor vehicle which is not a com-
mercial motor vehicle upon a highway in this state unless the per-
son possesses a valid operator’s license issued to the person by the
department which is not revoked, suspended, canceled or expired.

(b) No person may operate a Type | motorcycle unless the per-
son possesses a valid operator’s license specifically authorizing
the operation of Type 1 motorcycles.

(c) No person may operate a moped or motor bicycle unless the
person possesses a valid operator’s license or a special restricted
operator’s license issued under s. 343.135 or a restricted license
issued under s. 343.08. A license under this paragraph does not
authorize operation of a moped or motor bicycle if the license is
revoked, suspended, canceled or expired.
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(4) Exemerions, (a) The following are exempt from the
licensing requirements of this chapter:

1. A person in the armed services while operating a motor
vehicle owned by or leased to the federal government.

2. A person while temporarily operating or moving a farm
tractor or implement of husbandry on a highway between fields or
between a farm and a field.

3m. A person while operating motorized construction equip-
ment. This subdivision does not apply to a truck or a construction
vehicle designed for use on a roadway or to any vehicle exceeding
a speed of 35 miles per hour.

(b) The following are exempt from the licensing requirements
of sub. (3):

1. A nonresident who is at least 16 years of age and who has
in his or her immediate possession a valid operator’s license
issued to the person in the person’s home jurisdiction.

Im. A person who opcratcs a limited use off-highway motor-
cle, as defined in s. 23.335 (1) (0), only as authorized under s.
335.
NOTE: Subd. Im, is created eff. 10-1-16 by 2015 Wis, Act 170,

2. Any nonresident of the United States who holds an interna-
tional driving permit or a valid operator’s license issued by a coun-
try which is a signatory to either the 1943 regulation of inter—
American automotive traffic or the 1949 Geneva convention on
road traffic.

3. Any nonresident of the United States who holds an interna-
tional driving permit or a valid operator’s license issued by Ger-
many, Mexico, or Switzerland or by any other nation having a
reciprocal agreement with the United States concerning driving
privileges.

(c) An exemption under par. (b) 2. or 3. applies only for a
period of one year after a nonresident’s arrival in the United
States.

(5) PenarTies. (ag) In this subsection, “great bodily harm™
has the meaning given in s, 939,22 (14).
(am) Any person who violates sub. (1) or (2) shall be:

1. Fined not less than $200 nor more than $600 or imprisoned
for not more than 6 months or both for the first such violation.

2. Fined not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 or impris-
oned for not less than 5 days nor more than 6 months or both for
the 2nd offense occurring within 3 years,

3. Fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $2,000 and
imprisoned for not less than 10 days nor more than 6 months for
the 3rd or subsequent offense occurring within 3 years.

(b) 1. Except as provided in subds. 2. to 5. and sub. (6), any
person who violates sub. (3) (a) may be required to forfeit not
more than $200 for the first offense, may be fined not more than
$300 and imprisoned for not more than 30 days for the 2nd offense
occurring within 3 years, and may be fined not more than $500 and
imprisoned for not more than 6 months for the 3rd or subsequent
offense occurring within 3 years. In this paragraph, a violation of
a local ordinance in conformity with this section or a violation of
a law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in
this state in conformity with this section shall count as a previous
offense,

2. A person whose operator’s license has expired not more
than 3 months before a violation of sub. (3) (a) may be required
to forfeit not more than $100 for the first offense.

4. Except as provided in subd. 2. and sub. (6}, any person who
violates sub. (3) (2) and, in the course of the violation, causes great
bodily harm to another person is required to forfeit not less than
$5.000 nor more than $7,500, except that, if the person knows at
the time of the violation that he or she does not possess a valid
operator’s license, the person is guilty of a Class 1 felony.

5. Except as provided in subd. 2. and sub. (6), any person who
violates sub. (3) (a) and, in the course of the violation, causes the
death of another person is required to forfeit not less than $7,500

cyc
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nor more than $10,000, except that, if the person knows at the time
of the violation that he or she does not possess a valid operator’s
license, the person is guilty of a Class H felony.

(c) Any person who violates sub. (3) (b) or (¢) may be required
to forfeit not more than $100.

(6) OTHER OFFENSES; PENALTIES. Section 343.44 and the penal-
ties thereunder shall apply in lieu of this section to any person
operating a motor vehicle upon a highway in this state with an
operator’s license which is revoked or suspended.

History: 1971 c. 1645 83; 1977 ¢. 295 1654 (7) (a); 1977 . 273, 268, 447; 1979
€, 345; 1981 c. 42, 138; 1981 ¢. 390 s. 252; 1983 u. 243, 534, 535, 538; 1985 u. 65;
1989 0. 87, 105, 359; 1991 a, 32,39, 1995 a. 113, 269, 347; 1997 4. 237; 2005 . 412;
2009 4. 103,276; 2001 a. 113; 2013 2. 163; 2015 4. 170,

Cross—reference: See s, 34337 for li ions on

The guidelines for of I vehicle under this section constitute a
fundamental public policy to pwmalc highway safety. The discharge of an at-will
employee for refusing to violate this section was a wrongful discharge. Kempfer v.
Automated Finishing, Inc. 211 Wis. 2d 100, 364 N.W.2d 692 (1997}, 95-0649,

A person has a privilege, but not a right, to drive a motor vehicle upon a public high-
way. To exercise that privilege, the person must satisfy the licensing requirements
of the state. County of Fond du Lac v. Kevin C. Derksen, 2002 W1 App 160, 256 Wis
2d wn 647 \. W2 012‘ 01-2870.

d is licable in ch. 343 hearings. State v. Baratka, 2002 W1
App 288, ZSH Wis. 2d 342, |‘|‘--l- N.W.2d B7S, 02-0770.

Three—wheeled trucks and automobiles, golf carts, and other special purpose
vehicles such as street sweepers, industrial fork—lifis, and motorized wheelbarrows
are not motorcycles, and operators are not required to have special driver licenses.
58 Auty. Gen. 17.

A driver license authorizing motor-driven eycle operation is not required for the
operation of a motor—driven cycle on private property. 64 Atty. Gen. 79.

343.055 Commercial driver license waivers. (1) Oper-
ATORS WAIVED. (a) General. Except as provided in subs. (3) and
(4) and notwithstanding s. 343.05 (2), operators of certain com-
mercial motor vehicles specified in pars. (b) to (h) or any rule of
the department promulgated under sub. (5) are not required to hold
commercial driver licenses, if the operator holds a valid operator’s
license not limited to “Class M" vehicles.

(b) Fire fighters. The operator of the commercial motor
vehicle including, without limitation, fire trucks, hook and ladder
trucks and foam or water transporters, is a person employed by a
volunteer or paid fire organization and the person is operating
emergency or fire fighting equipment necessary to the preserva-
tion of life or property or the execution of emergency management
functions and equipped with a siren and warning lamps as pro-
vided in ss. 347.25 (1) and 347.38 (4) and the operation is in the
routine performance of other duties of the fire organization or in
response to an emergency call under s. 346.03 or during the return
from a fire or other emergency response.

(¢) Farmers, The operator of the commercial motor vehicle
is a farmer who is using the commercial motor vehicle within 150
miles of the operator’s farm to transport agricultural products,
farm machinery or farm supplies including transporting hazard-
ous materials requiring placarding or a combination thereof to or
from a farm and the commercial motor vehicle is operated and
controlled by a farmer and not used in the operations of a common
motor carrier or contract motor carrier, as defined ins. 194.01 (1)
and (2). In this paragraph, “controlled™ means leased or owned;
and “farmer” and “leased” have the meanings given in s. 340.01
(18) (b).

(d) Recreational vehicle operators. The operator of the com-
mercial motor vehicle is a person operating a motor home, or a
vehicle towing a Sth—wheel recreational vehicle or single—unit
recreational vehicle and the vehicle or combination, including
both units of a combination towing vehicle and the 5th-wheel rec-
reational vehicle or recreational vehicle, is both operated and con-
trolled by the person and is transporting only members of the per-
son’s family, guests or their personal property. This paragraph
does not apply to any transportation for hire or the transportation
of any property connected to a commercial activity. In this para-
graph, “controlled” means leased or owned.

(e) Law enforcement officers. The operator of the commercial
motor vehicle is a law enforcement officer who is operating an
authorized emergency vehicle that is necessary to the preservation
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of life or property or the execution of emergency governmental
functions and that is equipped with warning lamps and a siren as
provided in ss. 347.25 and 347.38 (4).

(h) Rescue squad members. The operator of the commercial
motor vehicle is a member of a legally organized rescue squad.
This paragraph applies only to the operation of authorized emer-
gency vehicles,

(2) DISQUALIFICATIONS NOT APPLICABLE. Notwithstanding s.
343.44, a person disqualified under s. 343,315 may operate a com-
mercial motor vehicle as described in this section if the person
holds a valid operator’s license issued to the person authorizing
the operation of “Class D" vehicles.

(3) VEHICLES TRANSPORTING HAZARDOUS MATERIALS, CARRY-
ING PASSENGERS OR TOWING DOUBLE OR TRIPLE TRAILERS NOT
waIvED. Nothing in this section authorizes the operation of a com-
bination vehicle with double or triple trailers, a vehicle transport-
ing hazardous materials requiring placarding except as provided
in sub. (1) (¢), a vehicle transporting any quantity of a material
listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73, or a vehicle car-
rying or designed to transport the driver and 15 or more persons,
by a person who does not hold a valid operator’s license properly
endorsed to permit such operation.

(4) ErrecT oF waivers. The waivers under this section shall
apply to the extent permitted under federal law and shall exempt
a person only from the requirement in s. 343.05 (2) to hold a com-
mercial driver license to operate a commercial motor vehicle upon
a highway in this state. A commercial motor vehicle operated
under this waiver remains a commercial motor vehicle.

(5) RuLes. As soon as possible after the federal commercial
motor vehicle safety act, 49 USC 31301 to 31317, or the regula-
tions adopted under that act permit any commercial driver license
waiver, the department shall promulgate rules governing eligibil-
ity for the waiver. This subsection applies to waivers not per-
mitted by federal law on May 12, 1992.

History: 1989 . 105; 1991 n, 39, 242; 1993 a, 19; 1995 o, 113, 247;: 1999 2. 9,

343.06 Persons not to be licensed. (1) The department
shall not issue a license:

(a) To any person whose operator’s license or nonresident’s
operating privilege was withheld, suspended, revoked or canceled
under the provisions of the law in effect prior to September 1,
1941, unless such person complies with the requirements of this
chapter relative to obtaining a license or restoration of operating
privileges after suspension, revocation or cancellation.

(b) To any person whose operating privilege has been sus-
pended or revoked or is subject to immediate mandatory suspen-
sion or revocation under this chapter, except as otherwise
expressly provided in this chapter.

(¢) To any person under age 18 unless the person is enrolled
in a school program or high school equivalency program and is not
a habitual truant as defined ins. 118.16 (1) (a), has graduated from
high school or been granted a declaration of high school grad-
uation equivalency, or is enrolled in a home—based private educa-
tional program, as defined ins. 115.001 (3g), and has satisfactorily
completed a course in driver education in public schools approved
by the department of public instruction, or in technical colleges
approved by the technical college system board, or in nonpublic
and private schools or tribal schools, as defined in 5. 115.001
(15m), that meet the minimum standards set by the department of
public instruction, or has satisfactorily completed a substantially
equivalent course in driver training approved by the department
and given by a school licensed by the department under s. 343.61,
or has satisfactorily completed a substantially equivalent course
in driver education or training approved by another state and has
attained the age of 16, except as provided ins. 343.07 (1g). The
department shall not issue a license to any person under the age
of 18 authorizing the operation of “Class M” vehicles unless the
person has successfully completed a basic rider course approved
by the Wisconsin department of transportation motorcycle safety

Updated 13—14 Wis, Stats. 6

program. The department may, by rule, exempt certain persons
from the basic rider course requirement of this paragraph. Appli-
cants for a license under s. 343.08 or 343,135 are exempt from the
driver education, basic rider or driver training course requirement.
The secretary shall prescribe rules for licensing of schools and
instructors to qualify under this paragraph. The driver education
course shall be made available to every eligible student in the
state. Except as provided unders. 343.16 (1) (bm) and (c) and (2)
{cm) to (e), no operator’s license may be issued unless a driver’s
examination has been administered by the department.
Cross—reference: See also ch. Truns 129, Wis, adm. code.

(em) To operate *Class D" vehicles to any person under 18
years of age, unless the person has accumulated at least 30 hours
of behind—the-wheel driving experience, at least 10 hours of
which were during hours of darkness. Each hour of behind-
the—wheel driving experience while accompanied by a qualified
instructor, as defined in s. 343.07 (1¢), shall be considered to be
2 hours of behind—the—wheel driving experience, except that no
more than 5 hours of behind—the—wheel driving experience while
accompanied by a qualified instructor may be counted in this man-
ner. This paragraph does not apply to applicants for a restricted
license under s. 343.08 or a special restricted operator’s license
under s. 343,135, The department may promulgate rules that
waive the requirement of accumulating at least 30 hours of
behind—the—wheel experience for qualified applicants who are
licensed by another jurisdiction to operate “Class D" vehicles.

(d) To any person whose dependence on alcohol has attained
such a degree that it interferes with his or her physical or mental
health or social or economic functioning, or who is addicted to the
use of controlled substances or controlled substance analogs,
except that the secretary may issue a license if the person submits
to an examination, evaluation or treatment in a treatment facility
meeting the standards prescribed ins. 51.45 (8) (a), as directed by
the secretary, in accordance with s. 343,16 (5).

(e) To any person who is unable to exercise reasonable control
over a motor vehicle, as defined by the department by rule.

(f) To any person who is required by this chapter to take an
examination, unless such person takes and successfully passes
such examination. Deaf persons otherwise qualified under this
chapter to receive a license shall be issued such license in the dis-
cretion of the secretary.

(g) To any person who is required under the motor vehicle
financial responsibility laws of this state to furnish proof of finan-
cial responsibility, and who has not furnished such proof in the
manner prescribed by statute and any lawful rules of the depart-
ment pertaining thereto.

(h) To any person when the secretary has good cause to believe
that the operation of a motor vehicle on the highways by such per-
son will be inimical to the public safety or welfare.

(i) To any person who has been convicted of any offense speci-
fied under ss. 940.225, 948.02, 948.025, 948.07, or 948.085 or
adjudged delinquent under ch. 938 for a like or similar offense,
when the sentencing court makes a finding that issuance of a
license will be inimical to the public safety and welfare. The pro-
hibition against issuance of a license to the offenders shall apply
immediately upon receipt of a record of the conviction and the
court finding by the secretary, for a period of one year or until dis-
charge from any jail or prison sentence or any period of probation,
extended supervision or parole with respect to the offenses speci-
fied, whichever date is the later. Receipt by the offender of a cer-
tificate of discharge from the department of corrections or other
responsible supervising agency, after one year has elapsed since
the prohibition began, entitles the holder to apply for an operator’s
license. The applicant may be required to present the certificate
of discharge to the secretary if the latter deems it necessary,

(k) To any person who is not a resident.

(L) To any person who does not satisfy the requirements under
5. 343.165 (1).
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(m) To any person who has been declared incompetent under
5. 54.25 (2) (¢) 1. d. to apply for an operator’s license.

(2) The department shall not issue a commercial driver
license, including a renewal or reinstated license, to any person,
or reinstate a person’s authorization to operate a commercial
motor vehicle, during any period of disqualification under s.
343315 or49 CFR 383.51, under the law of another jurisdiction
disqualifying a person from operating a commercial motor
vehicle under circumstances similar to those specified in s.
343,315 or49 CFR 383.51, or under a determination by the federal
motor carrier safety administration that the person is no longer
qualified to operate a commercial motor vehicle under 49 CFR
391, or to any person whose operating privilege is revoked, sus-
pended, or canceled. Any person who is known to the department
to be subject to disqualification as described in s. 343.44 (1) (d)
shall be disqualified by the department as provided ins. 343.315.

(3) The department shall not issue a commercial driver license
valid for use in interstate commerce to any person who is less than
21 years of age or who does not meet the physical qualifications
for drivers contained in 49 CFR 391 or rules of the department
concerning qualifications of drivers in interstate commerce.

History: 1971 ¢. 40 93; 1971 c. |54 5, ‘.'95’%;. 1971 e 219; 1975 ¢. 1845, 13;

1975 ¢. 421; 1977 ¢. 295, 1654 (7) (a), fe): 1 41, 238, 273, 360, 447; 1983 o,
17,243; 1985 a. 202; 1987 a. 40, 122; 1987 0. 332 5. 64; 1987 0, 403; 1989 4. 31, 105;
1993 . 16, 227, 363, 399, 4013 1995 8. 275, 9143 (1) 19951 77, 113, 448; 1997 a,
27,84, 283; 1999 0.9, 140: 2001 a. 38; 2003 a. 33; 2005 u, 126, 149, 277, 387; 2007

a, 20, 97; 2009 0. 28, 103, 302; 2011 a. 23, 260; 2013 & 371,

Cross—reference: See also s, Pl 21.04, Wis. adm. code.

Performance of the duty o apply sub. (7), 1987 stats. [now sub, (1) (¢}], delegated
1o a state driver license examiner is within the rule of civil immunity. Lifer v. Ray-
mond, 80 Wis. 2d 503, 259 N.W.2d 537 (1977).

The offering of driver cdmatmn courses by public %choolv. is opunnaI rather than
mandatory; but if offered, all must be to p The
state superintendent may require private schools to consent to on-site inspections for
compliance verification as a condition of approval granted those schools under that
section, 59 Atty. Gen. 27.

343.065 Restricted commercial driver license. (1) (a)
If an applicant for a commercial driver license is less than 21 years
of age or does not meet the physical qualifications for drivers con-
tained in 49 CFR 391 or an alternative federally approved driver
qualification program established by the department by rule but
is at least 18 years of age and otherwise qualified under this chap-
ter and, subject to par. (b), the rules of the department, the depart-
ment may issue the applicant a commercial driver license
restricted to authorizing the operation of commercial motor
vehicles not in interstate commerce.

(b) An applicant with diabetes controlled by insulin is not eli-
gible for a restricted commercial driver license under this section
if the applicant had, in the 3—year period prior to the date of the
application, any moving violation, or any reportable at—fault acci-
dent, due to diabetes while operating any motor vehicle. The
department may not establish by rule a more restrictive eligibility
standard relating to moving violations and at—fault accidents for
applicants under this section who have diabetes controlled by
insulin.

(2) A commercial driver license issued under this section shall

clearly identify that the license does not authorize the operation of

commercial motor vehicles in interstate commerce.

(3) (a) Ifa person issued any commercial driver license under
this chapter authorizing operation of commercial motor vehicles
in interstate commerce does not have on file with the department
a current certification specified in s. 343,14 (2) (im) Im. a. cover-
ing the person's physical qualifications, the department may
downgrade the commercial driver license to a restricted commer-
cial driver license under this section and impose a “K” restriction
on the license.

NOTE: Par. (a) is shown as amended eff, 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123, Prior
to T=1-16 it reads:

(a) Ifa person issued any :omrnerl'lsl driver license under this chapter
authorizing of of | motor vehicles in interstate commerce does
not have on file with the department a current certification specified in s, 343,14
(2) (i} 1. covering the person’s physical qualifications, the department may
downgrade the commercial driver license to a restricted commercial driver
license under this section and impose a “K” restriction on the license.
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(b) The department shall promulgate rules to define “down-
grade” in accordance with federal law and regulations or guidance
from the applicable federal agency, to establish the process for
downgrading a commercial driver license and whether or not a
new commercial driver license document will be issued after a
commercial driver license is downgraded, and to establish the pro-
cess for reinstating a downgraded commercial driver license after
the department receives from the licensee a valid medical certifi-
cation or other appropriate certification of physical qualifications.

History: 19894 105; 1995 113; 2011 a.32; 2015 a. 123,
Cross—reference: See also ch. Trans 112, Wis, adm. code.

343.07 Instruction permits. (1c¢) DeriniTion. In this sec-
tion, “qualified instructor” means a person employed by a public
school, private school, or tribal school, as defined in s, 115.00]
(15m), holding an operator’s license and meeting the teaching cer-
tification standards of the department of public instruction or the
technical college system board to teach driver education; or an
instructor of a school licensed under s. 343.61; or a teacher or stu-
dent teacher in a driver education course for teachers conducted
by an institution of higher education.

(1g) REGULAR PERMIT; ISSUANCE, RESTRICTIONS.  Upon
application therefor by a person at least 15 years and 6 months of
age who, except for age or lack of training in the operation of a
motor vehicle, is qualified to obtain an operator’s license and has
passed such knowledge test as the department may require, the
department may issue a regular instruction permit. [f the applica-
tion is made by a male who is at least 18 years of age but less than
26 years of age, the application shall include the information
required under s. 343.14 (2) (em). The permit entitles the permit-
tee to operate a motor vehicle, except a commercial motor vehicle,
school bus, or Type 1 motorcycle, a motor bicycle, or a moped,
upon the highways, subject to the following restrictions:

(a) Except as provided in this subsection, no permittee may
operate a motor vehicle unless accompanied by a person who has
at least 2 years of licensed driving experience, who presently
holds a valid regular license, as defined in s. 343.03 (3) (a), who
occupies the seat beside the permittee and who is one of the fol-
lowing:

1. A qualified instructor who is 19 years of age or older. If
the motor vehicle is equipped with dual controls, up to 3 other per-
sons, in addition to the gualified instructor, may occupy seats in
the motor vehicle other than the front seat.

2. The permittee’s parent, guardian or spouse who is 19 years
of age or older. In addition to the parent, guardian or spouse, the
permittee’s immediate family members may occupy seats in the
motor vehicle other than the front seat.

3. A person who is 21 years of age or older. If the permittee
is under 18 years of age, this subdivision applies only if the
licensed person has been designated in writing to accompany the
permittee by the permittee’s parent or guardian prior to operation
of the vehicle by the permittee.

(bm) Except as provided in par. (a), no permittee may operate
a motor vehicle upon a highway in this state whenever any person
is in the motor vehicle.

(cm) If the permittee is at least 16 years of age, in addition to
the licensed accompanying operator, one other licensed person 25
years of age or more with at least 2 years’ driving experience may
occupy a seat in the motor vehicle other than the front seat.

(d) The permittee shall not operate a motor vehicle during the
hours of darkness unless accompanied by:

1. A licensed person 25 years of age or more, with at least 2
years’ licensed driving experience, occupying the seat beside the
permittee; or

2. A qualified instructor.

(e) The permittee may operate a motor vehicle when accompa-
nied by an authorized license examiner for the purpose of examin-
ing the permittee’s ability to operate a motor vehicle.
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(1m) COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE AND SCHOOL BUS INSTRUC-
TION PERMITS: ISSUANCE, RESTRICTIONS. Upon application therefor
by a person at least 18 years of age who holds a valid operator’s
license issued under this chapter and who, except for lack of train-
ing in the operation of a commercial motor vehicle or school bus,
is qualified to obtain authorization for the operation of such
vehicle including having passed the applicable knowledge tests,
the department may issue an instruction permit for commercial
motor vehicle or school bus operation. A permit limited to com-
mercial motor vehicle instructional operation entitles the permit-
tee to operate only a commercial motor vehicle upon the high-
ways. A permit limited to school bus instructional operation
entitles the permittee to operate only a school bus upon the high-
ways. Both permits are subject to the following restrictions:

(a) Except as provided in par. (am), the permittee may not oper-
ate a commercial motor vehicle or school bus unless accompanied
by a qualified instructor or a licensed person 21 years of age or
older with a valid license authorizing the person to operate such
vehicle, occupying the seating position nearest to the driver. No
passengers are allowed in the vehicle, except that when the
accompanying operator is a qualified instructor up to 3 other per-
mittees also being trained may occupy seats in the vehicle. The
permittee may operate a commercial motor vehicle carrying prop-
erty under this paragraph.

(am) 1. A permittee may operate a commercial motor vehicle
or school bus, other than a vehicle type specified in s. 343.04 (2)
(a), (¢} or (), within this state unaccompanied by a qualified
instructor or a licensed person 235 years of age or older with at least
2 years of licensed driving experience in a representative vehicle
and a valid license authorizing the person to operate such vehicle
if the permittee has taken and passed the applicable knowledge
tests and all of the following requirements are met:

a. The permittee is operating the vehicle in connection with
a driver training course or program approved by the department.

b. The vehicle is being used by the permittee exclusively for
driver training purposes and not for the purposes of carrying prop-
erty Or passengers.

c. Direct, uninterrupted audio or audiovisual electronic com-
munication between a qualified instructor and the permittee is
maintained at all times the permittee is operating the vehicle.

2. This paragraph shall apply to the extent permitted under
federal law.

(b) Unless the permittee is at least 21 years of age, the instruc-
tion permit is not valid authorization for operation in interstate
commerce and that lack of authorization shall be clearly indicated
on the permit.

(c) The permittee may operate a commercial motor vehicle or
school bus when accompanied by an authorized license examiner
for the purpose of examining his or her ability to operate a com-
mercial motor vehicle or school bus.

(d) No person holding an instruction permit issued under this
subsection may operate a tank vehicle unless the tanks are empty
and, if the tanks contained hazardous materials, purged or a
vehicle transporting hazardous materials requiring placarding or
any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42
CFR 73.

NOTE: Par. (d} is shown as amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123, Prior
to T=1=16 it reads:

(d) No person holding an instruction permit issued under this subsection

may operate a vehicle transporting hazardous materials requiring placarding
or any quantity of o material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73.

(2) TRAINING CERTIFICATE REQUIRED. Except for persons who
qualify for a license under s. 343.08, the department shall not issue
an instruction permit to anyone under 18 years of age, unless it has
a certificate from the applicant’s qualified instructor to the effect
that the applicant is enrolled in an approved driver education and
training course for the purpose of the practice driving phase.

(3) DURATION; CANCELLATION. An instruction permit to oper-
ate vehicles other than commercial motor vehicles or school buses
is valid for 12 months except that it may be canceled upon receipt

Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats. 8

of information, by the secretary, of noncompletion or unsatisfac-
tory completion of a driver education and training course by a per-
mittee under the age of 18. An instruction permit to operate com-
mercial motor vehicles or school buses is valid for 180 days.

NOTE: Sub. (3) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, Act 123, Prior
to 7—1-16 it reads:

(3) DURATION; CANCELLATION. An instruction permit to operate vehicles
other than commercial motor vehicles or school buses is valid for 12 months
except that it may be canceled upon receipt of information, by the secretary, of

letion or isf: v pletion of a driver ed ion and training
course by a permittee under the age of 18, An instruction permit to operate com-
mercial motor vehicles or school buses is valid for 6 months.

(4) InsTRUCTION PERMITS; TYPE 1 MOTORCYCLE, MOTOR
BICYCLE ANDMOPED. (a) Subject tos. 343.16 (1) (a), upon applica-
tion by a person who qualifies for issuance of a license under s.
343.06 (1) {¢) and who wishes to qualify for the operation of a
Type | motorcycle, the department may issue an instruction per-
mit for the operation of “Class M" vehicles.

(b) The permit for Type 1 motorcycle operation shall be valid
for 6 months. The department shall issue no more than 3 permits
for Type 1 motorcycle operation to a person unless the person has
successfully completed a rider course approved by the depart-
ment. The department may, by rule, exempt certain persons from
the rider course requirement of this paragraph. The permit for
Type | motorcycle operation entitles the permittee to operate a
Type | motoreycle subject to the following restrictions:

1. No passenger may accompany the permittee except that a
person with at least 2 years of licensed driving experience and
whose license is endorsed for Type | motorcycle operation may
ride as a passenger—instructor.

2. The permittee may not operate a Type | motorcycle during
hours of darkness unless accompanied by a licensed person 25
years of age or more and meeting the requirements of subd. 1.

(¢) The permit for moped and motor bicycle operation shall be
valid for 6 months and entitles the permittee to operate a moped
or motor bicycle subject 1o restrictions specified by the depart-
ment by rule.

Cross—reference: See also ch. Trans 129, Wis, adm, code.

(6) SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONAL PERMITS. This section does not
apply to instructional permits issued under s. 343.075.

(7) PENALTY FOR RESTRICTION VIOLATIONS. (a) Notwithstand-
ing 5. 343.43 (1) (d) and (3m), any person who violates sub. (1g)
(a), (bm), or (d) or (4) (b) 1. or 2. shall be required to forfeit $50
for the first offense and not less than $50 nor more than $100 for
each subsequent offense.

(b) Upon receiving notice of a person’s conviction for a viola-
tion of sub. (1g) (a), (bm), or (d) or (4) (b) 1. or 2., the department
shall notify any adult sponsor who has signed for the person under
5. 343.15 (1) of the conviction.

History: 1971 c. |64; 1973 c. 199; 1977 ¢. 295 1654 (T) (a), (c); 1977 . 128,273;

1979 c. 345; 1983 a. 243; 1985 a. 6.5, 202; 1987 a, 122; 1989 0. 87, 105, 359; 1991
a. 12,260, 316; 1993 a, 16,24, 309: 1995 a. 2759145 (1); 1997 a, 27: 1999 a, 9; 2001

Although the liability of a teacher for the neglig of his student
driver has generally been based on principles of agency, the passenger’s liability may
also arise from violation of an independent duty to supervise and control the automo-
bile based upon his agreement, as an experienced driver, 1o instruct and supervise an
inesperienced driver, Hoefi v. Friedel, 70 Wis, 2d 1022, 235 N.W.2d 918 (1975),

343.075 Instructional permits for applicants for spe-
cial restricted operators’ licenses. The department may
require an applicant for a special restricted operator’s license
under s. 343.135 to first obtain an instructional permit if the
department deems it advisable. The department shall determine
the requirements for issuance of an instructional permit under this
section and the restrictions, if any, on such permits.
History: 1979 c. 345,

343.08 Restricted licenses for persons under 18 years
of age. (1) Upon application therefor, the department may issue
a restricted license to a person who is at least 14 and less than 18
years of age if the following conditions, in addition to any others
specified in this chapter, are fulfilled:
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(a) The department must be satisfied that it is necessary for the
applicant to operate an automobile, farm truck, dual purpose farm
truck. Type | motorcycle powered with an engine of not more than
125 cubic centimeters displacement, Type 2 motorcycle, moped
or motor bicycle owned and registered by the applicant’s parent
or guardian or a farm truck leased to the applicant’s parent or
guardian,

(b) The applicant, accompanied by a parent or guardian, must
have appeared in person before an examining officer with a certifi-
cate of birth to show that the applicant is at least 14 years of age.

(¢) The applicant must have passed an examination as speci-
fied ins. 343,16, including a test of the applicant’s ability to safely
operate the type of vehicle which the applicant is making applica-
tion for license to operate.

(2) (a) A restricted license issued pursuant to this section is
valid only until the licensee secures an operator’s license issued
pursuant to s. 343.03 or reaches 18 years of age and, except as pro-
vided in par. (b), entitles the licensee to operate an automobile,
farm truck, dual purpose farm truck, Type | motorcycle powered
with an engine of not more than 125 cubic centimeters displace-
ment, Type 2 motorcycle, moped or motor bicycle owned and reg-
istered by the licensee’s parent or guardian or a farm truck leased
to the licensee’s parent or guardian or any combination of these
vehicles, depending on the restrictions placed by the department
on the particular license.

(b) A license issued pursuant to this section does not authorize
the licensee to operate any such vehicle during hours of darkness
or to operate a vehicle for hire or in a city having a population of
500,000 or more or to operate a school bus or a commercial motor
vehicle, including a farm truck or dual purpose farm truck defined
as a commercial motor vehicle, or taxicab.

History: 1977 ¢. 295, 1654 (T){a); 1977 ¢. 273; 1083 0. 223, 227, 243, 270, 538;
1985 u 65; 1989 4. 105; 1991 a. 316,

343.085 Probationary licenses to new drivers. (1) (a)
Except as provided in par. (h) and sub. (2), the department shall
issue a probationary license to all applicants for an original
license. The probationary license shall remain in effect as pro-
vided in s. 343.20 (1) (a).

(b) The department may not issue a probationary license to
operate “Class D" vehicles under this section to an applicant who
is under 18 years of age unless the applicant has held an instruction
permit issued under s. 343.07 for not less than 6 months and, dur-
ing the 6-month period immediately preceding application, has
not committed a moving violation, specified by the department by
rule, resulting in a conviction. The department may promulgate
rules to waive the requirement of holding an instruction permit for
not less than 6 months for qualified applicants who are licensed
by another jurisdiction to operate *Class D" vehicles.

(2) (a) Any person moving to this state who has been licensed
in another jurisdiction for at least 3 years, who presently holds a
license, other than an instruction permit, from another jurisdiction
which has not expired for more than 6 months and who has passed
the person’s 21st birthday is exempt from this section.

(b) Applicants issued a commercial driver license are exempt
from this section.

(c) Any person entitled to a regular license under an agreement
entered into under s. 343.16 (1) (d) is exempt from this section.

(2m) (a) Except as provided in this subsection, during the
9-month period after issuance of a probationary license under this
section, no licensee under |8 years of age may operate a “Class D™
vehicle upon a highway in this state:

1. If; in addition to the licensee, the vehicle is occupied by any
person other than the following:

a. Any number of members of the licensee’s immediate fam-
ily.

b. A person who meets the requirements under s. 343.07 (1g)
(a).

OPERATORS’ LICENSES 343.085

¢. Not more than one other person not described in subd. 1.
a.and b.

2. Between the hours of 12 midnight and 5 a.m., unless the
licensee’s parent or guardian, or a person who meets the require-
ments under s. 343.07 (lg) (a), occupies the seat beside the
licensee, or unless the licensee is traveling between his or her
place of residence, school, and place of employment.

(am) 1. Paragraph (a) does not apply to any licensee to whom
all of the following apply:

a. The licensee is operating the motor vehicle in the service
of an organized program that, without compensation, transports
teenagers to their homes.

b. The licensee possesses documentation that identifies the
program and the licensee and that authorizes the licensee to oper-
ate a motor vehicle in service of the program on the date and time
of the operation. The documentation is valid only if signed by a
person who is at least 25 years of age and associated with the pro-
gram,

¢. The licensee is accompanied by another licensee, other than
a teenager who is being transported, who is in the motor vehicle
in the service of the program described in subd. 1. a. and who pos-
sesses the documentation described in subd. 1. b.

d. The licensee is accompanied by not more than 3 passengers
in the vehicle. The licensee described in subd. 1. ¢. shall not be
counted under this subd. 1. d.

2. Paragraph (a) does not apply to any licensee operating the
motor vehicle to or from a program described in subd. 1. a., if the
licensee possesses documentation described in subd. 1. b, A
licensee described in this subdivision may be accompanied by any
number of persons also traveling to or from a program described
insubd. |. a.

(ar) Paragraph (a) does not apply to any licensee operating a
motor vehicle for emergency purposes.

(b) 1. The department shall extend the restrictions under par.
(a) for an additional 6-month period or until the licensee’s 18th
birthday, whichever occurs earlier, if any of the following occurs
while the licensee is subject to the restrictions under par. (a):

a. The licensee commits a moving violation specified by the
department by rule, resulting in a conviction of the licensee.

b. The licensee violates par. (a).

c. A court or the department suspends or revokes the licens-
ee’s operating privilege for any reason other than a mental or
physical disability.

2. If the department extends a restriction period under subd.
1., the department shall immediately provide notice of the exten-
sion by lst class mail to the person’s last—known residence
address.

(c) A period of restriction under this subsection does not run
while a person’s operating privilege is suspended or revoked.

(d) The restrictions under this subsection apply until the period
of restriction expires or until the licensee reaches 18 years of age,
whichever occurs first.

(e) Nothing in this subsection may be construed to create a sep-
arate cause of action against the parent or guardian of a probation-
ary licensee under this subsection or against the owner of any
vehicle operated by a probationary licensee under this section.

(3) The secretary may suspend a person’s operating privilege
under this section when such person has been assigned sufficient
demerit points after conviction for traffic violations to require sus-
pension under the rule adopted under sub. (5) and either holds a
license issued under this section or by age comes under this sec-
tion. This subsection applies only to a person holding a probation-
ary license issued before September 1, 2000. This subsection does
not apply on or after October 1, 2003,

(4) The secretary may require that a person be continued on
probationary status beyond the period of first issuance if such per-
son appears by the records of the department to have repeatedly
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violated any of the state traffic laws or any local ordinance in con-
formity therewith or any law of a federally recognized American
Indian tribe or band in this state in conformity with any of the state
traffic laws. A person may not be continued on probationary sta-
tus due to a suspension under s. 343.30 (6).

(5) For the purpose of determining when to suspend or to con-
tinue a person on probationary status, the secretary may determine
and adopt by rule a method of weighing traffic convictions by their
seriousness and may change such weighted scale from time to
time as experience or the accident frequency in the state makes
necessary or desirable. Such scale may be weighted differently
for this licensee than the scale used to determine suspensions
under s, 343.32. This subsection applies only to a person holding
a probationary license issued before September 1, 2000. This sub-
section does not apply on or after October 1, 2003.

(6) (a) Notwithstanding s. 343.43 (1) (d) and (3m), any person
who violates sub. (2m) (a) shall be required to forfeit $50 for the
first offense and not less than $50 nor more than $100 for each sub-
sequent offense.

(b) Upon receiving notice of a person’s conviction for a viola-
tion of sub. (2m) (a), the department shall notify any adult sponsor
who has signed for the person under s. 343.15 (1) of the convic-
tion.

History: 1971 c. 204; 1977 ¢, 29 5. 1654 (7) (a), (c); 1979 ¢, 306; 1979 ¢. 331 55,
59, 72; 1981 ¢. 3143 1989 o 105, 359; 1991 a.39; 1097 a. 84, 237; 1999 4. 0, [85;
2005 a. 149, 294,

343.10 Occupational licenses. (1) ApPLICATION FOR
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE. (a) Ifa person’s license or operating priv-
ilege is revoked or suspended under this chapter or s. 767.73,
938.34 (14q), 943.21 (3m), or 961.50 and if the person is engaged
in an occupation, including homemaking or full-time or part—time
study, or a trade making it essential that he or she operate a motor
vehicle, the person, after payment of the fee provided in sub. (6),
may file an application with the department setting forth in detail
the need for operating a motor vehicle. No person may file more
than one application with respect to each revocation or suspension
of the person’s license or operating privilege under this chapter or
s. 767.73, 938.34 (14q), 943.21 (3m), or 961.50, except that this
limitation does not apply to an application to amend an occupa-
tional license restriction.

(b) The application shall be in a form established by the depart-
ment and shall identify the specific motor vehicle that the appli-
cant secks authorization to operate, including the vehicle classifi-
cation and any required endorsements. The application shall
include an explanation of why operating the motor vehicle is
essential to the person’s livelihood and identify the person’s
occupation or trade. The application shall identify the applicant’s
employer, and include proof of financial responsibility as speci-
fied in s. 343.38 (1) (¢) covering the vehicle or vehicles that the
applicant requests authorization to operate. The application shall
identify the hours of operation and routes of travel being requested
by the applicant in accord with the restrictions of sub. (5).

(2) ELiaisiLity. (a) Except as provided in pars. (b) to (), and
subject to s. 343,165 (5), a person is eligible for an occupational
license if the following conditions are satisfied:

1. Except for a revocation or suspension that arose out of the
same incident or occurrence for which the person’s license or
operating privilege is currently revoked or suspended, the per-
son'’s license or operating privilege was not revoked or suspended
previously under this chapter or ch, 344 or s. 943.21 (3m) or
961.50 within the one—year period immediately preceding the
present revocation or suspension, except as provided in s. 344.40.

2. The person files proof of financial responsibility as speci-
fied under s. 343.38 (1) (c) covering all vehicles for which the per-
son seeks permission to operate.

4. At least 15 days have elapsed since the date of revocation
or suspension, or, in the case of an appeal that is subsequently dis-
missed or affirmed, at least 15 days have elapsed since the date of
revocation or suspension following the dismissal or affirmance of
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the appeal, unless another minimum waiting period or immediate
eligibility is expressly provided by law.

(b) No occupational license may permit the operation of any
motor vehicles for which the applicant did not hold valid authori-
zation at the time of revocation or suspension of the person’s
license or operating privilege.

(¢) No occupational license permitting the operation of a com-
mercial motor vehicle may be granted to a person.

(d) A person whose operating privilege is revoked under ch.
351 is not eligible for an oceupational license except as provided
ins. 351.07,

(dm) A person whose operating privilege is suspended or
revoked under s. 343.30 (1q) (d) or 343.305 (10) (d) is not eligible
for an occupational license.

(e) Ifthe court orders a person to submit to and comply with
an assessment and driver safety plan and if the person has 2 or
maore prior convictions, suspensions or revocations, as counted
under s. 343.307 (1), no occupational license may be granted until
the person has completed the assessment and is complying with
the driver safety plan.

(f) If the court orders under s. 343.301 (1g) that the person’s
operating privilege for the operation of “Class D" vehicles be
restricted to operating vehicles that are equipped with an ignition
interlock device, no occupational license may be granted until the
person pays the surcharge under s. 343.301 (5) and submits proof
that an ignition interlock device has been installed in each motor
vehicle to which the order under s. 343.301 applies. A person who
is subject to an order under s. 343.301 (1g) (am) 2. need not submit
proof that an ignition interlock device has been installed if he or
she is participating in a program designated in the order, unless he
or she is also subject to an order under s. 343,301 (lg) (am) 1.

NOTE: Par. (f) is shown as amended effl 10-2-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 389, Prior
to 10-2-16 it reads:

() If the court orders under 5. 343.301 (1g) that the person’s operating privi-
lege for the operation of “Class D" vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles
that are equipped with an ignition interlock device, no occupational license may
be granted until the person pays the surcharge under s. 343.301 (5) and submits
proof that an ignition interlock device has been installed in each motor vehicle
ta which the order under s. 343,301 applies.

(3) DETERMINATION ON APPLICATION. (a) If satisfied that the
person is eligible under sub. (2), the department shall consider the
number and seriousness of prior traffic convictions in determining
whether to issue an occupational license and what restrictions to
specify. Notwithstanding s. 343,40, the denial by the department
of an application for an occupational license is not subject to judi-
cial review.

(b) The department shall inform a person whose application
for an occupational license under sub. (1) is denied in whole or in
part of the specific reasons for the denial and that he or she may
file one petition for an occupational license under sub. (4).

(4) PETITION FOR OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE. (a) A person whose
application for an occupational license under sub. (1) is denied in
whole or in part may file a petition with the clerk of the circuit
court in the county in which the person resides for an order autho-
rizing the issuance of an occupational license to the person. No
person may file a petition under this paragraph unless he or she
first pays the fee specified in s. 814.61 (14) to the clerk of the cir-
cuit court, The person’s petition shall include a copy of the per-
son’s current operating record under s. 343.23 (2) and the reasons
why the person should be granted an occupational license. The
court shall consider the number and seriousness of prior traffic
convictions in determining whether to grant the petition and shall
state, in writing, its reasons for granting or denying the petition.
No person may file more than one petition with respect to a denial
of an application for an occupational license under sub. (1).

(b) If the court grants the petition, the court shall issue an order
authorizing the issuance of an occupational license to the person.
The order for issuance of an occupational license shall include
definite restrictions as to hours of the day, hours per week, type of
occupation and areas or routes of travel to be permitted under the
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violated any of the state traffic laws or any local ordinance in con-
formity therewith or any law of a federally recognized American
Indian tribe or band in this state in conformity with any of the state
traffic laws. A person may not be continued on probationary sta-
tus due to a suspension under s. 343.30 (6).

(5) For the purpose of determining when to suspend or to con-
tinue a person on probationary status, the secretary may determine
and adopt by rule a method of weighing traffic convictions by their
seriousness and may change such weighted scale from time to
time as experience or the accident frequency in the state makes
necessary or desirable. Such scale may be weighted differently
for this licensee than the scale used to determine suspensions
under s. 343,32, This subsection applies only to a person holding
a probationary license issued before September 1, 2000, This sub-
section does not apply on or after October 1, 2003,

(6) (a) Notwithstanding 5. 343,43 (1) (d) and (3m), any person
who violates sub. (2m) (a) shall be required to forfeit $50 for the
first offense and not less than $50 nor more than $100 for each sub-
sequent offense.

(b) Upon receiving notice of a person’s conviction for a viola-
tion of sub. (2m) (a), the department shall notify any adult sponsor
who has signed for the person under s. 343.15 (1) of the convic-
tion.

History: 1971 c. 204; 1977 c. 29 s, 1654 (T) (a), (e} 1979 ¢, 306; 1979 ¢. 331 58,
59, 72; 1981 ¢, 314; 1989 & 105, 350; 1991 a, 39; 1997 a. 84, 237; 1999 a0, 185;
2005 a. 149, 294,

343.10 Occupational licenses. (1) APPLICATION FOR
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE. (a) Ifa person’s license or operating priv-
ilege is revoked or suspended under this chapter or s. 767.73,
938.34 (14q), 943.21 (3m), or 961.50 and if the person is engaged
in an occupation, including homemaking or full-time or part—time
study, or a trade making it essential that he or she operate a motor
vehicle, the person, after payment of the fee provided in sub. (6),
may file an application with the department setting forth in detail
the need for operating a motor vehicle, No person may file more
than one application with respect to each revocation or suspension
of the person’s license or operating privilege under this chapter or
s. 767.73, 938.34 (14q), 943.21 (3m), or 961.50, except that this
limitation does not apply to an application to amend an occupa-
tional license restriction.

(b) The application shall be in a form established by the depart-
ment and shall identify the specific motor vehicle that the appli-
cant secks authorization to operate, including the vehicle classifi-
cation and any required endorsements. The application shall
include an explanation of why operating the motor vehicle is
essential to the person’s livelihood and identify the person’s
occupation or trade. The application shall identify the applicant's
employer, and include proof of financial responsibility as speci-
fied in s. 343.38 (1) (c¢) covering the vehicle or vehicles that the
applicant requests authorization to operate. The application shall
identify the hours of operation and routes of travel being requested
by the applicant in accord with the restrictions of sub. (5).

(2) Eviaisiiry. (a) Except as provided in pars. (b) to (f), and
subject to s. 343.165 (5), a person is eligible for an occupational
license if the following conditions are satisfied:

1. Except for a revocation or suspension that arose out of the
same incident or occurrence for which the person’s license or
operating privilege is currently revoked or suspended, the per-
son'’s license or operating privilege was not revoked or suspended
previously under this chapter or ch. 344 or s. 94321 (3m) or
961.50 within the one—year period immediately preceding the
present revocation or suspension, except as provided in s. 344,40,

2. The person files proof of financial responsibility as speci-
fied unders. 343.38 (1) (¢) covering all vehicles for which the per-
son seeks permission to operate.

4. At least 15 days have elapsed since the date of revocation
or suspension, or, in the case of an appeal that is subsequently dis-
missed or affirmed, at least 15 days have elapsed since the date of
revacation or suspension following the dismissal or affirmance of
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the appeal, unless another minimum waiting period or immediate
eligibility is expressly provided by law.

(b) No occupational license may permit the operation of any
motor vehicles for which the applicant did not hold valid authori-
zation at the time of revocation or suspension of the person's
license or operating privilege.

(c) No occupational license permitting the operation of a com-
mercial motor vehicle may be granted to a person.

(d) A person whose operating privilege is revoked under ch.
351 is not eligible for an occupational license except as provided
ins, 351.07.

(dm) A person whose operating privilege is suspended or
revoked under s. 343.30 (1q) (d) or 343.305 (10) (d) is not eligible
for an eccupational license.

(e) Ifthe court orders a person to submit to and comply with
an assessment and driver safety plan and if the person has 2 or
more prior convictions, suspensions or revocations, as counted
under s. 343.307 (1), no occupational license may be granted until
the person has completed the assessment and is complying with
the driver safety plan.

(f) If the court orders under s. 343.301 (1g) that the person’s
operating privilege for the operation of “Class D™ vehicles be
restricted to operating vehicles that are equipped with an ignition
interlock device, no occupational license may be granted until the
person pays the surcharge under s. 343,301 (5) and submits proof
that an ignition interlock device has been installed in each motor
vehicle to which the order under s. 343.301 applies. A person who
is subject to an order under s. 343.301 (1g) (am) 2. need not submit
proof that an ignition interlock device has been installed if he or
she is participating in a program designated in the order, unless he
or she is also subject to an order under s. 343301 (1g) (am) |.

NOTE: Par. (f) is shown as amended eff. 10-2-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 389, Prior
to 10-2-16 it reads:

() If the court orders under s. 343.301 (1g) that the person’s operating privi-
lege for the operation of “Class D vehicles be restricted to operating vehicles
that are equipped with an ignition interlock device, no occupational license may
be granted until the person pays the surcharge under s. 343.301 (5) and submits
proof that an ignition interlock device has been installed in each motor vehicle
to which the order under s, 343,301 applies.

(3) DETERMINATION ON APPLICATION. (a) If satisfied that the
person is eligible under sub. (2), the department shall consider the
number and seriousness of prior traffic convictions in determining
whether to issue an occupational license and what restrictions to
specify. Notwithstanding s. 343.40, the denial by the department
of an application for an occupational license is not subject to judi-
cial review.

(b) The department shall inform a person whose application
for an occupational license under sub. (1) is denied in whole or in
part of the specific reasons for the denial and that he or she may
file one petition for an occupational license under sub. (4).

(4) PETITION FOR OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE. (a) A person whose
application for an occupational license under sub. (1) is denied in
whole or in part may file a petition with the clerk of the circuit
court in the county in which the person resides for an order autho-
rizing the issuance of an occupational license to the person. No
person may file a petition under this paragraph unless he or she
first pays the fee specified in s. 814.61 (14) to the clerk of the cir-
cuit court, The person’s petition shall include a copy of the per-
son's current operating record under s. 343.23 (2) and the reasons
why the person should be granted an occupational license. The
court shall consider the number and seriousness of prior traffic
convictions in determining whether to grant the petition and shall
state, in writing, its reasons for granting or denying the petition.
No person may file more than one petition with respect to a denial
of an application for an occupational license under sub. (1).

(b) If the court grants the petition, the court shall issue an order
authorizing the issuance of an occupational license to the person.
The order for issuance of an occupational license shall include
definite restrictions as to hours of the day, hours per week, type of
occupation and areas or routes of travel to be permitted under the
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license as provided in sub. (5). A copy of the order shall be for-
warded to the department. Upon receipt of the court order, the
petitioner shall be considered an applicant by the department for
purposes of this section. The occupational license issued by the
department under this paragraph shall contain the restrictions
ordered by the court. If the court denies the petition, the clerk of
the court shall notify the department of the denial of the petition.

(c) The department shall not issue an occupational license to
a person upon receipt of an order from a court under this subsec-
tion if the person appears by the records of the department to have
filed more than one petition with a court for an occupational
license under this subsection.

(5) RESTRICTIONS AND LIMITATIONS ON OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE.
(a) Restrictions. 1. In addition to any restrictions appearing on
the former operator’s license of the applicant, the occupational
license shall contain definite restrictions as to hours of the day, not
to exceed 12, hours per week, not to exceed 60, type of occupation
and areas or routes of travel which are permitted under the license.
The occupational license may permit travel to and from church
during specified hours if the travel does not exceed the restrictions
as 1o hours of the day and hours per week in this subdivision. The
occupational license may permit travel necessary to comply with
a driver safety plan ordered under s. 343.30 (1q) or 343.305 if the
travel does not exceed the restrictions as to hours of the day and
hours per week in this subdivision. The occupational license may
contain restrictions on the use of alcohol and of controlled sub-
stances and controlled substance analogs in violation of's. 961.41.

2. If the applicant has 2 or more convictions, suspensions or
revocations, as counted under s. 343.307 (1), the occupational
license shall prohibit the applicant from driving or operating a
motor vehicle while he or she has an alcohol concentration of
more than (0.0.

3. The occupational license of the applicant shall restrict the
applicant’s operation under the occupational license to vehicles
that are equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device if
the court has ordered under s. 343.301 (1g) that the person’s oper-
ating privilege for Class D vehicles be restricted to operating
vehicles that are equipped with an ignition interlock device or has
ordered under s. 346.65 (6) (a) 1., 1999 stats., that the motor
vehicle owned by the person and used in the violation or improper
refusal be equipped with an ignition interlock device. A person
to whom a restriction under this subdivision applies violates that
restriction if he or she removes or disconnects an ignition inter-
lock device, requests or permits another to blow into an ignition
interlock device or to start a motor vehicle equipped with an igni-
tion interlock device for the purpose of providing the person an
operable motor vehicle without the necessity of first submitting a
sample of his or her breath to analysis by the ignition interlock
device, or otherwise tampers with or circumvents the operation of
the ignition interlock device. Except as provided in s. 343.301 (3)
(b), if the occupational license restricts the applicant’s operation
to a vehicle that is equipped with an ignition interlock device, the
applicant shall be liable for the reasonable costs of equipping the
vehicle with the ignition interlock device. This subdivision does
not apply to an applicant who is subject to an order under s.
342301 (1g) (am) 2. while the applicant is participating in a pro-
gram designated in the order, unless he or she is also subject to an
order under s. 343.301 (1g) (am) I.

NOTE: Subd. 3. is shown as amended eff. 10—2-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 389, Prior
to 10-2-16 it reads:

3. The occupational license of the applicant shall restrict the applkant‘s
operation under the ional license to vehicles that are equipped with a
functioning ignition interlock device if the court has ordered under s. 343.301
(1g) that the person's operating prlulegt.' for Class D vehicles be restricted to
operating vehicles that are equipped with an ignition interlock deviee or has
ordered under s. 346,65 (6) (a) 1., 1999 stnls.. that the motor \-ehlcle owned by
the person and used in the viol proper refusal be equipped with an
ignition interlock device. A person to whum a restriction nnder this subdmsmn
applies violates that restriction if he or she ar an i
interlock device, requests or permits another to blow into an ignition mtl:rlock
device or to start a motor vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device for
the purpose of providing the person an operable motor vehicle without the neces-
sity of first submitting a sample of his or her breath to analysis by the ignition
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interlock device, or otherwise tampers with or circumvents the operation of the
ignition interlock device. Except as provided in s. 343.301 (3) (b), if the occupa-
tional license restricts the applicant’s operation to a vehicle that is equipped with
an ignition interlock device, the applicant shall be liable for the reasonable costs
of equipping the vehicle with the ignition interlock device,

(b) Limitations. Occupational licenses are subject to the limi-
tations specified in ss. 343.30 (1q) (b) and (h), 343.305 (8) (d) and
(10) (b) and (em), 343.31 (3m), 343.32 (Im), 767.73 and 961.50,

(6) FeE. No person may file an application for an occupational
license under sub. (1) unless he or she first pays to the department
the fees specified in s. 343.21 (1) (k) and (n).

(7) DEPARTMENT TO ISSUE OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE. (b) Subject
to s. 343.165 (5), the department shall issue an occupational
license as soon as practicable upon receipt of an application to the
department under sub. (1) or an order from a court under sub. (4)
ors. 351.07 for such a license, if the department determines that
the applicant is eligible under sub. (2).

(c) Ifthe person is disqualified under s. 343.315 but otherwise
eligible under sub. (2}, the department shall issue an occupational
license authorizing operation only of vehicles other than commer-
cial motor vehicles.

(cm) If the occupational license includes the restriction speci-
fied in sub. (5) (a) 3., the department shall not issue the occupa-
tional license until the applicant provides evidence satisfactory to
the department that any motor vehicle that the applicant will be
permitted to operate has been equipped with a functioning ignition
interlock device.

(d) An occupational license issued by the department under
this subsection shall be in the form of a license that includes a
photograph described in s. 343.14 (3), unless the exception under
s. 343.14 (3m) applies.

NOTE: Par. (d) is shown as amended eff. 6-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 77. Prior
to 6-1-16 it reads:

(d) An occupational license issued by the department under this subsection
shall be in the form of a license that includes a photograph described in s 343,14
(3), unless the exception under s, 343.14 (3m) applies, and any special restrictions
cards under s, 343,17 (4). The license shall clearly indicate that restrictions on
a special restrictions card apply and that the special restrictions card is part of
the person’s license.

(¢) The occupational license issued by the department shall
contain the restrictions required by sub. (5). The occupational
license authorizes the licensee to operate a motor vehicle only
when that operation is an essential part of the licensee’s occupa-
tion or trade. If the department determines that the applicant is eli-
gible under sub. (2), the department may impose such conditions
and limitations upon the authorization to operate motor vehicles
as in the secretary’s judgment are necessary in the interest of pub-
lic safety and welfare, including reexamination of the person’s
qualifications to operate a motor vehicle or a particular type
thereof, The department may limit such authorization to include,
without limitation, the operation of particular vehicles, particular
kinds of operation and particular traffic conditions.

(0 The expiration date of the occupational license is the 2nd
working day after the date of termination of the period of revoca-
tion or suspension as provided by law, or the expiration date deter-
mined under s. 343.20 (1m), whichever is earlier. The occupa-
tional license may be revoked, suspended or canceled before
termination of that period. An occupational license is not renew-
able when it expires. If an occupational license expires and is not
revoked, suspended or canceled, the licensee may obtain a new
license upon that expiration but only if he or she complies with the
conditions specified in 5. 343.38. Revocation, suspension or can-
cellation of an occupational license has the same effect as revoca-
tion, suspension or cancellation of any other license.

(8) VIOLATION OF RESTRICTIONS. Any person who violates a
restriction on an occupational license as to hours of the day, area,
routes or purpose of travel, vehicles allowed to be operated, use
of an ignition interlock device, sobriety or use of alcohol, con-
trolled substances or controlled substance analogs shall be:
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(a) Prosecuted under s. 34344 (1) (a) if the occupational
license was issued while the person’s operating privilege was sus-
pended.

(b) Prosecuted under s. 343.44 (1) (b) if the occupational
license was issued while the person’s operating privilege was
revoked.

(9) Notice. The department shall inform a person whose
operating privilege is revoked or suspended under this chapter of
his or her right to apply to the department for issuance of an occu-
pational license under this section,

History: 1973 c. 90, 218; 1975 ¢. 207; 1977 ¢. 29 5, 1654 (7) (a), (e); 1977 . 193;
1979 c. 102, 316, 355 20; 195 525, 526; 1985 4, 328, 3; 1985 a. 71,
337; 19870 | 269, 277; 1993 a. 113, 201, 269,
35,84, 237; 1999 0, 109; 2001 a, 16 ss, 3409f, 3409g, 4060hw,
(0, 326; 2005 0. 443 5.265; 2007 a. 20,94; 2009 a. 100, 103;
2011 a.23,32%; 2015 4, 77, 389,

Cross—reference: See also ch. Trans 117, Wis. adm. code.

A court cannot impose restrictions on occupational licenses other than those in sub.
(1), 1987 stats. [now sub. (5) (a)]. State v. Darling, 143 Wis. 2d 839, 422 N.W.2d 886
(C1. App. 1988),

343.11 Temporary license for persons previously
licensed in another state. (1) The department shall not issue
a license to a person previously licensed in another jurisdiction
unless such person surrenders to the department all valid opera-
tor’s licenses possessed by the person issued by any other jurisdic-
tion, which surrender operates as a cancellation of the surrendered
licenses insofar as the person’s privilege to operate a motor
vehicle in this state is concerned. When such applicant surrenders
the license to the department, the department shall issue a receipt
therefor, which receipt shall constitute a temporary license to
operate a motor vehicle for a period not to exceed 60 days if the
applicant meets the standard required for eyesight and, in the opin-
ion of the examiner, is not a dangerous hazard to the applicant and
other users of the highways. The temporary license shall be sur-
rendered to the examiner for cancellation by the department if the
3rd attempt at the driving test is failed and the applicant shall be
required to secure a temporary instruction permit for further prac-
tice driving.

(2) Within 30 days following licensure in this state, the depart-
ment shall destroy all surrendered licenses and report to the issu-
ing jurisdiction that the licensee is now licensed in this state.

(2m) Within 30 days following surrender of a license under
sub. (1), the department shall provide notice to the elections com-
mission of the person’s name and address, the name of the juris-
diction issuing the surrendered license, and the date on which the
license was surrendered.

NOTE: Sub. (2m) is shown as amended eff. 6-30-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 118,
Prior to 6-30-16 it reads:

(2m) Within 30 days following surrender of a license under sub. (1), the
department shall provide notice to the government accountability board of the
person’s name and address, the name of the jurisdiction issuing the surrendered
license, and the date on which the license was surrendered.

(3) Except as provided in sub. (1), the department may issue
a receipt to any applicant for a license, which receipt shall consti-
tute a temporary license to operate a motor vehicle while the
application for license is being processed. Such temporary license
shall be valid for a period not to exceed 60 days. 1f the application
for a license is processed under the exception specified in s.
343.165 (7), the receipt shall include the marking specified in s.
343.03 (3r).

History: 1971 c. 204; 1975 ¢. 64; 1977 €. 205, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 ¢ 273; 1989
a. 105; 2003 . 221; 2005 a. 4513 2007 a, 1; 2011 2. 23, 32; 2015 4. 118,

343.12 School bus operators to obtain special authori-
zation. (1) (a) No person shall operate a school bus without
having first applied for and received authorization from the
department in the form of a school bus endorsement to the per-
son's valid operator’s license.

(b) A motor bus registered in compliance with s. 341.26 (7) and
equipped as provided under ss. 347.25 (2) and 347.44 but not
transporting children for any purpose is not a school bus within the
meaning of this subsection while being used on a highway for pur-
poses other than those specified ins. 340.01 (56) (a) or (am) if the
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flashing red or flashing red and amber warning lights are not used
and all markings on the front and rear of the motor bus indicating
that it is a school bus are removed or completely concealed.

(2) Except as provided in sub. (2m), the department shall issue
or, except as provided in par. (h), renew a school bus endorsement
to a person only if such person meets all of the following require-
ments:

(a) Subject to sub, (3), is at least 18 years and not more than
70 years of age.

(c) Holds a valid operator’s license issued under this chapter.

(dm) Notwithstanding ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335, has
been subject to the background investigation specified in sub. (6)
(a) and does not have a record of conviction or of adjudication of
delinquency or operating privilege revocation that disqualifies the
person from issuance or renewal of a school bus endorsement
under sub. (7) or rules promulgated by the department under subs.
(7) and (8).

(em) Is not, based upon the person’s application, listed in the
registry under s. 146.40 (4g) (a) 2.

(f) Has sufficient use of both hands and the foot normally
employed to operate the foot brake and foot accelerator correctly
and efficiently. Such use may be substantiated by competent med-
ical proof submitted by the applicant.

(g) Has passed the physical examination required. Physical
standards to be met may be established by the department.

(h) Prior to the initial issuance or renewal of the endorsement,
takes and passes a special examination prescribed by the depart-
ment and administered by the department or by a 3rd—party tester
under s. 343.16 (1) (b) to determine his or her ability to safely
operate a school bus. This special examination may include the
examination required under sub. (3). The department may renew
the endorsement without retesting the licensee, except under sub.
(3).

(2m) The department shall issue a school bus endorsement to
a person, authorizing operation of a school bus that is a commer-
cial motor vehicle, only if such person meets all of the require-
ments specified in sub. (2) and, in addition, meets all of the follow-
ing requirements:

(a) Has been or is at the same time issued a valid commercial
driver license.

(b) Qualifies for the endorsement under s. 343.17 (3) (d) 3.,
including passing the knowledge and driving skills tests required
for obtaining such an endorsement.

(c) Passes a knowledge test in compliance with the require-
ments of 49 CFR 383.123 (a) (2).

(d) Passes a driving skills test in compliance with the require-
ments of 49 CFR 383,123 (a) (3). If the test specified under sub.
(2) (h) and s. 343.16 (1) meets the requirements of 49 CFR
383,123 (a) (3), no additional driving skills test is required under
this paragraph.

(3) Notwithstanding sub. (2) (a) and (g), the department may
issue a school bus endorsement under sub. (2) to a person who is
more than 70 years of age if the person meets the requirements
specified in sub. (2) (¢) to (f) and (h) before issuance of the
endorsement and annually takes and passes a physical examina-
tion prior to issuance or renewal of the endorsement to determine
that the person meets the physical standards established under
sub. (2) (). Notwithstanding sub. (2) (a) and (g), the department
may issue a school bus endorsement under sub. (2m) to a person
who is more than 70 years of age if the person meets the require-
ments specified in subs. (2) (¢) to (f) and (h) and (2m) (a) to (d)
before issuance of the endorsement and annually takes and passes
a physical examination prior to issuance or renewal of the
endorsement to determine that the person meets the physical stan-
dards established under sub. (2) (g).

(4) (a) Notwithstanding sub. (1), a person may operate a
school bus in this state if the person is a nonresident holding a valid
commercial driver license with an “S” endorsement and the
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school bus is a commercial motor vehicle or, if the school bus is
not a commercial motor vehicle, the person is a resident of lowa,
Illinois, Michigan, or Minnesota holding a valid operator’s license
and any additional endorsements required by the person’s home
jurisdiction for the operation of a school bus.

(b) The department shall, by rule, establish standards for the
employment by an employer of a person under par. (a) as an opera-
tor of a school bus in this state. The rules may require the person
to meet the qualifications contained in sub. (2), (2m), or (3) and
any rules of the department applicable to residents, except that the
rules shall require the person to meet the qualifications contained
in sub. (2) (dm) and (em). The rules shall also require the
employer to perform the actions specified ins. 121.555 (3) (a) |.
and 3.

(6) (a) Notwithstanding ss. 111.321, 111,322, and 111.335,
prior to the initial issuance or renewal of a school bus endorse-
ment, the department shall conduct a background investigation of
the applicant. In conducting the background investigation, the
department shall obtain from the records maintained by the
department of justice a criminal history search of the applicant.
If the applicant has not resided in this state at any time within the
2 years preceding the date of the search, the department shall make
a good faith effort to obtain additional criminal history informa-
tion from any state in which the applicant has resided during this
time period or from any other applicable federal or state agency.
The department shall record in the applicant’s file specified in s.
343,23 (2) (a) the date on which the background investigation was
completed.

(b) The department may require an applicant for the initial
issuance or renewal of a school bus endorsement to be finger-
printed on 2 fingerprint cards, each bearing a complete set of the
person’s fingerprints, or by other technologies approved by law
enforcement agencies. The department of justice may provide for
the submission of the fingerprint cards or fingerprints by other
technologies to the federal bureau of investigation for the pur-
poses of verifying the identity of the person fingerprinted and
obtaining records of his or her criminal arrests and convictions.

(c¢) The department shall require an applicant for an endorse-
ment under this section to specify on the application whether the
applicant is listed in the registry under s. 146.40 (4g) (a) 2.

(d) Notwithstanding ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335, 4
years after the initial issuance or renewal of a school bus endorse-
ment, the department of transportation shall obtain from the
records maintained by the department of justice a criminal history
search of the person to whom the school bus endorsement is issued
and, if applicable, take action under s. 343.20 (1) (d) 2.

(7) (a) Notwithstanding ss. 111.321, 111,322, and 111.335,
the department may not issue or renew a school bus endorsement
if, within the time period specified by the department by rule but
not less than 2 years immediately preceding the date of applica-
tion, the applicant has been convicted of a violation of any of the
following state laws or any local ordinance in conformity with any
of the following state laws or any federal law or law of a federally
recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state or law of
another jurisdiction that would be a violation of any of the follow-
ing state laws if the person had committed the offense in this state
and been convicted of the offense under the laws of this state:

1. Reckless driving under s. 346.62.

2. Operating a motor vehicle while operating privileges are
suspended or revoked or while the operator is disqualified under
s.343.44 (1) (a), (b), or (d).

3. Second—degree reckless homicide under s. 940.06 if the
offense results from the operation of a motor vehicle.

4. Homicide by intoxicated use of a vehicle under s. 940.09
(1).

5. Homicide by negligent operation of a vehicle under s.
940.10,

6. Injury by intoxicated use of a vehicle under s. 940.25 (1).
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7. Causing injury by operating a motor vehicle under the
influence of an intoxicant or other drug under s. 346.63 (2).

8. Causing injury by operating a commercial motor vehicle
with a prohibited alcohol concentration under s. 346,63 (6).

9. Operating a motor vehicle under the influence of an intoxi-
cant or other drug or with a prohibited alcohol concentration under
5. 346.63 (1).

10. Operating a commercial motor vehicle with a prohibited
alcohol concentration under s, 346.63 (5).

11. Operating a motor vehicle while under the legal drinking
age with a prohibited alcohol concentration under s. 346.63 (2m).

12. Failure to stop and render assistance at the scene of a
motor vehicle accident under s. 346.67 (1) (c).

13. Fleeing from or attempting to elude a traffic officer under
5. 346.04 (3).

14. Operating a commercial motor vehicle or being on duty
time while having any alcohol concentration, within 4 hours of
consuming alcohol or being intoxicated, or while possessing alco-
hol under s. 346.63 (7) (a) if the applicant has been previously con-
victed of any offense under s. 346.63 (7) (a) or any local ordinance
in conformity with s. 346.63 (7) (a) or any federal law or law of
a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state
or law of another jurisdiction that would be a violation of 5. 346.63
(7) (a) if the applicant had committed the offense in this state and
been convicted of the offense under the laws of this state.

(b) Notwithstanding ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335, the
department may not issue or renew a school bus endorsement if,
within 2 years immediately preceding the date of application, the
applicant has had his or her operating privilege revoked under s.
343.305 (10) for refusal to submit to chemical testing or has been
convicted in another jurisdiction or had his or her operating privi-
lege in another jurisdiction suspended or revoked under any law
of that jurisdiction prohibiting refusal of chemical testing that is
comparable to s. 343.305,

(c) Notwithstanding ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335, the
department may not issue or renew a school bus endorsement if,
within the time period specified by the department by rule but not
less than 5 vears immediately preceding the date of application,
the applicant has been convicted of a violation of any of the fol-
lowing state laws or any local ordinance in conformity with any
of the following state laws or any federal law or law of a federally
recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state or law of
another jurisdiction that would be a violation of any of the follow-
ing state laws if the person had committed the offense in this state
and been convicted of the offense under the laws of this state:

. First—degree intentional homicide under s. 940.01.

. First—degree reckless homicide under s. 940.02.

. Felony murder under s, 940.03,

. Second-degree intentional homicide under s. 940.05.

. Assisting suicide under s. 940.12.

. Felony battery under s. 940.19 (2), (4), (5), or (6).

. Sexual exploitation by a therapist under s. 940.22 (2).

. Felony sexual assault under s. 940.225 (1), (2), or (3).

. Abuse of a vulnerable adult under circumstances constitut-
ing a felony under s. 940,285 (2).

10. Abuse of a resident of a penal facility under s. 940.29,

11. Abuse or neglect of a patient or resident under circum-
stances constituting a felony under s. 940.295,

11m, Trafficking under s. 940,302 (2) if' s, 940.302 (2) (a) 1.
b. applies.

12. Sexual assault of a child under 5. 948.02 (1) or (2).

13. Engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same
child under s. 948.025.

14. Physical abuse of a child under s. 948.03 (2).

14m. Engaging in repeated acts of physical abuse of the same
child under s. 948.03 (5).

W00 =1 O LA e b —
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15. Sexual exploitation of a child under s. 948.05.

15m. Trafficking a minor under s. 948.051.

16. Causing a child to view or listen to sexual activity under
5. D48.055.

17. Incest with a child under s. 948.06.

18. Child enticement under s. 948.07.

19. Use of a computer to facilitate a child sex crime under s.
948.075.

20. Soliciting a child for prostitution under s. 948.08.

20m. Sexual assault of a child placed in substitute care under
5. 948.085.

21. Sexual assault of a student by a school instructional staff
person under s. 948.095.

22. Felony exposing a child to harmful material or harmful
descriptions or narrations under s, 948.11 (2) (a) or (am).

23. Possession of child pornography under s. 948.12.

24, Child sex offender working with children under s. 948.13
2).

25. Neglecting a child under circumstances constituting a fel-
ony unders. 948.21.

26. Abduction of a child under s. 948.30.

27. Any felony crime in the commission of which a motor
vehicle is used other than those crimes specified in this paragraph
or par. (b).

(d) Notwithstanding ss. 111.321, 111,322, and 111.335, the
department may not issue or renew a school bus endorsement if
the applicant has been adjudicated delinquent on or after his or her
12th birthday for committing any crime or other offense specified
under pars. (a) to (c) or by the department by rule under this sub-
section within the time period specified under pars. (a) to (¢} or by
the department by rule under this subsection.

(8) (a) The department shall promulgate rules specifying
crimes or other offenses, in addition to those specified in sub. (7),
the conviction for which, or adjudication of delinquency for
which, disqualifies the applicant from initial issuance or renewal
of a school bus endorsement and, for each such crime or offense,
the time period within which the disqualification applies. The
time period may be permanent but may not be less than the time
period specified in sub. (7) (a) to (c) for a crime or other offense
specified in sub. (7) (a) to (¢). The disqualifying crimes or other
offenses specified by the department shall apply notwithstanding

ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335 and shall include crimes under
chs. 940 and 944,
(b) Notwithstanding ss. 111,321, 111.322, and 111,335, the

department may promulgate rules specifying any registry main-
tained by an agency of the state related to a person being reported
or investigated for criminal activity, in addition to the registry
specified in sub. (6) (¢), the listing of the applicant on which dis-
qualifies the applicant from initial issuance or renewal of a school
bus endorsement.

(¢) The department shall promulgate rules to implement and
administer this section, including all of the following:

1. For each disqualifying crime or offense specified in sub. (7)
(a) and (c), the time period within which the disqualification
applies.

2. Procedures for obtaining additional criminal history infor-
mation in compliance with sub. (6) (a) for applicants who have not
resided in this state at anytime in the preceding 2 years. The
department may by rule establish fees for obtaining such informa-
tion that are not greater than the fees charged to the department in
connection with acquiring such information.

(9) Any person who violates sub. (1) shall be:

(a) Fined not less than $200 nor more than 5600 and may be
imprisoned for not more than 6 months or both for the first such
offense.
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(b) Fined not less than $300 nor more than $1,000 and impris-
oned for not less than 5 days nor more than 6 months for the 2nd
offense occurring within 3 years.

(c) Fined not less than $1,000 nor more than $2,000 and
imprisoned for not less than 10 days nor more than 6 months for
the 3rd or subsequent offense occurring within 3 years.

History: 1971 ¢. 213 5. 5; 1973 ¢. 174, 218; 1975 ¢. 19, 199; 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1634
(7 a) 1977 €. 125; 1977 ¢. 1935 175 1977 . 273, 418, 447; 1981 c. 71; 198] ¢. 334
8. 25 (1) 1983 a. 175,459, 480; 19854, 337; 1987 a. 3; 1989 a, 105, 176, 359; 1991

2. 39, 277; 19953 a. 16; 1995 o, 113; 2003 2. 33, 280, 326, 327; 2005 a. 253,277; 2007
n 116; 2013 a. 96; 2015 0. 366,

Cross—reference: See also ch. Trans 112, Wis. adm. code,

Standards under sub. (2) (g) are not exempt from requirements under 5. 111,34 (2)
(b). Bothum v. DOT, 134 Wis. 2d 378, 396 N.W.2d 785 (Ct. App. 1986).

343.125 Endorsements for transporting certain haz-
ardous materials. (1) In this section, ““H™ endorsement™
means an endorsement specified in s. 343,17 (3) (d) Im.

(2) The department may not issue or renew an “H" endorse-
ment to a commercial driver license unless all of the following
apply:

(a) The applicant has submitted to the department documen-
tary proof, in one or more of the following forms, that the appli-
cant is a LS. citizen or that the applicant’s permanent presence in
the United States is authorized under federal law:

1. A U.S. passport.

2. A birth certificate bearing an official seal or other mark of
authentication and issued by a state, county, or municipality
within the United States or by a territory or possession of the
United States.

3. A certification of birth abroad issued by the federal depart-
ment of state.

4. A certificate of naturalization.

5. A certificate of U.S. citizenship.

6. A permanent resident card or alien registration receipt card.

7. Any other proof specified in 49 CFR 383.71 (a) (9).

(b) If the applicant submits proof described under par. (a) 6. or
7., the applicant submits his or her bureau of citizenship and
immigration services alien registration number.

(c) The applicant has passed any knowledge test required by
the department.

(d) The department of transportation has received notice from
the federal transportation security administration of the federal
department of homeland security that the applicant does not pose
a security threat warranting denial of an “H” endorsement or that
the applicant has received a waiver under 49 CFR 1572.143.

(3) (a) Except as provided in par. (b}, an “H" endorsement
shall expire 4 years after the licensee’s next birthday after the date
of issuance or renewal.

(b) 1. The initial period for which an *H” endorsement is valid
is the period from the date on which the “H" endorsement is issued
until the earlier of the following dates:

a. The date on which the licensee’s commercial driver license
expires. This subd. 1. a, does not apply if the licensee renews his
or her commercial driver license at the same time that the “H"
endorsement is issued.

b. The date 4 years before the date on which the licensee’s
commercial driver license expires.

2. Notwithstanding subd. 1., if the period as determined under
subd, 1. is less than 12 months, the initial period for which an *H"
endorsement is valid is the period from the date on which the “H”
endorsement is issued until the later of the dates specified in subd.
l.a.orb.

(4) Within 15 days after receiving notice from the federal
transportation security administration of the federal department of
homeland security, the department of transportation shall do all of
the following:
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(a) Update the department’s records to reflect the notice
received, the issuance, denial, or cancellation of an *H" endorse-
ment, and, if applicable, the expiration date of the “H" endorse-
ment.

(b) Notify the commercial driver license information system
of the notice received and the department’s action.

(c) Issue the “H™ endorsement, if the department received
notice described in sub. (2) (d) and the applicant is otherwise eligi-
ble for issuance of the “H" endorsement.

(d) Cancel or deny the “H” endorsement, if the notice is of a
final administrative determination that the applicant or licensee
poses a security threat warranting denial of an “H" endorsement.

(5) Notwithstanding s. 227.42, there is no right to a hearing on
any cancellation or denial of an “H" endorsement under this sec-
tion.

(6) Notwithstanding sub. (3) and s. 343.20 (1) (a), the depart-
ment may require any person who holds a valid “H™ endorsement
on November 1, 2003, to apply for renewal of that endorsement,
if that endorsement expires after November 1, 2008. The depart-
ment shall provide the notice required under s. 343.20 (2) (b). The
department may cancel the “H” endorsement of any person who
fails to renew within the period specified by the department under
this subsection. This subsection does not apply to *H” endorse-
ments that are issued or renewed after November 1, 2003.

History: 2003 a. 33,

343.13 Restricted licenses. (1) The department upon issu-
ing any license pursuant to this chapter may, whenever good cause
appears, impose restrictions suitable to the licensee’s operating
ability with respect to the type of or special mechanical control
devices required on a motor vehicle which the licensee may oper-
ate, or such other restrictions applicable to the licensee as the
department may determine to be appropriate to assure the safe
operation of a motor vehicle by the licensee.

(2) Notwithstanding sub. (1), the department shall restrict the
commercial driver license of any person to comply with 49 CFR
383,

NOTE: Sub. (2) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, Act 123. Prior
to 7-1-16 it reads:

(2) Notwithstanding sub. (1}, the department shall restrict the commercial
driver license of any person to prohibit the operation of any motor vehicle
equipped with air brakes if the person fails the portion of an examination under
s. 343.16 relating to air brakes or the person’s driving skills test is conducted in
a motor vehicle not equipped with air brakes,

(3) Ifacourt has ordered that a person’s operating privilege be
restricted for a period of time after the person’s operating privilege
revocation period is completed to operating vehicles equipped
with an ignition interlock device, the license shall include that
restriction.

History: 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1654 (7) (a); 1989 0. 105; 2009 o, 103 5. 32; 2015 2. 123,
Cross—reference: See also ch. Trans 112, Wis. adm. code.

343.135 Special restricted operator’'s license.
(1) Issuanck. (a) Except as provided in par. (b), upon application
therefor, the department shall issue a special restricted operator’s
license to any person who meets the following requirements:

1. Is at least 14 years of age and is physically disabled or is
at least 16 years of age.

2. Does not possess a valid operator’s license issued under
this chapter.

3. Pays all required fees.

4. Has passed an examination which includes a test of the
applicant’s eyesight, ability to read and understand highway signs
regulating, warning and directing traffic, knowledge of the traffic
laws and an actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary
and reasonable control in the operation of the vehicle for which the
special restricted license is to be issued. An applicant shall furnish
the motor vehicle he or she will be operating for use in testing his
or her ability to operate the vehicle. The department may waive
the demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable

OPERATORS’ LICENSES 343.14

control in the operation of a moped or motor bicycle as provided
ins. 343,16 (2) (d).

(b) The department may not issue a special restricted license
to a person whose operating privilege is suspended or revoked.

(2) Score. (a) A special restricted operator’s license may be
issued only for the specific vehicle or type of vehicle described on
the license. A license under this paragraph may not be issued to
authorize operation of a commercial motor vehicle or a school
bus. A special restricted operator’s license may be issued only for
the following vehicles:

1. Maotor bicycles or mopeds; or

2. Specially designed vehicles having a maximum speed of
35 miles per hour which the department authorizes to be operated
on the highway.

(b) If aspecial restricted operator’s license is issued for opera-
tion of a vehicle described in par. (a) 2., the vehicle may be oper-
ated only by the following persons:

1. The holder of the restricted license.
2. A person licensed under this chapter who operates the
vehicle for the limited purposes of repairing or testing the vehicle.

(3) DesiGN oF LICENSE. The special restricted license shall be
of the same size and general design of the operator’s license,
except that it shall bear the words “SPECIAL RESTRICTED
LICENSE". The information on the license shall be the same as
specified under s. 343.17 (3) and the holder may affix a decal
thereto as provided in s. 343,175 (3). All restrictions imposed
under sub. (6) shall be listed on the license or on an attachment
thereto.

(4) PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS. The department may set such
physical standards as it deems necessary for eligibility for licens-
ing under this section. The standards shall include a vision stan-
dard.

(5) ExaminaTioN. The department may require an applicant
to submit to a medical examination to determine whether the
applicant meets the standards set under sub. (4). The applicant
shall pay the cost of any such examination.

(6) RestricTioNs. The department may impose such restric-
tions as it deems necessary on any license issued under this sec-
tion. Such restrictions may include, but are not limited to, the type
of vehicle, special equipment, time of day of operation, and spe-
cific geographic areas and streets or routes of travel. A vehicle
operated under this section shall display a slow moving vehicle
emblem as required under 5. 347.245,

(7) EXPIRATION; RENEWAL. A special restricted operator’s
license issued under this section shall expire 2 years afler the date
of issuance. Within 90 days prior to the expiration of a license, the
holder of the restricted license may renew the license by paying
all required fees and passing the examination under sub. (1) (a) 4.

History: 1979 c. 345; 1981 c. 138; 1983 a. 243; 1989 a. 105; 2007 a. 20.
Cross—reference: See also ch. Trans 112, Wis. adm. code,

343.14 Application for license. (1) Every application to
the department for a license or identification card or for renewal
thereof shall be made upon the appropriate form furnished by the
department and shall be accompanied by all required fees. Not-
withstanding s. 343,50 (8) (b), names, addresses, license numbers,
and social security numbers obtained by the department under this
subsection shall be provided to the department of revenue for the
purpose of administering ss. 71.93 and 71.935 and state taxes and
to the department of workforce development for the sole purpose
of enforcing or administering s. 108.22.

(2) The forms for application shall be determined by the
department and shall include:

(a) The full legal name and principal residence address of the
applicant;

(b) The applicant’s date of birth, color of eves, color of hair,
sex, height, weight and race;
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(bm) Except as provided in par. (br), the applicant’s social
security number.

(br) If the applicant does not have a social security number, a
statement made or subscribed under oath or affirmation that the
applicant does not have a social security number and is not eligible
for a social security number. The statement shall provide the basis
or reason that the applicant is not eligible for a social security
number, as well as any information requested by the department
that may be needed by the department for purposes of verification
under s. 343.165 (1) (¢). The form of the statement shall be pre-
scribed by the department, with the assistance of the department
of children and families. A license that is issued or renewed under
s. 343,17 in reliance on a statement submitted under this para-
graph is invalid if the statement is false.

(c) A statement as to whether the applicant has heretofore been
licensed as an operator of any motor vehicle and, if so, when and
by what jurisdiction;

(d) Whether any previous license or operating privilege has
ever been suspended or revoked or whether application has ever
been refused and, if so, the date and place of such suspension,
revocation or refusal;

(e) If'the application is made by a person under 18 years of age,
documentary proof that the applicant is enrolled in a school pro-
gram or high school equivalency program and is not a habitual
truant as defined in s. 118.16 (1) (a), has graduated from high
school or been granted a declaration of high school graduation
equivalency or is enrolled in a home—based private educational
program, as defined ins. 115.001 (32). For purposes of this para-
graph, “documentary proof™ means the signature and verification
of an adult sponsor as provided in s. 343.15 (1) or the applicant as
provided ins. 343.15 (4) (b);

(em) If the application is made by a male who is at least 18
vears of age but less than 26 years of age, the form shall notify the
applicant that, by submitting the application to the department, the
applicant gives his consent to be registered, if required by federal
law, with the selective service system and that he authorizes the
department to forward information to the selective service system
under s. 343.234.

(es) Subjecttosub. (2g) (a) 2. d. and 5. 343.125 (2) (a) and (b),
valid documentary proof that the individual is a citizen or national
of the United States or an alien lawfully admitted for permanent
or temporary residence in the United States or has any of the fol-
lowing:

1. Conditional permanent resident status in the United States.

2. A valid, unexpired nonimmigrant visa or nonimmigrant
visa status for entry into the United States.

3. An approved application for asylum in the United States or
has entered into the United States in refugee status.

4. A pending application for asylum in the United States.

5. A pending or approved application for temporary protected
status in the United States.

6. Approved deferred action status.

7. A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an
alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United
States or conditional permanent resident status in the United
States.

() Subject to s. 343.165 (1), such further information as the
department considers appropriate to identify the applicant,
including biometric data, and such information as the department
may reasonably require to enable it to determine whether the
applicant is by law entitled to the license applied for;

(2) A question as to whether the applicant wishes to include his
or her name as a donor of an anatomical gift in the record of poten-
tial donors maintained by the department. The form shall indicate
the following:

1. The applicant is not required to respond to the question
under this paragraph in order to obtain a license.

Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats. 16

2. The purpose of maintaining the record of potential donors
is to facilitate the determination of whether a person is a potential
donor in the event of his or her death.

3. An affirmative response to the question under this para-
graph does not in itself authorize an anatomical gifi. To authorize
an anatomical gift, an applicant shall comply with s. 157.06 or
343,175 (2);

(gh) A question as to whether the applicant wishes to designate
an additional $2 to support the efforts of Donate Life Wisconsin
for the purposes described under s. 250,17 (1).

(h) A certification by the applicant that the motor vehicle in
which the person takes the driving skills test is a representative
vehicle of the vehicle group that the person operates or expects to
operate; and

(i) A certification by the applicant for a commercial driver
license that he or she either:

1. Meets all of the driver qualifications contained in either 49
CFR 391 or in an alternative federally approved driver qualifica-
tion program established by the department by rule. The depart-
ment may require the applicant to show the medical certificate of
physical examination required by 49 CFR 391.43; or

2. Meets all of the driver qualifications for drivers in intrastate
commerce as established by the department by rule and is apply-
ing for a commercial driver license valid only in this state for non-
interstate operation.

NOTE: Par. (i} is renumbered par. (im) Im. and amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015
Wis. Act 123,

(im) In addition to the information required under this subsec-
tion, the application form for a commercial driver license shall
include all of the following:

NOTE: Par. (im) (intro.) is created eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, Act 123,

Im. A certification by the applicant that he or she either:

a. Meets all of the driver qualifications contained in either 49
CFR 391 or in an alternative federally approved driver qualifica-
tion program established by the department by rule. The depart-
ment may require the applicant to show the medical certificate of
physical examination required by 49 CFR 391.43; or

b. Subject to s. 343.065 (1) (h), meets all of the driver qualifi-
cations for drivers in intrastate commerce as established by the
department by rule and is applying for a commercial driver license
valid only in this state for noninterstate operation.

NOTE: Subd. Im. is shown as renumbered from par. (i) and amended eff.
7-1-16by 2015 Wis. Act 123.

2m. a. Notwithstanding par. (¢s), if the person is applying for
a commercial driver license other than a license under s. 343.03
(3m), acceptable proof under 49 CFR 383.71 (b) (9) that the indi-
vidual is a citizen or national of the United States or an alien law-
fully admitted for permanent residence in the United States.

NOTE: Subdpar. a. is created eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, Act 123,

b. Notwithstanding par. (es), if the person is applying for a
commercial driver license under s. 343.03 (3m), acceptable docu-
mentation under 49 CFR 383.71 (D) (2) (i).

NOTE: Subdpar. b. is created eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, At 123,

(j) A statement as to whether the applicant is a veteran, as
defined in s. 45.01 (12), and, if so, whether the applicant wishes
to have his or her veteran status indicated on the license or identifi-
cation card. 1fthe applicant has indicated that he or she is a veteran
and wishes to have his or her veteran status indicated on the
license or identification card, the applicant shall provide verifica-
tion from the department of veterans affairs or a county veterans
service officer that the applicant is a veteran.

(2g) (a) Notwithstanding ss. [11.321, 111.322, and 111.335
and any other provision of law, in addition to the information
required under sub. (2), the application form for an “H” endorse-
ment specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) I m. shall include all of the infor-
mation and statements required under 49 CFR 1572.5 (e), includ-
ing all of the following:

1. The list of disqualifying felony criminal offenses specified
in 49 CFR 1572.103 (b).
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(bm) Except as provided in par. (br), the applicant’s social
security number.

(br) If the applicant does not have a social security number, a
statement made or subscribed under oath or affirmation that the
applicant does not have a social security number and is not eligible
for a social security number. The statement shall provide the basis
or reason that the applicant is not eligible for a social security
number, as well as any information requested by the department
that may be needed by the department for purposes of verification
under s. 343,165 (1) (¢). The form of the statement shall be pre-
scribed by the department, with the assistance of the department
of children and families. A license that is issued or renewed under
s. 343.17 in reliance on a statement submitted under this para-
graph is invalid if the statement is false.

(c) A statement as to whether the applicant has heretofore been
licensed as an operator of any motor vehicle and, if so, when and
by what jurisdiction;

(d) Whether any previous license or operating privilege has
ever been suspended or revoked or whether application has ever
been refused and, if so, the date and place of such suspension,
revocation or refusal;

(e) If the application is made by a person under 18 years of age,
documentary proof that the applicant is enrolled in a school pro-
gram or high school equivalency program and is not a habitual
truant as defined in s. 118.16 (1) (a), has graduated from high
school or been granted a declaration of high school graduation
equivalency or is enrolled in a home—based private educational
program, as defined ins. 115.001 (3z). For purposes of this para-
graph, “documentary proof” means the signature and verification
of an adult sponsor as provided ins. 343,15 (1) or the applicant as
provided ins. 343.15 (4) (b);

(em) If the application is made by a male who is at least I8
vears of age but less than 26 years of age, the form shall notify the
applicant that, by submitting the application to the department, the
applicant gives his consent to be registered, if required by federal
law, with the selective service system and that he authorizes the
department to forward information to the selective service system
under s. 343.234.

(es) Subject to sub. (2g) (a) 2. d. and 5. 343.125 (2) (a) and (b),
valid documentary proof that the individual is a citizen or national
of the United States or an alien lawfully admitted for permanent
or temporary residence in the United States or has any of the fol-
lowing:

1. Conditional permanent resident status in the United States.

2. A valid, unexpired nonimmigrant visa or nonimmigrant
visa status for entry into the United States.

3. An approved application for asylum in the United States or
has entered into the United States in refugee status.

4. A pending application for asylum in the United States.

5. A pending or approved application for temporary protected
status in the United States.

6. Approved deferred action status.

7. A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an
alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence in the United
States or conditional permanent resident status in the United
States.

(f) Subject to s. 343.165 (1), such further information as the
department considers appropriate to identify the applicant,
including biometric data, and such information as the department
may reasonably require to enable it to determine whether the
applicant is by law entitled to the license applied for;

(g) A question as to whether the applicant wishes to include his
or her name as a donor of an anatomical gift in the record of poten-
tial donors maintained by the department. The form shall indicate
the following:

1. The applicant is not required to respond to the question
under this paragraph in order to obtain a license.

Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats. 16

2. The purpose of maintaining the record of potential donors
is to facilitate the determination of whether a person is a potential
donor in the event of his or her death.

3. An affirmative response to the question under this para-
graph does not in itself authorize an anatomical gifi. To authorize
an anatomical gift, an applicant shall comply with s. 157.06 or
343.175 (2);

(gh) A question as to whether the applicant wishes to designate
an additional $2 to support the efforts of Donate Life Wisconsin
for the purposes described under s. 250,17 (1).

(h) A certification by the applicant that the motor vehicle in
which the person takes the driving skills test is a representative
vehicle of the vehicle group that the person operates or expects to
operate; and

(i) A certification by the applicant for a commercial driver
license that he or she either:

1. Meets all of the driver qualifications contained in either 49
CFR 391 or in an alternative federally approved driver qualifica-
tion program established by the department by rule. The depart-
ment may require the applicant to show the medical certificate of
physical examination required by 49 CFR 391 .43; or

2. Meets all of the driver qualifications for drivers in intrastate
commerce as established by the department by rule and is apply-
ing for a commercial driver license valid only in this state for non-
interstate operation.

NOTE: Par. (i) is renumbered par. (im) Im. and amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015
Wis. Aet 123,

(im) In addition to the information required under this subsec-
tion, the application form for a commercial driver license shall
include all of the following:

NOTE: Par. (im) (intro.) is created eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123,

Im. A certification by the applicant that he or she either:

a. Meets all of the driver qualifications contained in either 49
CFR 391 or in an alternative federally approved driver qualifica-
tion program established by the department by rule. The depart-
ment may require the applicant to show the medical certificate of
physical examination required by 49 CFR 391 .43; or

b. Subject to s. 343.065 (1) (b), meets all of the driver qualifi-
cations for drivers in intrastate commerce as established by the
department by rule and is applying for a commercial driver license
valid only in this state for noninterstate operation.

NOTE: Subd. Im. is shown as renumbered from par. (i) and amended eff.
7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123,

2m. a. Notwithstanding par. (es), if the person is applying for
a commercial driver license other than a license under s, 343.03
(3m), acceptable proof under 49 CFR 383.71 (b) (9) that the indi-
vidual is a citizen or national of the United States or an alien law-
fully admitted for permanent residence in the United States.

NOTE: Subdpar. a. is created eff. 7-1—16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123,

b. Notwithstanding par. (es), if the person is applying for a
commercial driver license under s. 343,03 (3m), acceptable docu-
mentation under 49 CFR 383.71 () (2) (i).

NOTE: Subdpar. b. is created eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, At 123,

(j) A statement as to whether the applicant is a veteran, as
defined in s. 45.01 (12}, and, if so, whether the applicant wishes
to have his or her veteran status indicated on the license or identifi-
cation card, Ifthe applicant has indicated that he or she is a veteran
and wishes to have his or her veteran status indicated on the
license or identification card, the applicant shall provide verifica-
tion from the department of veterans affairs or a county veterans
service officer that the applicant is a veteran.

(2g) (a) Notwithstanding ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335
and any other provision of law, in addition to the information
required under sub. (2), the application form for an “H” endorse-
ment specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) |m. shall include all of the infor-
mation and statements required under 49 CFR 1572.5 (e), includ-
ing all of the following:

1. The list of disqualifying felony criminal offenses specified
in 49 CFR 1572.103 (b).
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2. A statement that the individual signing the application
meets all of the following requirements:

a. The individual has not been convicted, or found not guilty
by reason of insanity, of any disqualifying felony criminal offense
described in subd. I. in any jurisdiction during the 7-year period
preceding the date of the application.

b. The individual has not been released from incarceration in
any jurisdiction for committing any disqualifying felony criminal
offense described in subd. 1. within the 5—year period preceding
the date of the application.

¢. The individual is not wanted or under indictment for any
disqualifying felony criminal offense described in subd. |.

d. The individual is a U.S. citizen who has not renounced that
citizenship, or is lawfully admitted for permanent residence to the
United States, If the applicant is lawfully admitted for permanent
residence to the United States, the applicant shall provide the
applicant’s alien registration number issued by the federal depart-
ment of homeland security.

3. A statement that the individual signing the application has
been informed that s. 343.245 (2) (a) 1. and federal regulations
under 49 CFR 1572.5 impose an ongoing obligation to disclose to
the department within 24 hours if the individual is convicted, or
found not guilty by reason of insanity, of any disqualifying felony
criminal offense described in subd. |., or adjudicated as a mental
defective or committed to a mental institution, while he or she
holds an “H™ endorsement specified in 5. 343.17 (3) (d) Im.

4. Notwithstanding sub. (2) (br) and the provisions of any
memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 49.857 (2),
the applicant’s social security number.

(b) Upon receiving a completed application form for an “H™
endorsement specified ins. 343.17 (3) (d) 1m., the department of
transportation shall immediately forward the application to the
federal transportation security administration of the federal
department of homeland security. The department of transporta-
tion shall also inform the applicant that the applicant has a right
to obtain a copy of the applicant’s criminal history record by sub-
mitting a written request for that record to the federal transporta-
tion security administration.

(2]) Except as otherwise required to administer and enforce
this chapter, the department of transportation may not disclose a
social security number obtained from an applicant for a license
under sub. (2) (bm) to any person except to the department of chil-
dren and families for the sole purpose of administering s. 49.22,
to the department of workforce development for the sole purpose
of enforcing or administering s. 108.22, to the department of reve-
nue for the purposes of administering state taxes and collecting
debt, or to the driver licensing agency of another jurisdiction.

(2m) The forms for application for a license or identification
card or for renewal thereof shall include the information required
under s. 85,103 (2).

(2r) Notwithstanding sub. (2j), the department may, upon
request, provide to the department of health services any applicant
information maintained by the department of transportation and
identified in sub. (2), including providing electronic access to the
information, for the sole purpose of verification by the department
of health services of birth certificate information.

(3) Except as provided in sub. (3m), the department shall, as
part of the application process, take a digital photograph including
facial image capture of the applicant to comply with s, 343,17 (3)
(a) 2. Except as provided in sub. (3m), no application may be pro-
cessed without the photograph being taken. Except as provided
insub. (3m) and s. 343.165 (4) (d), in the case of renewal licenses,
the photograph shall be taken once every 8 years, and shall coin-
cide with the appearance for examination which is required under
5. 343.16 (3).

(3m) If the application for a license is processed under the
exception specified in 5. 343,165 (7), the application may be pro-
cessed and the license issued or renewed without a photograph
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being taken of the applicant if the applicant provides to the depart-
ment an affidavit stating that the applicant has a sincerely held
religious belief against being photographed; identifying the
religion to which he or she belongs or the tenets of which he or she
adheres to; and stating that the tenets of the religion prohibit him
or her from being photographed.

(4m) Subject to s. 343.17 (2), the department shall develop
designs for licenses and identification cards which are resistant to
tampering and forgery and licenses and identification cards issued
on or after January 1, 1989, shall incorporate the designs required
under this subsection.

(5) No person may use a false or fictitious name or knowingly
make a false statement or knowingly conceal a material fact or
otherwise commit a fraud in an application for any of the follow-
ing:

(a) A license.

(b) An identification card.

(6) The department shall disseminate information to appli-
cants for a license relating to the anatomical donation opportunity
available under s. 343.175, The department shall maintain a
record of applicants who respond in the affirmative to the question
under sub. (2) (g). In the event of the death of a person, at the
request of a law enforcement officer or other appropriate person,
as determined by the department, the department shall examine its
record of potential donors and shall advise the law enforcement
officer or other person as to whether a decedent is recorded as a
potential donor.

(7) A person may notify the department in writing at any time
if he or she wishes to include his or her name in the record of poten-
tial donors maintained by the department. A donor who revokes
his or her gift and who has requested that his or her name be
included in the record shall request the department in writing to
remove his or her name from the record.

(9) Any person who violates sub. (5) may be fined not more

than $1,000 or imprisoned for not more than 6 months or both.

History: 1977 ¢. 29s. 1654 (7) (a), (e); 1977 ¢. 124, 360, 447; 1979 ¢. 306; 1981
c. 205 1848r; 1985 0, 227; 1987 a. 27; 1987 & 403 5. 256; 1989 n, 105, 204, 208, 359;
1991 a. 269; 1993 a, 1995 8. 113; 1997 a. 27, 119, 191; 1999 a. 9, §0, 8§; 2001
1, 93; 2003 & 3; 3,59, 126; 2007 0. 20 ss, 3242 10 3254, 9121 (6) (a); 2009
. 180; 2011 a. 23, 32; 2013 a, 17,20, 36; 2015 a. 123,

A notice of approved deferred action status issued pursuant to the federal Deferred
Action for Childhood Arrivals program constitutes satisfactory proof of legal pres-
ence, OAG2-12.

343.15 Application of persons under 18; liability of
sponsors; release from liability; notification of juvenile
violation. (1) (a) Except as provided in sub. (4), the application
of any person under 18 years of age for a license shall be signed
and verified by either of the applicant’s parents, or a stepparent of
the applicant or other adult sponsor, as defined by the department
by rule. The application shall be signed and verified before a traf-
fic officer, a duly authorized agent of the department or a person
duly authorized to administer oaths. A signature and verification
under this paragraph may be provided electronically in a format
designated by the department.

(b) The adult sponsor under par. (a) shall sign and verify on the
application that the person under 18 years of age is enrolled in a
school program or high school equivalency program and is not a
habitual truant as defined ins. 118.16 (1) (a), has graduated from
high school or been granted a declaration of high school gradua-
tion equivalency or is enrolled in a home—-based private educa-
tional program, as defined ins. 115.001 (3g).

(2) (a) In this subsection, “custody™ does not mean joint legal
custody as defined in s. 767.001 (1s).

(b) Any negligence or willful misconduct of a person under the
age of 18 years when operating a motor vehicle upon the highways
is imputed to the parents where both have custody and either par-
ent signed as sponsor, otherwise, it is imputed to the adult sponsor
who signed the application for such person’s license. The parents
or the adult sponsor is jointly and severally liable with such opera-
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tor for any damages caused by such negligent or willful miscon-
duct. The liability imputed under this paragraph is limited to a
maximum total of the higher of the following:

1. $300,000 for all parents or adult sponsors to all parties aris-
ing from any one accident.

2. The limits of any insurance coverage provided to the minor
under the parent’s or adult sponsor’s applicable insurance poli-
cies.

(3) Any adult who signed the application of a person under the
age of 18 years for a license may thereafter file with the depart-
ment a verified written request that the license of such minor be
canceled. Within 10 days after the receipt of such request the
department shall cancel the license. When the license has been so
canceled, the adult who signed the application and the parents or
guardian of such minor is relieved from the liability which other-
wise would be imposed under sub. (2) by reason of having signed
such application, or being a parent or guardian, insofar as any neg-
ligence or willful misconduct on the part of the minor while oper-
ating a motor vehicle subsequent to the cancellation concered.

(4) (a) The department may issue a license to a person who is
under 18 years of age even though an adult sponsor has not signed
the application for license if such person is in one of the classes
specified in this paragraph or in a substantially similar class speci-
fied by the department by rule and if a certificate of insurance to
the effect that such person is covered by a motor vehicle policy of
liability insurance meeting the requirements of's. 344.33 has been
filed with the department. Such policy may be canceled or termi-
nated only after notice as provided in s. 344.34,

1. A person who does not have a living parent.

2. A person who does not reside with his or her parents and
who is a full-time student or earning a living.

3. A person who is a ward of the state, county, or court and
who has been placed in a foster home or in the care of a religious
welfare service.

4. A person who is married and whose spouse is under 18
years of age.

(b) A person who is not required to have an adult sponsor under
par. (a) shall sign and verify on the application that he or she is
enrolled in a school program or high school equivalency program
and is not a habitual truant as defined ins. 118.16 (1) (a), has grad-
uated from high school or been granted a declaration of high
school graduation equivalency or is enrolled in a home—based pri-
vate educational program, as defined ins. 115.001 (3g).

(5) When a citation for a moving traffic violation, under chs.
341 to 349 or under a local ordinance in conformity therewith, is
issued to or a notice of revocation under s, 351.027 is sent to a per-
son who is under 18 years of age and required to have a sponsor
under this section, the issuing or filing agency shall, within 7 days,
notify the person’s sponsor or parents of the violation or notice.
When the secretary suspends or revokes the operating privilege of
a person who is under 18 years of age and who possesses a license
and who is required to have a sponsor under this section or when
the secretary receives notice that a court has suspended or revoked
the operating privilege of such a person, the secretary shall, within
14 days after the suspension or revocation or receipt of the notice
of suspension or revocation by the court, respectively, notify the
person’s sponsor or parents of the suspension or revocation.

History: 1971 c. 45: 1971 ¢. 2135 5; 1971 ¢ 223; 1973 ¢. 90; 1977 c. 29 5. 1654
[Ty (), (e); 1977 c. 273; 1979 c. 215, 333, 338, 985 a. 71; 1987 a. £
a. 105, 244: 1993 4. 162, 363, 446, 491: 1995 a. 100; 2009 a. 28: 2015 4. 5 3

A Pierringer release of a minor did not bar the plaintifis action under sub. (2)
against a sponsor. Swanigan v. State Farm Insurance Co. 99 Wis. 2d 179, 209 N.W.2d
234 (1980),

A Plerringer release of a minor barred an action for contribution by nonsettling
defendants against a sponsor who was not joined in the action by the plaintiff. Jack-
son v. Ozaukee County, 111 Wis, 2d 462, 331 N.W.2d 338 (1983).

Sub. (2) does not violate the constitutional guarantees of due process or equal
protection. Mikaelian v. Woyak, 121 Wis, 2d 581, 360 N.W.2d 706 (Ct. App. 1984).

Parent sponsors are liable under this section for punitive damages assessed against
their child. Evidence of the sponsors” wealth is not admissible for purposes of assess-
ing punitive damages against an underage driver. Franz v, Brennan, 150 Wis, 2d 1,
440 N.W.2d 562 (1989).

Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats. 18

The suspension of a minor's license does not relieve the sponsoring adult from
liability if afier suspension of the license the minor. while operating without a license,
causes injury. Relief from liability can only be had by applying for cancellation of
the license under sub. (3). Johnson v, Schiitt, 211 Wis. 2d 832, 565 N.W.2d 305 (Ct.
App. 1997), 961304,

The scope of parental liability under this section does not extend (o a child's con-
duet distinet from operating a vehicle, The child's shooting of a gun from a car while
driving was outside the ambit of the statute. Reyes v. Greatway Insurance Co. 227
Wis, 2d 357, 597 N.W.2d 687 (1999), 97-1587.

Parents are both liable under this statute when one signs as a sponsor, [t is irrelevant
that one withdrew as the sponsor when the other signed the documents to assume
sponsorship. Beerbohm v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. 2000 W1
App 105, 235 Wis, 2d 182, 612 N.W.2d 338, 99-1784,

As sub, (2) (a) excludes joint legal custody under s. 767.001 (1s) from the meaning
of custody under sub. (2) (b), custody in sub. (2} (b) can only mean the natural legal
custody that married parents share. Because divorced parents do not share that type
of custody, liability may not be imputed to the non—sponsoring parent under sub. (2)
(b). LaCount v. Salkowski, 2002 WI App 287, 258 Wis. 2d 633, 654 N.W.2d 295,
02-0630.

343.16 Examination of applicants; reexamination of
licensed persons. (1) REQUIRED TESTING OF KNOWLEDGE AND
DRIVING SKILLS. (a) General. Except when examination by a 3rd—
party tester is permitted under pars. (b) to (c), the department shall
examine every applicant for an operator’s license, including
applicants for license renewal as provided in sub. (3), and every
applicant for authorization to operate a vehicle class or type for
which the applicant does not hold currently valid authorization,
other than an instruction permit. Except as provided in sub. (2)
{em) and (), the examinations of applicants for licenses autho-
rizing operation of “Class A", “Class B”, “Class C”, “Class D" or
“Class M™ vehicles shall include both a knowledge test and an
actual demonstration in the form of a driving skills test of the
applicant’s ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in
the operation of a representative vehicle. The department shall not
administer a driving skills test to a person applying for authoriza-
tion to operate “Class M" vehicles who has failed 2 previous such
skills tests unless the person has successfully completed a rider
course approved by the department. The department may, by rule,
exempt certain persons from the rider course requirement of this
paragraph. The department may not require a person who is
applying for authorization to operate “Class M vehicles and who
has successfully completed a rider course approved by the Wis-
consin department of transportation motorcycle safety program to
hold an instruction permit under s. 343.07 (4} prior to the depart-
ment’s issuance of a license authorizing the operation of “Class
M" vehicles. The department may not require a person applying
for authorization to operate “Class M" vehicles who holds an
instruction permit under s, 343.07 (4) to hold it for a minimum
period of time before administering a driving skills test. The driv-
ing skills of applicants for endorsements authorizing the operation
of commercial motor vehicles equipped with air brakes, the trans-
portation of passengers in commercial motor vehicles or the
operation of school buses, as provided in s. 343.04 (2) (b), (bm),
(d) or(e), shall also be tested by an actual demonstration of driving
skills. The department may endorse an applicant’s commercial
driver license for transporting hazardous materials requiring plac-
arding or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin
under 42 CFR 73, subject to 5. 343125, or for the operation of tank
vehicles or vehicles towing double or triple trailers, as described
ins. 343.04 (2) (a), (c) or (F), based on successful completion of
a knowledge test. In administering the knowledge test, the depart-
ment shall attempt to accommodate any special needs of the appli-
cant. Except as may be required by the department for an “H" or
“§" endorsement, the knowledge test is not intended to be a test
for literacy or English language proficiency. This paragraph does
not prohibit the department from requiring an applicant to cor-
rectly read and understand highway signs.

NOTE: Par. (a) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123, Prior
to 7-1-16 it reads:

(a) General. Except when examination by a 3rd—party tester is permitted
under pars. (b) to (c), the department shall examine every applicant for an oper-
ator’s license, including applicants for license renewal as provided in sub. (3),
and every applicant for authorization to operate a vehicle elass or type for which
the applicant does not hold currently valid authorization, other than an instruc-
tion permit. Except as provided in sub. (2) (¢m) and (e), the examinations of
applicants for licenses authorizing operation of “Class A", “Class B,
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tor for any damages caused by such negligent or willful miscon-
duct. The liability imputed under this paragraph is limited to a
maximum total of the higher of the following:

1. $300,000 for all parents or adult sponsors to all parties aris-
ing from any one accident.

2. The limits of any insurance coverage provided to the minor
under the parent’s or adult sponsor’s applicable insurance poli-
CIES,

(3) Any adult who signed the application of a person under the
age of 18 years for a license may thereafter file with the depart-
ment a verified written request that the license of such minor be
canceled, Within 10 days after the receipt of such request the
department shall cancel the license. When the license has been so
canceled, the adult who signed the application and the parents or
guardian of such minor is relieved from the liability which other-
wise would be imposed under sub. (2) by reason of having signed
such application, or being a parent or guardian, insofar as any neg-
ligence or willful misconduct on the part of the minor while oper-
ating a motor vehicle subsequent to the cancellation concerned.

(4) (a) The department may issue a license to a person who is
under 18 years of age even though an adult sponsor has not signed
the application for license if such person is in one of the classes
specified in this paragraph or in a substantially similar class speci-
fied by the department by rule and if a certificate of insurance to
the effect that such person is covered by a motor vehicle policy of
liability insurance meeting the requirements of s. 344.33 has been
filed with the department. Such policy may be canceled or termi-
nated only after notice as provided in s. 344.34.

1. A person who does not have a living parent.

2. A person who does not reside with his or her parents and
who is a full-time student or earning a living.

3. A person who is a ward of the state, county, or court and
who has been placed in a foster home or in the care of a religious
welfare service.

4. A person who is married and whose spouse is under |8
years of age.

(b) A person who is not required to have an adult sponsor under
par. {a) shall sign and verify on the application that he or she is
enrolled in a school program or high school equivalency program
and is not a habitual truant as defined ins. 118,16 (1) (a), has grad-
uated from high school or been granted a declaration of high
school graduation equivalency or is enrolled in a home—based pri-
vate educational program, as defined in s, 115.001 (3g).

(5) When a citation for a moving traffic violation, under chs.
341 to 349 or under a local ordinance in conformity therewith, is
issued to or a notice of revocation under s. 351.027 is sent to a per-
son who is under 18 years of age and required to have a sponsor
under this section, the issuing or filing agency shall, within 7 days,
notify the person’s sponsor or parents of the violation or notice.
When the secretary suspends or revokes the operating privilege of
a person who is under 18 years of age and who possesses a license
and who is required to have a sponsor under this section or when
the secretary receives notice that a court has suspended or revoked
the operating privilege of such a person, the secretary shall, within
14 days after the suspension or revocation or receipt of the notice
of suspension or revocation by the court, respectively, notify the
person’s sponsor or parents of the suspension or revocation.

History: 1971 c. 45: 1971 c. 213 5. 5 197] ¢. 223; 1973 . 90: 1977 ¢, 295 1654
(7} (a), {e); 1977 ¢. 273; 1979 . 215, 333, 338, 355; 1985 a. 71; 1987 a.
a. 105, 244; 1993 4, 162, 363, 446, 491: 1995 a. 100; 2009 a, 28; 2015

A Pierringer release of a minor did not bar the plaintifi™s action under sub, (2)
against a sponsor. Swanigan v. State Farm Insurance Co. 99 Wis. 2d 179, 299 N.W.2d
234 (1980),

A Plerringer release of a minor barred an action for contribution by nonsettling
defendants against a sponsor who was not joined in the action by the plaintiff. Jack-
son v. Ozaukee County, 111 Wis, 2d 462, 331 N.W.2d 338 (1983).

Sub. (2) does not violate the constitutional guarantees of due process or equal
protection. Mikaelian v. Woyak, 121 Wis. 2d 581, 360 N, W.2d 706 (Ct. App. 1984).

Parent sponsors are liable under this seetion for punitive damages assessed against
their child. Evidence of the sponsors” wealth is not admissible for purposes of assess-
ing punitive damages against an underage driver. Franz v, Brennan, 150 Wis. 2d 1,
440 N.W.2d 362 (1989),

Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats. 18

The suspension of a minor’s license does not relieve the sponsoring adult from
liability if after suspension of the license the minor, while operating without a license,
causes injury. Relief from liability can only be had by applying for cancellation of
the license under sub. (3). Johnson v, Schiit, 211 Wis. 2d 832, 565 N.W.2d 305 (C
App. 1997), 96—1304,

The scope of parental liability under this section does not extend 10 a child’s con-
duet distinet from operating a vehicle, The child's shooting of a gun from a car while
driving was outside the ambit of the statute. Reyes v. Greatway Insurance Co. 227
Wis. 2d 357, 597 N.W.2d 687 (1999), 97-1587.

Parents are both liable under this statute when one signs as a sponsor. 1t is irrelevant
that one withdrew as the sponsor when the other signed the documents to assume
sponsorship. Beerbohm v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. 2000 W1
App 105, 235 Wis, 2d 182, 612 N.W.2d 338, 991784,

As sub. (2) (a) excludes joint legal custody under s, 767.001 (1s) from the meaning
of custody under sub. (2) (b}, custody in sub, (2) (b) can only mean the natral legal
custody that married parents share. Because divorced parents do not share that type
of custody, liability may not be imputed to the non—sponsoring parent under sub. (2)
(b)., LaCount v. Salkowski, 2002 W1 App 287, 258 Wis. 2d 635, 654 N,W.2d 295,
02-0630,

343.16 Examination of applicants; reexamination of
licensed persons. (1) REQUIRED TESTING OF KNOWLEDGE AND
DRIVING SKILLS. (a) General. Except when examination by a 3rd-
party tester is permitted under pars. (b) to(c), the department shall
examine every applicant for an operator’s license, including
applicants for license renewal as provided in sub. (3), and every
applicant for authorization to operate a vehicle class or type for
which the applicant does not hold currently valid authorization,
other than an instruction permit. Except as provided in sub. (2)
(cm) and (e), the examinations of applicants for licenses autho-
rizing operation of “Class A", “Class B, “Class C", “Class D" or
“Class M™ vehicles shall include both a knowledge test and an
actual demonstration in the form of a driving skills test of the
applicant’s ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in
the operation of a representative vehicle. The department shall not
administer a driving skills test to a person applying for authoriza-
tion to operate “Class M vehicles who has failed 2 previous such
skills tests unless the person has successfully completed a rider
course approved by the department. The department may, by rule,
exempt certain persons from the rider course requirement of this
paragraph. The department may not require a person who is
applying for authorization to operate “Class M" vehicles and who
has successfully completed a rider course approved by the Wis-
consin department of transportation motorcyele safety program to
hold an instruction permit under s. 343.07 (4) prior to the depart-
ment’s issuance of a license authorizing the operation of “Class
M vehicles. The department may not require a person applying
for authorization to operate “Class M"” vehicles who holds an
instruction permit under s. 343.07 (4) to hold it for a minimum
period of time before administering a driving skills test. The driv-
ing skills of applicants for endorsements authorizing the operation
of commercial motor vehicles equipped with air brakes, the trans-
portation of passengers in commercial motor vehicles or the
operation of school buses, as provided in s. 343.04 (2) (b), (bm),
(d) or(e), shall also be tested by an actual demonstration of driving
skills. The department may endorse an applicant’s commercial
driver license for transporting hazardous materials requiring plac-
arding or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin
under42 CFR 73, subject to 5. 343,125, or for the operation of tank
vehicles or vehicles towing double or triple trailers, as described
ins. 343.04 (2) (a), (¢) or (), based on successful completion of
a knowledge test. In administering the knowledge test, the depart-
ment shall attempt to accommodate any special needs of the appli-
cant. Except as may be required by the department for an “H" or
“§" endorsement, the knowledge test is not intended to be a test
for literacy or English language proficiency. This paragraph does
not prohibit the department from requiring an applicant to cor-
rectly read and understand highway signs.

NOTE: Par. (a) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, Act 123, Prior
to 7T=1=16 it reads:

(a) General, Except when examination by a 3rd—party tester is permitted
under pars. (b) to (c), the department shall examine every applicant for an oper-
ator’s license, including applicants for license renewal as provided in sub. (3),
and every applicant for authorization to operate a vehicle elass or type for which
the applicant does not hold currently valid authorization, other than an instruc-
tion permit. Except as provided in sub. (2) (¢m) and (e), the examinations of
applicants for licenses authorizing operation of “Class A", “Class B,
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“Class C", “Class D" or “Class M™ vehicles shall include both a & ledge test
and an actual demonstration in the form of a driving skills test of the applicant’s
ahility to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a repre-
sentative vehicle. The department shall not administer a driving skills test to a
person applying for authorization to operate “Class M™ vehicles who has failed
2 previous such skills tests unless the person has successfully completed a rider
course approved by the department. The department may, by rule, exempt cer-
tain persons from the rider course requirement of this paragraph. The depart-
ment may not require a person who is applying for authorization to operate
*“Class M" vehicles and who has successfully completed a rider course approved
by the Wisconsin department of transportation motorcycle safety program to
hold an instruction permit under 5. 343.07 (4) prior to the department’s issuance
of a license authorizing the operation of “Class M™ vehicles. The department
may not require a person applying for autherization to operate “Class M™
vehicles who holds an instruction permit under s, 343.07 (4) to hold it for a mini-
mum period of time before administering a driving skills test. The driving skills
of for endor authorizing the operation of commereial motor
vehicles equipped with air brakes, the portation of in
cial motor vehicles or the operation of school buses, as pm\-'lded ins 34304 (2)
(b}, (d) or (e), shall also be tested by an ac!ual demonstration of driving skills,
The department may end: an 's cial driver license for
transporting hazardous materials wqalnng placarding or any guantity of a
material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73, subject to 5. 343,125,
or for the of ion of tank vehicles or vehicles towing double or triple trailers,
ns described in 5. 343.04 (2} (n), (e} or (f), based on successful completion of a
ledge test. In administering the ledge test, the department shall
attempt to accommodate any special needs of the applicant. Except as may he
required by the department for an “H™ or “S" endorsement, the knowledge test
is not intended to be a test for literacy or English language proficiency. This
paragraph does not prohibit the department from requiring an applicant to cor-
rectly read and understand highway signs.

(b) Third—party driving skills testing. The department may
contract with a person, including an agency or department of this
state or its political subdivisions or another state, or a private
employer of commercial motor vehicle drivers, to administer
commercial motor vehicle skills tests required by 49 CFR 383.110
to 383,135, examinations required to be administered under s.
343,12 (2) (h), abbreviated driving skills tests required by sub. (3)
(b), or driving skills tests required by par. (a) for authorization to
operate “Class D" vehicles, or any combination of these tests and
examinations. This paragraph does not apply with respect to a law
enforcement agency eligible to contract with the department
under par. (bm). A contract with a 3rd—party tester under this para-
graph shall include all of the following provisions:

1. All tests and examinations conducted by the 3rd—party
tester shall be the same as those given by the department.

. The department, or the applicable federal agency or its rep-
resentative with respect to testing for commercial driver licenses,
may conduct random examinations, inspections, and audits of the
3rd—party tester without any prior notice.

3. At least biennially, the department shall conduct an on—site
inspection of the 3rd—party tester to determine compliance with
the contract and with department and federal standards for testing
applicants for commercial driver licenses and with department
standards for testing applicants for school bus endorsements and
applicants for operators’ licenses to operate “Class D" vehicles.
The department shall also evaluate testing given by the 3rd—party
tester by one of the following means:

NOTE: Subd. 3. (intro.) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, Act
123, Prior to 7-1-16 it reads:

3. At least annually, the department shall conduct an on—site inspection of
the 3rd-party tester to determine compliance with the contract and with depart-
ment and federal standards for testing appli for ial driver li
and with department ds for testing appl for school bus endorse-
ments and applicants for operators’ licenses to operate “Class D™ vehicles. At
least annually, the department shall also evaluate testing given by the 3rd—party
tester by one of the following means:

a. Department employees shall take the tests and examina-
tions actually administered by the 3rd—party tester as if the depart-
ment employee were an applicant.

b. The department shall retest a sample of drivers who were
examined by the 3rd—party tester to compare the pass and fail
results.

¢. The department shall score drivers along with the 3rd—party

tester during skills tests to compare the scoring results.
NOTE: Subdpar. c. is created eff. 7-1-16 by 20015 Wis, At 123,
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4. Examiners of the 3rd—party tester shall meet the same qual-
ifications and training standards as the department’s license
examiners to the extent established by the department as neces-
sary to satisfactorily perform the skills tests required by 49 CFR
383,110 to 383.135, examinations required to be administered
under s. 343,12 (2) (h), abbreviated driving skills tests required by
sub. (3) (b), and driving skills tests required by par. (a) for authori-
zation to operate “Class D™ vehicles.

5. The department shall take prompt and appropriate remedial
action against the 3rd—party tester in the event that the tester fails
to comply with department or federal standards for commercial
driver license lesting, department standards for school bus
endorsement testing or testing for operators’ licenses to operate
“Class D vehicles, or any provision of the contract. Such action
may include immediate termination of testing by the 3rd—party
tester and recovery of damages.

6. The 3rd—party tester may not administer any test or
examination of a person who has received instruction in driver
training from the 3rd—party tester or from any person who con-
trols, is controlled by, or is under common control with the 3rd—
party tester.

(bm) Third—party testing by certain law enforcement agencies.
The department may contract with any law enforcement agency,
other than a local law enforcement agency of a municipality in
which an examining station of the department is located, to admin-
ister knowledge, driving skills, and eyesight tests required by par.
() and sub. (2) (b) and (c) for authorization to operate “Class D™
vehicles. A contract with a 3rd—party tester under this paragraph
shall include all of the following provisions:

1. All tests conducted by the 3rd—party tester shall be the same
as those given by the department.

2. The department or its representative may conduct random
examinations, inspections, and audits of the 3rd—party tester with-
out any prior notice.

3. The department may conduct an on—site inspection of the
3rd—party tester to determine compliance with the contract and
with department and federal standards for testing applicants for
operators’ licenses to operate “Class D" vehicles. The department
may also evaluate testing given by the 3rd—party tester by one of
the following means:

a. Department employees may take the tests actually admin-
istered by the 3rd—party tester as if the department employees
were applicants.

b. The department may retest a sample of drivers who were
tested by the 3rd—party tester to compare the pass and fail results.

4. Examiners of the 3rd—party tester shall meet the same qual-
ifications and training standards as the department’s license
examiners to the extent established by the department as neces-
sary to satisfactorily perform the knowledge, driving skills, and
eyesight tests required by par. (a) and sub. (2) (b) and (¢) for autho-
rization to operate “Class D™ vehicles.

5. The department shall take prompt and appropriate remedial
action against the 3rd—party tester in the event that the tester fails
to comply with department or federal standards for testing for
operators’ licenses to operate “Class D" vehicles or with any pro-
vision of the contract, including immediate termination of testing
by the 3rd—party tester.

(¢) Driver education course. The department may, after con-
sultation with the department of public instruction and the techni-
cal college system board, provide for administration of and certifi-
cation of the results of the test of an applicant’s knowledge of the
traffic laws and ability to read and understand highway signs in
conjunction with a course in driver education specified in this
paragraph, by an instructor in that course. The test under this para-
graph does not include that part of a driver’s examination involv-
ing the actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and
reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle required for
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“Class C”, “Class D™ or “Class M™ vehicles shall include both a knowledge test
and an actual demonstration in the form of a driving skills test of the applicant’s
ahility to it di and ble control in the operation of a repre-
sentative vehicle. The tleparlmcm shall not administer a driving skills test to a
person applying for authorization to operate “Class M™ vehicles who has failed
2 previous such skills tests unless the person has successfully completed a rider
course approved by the department. The department may, by rule, exempt cer-
tain persons from the rider course requirement of this paragraph. The depart-
ment may nol require a person who is applying for authorization to operate
*“Class M" vehicles and who has successfully completed a rider course approved
by the Wisconsin department of transportation motoreyele safety program to
hold an instruction permit under s. 343.07 (4) prior to the department’s issuance
of a license authorizing the operation of “Class M™ vehicles. The department
may not require a person applying for authorization to operate “Class M™
vehicles who holds an instruction permit under s, 343.07 (4) to hold it for a mini-
mum period oflimv.- before administering a driving skills test. The driving skills
li for endor authorizing the uperuhnn of commereial motor
vehicles equipped with air brakes, the portation of p in -
cial motor vehicles or the operation of school buses, as pm\-'ldﬂi ins. 34304 (2)
(b}, (d) or (), shall also he tmed ily an niual demonstration of driving skills.
The department may end s cial driver license for
transporting hazardous maturials un(nng placarding or any quantity of a
material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73, subject to s. 343,125,
or for the npermmn of tank vehicles or vehicles towing double or triple trailers,
as described in 5. 343.04 {2} (a), (e) or {f), based on successful completion of a
ledge test. In administering the ledge test, the department shall
attempt to accommodate any special needs of the applicant. Except as may be
required by the department for an “H" or “8" endorsement, the knowledge test
is not intended to be a test for literacy or English language proficiency. This
paragraph does not prohibit the department from requiring an applicant to cor-
rectly read and understand highway signs.

(b) Third—party driving skills testing. The department may
contract with a person, including an agency or department of this
state or its political subdivisions or another state, or a private
employer of commercial motor vehicle drivers, to administer
commercial motor vehicle skills tests required by 49 CFR 383,110
to 383,135, examinations required to be administered under s.
343,12 (2) (h), abbreviated driving skills tests required by sub. (3)
(b), or driving skills tests required by par. (a) for authorization to
operate “Class D" vehicles, or any combination of these tests and
examinations. This paragraph does not apply with respect to a law
enforcement agency eligible to contract with the department
under par. (bm). A contract with a 3rd—party tester under this para-
graph shall include all of the following provisions:

1. All tests and examinations conducted by the 3rd—party
tester shall be the same as those given by the department.

2. The department, or the applicable federal agency or its rep-
resentative with respect to testing for commercial driver licenses,
may conduct random examinations, inspections, and audits of the
3rd—party tester without any prior notice.

3. At least biennially, the department shall conduct an on—site
inspection of the 3rd—party tester to determine compliance with
the contract and with department and federal standards for testing
applicants for commercial driver licenses and with department
standards for testing applicants for school bus endorsements and
applicants for operators’ licenses to operate “Class D™ vehicles.
The department shall also evaluate testing given by the 3rd-party
tester by one of the following means:

NOTE: Subd. 3. (intro.) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, Act
123, Prior to T=1-16 it reads:

3. At least annually, the department shall conduct an on—site inspection of
the 3rd—party tester to determine compliance with the contract and with depart-
ment and federal standards for testing appli for ial driver li
and with department ds for testing appli for school bus endorse-
ments and applicants for operators’ licenses to operate “Class D™ vehicles, At
least annually, the department shall also evaluate testing given by the 3rd=party
tester by one of the following means:

a. Department employees shall take the tests and examina-
tions actually administered by the 3rd—party tester as if the depart-
ment employee were an applicant.

b. The department shall retest a sample of drivers who were
examined by the 3rd—party tester to compare the pass and fail
results.

¢, The department shall score drivers along with the 3rd—party

tester during skills tests to compare the scoring results.
NOTE: Subdpar. c. is created eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, Act 123,
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4. Examiners of the 3rd—party tester shall meet the same qual-
ifications and training standards as the department’s license
examiners to the extent established by the department as neces-
sary to satisfactorily perform the skills tests required by 49 CFR
383,110 to 383.135, examinations required to be administered
under s. 343,12 (2) (h), abbreviated driving skills tests required by
sub. (3) (b), and driving skills tests required by par. (a) for authori-
zation to operate “Class D" vehicles.

5. The department shall take prompt and appropriate remedial
action against the 3rd—party tester in the event that the tester fails
to comply with department or federal standards for commercial
driver license testing, department standards for school bus
endorsement testing or testing for operators’ licenses to operate
“Class D" vehicles, or any provision of the contract. Such action
may include immediate termination of testing by the 3rd—party
tester and recovery of damages.

6. The 3rd—party tester may not administer any test or
examination of a person who has received instruction in driver
training from the 3rd—party tester or from any person who con-
trols, is controlled by, or is under common control with the 3rd—
party tester.

(bm) Third—party testing by certain law enforcement agencies.
The department may contract with any law enforcement agency,
other than a local law enforcement agency of a municipality in
which an examining station of the department is located, to admin-
ister knowledge, driving skills, and eyesight tests required by par.
(a) and sub. (2) (b) and (c) for authorization to operate “Class D™
vehicles. A contract with a 3rd—party tester under this paragraph
shall include all of the following provisions:

1. All tests conducted by the 3rd—party tester shall be the same
as those given by the department.

2. The department or its representative may conduct random
examinations, inspections, and audits of the 3rd—party tester with-
out any prior notice.

3. The department may conduct an on—site inspection of the
3rd—party tester to determine compliance with the contract and
with department and federal standards for testing applicants for
operators’ licenses to operate “Class D” vehicles. The department
may also evaluate testing given by the 3rd—party tester by one of
the following means:

a. Department employees may take the tests actually admin-
istered by the 3rd—party tester as if the department employees
were applicants.

b. The department may retest a sample of drivers who were
tested by the 3rd—party tester to compare the pass and fail results.

4. Examiners of the 3rd—party tester shall meet the same qual-
ifications and training standards as the department’s license
examiners to the extent established by the department as neces-
sary to satisfactorily perform the knowledge, driving skills, and
eyesight tests required by par. (a) and sub. (2) (b) and (¢) for autho-
rization to operate “Class D" vehicles.

5. The department shall take prompt and appropriate remedial
action against the 3rd—party tester in the event that the tester fails
to comply with department or federal standards for testing for
operators’ licenses to operate “Class D” vehicles or with any pro-
vision of the contract, including immediate termination of testing
by the 3rd—party tester.

(¢) Driver education course. The department may, after con-
sultation with the department of public instruction and the techni-
cal college system board, provide for administration of and certifi-
cation of the results of the test of an applicant’s knowledge of the
traffic laws and ability to read and understand highway signs in
conjunction with a course in driver education specified in this
paragraph, by an instructor in that course. The test under this para-
graph does not include that part of a driver’s examination involv-
ing the actual demonstration of ability to exercise ordinary and
reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle required for
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the issuance of a license other than an instruction permit. The test
under this paragraph may be administered and certified by an
instructor in any of the following:

1. A course in driver education in public schools approved by
the department of public instruction.

2. A course in driver education in technical colleges approved
by the technical college system board.

3. A course in driver education in nonpublic and private
schools or tribal schools, as defined in s. 115.001 (15m), that
meets the minimum standards set by the department of public
instruction.

(d) Foreign license reciprocity. The chief administrator of the
division of motor vehicles may, with the appropriate official of
another country or of a province or other subdivision of another
country, enter into a reciprocal agreement under which this state
and the other country, province or other subdivision agree to
waive any knowledge test and driving skills test of an applicant for
an operator’s license to operate *Class D” vehicles, as described
in s. 343.04 (1) (d), or “Class M” vehicles, as described in s.
343.04 (1) (e), or both, if the applicant possesses a valid license
to operate those vehicles, other than an instructional permit,
issued by this state or the other country, province or other subdivi-
sion. The chief administrator may enter into an agreement under
this paragraph only if the criteria for any knowledge test and driv-
ing skills test required by the other country, province or other sub-
division for those types of vehicles are at least as stringent as the
requirements of this state. The agreement shall specify all of the
following:

1. That the department will issue a regular license, as
described in s. 343.03 (3) (a), to any person moving to this state
who has been licensed by the other country, province or other sub-
division for at least 3 years, who presently holds a license to oper-
ate that type of vehicle, other than an instructional permit, from the
other country, province or other subdivision and who is at least 21
years of age. Notwithstanding s. 343.03 (3) (a), a regular license
issued under this subdivision may be endorsed to permit operation
of Type 1 motorcycles, but may not be endorsed to permit opera-
tion of school buses. The department shall issue a probationary
license under s. 343,085 to any other applicant who holds a valid
operator’s license issued by the other country, province or other
subdivision.

2. That whenever the secretary has good cause to believe that
an operator licensed under an agreement entered into under this
paragraph is incompetent or otherwise not qualified to be
licensed, the secretary may, upon written notice of at least 5 days
to the licensee, require the licensee to submit to an examination
including all or part of the tests specified in par. (a). Upon the con-
clusion of such examination the secretary shall take such action as
is appropriate under this chapter, including cancellation of the
license or permitting the licensee to retain the license subject to
such restrictions as the secretary may order or without restrictions.

3. That the other country, province or other subdivision will
treat operators licensed by this state similarly to how this state will
treat operators licensed by the other country, province or other
subdivision.

(2) TESTING STANDARDS. (a) Rules. The department shall pro-
mulgate rules setting testing standards for commercial driver
license applicants. The testing standards shall comply with 49
CFR 383.71 to 383.135.

(b) Specific requirements. The standards developed by the
department under par. (¢) shall provide that the examination for
persons making their first application for an operator’s license
shall include, subject to sub. (3) (am), a test of the applicant’s eye-
sight, ability to read and understand highway signs regulating,
warning and directing traffic, knowledge of the traffic laws,
including ss. 346.072 and 346.26, understanding of fuel—efficient
driving habits and the relative costs and availability of other
modes of transportation, knowledge of the need for anatomical
gifis and the ability to make an anatomical gift through the use of
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a donor card issued under s. 343.175 (2), and an actual demonstra-
tion of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in the
operation of a motor vehicle. The test of knowledge of the traffic
laws shall include questions on the provisions of ss. 343.30 (1q),
343303 10343.31 and 346.63 to 346.655, relating to the operation
of a motor vehicle and the consumption of alcohol beverages. The
test of knowledge may also include questions on the social, medi-
cal and economic effects of alcohol and other drug abuse. The
examination of applicants for authorization to operate ‘Class M’
vehicles shall test an applicant’s knowledge of Type 1 motorcycle
safety, including proper eye protection to be worn during hours of
darkness. The department may require persons changing their
residence to this state from another jurisdiction and persons apply-
ing for a reinstated license after termination of a revocation period
to take all or parts of the examination required of persons making
their first application for an operator’s license. Any applicant who
is required to give an actual demonstration of ability to exercise
ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor
vehicle shall furnish a representative vehicle in safe operating
condition for use in testing ability.

(¢) Standards. The department shall promulgate rules setting
standards to govern driver license examinations and reexamina-
tions. Such standards shall take into consideration any federal
standards or requirements which may apply.

(ecm) Motorcycle waiver, The department shall waive the driv-
ing skills test of a person applying for authorization to operate
“Class M vehicles if the applicant has successfully completed a
rider course approved by the Wisconsin department of transporta-
tion motorcycle safety program.

Cross—reference: See also s. Trans 129.03, Wis. adm. code.

(d) Motor bicycle or moped waiver: The department may pro-
mulgate rules authorizing a license examiner to waive the operat-
ing skill examination of a person applying for a license to operate
a motor bicycle or moped if the applicant has the physical ability
to operate the vehicle safely. The rules shall ensure that the appli-
cant demonstrates knowledge of the traffic laws necessary for the
safe operation of the vehicle.

(e) Farm service industry employee waiver. To the extent per-
mitted under applicable federal law or regulation, the department
may waive any knowledge test and shall waive the commercial
driver license driving skills test of a person applying for an “F”
endorsement, except as provided under s, 343,16 (5) or (6) (a).

NOTE: Par. (e) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Aect 123, Prior
to 7-1-16 it reads:

(e) Farm service industry employee waiver. To the extent permitted under
applicable federal law or regulation, the department may waive any knowledge
test and shall waive the commercial driver license driving skills test of a person
applying for an “F" endorsement, except as provided under s, 343.16 (5) or (6).

(f) Application by military license holder: 1. In this paragraph,
“military commercial driver license” means, notwithstanding s.
340.01 (7m) and (41m), an authorization from the national guard
of any state, from a branch of the LS. armed forces, or from forces
incorporated as part of the U.S. armed forces, authorizing a person
to operate vehicles that the department determines are equivalent
to those described in s. 340.01 (8) (a) or (b).

2. An applicant for a commercial driver license who holds a
military commercial driver license shall submit to the department,
in addition to the application, the applicant’s military commercial
driver license and other documentation that the department con-
siders necessary to determine the equivalent classes of vehicles
under s. 343.04 (1) that the applicant’s military commercial driver
license authorizes the applicant to operate.

3, Notwithstanding pars. (a) to (¢) and sub. (1) (a), with
respect to equivalent classes of vehicles under s, 343.04 (1), the
department shall treat an application for a commercial driver
license submitted with a military commercial driver license and
other related documentation the same as an application for that
license submitted by a person holding a commercial driver license
from another jurisdiction, except that the department shall waive
the fees under s. 343.21 (1) (d) and (n) for the commercial driver
license and any applicable endorsement, and shall require the
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applicant to take and pass the applicable knowledge tests, unless
the applicant is exempt from, or eligible for a waiver of, these
knowledge tests under 49 CFR 383,

(3) TESTING UPON RENEWAL. (a) Except as provided in s.
343.165 (4) (d), the department shall examine every applicant for
the renewal of an operator’s license once every 8 years. The
department may institute a method of selecting the date of renewal
so that such examination shall be required for each applicant for
renewal of a license to gain a uniform rate of examinations. Sub-
ject to par. (am), the examination shall consist of a test of eyesight.
The department shall make provisions for giving such examina-
tions at examining stations in each county to all applicants for an
operator's license. The person to be examined shall appear at the
examining station nearest the person’s place of residence or at
such time and place as the department designates in answer to an
applicant’s request. In lieu of examination, the applicant may
present or mail to the department a report of examination of the
applicant’s eyesight by an ophthalmologist, optometrist or physi-
cian licensed to practice medicine. The report shall be based on
an examination made not more than 3 months prior to the date it
is submitted. The report shall be on a form furnished and in the
form required by the department. The department shall decide
whether, in each case, the eyesight reported is sufficient to meet
the current eyesight standards.

(am) 1. Ifan applicant for a probationary license authorizing
operation of only “Class D™ vehicles satisfies eligibility criteria
established by the department under subd. 3., the applicant may
apply for the license, and the department may issue the license, by
any electronic means offered by the department. A license may
be issued under this subdivision without a test of eyesight and
without a photograph being taken.

2. If an applicant for the renewal of a license authorizing
operation of only “Class D" vehicles is currently a probationary
license holder and satisfies eligibility criteria established by the
department under subd. 3., the applicant may apply for the license,
and the department may renew the license, by any electronic
means offered by the department. A license may be renewed
under this subdivision without a test of eyesight and without a
photograph being taken.

3. The department shall establish criteria for eligibility for
license issuance and renewal by electronic means under this para-
graph.

(b) The department shall require each applicant for the renewal
of an operator’s license with an endorsement authorizing the
operation of school buses to take and pass the knowledge test
under sub. (1) and an abbreviated driving skills test including, but
not limited to, pretrip inspection, the loading and unloading of
passengers and railroad crossing procedures.

(4) CoNDUCT OF DRIVING SKILLS TEST. (a) An applicant who
holds an expired instruction permit, expired out—of-state license
or who seeks to reinstate his or her operating privilege may drive
a motor vehicle only when accompanied by an authorized license
examiner for the purpose of examining the applicant’s ability to
operate a motor vehicle. Such applicant must be driven to and
from the examining area by a licensed driver. This exception to
the requirement to hold a valid operator’s license does not apply
to the operation of a commercial motor vehicle, For purposes of
examining applicants for a special restricted operator’s license
under s, 343,135, the department may waive the requirements of
this paragraph in any case in which it considers a waiver desirable.

(b) More than one authorized operator’s license examiner or
supervisor may ride with any licensed operator or applicant for an
operator’s license for the purpose of examining the person’s abil-
ity to operate a motor vehicle.

(5) MEDICAL OR OTHER SPECIAL EXAMINATIONS. (a) The secre-
tary may require any applicant for a license or any licensed opera-
tor to submit to a special examination by such persons or agencies
as the secretary may direct to determine incompetency, physical
or mental disability, disease, or any other condition that might pre-
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vent such applicant or licensed person from exercising reasonable
and ordinary control over a motor vehicle. If the department
requires the applicant to submit to an examination, the applicant
shall pay for the examination. If the department receives an
application for a renewal or duplicate license after voluntary sur-
render under s, 343.265 or receives a report from a physician, phy-
sician assistant, as defined in s. 448.01 (6), advanced practice
nurse prescriber certified under s. 441.16 (2), or optometrist under
s. 146.82 (3), or if the department has a report of 2 or more arrests
within a one—year period for any combination of violations of s.
346.63 (1) or(5) or a local ordinance in conformity with 5. 346.63
(1)or(5)oralaw of a federally recognized American Indian tribe
or band in this state in conformity with s, 346.63 (1) or (5), or s.
346.63 (1m), 1985 stats., or 5. 346.63 (2) or (6) or 940.25, or s.
940.09 where the offense involved the use of a vehicle, the depart-
ment shall determine, by interview or otherwise, whether the
operator should submit to an examination under this section. The
examination may consist of an assessment. [f the examination
indicates that education or treatment for a disability, disease or
condition concerning the use of alcohol, a controlled substance or
a controlled substance analog is appropriate, the department may
order a driver safety plan in accordance with s. 343.30 (1q). If
there is noncompliance with assessment or the driver safety plan,
the department shall revoke the person’s operating privilege in the
manner specified in s. 343.30 (1q) (d).

(b) Whenever the department receives the results of a special
examination required under this subsection, the department shall
give fair consideration to the recommendation of the examining
person or agency together with other evidence in determining if
it is in the interest of public safety to issue, renew, deny or cancel
a license. If a license is denied or canceled by the department after
a special examination as provided in par. (a), such denial or can-
cellation shall be reviewed by a reviewing board upon written
request of the applicant filed with the department within 10 days
after receipt of notice of such denial or cancellation. Notice of
denial or cancellation shall be in writing and contain specific rea-
sons. The notice shall contain a statement that the applicant has
10 days within which to file a written request with the department
for review of the department’s decision by the reviewing board.
The applicant shall have the right to appear personally before the
review board, to present witnesses and additional information,
and to be represented by counsel. The department’s representa-
tive may administer oaths, issue subpoenas for the attendance of
witnesses and the production of relevant documents and may
require a reexamination of the applicant. No law enforcement
officer or other witness produced by the applicant to testify on the
applicant’s behalf shall be paid a witness fee nor shall any law
enforcement officer called to appear for the department be paid
any witness fee. A record including the recommendations of the
board shall be made of the proceeding. If a license is denied or
canceled, the applicant shall be given specific reasons in writing.
Review boards shall consist of the department’s representative
and at least 2 members appointed by the secretary from a list of
physicians licensed to practice medicine in this state and a list of
optometrists licensed to practice optometry in this state. Optome-
trists shall be limited to reviewing cases concerning vision only.
In cases concerning mental disability or disease at least one of the
physicians shall have specialized training in psychiatry. In cases
concerning seizure disorders at least one of the physicians shall
have specialized training in neurology. The members of the board
shall receive the per diem and expenses provided ins. 15.08 (7)
which shall be charged to the appropriation under s. 20.395 (5)
(cq). A decision of the department based on the recommendation
of a reviewing board is subject to judicial review under s. 343.40.

(¢) All reports, records or information furnished by or on
behalf of an applicant or licensed operator under this subsection
are confidential and shall be for the sole use of the department, the
applicant or licensed driver, the review board and the courts in
administering this section and are not admissible as evidence for
any other purpose in any civil or criminal action. The applicant
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or licensed driver may give informed written consent for release
of this information to others.

(d) Nothing in this subsection shall be interpreted to require the
release of this information which was obtained under a pledge of
confidentiality and such a clear pledge was made in order to obtain
the information and was necessary to obtain the information.

(6) SPECIAL RETESTING OF LICENSED OPERATORS, (a) Except as
provided in par. (am), whenever the secretary has good cause to
believe that a licensed operator is incompetent or otherwise not
qualified to be licensed, the secretary may, upon written notice of
at least 5 days to the licensee, require the licensee to submit to an
examination including all or part of the tests specified in sub. (1).
Upon the conclusion of such examination the secretary shall take
such action as is appropriate under this chapter, including can-
cellation of the license or permitting the licensee to retain the
license subject to such restrictions as the secretary may order or
without restrictions.

NOTE: Par. (a) is shown as amended eff, T=1=16 by 2015 Wis, Act 123, Prior
to T=1-16 it reads:

(#) Whenever the secretary has good cause to believe that a licensed operator
is incompetent or otherwise not qualified to be licensed, the secretary may, upon
written notice of at least 5 days to the licensee, require the licensee to submit to
an examination including all or part of the tests specified in sub. (1). Upon the

ion of such ination the s y shall take such action as is appro-
priate under this chapter, including of the license or permitting the
licensee to retain the license subject to such restrictions as the secretary may
order or without restrictions.

(am) Ifthe secretary receives credible information that a per-
son holding a commercial driver license committed fraud related
to the issuance of the license, the secretary shall provide written
notice to the person that the person is required to submit to an
examination, including all or part of the tests required under sub.
(1). A person receiving a notice under this paragraph shall, within
30 days of receiving notice, arrange to take the next available
examination.

NOTE: Par. (am) is created eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123,

(b) Whenever the department requires an examination for
renewal of an operator’s license, it shall issue a receipt at the time
of request for appearance for such examination which receipt shall
constitute a temporary license to operate a motor vehicle for not
to exceed 60 days pending such examination.

(7) PenaLTIES. (a) Any person required by or pursuant to this
section to submit to an examination who by any means secures the
services of another person to appear in that person’s place to take
such examination may be fined not less than $100 nor more than
$200 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both.

(b) Any person who appears for an examination under this sec-
tion in the place of another person required to take such examina-
tion may be fined not less than $100 nor more than $200 or impris-
oned not more than 6 months or both for the first offense and may
be fined not less than $200 nor more than $500 or imprisoned not
more than one year in county jail or both for the second or each

subsequent offense thereafier.
Hislory; 1971 ¢. 1645, 83; 1973 ¢ 90, 176 1975 ¢. 36, 199; 1977 ¢. 29 ss. 1436,

ll\ 195, .Mk\ Iq 27,84, 237; 1999 a, T" 140 2

5 a, |87, 253, 466; "nm.l 20,68, 97, 162; 2009 a. 28, 302; 2011 o 2

2003 2 94; 2013 0. 1665 77; 2003 a 3715 1l]|‘| a. 55,123,
Cross—reference: See also ch, Trans 104, Wis, adm. code.

343.165 Processing license and identification card
applications. (1) Subject to ss. 343.14 (3m) and 343.50 (4g),
the department may not complete the processing of an application
for initial issuance or renewal of an operator’s license or identifi-
cation card [January 1, 2013] and no such license or identification
card may be issued or renewed, unless the applicant presents or
provides, and, subject to sub. (7), the department verifies under
sub. (3), all of the following information:

NOTE: Sub. (1) (intro.) is shown as affected by 2015 Wis, Acts 193 and 197
and as merged by the legislative reference bureaun under s, 13.92 (2) (i) The lan-
_gmlgldi_n brackets was rendered surplusage by Act 193. Corrective legislation
is pending.
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(a) An identification document that includes either the appli-
cant’s photograph or both the applicant’s full legal name and date
of birth.

(b) Documentation showing the applicant’s date of birth,
which may be the identification document under par. (a).

(c) Proof of the applicant’s social security number or, except
as provided ins. 343.14 (2g) (a) 4., verification that the applicant
is not eligible for a social security number,

(d) Documentation showing the applicant’s name and address
of principal residence.

(e) Subject to ss. 343,125 (2) (a) and (b) and 343.14 (2g) (a)
2. d., the documentary proof described in s, 343.14 (2) (es).

(2) (a) Subject to sub. (7), the department shall, in processing
any application for an operator’s license or identification card
under sub. (1), capture a digital image of each document presented
or provided to the department by an applicant. Images captured
under this paragraph shall be maintained, in electronic storage and
in a transferable format, in the applicant’s file or record as pro-
vided under ss. 343.23 (2) (a) and 343.50 (8) (a).

(b) Subject to sub. (7), the department shall record in the appli-
cant’s file unders. 343.23 (2) (a) or record under s. 343.50 (8) (a)
the date on which verification under subs. (1) and(3) is completed.

(3) (a) Except as provided in pars. (b) and (c¢) and subject to
sub. (7), the department shall verify, in the manner and to the
extent required under federal law, each document presented or
provided to the department that is required to be presented or pro-
vided to the department by an applicant under sub. (1).

(b) The department may not accept any foreign document,
other than an official passport, to satisfy a requirement under sub.
(1).

(¢) For purposes of par. (a) and sub. (1) (¢}, if an applicant pres-
ents a social security number that is already registered to or associ-
ated with another person, the department shall direct the applicant
to investigate and take appropriate action to resolve the discrep-
ancy and shall not issue any operator’s license or identification
card until the discrepancy is resolved. The department shall adopt
procedures for purposes of verifying that an applicant is not eligi-
ble for a social security number.

(4) (a) Subsection (1) does not apply to an application for
renewal of an operator’s license or identification card [January 1,
2013] if in connection with a prior application [January 1, 2013]
the applicant previously presented or provided, and the depart-
ment verified under sub. (3) or (7), the information specified in
sub. (1) and, if verified under sub. (3), the department recorded the
date on which the verification procedures were completed as
described in sub. (2) (b).

NOTE: Par. (a) is shown as affected by 20015 Wis. Acts 193 and 197 and as

mergm! hy Ihc Ieglslnnvc refertm:e bureau under s, 13.92 (2) (i). The language
SUry ge by Act 193, Corrective legislation is pend-

ing.

(b) The department shall establish an effective procedure to
confirm or verify an applicant’s information for purposes of any
application described in par. (2). The procedure shall include veri-
fication of the applicant’s social security number or ineligibility
for a social security number.

(c) Notwithstanding pars. () and (b), no operator’s license dis-
playing the legend required under s. 343.03 (3m) or identification
card displaying the legend required under s. 343.50 (3) (a) may be
renewed unless the applicant presents or provides valid documen-
tary proof under sub. (1) (¢) and this proof shows that the status
by which the applicant qualified for the license or identification
card has been extended by the secretary of the federal department
of homeland security.

(d) With any license or identification card renewal following
a license or identification card expiration established under s.
343.20 (1m) or 343.50 (5) (c) at other than an 8—year interval, the
department may determine whether the applicant’s photograph is
to be taken, or if the renewal is for a license the applicant is to be
examined, or both, at the time of such renewal, so long as the
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applicant’s photograph is taken, and if the renewal is for a license
the applicant is examined, with a license or card renewal at least
once every 8 years and the applicant’s license or identification
card at all times includes a photograph unless an exception under
8. 343.14 (3m) or 343.50 (4g) applies.

(5) The department may, by rule, require that applications for
reinstatement of operator’s licenses or identification cards,
issuance of occupational licenses, reissuance of operator’s
licenses, or issuance of duplicate operator’s licenses or identifica-
tion cards [January 1, 2013] be processed in a manner consistent
with the requirements established under this section for applica-
tions for initial issuance or renewal of operator’s licenses and
identification cards.

NOTE: Sub. (5) is shown as affected by 2015 Wis. Acts 193 and 197 and as

merged by the leglslahve reference bureau under s. 13.92 (2) (i). The language
was surpl by Act 193, Corrective legislation is pend-

mg

(6) During the period in which the department processes an
application under this section, the department may issue a receipt
under s. 343.11 (3) or 343.50 (1) ().

(7) (a) The department may process an application for, and
issue or renew, an operator’s license or identification card without
meeting the requirements under subs. (2) and (3) if all of the fol-
lowing apply:

1. The operator’s license contains the marking specified in 5.
343.03 (3r) or the identification card contains the marking speci-
fied in s. 343.50 (3) (b).

2. The operator’s license or identification card is processed
and issued or renewed in compliance with applicable department
practices and procedures that were in effect on December 31, 2012
[January 1, 2013].

NOTE: Subd. 2. is shown as affected by 2015 Wis. Acts 193 and 197 and as
merged by the legislative reference bureau under 5. 13.92 (2) (i). The language
LI'! brackets was rendered surplusage by Act 193, Corrective legislation is pen-

ing.

(b) In addition to other instances of original issuance or
renewal, this subsection specifically applies to renewals occurring
after [December 31, 2012] January 1, 2013, of operator’s licenses
or identification cards originally issued prior to January 1, 2013.

N()'i'F Par. (h) is xlmwn as affected by 2015 Wis. Acts 193 and 197 and as

1 by the legish bureau under s. 13,92 (2) (i), The date in
brackets was inserted by Act 193 to replace an indeterminate date with the
actual date, but is the incorrect date. The correct date, January 1, 2013, was
inserted by 2015 Wis. Act 197, Corrective legislation is pending.

History: 2007 a. 20; 2011 a. 23, 32; 2015 a, 193, 197; 5. 13,92 (2) (i).

‘Whao are you? Prove it! The Federal REAL ID Act and Its Fate in Wisconsin. Gary,
Wis. Law. Aug. 2008.

343.17 Contents and issuance of operator’s license.
(1) LiceENSE ISSUANCE. Subject to s. 343,165, the department shall
issue an operator’s license and endorsements, as applied for, to
every qualifying applicant who has paid the required fees.

(2) License pocuMmeNT. The license shall be a single docu-
ment, in one part, consisting of 2 sides. The document shall be,
to the maximum extent practicable, tamper proof and shall contain
physical security features consistent with any requirement under
federal law.

NOTE: Sub. (2) is shown as amended eff. 6-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 77, Prior
to 6—1-16 it reads:

(2) Licesse poCUMENT. The license shall be a single document, in one part,
consisting of 2 sides, except as otherwise provided in sub, (4) and s. 343,10 (7) (d).
The document shall be to the maximum extent practicable, tamper proof and
shall in ity features i with any requi under
federal law.

(3) Contents, (a) The front side of the license document shall
include, without limitation, all of the following:
1. The full legal name, date of birth, and principal residence
address of the person.
2. A photograph of the person, unless the exception under s.
343.14 (3m) applies.
3. A physical description of the person, including sex, height,
weight and hair and eye color, but excluding any mention of race.
4. A unique identifying driver number assigned by the depart-
ment.

OPERATORS’ LICENSES 343.17

5. The person’s signature.

6. The classes of vehicles that the person is authorized to oper-
ate under par. (¢), together with any endorsements or restrictions.

7. The name of this state.

8. The date of issuance of the license.

9. The date of expiration of the license.

10. A space for the sticker under s. 343.175 (3).

11. Ifthe license authorizes the operation of certain commer-
cial motor vehicles, the legend “Commercial Driver License”, a
readily recognizable abbreviation thereof or “CDL".

12. If the person is not the legal drinking age, as defined in s.
125.02 (8m), at the time of issuance of the license, a distinctive
appearance specified by the department that clearly identifies to
the public that the person was not the legal drinking age at the time
of issuance of the license.

13, If the person is under 18 years of age at the time of
issuance of the license, a distinctive appearance specified by the
department that clearly identifies to the public that the person was
under 18 years of age at the time of issuance of the license.

14. If the license contains the marking specified ins. 343.03
(3r), a distinctive appearance specified by the department that
clearly distinguishes the license from other operator’s licenses or
identification cards issued by the department and that alerts fed-
eral agency and other law enforcement personnel that the license
may not be accepted for federal identification or any other official
purpose.

15. If the person is a veteran, has indicated that he or she
wishes to have his or her veteran status indicated on the license,
and has provided the verification required unders. 343.14 (2) (j),
an indication that the person is a veteran.

(b) The reverse side of the license shall contain an explanation
of any restriction codes or endorsement abbreviations used on the
front of the license, in sufficient detail to identify the nature of the
restrictions or endorsements to a law enforcement officer of this
state or another jurisdiction. Except for a commercial driver
license, a part of the reverse side of each license shall be printed
to serve as a record of gift under s. 157.06 (2) (1) or a record of
refusal under 5. 157.06 (2) (u).

(¢) The classifications on operator’s licenses shall be as fol-
lows:

I. Classification “A", which authorizes the operation of
“Class A" vehicles as described in s. 343.04 (1) (a). A driver who
has passed the knowledge and driving skills tests for operating
“Class A" vehicles shall receive a license authorizing the opera-
tion of “Class A", “Class B” and “Class C" vehicles if the person
possesses any requisite endorsement.

2. Classification “B”, which authorizes the operation of
“Class B vehicles as described in s. 343.04 (1) (b). A driver who
has passed the knowledge and driving skills tests for operating
“(Class B” vehicles shall receive a license authorizing the opera-
tion of “Class B” and “Class C” vehicles if the person possesses
any requisite endorsement.

3. Classification “C", which authorizes the operation of
“Class C" vehicles as described in s. 343.04 (1) (¢} if the person
possesses any requisite endorsement.,

4. Classification “D”, which authorizes the operation of
“Class D" vehicles as described in s. 343.04 (1) (d) if the person
possesses any requisite endorsement.

5. Classification “M”, which authorizes the operation of Type
| motorcycles.

(d) The endorsements on operator’s licenses shall be as fol-
lows:

lg. “F" endorsement, which authorizes a seasonal employee
of a farm service industry employer who is eligible for a restricted
commercial driver license under applicable federal law or regula-
tion to operate “Class B” and “Class C” vehicles as described in
5. 343.04 (1) (b) and (c¢) for a seasonal period not to exceed 180
days in any calendar year. This endorsement permits the trans-
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porting of liquid fertilizers in vehicles or implements of hus-
bandry with total capacities of 3,000 gallons or less, solid fertiliz-
ers that are not transported with any organic substance or 1,000
gallons or less of diesel fuel, but no combination of these materi-
als. The endorsement does not permit operation of a commercial
motor vehicle beyond 150 miles of the farm service industry
employer’s place of business or, in the case of custom harvesters,
the farm currently being served.

Im. “H” endorsement, which authorizes the driver to operate
vehicles transporting hazardous materials requiring placarding or
any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42
CFR 73.

2. “N" endorsement, which authorizes operating tank
vehicles.

3. “P” endorsement, which authorizes operating vehicles
designed to carry, or actually carrying, 16 or more passengers
including the driver, except this endorsement does not authorize
the operation of school buses unless the licensee also holds an “S”
endorsement.

4. 8" endorsement, which authorizes operating school
buses.

5. “T" endorsement, which authorizes operating commercial
motor vehicles with double or triple trailers where the operation
of such combination vehicles is permitted.

6. “X" endorsement, which is an optional endorsement that
may be used to indicate that the licensee holds both “H” and *N™
endorsements. The department may not issue or renew an
endorsement under this subdivision after November 1, 2003.

(e) The standard restriction codes used on commercial driver
licenses include:

1. “K” restriction, which restricts a person issued a license
under s. 343,065 from operating commercial motor vehicles in
interstate commerce.

NOTE: Subd. 1.is renumbered subd, Im, eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, Act 123,

le. “E" restriction, which prohibits a person from operating

commercial motor vehicles equipped with a manual transmission.
NOTE: Subd. le, is created eff. 7-1-16 by 2005 Wis, Act 123,

Im. “K” restriction, which restricts a person issued a license
under s, 343.065 from operating commercial motor vehicles in
interstate commerce.

NOTE: Subd. Im. is shown as renumbered from subd. 1. eff. 7-1-16 by 2015
Wis. Aet 123

2. “L” restriction, which prohibits a person from operating
commercial motor vehicles equipped with air brakes.

NOTE: Subd. 2. is shown as amended ef. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123, Prior
to T-1-16 it reads:

2. “L" restriction, which prohibits a person from operating commercial
motor vehicles equipped with air brakes, as required in s. 343,13 (2).

3. "M restriction, which prohibits a person from operating
“Class A" passenger commercial motor vehicles.

NOTE: Subd. 3. is created eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123,

4. “N” restriction, which prohibits a person from operating

“Class A” and “Class B” passenger commercial motor vehicles.
NOTE: Subd. 4. is created eff. 7=1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123,

5. *0" restriction, which prohibits a person from operating
tractor—trailer commercial motor vehicles.

NOTE: Subd. 5. is created eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123,

6. “V" restriction, which restricts a person from operating
commercial motor vehicles without a medical variance.

NOTE: Subd. 6. is created eff. 7-1-16 hy 2015 Wis. Act 123,

7. “Z” restriction, which prohibits a person from operating

commercial motor vehicles equipped with full air brakes.
NOTE: Subd. 7. is created eff. T-1—16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123,

(4) SPECIAL RESTRICTIONS CARDS. (a) When an operator’s
license is subject to lengthy special restrictions or other restric-
tions not described in the standard codes on the front side of the
license, the department shall indicate on the license document that
the license is subject to restrictions contained on one or more sepa-
rate special restrictions cards.

Updated 13—14 Wis, Stats. 24

(b) A separate special restrictions card shall describe the
restrictions, bear the issuance date of the card, specify the identi-
fying driver number of the license to which it applies, and indicate
the number and order of special restrictions cards currently issued
by the department to the person, in the manner *1 of 2",

NOTE: Sub. (4) is repealed eff. 6-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 77.

(4m) LENGTHY SPECIAL RESTRICTIONS. If an operator’s license
is subject to restrictions that do not fit within the available space
on the license document, the restrictions shall be provided to the
licensee in a format determined by the department.

NOTE: Sub. (4m) is created eff. 6-1-16 by 2015 Wis. Aet 77,

(5) No PHOTOS ON TEMPORARY LICENSES. The temporary
licenses issued under ss. 343.10,343.11 (1) and (3), 343.16 (6) (b),
and 343,305 (8) (a) shall be on forms provided by the department
and shall contain the information required by sub. (3), except that
temporary licenses under ss. 343.16 (6) (b) and 343.305 (8) (a) are
not required to include a photograph of the licensee. This subsec-
tion does not apply to a noncitizen temporary license, as described
in s. 343.03 (3m).

(6) RuLES. Subject to subs. (2) and (3), the department shall
promulgate rules setting the design and specifications for the

license document and subsequent changes thereto.

History: 1971 c. 140; 1977 ¢. 29 & 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 124,272; 1979 c, 89, 306,
355; 1981 ¢ 20; 1985 a. 316 5. 25; 1989 a. 105, 298; 1991 a. 26%; 1993 a. 19; 1995
o 103; 1997 a. 27: 1999 0. 9, 140; 2003 a. 33; 2005 a, 126; 2007 a. 20, 106; 2011 o
23,32, 241; 2013 a. 17, 165; 2015 0. 77, 123.

343.175 Organ donor information. (1) DEpARTMENT TO
SOLICIT AND RECORD INFORMATION. As part of every application
for an original, duplicate, reinstated, reissued or renewal license
or endorsement, the department shall inquire whether the appli-
cant desires to be an organ donor. The department shall record the
organ donor response in its file of the person. If a procurement
organization, as defined in s. 157.06 (2) (p), reasonably identifies
a person and requests the information recorded in the person’s file
under this subsection, the department shall promptly provide this
information to the procurement organization.

(1r) DEPARTMENT TO PROVIDE INFORMATION. In addition to the
inquiry under sub. (1), if the applicant is at least 15 and one—half
years of age, the department shall orally state to the applicant that
he or she has the opportunity to indicate his or her willingness to
be an organ donor. Ifthe applicant indicates that he or she is unde-
cided in response to the inquiry under sub. (1), the department
shall provide the applicant with written information that all organ
procurement organizations and the department have together
developed. If the applicant makes an affirmative response to the
inquiry under sub. (1), the department shall request at that time
that the applicant write on the license the information that is speci-
fied under sub, (2) (ar) and affix a sticker, as described in sub. (3),
to the front side of the license document.

(2) RECORDOFGIFT ORREFUSAL. (a) Exceptas provided in par.
(ag), a part of the reverse side of each license shall be printed to
serve as a record of gift unders. 157.06 (2) (1) or a record of refusal
under s. 157.06 (2) (u).

(ag) The department shall print a separate document to be
issued to all persons issued a commercial driver license and make
provisions so that the document may be attached to the reverse
side of the license document along one edge. This document shall
serve as a record of gift unders. 157.06 (2) (1) or a record of refusal
under s. 157.06 (2) (u).

(ar) If the person desires to be an organ donor, he or she may
so indicate in the space provided on the license. The donor may
supply information in the space provided on the license, including
the specific body parts or organs to be donated, the name of the
donee, the purpose for which the gift is made and the physician
whom the donor wishes to carry out the appropriate procedures.
The anatomical gift described on the license shall be signed by the
licensee.

(b) The licensee may revoke or amend his or her gift by cross-
ing out the donor authorization in the space provided on the
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license or as otherwise prescribed ins. 157.06. The licensee may
refuse to make an anatomical gift by so indicating in the space pro-
vided on the license or as otherwise prescribed in s. 157.06,

(c) Persons authorizing gifis of their body parts remain subject
to 5. 157.06.

(3) ORGAN DONOR STICKER. The department shall designate a
space on the front side of the license document where the licensee
may affix a sticker which indicates that the licensee is a potential
donor of body organs or parts for the purposes of transplantation,
therapy, medical research or education. The sticker shall not be
larger than one—half inch in diameter and shall not conceal any of
the contents required by s. 343.17 (3). The sticker shall be of a dis-
tinctive design and supplied to the donor by a nationally recog-
nized organization that enlists donors of body organs or parts for
the purposes of transplantation, therapy, medical research or
education.

History: 1989 a. 105, 298; 1995 a. 446; 2003 a. 33; 2007 a. 106,

343.18 License to be carried; verification of signature.
(1) Every licensee shall have his or her license document in his
or her immediate possession at all times when operating a motor
vehicle and shall display the license document upon demand from
any judge, justice, or traffic officer.

NOTE: Sub. (1) is shown as amended eff. 6~1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 77, Prior
to 6—1—16 it reads:

(1) Every licensee shall have his or her license document, including any spe-
cial restrictions cards issued under s. 343.10 (7) (d) or 343,17 (4), in his or her
immediate possession at all times when operating a motor vehicle and shall dis-
play the same upon demand from any judge, justice or traffic officer.

(1m) A person charged with violating sub. (1) may not be con-
victed if he or she produces in court or in the office of the arresting
officer a license theretofore issued to the licensee and valid at the
time of his or her arrest.

(2) For the purpose of verifying the signature on a license, any

judge, justice or traffic officer may require the licensee to write the

licensee’s signature in the presence of such officer.

(3) (a) Except as provided in par. (c), any person who violates
sub. (1) shall forfeit not more than $200.

(c) If the person is operating a commercial motor vehicle at the
time of the violation, any person who violates sub. ( | ) shall forfeit
not less than $250 nor more than $2,500.

History: 1989 u. 105; 1991 a. 316; 1997 0. 84; 20152, T7.

There is a public interest in permitting police to request a motorist’s license and o
run a status check on the license. State v. Ellenbecker, 159 Wis. 2d 97, 464 N.W.2d
427 (Ct. App. 1990),

Under Elflenbecker, it was reasonable for an officer who stopped a motorist whose
vehicle and general appearance matched that of a criminal suspect to make a report
of the incident, even if the officer had already decided that the driver was not the sus-
pect. For that purpose, it was reasonable to ask for the motorist’s name and idemifica-
tion, Once the motorist stated that he had no identification, there was a reasonable
grounds for further detention. State v. Williams, 2002 W1 App 306, 258 Wis. 2d 395,
655 N.W.2d 462, 02-0384.

343.19 Duplicate licenses or identification cards.
(1) If'a license issued under this chapter or an identification card
issued under s. 343.50 is lost or destroyed or the name or address
named in the license or identification card is changed or the condi-
tion specified ins. 343.17 (3) (a) 12. or 13. no longer applies, the
person to whom the license or identification card was issued may
obtain a duplicate thereof or substitute therefor upon furnishing
proof satisfactory to the department of full legal name and date of
birth and that the license or identification card has been lost or
destroyed or that application for a duplicate license or identifica-
tion card is being made for a change of address or name or because
the condition specified in s. 343.17 (3) (a) 12. or 13. no longer
applies. [fthe applicant is a male who is at least 18 years of age
but less than 26 years of age, the application shall include the
information required under s. 343.14 (2) (em). If the original
license or identification card is found it shall immediately be
transmitted to the department.

(1m) If a license issued under this chapter has been surren-
dered under s. 343.265 and has not expired, the person to whom
the license was issued may obtain a duplicate license upon fur-
nishing to the department the applicable information under sub.

OPERATORS’ LICENSES 343.20

(1) and complying with the requirements for reissuance of a
license after surrender provided under s. 343.265 (2).

(2) No person may knowingly make a false statement or fail
to return the original license or identification card to the depart-
ment upon finding it or fail to comply with any other requirement
of this section relating to an application for any of the following:

(a) A duplicate license.

(b) A duplicate identification card.

(4) Any person who violates sub. (2) may be fined not more
than $1,000 or imprisoned for not more than 6 months or both.

History: 1973 ¢. 218; 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1654 (7) (a); 1977 ¢. 360, 447; 1979 ¢. 306;

1981 ¢. 205, 1848r; 1987 a. 27, 40; 1989 a. 105; 1991 a. 39, 269; 1997 a. 27; |
1. 9, 80; 2001 o, 93; 2007 a. 20.

343.20 Expiration of licenses. (1) (a) Except as otherwise
expressly provided in this chapter, probationary licenses issued
under s, 343,085 shall expire 2 years from the date of the appli-
cant’s next birthday. Licenses issued after cancellation shall
expire on the expiration date for the prior license at the time of can-
cellation. Subject to s. 343.125 (3), all other licenses and license
endorsements shall expire 8 years after the date of issuance. The
department may institute any system of initial license issuance
which it deems advisable for the purpose of gaining a uniform rate
of renewals. In order to put such a system into operation, the
department may issue licenses which are valid for any period less
than the ordinary effective period of such license. If the depart-
ment issues a license that is valid for less than the ordinary effec-
tive period as authorized by this paragraph, the fees due under s.
343.21 (1) (b) and (d) shall be prorated accordingly.

(¢) The department may, by rule, require any person who is
issued an operator’s license that is valid for a period of more than
2 years to demonstrate continuing qualifications to hold a license
under this chapter at 2—year intervals. The rules may include,
without limitation, requiring examination under s. 343.16 (6) (a)
or requiring current medical certification under s. 343.16 (5). The
department rules shall require cancellation or suspension of the
license for noncompliance and shall permit surrender of the opera-
tor’s license under s. 343.265.

NOTE: Par. (¢) is shown as amended eff. 7-1-16 by 2015 Wis, Act 123, Prior
to 7=1-16 it reads:

(¢) The department may, by rule, require any person who is issued an opera-
tor’s license that is valid for a period of more than 2 years to demonstrate contin-
uing qualifications to hold a license under this chapter at 2-year intervals, The
rules may include, without limitation, requiring examination under s. 343.16 (6)
or requiring current medical certification under 5. 343.16 (5). The department

rules shall req ion or of the license for noncompliance

and shall permit surrender of the operator’s license under 5. 343.265,

(d) 1. The department shall cancel an operator’s license that
is endorsed for the operation of school buses under s. 343,12 (3),
regardless of the license expiration date, if the licensee fails to pro-
vide proof to the department of an annual physical examination
determining that the person meets the physical standards estab-
lished under s. 343.12 (2) (g). The licensee may elect to surrender
the license under s. 343.265 (1m).

2. The department shall cancel an operator’s license that is
endorsed for the operation of school buses under s. 343,12,
regardless of the license expiration date, upon receiving a record
of conviction or of adjudication of delinquency or results of a
criminal history search showing that the person has been con-
victed of, or adjudicated delinquent for, a crime or other offense
specified under s. 343.12 (7) or rules of the department promul-
gated under s. 343,12 (7) and (8) after issuance or renewal of the
endorsement or at a time when, if known by the department, the
conviction or adjudication would have prevented issuance or
renewal of the endorsement.

(f) The department shall cancel an operator’s license, regard-
less of the license expiration date, if the department receives infor-
mation from a local, state, or federal government agency that the
licensee no longer satisfies the requirements for issuance of a
license under ss. 343.14 (2) (es) and 343.165 (1) (e).

(1m) Notwithstanding sub. (1) (a), and except as provided in
5. 343.165 (4) (c) and as otherwise provided in this subsection, a
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license that is issued to a person who is not a United States citizen
or permanent resident and who provides documentary proof of
legal status as provided unders. 343.14 (2) (es) 2.,4., 5., 6., 0r 7.
shall expire on the date that the person’s legal presence in the
United States is no longer authorized or on the expiration date
determined under sub. (1), whichever date is earlier. If the docu-
mentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (es) does not state
the date that the person’s legal presence in the United States is no
longer authorized, sub. (1) shall apply except that, if the license
was issued or renewed based upon the person’s presenting of any
documentary proof specified in s. 343.14 (2) (es) 4. to 7., the
license shall, subject to s. 343.165 (4) (¢), expire one year after the
date of issuance or renewal.

(2) (a) At least 30 days prior to the expiration of an operator’s
license, the department shall provide to the licensee notice of
renewal of the license either by mail at the licensee’s last—known
address or, if desired by the licensee, by any electronic means
offered by the department. If the license was issued or last
renewed based upon the person’s presenting of any documentary
proof specified in s. 343.14 (2) (es) 4. to 7., the notice shall inform
the licensee of the requirement under s. 343,165 (4) (c).

(b) Notwithstanding par. (a), at least 60 days prior to the expi-
ration of an “H” endorsement specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) Im.,
the department of transportation shall provide a notice to the
licensee either by mail at the licensee’s last—known address or, if
desired by the licensee, by any electronic means offered by the
department of transportation that the licensee is required to pass
a security threat assessment screening by the federal transporta-
tion security administration of the federal department of home-
land security as part of the application to renew the endorsement.
The notice shall inform the licensee that the licensee may com-
mence the federal security threat assessment screening at any
time, but no later than 30 days before expiration of the endorse-
ment.

(c) Failure to receive notice to renew a license or endorsement
shall not be a defense to a charge of operating a motor vehicle
without a valid operator’s license or endorsement,

(2m) The department shall include with the notice that it mails
under sub. (2) information regarding the requirements of s. 347.48
(4) and information, as developed by all organ procurement orga-
nizations in cooperation with the department, that promotes ana-
tomical donations and which relates to the anatomical donation
opportunity available under s. 343,175,

(3) Any person who holds a valid license and who is unable
to make a renewal application within the period declared by the
department, due to serving with any branch of the armed services
or as a member of the U.S. foreign service appointed under 22
USC 3942 (a) (1) or 3943, may apply for a renewal of the license
at any time during such service or within 6 months after the date
of discharge from such services.

(4) Any license issued under this chapter does not expire on
the expiration date on the license if, on that expiration date, the
licensee is on active duty in the U.S, armed forces and is absent
from this state or is a member of the U.S. foreign service appointed
under 22 USC 3942 (a) (1) or 3943 who is on active duty and is
absent from this state. Any license extended under this subsection
expires 30 days after the licensee returns to this state or 90 days
after the licensee is discharged from active duty, whichever is ear-
lier. If a license is renewed after an extension under this subsec-
tion, the renewal period shall begin on the day after the expiration
date on the license.

History: 1977 c. 29 5. 1654 (7) (a); 1977 ¢. 273; 1979 ¢,
1989 o 31, 105,294; 1991 a_13; 1995 o 255, 446; 1997 o
33, 280; 2005 5. 126; 2007 . 20; 2009 a. 28, 103; 2011 ¢

.55, 123,323,

6; 1981 ¢, 20,42, 71;
2001 2. 105; 2003
2:2013 a, 367; 2015

343.21 License fees. (1) The following fees, in addition to
any driving skills test fee, shall be paid to the department for the
issuance, renewal, upgrading and reinstatement of licenses,
endorsements and instruction permits:
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(a) For the initial issuance or renewal of a license authorizing
only the operation of “Class D" motor vehicles, other than a pro-
bationary license under s. 343.085, $24,

(ag) For the issuance of a probationary license under s.
343.085, $18.

(b) For the initial issuance of authorization to operate “Class
M™ motor vehicles, $12 in addition to any other fees due.

(bg) For the renewal of authorization to operate “Class M”
motor vehicles, $8 in addition to any other fees due.

(c) For the initial issuance or renewal of authorization to oper-
ate school buses that are not commercial motor vehicles, $10.

(d) Except as provided in s. 343,16 (2) (D) 3., for the initial
issuance or renewal of authorization to operate “Class A", “Class
B or “Class C” motor vehicles, or upgrading an existing regular
license which only authorizes the operation of “Class D" motor
vehicles, $64. This fee includes issuance of any “H”, “N”, “P",
or “T” endorsements or “Class D" authorization applied for at the
same time for which the applicant is qualified. Except as provided
in s, 343,16 (2) (f) 3., an additional fee of $5 is required for the
issuance or renewal of any “S” endorsement applied for or
renewed at the same time for which the applicant is qualified.

(e) For upgrading an existing commercial driver license to add
an “H”, “N”, “P”, or “T” endorsement, $5, or, to add an “S”
endorsement, $10.

(f) For upgrading an existing commercial driver license to add
authorization to operate another class of commercial motor
vehicles, $5.

(2) Forremoving a “K™ restriction against operation of com-
mercial motor vehicles in interstate commerce, the same fee as for
a duplicate license.

(h) For removing an “L" restriction prohibiting operation of
commercial motor vehicles equipped with air brakes, $5.

(i) Except as provided in par. (im) or (ir), for an instruction per-
mit, $20.

(im) For an instruction permit authorizing the operation of
“Class M” vehicles, $22.

(ir) For an instruction permit authorizing the operation of
“Class D vehicles, $25.

(j) For reinstatement of an operating privilege previously
revoked or suspended, $50.

(jm) For reinstatement of a previously disqualified authoriza-
tion to operate a commercial motor vehicle, $50. This fee is not
applicable to disqualifications under s. 343.315 (2) (g).

(jr} In addition to any other fee under this subsection, for rein-
statement of an operating privilege previously revoked or sus-
pended under s. 343.305 (7) or resulting from the commission of
an offense listed in s. 343.307, $140.

(k) For an occupational license, 540,

(L) For a duplicate license, $4.

(m) For reinstatement of a previously canceled license or
endorsement, $50. This fee includes reinstatement of any classifi-
cation or endorsement applied for at the same time for which the
applicant is qualified.

(n) Except as provided ins. 343.16 (2) (f) 3., in addition to any
other fee under this subsection, for the issuance, renewal, upgrad-
ing, or reinstatement of any license, endorsement, or instruction
permit, a license issuance fee of $10.

(0) In addition to any other fee under this subsection, $2 for any
person making a designation of an additional $2 to support the
efforts of Donate Life Wisconsin under s. 343.14 (2) (gh) or
343.50 (4). From the moneys received under this paragraph, 90
percent shall be deposited into the general fund and credited to the
appropriation account under 5. 20.435 (1) (g).

(1m) In addition to the fee specified in sub. (1) (a), (b), or (d),
an applicant whose application for renewal of a license or authori-
zation under sub. (1) (a), (b), or (d) is filed after the date of expira-
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tion of the license or authorization shall pay to the department a
late fee of $5.

(2) (a) In addition to the fees set under sub. (1), any applicant
whose application for a permit, license, upgrade or endorsement,
taken together with the applicant’s currently valid license, if any,
requires the department to administer a driving skills test of the
applicant’s ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in
the operation of a motor vehicle shall pay to the department an
examination fee of $20 for an examination in a commercial motor
vehicle other than a school bus and $15 for an examination in any
other vehicle. Except with respect to examination in a “Class D™
vehicle, payment of the examination fee entitles the applicant to
not more than 3 tests of the applicant’s ability to exercise rea-
sonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle. If the appli-
cant does not qualify for issuance of a license, upgraded license
or endorsement in 3 such tests, then a 2nd examination fee in the
same amount shall be paid, which payment entitles the applicant
to not more than 3 additional tests. For an examination in a “Class
D" vehicle, a $15 examination fee shall be paid for each examina-
tion.

(b) The operator shall pay to the department an examination
fee of $15 for conducting the special examination requested under
s. 121,555 (2) (cm), except that if the examination is in a commer-
cial motor vehicle other than a school bus the fee is $20. Payment
of the examination fee entitles the person to not more than 3 tests
of the person’s ability to safely operate the vehicle proposed to be
used under s. 121.555 (1) (a). If the applicant does not pass the
examination for safe operation of the vehicle in 3 such tests, then
a 2nd examination fee in the same amount shall be paid, which
payment entitles the person to not more than 3 additional tests.

(3) In addition to any fee required under sub. (1) (¢}, (d), or (e),
the department may require payment to the department of any fee
established by rule under s. 343.12 (8) (¢) 2.

History: 1973 ¢, 90, 309; 1975 ¢. 5; 1977 ¢. 29 ss. 1459, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 . 273;
1979 ¢, 221, 306; 1981 ¢, 20, 71; 1983 n. 243; 1985 0. 29, 65; 1987 a H
o 103; 199 a. 39; 1993 ¢ 19 1997 ¢ 1999 a. 9; 200
. 20; 2009 4. 28, 100; 2011 . 32; 2013 a. 20, 2015 a. 55,

343.22 Notice of change of address or name.
(2) Whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a
license under this chapter, or an identification card under s.
343.50, moves from the address named in the application or in the
license or identification card issued to him or her or is notified by
the local authorities or by the postal authorities that the address so
named has been changed, the person shall, within 30 days thereaf-
ter, do one of the following:

(a) Apply for a duplicate license or identification card showing
on the application the correct full legal name and address. The
licensee or identification card holder shall return the current
license or identification card to the department along with the
application for duplicate.

(b) In lieu of applying for a duplicate license or identification
card, notify the department in writing of his or her change of
address. This paragraph does not apply to persons issued a com-
mercial driver license.

(2m) Whenever any person, after applying for or receiving a
license under this chapter, or an identification card under s.
343.50, is notified by the local authorities or by the postal authori-
ties that the address named in the application or in the license or
identification card issued to him or her has been changed and the
person applies for a duplicate license or identification card under
sub, (2), no fees shall be charged unders. 343.21 (1) (L) and (n)
or 343.50 (5m) and (7) for the duplicate license or identification
card.

(3) When the name of a licensee or identification card holder
is changed, such person shall, within 30 days thereafter, apply for
a duplicate license or identification card showing the correct full
legal name and address. The licensee or identification card holder
shall return the current license or identification card to the depart-
ment along with the application for a duplicate. If the licensee
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holds more than one type of license under this chapter, the licensee
shall return all such licenses to the department along with one
application and fees for a duplicate license for which the licensee
may be issued a duplicate of each such license.
(4) Any person who fails to comply with any of the require-
ments of this section may be required to forfeit not more than $50.
History: 1973 ¢c. 129, 218, 336; 1977 ¢. 29 5, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 273, 3060, 447;
1979 ¢ 306; 1981 ¢ 20's. 1848r; 1985 . 14; 1989 4. 105; 1991 0. 39; 2003 & 33: 2007
2. 20.

343.23 Records to be kept by the department. (1) The
department shall maintain a record of every application for
license, permit, or endorsement received by it and of every sus-
pension, revocation, cancellation, and disqualification by the
department and shall maintain suitable indexes containing:

(a) All applications denied and on each thereof note the reason
for such denial;

(b) All applications granted; and

(¢) The name of every person whose license or operating privi-
lege has been suspended, revoked, or canceled, or who is disquali-
fied, by the department and note thereon the reason for such
action.

(2) (a) The department shall maintain a file for each licensee
or other person containing the application for license, permit or
endorsement, a record of reports or abstract of convictions, any
demerit points assessed under authority of's. 343,32 (2), the infor-
mation in all data fields printed on any license issued to the person,
any notice received from the federal transportation security
administration concerning the person’s eligibility for an “H”
endorsement specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) | m., the status of the
person’s authorization to operate different vehicle groups, a
record of any out—of-service orders issued under s, 343.305 (7)
(b) or (9) (am), a record of the date on which any background
investigation specified in s. 343.12 (6) (a) or (d) was completed,
a record of the date on which any verification specified in s.
343.165 (1) and (3) was completed, all documents required to be
maintained under s. 343.165 (2) (a), and a record of any reportable
accident in which the person has been involved, including specifi-
cation of any type of license and endorsements issued under this
chapter under which the person was operating at the time of the
accident and an indication whether or not the accident occurred in
the course of any of the following:

1. The person’s employment as a law enforcement officer as
defined ins. 165.85 (2) (c), fire fighter as defined in s. 102.475 (&)
(b), or emergency medical technician as defined in s. 256.01 (5).

2. The licensee’s employvment as a person engaged, by an
authority in charge of the maintenance of the highway, in highway
winter maintenance snow and ice removal during either a storm
or cleanup following a storm. For purposes of this subdivision,
“highway winter maintenance snow and ice removal” includes
plowing, sanding, salting and the operation of vehicles in the
delivery of those services.

3. The licensee's performance of duties as a first responder,
as defined in s. 256.01 (9).

(am) 1. The file specified in par. (a) shall include the follow-
ing:

a. Fora person holding a commercial driver license issued by
the department, a record of any disqualification by another juris-
diction of the person from operating a commercial motor vehicle
for at least 60 days or of the revocation, suspension, or cancella-
tion by another jurisdiction of the person’s commercial driver
license for at least 60 days, and the violation that resulted in the
disqualification, revocation, suspension, or cancellation, as speci-
fied in any notice received from the other jurisdiction.

b. For a person holding a commercial driver license issued by
the department, a record of any violation in another jurisdiction of
any law of that jurisdiction, including any local law of that juris-
diction, or of any law of a federally recognized American Indian
tribe or band in that jurisdiction, in conformity with any law of this
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state relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than a parking
violation, as specified in any notice received from that jurisdic-
tion. The department shall record this information within 10 days
after receipt of the notice.

¢. For a person holding a commercial driver license issued by
this state or another jurisdiction, a record of each violation, while
operating any motor vehicle, of any state law or local ordinance
of this state or any law of a federally recognized American Indian
tribe or band in this state in conformity with any law of this state
relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than a parking viola-
tion. The department shall record the information under this sub-
division within 10 days after the date of conviction.

2. In maintaining the department’s file specified in subd. 1.
and par. (a), the department may not conceal, withhold, or mask
from the department’s file, or otherwise allow in any way a person
to avoid the department’s recording in the department’s file of, any
information required to be recorded in the department’s file under
49 CFR 384.225 and 384.226, regardless of whether the person
has obtained deferral of imposition of judgment, been allowed to
enter a diversion program, or otherwise obtained delayed or sus-
pended judgment or alternative sentencing from a court.

(b) The information specified in pars. (a) and (am) must be
filed by the department so that the complete operator’s record is
available for the use of the secretary in determining whether oper-
ating privileges of such person shall be suspended, revoked, can-
celed, or withheld, or the person disqualified, in the interest of
public safety. The record of suspensions, revocations, and convic-
tions that would be counted under s. 343.307 (2) shall be main-
tained permanently. The record of convictions for disqualifying
offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (h) shall be maintained for at least
10 years. The record of convictions for disqualifying offenses
under s. 343.315 (2) (1, (j), and (L), and all records specified in
par. (am), shall be maintained for at least 3 years. The record of
convictions for disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (a) to
(¢) shall be maintained permanently, except that 5 years after a
licensee transfers residency to another state such record may be
transferred to another state of licensure of the licensee if that state
accepts responsibility for maintaining a permanent record of con-
victions for disqualifying offenses. Such reports and records may
be cumulative bevond the period for which a license is granted,
but the secretary, in exercising the power of suspension granted
under s. 343.32 (2) may consider only those reports and records
entered during the 4—year period immediately preceding the exer-
cise of such power of suspension. The department shall maintain
the digital images of documents specified in 5. 343,165 (2) (a) for
at least 10 years.

Cross—reference: See also ch. Trans |00, Wis. adm. code.

(3) (a) The department shall maintain a file, for each person
convicted of a violation as defined by s. 343.30 (6) (a), containing
a record of reports of convictions of violations as defined by s.
343.30 (6) (a) and suspensions and revocations under s. 343.30
(6). The department may purge the record of any such conviction
24 months after it is reported.

(b) The department record of a person’s conviction for exceed-
ing a posted speed limit shall include the number of miles per hour
in excess of the posted speed limit, as reported to the department.

(4) The department shall purge all of the following from the
file of a person:

(a) Notwithstanding subs. (1} and (2) (b), any record of an
administrative suspension upon receipt of a report from the court
hearing the action arising out of the same incident or occurrence
that the action has been dismissed or the person has been found
innocent of the charge arising out of that incident or occurrence,
except that the record of an administrative suspension for a person
holding a commercial driver license may be purged only upon
receipt of a court order.

(b) Any record of issuance of an out—of—service order under
s. 343.305 (7) (b) or (9) (am) upon receipt of a report from the
court hearing the action arising out of the same incident or occur-
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rence that the action has been dismissed or the person has been
found innocent of the charge of violating s. 346.63 (7) arising out
of that incident or occurrence. In the case of a nonresident, the
department shall also inform the state of licensure of the dismissal
or finding of innocence.

(5) The department shall maintain the files specified in this
section in a form that is appropriate to the form of the records
constituting those files. Records under sub. (1) and files under
sub. (2) shall be maintained in an electronic and transferable for-
mat accessible for the purpose specified in s. 343.03 (6) (a).

History: 1977 c. 295 1654 (T) (a), (c); 1977 €. 273; 1979 ¢. 331; 1981 c. 178; 1983
o 743 1987 5. 3; 1989 a, 31, 105, 13 ); 1991 a. 277; 1993 4. 65; 1995 4. 113, 184,
338; 1997 a. 35, 84, 237; 1999 a. 32, 109; 2001 4. 38, 109; 2003 a. 30, 33, 280, 320;
2007 a. 20, 130; 2009 a, 28, 100; 2011 o 258,

343.234 Department to furnish information to the
selective service system. Notwithstanding any other provi-
sion in this chapter, the department shall forward to the selective
service system, in electronic format, any information on an
application for a driver’s license, permit, or identification card
submitted under this chapter by a male who is at least 18 years of
age but less than 26 years of age that is requested by the selective
service system for the purpose of registering the applicant with the
selective service system. This section does not apply if the selec-
tive service system does not register applicants with the selective
service system on the basis of information forwarded under this
section.
History: 2001 a. 93,

343.235 Access to license and identification card
records. (1) In this section:

(a) “Agent” means an authorized person who acts on behalf of
or at the direction of another person.

(b) “Insurer” has the meaning given in s. 600.03 (27),

(c) *Personal identifier” has the meaning given ins. 85.103 (1).

(d) “State authority” has the meaning given in s. 19.62 (8).

(2) In providing copies under s. 19.35 (1) (a) of any written
information collected or prepared under this chapter which con-
sists in whole or in part of the personal identifiers of 10 or more
persons, the department may not disclose a personal identifier of
any person who has made a designation under s. 85.103 (2) or (3).

(3) Subsection (2) does not apply to any of the following:

(a) A law enforcement agency, a state authority, a district attor-
ney, a driver licensing agency of another jurisdiction, a federal
governmental agency, or the commission to perform a legally
authorized function.

(b) An insurer authorized to write property and casualty or life,
disability or long—term care insurance in this state or an agent of
the insurer, if the insurer or agent uses the personal identifiers for
purposes of issuing or renewing a policy and related underwriting,
billing or processing or paying a claim. Notwithstanding sub. (5),
no insurer, or agent of an insurer, may disclose to another person
for marketing purposes any personal identifier received under this
paragraph.

(5) Any person who has received under sub. (3) a personal
identifier of any person who has made a designation under s.
85,103 (2) or(3) shall keep the personal identifier confidential and
may not disclose it except for a purpose applicable to that person
under sub. (3).

(6) (a) Any person who discloses a personal identifier in
violation of this section may be required to forfeit not more than
$500 for each violation.

(b) Any person who requests or obtains a personal identifier
from the department under this section under false pretenses may
be required to forfeit not more than $500 for each violation.

(c) Paragraphs (a) and (b) do not apply to a legal custodian
under s. 19.33 of the department.

History: 1991 a. 269; 1999 o 88; 2007 a. 20, 27: 2009 a. 180.

2013-14 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2015 Wis. Act 392 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before May 10, 2016.
FPublished and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after May 10, 2016 are designated by NOTES. (Published 5-10-16)

61

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN - Appendix GDL-1 ch. 343, subch. I, Wis. Stats. Issuance, Expiration and Renewal of Licenses



STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN - Appendix GDL-1 ch. 343, subch. I, Wis. Stats. Issuance, Expiration and Renewal of Licenses

Updated 201314 Wis. Stats. Published and certified under s. 35.18. May 10, 2016.

29 Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats.

343.237 Access to license and identification card
photographs and fingerprints. (1) In this section:

(ag) “Federal law enforcement agency™ means a governmental
unit of one or more persons employed by the federal government
for the purpose of preventing and detecting crime and enforcing
federal laws, employees of which unit are authorized to make
arrests for crimes while acting within the scope of their authority.

(ar) “Law enforcement agency of another state” means a gov-
ernmental unit of one or more persons employed by a state other
than this state or by a political subdivision of a state other than this
state for the purpose of preventing and detecting crime and enfore-
ing laws or ordinances of that state or a political subdivision of that
state, employees of which unit are authorized to make arrests for
crimes while acting within the scope of their authority.

(b) “Wisconsin law enforcement agency™ has the meaning
givenins. 17546 (1) ().

(2) Any photograph taken of an applicant under s. 343.14 (3)
or 343.50 (4), and any fingerprint taken of an applicant under s.
343.12 (6) (b), may be maintained by the department and, except
as provided in this section and s. 165.8287, shall be kept confiden-
tial. Except as provided in this section and s. 165.8287, the depart-
ment may release a photograph or fingerprint only to the person
whose photograph or fingerprint was taken or to the driver licens-
ing agency of another jurisdiction.

(3) The department shall provide a Wisconsin law enforce-
ment agency or a federal law enforcement agency with a print or
electronic copy of a photograph taken on or after Septem-
ber 1, 1997, of an applicant under s. 343.14 (3) or 343.50 (4), or
a printed or electronic copy of a fingerprint taken of an applicant
under s. 343.12 (6) (b), if the department receives a written request
on the law enforcement agency's letterhead that contains all of the
following:

(a) The name of the person whose photograph or fingerprint
is requested.

(b) The name of the person making the request and the law
enforcement agency that employs the requester.

(c) A statement signed by a division commander or higher
authority within the law enforcement agency that the photograph
or fingerprint is requested for any of the following purposes:

1. An investigation of unlawful activity.

2. A missing person investigation,

3. The identification of an accident victim.
4, The identification of a deceased person.

(d) For requests for photographs only, a statement that the
request is not made solely to obtain a photograph for use as part
of a photo lineup or photo array.

(e) If'the requester is a federal law enforcement agency, a state-
ment that the agency agrees to comply with all of the requirements
under this section.

(4) If a law enforcement agency of another state or the com-
mission makes a request meeting all the requirements specified
for a request by a Wisconsin law enforcement agency or a federal
law enforcement agency under sub. (3), the department shall com-
ply with the request if all of the following apply:

(a) The law enforcement agency of the other state or the com-
mission agrees to comply with all of the requirements under this
section,

(b) The other state or the commission allows Wisconsin law
enforcement agencies similar or greater access to similar informa-
tion from that state or the commission.

(4m) The department shall attach to each copy of a photo-
graph or fingerprint provided under this section the notation:
“This photograph is subject to the requirements and restrictions of
section 343,237 of the Wisconsin Statutes.” or “This fingerprint
is subject to the requirements and restrictions of section 343.237
of the Wisconsin Statutes.”

(5) Any law enforcement agency that has in its possession a
copy of a photograph or fingerprint provided to it under sub. (3)
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or (4) shall destroy any copies of the photograph or fingerprint in
its possession when the photograph or fingerprint is no longer nec-
essary for the investigatory or identification purpose specified in
its request for the copy of the photograph or fingerprint.

(6) For each copy of a photograph or fingerprint provided
under sub. (3) or (4), the department shall record and maintain the
written request for the copy of the photograph or fingerprint and
may not disclose any record or other information concerning or
relating to the written request to any person other than a court, dis-
trict attorney, county corporation counsel, city, village, or town
attorney, law enforcement agency, the applicant or identification
card holder or, if the applicant or identification card holder is
under 18 years of age, his or her parent or guardian.

(7) The department may not charge a fee for providing a copy
of any photograph or fingerprint to a Wisconsin law enforcement
agency under this section.

(8) (a) Any law enforcement agency that receives a photo-
graph or fingerprint provided to a law enforcement agency under
this section shall keep the copy of the photograph or fingerprint
confidential and may disclose it only if disclosure is necessary to
perform a law enforcement function and the person to whom the
copy of the photograph or fingerprint is disclosed agrees to com-
ply with par. (¢).

(b) If a law enforcement agency discloses a copy of a photo-
graph or fingerprint to another person under par. (a), the copy of
the photograph or fingerprint shall have attached to it the notation
specified in sub. (4m).

(c) Any person who receives a copy of a photograph or finger-
print from a law enforcement agency under par. (a) shall destroy
any copies of the photograph or fingerprint in his or her possession
when the photograph or fingerprint is no longer necessary to per-
form the law enforcement function for which the photograph or
fingerprint was disclosed.

(9) Not later than August 1, 1998, and annually thereafter, the
department of transportation and the department of justice jointly
shall submit a report to the chief clerk of each house of the legisla-
ture for distribution to the legislature under s. 13.172 (2) concern-
ing the copies of photographs provided under this section, includ-
ing the agencies to whom and the purposes for which the copies
of the photographs were provided. The department of transporta-
tion and the department of justice shall consult with other inter-
ested persons when preparing a report under this subsection.

(10) Any person who willfully discloses a copy of a photo-
graph or fingerprint in violation of this section may be required to
forfeit not more than $500 for each violation. Each copy disclosed
constitutes a separate offense.

History: 1997 a. 119, 237; 2001 a, 41; 2003 o, 36, 280; 2007 a. 20, 27; 2009 a.
167,

343.24 Department to furnish operating record.
(1) The department shall upon request furnish any person an
abstract of the operating record of any person. The abstract shall
be certified if certification is requested. Such abstract is not
admissible in evidence in any action for damages arising out of a
motor vehicle accident.

(2) Except as provided in pars. (b) and (¢), the department
shall charge the following fees to any person for conducting
searches of vehicle operators’ records:

(a) For each file search, $5.

(b) For each computerized search, $5. The department may
not charge this fee to any governmental unit, as defined in s,
895.51 (1) (dm).

(¢) For each search requested by telephone, $6, or an estab-
lished monthly service rate determined by the department. The
department may not charge this fee to any governmental unit, as
defined in's. 895.51 (1) (dm).

(d) For providing a paper copy of an abstract, $2.

(2m) If the department, in maintaining a computerized oper-
ating record system, makes copies of its operating record file data-
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base, or a portion thereof, on computer tape or other electronic
media, copies of the tape or media may be furnished to any person
on request. The department may also furnish to any person upon
request records on computer tape or other electronic media that
contain information from files of uniform traffic citations or motor
vehicle accidents and that were produced for or developed by the
department for purposes related to maintenance of the operating
record file database. The department shall charge a fee of $5 for
each file of vehicle operators’ records contained in the tape or
media. The department shall charge a fee of not more than $5 for
each file of uniform traffic citations or motor vehicle accidents
contained in the tape or media. Nothing in this subsection requires
the department to produce records of particular files or data in a
particular format except as those records or data are made by the
department for its purposes.

(3) The department shall not disclose information concerning
or refated to a violation as defined by s. 343,30 (6) to any person
other than a court, district attorney, county corporation counsel,
city, village, or town attorney, law enforcement agency, driver
licensing agency of another jurisdiction, or the minor who com-
mitted the violation or his or her parent or guardian.

(4) (a) In this subsection:

1. “Agent” means an authorized person who acts on behalf of
or at the direction of another person.

2. “Insurer” has the meaning given in s, 600.03 (27).

3. “Personal identifier” has the meaning given in s. 85.103
(1.

4. “State authority” has the meaning given in s. 19.62 (8).

(b) In furnishing 10 or more operating records to a person
under sub. (1) or (2m), the department may not disclose a personal
identifier of any person who has made a designation under s.
85,103 (2) or (3).

(c) Paragraph (b) does not apply to any of the following:

1. A law enforcement agency, a state authority, a district attor-
ney, a driver licensing agency of another jurisdiction, or a federal
governmental agency, to perform a legally authorized function.

2. An insurer authorized to write property and casualty or life,
disability or long—term care insurance in this state or an agent of
the insurer, if the insurer or agent uses the names or addresses for
purposes of issuing or renewing a policy and related underwriting,
billing or processing or paying a claim. Notwithstanding par. (¢),
no insurer, or agent of an insurer, may disclose to another person
for marketing purposes any personal identifier received under this
subdivision.

(e) Any person who has received under par. (¢) a personal iden-
tifier of any person who has made a designation under s. 85,103
(2) or (3) shall keep the personal identifier confidential and may
not disclose it except for a purpose applicable to that person under
par. (c).

() 1. Any person who discloses a personal identifier in viola-
tion of this subsection may be required to forfeit not more than
$500 for each violation.

2. Any person who requests or obtains a personal identifier
from the department under this subsection under false pretenses
may be required to forfeit not more than $500 for each violation.

3. Subdivisions 1. and 2. do not apply to a legal custodian
under s. 19.33 of the department.

197, 297 5. 9 Stats. 1975 5. 343.24; 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1654 (7) (e); 1979

a 1055 1991 a. 269; 1993 a. 16,490; 1995 a_ 113; Sup. Ct. Order
Wis, 2d xxiii (2000); 1999 o, 88, 185; 2001 4. 16; 2007 a. 20; 2009

 Cross-reference: See also ch, Trans 195, Wis. adm, code.,

343.245 Duties of commercial motor vehicle drivers;
employer responsibilities; penalties. (1) Dermimions. In
this section:

(a) “Employee” means any operator of a commercial motor
vehicle who is either directly employed by or under lease to an
employer, including a full-time, regularly employed driver, a vol-
unteer driver, a casual, intermittent or occasional driver, a leased

Updated 13—14 Wis, Stats. 30

driver, and an independent, owner—operator contractor while in
the course of operating a commercial motor vehicle.

(b) “Employer” means any person, including the state or a
political subdivision thereof, who owns or leases a commercial
motor vehicle or assigns a person to drive a commercial motor
vehicle.

(2) NOTIFICATIONS BY DRIVER. (a) Notification of convictions.
1. “To state.” A person, after applying for or receiving a commer-
cial driver license issued by this state, who is convicted of violat-
ing in a motor vehicle any law of this state or local ordinance
adopted in conformity therewith or a law enacted by a federally
recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state which is in
conformity with any law of this state, or the law of another juris-
diction, relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than park-
ing violations, shall notify the department of the conviction in the
manner specified by the department within 30 days after the date
of conviction, Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a per-
son who holds an “H"” endorsement specified ins. 343,17 (3) (d)
Im. shall notify the department within 24 hours if the person is
convicted, or found not guilty by reason of insanity, of any dis-
qualifying felony criminal offense described in s, 343.14 (2g) (a)
|, or adjudicated as a mental defective or committed to a mental
institution.

2. “To employers.” An employee, after applying for or receiv-
ing a commercial driver license issued by this state, who is con-
victed of violating in a motor vehicle any law of this state or local
ordinance adopted in conformity therewith or a law enacted by a
federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state
which is in conformity with any law of this state, or the law of
another jurisdiction, relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other
than parking violations, shall notify his or her current employer in
writing of the conviction within 30 days after the date of convic-
tion.

(b) Notification of suspensions, revocations and cancellations.
An employee whose commercial driver license is suspended,
revoked or canceled by a state, or who loses the privilege to oper-
ate a commercial motor vehicle in any state for any period, includ-
ing being disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle
or subject to an out—of-service order, shall notify his or her current
employer of that fact before the end of the first business day after
the day on which the employee receives notice of the suspension,
revocation, cancellation, disqualification or out—of-service order.

(c) Notification of previous employment. An applicant for
employment as a commercial motor vehicle driver shall provide,
at the time of application, information on his or her employment
history as a commercial motor vehicle driver as requested by the
prospective employer, certified as true and complete by the appli-
cant, including all of the following information for the 10 years
preceding the date of application:

1. The names and addresses of any previous employers for
which the applicant was a commercial motor vehicle driver.

2. The dates of employment with each employer in subd. I.

3. The reason for leaving each employer in subd. 1.

(3) EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES. (a) Every employer shall
request each applicant for employment as a commercial motor
vehicle driver to provide the information specified in sub. (2) (¢),
and no employer may employ as a commercial motor vehicle
driver an applicant who refuses or otherwise fails to provide true
and complete information.

(b) No employer may knowingly allow, permit or authorize an
employee to operate a commercial motor vehicle during any
period when the employee:

1. Has had his or her commercial driver license suspended,
revoked or canceled by any state;

2. Is disqualified from operating a commercial vehicle;

3. Is subject to an out—of-service order in any state;

4. Has more than one operator’s license, except during the
10—day period beginning on the date on which the employee is
issued an operator’s license; or
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5. Does not possess a valid commercial driver license prop-
erly endorsed to permit operation of the vehicle.

(¢) No employer may knowingly allow, permit, or authorize an
employee to operate a commercial motor vehicle in violation of
any federal, state, or local law, rule, or regulation relating to rail-
road crossings.

(4) PenaLTIES. (a) Except as provided in pars. (b) and (c), any
person who violates sub. (2) or (3) shall forfeit not more than
$2.500.

(b) Any person who violates sub. (3) (b} shall be fined not less
than $2.750 nor more than $25,000 or imprisoned for not more
than 90 days or both.

(c) Any person who violates sub. (3) (c) shall forfeit not more
than $10,000.

History: 1989 a. 105; 1991 a. 39; 1993 a. [6; 19954 113; 2001 o 16, 109; 2003
a, 33; 2009 a. 28, 326.
Cross—reference: See also ch, Trans 118, Wis. adm. code.

343.247 Employer notification program. (1) In this sec-
tion:

(a) “Employee™ has the meaning given in s, 343,245 (1) (a) and
also includes any person whose employment responsibilities
include the operation of any motor vehicle.

(b) “Employer” has the meaning given ins. 343.245 (1) (b) and
also includes any person, including the state or a political subdivi-
sion thereof, who employs a person whose employment responsi-
bilities include the operation of any motor vehicle.

(2) (a) The department shall establish by rule an employer
notification program to permit an employer to register the name
of an employee and be notified by the department whenever a con-
viction or suspension, revocation, cancellation, disqualification
or out—of—service order is recorded on the operating record of the
employee. Anemployer may withdraw an employee’s name from
the program at any time.

(b) The department shall establish and collect reasonable fees
from employers in the program sufficient to defray the costs of
instituting and maintaining the program, including the registration
and withdrawal of employees. The fee for each notification by the
department to an employer under par. (a) shall be $5.

History: 2009 a 32685, 2to 4.

SUBCHAPTER 111

CANCELLATION, REVOCATION AND
SUSPENSION OF LICENSES

343.25 Cancellation of licenses. The secretary shall can-
cel a license:

(1) Whenever the secretary determines that the license or
endorsement was issued upon an application which contains a
false statement as to any material matter; or

(2) Within 10 days after receiving a written request from a per-
son who signed the application of a person under 18 years of age,
or a notice of cancellation or termination of insurance, as provided
ins. 343.15; or

(3) When the license is held by a person under 18 years of age
and the secretary receives satisfactory evidence of the death of the
adult who signed the application for the license; or

(4) When the person holding the license falls into one of the
classes of persons to whom the law prohibits issuance of a license
or a particular endorsement; or

(5) Whenever the secretary determines that a person has
secured a license or endorsement, or attempted to secure a license
or endorsement, by hiring or permitting another to appear in the
person’s place to take an examination or otherwise gaining or
attempting to gain a passing score on an examination by fraud or
otherwise obtain a commercial license or endorsement by fraud;
or

OPERATORS’ LICENSES 343.28

NOTE: Sub, (5) is shown as amended eff. 7=1=16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123, Prior
to 7=1-16 it reads:

(5) Whenever the secretary determines that a person has secured a license
or endorsement by hiring or permitting another to appear in the person’s place
to take an examination; or

(6) Whenever the secretary determines that a license has been
altered and returned for cancellation under s. 343.43 (2); or

(7) When a person who has been ordered to submit to an
examination under s. 343,16 or to appear for either group or indi-
vidual counseling or examination under s, 343.32 (2) fails or
refuses to do so. Such cancellation shall continue until com-

pliance with the order has been made or the order is rescinded.
History: 1975 ¢. 5, 199; 1977 ¢. 29, 1654 (7) (e); 1989 4. 105,359%; 2015 0. 123,

343.26 License after cancellation. (1) Except as provided
in sub. (2), any person whose license has been canceled, whether
the license has been canceled by the secretary or stands canceled
as a matter of law, may apply for a new license at any time. Upon
receipt of the application and all required fees, and after process-
ing the application as provided in s. 343,165, the department shall
issue or refuse issuance of the license as upon an original applica-
tion. The department may, but need not, require the applicant to
submit to an examination as provided in s. 343.16.

(2) Ifaperson’s license has been canceled under s. 343.25 (2)
or (3), or canceled because of the person’s nonpayment of a fee,
the person’s license may be reinstated as provided in s. 343.38
(3g).

History: 1977 ¢. 295, 1654 (7) (), (c); 2007 8, 20; 2009 a. 103,

343.265 Voluntary surrender and reissuance after sur-
render. (1) The department may accept the voluntary surrender
of the operator’s license of a person who has a mental or physical
disability or disease or a medical condition which prevents or may
prevent the person from exercising reasonable control over a
maotor vehicle if the person’s operating privilege is not subject to
suspension or revocation for any reason.

(1m) The department may accept the voluntary surrender of
the operator’s license of a person who no longer intends to exer-
cise the privilege of operating a vehicle class or type authorized
by that license, if the person’s operating privilege is not subject to
suspension or revocation for any reason. The department may
issue a license under sub. (2), omitting the authorizations to oper-
ate a vehicle class or type that the person has relinguished.

(1r) Notwithstanding sub. (1), the department shall accept the
voluntary surrender of an “H” endorsement specified in s, 343.17
(3) (d) Im. Upon accepting the surrender, the department shall
immediately cancel the endorsement if the licensee is not eligible
for the endorsement. Following cancellation under this subsec-
tion, the department shall take the actions required in 5. 343,125
(4) (a) and (b). Upon accepting the surrender from a person to
whom the department would not be prohibited from issuing an
“H™ endorsement, the department may remove that endorsement
from the licensee’s commercial driver license as a temporary sur-
render. The department may not issue an *H” endorsement to any
person whose “H" endorsement is removed as a temporary surren-
der under this subsection unless the person applies for initial
issuance of an “H" endorsement.

(2) A person whose voluntary surrender of license under sub.
(1) or (1m) has been accepted by the department may apply for a
duplicate license under s. 343.19, or, if the person’s license has
expired during the period of surrender, a renewal license, at any
time. Upon receipt of the person’s application and the applicable
fees under s. 343,21, the department shall issue or deny the license
as provided in this subchapter. The department may require the
person to submit to an examination under s. 343,16 (5).

History: 1987 a. 40; 1989 a. 105; 1995 o, 113; 2003 4. 33; 2007 a. 20,

343.28 Courts to report convictions and forward
licenses to the department. (1) Whenever a person is con-
victed of a moving traffic violation under chs. 341 to 349 or under
a local ordinance enacted under ch. 349, the clerk of the court in
which the conviction occurred, or the justice, judge or magistrate

2013-14 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2015 Wis. Act 392 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before May 10, 2016.
Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after May 10, 2016 are designated by NOTES. (Published 5-10-16)

64



APPENDIX GDL-2 S.346.89, WIS. STATS. INATTENTIVE
DRIVING

Updated 201314 Wis, Stats. Published and certified under 5. 35.18. May 10, 2016.

37 Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats.

aside for the exclusive use of bicycles and electric personal assis-
tive mobility devices.

(4) No person may operate a bicycle, electric personal assis-
tive mobility device, or moped upon a roadway where a sign is
erected indicating that bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility
device, or moped riding is prohibited.

(5) Except as provided in ss. 346.23, 346.24, 346.37, and
346.38, every rider of a bicycle or electric personal assistive
mobility device shall, upon entering on a highway, yield the right—
of-way to motor vehicles.

History: 1973 ¢. 182; 1977 c. 208, 288, 1979 ¢. 197; 1985 a. 69; 1995 a. 138:2001
4. 90; 2009 a. 22,97,

346.803 Riding bicycle or electric personal assistive
mobility device on bicycle way. (1) Every person operating
a bicycle or electric personal assistive mobility device upon a
bicycle way shall:

(a) Exercise due care and give an audible signal when passing
a bicycle or electric personal assistive mobility device rider or a
pedestrian proceeding in the same direction.

(b) Obey each traffic signal or sign facing a roadway which
runs parallel and adjacent to a bicycle way.

(2) Every person operating a bicycle or electric personal assis-
tive mobility device upon a bicycle way open to 2—way traffic
shall ride on the right side of the bicycle way.

(3) Every operator of a bicycle or electric personal assistive
mobility device entering a bicycle way shall yield the right—
of-way to all bicycles and pedestrians in the bicycle way.

(4) Except as provided in s. 349.236 (1) (bm), a person may
operate an electric personal assistive mobility device upon any
bicycle path.

History: 1973 c. 182; 2001 a. 90.

346.804 Riding bicycle on sidewalk. When local authori-
ties under s. 346.94 (1) permit bicycles on the sidewalk, every per-
son operating a bicycle upon a sidewalk shall yield the right—
of-way to any pedestrian and shall exercise due carc and give an
audible signal when passing a bicycle or electric personal assistive
mobility device rider or a pedestrian proceeding in the same diree-
tion.
History: 1973 ¢. 182; 2001 a. 90,

346.805 Riding electric personal assistive mobility
device on sidewalk. Except as provided in ss. 346,94 (18) (a)
2. and 349.236 (1) (b), a person may operate an electric personal
assistive mobility device upon any sidewalk. Every person oper-
ating an clectric personal assistive mobility device upon a side-
walk shall yield the right—of-way to any pedestrian or bicyclist
and shall exercise due care and give an audible signal when pass-
ing a bicycle or other electric personal assistive mobility device
or a pedestrian proceeding in the same direction.
History: 2001 a. 90.

346.82 Penalty for violating sections 346.77 to
346.805. (1) Any person violating ss. 346.77, 346.79 (1) to (3),
or 346.80 to 346.805 may be required to forfeit not more than $20.

(2) Any person violating s. 346.78 or 346.79 (4) may be
required to forfeit not less than $10 nor more than $20 for the first
offense and not less than $25 nor more than $50 for the 2nd or sub-

sequent conviction within a year.
History: 1971 c. 278; 1973 c. 182; 1983 o 243; 2001 a. 90; 2003 a. 321.

SUBCHAPTER XIII
MISCELLANEOUS RULES

346.87 Limitations on backing. The operator of a vehicle
shall not back the same unless such movement can be made with
reasonable safety.

RULES OF THE ROAD 346.89

346.88 Obstruction of operator’s view or driving
mechanism. (1) No person shall drive a vehicle when it is so
loaded or when there are in the front seat such number of persons,
or any persons so situated, as to obstruct the view of the operator
to the front or to the sides or as to interfere with the operator having
free use of both hands and feet to the operating mechanisms or
controls of the vehicle.

(2) No passenger in a vehicle shall ride in such a position as
to interfere with the operator’s view ahead or to the sides or to
interfere with the operator’s control of the operating mechanism
of the vehicle.

(3) (a) No person shall drive any motor vehicle with any sign,
poster or other nontransparent material upon the front windshield,
front side wings, side windows in the driver’s compartment or rear
window of such vehicle other than a certificate or other sticker
issued by order of a governmental agency. Such permitted sticker
shall not cover more than 15 square inches of glass surface and
shall be placed in the lower left-hand corner of the windshield; the
left corner being on the driver’s left when seated behind the wheel.

(b) No person shall drive any motor vehicle upon a highway
with any object so placed or suspended in or upon the vehicle so
as to obstruct the driver’s clear view through the front windshield.

(c) No person shall drive any motor vehicle upon a highway
50 loaded or with any object so placed or suspended in or upon the
vehicle so as to obstruct the driver’s clear vision through the rear
window unless such vehicle is equipped with an outside rear view
mirror meeting the requirements of s. 347.40.

(d) Signal lamps used by authorized emergency vehicles shall
not be considered a violation of this section.

(4) The windshield, side wings and side and rear windows of

a motor vehicle shall be kept reasonably clean at all times.

Sub. (3) (a) creates an absolute prohibition on “any sign, poster or other nontrans-
parent material upon the front windshield . . " By contrast, sub, (4&3&3115: “The wind-
shield, side wings and side and rear windows of a motor vehicle shall be kept reason-
ably clean at all times,”" There is “no reason why the legislature would choose to ban
oil change stickers, often no more than one or two square inches in size and placed
in & top corner of a windshield, but require that same area of a windshield be only ‘rea-
sonably’ elean.” Instead, sub. (3) (a) is interpreted to prohibit the attachment of signs,
posters, and other items of a similar nature to the front windshield of a motor vehicle,
State v. Houghton, 2015 W1 79 364 Wis, 2d 234, 868 N.W.2d 143, 13-1581.

Sub, (3) (b), which rcquires that an object obstruct a driver’s clear view to be a
violation, does not mean that every object in a driver’s clear view s a violation.
Rather, sub. (3) (b) requires a matenal obstruction, even if minor, in order to be con-
sidered a violation of the statute. State v. Houghton, 2015 W1 79 364 Wis. 2d 234,
868 N.W.2d 143, 13-1581,

346.89 Inattentive driving. (1) No person while driving a
motor vehicle may be engaged or occupied with an activity, other
than driving the vehicle, that interferes or reasonably appears to
interfere with the person’s ability to drive the vehicle safely.

(3) (a) No person may drive, as defined in s. 343.305 (1) (b),
any motor vehicle while composing or sending an clectronic text
message or an electronic mail message.

(b) This subsection does not apply to any of the following:

1. The operator of an authorized emergency vehicle,

2. The use of any device whose primary function is transmit-
ting and receiving emergency alert messages and messages
related to the operation of the vehicle or an accessory that is inte-
grated into the electrical system of a vehicle, including a global
positioning system device.

3. Anamateur radio operator who holds a valid amateur radio
operator’s license issued by the federal communications commis-
sion when he or she is using dedicated amateur radio 2-way radio
communication equipment and observing proper amateur radio
operating procedures.

4. The use of a voice—operated or hands—free device if the
driver of the motor vehicle does not use his or her hands to operate
the device, except to activate or deactivate a feature or function of
the device.

(4) (a) Subject to sub. (3), no person who holds a probationary
license issued under s. 343.085, or an instruction permit issued
under s. 343.07, may drive, as defined in s. 343.305 (1) (b), any
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motor vehicle while using a cellular or other wireless telephone,
except to report an emergency.
(b) 1. In this paragraph:

a. “Commercial motor vehicle” has the meaning given in 49
CFR 390.5.

b. “Drive” means the exercise of physical control over the
speed and direction of a motor vehicle while it is in motion or is
temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control device,
or other momentary delay.

c. “Mobile telephone” has the meaning given in 49 CFR
390.5.

2, Subject to sub, (3), except to report an emergency to law
enforcement officials or other emergency service providers, no
person may drive any commercial motor vehicle while using a
hand—held mobile telephone in any the following manners:

a. Using at least one hand to hold a mobile telephone or any
connected accessory to conduct a voice communication.

b. Dialing or answering a mobile telephone by pressing more
than a single button.

¢. Reaching for a mobile telephone in a manner that requires
the driver to maneuver so that he or she is no longer in a seated
driving position.

NOTE: Sub. (4) is shown as affected eff, 7—=1—16 by 2015 Wis. Act 123, Prior
to 7-1-16 it reads:

(4) Subject to sub. (3), no person who holds a probationary license issued
under s, 343,085, or an instruction permit issued under s, 343,07, may drive, as

defined in s. 343.305 (1) (b), any motor vehicle while using a eellular or other
wireless telephone, except to report an emergency.

(4m) No person may drive, as defined in s. 343.305 (1) (b),
any motor vehicle while using a cellular or other wireless tele-
phone, including using the telephone for a purpose other than
communication, where persons engaged in work in a highway
maintenance or construction area or in a utility work area are at
risk from traffic, except to report an emergency. This subsection
does not apply to the use of a voice—operated or hands—free device
if the driver of the motor vehicle does not use his or her hands to
operate the device, except to activate or deactivate a feature or
funetion of the device.

NOTE: Sub. (4m) is eveated eff. 10~1-16 by 2015 Wis. Act 308,

(5) Subject to subs, (3) and (6), no person while driving a
motor vehicle, other than an authorized emergency vehicle, a
commercial motor vehicle described in s, 340.01 (8), or a tow
truck, may operate or be in a position to directly observe any elec-
tronic device located within the vehicle that is activated and that
is providing entertainment primarily by visual means. This sub-
section does not prohibit a person from using a cellular telephone
for purposes of verbal communication.

(6) Subsection (5) does not apply to any of the following:

{a) Any global positioning system device.

(b) The display by any device of information related to the
operation, navigation, condition, radio, or safety of the vehicle or
that is intended to be used to enhance the driver’s view forward,
behind, or to the sides of a motor vehicle.

(c) The display by any device of information related to traffic,
road, or weather conditions.

(d) Any device in a vehicle that permits the vehiele driver to
monitor vehicle occupants seated rearward of the driver.

(e) Any device installed or mounted, either permanently or
temporarily, in the vehicle that, with respect to the vehicle opera-
tor, functions as provided in par. (a), (b), (c), or (d) while simulta-
neously providing entertainment visible only from passenger
seats of the vehicle.

History: 2009 a. 220; 2011 a. 164; 2013 a. 350; 2015 a. 123, 308.

346.90 Following emergency vehicle. The operator of
any vehicle other than one on official business shall not follow an
authorized emergency vehicle responding to a call or alarm closer
than 500 feet or drive into or park his or her vehicle within the

Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats. 38

block where, or within 300 feet of the driveway entrance or similar
point of access to a driveway or road on which, fire apparatus has
stopped in response to an alarm, The personal vehicles of mem-
bers of a volunteer fire department answering the alarm are con-
sidered on official business.

History: 1975 c. 253, 421.

346.91 Crossing fire hose. No person without the consent

of the fire department official in command may drive a vehicle

over any unprotected hose of a fire department when such hose is

laid down on any street or private driveway to be used at any train-

ing exercise, scene of an emergency, or alarm of emergency.
History: 1985 a. 187, 2005 a. 144,

346.915 Following snowplows. (1) In this section,
“snowplow” means a vehicle that is operated by a person
employed by or on behalf of an authority in charge of the mainte-
nance of the highway to perform highway winter maintenance
snow and ice removal, including plowing, salting, and sanding,
during either a storm or cleanup following a storm and which is
using lamps described in 5. 347.26 (7).

(2) (a) The operator of any vehicle that is not a snowplow may
not follow a snowplow closer than the following distances, if the
snowplow is engaged in highway winter maintenance snow and
ice removal, as described in sub. (1), and is using lamps described
in 5. 347.26 (7):

1. Two hundred feet upon any highway having a posted speed
limit of more than 35 miles per hour.

2. Seventy—five feet upon any highway having a posted speed
limit of 35 miles per hour or less.

(b) Paragraph (a) does not apply when overtaking and passing
a snowplow, but the fact that the operator of any vehicle follows
the snowplow more closely than permitted by par. (a) for one mile
or more or follows more closely than permitted by par. (a) when
the snowplow is moving at the maximum speed limit is prima
facie evidence that the operator of such following vehicle is vio-
lating par. (a).

(c) Paragraph (a) does not apply to a snowplow that is stopped
or standing in the highway.

(3) The operator of any vehicle that is not a snowplow and that
approaches from the rear any snowplow that is engaged in high-
way winter maintenance snow and ice removal, as described in
sub, (1), and is using lamps described in s. 347.26 (7) and that is
stopped at an intersection shall stop not less than 20 feet from the
snowplow and remain stopped until the snowplow resumes
motion,

History: 2001 a.34; 2009 a. 255; 2011 a. 260.

346.92 lllegal riding. (1) No person shall drive a vehicle
when any person other than an employee engaged in the necessary
discharge of the employee’s duty is upon any portion thereof not
designed or intended for the use of passengers.

(2) No person other than an employee engaged in the neces-
sary discharge of the employee’s duty shall ride upon any portion
of a vehicle not designed or intended for the use of passengers.

(3) This section does not apply to persons riding within truck
bodies in spaces intended for merchandise or to the operator of any
such vehicle.

History: 1991 a. 316.

346.922 Transporting children in cargo areas of motor
trucks. (1) Notwithstanding s. 346.92, no person may operate
upon a highway a motor truck having a gross weight of 10,000
pounds or less when any child under the age of 16 years is in an
open cargo area of the motor truck.

(2) Subsection (1) does not apply to any of the following:

(a) A person operating a farm truck in conjunction with farm
operations,

2013-14 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2015 Wis. Act 392 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before May 10, 2016.
Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after May 10, 2016 are designated by NOTES. (Published 5-10-18)
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Chapter Trans 102
OPERATOR’S LICENSES AND IDENTIFICATION CARDS
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Trans 102.04  Design of operator’s license and identification card.
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Trans 102,11 Prorated fees.
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Trans 102.15  Proof of identification.
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Trans 102.17  Temporary operator’s license or driver receipt.

Trans 102,18 Identification card and issuance period.

Trans 102.19  Instruction permits.

Trans 102.20  Farm service CDLs.

Trans 102.205  Copying of driver licenses.

Trans 102.21  Sponsorship of persons under 18 years of age.

Trans 10223 Military, firefighting, farmer and emergency government CDL
exemptions.

Trans 102.01 Purpose and scope. (1) As authorized
by ss. 85.16 (1), 110.06,227.11,343.05, 343.06, 343,14, 343.15,
343,17 and 343.20, Stats,, the purpose of this chapter is to admin-
istratively interpret ss. 341.08 (2) (a) and (am), 342.06 (1) (a),
343.02, 343.03, 343.05, 343.06, 343.07, 343.08, 343.10, 343.11,
343.12,343.135,343.14, 343.16, 343.17, 343.18, 343.19, 343.20,
343.21, 343.22, 343.25, 343.265 and 343.50, Stats., relating to
issuance of operator’s licenses, identification cards, and vehicle
title and registration.

(2) This chapter pertains to any person applying for a Wiscon-
sin original, reissue, reinstatement, renewal, or duplicate opera-
tor’s license or identification card, and vehicle title or registration.

Note: Forms used in m:lmlmsln.'nng this rule are MV3004 identification card
application, MV3001 license appli 1 license notice, and
MV3007 identification card rencwal notice, MV3415 religious conviction exemp-
tion request, MV3002 certification of name and date of birth, MV3123 additional
information for operator license application, MV3452 foreign language document
translation certification, MV3432 receipt and MV3501 temporary operator's license,
MV3I6E2 Wisconsin DMV d|g1t1zr:d dmcr license and identification signature card,
MV 3686 driver license icker, MV 3685 Wi in driver license
extension application, MV 3687 driver license extension application return envelope,
and MV 3278 driver license renewal window envelope.

History: Cr. Register, September, 1982, No. 321, eff. 10-1-82; am. Register, Jan-
uary, 1984, No. 337, eff. 2—1-84; correction in (1) made under s. 13.93 (2m)(b) 7.,
Stats., Register, December, 1987, No. 384; am. Register, December, 1990, No. 420,
eff. 1=1-91; am. (1), Register, November, 1994, No, 467, eff. 12-1-94; CR 02-131:
am. Register April 2003 No. 568, eff. 5-1-03.

Trans 102.02 Definitions. The words and phrases
defined in ss. 340.01 and 343.01, Stats., have the same meaning
in this chapter unless a different definition is specifically pro-
vided. In this chapter:

(1) “Administrator” means the administrator of the division of
motor vehicles of the department.

(2) “AKA record” means an entry on a driver file which shows
that the person currently uses or previously used an alias or a ficti-
tious name. A person with a former name entry, resulting from a
lawful change of name, does not have an AKA record.

(3) “Backup system” is the system used by the department to
produce an acceptable operator’s license or identification card
when the computerized processing system is inoperative.

(4) “Centrally issued,” when used with a reference to an oper-
ator’s license or identification card, means those finished licenses
or identification cards that are mailed from the central office in
Madison.

(4g) “Driver file” means a person’s driving record as kept by
the department containing the driver record and maintained in
accordance with s, 343.23, Stats., or the substantially identical
record maintained for each person holding an identification card.
An “existing driver file” is a driver file that has not been purged.

(4p) “Duplicate”™ means a license or identification card issued
for a fee to replace one which has been lost, damaged or destroyed,
or to replace one which is no longer accurate because of a change

of the licensed person’s operating authority, name or address, or
at the person’s request to have a photograph retaken.
Note: Seess. Trans 102,09 (3) and 102,03 (2), and s. 343.265 (2), Stats,

(5) “Issuance period” means the period of time for which an
operator’s license or identification card is issued.

(5m) “Juvenile restricted license™ means a license issued pur-
suant to s. 343.08, Stats.

(6) “License examiner” or “examiner” means an employee or
agent of the department duly authorized by the administrator to
process operator’s license applications and other duties, regard-
less of the agent or employee’s job title.

(6n) “Motor vehicle services center” means those locations
within the state authorized by the department to provide driver
licensing services, vehicle registration services, or both.

(6r) “Name” as used in ss. 341.08 (2) (a) and (am) and 342.06
(1) (a), Stats., or “full name™ as used in s. 343.14 (2) (a), Stats.,
means any of the following:

(a) In the case of an individual, the entire first and last name
and middle initial, if any.

(b) In the case of any entity other than an individual, the entire
name of the entity.

(7) “Original” when used to describe a license or identifica-
tion card means the first Wisconsin license or identification card
of that type issued to a person. The term also includes:

(a) A license or identification card issued to a person who pre-
viously held a license or identification card but who does not have
an existing driver file; or

(b) A license or identification card issued to a person whose
license or identification card has been canceled or revoked.

(7m) “Photograph™ or “photo™ means a printed image created
by use of a photographic or digital camera process.

(8) “Reinstate™ means the process of issuing a license to a per-
son following a withdrawal of the person’s operating privilege or
license by cancellation, suspension, revocation, or disqualifica-
tion. The term also includes the process of issuing an identifica-
tion card to a person who previously had an identification card
canceled or revoked.

(9) “Reissue™ means the process of issuing a license or identi-
fication card because of any of the following:

(a) A change in license restrictions.

(b) Department errors or defects in the license such as an
unrecognizable photograph.

(c) A change of address processed under s. 343.22 (2m), Stats.

Note: Referto s, 343.21 (1) (h), Stats., regarding fees for changes in commercial
driver license restrictions.

(10) “Special restrictions card” means a card prepared by the
department and issued to a person when non—encoded or lengthy
restrictions to a license are necessary.

History: Cr. Register, September, 1982, No. 321, eff. 10-1-82; am. Register, Jan-
uary, 1984, No. 337, eff. 2-1-84; am. intro. and (3), r. (7) to (10), renum. (1) and (2)
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1o be (2) and (10) and am., cr. (1), (4g), (4p), (3m), (6m), (6n), (7) to (9), Register,
December, 1990, No, 420, eff. 1-1-91; r. (6), renum. (6m) to be (6), am. (9) (intro.),
(a) and (b), Register, December, 1999, No. 52K, eff. 1-1-00; CR (2~131: cr. {6r) Reg-
ister April 2003 No, 568, eff. 5-1-03; CR 04-100: cr. (Tm) Register June 2005 No,
594, efl. 7-1-05.

Trans 102.025 Document condition and authentic-
ity. (1) GENERAL DOCUMENT CONDITIONS. All documents offered
by persons applying for licenses or identification cards issued by
the department shall be original documents, unless otherwise
expressly allowed. Certified copies of government documents
shall bear an original certification and the seal of the appropriate
agency, or otherwise exhibit evidence to the satisfaction of the
department that the document is an authentic, accurate and unal-
tered copy of the original government document. Mutilated,
altered or uncertified photocopies of documents are not accept-
able.

(2) Suspect pocument. The depariment may decline to
accept any document required to be presented as part of an
application for an operator’s license or identification card if it has
any reason to suspect the authenticity of the document, the iden-
tity of the person named in the document, the identity of the appli-
cant, that the residency information provided by the applicant is
inaccurate, or for any of the reasons specified in sub. (3). In such
a case, the department may retain the document and investigate its
authenticity, provide the document to local, state or federal
authorities, require additional documentation from the individual
to establish the fact that the document was offered to prove, or any
combination of these actions. Documents determined to be genu-
ine and to identify the person who presented them shall be
returned to the person, except as provided in sub. (3). Documents
containing photographs of the holder may be rejected if the person
is not readily recognizable from the photograph. Documents
bearing signatures or reproductions of signatures of the holder
may be rejected if the signature or reproduced signature does not
clearly match all other signatures provided by the presenter as part
of the application or on file with the department. Documents con-
taining other data will not be accepted if any facts lead the depart-
ment 1o question the authenticity of the document or accuracy of
the data.

Note: This provision permits the D to reject d ion or photos,
but does not ereate a duty to inspect all DOT files when processing each application.

(3) CONFISCATION OF DOCUMENT. (a) Employees or agents of
the department may take possession of any document submitted
as proof of the person’s name and date of birth, identity, residency
or any other fact sought to be proven to the department and may
turn those documents over to local, state or federal authorities in
any of the following circumstances:

1. The document is or appears to be counterfeit.

2. The applicant presents documents related to another indi-
vidual under the guise that the applicant is the other individual.

3. The document appears not to be or is not a genuine docu-
ment.

4. The document appears to have been altered.

5. Law enforcement has requested the department confiscate
documents presented by a specific person.

(b) In the event the department confiscates a document and
determines that it is genuine and relates to the person who pre-
sented it, the department shall return the document to the person,
unless the department has provided it to other local, state or fed-
eral authorities.

Note: Section 343,14 (5), Suns., makes it a crime to present false information in
connection with an application for a driver license or 1D card.

H 1 CR 04~ 100; er., renum, (1) from Trans 102.15 (7) and am. Register June
2005 No. 594, eff. 7-1-05.

Trans 102.03 Photograph exemptions. (1) Exceptas
provided in this section, no license or identification card, includ-
ing duplicates, shall be issued unless the person appears in person
at a motor vehicle service center and is photographed.

Note: See s, 343,14 (3), Stus,
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(2) A license may be issued without a photograph or with a
prior photograph on file with the department to any of the follow-
ing:

(a) A Wisconsin resident who is out of state and is not able to
return to Wisconsin for a renewal or duplicate license.

Note: See s, 343,14 (3), Swts., and sub. (3).

(b) A Wisconsin resident who has seriously held religious con-
victions that do not allow the resident to be photographed. To
qualify for this exemption, the person shall complete, sign and
date a statement, on a form provided by the department, certifying
that the person objects to being photographed due to a seriously
held religious conviction,

(¢) A Wisconsin resident who requests a photograph exemp-
tion on the grounds that a photograph would not accurately reflect
the person's appearance because of the person’s temporary disfig-
urement, and the department finds that an exemption should be
granted. In cases where an exemption is granted, the person shall
apply for a duplicate operator’s license with photograph when the
reason for the exemption no longer exists.

Note: The fee for a duplicate license may be found in 5. 343.21 (1) (L), Stats. Wis-
consin law does not permit the department to issue an ID without a photograph.

(2m) The department may waive the requirement that a per-
son appear at a motor vehicle service center if the department has
entered into an agreement with the department of corrections
under which that agency will accept application materials or take
photographs for the department, the person is an inmate at a
department of corrections facility, and the department receives all
required photographs or application materials for the person from
the department of corrections.

(3) A person who is issued a license without a photograph
under sub. (2) (2) may be excused from the requirement of appear-
ing in person at a motor vehicle service center at the time the dupli-
cate or renewal license is issued. Within 30 days of return to Wis-
consin, the person shall appear at a motor vehicle service center
and obtain a license containing a photograph.

Note: Sees, 343.21, Stats,, for fees on duplicate licenses. Form MV3415 religious

request is provided upon request ot a department motor vehicle
services center or from Wisconsin Dy of T ion, Bureau of Driver
Services, License lssuance Uniy, P.O, Box 7918, Mnd:son Wisconsin 53707.

(4) No photograph shall be required for temporary licenses or
driving receipts.

Note: Authority for this provision may be found at s, 343,14 (3), Sts, See s,
343,07, Stats,, regarding instruction permits, and ss, 343.17 (5), 343.10, 343.11,
343,16 (6) (b), 343,305, Stats,, and s, Trans, 102,17 regarding temporary licenses or
driving receipts.

(5) A photograph may be required for instruction permits.

(6) The department may issue a license to a person without
requiring that person’s appearance if the department is able to pro-
duce a photograph from its records.

History: Cr. Register, September, 1982, No. 321, eff. 10-1-82; am. (1) (b), Regis-
ter, Junuary, 1984, No, 337, eff. 2-1-84; renum., (1) and (2) to be (2) and (3) and am.,
er. (1), (2) (€), (4) 1o (6), Register, December, 1990, No. 420, eff. 1-1-91; am. (2) and

(3), Register, December, 1999, No. 528, eff. 1-1-00; CR 04~ 100: cr. (2m), Register
June 2005 No. 594, eff. 7-1-05.

Trans 102.04 Design of operator’s license and iden-
tification card. (1) Operator’s licenses and identification
cards:

(a) Shall consist of one part with 2 sides, except as otherwise
prescribed is ss. 343.10 (7) (d) and 343.17 (4), Saats.

(b) Shall include the following descriptive legends:

1. Duplicate licenses and identification cards shall be marked
“duplicate™ or an abbreviation thereof.

2. Juvenile restricted licenses shall be marked “juvenile
restricted” or an abbreviation thereof.

(c) Shall contain such further information as the department
considers appropriate for security or identification purposes.

(2) Any identification card issued based upon extraordinary
proof of name, date of birth or U.S. citizenship under Trans 102.15
(5m) shall, in addition to any other legend or label, be marked in
a manner consistent with requirements under applicable federal

68



Published under s. 35.93, Wis. Stats., by the Legislative Reference Bureau.

73 DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

law and regulations to indicate that the identification card is issued
in accordance with P.L.. 109-13, section 202 (d) (11), and is not
intended to be accepted by any federal agency for federal identifi-
cation or any other official purpose.

History: Cr. Register, September, 1982, No, 321, eff. 10~1-82; 1. and recr. Regis-
ter, December, 1990, No. 420, eff. 1-1-91; CR 14-061: renum. 102.04 (intro.) to
102.04 (1), er. (2) Register May 2015 No, 713, eff. 6-1-15.

Trans 102.07 National driver registry and commer-
cial driver license registration system. Information system
record inquiries for issuance of commercial driver licenses
required by s. 343.03 (5), Stats., shall be made as follows:

(1) The department shall make inquiries of the commercial
driver license information system and the national driver registry
to determine licensing eligibility before issuing a license.

(2) When the information systems described in sub. (1) are
inoperative, the person’s class D or M license may be processed
based on the information certified by the person on the license
application and any Wisconsin driver record available except that
licenses may not be issued prior to a record check for the following
persons:

(a) A person who is obtaining his or her first regular driver
license.

(b) A person who is licensed in another state and is seeking to
obtain a regular Wisconsin license.
Note: The department’s intent was to substitute jurisdiction for state in par. (k).
(3) Subsequent to the issuance of a license under sub. (2),
when the information system is again operative, the driver record
inquiry will be made. If the inquiry shows that the person’s record
is unacceptable, the department may cancel, revoke or suspend
the license issued under sub. (2).
History: Cr. Register, September, 1982, No. 321, eff. 10~1-82; r. and recr. Regis-
ter, December, 1990, No. 420, eff. 1-1-91: am. (2), Register, November, 1994, No,
467, eff. 12-1-94; am. (2), Register, December, 1999, No, 528, eff. 1-1-00.

Trans 102.09 Photograph specifications. (1) As
determined by the department, a license or identification card
photograph shall be retaken if the photograph of the person is
indistinguishable, unclear, incomplete, or becomes lost or dam-
aged,

(2) Persons who fall into the retake specifications described
under sub. (1} shall be required to have the license photograph
retaken by the department before an operator’s license or identifi-
cation card will be issued.

(3) Any person not satisfied with the photograph after receipt
of a license or identification card may request to have the photo-
graph retaken. If the photograph is indistinguishable, unclear or
incomplete to the extent that the department demands another
photograph of the person be taken under sub. (1), the person shall
apply for a duplicate license or identification card, surrender the
existing license or identification card and pay the fee required in
s. 343.21 (1) (L), Stats.

(4) When an application for an operator’s license or an identi-
fication card is made, the date the photograph is taken shall be at
the discretion of the department.

(5) Persons shall be notified by the department when a photo-
graph needs to be retaken or when a subsequent change of license
restrictions or endorsements requires license reissuance or a
duplicate license. Failure to comply within 30 days of notification
shall result in the cancellation of the operator’s license.

(6) Persons requiring a duplicate operator’s license or identifi-
cation card shall return to the department for duplicate application
and new photograph, unless the person’s appearance at the depart-
ment is not required under s. Trans 102.03 (2) (a) or (6).

History: Cr. Register, September, 1982, No, 321, eff. 10-1-82; (4) to (6) renum.
from Trans 102.13 (1) to (3) and am., am. (1) to (3), Register. December, 1990, No
420, eff. 1-1-91; comrection made in (3) under 5. 13.93 (2m) (b) 7., Stats., Register,
December, 1990, No. 420; am. (1) and (3), Register, December, 1999, No. 528, efl,
1-1-00.

Trans 102.11

Trans 102.10 Special photo requirements. To pro-
vide for a full facial image, the following shall be required:

(1) Except as provided in sub. (2), hats, caps, or other head
coverings may not be worn by the applicant when the photograph
is taken.

(2) Ifa turban or similar head covering is worn by the appli-
cant due to religious belief, the covering shall be pushed from the
forehead until a full facial image is shown,

(3) A photograph shall be taken with or without glasses, at the
applicant’s preference. Sunglasses shall be removed. Light sensi-
tive glasses that do not adjust sufficiently to clearly show the eyes
shall also be removed.

(4) Hair shall be brushed away from the eye area for the photo-
graph.

(5) Any clothing or device obscuring all or part of a person’s
face shall be removed when being photographed to show a full
facial image, except that any appliances or prosthesis normally
used by a person with a permanent facial or dental disfigurement
need not be removed.

History: Cr. Register, September, 1982, No, 321, eff, 10-1-82; cr. (5), Register,
December, 1990, No. 420, eff. 1-1-91.

Trans 102.11 Prorated fees. To maintain the existing
license renewal cycle when upgrading a valid license, the depart-
ment shall prorate the statutory fees under s. 343,21 (1) (a), (b) and
(d), Stats., required to be paid to the department to upgrade a
license.

(1) UpGrADED LicENnsE, [f a license is upgraded by adding
class A, B, C, D or M privileges to an existing operator’s license,
the following apply to determine the applicable fee under s.
343.21 (1) (a), (b) or (d), Stats.:

(a) When 365 days or more remain on the existing license, the
license holder shall pay the prorated fee for the upgraded license
determined by the department as follows:

1. Multiply the number of days remaining on the existing
license from the date of application by the statutory fee and divide
by 2920. The number of days include the day of expiration, but
not the day of application.

2. Round the resulting quotient to the nearest whole dollar
amount. The license upgraded for this fee shall expire on the expi-
ration date of the existing license or on the date that the person's
legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized, which-
ever OCCurs soomer.

(b) When more than 90 but less than 365 days remain on the
existing license, the license holder may do either of the following:
1. Pay the prorated fee as determined under par. (a). The
license upgraded for this fee shall expire on the expiration date of
the existing license or on the date that the person’s legal presence
in the United States is no longer authorized, whichever occurs
sooner.

2, Pay the prorated fee as determined under par. (a) and the
statutory fee. The license upgraded for this fee shall expire 8 years
from the expiration date of the existing license or on the date that
the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer autho-
rized, whichever occurs sooner.

(c) When 90 days or less remain on the existing license, the
license holder shall pay the prorated fee as determined under par.
(a) and the statutory fee. The license upgraded for this fee shall
expire 8 years from the expiration date of the existing license or
on the date that the person’s legal presence in the United States is
no longer authorized, whichever occurs sooner.

(2) ManuAL caLcuLATiON. Notwithstanding sub. (1) (a), if
the automated processing system is not available, the prorated fee
shall be determined by the department by multiplying the number
of months remaining on the existing license from the date of
application by the statutory fee and dividing by 96. The number
of months include the month of expiration, but not the month of
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application. The resulting quotient is rounded to the nearest whole
dollar amount.

Note: Sees, 343,20 (1) (a), Stats,, regarding the department’s authority to prorate
fees.

History: Cr. Register, September, 1982, No, 321, eff. 10-1-82; r. and recr. Regis-
ter, December, 1990, No, 420, eff. 1-1-91; cr, {intro.), r. and recr. (1) and (2), . (3),
Register, September, 1992, No. 441, eff. 10~1-92; am. (1) {a) 1., (b) 2., (¢} and (2),
Repister, December, 199, No. 528, eff. 1-1-00; CR 06-082: am. (1) (a) 2., (b) 1. and
2. and (c) Register December 2006 No. 612, eff. 4-1-07,

Trans 102.14 |Issuance. (1) The department shall issue
operator’s licenses and identification cards to eligible Wisconsin
residents upon completion of application processing and payment
of required fees, unless:

(b) The computer system is down and a backup system must
be used to produce the photo operator’s license or photo identifi-
cation card.

(c) Further verification of eligibility is necessary to comply
with licensing qualifications in ch. 343, Stats., or the department
determines that the person is ineligible for licensing under ch. 343,
Stats.

(d) There are administrative reasons for not issuing the opera-
tor’s license or identification card immediately, for purposes
including, but not limited to, conducting a study or establishing a
control group.

(e) The person does not provide the department with the infor-
mation required under sub. (2) or does not provide a sample signa-
ture for reproduction on the operator’s license in the format first
name, middle initial or name, last name. A person may not include
in a signature a disclaimer of any type or any information other
than the person’s name.

(1g) The Department may not issue an identification card
without charge for voting purposes to any person who is not a U.S.
citizen or is not age 17 or older. The Department may not deter-
mine whether a person is otherwise eligible to vote.

(1m) The department may mail any license issued under sub.
(1) to the person rather than issue it directly at a motor vehicle ser-
vice center in any of the following circumstances:

(a) The person has not been previously licensed in Wisconsin.

(b) The person has not been previously licensed in another
Jjurisdiction.

(c) The department has discovered a pattern of falsified license
applications and the person’s application or the circumstances
surrounding that application resemble that pattern.

(d) For the convenience of the license applicant.

(e) If the department produces driver license documents at a
central facility rather than producing them at motor vehicle ser-
vice centers.

(f) If the department does not issue a license to the person
immediately for one of the reasons set forth in sub. (1) (b) to (d).

(2) A Wisconsin resident may be issued an operator’s license
or an identification card if the person surrenders all operator
licenses and identification cards issued to the person by other
jurisdictions, and the person is otherwise eligible to be issued an
operator’s license or identification card under Wisconsin law.

(3) (a) A person may not be required to have resided in Wis-
consin for any minimum amount of time in order to be eligible for
a Wisconsin operator’s license.

(b) 1. A person whose legal presence or authorized stay in this
country is a period of 12 months or less and ends not more than
6 months after he or she applies for an operator’s license is not a
resident of this state within the meaning of s. 343.01 (2) (), Stats.

2. A person whose legal presence or authorized stay in this
country is a period of 6 months or less and ends not more than 3
months after he or she applies for an identification card is not a res-
ident of this state within the meaning of's. 343.01 (2) (g), Stats.

(4) Persons who establish Wisconsin residency and who are
not exempt from Wisconsin licensing requirements under s.
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343.05 (4), Stats., shall apply for a Wisconsin operator’s license
as follows:

(a) Within 30 days of establishing Wisconsin residency if the
person holds a commercial driver license from another jurisdic-
tion or Mexico and seeks a Wisconsin commercial driver license.

Note: O fal drivers are required to transfer their CDL within 30 days of
moving between states by federal law. 49 CTFR 383.71 (b).

(b) Within 60 days of establishing Wisconsin residency in situ-
ations not described in par. (a).

Note: See s. 343.01 (2) (), Stats., regarding establishing residency for driver
license purposes.

(5) No license will be issued to a person under the age of 18
unless the person provides satisfactory proof that the person has
successfully completed a driver education or training course
which meets the requirements of s, 343.06 (1) (c), Stats., an
approved driver education course of another jurisdiction, or the
person is exempt from those requirements under s, 343.08 or
343,135, Stats.

(6) A license shall be reissued without fee if it is defective or
inaccurate because of a department error.

History: Emerg. cr. eff. 3—14-83; cr. Register, January, 1984, No, 337, eff,
2-1-84; renum. (intro.) to (4) to be (1) (intro.) to (d) and am. (1) (intro.) and (a), cr.
(2) to (5), Register, Decomber, 1990, No. 420, eff. 1-1-91; reprinted to restore
dropped copy in (4), Register, Seplember, 1991, No. 429; cr. (1) (e), Register, January,
G497, No. 493, eff, 2-1-97; r. (1) (a), am. (1) (b) and (c), cr. (6). Register, December,
1999, No., 528, eff, 1-1-00; CR 04-099: am. (1), er. (Im) Register March 2005 No.
591, eff. 4=1-05; CR 05-109: am. (4) Register April 2006 No, 604, eff. 5-1-06; CR
06—128: renum. (3) to be (3) (a), er. (3) (b) Register April 2007 No. 616, eff. 5-1-07;
CR 14-061: cr. (1g) Register May 2015 No, 713, eff. 6—1-15.

Trans 102.15 Proof of identification. (1) “Unavair-
ABLE" DEFINED. In this section, “unavailable” does not include
documents which persons have forgotten to bring with them when
applying for a license or identification card, or a lost or destroyed
document if a replacement original or a certified copy of the docu-
ment is available to those persons upon proper request.

(2) ReouiReMENTS. (a) Satisfactory proof of date of birth, as
specified under sub. (3) and satisfactory proof of identity as speci-
fied under sub. (4) shall be submitted by a person applying for an
original Wisconsin operator’s license or identification card.

(b) Satisfactory proof of identity as specified under sub, (4)
shall be submitted by a person applying for a renewal, reissue,
reinstatement or duplicate of a Wisconsin operator’s license or
identification card.

(bm) 1. Any person applying for an original Wisconsin opera-
tor’s license or identification card shall submit satisfactory proof
of citizenship, legal permanent resident or conditional resident
status of the United States, or legal presence in the United States,
as specified under sub. (3m).

2. The department may require any person applying for a reis-
sue, reinstatement, renewal or duplicate operator’s license or
identification card to provide satisfactory proof of citizenship,
legal permanent resident or conditional resident status of the
United States as specified under sub. (3m) to determine the per-
son’s eligibility for the operator’s license or identification card.

(c) Except as provided in sub. (5m), a person shall provide
proof of the person’s name and date of birth under sub. (3), of the
person’s identity under sub. (4), and of the person’s residency
under sub. (4m), upon the first application for an original,
renewal, reinstatement or duplicate operator’s license or identifi-
cation card following:

1. Any action which results in the department creating an
AKA record in the person’s driver file;

2, Cancellation of the person’s license or identification card
for altering a license or identification card, or cancellation for
making a fraudulent or falsified application for a license or identi-
fication card, or cancellation for violation of s. 343.25 (1), (4),(5)
or (6), Stats.;

3. Suspension of the person’s license under s. 343,34 (2),
Stats.;
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4. Revocation or suspension of the person’s operating privi-
lege under s. 343.31 (2r), Stats.;
5. Revocation of the person’s operating privilege under s.
343.32 (1s), Stats.;
6. Revocation or suspension of an instructor’s license pur-
suant to s. 343.67 (4), Stats.; or
Note: Section 343.67 (4), Stats., was repealed by 2005 Wis. Act 397,
7. Conviction for violation of ss. 343.14 (3), 343.16 (7) (a) or
(b), 343,19 (2), 34343 (1), 343.50 (4) or (12) or 345.17, Stats.
8. The department has confiscated a document from the per-
son for any of the reasons set forth in s. Trans 102.025.
(3) PROOF OF NAME AND DATE OF BIRTH. (a) One of the follow-
ing is satisfactory proof of a person’s name and date of birth:

1. Fora person born in Wisconsin, a copy of the person’s Wis-
consin birth certificate issued and certified in accordance with s.
69.21, Stats.;

2. Fora person born in another jurisdiction, other than a prov-
ince of the Dominion of Canada, a certified copy of his or her birth
certificate or the equivalent document from that other jurisdiction
or a certificate of birth abroad issued by the U.S. department of
state (federal form FS$—545 or DS—1350);

3. A US passport;

4. A valid, unexpired passport issued by a foreign country
with federal I-551 resident alien registration receipt card or fed-
eral 1-94 arrival and departure record that bears a photograph of
the person and identifies the person’s first and last names, and the
person’s day, month and year of birth;

5. A Wisconsin operator’s license bearing a photograph of the
person;

6. A Wisconsin identification card issued under s. 343.50,
Stats., bearing a photograph of the person, other than an identifi-
cation card issued under sub. (5m) (b);

7. A federal 1-551 “permanent resident alien registration
receipt card”;

8. A federal 1-94 “parole edition” or “refugees version™ arriv-
al—-departure record, together with a certification, on the depart-
ment’s form, by the person, of the person’s name and date of birth,
a copy of a U.S. department of state refugee data center reception
and placement program assurance form and a letter from the per-
son’s sponsoring agency on its letterhead, supporting the person’s
application for a Wisconsin 1D card or driver license and confirm-
ing the person’s identification. Applicants who are unable to pro-
vide a reception and placement program assurance form may be
issued a Wisconsin ID card or driver license, but only after their
identification has been confirmed by the U.S. citizenship and
immigration services;

9. A U.S. certificate of naturalization;

10. A certificate of U.S. citizenship;

11. A federal temporary resident card or employment authori-
zation card, [-688, I-688A, |-688B, and 1-766;

15. A Native American identification card meeting all of the
following requirements:

a. Issued by a federally recognized tribe or a band of a feder-
ally recognized tribe.

b. Issued in Wisconsin.
c. Includes a photograph and signature or reproduction of a
signature of the person.

d. Has been approved by the secretary for use as identifica-
tion.

Note: The following have been approved as of November 1, 2004: Red CLff Band
of Lake Superior Chippewas issued on or after October 1, 2003; St, Croix Band of
Lake Superior Chipp Indians; the M inee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin; Lac du
Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians; Bad River Band of Lake Supe-
rior Chippewa Indians; Ho~Chunk Nation; Forest County Potawatomi; Sokaogan
Chippewa Community Mole Lake Band issued on or after October 1, 2003; Lac
Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin issued on or
after October 18, 2004,

Trans 102.15

17. A court order under seal related to the adoption or divorce
of the individual or to a name or gender change that includes the
person’s current full legal name, date of birth and in the case of a
name change or divorce order, the person’s prior name;

Note: Examples include, but are not limited to, adoption document, name change
document, or gender document. This does not include abstract of eriminal or civil
convicton.

18. An armed forces of the United States common access card
or DD Form 2 identification card issued to military personnel;

21. Department of homeland security/transportation security
administration transportation worker identification credential.

(am) Except as provided in Trans 102.15 (5m) (b) 3., neither
a hospital birth certificate, a notification of birth registration nor
baptismal certificate is satisfactory proof of a person’s name and
date of birth.

(d) The administrator shall approve a name change requested
by a person who cannot provide documentation under par. (a) 17.
of a lawful change of name if the person provides proof of identity
specified in sub. (4) in the new name, and the administrator
receives from the federal social security administration evidence
or confirmation of the name change.

(3m) PROOF OF CITIZENSHIP, LEGAL PERMANENT RESIDENT STA-
TUS, CONDITIONAL RESIDENT STATUS OR LEGAL PRESENCE. (a) One
of the following is satisfactory proof of a person’s citizenship,
legal permanent resident status, conditional resident status or
legal presence in the United States:

1. U.S. state or local government issued certificate of birth.

2. Valid U.S. passport.

3. Valid foreign passport with appropriate immigration docu-
ments, which shall include or be accompanied by federal form
1-94, arrival and departure record.

Note: The appropriate immigration d
passport itself.

4. Certificate of U.S. citizenship (federal form N-560).

5. LS. Certificate of naturalization (federal form N—550).

6. Valid department of homeland security/LL.S. citizenship
and immigration services federal form [-551, resident alien regis-
tration receipt card, issued since 1997,

7. Valid department of homeland security/U.S. citizenship
and immigration services federal form 1-688, temporary resident
identification card.

8. Valid department of homeland security/U.S, citizenship
and immigration services federal form [-688B or =766, employ-
ment authorization document.

9. Valid department of homeland security/LL.S. citizenship
and immigration services federal form 1-571, refugee travel docu-
ment.

10. Department of homeland security/U.S. citizenship and
immigration services federal form 1-797, notice of action.

1. Department of homeland security/transportation security
administration transportation worker identification credential.

12, U.S. department of state reception and placement pro-
gram assurance form (refugee version), which shall include or be
accompanied by federal form 1-94, arrival and departure record.

13. Documentary proof specified in s. 343.14 (2) (es), Stats.,
that is approved by the appropriate federal authority.

(4) Proor oF IDENTITY. One of the following is satisfactory
proof of identity:

(a) A supporting document identifving the person by name and
bearing the person’s signature, a reproduction of the person’s sig-
nature, or a photograph of the person. Acceptable supporting doc-
uments include:

2. A valid operator’s license, including a license from another
Jjurisdiction, except a province of the Dominion of Canada, bear-
ing a photograph of the person;

Note: Temporary driving receipts from other jurisdictions are not
“Another jurisdiction” is defined at s. 340,01 (41m}, Stats.

legal p: not the

i,
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3. Military discharge papers (including certified copy of fed-
eral form DD-214);

4. A U.S. government and military dependent identification
card;

5. A valid photo identification card issued by Wisconsin or
another jurisdiction, except a province of the Dominion of Can-
ada, bearing a photograph of the person;

11. A marriage certificate or certified copy of judgment of
divorce;

Note: A testament to the marriage document does not satisfy this requirerment.

13. A social security card issued by the social security admin-
istration;

Note: Metal or other duplicate Social Security Cards are not aceeptable,

23. Any document permitted under sub. (3) (a), if it bears a
photograph of the person and was not used as proof of name and
date of birth.

Note: This permits a person to use two separate documents under sub. (3) (a) 1o
satisfy the requirements of subs. (3) and (4).

24. Department of homeland security/transportation security
administration transportation worker identification credential.

(c) A person applying without a personal appearance to rein-
state a suspended or revoked license or identification card or to
renew a license subject to s, Trans 102,03 (2) and (5) or obtain a
duplicate license or identification card, if all of the following
apply:

1. The department is able to produce an acceptable photo-
graph and facsimile signature for the individual from its digital
image computer records.

2. The person’s name as shown on the license is unchanged.

3. The person is a Wisconsin resident.

(4m) Proor oF REsIDENCY. The department may request addi-
tional documents to establish proof of residency for persons 18
years of age or over if proofs of name and date of birth or identity
are those described in sub. (3) (a) 5., 6. or (4) (¢), or do not include
a current acceptable Wisconsin residence street address. A docu-
ment listing a post office box or commercial receiving agency as
the mailing address is not acceptable proof of residency. Any of
the following are satisfactory proof of residency:

(b) A utility bill for water, gas, electric or land line phone ser-
vice at least 30 days old.

(c) A paycheck or stub with the customer’s name and address,
and the employer’s name and address. The employer’s telephone
number may be requested for verification.

(d) An account statement at least 30 days old from a Wisconsin
financial institution.

(f) Mortgage documents for a residential real property located
in Wisconsin.

(5) PROOF OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER. (a) Each person who
applies for an operator’s license or 1D card is required to provide
his or her social security number, except that Class D and M
license applicants may be issued licenses without social security
numbers as provided in pars. (b) and (¢). The department may
verify the number with the federal social security administration
prior to acceptance for issuance of an operator’s license or identi-
fication card, may delay issuance of a license if verification cannot
be completed at the time of application, or may cancel a license
if verification is requested afier license issuance and the person
does not provide verification. The original social security card or
other documentation satisfactory to the department to prove the
person’s social security number shall be presented to the examiner
for verification of the number, when any of the following apply:

1. A duplicate social security number is found on the depart-
ment’s driver files and assigned to another person;

2. The social security number provided on the person’s cur-
rent application does not match the number provided by the per-
son on a previous application that is recorded on the person’s
driver file;

WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 76

3. The social security number being submitted does not match
the format of social security numbers issued by the federal social
security administration.

4. The department is advised by the federal social security
administration, internal revenue service, department of revenue,
department of workforce development, or other state, federal or
local government agency that the social security number provided
by the person is suspected to not belong to the applicant, to have
been used by multiple persons, or to have been assigned to a per-
son other than the applicant.

(b) The department may issue a special number, in lieu of the
social security number, to identify an applicant if the person’s seri-
ously held religious convictions do not allow them to provide a
social security number to the department. A person who objects
to providing a social security number due to a religious convic-
tion, shall complete, sign, and date a statement detailing and
explaining the religious objection on forms provided by the
department. The department may conduct a review in Madison to
determine whether the conviction detailed in the application is a
seriously held religious belief of the applicant. The applicant may
be required to appear at the review or to interview with a depart-
ment investigator.

Note: Sees. 343,14 (2) (b), (bm ) and (br), Stats. Form MV3415 Religious convic-
tion exemption request.

(bm) The department shall issue a special number, in lieu of
the social security number, to identify the person if the applicant
does not have a social security number and submits a statement
made or subscribed under oath or affirmation that the applicant
does not have a social security number in the form prescribed by
the department of workforce development.

Note: See s, 343,14 (2) (br), Stats.

(¢) The department may issue a special number, in lieu of the
social security number, to identify the person when the person has
not been issued a social security number or the person’s social
security number is not available, and the person is being issued an
original instruction permit and does not have an existing driver
file in Wisconsin, The person is required to provide his or her
social security number on any subsequent application following
the original issuance of the instruction permit.

(5m) EXTRAORDINARY PROOF OF NAME, DATE OF BIRTH, OR U.S.
cimzensHie, (a) Except as provided in par. (b), if a person is unable
to provide documentation under sub. (3) (2), and the documents
are unavailable to the person, the person may make a written peti-
tion to the administrator for an exception to the requirements of
sub. (3) (a). The application shall include proof of identity
required by sub, (4) and:

1. A certification of the person’s name, date of birth and cur-
rent residence street address on the department’s form;

2. An explanation of the circumstances by which the person
is unable to provide any of the documents described in sub. (3) (a);
and

3. Whatever documentation is available which states the per-
son's name and date of birth.

(b) 1. Ifa person requests an identification card without charge
for the purposes of voting and the person’s proof of name and date
of birth under sub. (3) or of proof of citizenship under sub. (3m)
is unavailable, the person may make a written petition to the
administrator for an exception to the requirement for which proof
is unavailable. The petition shall include the person’s statement
under oath or affirmation: that the person is unable to provide doc-
umentation under sub. (3 ) or proof of citizenship under sub. (3m);
that the documents are unavailable to the person; and of his or her
name, date of birth, place of birth, and such other birth record
information requested by the Department, or the person’s alien or
LS. citizenship and immigration service number or U.S. citizen-
ship certificate number.

2, Upon receiving a petition that meets the requirements
under subd. 1, the administrator shall provide the person’s birth
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record information to the Department of health services, for the
sole purpose of verification by the Department of health services
of the person’s birth certificate information or the equivalent doc-
ument from another jurisdiction, other than a province of the
Dominion of Canada, or to a federal agency for the sole purpose
of verifying the person’s certificate of birth abroad issued by the
U.S. Department of state, or of verifying the person’s alien or U.S.
citizenship and immigration service number or U.S. citizenship
certificate number. The Department of transportation may not
complete processing of the application prior to receiving verifica-
tion under this subdivision, except as provided in subd. 3.

3. Ifthe Department does not receive verification under subd.
2., the Department shall notify the person of that failure to verify.
The Department may thereafter issue an identification card to the
person only if the Department receives verification under subd. 2.,
if the person provides proof required under sub, (3) or (3m), or if
the Department receives other secondary documentation that is
extraordinary proof and deemed acceptable to the administrator
to prove name, date of birth or U.S. citizenship, which may
include the following:

a. Baptismal certificate.

. Hospital birth certificate.

. Delayed birth certificate.

Census record.

e. Early school record.

f. Family Bible record.

g. Doctor’s record of post—natal care.

h. Other documentation deemed acceptable to the administra-
tor, within his or her reasonable discretion.

4. Notwithstanding Trans 102.15 (1), in this paragraph
“unavailable” means that the applicant does not have the docu-
ment and would be required to pay a government agency to obtain
it.

(¢) The administrator may delegate to the administrator’s sub-
ordinates the authority to accept or reject such extraordinary proof
of name, date of birth, or citizenship under this subsection.

Note: Form MV3002 certification of name and date of birth.

(e) The denial of a petition under par. (b) is subject to judicial
review in the manner provided in ch. 227 for the review of admin-
istrative decisions.

(6) TEMPORARY DRIVER RECEIPT. The Department may issue a
temporary driver receipt for operation of class D or M vehicles to
a person who is temporarily unable to meet the identification
requirements of sub. (3). The temporary driver receipt shall state
the date of issue, shall be clearly marked “NOT VALID FOR
IDENTIFICATION,” and shall be validated for the operation of
a vehicle for a stated period of up to 60 days from the date issued.
The person may complete his or her license application within this
period by presenting proof of the person’s name and date of birth
in accordance with sub. (3) (a). For good cause shown, the
Department may renew the driving receipt once for an additional
period of no more than 60 days. This subsection does not prohibit
a person from proceeding under sub. (5m) (a). This subsection
applies only to persons who meet all of the following:

(a) Were previously licensed in another jurisdiction who sur-
render to the department the driver’s license issued by the other
Jurisdiction.

(b) Are unable to immediately provide proof of name and date
of birth in accordance with sub. (3) (a), but state that they will be
able to do so.

(¢) Submit an otherwise complete and acceptable application,
including the proof of identity required by sub. (4) and social secu-
rity number required by sub. (5).

Note: Form MV3432, Receipt.

Note: Section 343.11 (1), Stats., prohibits issuance of temporary driving receipts
in situations where a CDL is required. A temporary driving receipt may be used by
drivers who are exempt from CDL requirements under s. 343.055, Stats.

oo o

Trans 102.16

(7) ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTATION. The department may
require additional documentation or proof of identity beyond the
minimum requirements of this section from an applicant if the
department has been notified that the person is or may be a victim
of identity theft.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1984, No, 337, eff. 2-1-84; emerg. am. eff.

6—24-86;r. and recr. Register, Decermnber, 1990, No 4 0, cﬂ' 1=1-91; am. (6) (intro.},
Rcyklu January, 15993, No, 445, eff, 2-1-93; am. (3) (a) 5.6, 11.,(4) (a) (intro.),
2,4.108,13.,19, |5}ta}lintro.l. cr (3)(a) 14,10 18., t4)timm.). () 20., {b), renum.
(4) (b} (intro.), 1.. 4., & and 7. to be (4) (¢) (intro.), 1. to 4. and am. (4) (¢} (intro.),
r. (4) (b) 2., 3., 5., Register, January, 1997, No. 493, eff. 2-1-97; am. {2) (a). (¢)
(intro.), 7., (3}[nj{m!.m] &, 16.(3)(k) 1., 3. :c]und:-l}(.ui {4)(b) 2., fb}(mlm:
and (b)), er. (3) (a) 19., {4)(al’l Register, IJL\L'n:lwr. 1999, Mo, 528, eff. 1-1-00;
emerg. am. (3) (a) &, eff. 12-21-01; CR 02-005: am, (3) (a) 8. Register May 2002
No. 357, eff, &I—Oﬁ:cmc{im in (2) (c) 4. and 5, made under 5. 13.93 (2m) (b} 7.,
Stats., Register May 2002 No. 357; CR 04-100: am. (2) (¢) (intro.), (3) (a) 2., 4. to
8., 11 and 15,10 19, (3) (b) 1., (4) (a) (intro.) 2., 5. to 7., [2., 18, 19 and 21, (5) (a)
to(c), er. (2) (e} 8., (3) (a) 20., (4)(a) 22. and 23, (c) 5. and (4m), (5) (a) 4. and (bm),
r.{3}(a) 12. to 14, and (4) (a) 8. to 10., 5., 17. and 20., r. and recr. (4) (b) and (¢)
2., renum (7) to be s. Trans 102.025 (1), Registér June 2005 No., 59, eff. 7-1-05; CR
05-109: am. (6) (intro.) Register April 2006 No. 604, eff. 5—1-06; CR 06—082: cr. (2)
{bm}) and(3m) Register December 2006 No. 612, eff. 4-1-07; CR 06-128:;
(a) 2., 4., (4) (a) 2. and 5., r. (3) (a) 16.,19,, 20., (4) (a) 1., 6., T, 12., 14.,
and 22.‘ih] (¢) (intro.), 1.. 3. to 5., (4m) (a), (¢) and (8), cr. (3) (a) 21. (4)1“1]" %
(4m) (1), renum. (4)(c) bc(d) {g}und am. (4) {c) (intro.) Register April 2007 No.
616, eff. 5-1-07; correction in (3m) (a) made under s. 13.92 (4) (b) 7., Stats., Register
Februsry 2013 No, 686; CR 14-061: am. (2) (¢}, renum. (3) (a} 2. (Note) to [3] {am)
and am., am. (3} (a) 6., renum. (3) (b) to (Sm) (a) and am. (Sm) (a) (intro.) and
2., renum. (3) (¢) to (Sm) (¢} and am., er. (3) (d), (Sm) (title), (b), {e), am. (6) (intro.)
Register May 2015 No, 713, eff. 6—-1-15,

Trans 102.16 Operator's license and license
endorsement issuance periods. (1) ORIGINAL, REINSTATED
AND PROBATIONARY LICENSES, Reinstated licenses, probationary
licenses. and original licenses other than instruction permits and
license endorsements shall expire 2 years from the licensed per-
son’s next birthday, or on the date that the person’s legal presence
in the United States is no longer authorized, whichever occurs
sooner. [f the expiration date of a person’s probationary license
is the date the person’s legal presence in the United States is no
longer authorized, and the person’s legal presence is extended, the
department may reissue the probationary license with an expira-
tion date of the latest date determined under this section at the time
of initial issuance or the date that the person’s legal presence in the
United States is no longer authorized, whichever occurs sooner.
The department may not, as a consequence of expiration dates
based on the person’s legal presence in the United States, require
any person to possess a probationary license beyond the latest date
determined under this section at the time of initial issuance.

Note: See s, 343.20 (1) (a), Stats.

(2) EvesiGut TESTS. The eyesight test shall be given to each
person who applies for renewal of a 2, 4 or 8 year license at the
time application is made.

Note: Sees. 343,16 (3) (a), Stats.

(8) RENEWED REGULAR. COMMERCIAL DRIVER AND MOTOR-
CYCLE ONLY LICENSES. Regular, commercial and motorcycle only
licenses shall expire 8 years from the expiration date of the license
being renewed if the license is renewed prior to its expiration, or
7 years from the person’s next birthday in all other circumstances,
except as otherwise provided in this section.

(3m) LICENSE EXTENSIONs. A regular license issued by the
department may be extended by the department for 4 years from
the expiration date of the license if the department has selected the
license for 4 year extension rather than renewal in order to balance
the number of licenses that will expire in future years. The depart-
ment may not extend an expiration date under this subsection
beyond the date that the person’s presence in the United States is
legally authorized. The department may consider a person’s driv-
ing history in deciding whether to extend the person’s license.
Vision examinations may not be required for extensions.

Note: Section 343.20 (1) (1. Stats., provides that this extension program sunsets
on December 31, 2001,

(4) LiceEnse RENEWAL. No person may renew:

(a) An operator’s license more than one year prior to the expi-
ration date of the license.
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(b) A probationary license or special restricted license more
than 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license.

(5) NEW STATE RESIDENTS. Original operator’s licenses issued
under s. 343.20 (1) (e), Stats., shall expire 3 years afier the
licensed person’s next birthday or on the date that the person's
legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized or on
the following date, whichever occurs sooner.

Note: Section 343,20, Stats., provides for licensing of qualified drivers previously
licensed in other jurisdictions.

(6) SPECIAL RESTRICTED LICENSES. Special restricted license
renewals expire on the date that the person’s legal presence in the
United States is no longer authorized or on the following date,
whichever occurs sooner:

(7) ENDORSEMENTS EXPIRE WITH LICENSES. All endorsements
on an operator’s license shall expire on the same date the opera-
tor’s license expires or is withdrawn,

(8) EXPIRATION DATE DOES NOT CHANGE WITH CHANGES IN
AuTHORITY. The expiration date of a valid license document shall
remain the same when subsequent upgrades to classifications or
endorsements are applied to the license, except that if the date that
the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer autho-
rized occurs sooner, the expiration date shall become the date that
the person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer autho-
rized.

Note: Expiration of restricted licenses is provided for ins, 343.08 (2] (a), Stats.
History: Cr. Register, Janunry, 1984, No. 337, eff. 2-1-84; r. and recr. Register,
December, 1990, No. 420, eff. 1-1-91; am. (3) (b), Register, September, 1992, No,
441, eff, 10~1-92; am. (2}, (3}, r. and recr. (3}, cr. (3m}, Register, December, 1999,

No. 528, eff. 1-1-00; CR 06-082: am. (1) (3m), (5), (6) and {8) Register December
2006 Ne. 612, eff. 4-1-07.

Trans 102.17 Temporary operator's license or
driver receipt. (1) TEMPORARY OPERATOR'S LICENSE. The
department may issue a class D or M temporary operator’s license
and attach it to a person’s previous Wisconsin license when the
person presents the previous license and the department is unable
to immediately issue a renewal operator’s license to the person for
one of the following reasons:

(a) The department, pursuant to s. 343.16 (6), Stats., requires
testing or an examination prior to renewal including, but not lim-
ited to, medical, eve, or mental examinations or evaluations of
drug or alcohol dependency and the testing cannot be completed
prior to the expiration of the existing license; or

(b) The department’s license production system temporarily
prevents production of an operator’s license.

(2) TEMPORARY DRIVER RECEIPT. The department may issue a
class D or M temporary driver receipt and validate it for driving:

(a) When a person is eligible for a temporary driver receipt
under s. Trans 102.15 (6); or

(b) When a person applying for renewal of a license is unable
to present the person’s previous Wisconsin license and the depart-
ment is not able to immediately issue an operator’s license for any
of the reasons stated in sub. (2) (a) or (b).

(c) If the person has previously held a motorcycle instruction
permit, that instruction permit is expired, and the person seeks
authorization to operate a motorcycle solely for the purpose of
completing a motorcycle driver exam.

(3) DuUrATION. A temporary operator’s license or driver
receipt may be valid for not longer than 60 days from the date
issued, unless otherwise canceled, revoked or suspended. The
date issued shall be shown on the face of a temporary license or
driver receipt.

Note: Form MV3501, temporary operator’s license, form MV3432, receipt, form
MV3392 data card instruction permit/receipt.,
History: Cr. Register, December, 1990, No. 420, eff. 1-1-91; am. (1) (intro.) and

(2) (intro.), Repister, November, 1994, No. 467, eff, 12=1-94; er. (2) (¢), Reguister,
January, 1997, No. 493, eff. 2-1-97,

Trans 102.18 Identification card and issuance
period. (1) Original and reinstatement identification cards
expire 4 years from the identified person’s next birthday, or on the

WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 78

date that the person’s legal presence in the United States is no lon-
ger authorized, whichever occurs sooner.

(2) Renewal identification cards expire on the date that the
person’s legal presence in the United States is no longer autho-
rized or on the following date, whichever occurs sooner:

(a) Four years from the identified person’s next birthday when
the renewal application is made prior to the expiration date of the
latest identification card on file for that person;

(b) Three years from the identified person’s next birthday
when the renewal application is made after the expiration date of
the latest identification card on file for that person.

(3) No person may renew an identification card more than one
year prior to the expiration date of the identification card.

Note: See s, 343.50(3) and (6), Stats.
History: Cr. Register, December, 1990, No, 420, eff. 1-1-91; CR 06-082: am. (1)

and (2) Register D('A:cmt\or 2006 No, 612, eff, 4-1-07.

Trans 102.19 Instruction permits. (1) Crass b
INSTRUCTION PERMITS. An instruction permit for class D privileges
may not be issued to a person less than 18 years of age who is
enrolled in a behind the wheel driver education course more than
60 days prior to the beginning of the practice driving phase of that
driver education course.

(2) MOPED AND MOTOR BICYCLE INSTRUCTION PERMITS. (a) In
order to be issued a moped and motor bicycle instruction permit,
a person must pass a knowledge test established by the depart-
ment.

(b) A person holding a moped or motor bicycle instruction per-
mit, or regular instruction permit endorsed for moped and motor
bicycle operation may operate a moped or motor bicycle only dur-
ing daylight hours and may not carry passengers.

Note: See s, 343.07, Stats.

History: Cr, Register, December, 1990, No, 420, eff. 1=1-91; renum, (1) and (2)
to be (2) {a) and (b), er. (1), Register. Jonuary, 1997, No. 493, eff. 2-1-97.

Trans 102.20 Farm service CDLs. (1) Purrost. The
purpose of this section is to adopt a seasonal farm service waiver
for CMV drivers consistent with those federal department of
transportation regulations at 49 CFR 383.3(f).

(2) DermviTions. In this section:

(a) “Agri—chemical business” means a business that sells and
delivers fertilizer, pesticides or other chemical compounds to
farmers.

(b) “CDL" means a commercial driver license.

(¢) “Convicted” or “conviction™ has the meaning set forth in
5. 340.01 (9r), Stats., and includes convictions under state law,
convictions under local ordinances in conformity with state law,
convictions under a law of federally recognized American Indian
tribe or band in this state in conformity with state law, or convic-
tions under the law of another jurisdiction which prohibits con-
duct similar to that prohibited under state law even if that jurisdic-
tion’s law is not in conformity with state law.

(d) “Custom harvester” means a business which is engaged
solely in the provision of for hire harvesting services to farmers
or engaged in canning, freezing or processing the crops being har-
vested.

Note: The licenses of temporary seasonal employees of custom harvester employ-
ers are limited to permit only transportation related to the harvesting of crops. See
s, Trans 10220 (8) (fm). A driver in this category may, for example, haul harvesting.
equipment 1o and from the fields where the harvest is conducted, and may haul har-
vested crops from the fields where harvested to a storage facility or food processing
plant. Subsequent transportation of the harvested crops. however, such as to haul har-

vested crops from storage facilities to processing plants or to haul processed crops
to market, are not permitted under a Farm Service CDL.

(e) “Farm retail outlet™ means a business engaged in the retail
sale and delivery of farm supplies to farmers.

(f) “Farm service CDL" means a restricted commercial driver
license issued pursuant to this section.

(g) “Farm service industry” means a farm retail outlet, a cus-
tom harvester, a livestock feeder or an agri—chemical business.
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(h) “Farmer” has the meaning set forth in s. 340.01 (18) (b),
Stats.

(i) “Livestock feeder” means a business that is licensed as an

approved feed lot under 5. ATCP 11.14.
Nuote: Section ATCP 11.14 was repealed eff. 10—1-06.

(j) “Seasonal employment™ means a period of employment
that does not exceed 180 days per year.

(k) “Seasonal period” means a continuous time period for
which a farm service CDL permits limited operation of commer-
cial motor vehicles.

(3) EuaBiury. The department may issue a farm service
CDL to any person who meets all of the following requirements:

(a) Is employed in seasonal employment with a farm service
industry.

(b) Has held a class D operator’s license, other than an instruc-
tion permit for at least the one—year period preceding the date of
application.

(c) Meets the driver record requirements of sub. (4).

(d) Has passed the test required under sub. (7).

(e) Does not hold a CDL.

(f) Meets the medical standards requirements of s. 343.065,
Stats., and ch, Trans 112,

(g) Is at least 18 years of age.

(4) Drivir RECORD REQUIREMENTS. The department may not
issue or renew a farm service CDL to any person who at any time
during the 2—year period preceding the date of application:

(a) Held more than one operator’s license at one time, except
that for purposes of this subdivision, a school bus or chauffeur’s
license issued under s. 343.12 or 343.125, 1987 Stats., shall be
counted with a regular license as a single license.

(b) Had any driver license or operating privilege, in Wisconsin
or any other jurisdiction, revoked, suspended or canceled as a
result of a moving violation. Failure to pay a forfeiture resulting
from a non—traffic offense is not a moving violation for purposes
of this paragraph.

(c) Was convicted of speeding in excess of 15 miles per hour
over the applicable speed limit or any one violation listed as a dis-
qualifying offense or serious traffic violation under s, 343.315 (2)
(a), (e), (1) or (g), Stats., regardless of whether the person was
operating a commercial motor vehicle at the time of the offense.

(d) Was convicted of a violation of a law relating to motor
vehicle traffic control arising in connection with any traffic acci-
dent, except a parking or safety belt violation.

(e) Was at fault in any motor vehicle accident.

(f) Was convicted of a violation of a law arising out of the per-
son’s operating a vehicle type not authorized under a farm service
CDL, violating a restriction of a farm service CDL, transporting
hazardous materials not permitted under a farm service CDL, or
operating a commercial motor vehicle outside the seasonal period
provided for on a farm service CDL.

(5) DisquaLIFICATION. The department shall revoke, suspend,
cancel or disqualify the farm service CDL privilege of any person
who is disqualified under s, 343.315, Stats.

(6) AppLicaTiON. (a) An application for a farm service CDL
shall be made on forms provided by the department and shall
include all requested information.

(b) An original or renewal application for farm service CDL
shall include all of the following:

1. A standard driver license application form.
2. A certification of the driver’s eligibility for the license.
3. The required fee.
4. Specification of the seasonal period for which the applicant
seeks farm service CDL operating privileges.
Note: Driver License Application and renewal forms (MV3001 and MV3005) and

Driver Certification forms (MV3586) may be obtained at any Division of Motor
Vehicle Services Center or from the Wisconsin Department of Transportation,

Trans 102.20

Bureau of Driver Services, License Issuance Unit, P.O. Box 7918, Madison, W1
53T07-7918.

(7) TesTNG. (a) The department may not issue a farm service
CDL to any person who has not passed the required knowledge
test.

Note: Seess. 343.16/(1) (a) and 343.16 (2), Stats,

(b) The department shall waive CDL skills tests for applicants
seeking farm service CDLs except under circumstances where the
department would require one or more examinations under s.
343.16 (5) or (6), Stats.

(8) RestricTions. All farm service CDLs shall be subject to
the following restrictions:

(a) The license may not permit operation of class A motor
vehicles as defined ins. 343.04 (1) (a), Stats.

(b) The license may not permit transporting hazardous materi-
als except liquid fertilizer in vehicles or implements of husbandry
with total capacities of 3000 gallons or less, solid fertilizers that
are not transported with any organic substance, or 1000 gallons or
less of diesel fuel, but no combination of these materials.

(¢) The license may not permit operation of a school bus or of
a passenger carrying vehicle, as defined in s. 343.04 (2) (d), Stats.

(d) The license shall permit operation only of commercial
motor vehicles owned, leased or rented by the driver’s farm ser-
vice industry employer.

(e) The license may not permit operation of commercial motor
vehicles outside the period of seasonal employment.

(f) The license may not permit the operation of commercial
motor vehicles beyond 150 miles of the place of business or farm
being served.

(fm) The license may not permit operation by a custom har-
vester unless related to the harvesting of crops.

(g) The license may not permit operation in interstate com-
merce unless the driver meets the requirements of s. 343.06 (3),
Stats.

(h) The license may not grant farm service CDL privileges for
more than 180 days in any calendar year.

(8) No OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE. The department may not issue
an occupational license granting farm service CDL privileges.

(10) SEASONAL PERIOD APPLICATION AND DRIVER RECORD VERI-
FICATION. (a) Except when a license is due for renewal, at least
once each calendar year in which an applicant seeks farm service
CDL privileges, the person shall apply to the department for a
farm service CDL replacement license designating the person’s

next seasonal period.

Note: Form MV33587, Application for New Farm service CDL Seasonal Period
may be obtained at any Division of Motor Vehicle Services Center or from the Wis-
consin Department of Transportation, Bureau of Driver Services, License Issuance
Unit, P.O. Box 7918, Madison, W1 53707-7918,

(b) The department shall confirm the driver’s continued eligi-
bility for the farm service CDL before each seasonal period and,
il the driver is eligible for the license under sub. (3), shall issue a
replacement farm service CDL to the driver. If a replacement
license is issued by mail and the driver fails to return the license
document it replaces to the department, the department may can-
cel the replacement license.

(¢) No person may have more than 2 seasonal periods in a cal-
endar year.

Note: See sub, (13} (c) regarding the fee for changing a seasonal period.

(11) LicenskrorM. A farm service CDL shall be subject to the
restrictions set forth on the license.

(12) ExpiraTiON, Farm service CDL privileges shall expire on
the same date as the holder’s operator’s license.

Note: Sees. Trans 102.16.

(13) Fees. (a) The fee for the farm service CDL shall be the
fee established ins. 343.21 (1) (d), Stats., or the prorated amount
due under s. Trans 102.10.

Note: The fee for a CDL under s. 343.21 {1} (d), Stats., is currently $64.

(¢) The fee for changing the seasonal period on a farm service

CDL after a person has specified a seasonal period in a given cal-
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endar year shall be the fee for obtaining a duplicate license under
s.343.21 (1) (L), Stats.

Note: Section 34321 (1) (d), Stats. prescribes the fee for CDLs. Section 343.21
{1} (L), Stats., currently provides that the fee for a duplicate license shall be $4.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1993, No, 445, off. 2-1-93; am. (2) (d), (j), (8) (b},
(h)and (10) (2), cr. (8) (fm}, Register, December, 1993, No. 456, eff. 1—1-94; comec-
tion in (2) (i) made under s. 13.93 (2m) (b} 7., Stats,, Register, December, 1993, No,
456; am. (4) (¢}, Register, January, 1997, No, 493, eff. 2-1-97; am. (10) (a), (b), (11,
(13) (a) and (c), r. {13) (b), Register, December, 1999, No. 328, eff. 1-1-00; am. (Z)
(i), Register, August, 2000, No, 536, eff, 9=1-00; CR 06-064: am. (1) and (8) (1) Reg-
ister September 2006 No. 609, eff. 10-1-06.

Trans 102.205 Copying of driver licenses. Any per-
son, including the state or federal government, or an agency or
political subdivision thereof, may make a copy of a driver license
provided the copy is intended to be used for the identification of
the person to whom the license has been issued and the person
does not sell or transfer the copies to any third person or include
the copy of the driver license photo in any electronic or paper
library of images. This provision does not prohibit a lender or
business from requesting and making a copy of a driver license as
part of an application for credit or other business services and for-
warding that copy with the application materials in the ordinary
course of business when the commercial paper or business is sold
or transferred.

Note: Amendments to s. 343,43 (1) (), Stats., enacted as part of 1999 Wis, Act
9 provide the department with authority to adopt this rule with respect to driver
licenses. No similar authority exists with regard to the general prohibition against
copying identification cards found ins. 343,50 (12) (¢), Stats. See State v. Schwolin,
57 Wis. 2d 764 (1973), for general guidance on the copying of identification cards.
History: Cr. Register, August, 2000, No. 536, eff. 9-1-00.

Trans 102.21 Sponsorship of persons under 18
years of age. (1) Dermvimions. In this section:
(a) “Adult” means a person who is 18 years of age or older.

(b) “Foster parent” means a person licensed to operate a foster
home or treatment foster home under s, 48.62, Stats.

(c) “Guardian™ means the person named by the court having
the duty and authority of guardianship.

(d) “Minor” means a person less than [8 years of age.

(e) “Parent” means either a biological parent, a husband who
has consented to the artificial insemination of his wife under s.
§91.40, Stats., or a parent by adoption. If the child is a nonmarital
child who is not adopted or whose parents do not subsequently
intermarry under s. 767.803, Stats., “parent” includes a person
adjudged in a judicial proceeding to be the biological father. *Par-
ent” does not include any person whose parental rights have been
terminated.

(f “Stepparent™ means a person who is married to the minor’s
biological or adoptive parent and is not a biological or adoptive
parent of the minor.

Note: The definitions used in pars. (¢) and (e) are intended to parallel those in s.
48.02, Stats.

(2) Apurr sponsors. The following adults may sponsor a
minor’s application for Wisconsin operator’s license:

(a) The minor’s parent, stepparent or guardian.

(b) The minor’s spouse.

(¢) The minor's grandparent, brother, sister, aunt, uncle or fos-
ter parent if the minor does not reside with any of the persons iden-
tified in par. (a).

(d) The person with whom a foreign exchange student resides
if the foreign exchange student is from outside the United States
and is not residing with any of the persons identified in par. (a).

(3) PowEeRrs OF ATTORNEY. An adult holding a valid power of
attorney may execute the sponsorship form for a minor on behal f
of a sponsor.

Note: The department has a form Durable Power of Attorney, Driver License
Sponsorship for Minor that is designed to be used for this purpose, form MV 3627,
The form can be obtained from the Division of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of Driver Ser-
vices, PO Box 7920, Madison, W1 337077920, telephone (608) 266-2237 or at any
maotor vehicle services station.
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(4) PrOOF OF IDENTITY. A sponsor or attorney—in—fact of a
sponsor shall provide proof of identity satisfying the requirements
of's. Trans 102.15 (4) when a department representative acts as the
witness to a sponsor’s or attorney—in—fact’s signature.

History: Cr. Register, November, 1994, No, 467, eff. 12-1-94,

Trans 102.23 Military, firefighting, farmer and emer-
gency government CDL exemptions. (1) Purrose. The
purpose of this section is to administratively implement the fed-
eral waiver for vehicles operated by the United States armed
forces, farmers, firefighters and emergency responders, and emer-
gency snowplow drivers for small units of local government per-
mitted under 49 CFR 383.3(c¢) and (d). This section shall be inter-
preted and administered consistent with those regulations and in
a manner that complies with federal guidelines issued pursuant to
those regulations.

(2) Dermamions. In this section:

(a) “CDL class, endorsement or restriction” means authoriza-
tion to operate class A, B or C commercial motor vehicles, any
endorsement described in s, 343,17 (3) (d), Stats., or any restric-
tion specified in ss. 343.17 (3) (d) or (¢), Stats.

(b) “Local unit of government” means a county, city, village,
town, school district, county utility district, sanitary district, met-
ropolitan sewage district, or other public body created by or pur-
suant to state law.

(3) MiLitary warver. No CDL class, endorsement or restric-
tion shall be required of or applied to a person operating a com-
mercial motor vehicle for military purposes, including all of the
following:

(a) Active duty military personnel.

(b) Members of the military reserves.

(¢) Members of the national guard on active duty, including
personnel on full-time national guard duty.

(d) Personnel on part—time national guard training.

(e) National guard military technicians.
Note: National guard military technicians are civilians who are required to wear
military uniforms. 49 CFR 383.3 (¢).
() Active duty U.S. Coast Guard personnel.

(4) MILITARY WAIVER INAPPLICABLE. Subsection (3) does not
apply to U.S. reserve technicians.

(5) FarmEers. No CDL class, endorsement or restriction shall
be required of or applied to any person operating a commercial
motor vehicle for farming purposes who meets all of the following
criteria:

(a) The person is operating a farm vehicle that is being used
to transport agricultural products, farm machinery, farm supplies
or any combination of these goods to or from a farm.

(b) The vehicle is owned or controlled by a farmer. For pur-
poses of this paragraph, “farmer”™ means any person who operates
a farm or is directly involved with the cultivation of land, crops or
livestock which are owned or directly controlled by that person.
Farmer includes all persons meeting the definition in s. 340.01
(18) (b), Stats. “Farmer” also includes a corporation, association,
cooperative or partnership owned or controlled by farmers and
engaged in the business of farming.

(c) The vehicle is operated by the farmer, the farmer’s employ-
ees, or the farmer’s family members. For purposes of this para-
graph, “family member” means any parent, stepparent, grand-
parent, child, stepchild, brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister,
uncle, aunt, first cousin, nephew, niece, grandchildren, as defined
ins. 990.001 (16), Stats., whether related by blood or adoption, or
the spouses of any such person and any spouse or guardian of the
farmer.

Note: Section 990.001 (16), Stats,, includes a chart that makes the relationships
described in this section easier to understand,

(d) The vehicle is used within 150 miles of the farmer’s farm.
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(e) The vehicle is not used in the operation of a common or
contract motor carrier, as those terms are defined ins. 194.01 (1)
and (2), Stats,

Naote: Any shipping for payment in cash or kind is considered contract motor car-
rier operations. s. 194,01 (2), Stats., 49 CFR 390.5,

(6) FIREFIGHTERS AND EMERGENCY GOVERNMENT WORKERS.
No CDL class, endorsement or restriction shall be required of or
applied to any person operating a commercial motor vehicle nec-
essary to the preservation of life or property or the execution of
emergency government functions provided the vehicles are
equipped with audible and visual signals and are not subject to
normal traffic regulations when using these signals, Vehicles
exempt under this subsection include all of the following:

(a) Fire trucks.

(b) Hook and ladder trucks.

(c) Foam or water transport trucks.

(d) Police SWAT team vehicles.

(e) Ambulances.

(f) Rescue squads.

(g) Command post vehicles.

Naote: The original federal waiver | operation of only in response

o emergencies or in the routine performance of other duties. The federal government
removed that restriction in promulgating 49 CFR 383.3(d)(2), thereby extending the
waiver for other non-routine functions such as parades and vehicle repair. This rule

bl

Trans 102.23

n}n_:kgng adopts this led waiver p 1o the authority provided in s. 343,055
[3), Stats,

(7) SxowpLOW OPERATORS. No CDL class, endorsement or
restriction shall apply to a person operating a commercial motor
vehicle for the purpose of removing snow or ice from a roadway
by plowing, salting, sanding, or applying other snow and ice treat-
ment chemicals if all of the following apply:

(a) The person is an employee of a local unit of government
with a population of 3000 or less.

(b) The person holds a valid license authorizing the operation
of class “D" vehicles.

(c¢) The person is operating within the boundaries of the local
unit of government.

(d) One of the following:

1. The properly licensed employee who ordinarily operates
a commercial motor vehicle for these purposes is unable to oper-
ate the vehicle.

2. Additional assistance is required in plowing snow because
the local unit of government has determined that a snow emer-

gency exists.

Note: Wisconsin has not adopted restricted CDL license waivers for the pyrotech-
nic industry permitted at 49 CFR 383.3(g).

History: CR 04-141: cr, Register May 2005 Na. 593, eff. 6-1-05; CR 06-064:
{23 (b), (7) (a) to (d) (intro) and 2. renum. from Trans 102.22 (2) and (3) (a) to (d)
(intro,), 2. and am. (2} (b); am. (1) and (2), er. (5) 1o (7) (intro.) and (d) 1., Register
September 2006 No. 609, eff. 10-1-06.

Published under s. 35.93, Stats. Updated on the first day of each month. Entire code is alway t. The Register date on each page

is the date the chapter was last published. Report errors (608) 266-3151.

Register May 2015 No. 713
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APPENDIX OP-1: WISCONSIN INFORMATION NETWORK FOR
SAFETY (WINS) FITTING STATIONS

Safe Kids Chapter Directory
Adams

Adams County Public Health

Adams County Child Passenger Safety Program
108 East North Street

Friendship 53934

608 339 4505

Fax: 608 339 4560

Program Type: give-away, fitting station

Car Seat Types: toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment

Hours: 8am-4:30pm daily

Eligibility Requirement: Adams County resident, meet
income guidelines

Adams County Family Resource Center

(a program of Renewal Unlimited, Inc.)

Sheila Michels

1070 State Hwy 13

Friendship 53934

608 564 1255 ext. 205
smichels@renewalunlimited.net

Program Type: fitting station, Community checkup
events

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: by appointment only
Hours: 8am-4:30pm M-F, by appointment
Eligibility Requirement: Adams County resident

Ashland

Ashland County Health & Human Services
Public Health Car Seat Safety Program

Sara Wart man

630 Sanborn Av

Ashland 54806

715 682 7028
swartman@hsd.co.ashland.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: by appointment only
Hours: 7:30am-5pm daily

Eligibility Requirement: Ashland County resident,
donation recommended
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Ashland Fire Department

Child Passenger Safety Program

Julie Le Blanc

300 Stuntz Av

Ashland 54806

715 682 7052

Fax: 715 682 7903

jleblanc@coawi.org

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment, check-up events
Hours: M-F 8AM-4PM; annual car seat event is the
3rd Saturday in May from 10am-1pm

Eligibility Requirement: donation recommended

Bad River Transit

Jessica Bigboy

PO. Box 126

Odanah 54861

715 685 9461
transitclerk@badriver-nsn.gov

Program Type: ﬁtting station; grant seats
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment, check-up events
Hours: M-F 8AM-4PM

Eligibility Requirement: None

Barron

Barron County Dept Health & Human Services
Barron County Car Seat Program

Becky Tollers

410 E. LaSalle Av

Barron 54812

715 537 6580

Fax: 715 537 6274

btollers@co.barron.wi.us

Program Type: donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: appointment, check-up events
Hours: 8:00am-4:30pm daily

Eligibility Requirement: Income will determine the
amount clients will pay for seat,


mailto:btollers@co.barron.wi.us
mailto:transitclerk@badriver-nsn.gov
mailto:jleblanc@coawi.org
mailto:swartman@hsd.co.ashland.wi.us
mailto:smichels@renewalunlimited.net

however no one is turned away for inability to pay.
Barron County resident.

Bayfield
Brown

Bellevue Fire Department

Chad Weihbrecht

3100 Eaton Road

Green Bay 54311

920 788 7444
cweihbrect@bellevue-fire.com

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, and booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
Hours: By appointment

Eligibility Requirement: None

Brown County Health Department

Brown County Car Seat Program

Andrea Schultz

610 S Broadway PO Box 23600

Green Bay 54305

920 448 6432

Fax: 920 448 6449

schultz_an@co.brown.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: appointment

Hours: 9am-3:30pm M-Th, some Fridays

Eligibility Requirement: Brown County resident,
discount to WIC families

Discounted or free seats available thru other programs
(must have voucher)

Center for Childhood Safety/Safe Kids Greater
Green Bay

Center for Childhood Safety Car Seat Inspection
Station

Jennifer Mayer

842 S. Military Avenue

Green Bay 54304

9202720110

jmayer@ccsgb.org

Website: www.centerforchildhoodsafety.org

Program Type: fitting station; donation

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: appointment, check-up events

Hours: Arranged by appointment, but generally 8:30-
3:30, M-E.

Eligibility Requirement: No residency requirements
for seeing clients at the CSS Inspection Station.

- -De Pere Health Department

De Pere Car Seat Inspection Program

Julie Switzer

335 S Broadway

De Pere 54115

920 339 4054

Fax: 920 339 2745

deperehealth@mail.de-pere.org

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, and booster

Service Availability: by appointment

Hours: 8am-4:30pm M-F

Eligibility Requirement: City of De Pere resident

Oneida Health Center

Oneida Car Seat Inspection program

920 869 4840

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability: appointment

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement: tribal members only

Wrightstown Police Dept.

Perry Kingsbury

352 High Street

Wrightstown 54180

920 532 6007

Fax: 920 532 4996
pkingsbury@wrightstown.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment only
Hours: 8am-5pm

Eligibility Requirement:

Buffalo

Buffalo County DHHS
Jen Rombalski

407 s 2nd St PO Box 517
Alma 54610

608 685 4412

Fax: 608 685 3342

Jennifer.rombalski@buffalocounty.com
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Program Type: give away

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in, appointment

Hours: M-F 8:00am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: We take need into consider-
ation (ie-subjective value of ability to purchase an
appropriate seat)

Burnett

Burnette County Family Resource Center

Annie Lupo-Gondwe

24062 State Rd 35/70

Siren 54872

715-349-2922

Email: administrator@bcfrc.com

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: Walk-in Service, By appointment
Hours: Monday-Thursday, 9:00-3:00pm, Friday by
appointment

Eligibility Requirement: None

St. Croix Tribal Health Dept

St Croix Tribal Ride Safe

Kathy Dittmar

4404 State Rd 70

Webster 54893

715 349 8554

Fax: 715 349 2559

katdity@yahoo.com

Program Type: give-away; donation/purchase
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: walk-in, appointment, check-up
events

Hours: M-F 8:00am-4:00pm

Eligibility Requirement: income

Calumet

Safe Kids Fox Valley

Calumet County Public Health

Sarah Rhone

sarah.rhone@co.outagamie.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: by appointment

Hours: by appointment

Call Health Division to schedule appt 920 849 1432
Eligibility Requirement:
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Chippewa
Clark

Clark County Health Department
Clark County Car Seats for Kids
517 Court Street Room 105
Neillsville 54456

715 743 5105
brittany.mews@co.clark.wi.us

Type:
donation/purchase

Program give-away; ﬁtting station;
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: By appointment only

Hours: 8am-4:30pm Mon-Fri

Eligibility Requirement: Car seat checks free to anyone.
Please call for an appointment. New car seat require-
ments: Clark County resident and income eligible ,
enrolled in at least one of the following programs:
WIC, Medicaid/BadgerCare, FoodShare, or Head
Start. Suggested cost: $20 for infant, Convertible, or
Forward Facing/Booster Combo, $10 for High Back

Booster, and $5 for Low Back Booster.

Memorial Medical Center
Clark County Car Seats for Kids
216 Sunset Place

Neillsville 54456

715-743-8423
brittany.mews@co.clark.wi.us
Program  Type: give-away; fitting  station;
donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: By appointment only

Hours: 8am-4:30pm Mon-Fri

Eligibility Requirement: Car seat checks free to anyone.
Please call for an appointment. New car seat require-
ments: Clark County resident and income eligible ,
enrolled in at least one of the following programs:
WIC, Medicaid/BadgerCare, FoodShare, or Head
Start. Suggested cost: $20 for infant, Convertible, or
Forward Facing/Booster Combo, $10 for High Back

Booster, and $5 for Low Back Booster
Columbia

Columbus Community Hospital
Beth Simons

1515 Park Ave

Columbus 53925


mailto:brittany.mews@co.clark.wi.us
mailto:brittany.mews@co.clark.wi.us
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920 623 2200

Fax:

Program Type: Fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment
Hours: Call for appointment
Eligibility Requirement:

Crawford

Prairie du Chien Memorial Hospital Family
Resource Center

Car Seat Program

Amanda Nagel

800 E Taylor St

Prairie du Chien 53821

608 357 2135

Fax: 608 326 4882
frc@pdcmemorialhospital.org

Program Type: rental; fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment
Hours: 8am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: All are welcome

Dane

Safe Kids Madison Area Child Passenger Safety
Program

Nicole Vesely

Terri O'Brien

610 N. Whitney Way, Ste B40

Mailcode: 9797

Madison 53705-9797

608 890 8999

safekids@uwhealth.org

Website: www.uwhealthkids.org/safekids

Program Type: Car seat inspection events, reduced cost
car seats for WIC participants in Dane County

Car Seat Types: convertible, harness booster, booster
Availability: By

community events; Spanish technician available

Service appointment only at
Hours: weekdays during community events

Eligibility Requirement: All are welcome.

American Family Children's Hospital
Madison Area Safe Kids Child Passenger Safety
Nicole Vesely

Terri O'Brien

610 N. Whitney Way, Ste B40
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Mailcode: 9797

Madison 53705-9797

608 890 8999

safekids@uwhealth.org
Website:www.uwhealthkids.org/safekids

Program Type: Car seat inspection events, reduced cost
car seats for WIC participants in Dane County

Car Seat Types: convertible, harness booster, booster
Availability: By
community events; Spanish technician available

Service appointment only at
Hours: weekdays during community events

Eligibility Requirement: All are welcome. Thank you!!!

American Family Children's Hospital

CPS Program

Kylene Anttila

600 Highland Av - 4165

Madison 53792-4165

608 890 8078

kanttila@uwhealth.org

Program Type: rental/give-away

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: appointment

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement: Children's Hospital patients
only

DeForest Police Department

Officer Ben Larson

305 E. Holum Street

DeForest 53532

608-846-6756

larsonb@vi.deforest.wi.us

Program Type: Fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
Hours: By appointment

Eligibility Requirements: Car seats checks only at this
time.

Middleton Fire Department

Lynda Nelson

7600 University Avenue

Middleton 53562

608 827 1090

Fax:

Lyndanelson254@hotmail.com
Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
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Service Availability: appointment
Hours: Sunday afternoons by appointment
Eligibility Requirement: n/a

Middleton Police Department

Julie Carbon and Jill Tutaj

7341 Donna Dr

Middleton 53562

608 824 7300
jearbon@ci.middleton.wi.us
jtutaj@ci.middleton.wi.us

Program Type: Rental

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: walk-in, by appointment, and
community checkup events

Hours: 7am-7pm

Eligibility Requirement: n/a

Oregon Area Fire/EMS District

Captain Eithun

131 Spring Street

Oregon 53575

608-835-5587 ext. 563
eithun@oregonareafireems.org

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, and booster
Service Availability: By appointment only and
Community Checkup Events

Hours: Anytime-Call for an appointment
Eligibility Requirement: none

UW-Madison Police Department

1429 Monroe St

Madison 53711

608 262 2957

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment

Hours: Generally M-F, 7am-4pm

Eligibility Requirement: seat checks only and by
appointment, no seats available

Sun Prairie Fire Department
Angela White

135 N Bristol St

Sun Prairie 53590

608 837 5066 x2
awhite@cityofsunprairie.com
Program Type: fitting station
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Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: by appointment
Hours: By appointment only

checks

Eligibility ~Requirement: seat only-by

appointment

Cross Plains Police Department

Cross Plains Child Passenger Safety Program

Gregory Kosharek, Police Officer

2417 Brewery Road

Cross Plains 53528

608 798 4100 x132
gkosharek@crossplainspolicewi.com

Program Type: fitting station, donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in, by appointment, check-
up events

Hours: By appointment, scheduled fitting stations
throughout the year

Eligibility Requirement: car seats are available for
families in need. Generally this requires that the family
is receiving some form of public assistance

Dodge

Watertown Fire Department

Andrea Peters

106 Jones St

Watertown 53094

920 261 3610

Fax: 920 262 4016

apeters@cityofwatertown.org

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: walk-in, appointment, check-up
events

Hours: 8am-4:30pm, station staffed 24 hours/day
Eligibility Requirement: none

Dodge County Human Services and Health Dept-
Public Health Unit

Dodge County Public Health Car Seat Program
Abby Saucer, Public Health Nurse

Amy Muenchow, Public Health Technician

199 County Rd DF

Juneau 53039

920 386 3670

asauer@co.dodge.wi.us
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Program Type: give-away, fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment and community
check-up events

Hours: M-E 8:00am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: Must be a resident of Dodge
County and be participating or eligible for the WIC
program in order to

receive a car seat.

Watertown Department of Public Health

Abbey Frye

515 S. First St

Watertown 53094

920 262 8090

afrye@ci.watertown.wi.us

Program Type: give-away, fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: by appointment only, community
check-up events

Hours: 8am — 4:30pm Mon-Fri

Eligibility Requirement: No eligibility criteria for seat
checks. Eligibility criteria for give-away seats: Resident
of the City of Watertown, at or below 185% federal
poverty level, and have no other means to obtain a new
seat.

Door

Door and Kewaunee County Car Seat Inspection
Program

Jenny Austin

920 929 3700

jennifer.austin@dot.state.wi.us

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability: appointment

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:

Sturgeon Bay Fire Dept.

Tim Dietman

421 Michigan Street

Sturgeon Bay, 54235

920-746-2405
tdietman@sturgeonbaywi.org

Program Type: donation

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
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Service Availability: By appointment only, we are
available at any time
Eligibility Requirement: None

Douglas

Douglas County Sheriff’s Department
Douglas County Sheriff’s Department Child Passenger
Safety Program

John Parenteau

1316 N 14th St Rm 100

Superior 54880

715395 1371

Fax: 715 395 1503

Program Type: donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment

Hours: 9am-4pm

Eligibility Requirement: donation recommended

Dunn

Dunn County Health Dept

Safe Kids Coalition

Dianne Robertson or Deb Benoit

3001 US Highway 12 East, Suite 032
Menominee 54751

715 232 2388

Fax: 715232 1132

dbenoit@co.dunn.wi.us
drobertson@co.dunn.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment

Hours: M-F 8am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: Dunn County resident

Eau Claire

Mayo Clinic Health System-Eau Claire

Kimberly Strasburg, RN

1221 Whipple Street

Eau Claire 54703

715-838-3180

Strasburg.kimberly@mayo.edu

Program Type: Fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, and booster

Service Availability: Community Checkup Events
Hours: Every 2nd Monday of the month from 4-7 pm
at Chippewa Valley Technical College-West Campus
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CVTC Fire Safety Center

3617 Campus Road

Eau Claire, WI 54703

Eligibility Requirement: No criteria, all are welcome,
drop-in, no appointments

Eau Claire City-County Health Depart/Safe Kids
Chippewa Valley

Kids Ride Safe

Beth Draeger

720 Second Av

Eau Claire 54703

715 839 5122

Fax: 715 839 1674
Beth.draeger@co.eau-claire.wi.us

Program Type: give away

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler

Service Availability: appointment, check up events
Hours: 8:30am-5pm

Eligibility Requirement: Pregnant women participating
in the Prenatal Care Coordination Program

Florence

The Family Center of Florence County
Lori Friberg

612 Lake Avenue PO Box 17

Florence 54121

715 528 5566

Fax: 715 528 5572
fcfamily@borderlandnet.net

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours: M-F 8am-4pm

Eligibility Requirement: income; W1 resident

Fond du Lac

Fond du Lac Sheriff’s Dept

Donna

PO Box 1273

Fond du Lac 54935

920 929 3372

Program Type: Fitting Station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: by appointment
Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:
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Family Resource Center of Fond du Lac County,
Inc.

Kelley Baker

104 S. Main Street, Suite 302

Fond du Lac 54935

920923 4110

admin@fdlfrc.org

Program Type: Fitting Station, Give away

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in

Hours: Mon,Wed, 9am-4pm; Tue, Thur, 9am-2pm
Eligibility Requirement: Car seats are only available by
referral only.

Forest

Forest County Health Dept

Forest County Car Seat Program
Deborah Bellamy, Julie Weber

200 E Madison St

Crandon 54520

715 478 3371

Fax: 715 478 5171
dbellamy@co.forest.wi.us

Program Type: give-away; fitting station
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: walk-in, appointment
Hours: M-F 8:30am-12pm, 1-4:30pm
Eligibility Requirement: Forest County resident;
income at poverty level

Grant

Grant County Health Department
Jamie Kreul

111 S Jefferson St, 2nd Floor
Lancaster 53813-1672

608 723 6416

Fax: 608 723 6501
jkreul@co.grant.wi.gov

Program Type: fitting station/donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster and special
needs

Availability: walk-in, by

Service appointment,

community check-up events

Hours: M-FE, 8:00-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: We have fitting stations at our
local WIC Clinics and our department office location
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Platteville Police Department
Detective Andrea Droessler

5 W Mineral St

Platteville 53818

608 348 2313

Fax: 608 348 4916
droesslera@platteville.org
Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability: appointment
Hours: vary-please call
Eligibility Requirement: carseats not provided-installa-
tions/checks only

Green

Monroe Area Safe Kids

Child Passenger Safety/Safe Kids Buckle-Up
Heidi Walter

N3150 Highway 81

Monroe 53566

608 328 9390

Fax: 608 325 7575
monroeareasafekids@greencountywi.org
Program Type: give-away; ﬁtting station;
donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: walk-in, appointment, check-up
events

Hours: M-F 8am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: voucher program w/WIC
participation or similar financial

need; others-donation encouraged based on ability to

pay. No rental program.
Green Lake
lowa

Family Resource Center

KICKS

Amy Hugill

115 West Merrimac St

Dodgeville 53533

608 935 7300

Program Type: rental; fitting station; donation/purchase
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: By appointment
Hours: 9am-3pm

Eligibility Requirement:

Iron

Jackson

Ho-Chunk Nation Division of Health

Ho-Chunk Nation Car Seat Program

Wiiha (Candice) Green

N6520 Lumberjack Guy Road

Black River Falls 54615

715 284 9851 ext 5070
candice.green@ho-chunk.com

Program Type: donation/purchase, give-away

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: By appointment only, check-up
events

Hours: 8am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: Car seat checks are available
for everyone and anyone. Car seats are available for
purchase to Native Americans and employees of the

Ho-Chunk Nation.

Black River Memorial Hospital
Charlene Galston RN

711 West Adams St

Black River Falls 54615

715 284 5361

Fax: 715 284 7166
dagalston@centurytel.net

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability: walk-in, appointment, check-up
events

Hours: flexible, based on client need
Eligibility Requirement: none

Jackson County Health & Human Services
Jackson County Child Safety Seat Program

Anita Leis

420 Hwy 54 POBox 457

Black River 54615

715 284 4301 x 301

Fax: 715 284 7713

Anita.Leis@co.jackson.wi.us

Program Type: give-away

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment, check-up events
Hours: M-F 8am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: WIC participant, Jackson
County resident, availability of seats based on grant

funds
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Jefferson

Fort Health Care

OB Unit

Deborah Schumacher

611 E Sherman Av

Fort Atkinson 53538

920 568 5304

Fax: 920 568 6036
Deborah.schumacher@forthc.com
Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment
Hours: 7am-11pm most days
Eligibility Requirement: n/a

Watertown Fire Department

Andrea Peters

106 Jones St

Watertown 53094

920 261 3610

Fax: 920 262 4016

apeters@cityofwatertown.org

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: walk-in, appointment, check-up
events

Hours: 8am-4:30pm, station staffed 24 hours/day
Eligibility Requirement: none

Jefferson County Health Department

Marsha Hake, Vicki Gallardo, Mary Magnuson, Nancy
Schneider and Serena Jahnke

1541 Annex Rd

Jefferson 53549

920 674 7275

nancys@jeffersoncountywi.gov

Program Type: fitting station, give-away

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in service, call for walk-in
event dates

Hours: 8am-4pm, by apt, Monthly walk-in events, call
or e-mail for details

Eligibility Requirement: Grant seats are available for
income eligible clients.

Watertown Department of Public Health
Abbey Frye
515 S. First St
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Watertown 53094

920 262 8090

afrye@ci.watertown.wi.us

Program Type: give-away, fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: by appointment only

Hours: 8am — 4:30pm Mon-Fri

Eligibility Requirement: No eligibility criteria for seat
checks. Eligibility criteria for give-away seats: Resident
of the City of Watertown, at or below 185% federal
poverty level, and have no other means to obtain a new
seat.

Whitewater Police Department

Ofhicer Michele Martin/ Ofhicer Bill Oliver

312 W. Whitewater St

Whitewater 53190

262 473 0555

mmartin@whitewater-wi.gov
woliver@whitewater-wi.gov

Program Type: give away

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in service

Hours: 7am — 3pm

Eligibility Requirement: Must receive state aid for grant
seats. It is recommended to call ahead and make sure

Officer Martin or Officer Oliver is working that day.

Waterloo Fire & Rescue

Jason Butzine or Matt Petrie

900 Industrial Lane

Waterloo 53594

920-478-2535

ibutzine@waterloofd.com

mpetrie@waterloofd.com

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster and special
needs

Service Availability: Walk-in Service, By Appointment,
and Community Checkup Event

Hours: Mon-Thurs; 6am-4pm

Friday-Sunday; 6am-10pm

Eligibility Requirement: None

Juneau

Juneau County Health Department

Juneau County Car Seat Program
Jennifer Froh
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220 E State St-courthouse
Mauston 53948

608 847 9373

Fax: 608 847 9407
jfroh@co.juneau.wi.us
Program  Type: give-away; fitting  station,
donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment

Hours: 8am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: Juneau county resident, must

meet income guidelines
Kenosha

Kenosha County Division of Health

Child Passenger Safety Seat Program

Gabrielle Hargrove

8600 Sheridan Rd Suite 600

Kenosha 53143

262 605 6700 or 262 605 6753

Fax: 262 605 6715
gabrielle.hargrove@kenoshacounty.org

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment, check-up events
Hours: M-F 8am-5pm

Eligibility Requirement: Kenosha county resident,
donation/fee based on income/sliding fee scale

Town of Salem Fire and Rescue

Jason Witte

11252 254th Court

Trevor 53179

262 843 2439 ext. 5633

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
Hours: Mon-Fri 8am-4pm, after hours available by
appt

Eligibility Requirement: No eligibility criteria

Kewaunee

Door and Kewaunee County Car Seat Inspection
Program

Jenny Austin

920 929 3700

jennifer.austin@dot.state.wi.us

Program Type:
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Car Seat Types:

Service Availability: appointment
Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:

La Crosse

Agape Pregnancy Resource Center

Penny Rediske or Nancy Amann

744 Moore Street

La Crosse 54603

608 784 4966

support@LaCrossePregnancy.com

Program Type: Car Seat Checks Car Seat Types: infant,
toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment only

Car seat checks are available on Tuesdays between
10:30am and 3:00pm

Eligibility Requirement: None, We also offer a Learn-
N-Earn program through which new car seats may be
obtained.

La Crosse County Health Department

Car Seat Check Program

Maggie Smith

300 North 4th Street

La Crosse 54601

608 785 9872

masmith@lacrossecounty.org

Program Type: rental; give-away; ﬁtting station;
donation

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: By appointment only

Hours: 8:00am-4:30pm, call for an appointment
Eligibility Requirement: Seat checks and rentals
available to all; $25 fee may apply, please call for an
appointment and more details. Free seats may be
More
http://www.getactivelacrosse.org/be-safe/car-seats/

available. details  available here at:

Brenengen Chevrolet, West Salem

Maggie Smith at La Crosse County Health Dept.
Paula Silha-LCHD/Russ Simon-Brenengen Chevrolet
99 W Hwy. 16

West Salem, W1 54669

608 785 99792

masmith@lacrossecounty.org

Program Type: Community Checkup Event

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
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Service Availability: check-up event

Hours: 3-7pm; first Thursday of each month, April
through September

Eligibility Requirement: Seat checks are free. No
appointment needed. Free seats may be available.
More details available here at: http://www.getac-
tivelacrosse.org/be-safe/car-seats/

Brenengen Chevy Cadillac Onalaska

Maggie Smith at La Crosse County Health Dept.

531 Theatre Rd.

Onalaska 54650

608-785-9792

masmith@lacrossecounty.org

Program Type: Community Checkup Event

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: Checkup Event

Hours: 3-7pm; second Thursday of each month, April
through September

Eligibility Requirement: Seat checks are free. No
appointment needed. Free seats may be available.
More details available here at: http://www.getac-
tivelacrosse.org/be-safe/car-seats/

La Crosse County Health Department

Brenengen Chevrolet Car Seat Fitting Station

Paula Silha-LCHD/Russ Simon-Brenengen Chevrolet
990 W City Hwy 16

West Salem, W1 54669

608 785 9872 LCHD

608 786 0400 Brenengen’s

psilha@lacrossecounty.org

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in, check-up event

Hours: 3-7pm; first Thursday of each month, April
through September

Eligibility Requirement: none

Onalaska Police Department

Officer Barry Holm

415 Main Street

Onalaska 54650

608-781-9550

bholm@cityofonalaska.com

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, and booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
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Hours: 6am-2pm. Days of the week vary. Please call for
appointment availability
Eligibility Requirement: None

Safe Kids Winter Seat Checks

Fire Station #3

Erica Kane

1710 Losey Blvd.

La Crosse, 54601

608-775-2011

etkane@gundersenhealth.org

Program Type: Community Checkup Event

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, and special
needs

Service Availability: Checkup Event

Hours: 12p.m.-4p.m. from October-March, second
Saturday of the month

Eligibility Requirement: Seat checks are free. No
appointment needed. Free seats may be available.
More details available here at: http://www.getac-
tivelacrosse.org/be-safe/car-seats/

University of Wisconsin -La Crosse

Victor Hill

605 17th Street North

La Crosse 54601

608-785-8056

vhill@uwlax.edu

Program Type: fitting station

Car seat types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: By appointment only, community
check-up events

Hours: M-E 8:00a.m.-4:30p.m., Appointments
required

Eligibility Requirement: None

Lafayette
Langlade

Langlade County Health Department
Kids TravelSafe of Langlade County
Sheila Rine

City of Antigo Fire Dept

700 Edison St

Antigo 54409

715 627 6250

Fax: 715 627 6391
srine@co.langlade.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station
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Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in, appointment, check-up
events

Hours: 4-6pm 2nd Wednesday of each month
Eligibility Requirement: seats can be obtained through
Salvation Army voucher if income guidelines met-WIC,
MA participants

Lincoln

Lincoln County Health Department

Kristin Bath

607 N Sales Street, Suite 101

Merrill 54452

715539 1373

kbath@co.lincoln.wi.us

Program Type: donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: By appointment only

Hours: Monday-Friday 8am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: Must be a Lincoln County
resident and be enrolled in at least one of the following
programs: WIC, Medical Assistance, Healthy Start or
BadgerCare, FoodShare (Food Stamps), W-2 Cash

Assistance or Wisconsin Shares

Brickner's Park City, Inc.

Maria Brickner

3000 E. Main Street

Merrill, 54452

715 536-2833

mariabricknerfamily.com

Program Type: Fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, and booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:

Manitowoc
Marathon

Safe Kids Wisconsin
Libbe Slavin

705 S 24th Av Ste 402
Wausau 54401

715 843 1890

Fax: 715 848 2959

Islavin@chw.org
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Services: unintentional injury prevention programming
for children 0-14 with a focus on child passenger
safety. Providing educational materials and resources
related to all unintentional injury areas.

Safe Kids Wausau Area

Michelle Armstrong

906 Tulip Lane

Wausau 54401

715 847 2864

Fax: 715 847 2015

Michelle.Armstrong@aspirus.org

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: Community Check-Up Event
Hours: 3rd Wednesday of each month from 11am-1pm
& 4-6pm at Yach’s Body & Custom in Wausau
Eligibility Requirement: None

- - -Safe Kids Wausau Area

Aspirus Wausau Hospital

Michelle Armstrong

333 Pine Ridge Blvd.

Wausau 54404

715-847-2864

Fax 715-847-2015

michelle.armstrong@aspirus.org

Program Type: fitting station, donation/purchase
Car Seat Type: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: Community Check-Up Events
Hours: 1st Wednesday of each month from 4-6pm at
Wausau Aspirus Hospital Birthing Center Entrance.

Wausau Police Dept

Maureen Pilsner

515 Grand Av

Wausau 54403

715261 7853

Fax: 715 261 4132
mlpilsner@mail.ci.wausau.wi.us
Program Type: fitting station; purchase
Car Seat Types:

Service Availability: walk-in, appointment, check-up
event

Hours: all

Eligibility Requirement: n/a
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Marinette

Marinette County Health & Human Services

Safe Kids Child Passenger Safety Program

Mary Rosner, Wendy Stuart, Molly Bonjean

2500 Hall Ave Suite C

Marinette 54143

7157327670

Fax: 715 732 7646

mrosner@marinettecounty.com

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: appointment, check up events
Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm M-F

Eligibility Requirement: low income eligible and
county resident

Marinette Fire Department

Assistant Chief Jay Heckel/Firefighter Steve Kunick
1450 Main Street

Marinette 54143

715-732-5178

Program Type: Check special needs seats

Car Seat Types: Special needs seats

Service Availability: Appointments are appreciated.
Techs are not available on all shifts. Walk-ins accepted
based on availability of techs and work schedule.

Marquette

Marquette County Health Department

Rachel Schackow

428 Underwood Avenue

PO. Box 181

Montello 53949

608-297-3135

Fax: 608-297-8923

Email: rschackow@co.marquette.wi.us

Program Type: car seat checks

Service Availability: 8:30-4pm M-F by appointment
only

Eligibility Requirement: Marquette County Resident

Menominee

Menominee Tribal Clinic
Carseat/Booster seat program
Kim Hill

PO Box 970

Keshena 54135
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715799 5437

KimH@mtclinic.net

Program Type: donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: by appointment only

Hours: 8am — 4:30pm M-F

Eligibility Requirement: Must live in Contract Health
service area and child must be enrolled Menominee or
Menominee Descendant.

Milwaukee

COA Youth & Family Centers

Sarah Piccione

909 E North Avenue

Milwaukee 53212

414 263 8397

Program Type: give-away/donation, fitting station
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, and booster
Service Awailability: By appointment only and
Community Checkup Events

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement: None

Cudahy Health Department

Ed Wrench RN

5050 S Lake Dr

Cudahy 53110

414-769-2239 ext. 300

Fax: 414 769 2291

Program Type: give-away; donation
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment only
Hours: By appointment only
Eligibility Requirement: Must be a resident of the City
of Cudahy.

Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin Booster and Car
Seat Clinic

Central Scheduling

9000 W Wisconsin Av

PO Box 1997

Milwaukee 53201-1997

877 607 5280

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: appointment

Hours:
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The Children’s Hospital of WI Car Seat Program is
available to inpatients and outpatients at the hospital.

We offer our car seat clinic services to our patients and
the community.

Eligibility Requirement: Families must meet eligibility
criteria in our hospital policy.

Hales Corners Fire Department
Joanne Chenery

10000 W Forest Home Ave

Hales Corners 53130

414 529 6168

Fax: 414 529 6169
jmchenery@sbcglobal.net

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: by appointment only
Hours: by appointment only

Eligibility Requirement: Hales Corners Residents only

City of Wauwatosa Fire Department

Lori Murphy

1601 Underwood Ave.

Wauwatosa 53213

414 471 8457

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddlers, and booster seat
Service Availability: By appointment only

Hours: call for an appointment, hours vary by
technican

Eligibility Requirement: Wauwatosa resident only

City of Milwaukee Police Department
Training Academy

Sgt. Shannon Seymer-Tabaska, Sherry Nelson,
Lishunda Patterson

6680 N Teutonia Av

Milwaukee 53209

414 935 7990 Sherry Nelson or Lishunda Patterson
414 935 7830 Sgt. Tabaska

Fax: 414 935 3561

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment

Hours: M-F 8am-4pm

Eligibility Requirement: We do checks and education
only. We do not have seats to give out.
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South Milwaukee Police Department
Officer Mick Olson or Officer Steven Martin
2424 15th Av

South Milwaukee 53172

414 768 8060

Fax: 414 768 8067
Olsonc@ci.south-milwaukee.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment, check-up events
Hours: 8am-4pm

Eligibility Requirement: yes

Franklin Health Department

Kristin Anderson

Kim Kringel

414 4259101

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement: Franklin resident

Greendale Fire Department

Lieutenant Eric Campbell

414 423 2131

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement: Greendale resident

Greenfield Fire Department

Firefighter Dan Weber

414 545 7946

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement: Greenfield resident

Milwaukee County Sheriff’s Office

Lt. Leslie Wachowiak

414 226 7058

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement: Milwaukee County resident
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North Shore Fire Department
Cpt. John Maydak
www.nsfire.org

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement: North Shore resident

AAA Wisconsin

Cyndi or Melissa

4433 S. 27th Street

Milwaukee 53221

414-423-2180

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
Hours: M-E 9:30am-4:00pm

Eligibility Requirement: None

Oak Creek Health Department

Oak Creek Car Seat Program

Ashley Palen: CHES

8040 S. 6th Street

Oak Creek 53154

414-766-7950

Fax 414-768-5866
apalen@oakcreekwi.org

Program Type: fitting station, donation/give-away
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
Hours: M-FE, 8:00am-3:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: None

Monroe

Monroe County Carseat Coalition
Karen Jankowski

9881 Image Ave

Sparta 54656

608 269 6977
mehl@erpcontracting.com

Program  Type:  give-away; fitting  station;
donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in, appointment, check-up
event

Hours: 3rd Thursday of each month 4:30-8pm
Eligibility Requirement: Monroe county resident
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Monroe County Health Department
Julie Anderson

14301 County Hwy B, A-18

Sparta 54656

608 269 8666

Fax: 608 269 8872
Julie.anderson@co.monroe.wi.us
Program Type: give-away; fitting station
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
Hours: 8am-4:30pm, Monday-Friday
Eligibility Requirement: WIC income guidelines

Oconto

Oconto County Health & Human Services-Public
Health

Oconto County Safe Kids Child Passenger Safety
Program

Danielle Risner — Safe Kids Coordinator

Sara Applebee

Lynn Stymiest

501 Park Av

Oconto 54153

920 834 7000

Fax: 920 834 6889

danielle.risner@co.oconto.wi.us
sara.applebee@co.oconto.wi.us
lynn.stymiest@co.oconto.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment

Hours: morning, late afternoon, and evening are
available. Appointments are held 2-3 times a month
and alternate between Gillett and Oconto.

Eligibility Requirement: WIC income eligible receive a
reduced rate seat. No restrictions on who can receive a
full priced seat.

Oneida

Oneida Oneida County Health Department
Dawn Klink

Rob Deede

100 W. Keenan St.

Rhinelander 54501

715369 6111

Fax: 715 369 6112
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Program Type: fitting station, give-away

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment, check-up events
Hours: M-F 8am-4:30pm, by appointment during the
hours of 8:30am t03:00pm

Eligibility Requirement: Must have expired or unsafe
car seat, (has been in a crash) to exchange for a new
convertible car seat.

Outagamie

Easter Seals Helpline

KARS

Jill Gretzinger

820 W College Av

Appleton 54914

920 832 0344

Fax: 920 832 0364
jgretzinger@wi.easterseals.com
Program Type:

Car Seat Types: special needs
Service Availability: appointment
Hours: M-Th 9am-3pm
Eligibility Requirement: Outagamie county resident

Grand Chute Fire Dept.

Sarah Rhone

2250 W. Grand Chute Blvd

Grand Chute 54914

920 832 5100

Fax: 920 832 4924

schwisls@co.outagamie.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: appointment only

Hours: by appointment

Call Nurse Direct to schedule appointment 920 738
2230

Toll Free call 800 362 9900

Eligibility Requirement:

Safe Kids Fox Valley

Outagamie County Public Health
Sarah J. Rhone, R.N. BSN

401 S. Elm Street

Appleton 54911

920-832-5103
Sarah.rhone@outagamie.org

Program Type: donation/fitting station
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Car Seat Type: infant, toddler, booster
Availability: By
community check-up events

Service appointment only &
Hours: Varies, please call nurse direct line @920-738-
2230

Eligibility Requirements: We do have eligibility criteria
for free car seats that would have to be screened by
health departments.

Wrightstown Police Department
Perry Kingsbury

352 High Street

Wrightstown 54180

920 532 6007

Fax: 920 532 4996
pkingsbury@wrightstown.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment only
Hours: 8am-5pm

Eligibility Requirement:

ThedaCare Medical Center — New London
Kristal Skenadore, RN

1405 Mill Street

New London 54961

920 531 2214

Fax: 920 531 2213
Kristal.skenadore@thedacare.org
Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: by appointment only
Hours: by appointment

Eligibility Requirement: none

Ozaukee

Ozaukee County Public Health Dept

Car Seat Safety Program

121 W Main St

Port Washington 53074

Joanne Viesselmann

262 284 8170

Program Type: give-away, fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment, check up events
Hours: 8:30am—5:00pm

Eligibility Requirement: low income, Ozaukee County
residents
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Aurora Medical Center - Grafton
Labor & Delivery

975 Port Washington Rd

Grafton 53024

262 329 4700

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability: by appointment only
Hours: by appointment only

Eligibility Requirement:

Cedarburg Police Department
Officer Ryan Fitting

262 375 7620

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:

Grafton Police Department
262 375 5320

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:

Pepin

Pepin County Health Department
Heidi Stewart

740 7th Ave W

Durand 54736

715 672 5961

Fax: 715 672 5920
hstewart@co.pepin.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: by appointment
Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm

Pierce

Pierce County Public Health Dept.
Laura Krech

412 W Kinne St

Ellsworth 54011

715 273 6755

Lkrech@co.pierce.wi.us
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Program Type: give-away, fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: by appointment only

Hours: 9am-4pm, Mon-Fri

Eligibility Requirement: No eligibility requirements to
have seats checked.

Must be at or below 185% poverty level to be eligible

for grant seats.

R.F. Ambulance

Mary Waters

N7809 920th Street

River Falls 54022

715-529-2861

mc-l-waters@sbcglobal.net

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: Walk-in and Community Check-
Up Events

Hours: Please call for appt. and to find out if a check-
up is scheduled. Available daily..

Eligibility Requirements: None

River Falls Area Hospital

Cyndy Bayer, RN

1629 East Division Street

River Falls, 54022

715-307-6169

cynthia.bayer@allina.com

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: 9-3pm, By appointment and
community check-up events

Eligibility Requirements: None
Polk

Amery Area EMS

Nicole Gullickson

150 Snow St

Amery 54001

715 268 8698
Ameryareaems@yahoo.com

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase of
seats

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: by appointment only
Hours: flexible, by appointment
Eligibility Requirement: none
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Polk County Health Department
Sally Johnson

100 Polk County Plaza

Balsam Lake 54810

715-485-8500

sallyj@co.polk.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm

Service Availability: By appointment, walk-in service,
and community check-up events
Eligibility Requirements: None

Portage

Stevens Point Child Safety Center

JoAnne Peotter

52 Sunset Blvd

Stevens Point 54481

715 341 7328(SEAT)

Fax: 715 346 0003

WINS9467 @sbcglobal.net

Program Type: rental; give-away; fitting station;
donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: appointment; check-up events
Hours: T-F 8am-4pm

Eligibility Requirement: Portage County resident

Portage County Health and Human Services
Sarah Wolf

817 Whiting Avenue

Stevens Point 54481

715-345-5762

wolfs@co.portage.wi.us

Program Type: give-away

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, and booster

Service Availability: Walk-in

Hours: Monday-Thursday, 8am-4:30pm

Friday 8am-3:00pm

Eligibility Requirement: Families actively enrolled in
the Portage County Prenatal Care Coordination
Program (PNCC), Women, Infants and Children
(WIC), or Portage County Child Protective Services
(CPS) who do not have the means to provide a properly
fitting car seat for their child or who are seeking
education to increase the safety of their child during
transit.
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Price
Racine

Central Racine County Health Dept.
CRCHD

10005 Northwestern Ave Suite A
Franksville 53126

262 898 4460

www.crchd.com

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment only
Hours: 8am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: None

City of Racine Health Dept

Sarah Clemons

730 Washington Av

Racine 53403

262 636 9292

Fax: 262 636 9564

sarah.clemons@cityofracine.org

Program Type: fitting station only-no seats available
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster, special needs
Service Availability: appointment

Hours: M-F 8am-4:55pm

Eligibility Requirement: n/a

To make an appointment, call 262 636 9431

Safe Kids Coalition Kenosha-Racine
Erin Donaldson

3821 Spring St

Racine 53405

262 687 3366

Fax: 262 687 5358
erin.donaldson@wthc.org
Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability: appointment
Hours: varies

Eligibility Requirement:

Richland

Richland County Health & Human Service Public
Health

Marianne Stanek

221 West Semainry St

Richland 53581
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608 647 8821
Fax: 608 647 6611

stanekm@richland.wi.us
Program  Type:  give-away; fitting  station;
donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment; check —up events
Hours: 8:30am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: n/a

Rock

City of Janesville Fire Department

City of Janesville Child Safety Seat Program
Jamie Kessenich

303 Milton Av

Janesville 53545

608 755 3050

Fax: 608 373 3438
kessenichj@ci.janesville.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in; appointment; check-up
events

Hours: varies

Eligibility Requirement:
Rusk

Rusk County Health and Human Services
311 Miner Av

Ladysmith 54848

7155322299

Program Type: give-away; fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: by appointment

Hours: 8a-4p

Eligibility Requirement: None

Sauk

Sauk Prairie Police Dept

Sauk Prairie Police Dept CPS Safety

Matthew Alt

726 Water St Suite A

Sauk City 53583

608 643 2427

Fax: 608 643 2670

matta@saukprairiepd.com

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase
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Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in; appointment; check-up
events

Hours: M-F 9am-5pm

Eligibility Requirement: no

Sauk Prairie Safe Community Coalition
Lisa Wenzel

726 Water St, Suite A

Sauk City 53583

608 963 2716

SPSCC3@charter.net

Program  Type: give away; fitting station;
donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in; appointment; check-up
events

Hours: M-F 8am-5pm
Eligibility Requirement: n/a; donation recommended

Baraboo Police Dept

Inspection/Fitting station

Ruth Browning, Amanda Meddaugh

135 4th Street

Baraboo 53913

608 355 2720

Fax: 608 356 1710

rbrowning@cityofbaraboo.com
ameddaugh@cityofbaraboo.com

Program Type: give away; fitting station

Car Seat Types: toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment; check-up events
Hours: Appt. needed unless Ofcr. Meddaugh or
Browning are on duty.

Eligibility Requirement: Grant seats available through
Public Health if in Baraboo School District with a
$10.00 donation.

Sawyer

Lac Courte Oreilles Early Head Start

Native C.A.R.S. (Children Always Ride Safe) Fitting
Station

Tiffany Leach, Dolores Belille

8837 N Trepania Rd

Hayward 54843

715 634 7262

Fax: 715 634 8604

tleach@lcohs-ehs.org
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Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster. Special needs
(preemie)

Service Availability: By appointment, check-up events
Hours: M-F 8am-4pm

Eligibility Requirement: seats are designated for Native
American families, or parents/guardians of Native

children.
Shawano

Shawano County Sheriff’s Department
Sandra Finger

405 N. Main Street

Shawano 54166

715-526-3111
Sandra.finger@co.shawano.wi.us

Program Type: Fitting Station

Car Seat Type: infant, toddler, and booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
Hours:

Eligibility Requirement: None

Sheboygan

Aurora Sheboygan Memorial Medical Center
Penny Maletzke

2629 N. 7th St

Sheboygan 53083

920 451 5581

penny.maletzke@aurora.org

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler and booster
Service Availability: By appointment only and
Community Checkup Events

Hours: By appointment only

Eligibility Requirement: n/a

Sheboygan County Safe Kids Chapter

Low Cost Car Seat Program

Sheboygan Co Public Health

1011 North 8th St

Sheboygan 53081

920 459 3030

Program Type: fitting station; donation/purchase
Car Seat Types: toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment; check up events
Hours: 2nd Tuesday of every month from 11:00AM-
2:00PM
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Eligibility Requirement: Income guidelines as deter-
mined by public health

St. Nicholas Hospital

Susie Runaas

3100 Superior Av

Sheboygan 53081

920 459 4628
srunaas@sns.hshs.org

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability: appointment
Hours: pre-scheduled appointment
Eligibility Requirement: n/a

St. Croix

River Falls Area Hospital

Cyndy Bayer, RN

1629 East Division Street

River Falls, 54022

715-307-6169
cynthia.bayer@allina.com

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: 9-3pm, By appointment and
community check-up events

Eligibility Requirements: None

Taylor
Trempealeau

Trempealeau County Health Department
Barb Barczak

36245 Main St

Whitehall 54773

715538 2311 x 220

Fax: 715 538 4861
barbarab@tremplocounty.com
Program Type: donation/purchase
Car Seat Types: toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment
Hours: 8am-3:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: None

Vernon

Vernon Memorial Healthcare
Lisa Turben
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507 S Main St

Viroqua 54665

608 637 4298

Fax: 608 637 2141

lturben@vmh.org

Program Type: rental; fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: Walk-in, appointment; check-up
events

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement: Nonee

Vernon County Health Dept

Nancy Walters

318 Fairlane Dr PO Box 209

Viroqua 54665

608 637 5251

Fax: 608 637 5514
nwalters@vernoncounty.org

Program Type:

Car Seat Types: Infant, toddler and booster seat
Service Availability: check up event

Hours: First Wednesday of every month through
October from 11:00am-1:00pm

Eligibility Requirement:

Vilas

Vilas County Public Health Department
Tammi Boers

302 W. Pine Street

Eagle River 54521

715-479-3757

taboer@co.vilas.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
Hours: 8:00-4:00 p.m.

Eligibility Requirements: None

Walworth

Walworth County Health and Human Services, Public
Health

Car Seat Program

Adriana Cano

W4051 County Road NN

Elkhorn 53121

262 741 3122

Fax: 262 741 3757

acano@co.walworth.wi.us
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Program Type: rental

Car Seat Types: toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment
Hours: 8am-4:30pm

Eligibility Requirement: none

Whitewater Police Department

Officer Michele Martin/ Officer Bill Oliver

312 W. Whitewater St

Whitewater 53190

262 473 0555

mmartin@whitewater-wi.gov
woliver@whitewater-wi.gov

Program Type: give away

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in service

Hours: 7am — 3pm

Eligibility Requirement: Must receive state aid for grant
seats.

It is recommended to call ahead and make sure Officer
Martin or Officer Oliver is working that day.

Washburn

Washburn County Health Department

Tim Nickell

222 Oak Street

Spooner, 54801

715-635-4400

tnickell@co.washburn.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: By appointment only

Hours: M-E 8-4:30pm, Closed from 12 noon-1pm.

Washington

Germantown Police Dept

Officer Toni Olson

N112 W16877 Mequon Rd
Germantown 53022

262 253 7780

Fax: 262 253 7787
Tolson@germantownpolice.org
Program Type: give-away; fitting station
Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: appointment
Hours: varies

Eligibility Requirement: low income
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Washington County Health Department
Washington County Health Department Permanent
Fitting Station

Michelle Large

333 E Washington St Suite 1100 PO Box 2003

West Bend 53095

262 335 4742

Fax: 252 335 4705
michelle.large@co.washington.wi.us

Program Type: give-away; fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment

Hours: Every Thursday from 8:30am-3:30pm
Eligibility Requirement: poverty level or below to
receive free or reduced car seat. Seat checks are free to

the public.

Hartford Fire and Rescue

Ann Fry

262 673 8281 (days)

Shari Pfeifer

262 673 2506 (evenings)
Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability: appointment
Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:

Waukesha

Village of Mukwonago Police Department
Sergeant Ken Pileggi

262 363 6436

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:

New Berlin Police Department
Officer Daniel Hanlon

262 780 8106 (days)

Officer Scott Hippler

262 780 8148 (evenings)
Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:
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————— City of Pewaukee Fire Department
Division Chief Peter Rohde

262 691 5607

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:

- - -Muskego Police Department
Officer Gary Mrotek

262 679 4130

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:

Town of Brookfield Police Department
Administrative Assistant Stancy Johnson
655 N Janacek Road

Brookfield, 53045

262-796-3798 ext. 101
clerkjohnson@townofbrookfield.com
Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
Hours: M-F between 10:00-2:00pm
Eligibility Requirement: Brookfield residence only

Oconomowoc Memorial Hospital
Prohealth Class Registration

262 928 2745

Program Type:

Car Seat Types:

Service Availability:

Hours:

Eligibility Requirement:

- -Prohealth Care

Ellen Lyons

791 E. Summit Avenue

Oconomowoc 53066

262-569-9119

Ellen.lyons@phci.org

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler and booster
Service Availability: By appointment only
Hours: 1st and 3rd Wednesday of every month, 2:00-
6:00pm.
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Eligibility Requirements: Free to all community
members. Appointments meet at Oconomowoc Fire
Dept. station #2 in Oconomowoc.

Waupaca

ThedaCare Medical Center — New London
Kristal Skenadore

Amy Huss

1405 Mill Street

New London 54961

920 531 2214

Fax: 920 531 2213
Amy.huss@thedacare.org

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: by appointment only
Hours: by appointment

Eligibility Requirement: none

Waushara

Waushara County Health Department

Waushara County Health Dept Child Safety Seat
Program

Stefanie Eldredge RN

Patti Miller RN

Judy Burton RN

Ashley Rome

230 West Park Street

PO Box 837

Wautoma 54982

920 787 6590

Fax: 920 787 6511

Judith.burton@co.waushara.wi.us

Program Type: rental; give-away; fitting station;
donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: By appointment only

Hours: 8am-4:30pm M-F

Eligibility Requirement: Free car seats available per
income eligibility per grant for Waushara, Green Lake
or Marquette County

Winnebago

Safe Kids Fox Valley
Town of Menasha Fire Dept

Winnebago County Health Department
1326 Cold Spring Road

Neenah 54956

920 232 3000

health@co.winnebago.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster
Service Availability: By appointment

Hours: By appointment 2-4:00pm, the
Wednesday off odd months (Jan. Mar, etc.)
Call Nurse Direct to schedule appt. 920 231 6578 or
1-800-362-9900

Eligibility Requirement:

third

Oshkosh Fire Department
John Holland

101 Court St

Oshkosh 54901

920 236 5249

Fax: 920 236 5295
jholland@ci.oshkosh.wi.us
Program Type: fitting station
Car Seat Types:

Service Availability: appointment
Hours: M-F 8am-4:30pm
Eligibility Requirement:

Safe Kids Fox Valley

Winnebago County Sheriff's Dept

Winnebago County Health Department

4311 Jackson St.

Oshkosh 54901

920 232 3000

health@co.winnebago.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment

Hours: by appointment, First Wednesday of every
month 9:00-11:00am

Call Nurse Direct to schedule appointment 920 231
6578 or Toll Free 1-800-362-9900

Toll Free 800 362 9900

Eligibility Requirement:
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Wood

Wood County Health Department

Child Restraint Rental Program

420 Dewey Street

(4th floor, Riverview Clinic Building)

Wisconsin Rapids 54494

715 421 8911

Fax: 715 421 8962

tzastava@co.wood.wi.us

Program Type: rental, assistance program for low-
income families, free checks for anyone

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: Call for clinic schedule (clinic dates
are scheduled for WI Rapids 4th Wednesday of the
month at Wood County Health Dept. 11:00-1:00 and
Marshfield Fire Dept. 11:00-1:00 ), By appointment
only and Community Check-ups events

Eligibility Requirement: Rental program - 2 wk max
rental term, $25 deposit for each seat-returned when
seat is returned in good condition.

Eligibility Requirement: Individuals qualifying for
reduced cost seats ($25) must meet

Eligibility requirements ( ie: WIC FoodShare, W2 or
SSI recipients) and attend a regularly scheduled check
event. Call for details.

Wisconsin Rapids Police Dept

Municipal Diversion Program & CPS Checks
Kasandra Borchardt

444 W Grand Ave

Wisconsin Rapids 54495

715 421 6205

Fax: 715 423 4408

kborchardt@wirapids.org

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: appointment
Hours: 7am-3pm, M-F
Eligibility Requirement: none

Marshfield Fire & Rescue Department

Brian Barnes

514 E 4th Street

Marshfield 54449

715 486 2094

Brian.barnes@ci.marshfield.wi.us

Program Type: fitting station

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: walk-in service, appointment,
community checkup events

Hours: 8am-4:30pm, Sun-Sat, please call in advance to
ensure a technician is available

Eligibility Requirement: All are welcome. We are
fortunate to have one person per shift to assist you. We
also have recently set up a check event once a month
from 11:00-1:00pm, call for dates.

Ho-Chunk Health Department
Pam Reimer RN

Linda Goodwin CHR

315 1st Street

Nekoosa 54457

715-886-5444
pam.reimer@ho-chunk.com
Program  Type: fitting  station,  give-away,
donation/purchase

Car Seat Types: infant, toddler, booster

Service Availability: Walk-in Service, By appointment,
and Community Check-up Events

Hours: 8am-4:30pm, Monday-Friday

Eligibility Requirements: Native American tribal

members, Ho-Chunk Nation Employees
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Alcohol Enforcement
Motorcycle Enforcement
Seat Belt Enforcement

Speed Enforcement

Comprehensive Alcohol Risk Reduction (CARD)
Project

Proposed Project Title:

Type of Municipality:

Applicant Agency/County:
Enforcement Area:

Agency Federal Employer 10 (FEIN):
DUNS Number

Agency Head or Authorizing Official
Agency Head or Authorizing Official:
Address:

City:

State:

Zip Code:

Project Coordinator

First Name:
Last Name:
Title:
Address:
City:

State:

Zip Code:
Phone:

Fax:

E-mail Address:

Bicycle Enforcement

Pedestrian Safety Enforcement
TRaCS

Child Passenger Safety Enforcement

" General

CPS Training
Other

Portage County
statewide
930828679
957229354

Joanne Peotter
52 Sunset Blvd
Stevens Point
Wisconsin

54481

Kareen

Everman

Training Coordinator
52 Sunset Blvd
Stevens Point
Wisconsin

54481

715-346-0055
715-346-0003
wepsa@sbceglobal.net

1/ I agree that the above information is up-to-date and correct.

NOTE: If this information is not correct, please go to the Organization Page to make necessary corrections.
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Problem Identification/
Project Justification

Describe the situation that this Project will address and
why the selected activity is the best way to address it.

This grant is for CPS training.
To train 120 technicians at $310 each in W1I.
RPM/SPM Notes

X I agree to the terms and conditions above.

Project Objectives with Evaluation Plan
OBJECTIVES: What will the project accomplish?

Objectives must be quantifiable and time-framed.

This project will help train Child Passenger Safety
Technicians in WI. There is a shortage in some
counties. This funding will be to train 120 people at
$310 each by 9/30/2016.

EVALUATION PLAN: Describe how you will measure
success in achieving each Project goal and objective.

Success will be measured by how many of the 120
people pass the training class.

SELF SUFFICIENCY STATEMENT: Describe how
Highway Safety Project activity will continue when
Highway Safety funds are no longer available.

The CPS Training classes will continue, but the cost of
training may prohibit some individuals from being able
to pay for the classes.

X I agree to the terms and conditions above.

All grantees agree to adhere to the following policies,
which are detailed in the full contract.

Grantee is:

* subject to audit and is responsible for complying
with appropriate maintenance of records

* subject to on-site monitoring and review of
records by BOTS staff

* prohibited from purchasing equipment other
than equipment approved by BOTS

* prohibited from using grant funds to supplant
existing state or local expenditures

* prohibited from discriminating against any
employee or applicant for employment

* prohibited from receiving grant funds if
presently debarred

* prohibited from using these funds to further any
type of political or voter activity

* prohibited from using these funds to engage in
lobbying activity

* required to comply with Buy America. If the

funds will be

enforcement, grantee further certifies:

grant expended on law

e that it has a written departmental policy on
pursuits

e that it has a written departmental policy on BAC
testing of drivers involved in fatal crashes

e that it has a written departmental policy on the
use of safety belts by employees

* that it complies with Title VI of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964

A-133 Single Audit requirement Verification

**Please check with your Treasurer or Finance
department

The grantee has verified that their political entity (payee
for this grant) IS or X IS NOT Subject to A-133 Single

Audit requirements.

If subject to A-133 Single Audit requirements, the
grantee has verified that its political entity is in
compliance and has filed with the

Federal Audit Clearing House:
Yes or X Not Applicable.

Mandatory Grants Training:

List the name of the person or persons who have taken
or are scheduled to take the Mandatory Grants
Training. List the name of the person, type of training
(i.e. Webinar, Governors Conference, Regional Training
or online) and the date of training.

Name Training Location Date
Joanne Peotter Webinar 11/9/2015

Describe who will do what by when in order to achieve
project goals and objectives. If the work plan or other
documentation must be changed after the contract is
signed, Grantee must submit an amendment request
via the WISE Grants System. Amended activity may
not commence prior to BOTS approval. Failure to
perform planned activity may be considered grounds
for terminating the grant.

Training Coordinator will schedule individuals to

attend CPS Training classes throughout WI. The
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individuals will receive a scholarship to attend the class,
which will be paid by this grant at $310 per person.

Work Plan/Calendar:
The Work Plan/Calendar contained within this

contract is a term of the contract. Please use the space
below to describe activities to be performed, approx-
imate month activities will be performed in, and the
approximate number of hours to perform.

Individuals will be scheduled to attend CPS Training
classes as they take place around the state of W1I. Follow
up will be to be sure individual passed class to become

a CPS Technician.

Work Plan Amendments:

If work plan or other documentation must be changed
after the contract is signed, Grantee must submit an
amendment request via the WISE Grants System.
Amended activity may not commence prior to BOTS
approval.

Equipment and Budget Terms

Relationship to Work Plan:

All budget items must relate to activities described in
the Work Plan. Reimbursement will be based on actual
costs, NOT budgeted rates. Only project activities and
expenses described in the approved work plan and
budget, incurred during the grant period, are eligible
for reimbursement. Expenses incurred that are not
specified in the budget or work plan will not be
reimbursed.

Documentation Requirements:

Grantee will document hours, wage and fringe rate, and
all match costs. Fringe benefit shall be actual costs.
Payment for salaries and wages shall be supported by a
time and attendance report, or equivalent records,
which shall be kept on file at the agency for three years
from the date the project closes. Grantor reserves the
right to perform monitoring activities, to include
ongoing review and audit of department records.

Monitoring:

Grantee consents to monitoring by BOTS staff to
ensure compliance with applicable state and federal
regulations. Monitoring may occur on-site and will

require access to original versions of employee payroll
information, citations, and other materials related to
the implementation of this grant.

Match Requirement (If Any):

A local match of at least 25% of the grant total is
required. The match budget line may consist of
estimates of program match.

Buy America Act:

Grantee agrees to comply with the provisions of the
Buy America Act, 23 USC 313, which includes the
following requirements:

Only steel, iron and manufactured products produced
in the United States may be purchased with federal
funds unless the US Secretary of Transportation deter-
mines that such domestic purchases would be incon-
sistent with the public interest; that such materials are
not reasonably available and of satisfactory quality; or
that inclusion of domestic materials will increase the
cost of the overall project Grant by more than 25
percent. Clear justification for the purchase of non-
domestic items must be in the form of a waiver request
submitted to and approved by the US Secretary of
Transportation

Equipment Purchase:

The Equipment Purchase Form within this contract is
a term of this contract, if either High-cost or Low-cost
Equipment is purchased. "High-cost" Equipment is
defined in the General Terms; other equipment is
considered 'low-cost'. Grantee must specify make,
model, quantity and purchase price of each type of

equipment to be purchased.
Item

Total

American Made

Yes No

Federal Grant Local Match
$0 $0

If you selected “NO” for any piece of equipment, please
indicate (for each piece) the justification for the
purchase of non-domestic items. Reasons may include:

* Domestic materials or equipment not reasonably
available
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* Domestic materials or equipment not of satis-
factory quality

* Domestic materials or equipment would increase
the cost by more than 25%

Travel/Training Request:

All expenses are reimbursed at actual costs and at
current State of Wisconsin travel rates.

[tem  Number of Federal Grant Request Local MatchTotals
Travel (air, mileage, taxi, etc.) S0
Hotel/Lodging 50
Registration %0
Meals %0
(PSTraining class fees 120 $37,200.00  $37,200.00
Total $37,200.00 $0  $37,200.00

Please use the text box below to briefly describe how
this travel/training will benefit this program and any
additional information that may be necessary:

Description of other activities:
(i.e. Description of materials & supplies, contractual

services, media, and community activities, etc.):

Budget Reguest (Incorporates Equipment Request, Travel/Training Request,
and Wage/Fringe Request above):

Item Federal Grant  Local Match Totals
Wage/Fringe $37,200.00 $24,200.00 $24,200.00
Travel/Mileage 50 $37,200.00
Training 30
Contractual Services 50 50 50
Equipment 50
Materials & Supplies  $37,200.00 $24,200.00 $0
Other 50
Total $61,400.00

If Work plan or other documentation must be changed
after the contract is signed, Grantee must submit an
amendment request via the WISE Grants System.
Amended activity may not commence prior to BaTS
approval.

Signatures:

The signature of agency head or authorizing official
must be emailed to DOTsafetygrants@dot.wi.gov. An

electronic grant submission through the WISE Grants
System will initiate the grant approval process, but no
reimbursement will be made until the signature page is
received.

Forms:

Forms will only be accepted through the WISE Grants.
Questions about grant submissions should be referred
to either the State

Program Manager or the Regional Program Manager.

Project Match Report:

Agencies are required to report adequate match each
time they request reimbursement.

Earned Media Event Documentation:

Documentation (hard-copy, faxed and/or electronic
copies of media materials) of each earned media event
must be submitted to BOTS. An electronic link to a
print article, news online or other format is acceptable
documentation.

Place of Delivery:

All Electronic Project Deliverables shall be submitted
via the WISE Grants System.

Signature Pages shall be e-mailed to DOTsafetv-
grants@dot.wi.gov

Questions about the Traflic Safety Program or this
project should be addressed to the State Program
Manager or the

Regional Program Manager.
Mailing Address:

Wisconsin State Patrol, BOTS
PO. Box 7936

MADISON, W1 53707-7936
FAX: (608) 267-0441
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General Contract Terms General

This Grant Agreement (Agreement), entered into by
and between the Bureau of Transportation Safety
(BaTS) and

executed pursuant to terms that follow.

(Grantee), is

1 Purpose of this Agreement

The Bureau of Transportation Safety, housed within the
Wisconsin Department of Transportations Division of
State Patrol, serves as the administering agency for state
and federal grants relating to transportation safety. The
purpose of this Agreement is to enable BaTS to award
grant funding to Grantee for eligible costs of the Grant
Project (Grant) undertaken as outlined in the project
narrative and work plan. The funds shall be used exclu-
sively in accordance with the provisions of this
Agreement, as well as applicable federal and state laws
and regulations.

2 Term

Work conducted under this Grant must occur within
the federal fiscal year: October 1 to September 30. This
Agreement expires September 30 of the fiscal year
during which the Grant is conducted.

3 Implementation

Grantee shall be solely responsible for the design and
implementation of the Grant as described in the project
narrative and work plan. Grantee agrees to conduct the
Grant in accordance with these plans as approved by
BaTS. Modification of the Grant shall require prior
approval of BaTS. Any change in project coordinator,
financial officer, authorizing official, addresses, or
telephone numbers requires written notification to
BaTSs. If the work plan or other documentation must
be changed after the contract is signed, Grantee must
submit an amendment request via the WISE Grants
System. Amended activity may not commence prior to
BaTS approval. Amendments will not be considered
after July 1 of the fiscal year during which the project
is commenced.

Failure to perform planned activity may be considered
grounds for termination of funding.

4 Audit and Maintenance of Records

Grantee government subdivisions are responsible for
obtaining audits in accordance with the Single Audit

Act Amendments of 1996 (31 U.S. C. 7501-8507) and
revised OMB Circular A-133. If grantee government
subdivision is subject to an AB-133 audit, BaTS must
be notified of the audit and subsequent results. BOTS
may take corrective action within six months and may
require independent auditors to have access to grantees
records and financial statements. Note: Circular A-133
may be obtained by contacting the Financial Standards
and Reporting Branch, Office of the Federal Financial
Management, Office of Management and Budget,
Washington, DC 20503, telephone, (202) 395-3993.

Documentation of costs shall be maintained for three
years following final reimbursement. Reimbursement
claim cost detail shall include a list of all personnel
whose time is claimed; current billing period and year-
to-date wages and fringe benefits paid to each person
listed; all travel listed individually and broken out by
transportation/mileage, meals, lodging, and related
costs; all materials and supplies and contractual services,
itemized, required to complete project activity.
Employee time records for actual hours worked or
percent of time dedicated to project activity are to be
maintained by Grantee and made available to BaT$
upon request with reasonable notice. Each budget item
identified as Other shall be claimed separately.

5 Monitoring by the State

Grantee consents to monitoring by BaTS staff to ensure
compliance with applicable state and federal regula-
tions. Monitoring may occur on-site and will require
access to original versions of employee payroll infor-
mation, citations, and other materials related to the
implementation of this grant.

6 Payment of Funds by the State

All highway safety projects are funded on a cost
reimbursement basis. State or local funds shall be
expended before federal reimbursement is made. BaTS
shall reimburse Grantee only for the actual hours
worked, and for other eligible costs, and only if the
costs are incurred in performing tasks identified in the
Project Narrative or Work Plan. Personnel costs shall
be reimbursed on the basis of hourly salary and fringe
rate(s) that have been verified and approved by BaTs,
or on the Work Plan. All expenses for which Grantee
seeks reimbursement must be documented in Project

Activity Reports.
7 Equipment
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Tangible, non-expendable personal property having an
acquisition cost of $5,000 or more, with a useful life of
greater than two years, that is purchased in whole or in
part by Grantee using funds awarded as part of this
Agreement must be justified in the project narrative or
work plan and approved by the NHTSA Regional
Office in writing. Each item shall be tagged, inven-
toried, and monitored until the federal interest is
released. Tangible, non-expendable personal property
having an acquisition cost of less than $5,000, and
budgeted as materials and supplies, will also be
inform BOTS when
equipment is no longer used for the purpose for which

monitored. Grantee must
it was acquired.

8 Print and Audio Visual Materials

Grantee shall submit all materials developed under this
Agreement to BOTS for approval of content and style
prior to final production and release. All video materials
intended for general public viewing must be close-
captioned. The Grantee may publish materials
produced under this Agreement subject to the
following conditions: (a) All materials produced under
this Agreement shall become the property of the
Grantee and may be copyrighted in its name, but
Grantee may not charge or collect any royalty, fee or
other costs for any material produced under this
Agreement. Wisconsin Department of Transportation
Bureau of Transportation Safety and the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration reserve a
royalty-free, nonexclusive and irrevocable license to
reproduce, publish, otherwise use, and to authorize
others to use the work for government purposes. (b)
Grantee shall credit the Wisconsin Department of
Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Safety and
the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration on
all such materials.

9 Program Income

Program income is gross income derived by Grantee
from grant-supported activities. Grantee will report
program income on reimbursement claims, stating
whether the income is retained or credited as a
reduction in federal share of project expenditures. If
retained, such income may be used only for highway
safety activities and is subject to audit by BaTS§.

10 Additional Requirements Where Funds Are
Expended on Law Enforcement

Grantee agency certifies that it has a written depart-
mental policy on biased based policing, or that it will
initiate development of one during the grant period. A.
Grantee agency certifies that it has a written depart-
mental policy on pursuits or that it will initiate devel-
opment of one during the grant period. The policy
should conform to the guidelines of IACP or a similar
pursuit policy. B. Grantee agency certifies that it has a
written departmental policy on the BAC testing of all
drivers involved in fatal vehicle crashes involving
alcohol, or that it will initiate one during the grant
period. Grantee agency will require a test of all killed
drivers and will encourage all surviving drivers to
consent to a test. C. Grantee agency certifies that it has
a written departmental policy on the use of safety belts
by employees, or that it will initiate development of one
during the grant period. D. Grantee must comply with
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Presidential
Executive Order 13166 regarding language access and
Policy Guidance Concerning Recipients Responsibil-
ities to Limited English Proficient (LEP) Persons.

11 Supplanting

The replacement of routine or existing state or local
expenditures with the use of federal grant funds for
costs of activities that constitute general expenses
required to carry out the overall responsibilities of a
state or local agency is prohibited.

12 Nondiscrimination

Grantee will comply with all Federal statutes and imple-
menting regulations relating to nondiscrimination.
These include but are not limited to: (a) Title VI of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Pub. L. 88-352), which
prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color or
national origin (and 49 CFR Part 21); (b) Title IX of
the Education Amendments of 1972, as amended (20
U.S.C. 1681-1683 and 1685-1686), which prohibits
discrimination on the basis of sex; (c) Section 504 of
the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 U.S.C.
794), and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990
(Pub. L. 101-336), as amended (42 U.S.C. 12101, et
seq.), which prohibits discrimination on the basis of
disabilities (and 49 CFR Part 27); (d) the Age Discrim-
ination Act of 1975, as amended (42 U.S.C. 6101-
6107), which prohibits discrimination on the basis of
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age; (e) the Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987 (Pub.
L. 100-259), which requires Federal-aid recipients and
all subrecipients to prevent discrimination and ensure
nondiscrimination in all of their programs and activ-
ities; (f) the Drug Abuse Office and Treatment Act of
1972 (Pub. L. 92-255), as amended, relating to nondis-
crimination on the basis of drug abuse; (g) the compre-
hensive Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism Prevention,
Treatment and Rehabilitation Act of 1970 (Pub. L. 91-
616), as amended, relating to nondiscrimination on the
basis of alcohol abuse or alcoholism; (h) Sections 523
and 527 of the Public Health Service Act of 1912, as
amended (42 U.S.C. 290dd-3 and 290ee-3), relating
to confidentiality of alcohol and drug abuse patient
records; (i) Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968,
as amended (42 U.S.C. 3601, et seq.), relating to
nondiscrimination in the sale, rental or financing of
housing; U) any other nondiscrimination provisions in
the specific statute(s) under which application for
Federal assistance is being made; and (k) the require-
ments of any other nondiscrimination statute(s) which
may apply to the application.

13 Debarment and Suspension

Grantee certifies that neither it nor its principals are

presently debarred, suspended, proposed for
debarment, declared ineligible, or voluntarily excluded
from entering into this Grant by any federal agency, or
by any department, agency, or political subdivision of
the state. For purposes of this grant, principal includes
an officer, director, owner, partner, or other person with
primary management and supervisory responsibilities,
or a person who has critical influence on or substantive
control over the operations of Grantee. 14 Political
Activity (Hatch Act) Grantee will comply with provi-
sions of the Hatch Act (5 U.S.C. 1501-1508) which
limits the political activities of employees whose
principal employment activities are funded in whole or

in part with Federal funds.

15 Lobbying Activities

Certification Regarding Federal Lobbying No Federal
appropriated funds have been paid or will be paid, by
or on behalf of the undersigned, to any person for influ-
encing or attempting to influence an officer or
employee of any agency, a Member of Congress, an
officer or employee of Congtress, or an employee of a
Member of Congress in connection with the awarding
of any Federal contract, the making of any Federal
grant, the making of any Federal loan, the entering into

of any cooperative agreement, and the extension,
continuation, renewal, amendment, or modification of
any Federal contract, grant, loan, or cooperative
agreement. If any funds other than Federal appro-
priated funds have been paid or will be paid to any
person for influencing or attempting to influence an
officer or employee of any agency, a Member of
Congress, an officer or employee of Congress, or an
employee of a Member of Congress in connection with
this Federal contract, grant, loan, or cooperative
agreement, the undersigned shall complete and submit
Standard Form-LLL, Disclosure Form to Report
Lobbying, in accordance with its instructions.

The undersigned shall require that the language of this
certification be included in the award documents for
all sub-award at all ters (including subcontracts,
subgrants, and contracts under grant, loans, and
cooperative agreements) and that all subrecipients shall
certify and disclose accordingly. This certification is a
material representation of fact upon which reliance was
placed when this transaction was made or entered into.
Submission of this certification is a prerequisite for
making or entering into this transaction imposed by
section 1352, title 31 , U.S. Code. Any person who fails
to file the required certification shall be subject to a civil
penalty of not less than $10,000 and not more than
$100,000 for each such failure.

Restriction on State Lobbying

None of the funds under this program will be used for
any activity specifically designed to urge or influence a
State or local legislator to favor or oppose the adoption
of any specific legislative proposal pending before any
State or local legislative body. Such activities include
both direct and indirect (e.g., grassroots) lobbying
activities, with one exception. This does not preclude a
State official whose salary is supported with NHTSA
funds from engaging in direct communications with
State or local legislative officials, in accordance with
customary State practice, even if such communications
urge legislative officials to favor or oppose the adoption
of a specific pending legislative proposal.

16 Buy America Act

Grantee will comply with the provisions of the Buy
America Act (49 U.S.C. 5323U)), which contains the
following requirements: Only steel, iron and manufac-
tured products produced in the United States may be
purchased with Federal funds unless the Secretary of
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Transportation determines that such domestic
purchases would be inconsistent with the public
interest, that such materials are not reasonably available
and of a satisfactory quality, or that inclusion of
domestic materials will increase the cost of the overall
project contract by more than 25 percent. Clear justi-
fication for the purchase of non-domestic items must
be in the form of a waiver request submitted to and
approved by the Secretary of Transportation.

17 Termination

This grant may be terminated upon BOTS determi-
nation that Grantee has materially failed to comply
with terms of this Agreement. Termination may be
considered among the criteria for subsequent grant
awards.

18 Correspondence

All correspondence with BOTS regarding this project
shall include the Grant Number, and shall be submitted
to the following address: Wisconsin State Patrol BOTS
P.O. Box 7936 Madison, W1 53707

CERTIFICATION REGARDING
DEBARMENT AND SUSPENSION
INSTRUCTIONS FOR CERTIFICATION:
1 By signing and submitting this proposal, the
prospective low tier participant is providing the
certification set out below.

2 The certification in this clause is a material repre-
sentation of fact upon which reliance was placed
when this transaction was entered into. If it is
later determined that the prospective lower tier
participant knowingly rendered an erroneous
certification, in addition to other remedies
available to the Federal government, the
department or agency with which the trans-
action originated may pursue available
remedies, including suspension and/or
debarment.

3 The prospective lower tier participant shall
provide immediate written notice to the person
to which this proposal is submitted

if at any time the prospective lower tier participant
learns that its certification was erroneous when
submitted or has become erroneous by reason
of changed circumstances.

4 The terms covered transaction, debarred,
suspended, ineligible, lower tier covered trans-
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action, participant, person, primary covered
transaction, principal, proposal, and voluntarily
excluded, as used in this clause, have the
meanings set out in the Definition and
Coverage sections of 49 CFR Part 29. You may
contact the person to whom this proposal is
submitted for assistance in obtaining a copy of
those regulations.

5 The prospective lower tier participant agrees by

submitting this proposal that, should the
proposed covered transaction be entered into, it
shall not knowingly enter into any lower tier
covered transaction with a person who is
debarred, suspended, declared ineligible, or
voluntarily excluded from participation in this
covered transaction, unless authorized by the
department or agency with which this trans-
action originated.

6 The prospective lower tier participant further

agrees by submitting this proposal that it will
include this clause titled Certification Regarding
Debarment, Suspension, Ineligibility and
Voluntary Exclusion Lower Tier Covered Trans-
action, without modification, in all lower tier
covered transactions and in all solicitations for
lower tier covered transaction. (See below)

7 A participant in a covered transaction may rely

upon a certification of a prospective participant
in a lower tier covered transaction that it is not
debarred, suspended, ineligible, or voluntarily
excluded from the covered transaction, unless it
knows that the certification is erroneous. A
participant may decide the method and
frequency by which it determines the eligibility
of its principals. Each participant may, but is
not required to, check the Non-procurement
list.

Nothing contained in the foregoing shall be
construed to require establishment of a system
of records in order to render in good faith the
certification required by this clause. The
knowledge and information of a participant is
not required to exceed that which is normally
possessed by a prudent person in the ordinary
course of business dealings.

Except for transactions authorized under
paragraph 5 of these instructions, if a partic-
ipant in a covered transaction knowingly enters
into a lower tier covered transaction with a
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person who is suspended, debarred, ineligible,

or voluntarily excluded from participation in

this on, in addition to other remedies available

to the Federal government, the department of

agency with which this transaction originated

may pursue available remedies, including

suspension and/or debarment.

CERTIFICATI

ON REGARDING

DEBARMENT, SUSPENSION, INELIGI-
BILITY AND VOLUNTARY EXCLUSION

LOWERTIER

COVERED TRANSACTIONS.

1 The prospective lower tier participant certifies,

by submission of this proposal, that neither it

nor its principals is presently debarred,
suspended, proposed for debarment, declared
ineligible, or voluntarily excluded from partici-
pation in this transaction by any Federal
department or agency.

2 Where the prospective lower tier participant is
unable to certify to any of the statement in this
certification, such prospective participants shall
attach an explanation to this proposal.

SIGNED:

(Agency Head or Authorizing Ofhicial), (Date),
(Agency Name)

(Director, Bureau of Transportation Safety), (Date)

Please send signed signature page to DOTSafetv-
Grants@dot.wi.gov

FG-20 16-WI NS* -03234 Version Date: 05/19/2016 13:54:44

Federal Identifier
CFDA Number
DUNS Number

Amount

Funding Year
Project 10 Number
Revenue Project 10 Number
Appropriation
Program

Object Codes
Agency Federal Employer 10 (FEIN):
Line Number
Schedule Number
Activity 10

Vendor Number
Vendor Location
County-Muni Code
Payee

Fund Code

POIO

ReqlD

SPM Assigned
Agency Head

Start Date

Multi-Agency Grant

* Targeted for:
October

April

November  December January

May June July

2016-25-03-M2

20.616

957229354

$135912.00

2016

0956-25-19

o

582 - Highway Safety (Other State Agencies) - Federal
5487 - Highway Safety (Other State Agencies)
5708 - Grants to Private Entities

930828679

396006446

49-000
Portage Co Child Passenger Safety

Jacqueline Kamin
Joanne Peotter
12/1/2015

February March
August September
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Effective Date of Change: 511/2016
10 No: 0952-24-01

1. Proposed Project Amendment(s)

Attach appropriate signed and dated documents,
including revised budget page, as necessary to support

requested amendment(s).

http://www.wigrants.gov/ _Upload/221223-CostPro-

This amendment is to add the funds to pay for CPS  posal2015-2016-amendmt.doc
Advisory Board meetings. Mileage for the Board Total: $12,000.00

members,cost of room for meeting, and lunch expense

for Board.
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APPENDIX OP-3: LAW ENFORCEMENT GRANT TARGETING
METHODOLOGY

As It Relates to Alcohol, Speed, and Occupant Protection Grants

Introduction
The following is documentation for the methodology on how the targeting lists of political entities and their
respective law enforcement agencies were selected for alcohol, speed, and occupant protection law enforcement

grants.

Initially Wisconsin counties were grouped by descending degree of apparent crash problem (alcohol, speed, and
occupant protection), within the respective grant types (alcohol, speed, and occupant protection). The following
summarizes the larger steps taken for all three types of law enforcement grants in generating the overall list.
Initial Scoring:

The Division of Motor Vehicles’ Traffic Crash files were queried for instances of alcohol, speed, and occupant
protection related crashes, by crash type (fatal, injury, and property damage), as noted on the MV4000 crash
report form, in Wisconsin cities, villages and townships and grouped together by county for the calendar years
2013, 2014, and 2015. Three years of data were collected to disguise some of the natural fluctuations from year
to year. Not all locations in Wisconsin have recorded each of the three types of crashes during the 2013-2015
three year period; those locations were immediately excluded from further investigation, within their respective
targeting list grant type (alcohol, speed, and occupant protection).

Reported crashes on public roads were matched with the people involved in the crashes, assigning numeric weights
to reported injuries (and non-injuries). The numeric weights assigned were:

Fatal injury = 20
Incapacitating injury = 20
Non-incapacitating injury=10
Possible injury = 5

Unknown or no injury = 1

Numeric weights of the injuries (and non-injuries) were summed by county and cities, villages, or townships,
within a county. That value was named Calculated Score for Injuries.

A Normalized Score for injuries was calculated by matching the Calculated Score for Injuries with the final
January 1, 2015 population estimates (per 1,000), as released by the Wisconsin Department of Administration’s
Demographic Services Center (Ex. Calculated Score * (1000/Population Number)) for counties, cities, villages,
and towns. Population estimates are based on the 2010 census and an analysis of more current data such as
housing units and automobile registrations. 2015 population data was used because it is the most recent available.
An example of the formula to be used for each of the respective seventy-two counties in the state is the following:

Calculated Score * (1,000 / (2015 County Population))

Each county is evaluated with regard to its Calculated Score for Injuries and its Normalized Score to see if it
meets the criteria for selection. The county-level criteria varies by grant type (alcohol, speed, and occupant
protection) and can be found in one of the three respective subsections for grant types, below. The exception to
this scoring are all counties with a population of 500,000 or greater, where counties meeting this criterion will
automatically be included in the three law enforcement grant types (Alcohol, Speed, and Occupant Protection).
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I. Full-year Law Enforcement Grants (Alcohol
and Occupant Protection Only)

Municipalities located in multiple counties have been
combined, thus only appear once in the listings. The
county containing the largest percentage of the munic-
ipality's population has been designated the county of
record for the listings. If counties in which a munici-
pality exists are needed, please reference the worksheet
named "2015MunilnMultiCounties", in the MS Excel
files named “2015MuniAlcWeighted TrgtNormal . xlsx”
for Alcohol and
“2015MuniOPWeighted TrgtNormal.xlsx” for
Occupant Protection.

Criteria at County Level:

Alcohol: Select counties with the criteria of Weight >=
3,000 OR NormalScore >= 50.00 OR (Weight >=
2,000 AND NormalScore >= 30.00).

Occupant Protection: Select counties with the criteria
of Weight >= 3,000 OR NormalScore >= 40.00 OR
(Weight >= 2,000 AND NormalScore >= 30.00).

Both Alcohol and Occupant Protection:

Select the next two counties, from those counties that
a Rural-Urban
Continuum Code of one through six and have the next

are still unselected who have

highest NormalScore scores from ALL counties per
RPM Region.

Criteria at Municipal Level:

A list of municipalities for each of the counties selected
as a possible grant candidate will be generated, showing
the NormalScore and Weight, for each of the munici-
palities within a county. Municipalities within each of
these counties will be selected for potential grants using
the following criteria:

Alcohol:
Weight >= 300
NormalScore >= 50.00

Occupant Protection:
WeightNo >= 50
NormalScoreNo >= 50.00
WeightNo and NormalScoreNo are computed using

crash data, where an occupant was NOT wearing
appropriate safety equipment.

Each of these municipalities will be highlighted in blue.
Please note that municipalities that have a law
enforcement agency presence, besides the county sheriff

will also be highlighted, by the use of bold text.

Il. Seasonal Law Enforcement Grants
Common to All types

Seasonal Law Enforcement Grant candidates are
selected based upon a 3-month (quarterly) time-period,
using the seasonal definition of the meteorological year.
These time period are the following:

Meteorologists use whole months to identify meteoro-
logical seasons. In the northern hemisphere the months
are the following;:

* Meteorological spring takes place during
March, April, and May

* Meteorological summer takes place during June,
July, and August

* Meteorological autumn takes place during
September, October, and November

* Meteorological winter takes place during
December, January, and February

http://www.aos.wisc.edu/~hopkins/ WES/fall_05/WES
f05supl10.html

Spring Quarter: March, April, May
Summer Quarter: June, July, August

Autumn Quarter: September, October,
November

Winter Quarter: December, January, February

A Calculated Score for Injuries and a Normalized Score
are then calculated for each quarter of the past year
(2015 in this particular case) as one selected grouping.
Another Calculated Score for Injuries and a Normalized
Score as an average, by quarter for the five years that
precede the past year (2010-2014 in this particular case)
are also selected into another grouping.

The purpose of having these two groupings are to
identify county-level political entities that have
immediate, short-term, quarterly traffic crash issues for
the 2015 selected grouping and those that have a long-
term trend, within a specific seasonal quarter, with
regard to traffic crash issues for the 2010-2014 selected

grouping.
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Each county NOT having a Rural-Urban Continuum
Code of seven through nine is evaluated with regard to
its Calculated Score for Injuries and its Normalized Score
for each of the four quarters to see if it meets the criteria
for selection. The county-level criteria varies by grant
type (alcohol, speed, and occupant protection) and can
be found in one of the three respective subsections for
grant types, below.

Counties with normalized scores that fall outside one
or more standard deviations, but less than two standard
deviations from the population group’s average, but
whose normalized score is at least 15% above the group
mean are displayed against a lightly red shaded
background and will be selected as grant candidates.
Counties with normalized scores that fall outside two
or more standard deviations from one of the six
population group means are displayed against a more
darkly shaded background and are automatically
eligible as a grant candidate.

Alcohol (the full year will be used for the 2017
Federal Fiscal Year)

The selection of counties for alcohol-related seasonal
grants will follow the “Full-year Law Enforcement
Grants” section.

Speed (the summer quarter will be used for the
2017 Federal Fiscal Year)

The selection of counties for speed-related seasonal
grants will follow the “Common to All types” section
of the Seasonal Law Enforcement Grants section.

Occupant Protection (the full year will be used
for the 2017 Federal Fiscal Year)

The selection of counties for speed-related seasonal
grants will follow the “Full-year Law Enforcement
Grants” section.

lll. Occupant Protection Grants by
County, Based Upon the Number of
Registered Pick-up Trucks

The selection process will also make counties eligible
for Occupant Protection Grants, based upon the
number of pick-up trucks registered in a particular
county, for the year 2015, relative to the mean number
of pick-up trucks per county, for the state as a whole,

where the county has not been previously targeted for
Occupant Protection grant(s).

Counties, which have the largest number of pick-up
truck registrations statewide will be considered for full
year occupant protection grants. The local County
Sheriff’s law enforcement agency will be the first
enforcement agency contacted, for each county, given
they have county-wide jurisdiction.

IV. All Grants Types (Alcohol, Speed,

and Occupant Protection) by County,
Based Upon Population.

Counties with a population greater than or equal to
500,000 will be targeted for all three categories of law
(Alcohol, Speed, and
Occupant Protection), regardless of the grant distri-

enforcement grant types

bution methodology (Annual, Seasonal, and Pick-up
Trucks Registered) selected for a given targeting year.

The rationale for using this metric is based upon the
particulars of the methodology time periods selected
for a targeting year. Some grants types (Ex. Speed this
year) are only being targeted, using a seasonal method-
ology. Counties with large populations (and VMT),
relative to the State as whole do not statistically have as
great of variation as counties having smaller populations
(and VMT) in the State when using the seasonal
methodology, thus could be overlooked as a targeted
county, though they do have a significant traffic safety
problem year- around, which would only be noted, if
annual year round law enforcement grants are provided
for a particular grant type (speed in this case). Basically,
there is a need to more efficiently allocate funds on a
seasonal basis (for speed in this case), but still not
exclude the more populated (and higher VMT)
counties, which lack seasonal variation in their traffic
safety issues, because their traffic safety issues exist year-
around .

Please note population was used as the metric, instead
of VMT, because of the on-going regularity and
timeliness of annual population estimates (both state
and federal) versus, the unpredictability of when VMT

data will become available, for a given year.

After each county that has been selected for a particular
type of grant (Alcohol, Speed, and Occupant
Protection) we then drilled-down to the municipal
(City, Village, or Town) level to select the specific
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municipal entities that will be offered a grant. This will
be achieved by measuring the Normalized Score for
injuries and the Calculated Score for Injuries, for each of
the municipalities against the criteria set for municipal-
ities, in each of the grant types (Alcohol, Speed, and
Occupant Protection) as described in Section 1., above.
Please note that the County Sheriff of a selected county,
regardless of grant type will always be considered for a
grant, otherwise the local law enforcement agency that
has a selected municipality within its jurisdiction will
be considered to implement a grant on behalf of the
selected municipality.
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Updated 2013-14 Wis. Stals. Published and certified under s. 35.18. May 10, 2016.

347.46 EQUIPMENT OF VEHICLES

thrown by the rear wheels. Such rear fenders or mudguards shall
meet the following minimum specifications:

(a) The fenders or mudguards shall cover the tire or multiple
tires they are protecting starting at the top from a line drawn verti-
cally through the center of the axle and extending rearward and
downward so that the fender or mudguard under any condition of
operation or loading of the vehicle has a ground clearance of not
more than one third of the horizontal distance from the center of
the rearmost axle to the fender or mudguard;

(b) The fenders or mudguards shall be at least as wide as the
tire or multiple tires they are protecting;

(c) If the vehicle is so designed and constructed that the rear
wheels are covered in the manner specified in pars. (a) and (b) by
means of fenders, body construction or other means of enclosure,
then no special mudguards are required. Otherwise, the vehicle
shall be equipped with special mudguards to the extent necessary
to meet the requirements of pars. (a) and (b).

Cross—reference: See also ss. Trans 305.22 and 305.53, Wis. adm. code.

347.47 Drawbars, trailer hitches and mobile home
couplings. (1) No person shall operate a vehicle towing or
drawing another vehicle or vehicles on a highway if the drawbar
or other connection between any 2 vehicles exceeds 12 feet in
length.

(2) No person shall operate a motor vehicle drawing a trailer,
semitrailer, recreational vehicle, or mobile home upon a highway
unless the hitch and coupling attaching the trailer, semitrailer, rec-
reational vehicle, or mobile home to the vehicle by which it is
drawn is of such construction as to cause such trailer, semitrailer,
recreational vehicle, or mobile home to follow in direct line with
the propelling vehicle without dangerous side swing or wobble.
The hitch and coupling, the surface to which they are attached, and
the connections, shall be of sufficient strength to prevent failure
under all conditions of operation, The hitch is that part of the con-
necting mechanism, including the coupling platform and its
attaching members or weldments, which is attached to the towing
vehicle. The coupling is that part of the connecting mechanism,
including the coupling and its attaching members or weldments,
which is attached to the trailer, recreational vehicle, or mobile
home and by which connection is made to the hitch. If a device
is used between the trailer proper and the coupling such as a pole,
such device shall also meet the requirements of this section.

(3) In addition to the hitch and coupling specified in sub. (2),
every towed vehicle shall be coupled to the towing vehicle by
means of safety chains, leveling bars or cables. This requirement
does not apply to a semitrailer having a connecting device com-
posed of a 5th wheel and kingpin assembly, nor to a pole or pipe
dolly, The safety chains, leveling bars or cables shall have only
the necessary slack to permit proper turning and safety chains or
cables shall be so connected to the towed and towing vehicle to
prevent the drawbar from dropping to the ground if the hitch or
coupling disengages. Two separate lengths of safety chain, level-
ing bars or cable shall be required on all trailers and mobile homes;
however, the department may authorize use of such other appro-
priate equipment or methods approved by nationally recognized
organizations which recommend safety standards for motor
vehicles.

(4) Trailer, semitrailer, recreational vehicle, and mobile home
couplings and the safety chains, leveling bars or cables shall be of
such minimum strength, design and type as established by pub-
lished rule of the department.

History: 1971 ¢, 88; 1977 ¢. 29 55, 1654 (T) (¢); 1979 ¢. 34; 2007 a. 11,
Cross—veference: See also ¢h. Trans 308 and 5. Trans 305,52, Wis. adm. code.

347.475 Airbags, prohibited practices. (1) In this sec-
tion, “airbag™ means an inflatable restraint system that is designed
to be installed and to operate in a motor vehicle to deploy by inflat-
ing upon an impact of the vehicle with another object.

(2) No person may, either personally or through an agent, sell,
install, reinstall, or distribute any previously deployed airbag.
This subsection does not apply to the sale of a motor vehicle with

Updated 13-14 Wis. Stats. 14

a previously deployed airbag unless the deployment is concealed
or disguised.

(3) No person may, either personally or through an agent,
remove, disconnect, tamper with, or otherwise circumvent the
operation of any airbag, except for the purpose of testing, repair-
ing, or maintaining an airbag, salvaging an undeployed airbag,
disposing of a deployed airbag, or replacing a deployed airbag
with a funational airbag. This subsection does not apply to the
installation or use of an on—off switch by any person who is autho-
rized by federal law or regulation to install or use an on—off switch
for an airbag.

(4) No person may, either personally or through an agent,
install a cover or otherwise conceal or disguise a missing airbag
or a previously deployed airbag.

History: 2001 a. 28.

347.48 Safety belts and child safety restraint systems.
(1) SaFETY BELTS REQUIRED. (a) No person may buy, sell, lease,
trade or transfer a motor vehicle other than an automobile at retail
from or to Wisconsin residents unless the vehicle is equipped with
safety belts installed for use as required under 49 CFR 571, and
no such vehicle may be operated in this state unless such belts
remain installed.

(b) No person may buy, sell, lease, trade or transfer an automo-
bile that is required under 49 CFR 571 to be equipped with safety
belts fiom or to a resident of this state unless the front designated
seating positions of the automobile are equipped with safety belts
installed for use as required under 49 CFR 571 and unless each
rear outboard designated seating position of the automobile is
equipped with a safety belt consisting of a combination of a pelvie
and upper torso restraint that conforms to standards for a Type 2
seat belt assembly under 49 CFR 571.209, and no automobile may
be operated in this state unless such belts remain installed. Noth-
ing in this section applies to antique reproductions.

(2) TYPE AND MANNER OF INSTALLING, All such safety belts
must be of a type and must be installed in a manner approved by
the department. The department shall establish specifications and
requirements for approved types of safety belts and attachments
thereto. The department will accept, as approved, all seat belt
installztions and the belt and anchor meeting the society of auto-
motive engineers’ specifications.

(2m) RequireDp USE.  (a) In this subsection, “properly
restrained” means wearing a safety belt approved by the depart-
ment under sub. (2) and fastened in a manner prescribed by the
manufacturer of the safety belt which permits the safety belt to act
as a body restraint.

(b) If a motor vehicle is required to be equipped with safety
belts ir this state, no person may operate that motor vehicle unless
the person is properly restrained in a safety belt.

(¢) If a motor vehicle is required to be equipped with safety
belts i this state, no person may operate that motor vehicle unless
each passenger who 1s at least 8 years old and who is seated at a
designated seating position in the front seat required under 49
CFR 571 to have a safety belt installed or at a designated seating
position in the seats, other than the front seats, for which a safety
belt is required to be installed is properly restrained.

(d) If a motor vehicle is required to be equipped with safety
belts i this state, no person who is at least 8 years old and who is
seated at a designated seating position in the front seat required
under 49 CFR 571 to have a safety belt installed or at a designated
seating position in the seats, other than the front seats, for which
a safety belt is required to be installed may be a passenger in that
motor vehicle unless the person is properly restrained.

(dm) Paragraphs (b), (c) and (d) do not apply to the operation
of an authorized emergency vehicle by a law enforcement officer
or other authorized operator under circumstances in which com-
pliance could endanger the safety of the operator or another.

(dr) Paragraph (b) does not apply to the operator of a vehicle
while on a route which requires the operator to make more than 10
stops per mile involving an exit from the vehicle in the scope of

2013-14 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2015 Wis. Act 392 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before May 10, 2016.
Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after May 10, 2016 are designated by NOTES. (Published 5-10-16)
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15 Updated 13—14 Wis. Stats,

his or her employment. Paragraphs (c) and (d) do not apply to a
passenger while on a route which requires the passenger to make
more than 10 stops per mile invalving an exit from the vehicle in
the scope of his or her employment.

(e) The department shall, by rule, exempt from the require-
ments under pars. (b) to (d) persons who, because of a physical or
medical condition, cannot be properly restrained in a safety belt.

Cross—reforence: Sce also ch, Trans 315, Wis, adm. code.

(f) 1. This subsection does not apply if the motor vehicle is a
taxicab or is not required to be equipped with safety belts under
sub. (1) or 49 CFR 571.

2. This subsection does not apply to a privately owned motor
vehicle while being operated by a rural letter carrier for the deliv-
ery of mail or while being operated by a delivery person for the
delivery of newspapers or periodicals,

3. This subsection does not apply to a motor vehicle while
being operated by a land surveying crew while conducting a land
survey along or upon the highway.

7. This subsection does not apply to a farm truck or dual pur-
pose farm truck while being used in conjunction with the planting
or harvesting of crops and not being operated upon the highway.

(g) Evidence of compliance or failure to comply with par. (b),
(c) or (d) is admissible in any civil action for personal injuries or
property damage resulting from the use or operation of a motor
vehicle. Notwithstanding s. 895,045, with respect to injuries or
damages determined to have been caused by a failure to comply
with par. (b), (¢) or (d), such a failure shall not reduce the recovery
for those injuries or damages by more than 15%. This paragraph
does not affect the determination of causal negligence in the
action.

(gm) A law enforcement officer may not take a person into
physical custody solely for a violation of this subsection or sub.
(1) or (2) or a local ordinance in conformity with this subsection,
sub, (1) or (2) or rules of the department.

(3m) SAFETY BELT INFORMATION PROGRAM, The department
shall develop and administer a public information pregram to pro-
mote safety belt awareness and use.

(4) CHILD SAFETY RESTRAINT SYSTEMS REQUIRED; STANDARDS;
EXEMPTIONS. (ag) In this subsection:

1. “Child booster seat” means a child passenger restraint sys-
tem that meets the applicable federal standards under 49 CFR
571.213 and is designed to elevate a child from a vehicle seat to
allow the vehicle’s safety belt to be properly positioned over the
child’s body.

2. “Designated seating position™ has the meaning given in 49
CFR 571.3.

3. “Properly restrained” means any of the following:

a. With respect to par, (as) 1. and 2., fastened in a manner pre-
scribed by the manufacturer of the child safety restraint system
which permits the system to act as a body restraint but does not
include a system in which the only body restraint is a safety belt
of the type required under sub. (1).

b. With respect to par. (as) 3., wearing a safety belt consisting
of a combination lap belt and shoulder harness approved by the
department under sub, (2) and fastened in a manner prescribed by
the manufacturer of the safety belt so that the safety belt properly
fits across the child’s lap and the center of the child’s chest in a
manner appropriate to the child’s height, weight, and age that per-
mits the safety belt to act as a body restraint,

c. With respect to par. (as) 4., fastened in a manner prescribed
by the manufacturer of the system which permits the system to act
as a body restraint.

(am) No person may transport a child under the age of 8 in a
maotor vehicle unless the child is restrained in compliance with par.
(as) in a safety restraint system that is appropriate to the child’s age
and size and that meets the standards established by the depart-
ment under this paragraph. The department shall, by rule, estab-
lish standards in compliance with applicable federal standards,

EQUIPMENT OF VEHICLES 347.485

including standards under 49 CFR 571.213, for child safety
restraint systems.

(as) A child under the age of & years who is being transported
in a motor vehicle shall be restrained as follows:

1. If the child is less than one year old or weighs less than 20
pounds, the child shall be properly restrained in a rear—facing
child safety restraint system, positioned at a designated seating
position in a back passenger seat of the vehicle if the vehicle is
equipped with a back passenger seat.

2. Subject to subd. 1., if the child is at least one year old and
weighs at least 20 pounds but is less than 4 years old or weighs less
than 40 pounds, the child shall be properly restrained as provided
in subd. 1. or properly restrained in a forward—facing child safety
restraint system, positioned at a designated seating position in a
back passenger seat of the vehicle if the vehicle is equipped with
a back passenger seat.

3. Subject to subds. 1. and 2., if the child is at least 4 years old
but less than 8 years old, weighs at least 40 pounds but not more
than 80 pounds, and is not more than 57 inches in height, the child
shall be properly restrained as provided in subd. 2. or properly
restrained in a child booster seat.

4. Subject to subds. 1. to 3., if the child is less than 8 years old,
the child shall be properly restrained as provided in subds. 1. to 3.
or properly restrained in a safety belt approved by the department
under sub. (2).

(b) The department may, by rule, exempt from the require-
ments under pars. (am) and (as) any child who because of a physi-
cal or medical condition or body size cannot be placed in a child
safety restraint system, child booster seat, or safety belt.

(c) This subsection does not apply if the motor vehicle is a
motor bus, school bus, taxicab, moped, motorcycle or is not
required to be equipped with safety belts under sub. (1) or49 CFR
571.

(d) Evidence of compliance or failure to comply with pars.
(am) and (as) is admissible in any civil action for personal injuries
or property damage resulting from the use or operation of a motor
vehicle but failure to comply with pars. (am) and (as) does nat by
itself constitute negligence.

History: 1975¢.337; 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1654 (7) (a); 1981 c. 327; 1983 a. 285; 1987
4. 132ss.3to6, 11; 1987 o 399; 1989 a. 22; 1991 a. 26, 39, 198, 269; 1997 a. 190:
2005 & 106; ZOOSIa 28: 2001 a 111,

Cross—reference: Scc also chi. Trans 3ID and &. Trans 30527, Wis. adm. code,

“Seat belt negligence” and “passive distinguished. Jury instruc-
tions regarding seat belts are recommended, A method for apportioning damages in
seat belt negligence cases is adopted. Foley v. City of West Allis, 113 Wis, 2d 475,
335 N.w.2d 824 (1983).

A common law action for contribution may not be hrought against a person who
violates sub. {2m) (g). Gaertner v. Holcka, 219 Wis. 2d 436, 580 N.W.2d 271 (1998),
96-2726.

A statute requiring the wearing of seat belts in motor vehicles would be constitu-
tional. 58 Atty. Gen. 241.

The seat belt defense — state of the law. Kircher, 53 MLR 172,

‘The seat belt defense — the trial lawyer's view. Bowman, 53 MLR 191,

Practical defense problems — the expert’s view, Huelke, 53 MLR 203,

‘The seat belt as a cause of injury. Snyder, 53 MLR 211,

347.485 Protective headgear for use on Type 1 motor-
cycles. (1) (a) No person who holds an instructional permit
under s. 343.07 (4) or who is under 18 years of age may operate
or ride upon a Type | motorcycle on any highway unless the per-
son is wearing protective headgear of a type which meets the stan-
dards established for motorcycle operation in 49 CFR 571.218
and the chin strap is properly fastened.

(am) No person may operate a Type 1 motorcycle when carry-
ing a passenger under 18 years of age unless the passenger is wear-
ing protective headgear.

(b) No person may sell or offer for sale any protective headgear
for use by a driver or passenger on a Type | motorcycle, not meet-
ing the standards established for motorcycle operation in 49 CFR
571.218.

(2) (a) No person may operate a motorcycle on any highway
without wearing any of the following eye protection:

1. A protective face shield attached to the headgear.

2013-14 Wisconsin Statutes updated through 2015 Wis. Act 392 and all Supreme Court Orders entered before May 10, 2016.
Published and certified under s. 35.18. Changes effective after May 10, 2016 are designated by NOTES. (Published 5-10-16)
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State of Wisconsin Traffic Records Coordinating Committee

CHARTER

JUSTIFICATION: The State of Wisconsin provides for the safety and welfare of its citizens through development
and implementation of public health, safety, and security regulations, programs and activities, and promotes the
use of technology to support agency missions and make government more accessible, responsive, and accountable.

Numerous information system improvement projects and programs are underway throughout the state to meet
the business purposes of our several organizations. Discussion and support of these programs across organizational
boundaries will be beneficial for identification of opportunities for sharing, coordinating and partnership.

MISSION STATEMENT: The State of Wisconsin Traffic Records Coordinating Committee (TRCC) is a group
consisting of collectors, managers, and users of all components of Wisconsin's Traffic Safety Information System

(TSIS).

TSIS includes information about: crashes; citation and adjudication; emergency medical and injury surveillance;
driver licensing and history; vehicle registration; roadway inventory; traffic; census; geographic informaf on; any
other files that can be used to develop, implement, and evaluate highway safety programs and projects.

The TRCC serves as a forum for discussion of TSIS issues. The TRCC reviews proposed changes in state TSIS
improvement activities before they are implemented, reviews new technology, and administers an annual plan
related to safety information improvement projects.

AUTHORITY: The State of Wisconsin Traffic Records Coordinating Committee will:
* Serve as the Wisconsin Traffic Safety Information Executive Committee
* Provide a forum for education, coordination, and partnering for involved agencies
* Develop and approve a state Traffic Safety Information Strategic Plan
* Review and evaluate new technologies
* Consult with various disciplines to bring additional expertise to the planning and implementation process
* Consider related efforts by other entities, and coordinate with them as appropriate
* Evaluate, assess, and adjust strategies as necessary to achieve Wisconsin's Safety Strategic Goals.
We, the leaders of Wisconsin's agencies with primary responsibility for data, information, and analyses that

support all aspects of public health, safety and security in the State, mutually pledge to commit to the tenets of
this Charter.
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The
as Af thif date: October 31, 2013.

alker, Governor
Stat@of Wisconsin

e Gttt t—

Mark Gottlieb, P.E.
Secretary of the Department of Transportation
Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety

David Pabst, Director

WisDOT Bureau of Transportation Safety
State Highway Safety Coordinator

MA. Rhindo

Kitty Rhoades
Se etary of the Department of Health Services

/.

Da ld S.'Matthews, Admlmstrator

Department of Justice, lesy\ml Investigation

A. John Voelker
Director of State Courts Office

@uVa?

David Cagigal, CIO, A’\?@nist or
Department of Administration, Division of Enterprise Technology

£ ML 0

Brian M. Satula, Administrator
Department of Military Affairs, Division of Emergency Government
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APPENDIX TR-2: TRCC AGENDAS, MINUTES, AND MEETING
SCHEDULE

STATE of WISCONSIN TRAFFIC RECORDS COORDINATING COMMITTEE
Wednesday, September 23rd, 2015
1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
4802 Sheboygan Ave - DOT-Hill Farms Building
Room 364
Madison, W1
1. Introductions, Housekeeping, Attendance
. Approval of June 8, 2015 Minutes
. Traffic Safety Information System Update/Discussion (Neil May)
. MACH LTE Grant Request (Dave Harvey)
. Pedestrian/Bicycle Data Presentation (Bob Schneider)
. ATSIP Conference
. State to State Drivers License Recognition System (Corey Kleist and Ann Perry)
. MV 4000 Electronic Reporting
. Updates from each 2015 Federal Fiscal Grantee
10. New Business
11. Adjourn

O 00 N &N N A W

1. Introductions, Housekeeping, Attendance:

Chokkalingam Muthumari, BOTS; Thomas Erdmann, WSP-TRU; Andi Bill, UW-TOPS; Richard Miller, DHS-
DPH-OHI; Wayne Bigelow, UW Codes; David Harvey, DSP-BFO; Mitch Moline, DOT-BITS; Deborah
Fischer, DOT-DMYV; Mark Gessler, FMC SA; Corey Kleist, DOT-DMV-BDS-QIS; Tim McCain, DSP-BFO;
Darlene Schwartz, DMV-BDS; Bill Lubinski, La Crosse County Sheriffs Department; Bob Schneider, UW-
Milwaukee; Jeff Heil, Dane Co Sheriffs Office; Mike Schumacher, DTIM-BSHP; Randy Romanski, BOTS;
Laura Vande Hey, BOTS; Larry Corsi, BOTS; Neil May, BOTS; Lyn Warren, NHTSA

2. Approval of June 8, 2015 Minutes: Correction: "Meyer" is "MIRE."

3. Traffic Safety Information System Update/Discussion (Neil May)

Areas of assessment to improve for plan: Beginning - Justifications; Middle - Body; End - Goals and Performance
Measures. Neil will contact parties necessary for input.

4. MACH L TE Grant Request (Dave Harvey)

DOTs Mobile Architecture for Communications Handling or MACH system is designed to track law
enforcement officers’ whereabouts. 103 agencies current total, including W1 Emergency Management and W1
National Guard. Requested budget: $50,000 ¢ Cost to agency: $ 12/year per mobile device, inexpensive for small
agencies.

* State Patrol Mobile Data Browser System is being shut down at the end of the year for not meeting FBI
security. MACH is anticipating a rush at the end of the year.

* Jacob, our current LTE, has been focusing on new user agencies and automation.
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* Agency has to be on TraCS 10 which is Traffic and Criminal Software, a paperless system for registering
citations.

* Easier to coordinate big events or multi -state disasters (ex. PGA or Prairie Island nuclear plant, Red Wing,
MN)

* Additional cost: Higher data charges.

* Full Time MACH L TE would, in addition, ensure Computer Aided Dispatch or CAD works as planned
and is scalable. They need redundant servers.

5. AT SIP Conference (Association of Transportation Safety Information Professionals)
Trathc Records Forum, October 25-28th, Costa Mesa, CA

Andi Bill will be giving presentation, requests to attend.

6. PedestrianiBicycle Data Presentation (Bob Schneider)

WI pedestrian and bicycle crash trends. 10% fatal crashes pedestrian (-"SO/yr.) 2% fatal crashes Bicyclist (---1
Olyr.) 2004 - 2013 crashes & fatalities went down.

Fatal vs non-severe. Location- Movement (LMCM) and NHTSA PBCAT Crash Typing Methods. Top 4 Pedes-
trian Crash Types; 83% of fatal at locations with no traffic signal or stop sign, 74% of fatal were on arterial
collector roadways, 77% of fatal were motorist traveling straight: 1) Non-intersection: Straight, Pedestrian on
Road, 2) Intersection: Straight, Pedestrian approaching from Left, 3) Non-Intersection: Straight, Pedestrian
approaching from Right.

Bicyclist Crash Types: 1) Non-Intersection: Straight, Bicyclist on Right, includes dooring, 2) Intersection: Straight,
Bicyclist approaching from Left, 3) Intersection: Straight, Bicyclist approaching from Right.

Recommendations. Engineering; Lane reconfiguration, Curb Extensions, RRFBs, HAWK, Ban RTOR, Reduce
Turning Radius, Dedicated R -Tum Lanes, Provide Sidewalks, Improve Lighting, Green Bike Lanes. Education;
Motorist, Pedestrian, Bicyclist. Enforcement; Speeding, Yielding to Pedestrians, OWI. Evaluation.

7. State to State Driver's License Recognition System (Corey Kleist and Ann Perry)

State Pointer Exchanger Services (SPEXS.) W1 is first state to implement. If customer moves from IL to W1, we
can see the data on their products. ND on board. IA on board December 2016. Benefits - Automation, Fraud
detection, Timely exchange of information, Assist with REAL ID compliance.

8. Updates from each 2015 Federal Fiscal Grantee
* Linking Crash & Health Data, Richard Miller
I. CODES Traffic Crash Record Linkage
II. Hospital Data Archive Improvement Project; MN, 1A, Patient-based linkage. Next year; IL.

III. Online Access to Injury Data for Mortality and Hospital Records; Wisconsin Interactive Statistics
on Health (WISH.)

* WI Traffic Records Coordinating Committee Updates: Crash Database, Andi Bill
Crash Database Dictionary - Includes initial crash data elements and attribute code values.

Supplementing Crash Record with Road Infrastructure elements by Using Existing GIS-based Road Inventory - Using
and accessing existing data for analysis. See handout.

Spatial Crash Data Mining to Improve Site Selection for Initiating Warnings and Citations -Crash Data, Citationl-
Warning Data, and Method. See handout. Can view data by vehicle such as motor carrier.

Community Maps 2015 Outreach and Enhancements- Updated our test site. (transportal.cee. wisc.edu/testing/
community-map/crash!)
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Correlating MV4000 Crashes with WI Lane Closure System Records for Enhanced Work Zone Safety Analysis- Verifying
three flags: Construction zone flags, Construction zone related crashes, crashes that match WisLCS but were not
marked by construction zone flag.

High Visibility Pedestrian Enforcement Evaluation - How does LE feel about citing pedestrians? See
handout.

* TRU Management, Thomas Erdman
2 laser scanners and GPS systems. TraCS Tasks created data linked to CCAP. Crash reconstruction is
very informative. Collect data to find the causes of crashes.

* MV4000 Electronic Reporting, Chocks M: Next Meeting.

9. New Business: None.

10. Adjourn
For more information, contact Larry Corsi at 608-709-0081 or Neil May at 608-709-0088

STATE of WISCONSIN TRAFFIC RECORDS COORDINATING COMMITTEE
Thursday, December 3rd, 2015, 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM

4802 Sheboygan Ave - DOT-Hill Farms Building, Room 364, Madison, W1I

. Introductions, Housekeeping, Attendance

. Approval of September 23rd, 2015 Minutes

. ATSIP Conference Follow-up (Andi and Neil)

. TRACS Update (Randy)

. Proposal on Evaluation on HVE Pedestrian Enforcement Projects (Andi)

. Update LTE MACH Position and TRU Equipment (Larry)

. Updates from each 2016 Federal Fiscal Grantees

o N &N oA W~

. New Business
9. Adjourn
For more information, contact Larry Corsi at 608-709-0081 or Neil May at 608-709-0088

STATE of WISCONSIN TRAFFIC RECORDS COORDINATING COMMITTEE
Thursday, December 3rd, 2015, 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM, 4802 Sheboygan Ave - DOT -Hill Farms Building
Room 364, Madison, W1

1. Introductions, Housekeeping, Attendance:

Courtney Doberstein, DOS-CIB; Neil May, DOT/BOTS; Larry Corsi, DOT/BOTS; Laura Vande Hey,
DSP/BOTS; Chokkalingam Muthumari, DSP/BOTS; Randy Romanski, DSP/BOTS; Tim McClain, DSP/BFO;
Dave Jolicoeur, FHWA; Brian Porter, DTSD/BTO; Jeff Heil, Dane Co Sheriff; Deanna Reilly, City of Madison
PD; Darlene Schwartz, DMV; Andrea Olson, CCAP; Kelly Schieldt, DOT/ DTIM; Chuck Happel, DHS/W1I
EMS; Richard Miller, DHS/SPH/OHI; Wayne Bigelow, UW/CODES; Ashley Bergeron, DHS/DPH/OPEHC;
Andi Bill, UW Tops Lab; Janet Chen, DOT/BOTS; James Kicmol, DSP/BOTS; Steve Pudloski, UW-TIC; Joni
Graves, UW-TIC; Lynn Warren, NHTSA
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2. Approval of September 23rd, 2015 Minutes: Approved with no changes.

3. ATSIP Conference Follow-up (Andi and Neil):

Autonomous driving was an overall conference topic. Other topics of interest: VIN number autopopulating in
TraCS; targeting weights for crashes; roadways in New Orleans tracked with intersection tables via GIS; TRCC
Town Hall meeting mock update in 2016; MMUCC compliancy for state database; newer safety features of
autonomous vehicles. Andi presented CAPCO project, comparison between police and medical practitioners
have for severity. Connecticut is filling out a fatal-type supplement for all A-type crashes, 30 page document.
Moving towards using data for predictive rather than reactive actions for transportation safety.

4. MV4000 Update (Randy, Chocks, and Andi)

Update is on time and on budget. Reviewing MV4000 forms and new rules. TOPS Lab finalized the data
dictionary. TraCS and TOPS Lab will be connected by the end of this year. We have identified an opportunity
to automate the driver crash reporting. Looking to change language- "accident" to "crash" and MV4000 to
DT4000. Doing outreach to records management staff, so they know there are changes. Reaching out to Stephanie
Peterson for training manual.

5. Proposal on Evaluation on HVE Pedestrian Enforcement Projects (Andi)

Last year's grant for looking at effectiveness of a H_VE Pedestrian campaign. Did a survey with law enforcement
and some pilot testing on how the camera equipment would work. Not able to spend down the funding, however,
proposing to spend funding on video data collection this year re: behavior of pedestrians and pedestrian attitudes
before and after campaigns. Funding left over from last year carried over plus $75,000 for this year to collect
pedestrian data. Motion to move. Approved.

6. Proposal for TraCS Equipment (Larry)

98% of crash data is collected electronically via TraCS. Requesting increasing funding from $50,000 to $150,000
to put towards enrollment, equipment, and supplies so that all agencies are on TraCS by January 201 7. Motion
to move. Approved.

7. Update LTE MACH Position and TRU Equipment (Larry)

LTE MACH position approved for $50,000 has found funding from other sources. TRU Equipment project is
awaiting approval from Secretary's Office January- $275,000 which is 80%.

8. Update from each 2016 Federal Fiscal Grantees
Update W1 Rover Equipment (Andi)

Project started with getting EMS to hospitals quicker and moved into State Patrol. Device that connects various
cellular cards together to either get more bandwidth or have no dropped service, ensuring LE has situational
awareness with no break in connectivity in all areas of Wisconsin. Is this worthwhile to ensure MACH or stream
video back to dispatch centers? TOPS helped with facilitating. Suman Banerjee from Computer Science &
Sergeant Harvey helped with test vehicles. Update EMS Training for 2015 and Trauma Database for 2016 (Chuck
and Ashley) Five session EMS electronic data training held in September 2015. Migrating from NEMSIS II to
NEMSIS III database and beta testing new software. Integrating the WARDS data with the trauma data by
procuring new software for the trauma database. Iowa had the same software, experienced the same problems,
had the same vendor and purchased this software to solve their issues. Initially there will be two separate databases
and two separate reports. After December 31, 2016 two systems will be merged on NEMSIS III by the vendor.
Tentative approval date for new EMS data entry is January 1, 2017. EMS services can also receive outcome data
from patients, which they do not receive now.

National Model Steering Committee (Darlene)
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Last meeting was in August; next is in February. Business discussion was regarding updating user agreements
with all the states, which is updated every 5 years, and updating the TraCS business plan. 90% agencies use TraCS
10. Jenny did a presentation on how to use TraCS. Vendor suggested upgrading to 4.6 version of dot.net. However
it does not work on XP machines. Put a query out to our LE to upgrade XP machines so TraCS can switch over.

CODES and WARDS (Richard)
I. CODES Traffic Crash Record Linkage DHS EMS forms linking to hospitals.
-Complete matching WI and MN patients by end of July.
-Expand to match Iowa patients.
-Expand to link to traffic crash reports to EMS WARDS reports.
II. Hospital Data Archive Improvement Plan
-Update medical coding to IDC-10.
-See handout for additional items.
II1. Online Access to Injury Data from Mortality and Hospital Records (not DOT funded)
-See handout.

Liquor Establishments with GPS Coordinates for Alcohol Related Crashes (Andi) Grant still in the process.
Student looking at data.

Citation and Warning from DSP with Alcohol, Unbelted, Speed GIS (Andi) Follow up from last year which
we can share. Perhaps to inform DSP on where to target enforcement.

9.. New Business
Bill Lubinski, our LE representative, has retired. Tim Berg, Onalaska PD has been recommended our new LE
rep.

Wayne will have costs of injury reports available online by January.

10. Adjourn
For more information, contact Larry Corsi at 608-709-0081 or Neil May at 608-709-0088

STATE of WISCONSIN TRAFFIC RECORDS COORDINATING COMMITTEE
Thursday, April 21st, 2016, 1:00 PM to 3: 00 PM
4802 Sheboygan Ave - DOT-Hill Farms Building, Room 364, Madison, W1I

1. Introductions, Housekeeping, Attendance

2. Approval of Minutes
State of Wisconsin

3. Federal Fiscal year 2016 Amendments Traffic Records Coordinating

Committee

Meeting Schedule (July 1, 2016
-June 30, 2017)

September 21, 2016
6. 2016 Project Updates December 14, 2016

March 16, 2017

4. ATSIP Conference, Baltimore MD August 7-10th

5. Federal Fiscal Year 2017 Project Proposals

7. New Business

8. Adjourn
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APPENDIX TR-3:2016 TRCC MEMBERS

2016 TRCC Members
Member Organizations Representative EMAIL Core Safety Database

DOT

SHSO Co-Chair (Tie vote) Vote Corsi, Larry larry.corsi@dot.wi.gov Crash

SHSO Co-Chair (alt) May,  Neil neil.may@dot.wi.gov Crash

OPFI Swissler  John, john.swissler@dot.wi.gov

BOTS V Romanski  Randy, randy.romanski@dot.wi.gov Crash

WSP- MCSAP McClain, Tim timothy.mcclain@dot.wi.gov

WSP- v Harvey Dave, david.harvey@dot.wi.gov Citation or Adjudication

WSP -TraCS (alt) Wolfe, Paul paul.wolfe@dot.wi.gov

DMV BDS v Schwartz, Darlene darlene.schwartz@dot.wi.gov Driver

DMV/BVS (alt) Galbraith, ~ Timothy timothy.galbraith@dot.wi.gov

DTIM/BSHP (alt) v Schieldt, Kelly kelly.schieldt@dot.wi.gov Roadway

DTIM/BSHP-TRADAS (alt) Forde, Susie susie.forde@dot.wi.gov Roadway

DBM/BITS - GIS v Moline, Mitch mitchell.moline@dot.wi.gov Crash

DTSD/BHO Adams, Angela angela.adams@dot.wi.gov

DTSD/BHO Vv Szymkowski, Rebecca rebecca.szymkowski@dot.wi.gov Roadway

DTSD/BHO (alt) Porter, Brian brian.porter@dot.wi.gov Roadway

State Agencies and Organizations

DOJ/CIBTIME Vv Doberstain, Courtney  dobersteincl@doj.state.wi.us Citation or Adjudication

DOJ Fortunato  Dennis, dennis.fortunato@wi.gov Citation or Adjudication

DOA-GIO v Pulford, Curtis curtis.pulford@wisconsin.gov Crash

0SC-CCAP v Olson, Andrea Andrea.Olson@wicourts.gov Citation or Adjudication

0SC-CCAP (alt) Hicks, Kim kim.hicks@wicourts.gov

DHS/DPH-EMS v Happle, Chuck charles.happle@dhs.wisconsin.gov Emergency Medical Services/
Injury Surveillance System

DHS/DPH-EMS (alt)

DHS/DPH/BHIP v Miller,  Richard richard.miller@wi.gov Emergency Medical Services/
Injury Surveillance System

Menominee Tribal PD Warrington,  Warren wwarrington@mitw.org

uw

UW CHSRA-CODES Bigelow, Wayne Wayne@chsra.wisc.edu Emergency Medical Services/
Injury Surveillance System

UW TOPS Lab v Bill, Andi bill@wisc.edu Crash

UWTOPS Lab (alt) Parker, Steven sparker@engr.wisc.edu Vehicle

UW-TIC Pudloski, Steven pudloski@wisc.edu

Local Agencies & Organizations

WI County Hwy Assoc Mandli, Gerald mandli@co.dane.wi.us

Jefferson County Udovich, Brian BrianU@jeffersoncountywi.gov Roadway

WI Chap, APA Peterson, Gary

Onalaska PD Vv Berg, Tim tberg@cityofonalaska.com Citation or Adjudication

Dane County SO v Heil, Jeff heil@danesheriff.com

Madison PD Vv Knight,  Trevor TKnight@cityofmadison.com Citation or Adjudication

Madison PD (Alt) Reilly, Deanna dreilly@cityofmadison.com

EMS Advisory Committee v Lintz, Cal Chester.lintz@nwtc.edu

Trauma MD v Johnson, Ken Ken.JohnsonMD@stvgh.org

Federal Partners

NHTSA/GLR Warren, Lyn lyn.warren@dot.gov

FHWA/WI Division Jolicoeur,  David david.jolicoeur@dot.gov

FMCSA/WI Division Oesterle, Mark mark.oesterle@dot.gov

FMCSA/WI Division Gessler,  Mark mark.gessler@dot.gov
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APPENDIX TR-4:2015-2019 STRATEGIC PLAN FOR TRAFFIC
SAFETY INFORMATION SYSTEM IMPROVEMENTS

Scott Walker Governor
Mark Gottlieb
Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety
June 15,2014
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INTRODUCTION

On July 6, 2012, the President signed into law PL. 112-
141, the new surface transportation reauthorization bill
known as the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st
Century Act, or “MAP-21". The bill represents the first
multi-year transportation authorization enacted since
August 10, 2005, the enactment of the Safe,
Accountable, Flexible, and Efficient Transportation
Equity Act: A Legacy for Users, or “SAFETEA-LU”.
The bill contains sections that require the collection,
management, and distribution or analysis of safety data
by local, state or federal agencies.

Encoded in 23 U.S.C. Section 405(c) of MAP-21 is the
Section 405(c) State Traffic Safety Information System
Improvements Grants; a provision for providing funds
to states for improving identified deficiencies in their
various data system components.

In the 23 Jan 2013 Federal Register, NHTSA provided
guidance for states applying for Section 405(c) funds.
In order to assure that the required data are properly,
efficiently and effectively collected, well-managed and
available to support increasingly data-driven traffic
safety programs, Subsection 3(C) of Section 405(c)
basically states it is required that each state should have
in place a comprehensive Traffic Safety Information
Systems (TSIS) Strategic Plan for the improvement of
all the safety data systems in the state.
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Wisconsin’s TSIS Strategic Plan, developed with input
from data collectors, program managers and users, can
be used to guide the most cost-effective use of available
resources to result in the greatest quality improvements
to the state’s data in terms of timeliness, completeness,
accuracy, reliability, inter-operability and accessibility.

BACKGROUND

Wisconsin met the criteria for participation in the 23
USC Section 408 Traffic Safety Information Systems
Improvement Grant Program under the 2005-2009
surface transportation reauthorization bill, the Safe,
Accountable, Flexible, Efficient Transportation Equity
Act, “SAFETY-LU.”, which upon the 2009 expiration
was extended through most of 2013, at which time
MAP-21 (from Section 405c¢), superseded SAFETY-
LU.

In 2005, the state underwent a Traffic Records
Assessment (TRA) and organized a technical level
Traffic Records Coordinating Committee (TRCC)
under the leadership of the State Highway Safety
Office., which was re-assessed in 2010. The TRCC has
met quarterly and, in 2000, approved the State
Strategic Plan for Traffic Records Improvements, which
it reviewed and updated annually.

Wisconsin’s 2014 Strategic Highway Safety Plan
(SHSP) has been updated under the leadership of the
Wisconsin Department of Transportation’s Traffic
Safety Council. Members of the TRCC have been
involved in drafting the SHSP section addressing data
and information improvements for decision-making.
The objectives for both plans are coordinated.

The primary objectives of the 2010-2014 Strategic Plan
for Traffic Records Improvement were automation of
crash data, improved incident location, development of
a state ambulance run reporting system, and increased
access to safety data. The TRCC recommended that
Section 408 funds be used primarily for the adoption
of the national model TraCS law enforcement data
collection system for Wisconsin’s safety data system.
The 2015-2019 Strategic Plan for Traffic Records
Improvement will diverge from the 2010-2014 plan in
that it will more closely resemble the data components
included in the 2014-2016 Strategic Highway Safety
Plan (SHSP).

As was also stated in the introduction, on August 10,
2005, the President signed the new surface trans-

portation reauthorization bill, the Safe, Accountable,
Flexible, and Efficient Transportation Equity Act: A
Legacy for Users, or “SAFETEA-LU.” The bill contains
more than 30 sections that require the collection,
management, and distribution or analysis of safety data
by local, state or federal agencies. The new bill did not
modify the strategic planning process nor the overall
goal to require that data are properly, efficiently and
effectively collected, well-managed and available to
support increasingly data-driven traffic safety programs.

|I. STRATEGIC PLANNING PROCESS

A. Participants

TRCC - Policy Group, This is the group responsible
for oversight of the state’s highway safety data
systems. This policy-level group is composed of
agency heads or division administrators who have
authority and charge of overseeing the planning and
improvement of safety data systems and/or who are
collectors or users of these data, and who can
commit resources to address multi-year planning
across agencies.

This group may meet on an ad hoc basis as required
to review and approve the work of the TRCC
Technical Group, and to set state policy to result in
a statewide data improvement program that assures
coordination of efforts and sharing of data.
Members represent the Departments of Adminis-
tration, Transportation (Highways, Motor Vehicles,
the State Patrol, including its Bureau of Trans-
portation Safety that incorporates the State Highway
Safety Office function for the State of Wisconsin),
Health Services, Emergency Government, Justice
(Office of Justice Assistance), and the Office of State
Courts. Members and affiliations are listed in
APPENDIX One, “TRCC Policy Group.” The
Members were presented with a draft Charter for
review and adoption. The two members responsible
for the Traffic Safety Information System files signed
the Charter for 405c¢ Application and a second
round of signatures of all Policy Group members
will be provided for the 2015 planning process.

TRCC -- Technical Group, composed of a core group
of members who have met quarterly since the TRCC
was organized under TEA-21 in 1999 and additional
members who represent new users and/or collectors

of these data. The TRCC Technical Group is quite
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large, with representatives who are managers of
crash, roadway, citation/conviction, driver, vehicle,
EMS, Trauma Registry and Hospital databases,
collectors of crash, roadway and EMS Run data, and
data users including state and local program analysts
and university researchers in public health, highway
safety, and roadway improvements. Members, affil-
iations and files are listed in APPENDIX Two,
“TRCC Technical Group.”

TRCC Technical Group Subcommittees or
Workgroups, as required. A location subcommittee
of the existing TRCC produced recommendations
that have been incorporated into this plan.
Proposed subcommittees planned or already
operating during 2006 include location coordi-
nation, traffic enforcement analysis, crash data
improvement scoping, and technology review
subcommittees.

B. Identification of “Deficiencies” and Baselines
(Benchmarking)

* TRCC members described the files and
functions they agreed were components of the
state’s Trafhic Safety Information System.
(APPENDIX Three: TSIS

Component Files)

Wisconsin’s

* The TRCC Technical Group originally reviewed
the 2005 TRA Recommendations, recommen-
dations of the TRCC Public Safety Incident
Location Work Group, recommendations of the
WisDOT  Crash  Data

Workgroup, and portions of other assessment

Improvements

documents.

* The data file managers then provided numerical
baseline measures of the current status of data
quality for each deficient quality variable
identified in the Assessments and audits.

o Timeliness

o Completeness
o Accuracy

o Consistency
o Accessibility

o Data Integration

* A publication incorporating these data quality
metrics into complete descriptions of each

component file, and descriptions of normalizing
and related safety data, is planned and will be
partially funded with 405¢ funds.

C. Process for Establishing Imnprovement Objec-
tives

* The TRCC Technical Group used the following
information for establishing objectives that can
reasonably be accomplished between FFY2015
and 2019:

o Feb 2, 2006 Federal Register examples of
quality measures

o Requirements and priorities from the 2014-

2016 Strategic Highway Safety Plan Issue Areas
(APPENDIX Six)

o Highway Safety Performance Plan (HSPP)
priorities and planned expenditures.

o TRCC member knowledge of the data files they
manage and/or use

o Existing resources from state and federal fund

sources
o An estimate of 2015 award of 405c¢ funds

* Proposed Performance Measures and Objectives
were e-mailed to the TRCC Technical Group
for approval and priority determination by
majority vote.

(APPENDIX Seven: 2010-2014 Objectives and
Supporting Projects, organized by TRA Recommenda-
tions and Comments)

D. Process for Determining Priorities for
Corrective Action and Selecting Projects for

405c Funding

* At least once annually, during the third quarter
(because of the funding cycle), the TRCC
Technical identified
deficiencies in data quality and discusses

Group reviews the
changes in the environment, resources, progress
of funded and unfunded projects, and new
technologies that might affect priorities for
funding.

* The Technical Group then determines which of
the deficiencies the projects can be reasonably
addressed using the 405c¢ funds, as affected by
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state priorities and available resources, as well as
the amount of expected 405c¢ funds.

* Each project will be related to the baseline
measures of data quality (benchmarks), and
timelines will be approved for project objectives
that can reasonably be accomplished between
FFY2015 and 2019 given existing resources
plus 405¢ funds. Accountability will be clearly
identified in each project application.

* Members of the TRCC Technical Group
produced or obtained “micro” descriptions of
proposed projects that addressed the priority
deficiencies. Subsequently, additional project
proposals and additional information about the
initial proposals were formatted into the
NHTSA preferred format and were sent to all
Technical Group members by e-mail for a final
round of priority assignment. The resulting
project proposals, in priority order, are listed
below.

E. Process for Monitoring and Reporting
Progress in Achieving Project Objectives

e Each 405c-funded project plan will include
performance indicators to measure the success
or failure of the project in terms of progress
from baselines to quality improvement objec-
tives. Project sponsors will be required to

provide quarterly reports reviewed at the TRCC

Quarterly Meetings, and, as appropriate, at

Subcommittee meetings.

* Matrices for measuring progress will be
produced by the State Highway Safety Office
(SHSO) based upon project reports, and will be
reviewed by the Technical Group at its quarterly
meetings.

* Summary quarterly reports will be forwarded to

the TRCC Policy Group.

* An Annual Report will be prepared for review
and approval of the Technical Group, and then
forwarded to the TRCC Policy Group for

review and signature.

* The signed report will be forwarded to NHTSA.

F. Process for Modifying or Replacing Objectives

Wisconsin’s Strategic Plan for Trafhic Safety Information
System Improvements will continue to be an active

document that will reflect new issues, new technologies
and changing environments.

As soon as practical after the beginning of the funding
year, the TRCC Technical Group will review the
existing objectives and will begin gathering information
about changes in the political environment, technology
and strategic resources.

As soon as information is available about the progress
of funded projects, and no less than quarterly, this
information will be reviewed by the Technical Group.
Significant changes in the environment and/or progress
of projects will form the basis for proposed changes in
objectives. Historically, this has resulted in annual
updates to Wisconsin’s Traffic Records Strategic Plan,
and is expected to continue.

The proposed changes will be forwarded to the TRCC
Policy Group for signoff and subsequently will be
included in the Annual Report and annual update of
the Strategic Plan.

Il. ENVIRONMENTAL SCAN/
DEFICIENCIES/ GAP ANALYSIS

A. Deficiency Identification/Gap Analysis

Note: A new Trafhic Records Assessment (TRA) will
occur in March, 2015, which may modify this analysis.

Existing/Planned Data Files and Functions, All funding
sources (APPENDIX Three: "TSIS Component Files”)
Table updates the findings of the May 2010 Traffic
Records Assessment (TRA), and includes planned

improvements, additions, and changes.

Upon request by the Wisconsin State Highway Safety
Office, teams of data system experts conducted a TRA
in May, 2010 and will again in March, 2015. The
purpose of a TRA is to determine whether Wisconsin’s
traffic safety information system is capable of
supporting management’s ability to identify safety
problems, select and manage countermeasures to reduce
or eliminate those problems and evaluate safety
programs for their effectiveness. The Assessment
compared system function with national criteria and
made priority and other recommendations for
addressing ‘deficiencies’ in each of the primary traffic

safety information files.

The 2010 TRA recommended increased automation,
coordination of efforts across organizations, improved
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location information, increased access to data and
analyses, and statewide EMS data collection.

Based upon Wisconsin’s 2010 TRA, other specialized
assessments and studies, and their knowledge as
gatherers, managers and users of these data, the TRCC
Technical Group’s targeted areas of opportunity for
improvements in Wisconsin’s traffic safety information

files.

The process began by the TRCC review of priority
recommendations of the TRA over the year since it
occurred. The recommendations were discussed during

the TRCC Strategic Planning Workshop.

The data file managers were then asked to use their
detailed knowledge of their files to provide up-to-date
and complete numerical baseline measures for the
priority issues addressed in this Plan.

Additional assessments and audits provided a more
detailed identification of system deficiencies and made
recommendations for improving portions of
Wisconsin’s data. They support the main recommenda-

tions of the 2010 Assessment.

B. All Existing Data Improvement Projects

e 2010 Wisconsin Traffic Records Assessment
Report.

* 2015-2019 Traffic Records Strategic Plan.
e 2006 MMUCC Review (APPENDIX Four)
e 2012 NEMSIS Review (APPENDIX Five)

* 2014-2016 State of Wisconsin Strategic
Highway Safety Plan Data and Decision
Support (APPENDIX Six)

I1l. STRATEGIC PLAN 2015-2019
TRAFFIC SAFETY INFORMATION
SYSTEMS STRATEGIC PLAN

A. VISION

Integrated planning for Wisconsin’s public health,
safety and security information systems results in traffic
safety information that is timely, accurate, and
complete, and thus meets the needs of many types of
users; this information is readily accessible in formats
that meet the needs of these users, is consistent between
organizations and with national standards, and can be
integrated with other types of data and with infor-
mation from other jurisdictions.

B. MISSION

The State of Wisconsin provides for the safety and
welfare of its citizens through development and imple-
mentation of science-based and periodically reviewed
public health, safety and security regulations, programs
and activities, and promotes the use of technology to
support agency missions and make government more
accessible, responsive and accountable.

 The State of Wisconsin Traffic Records Coordi-
nating Committee (TRCC), a group consisting
of collectors, managers and users of all compo-
nents of Wisconsin’s Traffic Safety Information
System (TSIS), serves as a forum for discussion
of records issues, reviews proposed changes in
state TSIS improvement activities before they
are implemented, reviews new technology and
annually plans, monitors and analyzes safety
information improvement projects.

C. PRINCIPLES

Data components of Wisconsin’s Traffic Safety Infor-
mation System are collected by many organizations and
agencies for their individual business purposes. The
usefulness of these many types of data for highway
safety programming and analysis depends upon their
availability and quality. Decisions made about changes
to any one component of the system may have many
down-stream consequences.

Issues of cost of collection and storage should be
discussed and decided on a state-level basis.

Data should be entered and stored once but used
many times.

Data should be linked and shared between
systems.

Data should meet national standards (MMUCC,
NEMSIS, MIRE, etc.)

Data quality is defined by the user; business needs
of the collector and/or manager should not be
paramount in making quality determinations.

D. GOALS

Goal 1: Create a data warchouse to store crash and
other ancillary transportation safety data. The data
warehouse will have the ability to be queried and
generate reports. (In-progress)
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Goal 2: Create a comprehensive, formal quality control
program for crash data. (In-progress)

Goal 3: Make one hundred percent (100%) of crash
and citation data origination reported electronically, by
the end of calendar year 2015 (12/31/2015). (In-
progress)

Please note that the DMV, a division of the DOT
presently only accepts crash data electronically through

the use of the Traffic and Criminal Software System
(TraCS).

Goal 4: Make useful, quality information readily
available on time and in a useful, user-friendly format
to organizations that need it for program development,
management and/or evaluation, and to the general
public, as appropriate. As part of this goal, provide
readily accessible, up-to-date documentation of the
types, quality and access points for all these data. (Has
occurred only partially with regard to the TraCS system
of MV4000 crash reporting to the present crash
database system)

Goal 5: Support data improvements at all levels of
government that minimize duplication, improve
uniformity, advance electronic data collection and facil-
itate data access and use. (This level of coordination has
not occurred)

Goal 6: Coordinate traffic safety information with
related public health, safety and security information
to minimize duplication of effort and inefficient use of
resources, and to enable multi-factorial analyses. (In-
progress)

Goal 7: Ensure that any proposed improvement to a
component of this information system is discussed in a
forum that includes collectors, managers, and users of
all the system components, so that potential partner-
ships and problems can be identified and addressed.
(In-progress)

Goal 8: Ensure that any proposed improvement to a
part of this information system will take into account
state and national data standards and reporting require-
ments affecting all components of the system. (In-
progress)

Goal 9:Ensure TRCC involvement at all stages in
future Strategic Planning efforts, by establishing a
forum for discussion, by the TRCC of all issues and
initiatives to be addressed in the new Plan including
the findings of the Traffic Records Assessment. (In-
progress)

Goal 10: Restart the TRCC Policy Group as the
executive level TRCC. (Has not occurred)

Goal 11: Strengthen the effectiveness of the Technical
group by reshaping its focus and preparing agendas that
include more attention on the following:

* 'The monitoring of data quality and developing
quality control programs. (In-progress)

* The planning of needed trafhic records improve-
ments without regard to funding source. (Has
not occurred)

* The instilling of a sense of community by
building systems, which serve the interest of not
only individual members, but public and traffic
safety as a whole. (Has only partially occurred)

The following Goals all in red are new and were gleaned
from the 2014-2016 Strategic Highway Safety Plan.

Goal 12: Improve Design and Operation of Intersec-
tions.

Goal 13: Reduce Speed-Related Crashes/Curb Aggressive
Driving.

Goal 14: Reduce Head-On and Cross-Median Crashes
— Prevent/Mitigate Roadway Departure Crashes.
Goal 15: Provide Safe Pedestrian and Bicycle Travel.
Goal 16: Reduce Alcohol/Drug-Impaired Driving.

Goal 17: Reduce Driver Distraction/Improve Driver
Alertness.

Goal 18: Reduce the Number of Unbelted Fatalities
and Serious Injuries.

Goal 19: Improve Teen Driver Performance — Ensure
Drivers are Licensed/ Competent — Sustain Proficiency

in Older Drivers.

e Improve Teen Driver Performance.
* Ensure Drivers are Licensed/Competent.

e Sustain Proficiency in Older Drivers.

Goal 20: Improve Motorcycle Safety.

Goal 21: Improve Traflic Incident Management/Safe
Travel in Bad Weather.

E. Objectives: 2010-2014
Promote Automation of Data Collection and Trans-
mission:

1. Create a data warehouse to gather crash and ancillary
traffic safety data. A pilot project will be implemented
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within a given county and its respective law
enforcement agencies by 2013. If the pilot is affir-
mative in showing statewide feasibility, the data
warehouse will then be scaled up for statewide use.
Please note that the statewide scaling is beyond the
timeframe of this plan, thus will not be covered at this
time.

A.The pilot data warchouse must have the
capability to be queried and generate ad hoc
reports.

B.The pilot data warehouse must have the
following formal quality controls measures
incorporated into its processes:

* A complete set of operationally-relevant data
quality performance measures for the crash
system.

* A formal method of counting and tracking
and providing feedback to law

errors
enforcement agencies.

* A link between error tracking and training
content so that common errors can be
documented and addressed in the academies

and in periodic refresher training.

* Improved coordination with key users to ensure
that errors noted by users of the data are
corrected (where feasible) and addressed in
training, instruction manuals, and help files for
data collectors.

* DPeriodic audits of crash reports comparing the
narrative and diagram to the coded information
on the form.

* Oversight by the TRCC, to include devoting
time on the agenda to review of data quality
measurements.

1. Create and implement the 2010-2014 statewide
plans for implementation and maintenance of the
TraCS system, including training of field data collectors
and IT support staff. Continue automation of law
enforcement data collection and transmission through
support of the rollout and development of full
functionality of the Badger TraCS suite of software, to
result in capture of 100% of crashes, and 100% of
citations electronically by 12/31/2015.

Calendar Year 2009 - (Objectives I. and II. were accom-
plished)

I. 42% of all crashes and citations that meet the
“Reportable Crash” and Wisconsin Uniform
Trafhic Citation (UTC) definitions will be
reported by the end of Calendar year 2009.
(Completed)

I1. 40% of all law enforcement agencies that have
averaged reporting at least 20 crashes per year,
defined as a “Reportable Crash”, for the 10 year
period of 1998-2007 or over 200 UTCs in a
given year, will be reporting electronically by the
end of Calendar year 2009. (Completed)

Calendar Year 2010 - (Objectives III. and IV. were
accomplished)

III. 56% of all crashes and citations that meet the
“Reportable Crash” and Wisconsin Uniform
Traffic Citation (UTC) definitions will be
reported by the end of Calendar year 2010.
(Completed)

IV. 52% of all law enforcement agencies that have
averaged reporting at least 20 crashes per year,
defined as a “Reportable Crash”, for the 10 year
period of 1999-2008 or over 200 UTCs in a
given year, will be reporting electronically by the
end of Calendar year 2010. (Completed)

Calendar Year 2011 - (Objectives V. and VI. were
accomplished)

V. 70% of all crashes and citations that meet the
“Reportable Crash” and Wisconsin Uniform
Traffic Citation (UTC) definitions will be
reported by the end of Calendar year 2011.
(Completed)

VI. 64% of all law enforcement agencies that have
averaged reporting at least 20 crashes per year,
defined as a “Reportable Crash”, for the 10 year
period of 2000-2009 or over 200 UTCs in a
given year, will be reporting electronically by the
end of Calendar year 2011. (Completed)

Calendar Year 2012 - (Objectives VII., VIII, and IX.
were accomplished)

VII. 84% of all crashes and citations that meet the
“Reportable Crash” and Wisconsin Uniform
Trafhic Citation (UTC) definitions will be
reported by the end of Calendar year 2012.
(Completed)

VIII. 76% of all law enforcement agencies that
have averaged reporting at least 20 crashes per
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year, defined as a “Reportable Crash”, for the 10
year period of 2001-2010 or over 200 UTCs in
a given year, will be reporting electronically by
the end of Calendar year 2012. (Completed)

IX. 20% percent of all law enforcement agencies
that have averaged reporting less than 20 crashes
per year, defined as a “Reportable Crash”, for
the 10 year period of 2001-2010 or less than
200 UTGCs in a given year will be reporting

a given year, will be reporting electronically by
the end of Calendar year 2014.

XV. 70% percent of all law enforcement agencies

that have averaged reporting less than 20 crashes
per year, defined as a “Reportable Crash”, for
the 10 year period of 2003-2012 or less than
200 UTGCs in a given year as defined by the
Division of Motor Vehicles, will be reporting
electronically by the end of calendar year 2014.

electronically by the end of calendar year 2012.  C;lendar Year 2015

(Completed)

(This is the baseline for law enforcement agencies
processing an average of less than 20 crashes per year)

Calendar Year 2013 - (Objectives X., XI, and XII. were
accomplished)

X. 90% of all crashes and citations that meet the
“Reportable Crash” and Wisconsin Uniform
Traffic Citation (UTC) definitions will be
reported by the end of Calendar year 2013.
(Completed)

XI. 84% of all law enforcement agencies that have
averaged reporting at least 20 crashes per year,
defined as a “Reportable Crash”, for the 10 year
period of 2002-2011 or over 200 UTCs in a
given year, will be reporting electronically by the

end of Calendar year 2013. (Completed)

XII. 40% percent of all law enforcement agencies
that have averaged reporting less than 20 crashes
per year, defined as a “Reportable Crash”, for
the 10 year period of 2002-2011 or less than
200 UTGC:s in a given, will be reporting electron-
ically by the end of calendar year 2013.
(Completed)

Please note that starting calendar Year 2014, a web-
based crash reporting system will be available for those
agencies reporting less than an average of 20 crashes per
year.

Calendar Year 2014

XIII. 96% of all crashes and citations that meet
the “Reportable Crash” and Wisconsin Uniform
Traffic Citation (UTC) definitions will be
reported by the end of Calendar year 2014.

XIV. 94% of all law enforcement agencies that
have averaged reporting at least 20 crashes per

year, defined as a “Reportable Crash”, for the 10
year period of 2003-2012 or over 200 UTCs in
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XVI. 100% of all crashes and citations that meet

the “Reportable Crash” and Wisconsin Uniform
Traffic Citation (UTC) definitions will be
reported by the end of Calendar year 2015.

XVII. 100% of all law enforcement agencies that

have averaged reporting at least 20 crashes per
year, defined as a “Reportable Crash”, for the 10
year period of 2004-2013 or over 200 UTCs in
a given year, will be reporting electronically by
the end of Calendar year 2015.

XVIII. 100% percent of all law enforcement

agencies that have averaged reporting less than
20 crashes per year, defined as a “Reportable
Crash”, for the 10 year period of 2004-2013 or
less than 200 UTCs in a given year, will be
reporting electronically by the end of calendar
year 2015.

Improve Crash Data
1.

Undertake projects to collect MMUCC
elements and attributes in addition to those
currently collected (PCR has 81/77 elements
and 422/622 attributes: Data Dictionary has
101/111 elements and 465/787 attributes)
starting Calendar Year 2010 and completing by
the start of Calendar Year 2014.

. Add 46 missing data elements and/or defini-

tions required by NGA and MMUCC, and
change definitions to comply with national
standards; program commercial vehicle crash
database and data collection forms to receive
these changes in concert with the addition of
other MMUCC elements and attributes
starting Calendar Year 2010 and completing by
the start of Calendar Year 2014.
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Improve Roadway Information/
GIS Location System:

1. Locate 90% of crashes on a base map of all
roadways by the end of Calendar Year 2015,
based upon the implementation of TraCS 10
starting Calendar Year 2011.

Improve Injury Surveillance Infor-
mation:

(Objective 1. was accomplished)

1. Continue the automation of traffic safety data
collection and transmission by supporting roll-
out of the WARDS Ambulance Run data
system, to capture no less than 50% of
ambulance runs electronically by the end of
Calendar Year, 2010. (Completed)

2. Undertake projects to collect NEMSIS data
elements and attributes in addition to those
currently collected (WARDS collects 122
elements that are currently found in the
NHTSA Uniform Pre-hospital Dataset, and 75
(100%) of these are designated as national
elements), and to be able to export data to the
NHTSA EMS data repository, by the end of the
Calendar Year 2010.

(Objective 3. was accomplished)

3. Develop a data archive of injury information
from hospital inpatient and emergency
department data systems that can be used for
traflic safety analyses by 2009. Develop links
between records for the same. (Completed)

(Objective 4. was accomplished in 2014)

4. Provide on-line access to injury data by the end
of Calendar Year 2012. (Completed)

Improve Access and Use:

1. Establish a communication plan for data.
Identify format, detail and graphic user
interface needs of all types of data users.
Document the component files and analyses in
Wisconsin’s traffic safety information data
system, including descriptions of data quality

updates of the documentation by the end of
Calendar Year 2011.
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2. Establish and update baselines for key quality

measures for each component of the TSIS files
(roadway, crash, driver, vehicle, citation/adjudi-
cation, EMS, ED, hospital discharge), normal-
izing data (demographic, census, traffic, other),
and for the other strategic components of the
system (people, funding, materiel, etc.),
establish mechanism for annual reviews and
reports of quality improvement status by the
end of Calendar Year 2014.

3. Perform and update environmental scans to

identify government authorities or projects that
may drive data collection decisions/formats.
Identify SAFETEA-LU and other federal data
requirements and determine where improve-
ments can be made in Wisconsin’s data to allow
for conformance to federal planning and
programming requirements. Identify
overlapping federal data requirements. Include
these in the Documentation for Objective 1
above by the end of Calendar Year 2011.

4. Establish a repository of traffic crash data that

is accessible to the general highway safety
community, and develop a data archive of
injury information that can be used for traffic
safety analysis by the end of Calendar Year
2013.

5. Identify, evaluate and implement technology

that will assist with sharing and transferring data
between agencies, extracting and retrieving data,
analyzing data and disseminating data.
Encourage coordination, completion and use of
tools for on-line access to public health and
safety data, such as the Justice Gateway and
TransPortal, and develop a data archive of injury
information that can be used for traffic safety
analyses by the end of Calendar Year 2014.

6. Develop a training program to educate data

users at various levels in analysis, collaboration
and strategic decision-making techniques by the
end of Calendar Year 2014.

The following Objectives all in red are new and were

) gleaned from the 2014-2016 Strategic Highway Safety
and means of access, and provide for annual Plan



Improve Design and Operation of Intersections:

1. Reduce the 5-year average number of inter-
section crashes by 5% by 2016.

2. Reduce the 5-year average number of inter-
section injury crashes by 5% by 2016.

3. Reduce the number of fatal and incapacitating
injury intersection crashes by 5% by 2016.

Reduce Speed-Related Crashes/Curb Aggressive
Driving:
1. Reduce the 5-year average speed-related crashes
by 5% by 2016.

2. Reduce the 5-year average speed-related injury
crashes by 5% by 2016.

3. Reduce the number of fatal and incapacitating
injury speed-related crashes by 5% by 2016.

Reduce Head-On and Cross-Median Crashes -
Prevent/Mitigate Roadway Departure Crashes:

1. Reduce the 5-year average number of lane
departure crashes by 5% by 2016.

2. Reduce the 5-year average number of lane
departure injury crashes by 5% by 2016.

3. Reduce the number of fatal and incapacitating
injury lane departure crashes by 5% by 2016.

Provide Safe Pedestrian and Bicycle Travel:

1. Reduce the 5-year average number of pedes-
trian/bicycle crashes by 5% by 2016.

2. Reduce the 5-year average number of pedes-
trian/bicycle injury crashes by 5% by 2016.

3. Reduce the number of fatal and incapacitating
injury pedestrian/bicycle crashes by 5% by
2016.

Reduce Alcohol/Drug-Impaired Driving:

1. Reduce the 5-year average number of
drug/impaired driving crashes by 5% by 2016.

2. Reduce the 5-year average number of
drug/impaired injury crashes by 5% by 2016.

3. Reduce the number of fatal and incapacitating
injury drug/impaired crashes by 5% by 2016.

Reduce Driver Distraction/Improve Driver
Alertness:
1. Reduce the 5-year average number of distracted
driving crashes by 5% by 2016.
2. Reduce the 5-year average number of distracted
driving injury crashes by 5% by 2016.
3. Reduce the number of fatal and incapacitating

injury distracted driving crashes by 5% by
2016.

Reduce the Number of Unbelted Fatalities and
Serious Injuries:

1. Increase seat belt use by passenger vehicle front
seat occupants to 86% by 2016.

2. Reduce unrestrained passenger vehicle occupant
fatalities by 5% from the most recent five-year
average.

3. Reduce unrestrained passenger vehicle occupant
serious injuries by 5% from the most recent
five-year average.

Improve Teen Driver Performance — Ensure
Drivers are Licensed/Competent - Sustain Profi-
ciency in Older Drivers:

1. Improve Teen Driver Performance.
A. (No outcomes in SHSP)

2. Ensure Drivers are Licensed/Competent.
A. (No outcomes in SHSP)

3. Sustain Proficiency in Older Drivers.
A. (No outcomes in SHSP)

Improve Motorcycle Safety:

4. Reduce the 5-year average number of motor-
cycle crashes by 5% by 2016.

5. Reduce the 5-year average number of motor-
cycle injury crashes by 5% by 2016.

6. Reduce the number of fatal and incapacitating
injury motorcycle crashes by 5% by 2016.

7. Effectively increase the number of Class M
Endorsed motorcyclists that are currently riding
without appropriate licensure.
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Improve Traffic Incident Management/Safe
Travel in Bad Weather:

1. Increase the proportion of traffic crashes
reported electronically via TraCS to 99% by
2016.

2. Increase the proportion of traffic convictions
from citations issued via TraCS to 98% by
2016.

3. Reduce the number of fatalities and injuries in

crashes in snow/ice/slush/wet conditions by 5%
from the 2008-2012 average by 2016.

F. Baseline Data and Performance Measures for
Primary Safety Files

File data managers recommended the appropriate and
accurate measures for identified data deficiencies in
their files (e.g., no TRA recommendations for the
vehicle file therefore no measures at this time) or (e.g.,
inadequate access to crash data, therefore need baseline
and objectives), and the TRCC will determine whether
these should be priority objectives for the Strategic Plan
and whether the identified projects address them.

**The plan will only reflect Federal Fiscal Year (FFY)
2015 projects only.
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IV.2015-2019 Projects - 2015 PLAN

FFY 2010-2014 Projects - 2010 Original Plan

# Project Lead Priority 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
Automation of Data and Transmission
1.1. Automate LE Data Collection
TraCS Hardware SHSO/TAS 2 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Automate LE Data Collection/IS Data Services Professional-LTE $25,000
Subtotal Automation $ 25,000 $0 $0 $0 $0
Crash Data Improvements
2.1. Data Quality Audits
Crash Data Audit UW-TOPS 2 50 50 %0 %0 50
MV4000 Data Quality Assessment UW-TOPS 2 $0 30 50 50 30
CMV Data Audit UW-TOPS 2 50 50 50 50 $0
2.2. Law Enforcement Traffic Records
Data Warehouse UW-TOPS 1 $62,500 50 50 50 S0
2.3. Bicycle-Pedestrian Motor Vehicle crash data UW-Milwaukee 1 $ 30,000 $0 0 0 0
2.4, (rash Database Project SHSO/TAS 1§ 900,000 $0 0 0 0
2.5. Correlating MV4000 Crashes with Wisconsin Lane Closure System Records for Enhanced
Work Zone Safety Analysis: UW-TOPS 1§ 18500 $0 $0 $0 $0
Subtotal Crash $1,011,000 $0 $0 $0 $0
Driver, Citation and Conviction Data Improvements
3.3. TraCS Hardware UW-TOPS -- %0 50 50 50 50
Subtotal Driver, Citation 50 50 50 50 S0
Roadway and GIS Data Improvements
4.5. Spatial Crash Data Mining to Improve Site Selection
for Initiating Warnings and Citations UW-TOPS 1 $ 30,000 $0 $0 $0 $0
4.6. Supplanting Crash Data with Road Infrastructure Elements by
Using Existing GIS-based Road Inventory ~ UW-TOPS 1 $ 25,000 $0 $0 $0 $0
Subtotal Roadway, GIS $ 55,000 $0 $0 $0 $0
Injury Surveillance Improvements
5.4. Hospital Data Archive DHS/SHSO 1 $ 30,000 $0 $0 $0 $0
5.5. CODES Query/Data Portal UW CHSRA 1 $ 85,000 $0 $0 $0 $ 0
5.6. CODES Data Distribution UW CHSRA 1 $ 50,000 $0 §0 §0 $0
5.7. CODES Interstate Coordination UW CHSRA 1 $ 26,000 $0 $0 $0 $0
5.8. Investigation of the benefits of CODES, CIREN, and MV4000
crash data TOPS/DOT 2 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
5.9. Incorporating Minnesota Hospital Records
into CODES DHS/SHSO 2 $0 $0 §0 $0 $0

This is fromdast year.
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FFY 2010-2014 Projects — 2010 Original Plan

# Project Lead Priority 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
5.10. Incorporating lowa Hospital Records

into CODES DHS/SHSO 2 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
5.11. Crash Outcome Data and Evaluation System

(CODES) Record Linkage DHS/SHSO 1 $ 50,000 $0 $0 $0 $0
5.12.WI EMS Record Linkage and Report Training DHS/SHSO 1 $ 65,000 $0 $0 $0 $0

Subtotal Injury Surveillance $ 306,000 $0 $0 $0 $0

Improved Access and Use

6.2. WisTransPortal Crash Data Retrieval Training

and Enhancements UW-TOPS 2 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
6.8. Safety Data Resource Portal UW-TOPS 2 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
6.9. Community Maps Maintenance and

Enhancements UW-TOPS 1 $ 40,000 $0 $0 $0 $0

Subtotal Access and Use $ 40,000 $0 $ 0 $0 $0

Totals | $1,437,000 S 0 $0 S0 %0
] 2015 PROJECTS and FUNDING

# Project 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 15-19Total
Automation of Data and Transmission
1.1. Automate LE Data Collection/IS Data Services

Professional-LTE $25,000 $- $- S- $- $25,000
1.2. Scope Changes to TraCS $ §- §- §- §- $-
1.3. Add Functionality to TraCS $- $- $- $- $- $ -
1.4. Crash Rate Automation $- $- §- §- §- $-
1.5. MACH AVL System $- §- §- §- $- S -

Subtotal Automation $25,000 $- $- $- $- $25,000

Crash Data Improvements

2.1. Crash Data Audit 5- S- $- S- 5 S -
2.2. Law Enforcement Traffic Records Data Warehouse $62,500 $- $- $- $- $62,500
2.3. Bicycle-Pedestrian Motor Vehicle crash data $30,000 $- $- S- $- $30,000
2.4. (rash data project $900,000 - - $- 5- $900,000
2.5. Correlating MV4000 Crashes with Wisconsin Lane Closure

System Records for Enhanced Work Zone Safety Analysis: $18,500 $- $- $- $- $18,500

Subtotal Crash $1,011,000 $- $- $- $-  $1,011,000

Driver, Citation and Conviction Data Improvements

3.1. TraCS/Citation Tracking System $- $- $- $- $- $-
3.3. TraCS Hardware $- §- $- $- $- $-
3.5. Develop Annual Driver History Reports $- §- $- $- $- $-

Subtotal Citation/Conviction/Driver $- $- $- $- $- $

will.ghere be an updated vers

'This is from |



2015 PROJECTS and FUNDING

# Project 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 15-19Total
Roadway, Traffic and Location Data Improvements

4.1. Automated Historical Crash Mapping $- $- $- $- $- $-

4.2. Road/Centerline Address $- §- $- $- $- $-

4.3. Google Crash Mapping §- §- §- §- $- $-

4.4. Safety Data Summit $- $- $- $- $- §-

4.5. Spatial Crash Data Mining to Improve Site Selection
for Initiating Warnings and Citations $30,000 §- $- $- $- $30,000

4.6. Supplanting Crash Data with Road Infrastructure

Elements by Using Existing GIS-based Road Inventory ~ $25,000 $- $- - $- $25,000
Subtotal Roadway/Traffic/GIS $55,000 $- $- $- $- $55,000
Injury Surveillance Improvements
5.1. Needs Assessment/System Integration $- $- $- $- §- §-
5.2. EMS Data Entry Training $- $- $- $- $- $-
5.3. EMS High-speed Internet/Equipment $- §- §- $- $- §-
5.4. Hospital Data Archive $30,000 $- $- $- $- $30,000
5.5. CODES Query/Data Portal $85,000 $- $- $- §- $85,000
5.6. CODES Data Distribution $50,000 $- $- $- §- $50,000
5.7. CODES Interstate Coordination $26,000 $- $- $- §- $26,000
5.8. (CODES, CIREN, & MV4000 Integration $- $- $- $- §- $-
5.9. Incorporating Minnesota Hospital Records into CODES $- $- $- $- $- $-
5.10. Incorporating lowa Hospital Records into CODES $- $- $- $- $- $-
5.11. Crash Outcome Data and Evaluation System (CODES)
Record Linkage $50,000 $- $- §- $- $50,000
5.12. WI EMS Record Linkage and Report Training $65,000 $- - $- $- $65,000
Subtotal ISS $306,000 $- $- $- $- $306,000
Access and Use Improvements
6.1. Data Resource Guide $- 5 5 $- 5 5
6.2. TransPortal Enhancements $- $- $- $- §- §-
6.3. Web Map Service $- $- $- $- §- §-
6.6. MREP Record Linkage $- §- $- $- $- $-
6.7. High Hazard Location ID - multiple data sources $- §- $- $- $- $-
6.8. Safety Data Resource Portal §- $- $- $- $- $-
6.9. Community Maps Maintenance and Enhancements $40,000 5- 5- 5- 5- $40,000
6.10. WARDS - Data Quality Audit and WiRover Pilot $- $- $- $- $- $-
6.11. WARDS - Trauma Registry DB Integration $- $- $- $- $- §-
Subtotal Access/Use $40,000 $- $- $- $- $40,000
$1,437,000 $ $ $- $ $1,437,000

ion of this informationgs,
ast year.
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APPENDIX THREE

State of Wisconsin Traffic Records Information System

WISCONSIN TSIS COMPONENT FILES/FUNCTIONS

CRASH

File/ File/ Description Planned Updates? Responsible organization
Database/ Database Type
Function Name
State Accident  Crash- Db2 relational database/ TraCS data entry. Complete TraCS strategic WisDOT-DMV
File - bl reported by Car/Deer Report Table plan. Bureau of Driver Services
reportable uniformed Citation and Withdrawals Section
crashes . SAS Extracts consisting of Accident, Vehicle, ~ 5C0Pe change to database, )
officer using ; ! ! ; Program Services and
(MV4000) Occupant, and Object datasets collection forms, to add or °
;/ts/t:osotgr;dard . OO — " redefine MMUCC elements c(rash Re;ortlis UnSIth
orm eference Point location entered for crashes : ontact: Darlene Schwartz
Driver Report on roadways of state jurisdiction and attributes. Enhance Phone: 608-266-8677
of Accident : imaging project. e '
File (MV4002) Db2 tables, no reports Darlene.Schwartz@dot.wi.gov
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 305
Madison, WI 53707-7911
Large Crash — self- Db2 tables Scope addition of NGA and WisDOT-WI State Patrol
Truck/BusFile  yenorted, MMUCC elements, Bureau of Transportation Safety
using state integration of crash and Motor Carrier Enforcement Section
standard commercial vehicle crash

MV4002 form

files, separate form for NGA
element collection.

Contact: Richard Acklin
Phone : 608-267-3150

Crash — large Richard.Acklin@dot.wi.gov
truck/ bus 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, room 551
supplement Madison, W1 53707-7912
TransPortal  Crash, Statewide transportation operations and New crash database devel- ~ UWTOPS Lab
SafetyData  Roadway safety data hub and management system  opment begins January Contact: Steven Parker
Warehouse, that supports integration, management, 2015. A completeredoof ~ Phone: 608-262-0052
Community analysis, and dissemination of real-time the present Crash Database  SParker@engr.wisc.edu
M:Eﬁgaet‘g and historical ITS / traffic operations data ~ System 1415 Engineering Drive
Warehouse through a centralized database and 1212 Engineering Hall

communications infrastructure. Supports
data archiving, real-time traffic information
services, transportation operations applica-
tions, and transportation research.

Updates for standardization
of Community Maps

Madison, Wl 53706

will there be an upda
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ROADWAY

File/ File/ Description Planned Updates? Responsible organization
Database/ Database Type

Function Name

State Trunk Roadway GIS database of centerline files, shape files WisDOT is considering WisDOT DTIM

Network (STN) and tables, for roadways of state juris- integrating the line work for ~ Bureau of State Highway Programs
diction. Contains route and reference point  STN and the line work for Data Management Section

. information along with intersection and WISLR into one LCM

11,000 miles lookup tables. 1/100 mile precision, linear network. This would Contact: Kelly Schieldt

of roa'ds.of reference system. benefit WisDOT in reporting ~ Phone: 608-267-9748

st.at!ajurls- HPMS and possibly incorpo-  Kelly.Schieldt@dot.wi.gov

diction rating addressing infor- 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, room 901

mation into our GIS data. Madison, W1 53707-7913

Wisconsin Roadway Internet-accessible system that helps local See STN Planned Updates WisDOT DTIM

Information governments and WisDOT manage local Bureau of State Highway Programs

System for road data to improve decision-making, and Data Management Section

Local Roads to meet state statute requirements. With

(WISLR GIS technology, WISLR combines local road Contact: Susie Forde

100,000 miles data such as width, surface type, surface Phqne: 608-266-71.40

of roads and year, shoulder, curb, road category, Susie.Forde@dot.wi.gov

streets of local functional classification, and pavement 4802 Sheboygan Ave, Room 901

jurisdiction condition ratings with interactive mapping Madison, W1 53707-7913
functionality. The system allows users to
display their data in a tabular format, on a
map, or both.

Roadway Roadway See above for STN and WISLR See above for STN and WisDOT DTIM

Inventory WISLR Bureau of State Highway Programs

Contact: See above for STN and WISLR

red version of this infor-

tion?

ym last year.
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File/ File/ Description Planned Updates? Responsible organization
Database/ Database Type
Function Name
State Driver Driver DB2 relational database. A single driver Link to student records from  WisDOT DMV
License File record that pulls data nightly from linked WI Motorcycle Rider Bureau of Driver Services
WisDOT tables of citations, alcohol tests, Education Program Citations and Withdrawals Section
arrests, crashes, BAC suspensions,
electronic or 3d party vendor recording of Contact: Reginald Paradowski
court dispositions, alcohol/drug assess- Phone: 608-264-7002
ments and compliance with alcohol/drug Reginald.Paradowski@dot.wi.gov
plans, license withdrawals, occupational 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 301
licenses and reinstatement of operating Madison, W 53707-7911
privileges. Abstracts are available from
DMV.
CDLIS Driver - WI connects to the CDLIS and the National WisDOT-WI State Patrol
e Commercial Driver Register (NDR) to exchange infor- Bureau of Transportation Safety
i mation about CMV drivers, traffic convic- Motor Carrier Enforcement Section
Weeie tions, and disqualifications. Both the CDLIS Contact: Richard Acklin
il and NDR are required for driver's record Phone : 608-267-3150
System checks. Richard.acklin@dot.state.wi.us
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, room 551
Madison, W1 53707-7912
SAFETYNET Driver/ Carrier/  Database for interstate carriers domiciled in WisDOT-WI State Patrol
Vehicle/ Crash ~ WI. Contains information on vehicle Bureau of Transportation Safety
Commercial inspections, audits, crashes, carriers and Motor Carrier Enforcement Section
drivers. USDOT# is the linkage variable. Contact: Richard Acklin
Phone : 608-267-3150
Richard.acklin@dot.state.wi.us
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, room 551
Madison, W1 53707-7912
Motor Carrier ~ Carrier National repository MCMIS is a national WisDOT-WI State Patrol
Management  information/ repository of information about the safety Bureau of Transportation Safety
Information Commercial fitness of commercial motor carriers and Motor Carrier Enforcement Section
System hazardous material (HM) shippers subject Contact: Richard Acklin
MCMIS to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regula- Phone : 608-267-3150

tions and the Hazardous Materials Regula-
tions. This information is available to the
general public through the MCMIS Data
Dissemination Program.

This is from last year.
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ENFORCEMENT/ADJUDICATION (Part 1)

File/ File/ Description Planned Updates? Responsible organization
Database/ Database Type
Function Name
State Citation Al traffic Db2 relational database WisDOT DMV
File citations, Bureau of Driver Services
using state Citations and Withdrawals Section
UTC Contact: Tommy Winkler
Phone: 608-266-9901
Tommy.WinklerJr@dot.wi.gov
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 305
Madison, WI 53707-7911
State Conviction DB2 relational database of convictions WisDOT DMV
Conviction File entered on WI driver records. Summary Bureau of Driver Services
reports available on the WisDOT Internet Citations and Withdrawals Section
site updated ca monthly. Driver record Contact: Tommy Winkler
abstracts are publicly available computer- Phone: 608-266-9901
generated copies of DMV's driver records for Tommy.WinklerJr@dot.wi.gov
the preceding five years; and contain dates 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 305
and types of traffic convictions, accidents, Madison, Wl 53707-7911
restrictions, and withdrawals. WisDOT DMV
Alcohol Drug ~ Post- County agencies provide AODA assessments Contact varies by County Agency
Assessments  conviction and treatment plans for drivers convicted of
OWI/PAC, and reports to DMV on progress
toward completing the plan or education
through Wi Tech. College System.
Alcohol & Citation Blood and urine testing for coroners and Wisconsin State Lab of Hygiene
Drug Testing medical examiners, and for law Department : Toxicology
enforcement for alcohol and drug content Unit: Alcohol/Drug Analysis
for traffic safety and other motor vehicle Contact: Amy Miles
matters. Phone: 608-224-6247
Amy.Miles@slh.wisc.edu
PO Box 7996
Madison, WI 53707-7996
Alcohol Citation Evidential breath testing program in every WisDOT WI State Patrol
Breath Tests county (230 sites). Results are captured via Bureau of Transportation Safety
Intoxinet and uploaded daily to WSP and Chemical Test Section
DMV. Contact: Susan Hackworthy
Phone: 608-243-2949
Susan.Hackworthy@dot.wi.gov
3502 Kinsman Blvd Rm 99A
Madison W1 53704
Intoxinet Transmission Electronic transmission network from WisDOT WI State Patrol

breath test instruments located around the
state to the WisDOT repository

This is ff8fn last year.

Bureau of Transportation Safety
Chemical Test Section

Contact: Susan Hackworthy
Phone: 608-243-2949
Susan.Hackworthy@dot.wi.gov
3502 Kinsman Blvd Rm 99A
Madison W1 53704
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File/
Database/

Function Name

File/

Database Type

Description

This is from last year.
ENFORCEMENT/ADJUDICATION (Part 2)

Planned Updates?

Responsible organization

TIME System ~ Transmission Law enforcement message switch and WI Dept. of Justice
network that provides criminal justice Law Enforcement Services
employees with on-line, real-time infor- Crime Information Bureau
mation on wants and warrants, driver Contact: Courtney Doberstein
license and vehicle registration, criminal Phone: 608-266-0872
history, etc. Connects 7,600 WI computers dobersteincl@doj.state.wi.us
to NCIC, NLETS, WisDOT, DNR and DOC. 17 W. Main St.
Madison, WI 53703
WI Law Transmission Extranet for law enforcement WI Dept of Justice
Enforcement Law Enforcement Services
Network Crime Information Bureau
(WILENET Contact: Derek Veitenheimer

Phone: 608-266-7185
veitenheimerdj@doj.state.wi.us
17 W. Main St.

Madison, WI 53703

Collaboration

Transmission

WI part of a national project to develop and

WI Dept of Justice

between deploy standards and solutions to Law Enforcement Services
AAMVA and exchange standardized driver and motor Crime Information Bureau
NLETS for DL vehicle records over the NLETS network Contact: Derek Veitenheimer
Exchange increasing the efficiency and effectiveness Phone: 608-266-7185
(CANDLE) of law enforcement driver-related inquiries. veitenheimerdj@doj.state.wi.us
Transformation of driver and vehicle data 17 W. Main St.
into GJXDM. Madison, WI 53703
Criminal Conviction Contains arrest and conviction info on more W1 Dept of Justice
History than 1,000,000 individuals, dating back to Law Enforcement Services
Repository 1971. Every record is supported by positive Crime Information Bureau
fingerprint identification. Used in criminal Contact: Derek Veitenheimer
record checks Phone: 608-266-7185
veitenheimerdj@doj.state.wi.us
17 W. Main St.
Madison, WI 53703
Wisconsin Transmission Pilot project creating secure web portal for Department of Administration
Justice justice agencies and local enforcement Office of Justice Assistance
Information records management systems for sharing Wisconsin’s Justice Information
Sharing criminal/traffic information, and posting Sharing Program
(WIIS) Justice electronic citation data uploaded from
Gateway and TraCS. Contact: Derek Veitenheimer
Enterprise Phone: 608-266-7185
Service Bus veitenheimerdj@doj.state.wi.us
(ESB) 17 W. Main St.
Madison, WI 53703
Wisconsin Transmission The state’s primary intelligence analysis Proposed coordination of WI Dept of Justice
State and dissemination facility, located in the intelligence and infor- Law Enforcement Services
Intelligence DOJ Division of Criminal Investigation, mation sharing between Crime Information Bureau
Center designed to serve all law enforcement and Health Alert Network, State ~ Contact: Derek Veitenheimer
WISC criminal justice entities in the state and Emergency Management Phone: 608-266-7185
potentially non-law enforcement users as GIS System, the Justice veitenheimerdj@doj.state.wi.us
well. Gateway and the WISC. 17 W. Main St.
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This is from last year.

ENFORCEMENT/ADJUDICATION (Part3)
File/ File/ Planned Updates?
Database/ Database Type
Function Name

Description Responsible organization

WIBRS Incident WI version of National Incident-based Scope project, develop short "\ Office of Justice Assistance
Reporting System and long WIBRS compliant tistical Analysis Center (SAC) @
forms for inclusion in £
Badger TraCS suite. g
o
Q
E
g
WI Enterprise  Location Office of the state GIO is developing a GIS Development began Department of Administratio ES
GIS (WEGIS) Communications Program, Strategic Plan, ~ January 2006 — look for Division of Enterprise Technolog 2
Data Repository, WEGIS Web Mapping opportunities to integrate Geographic Information Office 2
Infrastructure and Services, and Addressing  TSIS locations. Contact: Derek Veitenheimer ©
Tool. Team members from DOT, DNR, DATCP, Phone: 608-266-7185 S
DHFS, DMA, 5C0 and DOA veitenheimerdj@doj.state.wi.us =
17 W. Main St. -
Madison, Wl 53703 kT
]
wv
Justice Transmission  Routes data in established formats Department of Administration &
Workflow between data systems. TraCS data Office of Justice Assistance %
Engine uploaded and routed by enforcement Wisconsin’s Justice Information =
(formerly agency through the ESB to DA-IT, CCAP, Sharing Program S
known as the COWS and DMV. (WHIS) <
Enterprise Contact: Jeff Sartin T
Service Bus) Phone: 608-261-6603 )
Jeff.Sartin@Wisconsin.gov o
1S. Pinckney St., Suite 615 E
Madison, WI 53703-2892 &
)]
o
Circuit Court ~ Conviction/ Online state courts case management Director of State Courts Office -
Automation  disposition system. 60% of traffic citations and all 2nd Contact: A. John Voelker, Director P
Project (CCAP) and subsequent citations are heard in WI's Phone: 608-266-6828 o
72 county circuit courts. Clerks and judges <No email address available> o
in 71 of 72 counties have Internet access in 16E Capitol Building =
the courtroom and offices; open public PO. BOX 1688 -
Internet access through WI Circuit Court Madison, W1 53701-1688 <
Access. a
-
Court Ordered  Conviction/ 249 municipal courts may hear first offense WisDOT DMY ' o
Withdrawal disposition OWI and other traffic violations. Larger B}lref:lu of Drlver Services ’ <
System courts have private vendor interfaces to Citations and Withdrawals Section >
(COWS) DMV and smaller courts may use the Contact: Tommy Winkler s
WisDOT DMV COWS Web Application Phone: 608-266-9901 T
Tommy.WinklerJr@dot.wi.gov =
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Room 305 z
Madison, Wl 53707-7911 S
o~
P . >—
WIDA Prosecution Online statewide prosecution case g:ﬁcteo;fl\t?:: 'Sn;z:i::n o
Information management system provides district Division of Enter riseyTechnoIo z
Technology attorneys with e-tools and services to track Bureau of DAL P 9 2
and L) el G LD 772 @i, (District Attorney Information Technology) 8
PROsecutor PROTECT is a comprehensive case tracking Contact: Brer:, da Ray % a
g:?:;'%y tool interfaced with TraCS and CCAP Tome (RO E
Tracking Brenda.Ray@Wisconsin.gov o
(PROTECT) 101 E. Wilson St, 8th Floor u,_J
Madison, W1 53703 E
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VEHICLE

File/ File/ Description Planned Updates? Responsible organization
Database/ Database Type
Function Name

State Vehicle  Vehicle Db2 Files redesigned in 2004 as part of WisDOT DMV

Database — DMV Business Redesign. Bureau of Vehicle Services
Registration Vehicle Records & Info Section
and Titling Contact: Melissa Burkhart
System (RATS) Phone: 608-261-2572

Melissa.Burkhart@dot.wi.gov
4802 Sheboygan Ave., Room 851
Madison, WI 53705

International  Vehicle - Contains information of CMV licensing of WisDOT DMV
Registration ~ Commercial Interstate carriers. Bureau of Vehicle Services
Program (IRP) A component of CVISN (FMCSA program Vehicle Records & Info Section

Contact: Melissa Burkhart
Phone: 608-261-2572
Melissa.Burkhart@dot.wi.gov
4802 Sheboygan Ave., Room 851
Madison, WI 53705

that connects driver and vehicle databases
to safety information)

International  Vehicle - Contains information of CMV fuel tax for WisDOT DMV

Fuel Tax Commercial Interstate carriers. Bureau of Vehicle Services
Association A component of CVISN (FMCSA program Vehicle Records & Info Section
(IFTA) that connects driver and vehicle databases Contact: Melissa Burkhart

Phone: 608-261-2572
Melissa.Burkhart@dot.wi.gov
4802 Sheboygan Ave., Room 851
Madison, WI 53705

to safety information)

will there be an updated v
information?

'This is from last
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INJURY SURVEILLANCE

File/ File/ Description Planned Updates? Responsible organization
Database/ Database Type
Function Name
WI Mortality  Injury — Vital Name, address, DOB, DOD, date of injury, On-line reporting of death  Dept of Health Services
Data Records, Death  location, ICD-10 diagnosis and treatment certificate informationto  Division of Public Health
Certificate codes. State Vital Records Bureau of Health Information and Policy
Data Contact: Richard Miller
Phone: 608-267-3858
Richard.Miller@dhs.wisconsin.gov
1W. Wilson St, Room 131
Madison, WI 53703
WI Hospital Injury —WI Name, address, DOB, DOD, dates of hospi- Wisconsin Hospital Association and
Inpatient hospital talization, hospital location, ICD-9-CM Dept of Health Services
Discharge discharges diagnosis and treatment codes, and Division of Public Health
Data reported to discharge status. Bureau of Health Information and Policy
WHA Contact: Richard Miller
Phone: 608-267-3858
Richard.Miller@dhs.wisconsin.gov
1W. Wilson St, Room 131
Madison, WI 53703
WIEmergency Injury—WIED  Name, address, DOB, DOD, date of injury, Improving timeliness, Wisconsin Hospital Association and
Department  visits reported  location, ICD-9-CM diagnosis and completeness, records Dept of Health Services
Data to WHA treatment codes. integration and accessi- ~ Division of Public Health
bility Bureau of Health Information and Policy
Contact: Richard Miller
Phone: 608-267-3858
Richard.Miller@dhs.wisconsin.gov
1W. Wilson St, Room 131
Madison, WI 53703
StateTrauma  Injury —ARR Proprietary Digital Innovations web-based Stable source of funding  Dept of Health Services
CareSystem  through Rehab entry system for all Level Ill and IV trauma ~ for system supportand ~ Division of Public Health
Registry for subset of care facilities and upload capabilities forall ~  analysis Bureau of Communicable Diseases and
cases Level 1and Il ACS-verified Trauma Centers. Emergency Response (BCDER)

ersion of

bmittesl quarterly and aggregate
afilagi@to Regional Trauma

W Mata will be submitted
to National Trauma Data Bank. System live July
2006. New Data Information Sharing Group

Contact: Jennifer Ullsvik (Interim)
Phone: 608-267-7178
jennifer.ullsvik@dhs.wisconsin.gov
1W. Wilson St, Suite 1150
Madison, WI 53701-2659

Wisconsin
Ambulance
Run Data

y CA L,

Injury - ARR

Proprietary Image Trend web-based entry
system for all EMS providers and partici-
pating hospitals. Aggregate data will be
available for the Regional Trauma Advisory
Councils. WI data will be submitted to
National Trauma Data Bank. System live in
April 2006. New Data Information Sharing
Group.

Increase training of
providers and access to
high-speed internet.
Develop standard
reports. Make data
available for linkage
and analysis. Inves-
tigate entry using tablet
PCs.

Dept of Health Services

Division of Public Health

Bureau of Emergency Medical Services
Contact: Charles Happel

Phone: 608-266-0471
Charles.Happel@ dhs.wisconsin.gov
1W. Wilson St, Room 133

Madison, WI 53703

WI CODES
Project

Injury, Crash,
Roadway

Linked crash to hospital discharge data
1994-2002; linked ED 2002; state and
county-level annual summary and ad hoc
reports in flat files available on UW CHSRA
CODES site.

147

Improve timeliness,
completeness, record
integration and access
to data

UW Center for Health Systems
Research & Analysis

Contact: Wayne Bigelow

Phone 608-263-4846
wayne_bigelow@chsra.wisc.edu
WARF Bldg

610 Walnut Street, Room 1150
Madison, WI 53705
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APPENDIX TR-5: STATE TRAFFIC SAFETY
INFORMATION SYSTEM IMPROVEMENTS
GRANT INTERIM PROGRESS REPORT

State: Wisconsin | Report Date: 05/26/2016 | Submitted by:

Chokkalingam Muthumari
System to be Impacted

X CRASH _DRIVER VEHICLE
_CITATION/ADJUDICATION
_OTHER specify:

_ROADWAY
_EMS/INJURY

Performance Area(s) to be Impacted

_ACCURACY _TIMELINESS
_COMPLETENESS _ACCESSIBILITY
_UNIFORMITY _INTEGRATION X OTHER

Specify: Maintain high quality data that conforms to
Model Minimum Uniform Crash Criteria (MMUCCQC)
Guidelines.

Performance Measure used to track
improvement(s)

Narrative Description of the Measure

This new MV4000 crash database project will improve
access to Wisconsin crash data for research and
planning purposes and to maintain high quality data
that conforms to Model Minimum Uniform Crash
Criteria (MMUCC) guidelines. This new development
will help streamline the resolve process; help comply
with emerging federal reporting requirements, crash
mapping, and network-wide safety analysis capabilities.

Relevant Project(s) in the State's Strategic Plan

Title, number and strategic Plan page reference for each
Traffic Records System improvement project to which
this performance measure relates

We initiated the New MV4000 - Crash Database and
Resolve System Implementation project on Jan 1, 2015.
This project replaces the existing WisDOT Mainframe
Accident System. It will facilitate implementation of a
revised MV4000 police crash report and completed
Crash Database development by January 1, 2017, and
take full advantage of the Badger TraCS10 Incident
Locator Tool (ILT). This project estimated cost is
$2,317,904, funded by DMV, DTIM, DTSD and
DSP. BITS and TOPS Lab teams are working on this

project and BOTS is coordinating the project. DSP
funded ($655,968) this project through 405¢ fund.

Improvement(s) Achieved or Anticipated
Narrative of the Improvement(s)

Improvements can be measured by how many
attributes from “New MV4000 - Crash Database and
Resolve System” are matching with MMUCC guide-
lines. As of now, the New MV4000 - Crash Database
and Resolve System Implementation project is on time
and on budget. There are no major issues and ‘Go Live’
date is Jan 1, 2017.

Specification of how the Measure is calculated |
estimated

Narrative Description of Calculation I Estimation

Method

By comparing the previous year MMUCC Compliance
% with current year MMUCC Compliance % provides
the best measure of the anticipated improvements.

Date and Baseline Value for the Measure

As of Dec 2006 (MMUCC 2nd edition), the overall
WI attribute score rose to 53.1% (334 out 629
matching attributes) and the previous version was
47.8% (301 of 629 matching attributes). As of Jan 1,
2015, the MMUCC Compliance % was same as Dec
2006.

Date and Current Value for the Measure

Based on a preliminary assessment of our Data
Dictionary that University of Alabama is conducting
based on the GHSA MMUCKC (4th addition) Mapping
Spreadsheet, the MMUCC Compliance % for “New
MV4000 - Crash Database and Resolve System” is
91.7%.

Regional Reviewer's Conclusion
Check one

_Quantitative performance improvement has
been documented
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_ Quantitative performance improvement has not
been documented

_ Not Sure.

If "has not" or "not sure": What remedial guidance
have you given the State?

Comments

DTSD - Division of Transportation System Devel-
DTIM -
Investment Management. DMV - Division of Motor
Vehicle. DSP - Division of State Patrol. The current
crash form MV4000 will be renamed as DT4000 from
Jan 1, 2017 onwards.

opment. Division of Transportation

Regional Reviewer:
Report Date: 05/26/2016
Submitted by: Chokkalingam Muthumari

405c Interim Report Narrative

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation
(WisDOT), in

enforcement representatives and other stakeholders, has

collaboration with local law
embarked on an agency wide

initiative to improve crash data

Pedestrian Location (Existing MV4000)

changes will accompany the rollout of the new crash
report form including a requirement for all law
enforcement agencies to submit crash reports electron-
ically through the Wisconsin Badger TraCS system and
an internal WisDOT reorganization that will transfer
stewardship of the crash data from the Division of
Motor Vehicles to the Division of State Patrol. This
article provides a summary of important information
about the crash report redesign and what it means for
analysts and other end users of Wisconsin crash data.

Whatis it?

A new crash report form (DT4000) and a new crash
database will be developed to more fully capture the
conditions at the crash scene. The new form and
database will be developed using national standards
from US DOT (http://www.mmucc.us) to improve
safety from a national perspective. Additionally, the
new form will allow for more direct safety comparisons
from state to state. The Badger TraCS online help
manual and training will be updated to ease the
transition by law enforcement to the new crash report
form. The new form will include several new fields,
including 77 at the crash level, 36 at the vehicle level,
and 35 at the person level. At the same time 14 existing
fields will be deleted from the crash level, and four will
be deleted from the vehicle level. Additionally, at the
crash level 11 fields will have additions to the existing
fields, 15 existing fields will have additions at the
vehicle level, and 18 fields will have additions at the
person level. An example of an existing field with
additional choices being added is the location of a
pedestrian at a crash. On the existing form there are 5
choices for an officer at the scene of a crash to select.
The new DT4000 will include 15 choices. A

comparison is shown below.

Non-Maotorist Location at Time of Crash (New

MV4000)
collection and safety analysis | Blank » Blank
bl . b d . h Intersection — Marked Crosswalk
capabilities y updating the In Crosswalk Intersection — Unmarked Crosswalk
existing Wisconsin MV4000 crash Midblock — Marked Crosswalk
X Median/Crossing Island
report form. The redesigned form s Roadway Travel Lane — Other Location

will be rolled out on January 1,
2017 and will serve as the basis for

> Bicycle Lane
Shoulder/Roadside
Intersection — Other

a new crash database management Not In Roadway

<: Driveway Access
Non-Trafficway Area

system that will be deployed at the | oy, sidewalk

_<: Shared-Use Path or Trail
Sidewalk

same time. Several important

Other
Unknown
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Why is it important?
The updates to the MV4000 and crash database will be

used to improve safety on Wisconsin roadways.

Currently, $12 million is granted to law enforcement
to improve safety on the roads. Crash history is also a
critical input for state and local safety engineering
project planning and is an increasingly important
requirement for FAST (Fixing Americas Surface Trans-
portation) performance measures. With more complete
information about traffic crashes and a more complete
crash database, unsafe roadways can be more easily and
accurately identified, and the problems can be rectified
with the ultimate goal of achieving zero deaths on
Wisconsin roadways: Zero In Wisconsin.

Examples:

EMS Run Number: The EMS run number is an
important addition to the newly revised DT4000
because it allows for easier linkage between the crash
information completed by the law enforcement ofhicers
on the DT4000, and hospital data from medical practi-
tioners. The hospital data contains the health outcome
of the patient and can provide more accurate and
complete understanding of injury severity and the costs
of traffic crashes.

What are the problems and how to
address?

The current MV4000 crash report form does not
contain specific fields for some common crash charac-
teristics that would be beneficial to improving the safety
of roadways in Wisconsin. Some of these characteristics
not specifically on the current MV4000 include
guardrail crashes, roundabout crashes, and cell phone
use during a crash. Currently to determine whether one
of these attributes is involved in a crash, report forms
need to be evaluated carefully and thoroughly, specifi-
cally the narrative written by the officer at the scene of
the crash.

The newly designed DT4000 and crash database will
contain additional fields and choices for an officer to
select from. These new fields will make a more complete
picture of the crash scene, both from the roadway
characteristics (if a guardrail was involved, if the crash

was at a roundabout) and from a human factors
perspective (what the crash victims were doing at the
time of the crash/ what caused the crash).

The addition of guardrails and more intersection
control choices (roundabouts, signals, stop signs) allows
for safety analyses to be completed more easily, and
ensures that all crashes, or crash types, at a particular
location are accounted for.

Additionally, several fields were slightly changed to add
more information allowing for a more complete picture
of what happened before the crash (such as where the
driver was located on the roadway and whether they
were distracted, intoxicated, etc.), during the crash
(such as the manner of collision, and the belt usage or
safety equipment used by the crash victim, if any) , and
a more complete picture of what happened to the crash
victim(s) after a crash occurred (such as their injury
severity, the EMS run number, and health outcomes
assessed by medical practitioners).

What are the potential impacts to
existing analysis processes?

The new crash report form and database will provide
more complete and descriptive information about the
crash scene, but will also introduce several challenges
for existing processes. Applications that incorporate
crash data from the Wisconsin Department of Trans-
portation and/or the Traffic Operations and Safety
(TOPS) Laboratory will need to be modified to accom-
modate the new set of elements. In addition, multiyear
analyses that span the new and old forms will need to
account for changes to crash report form field defini-
tions and field choices. WisDOT will provide guidance
on how to best align new and old data elements with
the rollout of the new crash report form.

What it’s not? The new crash report form and database
were created for a more complete understanding of
every crash to benefit the safety of the roadway. The
new form is not created for insurance purposes.

For more information please refer to the site below or
email to crash.database@dot.wi.gov.

http://www.topslab.wisc.edu/programs/safety/projects/
Crash_Database_Improvement/
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Directive: RS 110

Subject: Ongoing Motorcycle Safety Program
Issued: 03/29/13

Agency/Originator: Bureau of Transportation Safety

Purpose

The Department recognizes the popularity of motorcycles and mopeds, as well as their energy-saving capabilities.
We have stated in our Wisconsin Strategic Highway Safety Plans that we are committed to the use of relevant
data when establishing motorcycle crash countermeasures, expanding the availability of various levels of rider
education, increasing motorist awareness, reducing impaired riding, and increasing roadway situational awareness
to effectively reduce the number of motorcycle and moped involved crashes and fatalities.

Scope & Policy

Motorcycle crashes and fatalities represent a disproportionate number of injuries and fatalities, when compared
to other methods of transportation. As a result of this condition, it is necessary that we continue our concentrated
effort to reduce crashes and fatalities. This effort remains a departmental goal and objective, to be addressed by
all of the divisions and offices within the Department, and relates to enlightenment, appropriate countermeasures,
and the ongoing monitoring of our progress in reducing crashes and fatalities.

Goals and Objectives:

* Educate the general motoring public that operators of motorcycles and mopeds are legitimate users of
our roadways and are entitled to the same rights and courtesies as other roadway users.

* Accentuate, encourage and financially support (as funding permits) beginner, intermediate, and advanced
motorcycle rider education courses.

* Reduce the number of unlicensed and/or improperly licensed motorcycle operators by expanding the skill
test waiver program and by making Motorcycle In Traffic (MIT) testing more available.

* Affect rider attitude, behavior, and decision making toward the use of appropriate personal protective
gear by all motorcycle and moped riders and passengers.

* Affect motorcycling community attitude, behavior, and decision making by emphasizing the hazardous
combination of cycle operation and the use of alcohol and other drugs.

* Partner with the motorcycling community, the motorcycle industry and dealers, public officials, law
enforcement agencies, motorcycle clubs, other interested groups or individuals, and the general motoring
public to attain our goals and objectives.

Policy Requirements

It is the responsibility of all members of the Department to recognize motorcycles and mopeds as legitimate users
of our roadways and to encourage the safe operation of these vehicles. The specific requirements for our depart-
mental program are as follows:
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Bureau of Transportation Safety

The Bureau of Transportation Safety will implement and coordinate all activities to accomplish our policy state-
ments pertaining to motorcycles and mopeds by partnering with the other offices and divisions within the
Department. The Department has assigned one full-time position to act as the Motorcycle Safety Program
Manager within the Bureau of Transportation Safety. This individual will devote their time and energies to
accomplishing the motorcycle and moped related goals and objectives of the department.

Ad Hoc Group

A department-staffed ad hoc committee may be established and employed to oversee and monitor departmental
activities as well as make recommendations concerning how to best attain our goals and objectives. Ad hoc
committee chair and members will be selected by the Secretary with consideration given to recommendations by
the Director of Transportation Safety. The Motorcycle Safety Program Manager will serve as a member of this

group.

Advisory Council

An advisory council will report to the Secretary, whose chair and members will serve at the discretion of the
Secretary. The advisory council will sustain representation by the motorcycle industry, motorcycle dealers, major
motorcycle advocacy groups, a motorcycle safety trainer, a member of law enforcement, a roads and highways
engineer, and anyone else the Secretary deems appropriate. The Motorcycle Safety Program Manager from the
Bureau of Transportation Safety will be a non-voting member of the advisory council and serve as the liaison
between the advisory council and the Secretary.

Responsibilities
Advisory Council

The responsibilities of this council include:

* Recommending to the Secretary the Administrative Rules and Guidelines to be used in awarding state
grants for motorcycle safety and recognizing needs for the effectiveness of the program.

* An annual budget recommendation to the Secretary for working toward the overall goals and objectives
of the program as stated earlier in this Directive.

* An annual review of the overall program with recommendations to the Secretary for changes for the
upcoming year, after studying the previous program and effectiveness attained.

* Making recommendations to the Secretary on the biennial appropriation that should be requested of the
Governor and Legislature for the program.
All offices within the Department of Transportation will cooperate and work with these groups to obtain the
objectives as outlined in this Directive.

END OF DOCUMENT
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APPENDIX MC-2: CHAPTERTRANS 129 MOTORCYCLE

LICENSING AND COURSES

Published under s. 35.93, Wis. Stats., by the Legislative Reference Bureau.

Trans 129.01 Purpose and scope.

Trans 129.12 Cancellation or denial of department approval.

Trans 129.02 Definitions.

Trans 129.13 Waiver authorization form.
Trans 129.03 Student requirements for waiver.
Trans 129.14 Priorities.

Trans 129.04 Rider course exemptions.

Trans 129.15 Motorcycle riding course grants.
Trans 129.05 Motorcycle instruction permits.

Trans 129.16 Public awareness programs.

Trans 129.06 Counting instruction permits and skills tests.

Trans 129.17 Safety education.

Trans 129.07 Motorcycle rider courses approved by another jurisdiction, U.S.

Trans 129.18 Improved testing.governmental agency or military branch.

Trans 129.19 Motorcycle instruction school licensing.

Trans 129.08 Requirements for certification.

Trans 129.20 Fitness for rider education school or instructor license.

Trans 129.09 Rider course requirements.
Trans 129.21 Insurance and bond requirements.

Trans 129.10 Requirements for instructors.

Trans 129.22Cooperative rider education testing program.

Trans 129.11Course evaluation.

Note: Chapter Trans 129 is repealed and a new ch. Trans 129 is created, Register,January, 1998, No. 505, effective February 1,

1998.

Trans 129.01 Purpose and scope.

The purpose of this chapter, as authorized by ss. 85.16
(1), 85.30, 227.11, 343.06 (1) (c), 343.07 (4) (b) and
343.16 (1) (a), Stats., is as follows:

(1) To establish the department’s administrative interpre-
tation of s. 343.16 (2) (cm), Stats., relating to the waiver
of the motor~cycle skills test.

(2) To establish the department’s administrative interpre-
tation with regard to motorcycle instruction schools.
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(3) To establish the department’s administrative inter-
pretation of ss. 343.06 (1) (c), 343.07 (4) (b) and
343.16 (1) (a), Stats., relat-ing to required attendance
of motorcycle rider courses and motor-cycle
instruction permit issuance.

(4) To implement the Type 1 motorcycle, moped and
motor bicycle safety program under s. 85.30, Stats.

Register March 2012 No. 675
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History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff.
2-1-98; CR 07-084: am. (intro.) and (2) Register
February 2008 No. 626, eff. 3-1-08.

Trans 129.02 Definitions.

(1) The words and phrases defined in ss. 340.01 and
343.01, Stats., have the same meaning in this chapter
unless a different definition is specifically pro-vided.

(2) In this chapter:

(a) “Basic rider course” means a beginning course in
motor-cycle safety provided by a motorcycle
instruction school that meets the requirements of s.
Trans 129.09 (1) and has been approved by the

department.

(b) “Driver record” means the abstract of convictions
and other information related to a driver maintained
by the department in its computer database.

(c) “Experienced rider course” means an advanced
course in motorcycle safety provided by a motorcycle
instruction school that meets the requirements of s.
Trans 129.09 (2) and has been approved by the
department.

(d) “Motorcycle
commercial school that provides training on the

instruction school” means a

operation of Type 1 motorcy-cles.

(e) “Skills test” means an examination of a person’s
ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable control in
the operation of a Type 1 motorcycle.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff.
2-1-98; CR 07-084: am. (1) and (2) (d) Register
February 2008 No. 626, eff. 3-1-08.

Trans 129.03 Student requirements for waiver.

(1) As a requirement for a waiver of skills test under s.
343.16 (2) (cm), Stats., a person shall meet all of the

following requirements:
(a) Hold a valid motorcycle instruction permit.

(b) Provide proof that the person has completed a basic
rider course. The proof may be in the form of a waiver
authorization form meeting the requirements of s.
Trans 129.13 or other proof from another jurisdiction
showing the person is entitled to a waiver under s.
Trans 129.07. The waiver shall be valid for one year
from the date of rider course completion. The waiver
validity period may be extended for a person serving
in the military and unable to apply for a license within

the one-year period. Waivers shall be original
documents.

(2) A person who takes and fails a motorcycle skills test
after completing a basic rider education course is not
eligible for the motorcycle skills test waiver.

Note: A driver who has demonstrated incompetence
despite having attended a basic rider course will not be
licensed. This provision is adopted to avoid issuing a
license to a known incompetent driver and then
requiring an examination for cause under s. 343.16 (6),
Stats.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff.
2-1-98; CR 07-084: am. (1)

(b) Register February 2008 No. 626, eff. 3-1-08.

Trans 129.04 Rider course exemptions.

A person is not required to complete a basic rider course
prior to obtaining an operator’s license authorizing the
operation of Type 1 motorcy—cles if the person holds an
operator’s license, other than an instruc-tion permit, that
is valid or that is not expired by more than 4 years from
another jurisdiction that authorizes the operation of a
Type 1 motorcycle, or the person does not reside within
50 highway miles, by the most direct route, of a basic
rider course site.

Note: Sections 343.06 (1) (c), 343.07 (4) (b) and 343.16
(1) (a), Stats., permit the Department to exempt certain
people from the requirement of taking a rider course.
This section exempts persons who have a valid motor-
cycle license from another juris—diction or who live more
than 50 miles from a facility that offers rider courses.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff.
2-1-98.

Trans 129.05 Motorcycle instruction permits.

The department may issue an instruction permit author-
izing the opera-tion of Type 1 motorcycles to a person
who is required to complete a basic rider course by s.

343.06 (1) (c), 343.07 (4) (b) or 343.16

(1) (a), Stats., if the person meets all of the following
criteria:

(1) The person has passed all examinations required
under s. Trans 104.03 for issuance of a class “M” permit

under s. 343.07, Stats.
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(2) The person is enrolled in a basic rider course or is
exempt from the requirement of attending a basic
rider course under s. Trans 129.04.

Note: Section Trans 104.03 details the knowledge
exam requirements for driver licenses. History: Cr.

Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff. 2-1-98.

Trans 129.06 Counting instruction permits and
skills tests.

(1) INSTRUCTION PERMITS. The department
shall determine whether a person is eligible for
issuance of an instruction permit under s. 343.07 (4)
(b), Stats., based upon the latest 5 years of the person’s
driver record.

person is ineligible for a skills tests because of repeated
motor-cycle skills test failures based upon the latest 5
years of the per-son’s driver record.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff.
2-1-98.

Trans 129.07 Motorcycle rider courses
approved by another jurisdiction, U.S. govern-
mental agency or mili-~tary branch.

(1) Successful completion of a motorcycle rider course
approved by another jurisdiction, a U.S. governmental
agency, or a branch of the military that meets the
minimum requirements of s. Trans 129.09 (1) (a) and
(d) may be approved by the department for the
purpose of waiving skills tests or course attendance

requirements under ss. 343.06 (1) (c), 343.07 (4) (b),
343.16 (1) (a), or 343.16 (2) (cm), Stats.

(2) To qualify for a waiver under sub. (1), a person
shall meet all of the following:

(a) The person shall present documentation satis-
factory to the department that the person successfully
completed a motorcycle rider course offered by
another jurisdiction, a U.S. government agency, or a
military branch.

(b) The person shall provide evidence that the course
met the requirements of s. Trans 129.09 (1) (a) and
(d).

(c) The person may not have failed a motorcycle skills

test subsequent to completion of the course. History:
Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff. 2-1-98.

Trans 129.08 Requirements for certification.

(1) SKILLS TEST WAIVER. A school or organization
seeking autho-rization to participate in the waiver of
skills test program shall complete and submit an appli-
cation to the department. To be authorized to certify
students for a motorcycle skills test waiver, a school or
organization shall do all of the following:

(a) Hold any license required.
(b) Offer a basic rider course.

(c) Require students to be present for all sessions of the
course.

(d) File an activity report at least annually, no later than
December 31 of each year. The report shall contain all
of the fol-lowing;:

1. Each student’s full name.

2. Each student’s driver license number, date of birth,
address and phone number.

3. Course completion date.

4. The reason why any student did not complete the
course.

5. Each student’s skills test waiver number or other
identifying number as determined by the department.

6. The instructor’s name, DOT assigned instructor
number, and Motorcycle Safety Foundation instructor
number.

7. The motorcycle instruction school’s license number.

Note: Grant recipients must file reports within 30 days
of class completion rather than only at year end. See s.

Trans 129.15 (6).
(2) DEMERIT POINT REDUCTION. A school or

organization seek-ing authorization to participate in the
demerit point reduction pro-gram shall complete and
file an application with the department. To be authorized
to certify students for a motorcycle demerit point
reduction, a school or organization shall:

(a) Hold any license required under s. 343.61 (1), Stats.

(b) Offer a basic rider course or experienced rider course,

or both.

(c) Require students to be present for all sessions of the
course.

(3) AUTHORIZATION EXPIRATION. The authori-
zation assigned by the department shall be valid until
cancelled. History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505,
eff. 2-1-98; CR 04-132: am. (1)
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(d) 2. Register April 2005 No. 592, eff. 5-1-05; CR
07-084: am. (1) (a) Register Feb-ruary 2008 No. 626,
eff. 3-1-08.

Trans 129.09 Rider course requirements.
(1) BASIC RIDER COURSE REQUIREMENTS. A

basic rider course shall meet all of the following criteria:

(a) The course shall consist of at least 15 hours of
instruction which includes both classroom and range
instruction. At least 50% of the total hours of
instruction shall consist of range instruc-tion.

(b) All instruction shall be completed within a 90-day
time period.

(c) There shall be no more than 8 hours of instruction
in a single day.

(d) At a minimum, instruction shall be provided in 6
maneuvers, including the following:

. Straight line riding.

Turning.
-, Shifting.
. Straight line braking.

Braking in a curve.
—. Evasive maneuvers.

(e) The course shall include instruction on the hazards
posed by farm machinery and animals on highways and
instruction in safely dealing with such hazards.

Note: Section 343.71 (5), Stats., requires this of

commercial schools. Section

115.28 (11), Stats., requires similar training be given
by non-commercial schools.

(f) Class size may not exceed 24 students in the
classroom or 12 students on the range.

(g) A knowledge test and a skills test, which shall be
given prior approval by the department, shall be
conducted prior to the end of the course.

(2) EXPERIENCED RIDER COURSE REQUIRE-
MENTS. An experi-enced rider course shall meet all
of the following criteria:

(a) The course shall consist of at least 5 hours of
instruction which includes both class discussion and
range training. At least 50% of the total hours of
instruction shall consist of range training.

(b) All instruction shall be completed within a 30-day
time period.

(c) There shall be no more than 9 hours of instruction
in a single day.

(d) At a minimum, instruction shall be provided in all
of the following maneuvers:

—. Straight line braking.

Braking on a curve.
—. Cornering.
—. Swerving techniques.

(e) Class size may not exceed 24 students in the
classroom or 12 students on the range.

() A skills test, which shall be given prior approval by
the department, shall be conducted prior to the end of
the course. History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No.
505, eff. 2-1-98; CR 04-132: am. (1) (b) and (2) (a)
Register April 2005 No. 592, eff. 5-1-05; CR 07-084:
am. (1) (f) and (2) (e), r. (3) Register February 2008
No. 626, eff. 3-1-08.

Trans 129.10 Requirements for instructors.

(1) APPLICATION. Instructors seeking authorization
to participate in the waiver of skills test program shall
complete and submit an application to the department
on the department’s form.

Note: Application forms can be obtained from and
should be submitted to the Department of Trans-
portation, Transportation Safety Programs, P. O. Box
7920, Room 551, Madison, W1 53707-7920. You may
form at  htep://www.dot.

also access the

wisconsin.gov/forms/docs/mv3574.doc.

(2) WAIVER ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA. An
instructor may not be authorized to grant waivers of
skills tests unless the instructor meets all of the
following criteria:

(a) The

department-approved instructor preparation course in

instructor  has  completed a
this state or a substantially similar course approved by
another jurisdiction, U.S. governmental agency, or a
branch of the military.

Trans 129.06 Counting instruction permits and
skills tests.

(1) INSTRUCTION PERMITS. The department shall
determine whether a person is eligible for issuance of
an instruc—tion permit under s. 343.07 (4) (b), Stats.,
based upon the latest 5 years of the person’s driver
record.
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(c) The instructor shall teach 3 range and 3 classroom
courses during an authorization period.

(d) The instructor shall attend a minimum of one
department- conducted or pre-approved instructor
in-service program during each authorization period.
At least 70 percent of the agenda shall be curriculum
oriented.

(e) The instructor shall successfully complete all
knowledge tests and all skill tests and other evaluations
required for instructor certification.

(3) INSTRUCTOR DRIVER RECORD REQUIRE-
MENTS. To be autho-rized to instruct students in
rider education courses for the motor—cycle skills test
waiver or point reduction purposes, the instructor shall
maintain a satisfactory driving record. A person’s
driving record may not be considered satisfactory under
this subsection if that person:

(a) Has accumulated more than 6 demerit points under
s. 343.32 (2), Stats., during a one-year period, as
specified in this paragraph and sub. (4). The one-year
period, under this para~graph, shall commence from
the date of the first violation which contributed to the
accumulation of more than 6 demerit points.

(b) Has been involved in 2 or more accidents in the
preceding year and the accident report indicates that
the person may have been causally negligent.

(c) Has had his or her operator’s license revoked or
suspended for a traffic violation other than a parking
violation, failure to pay a forfeiture or other debt of any
type, at any time during the pre-ceding year.

(4) CANCELLATION OF INSTRUCTOR
AUTHORIZATION. (a) If an applicant for an author-
ization under this section accumulates more than 6
demerit points in a one—year period as provided in sub.
(3) (a) in the year preceding application, the
department shall deny the instructor’s application until
one year elapses from the date of the most recent
violation that resulted in the person’s accu-mulation of
more than 6 demerit points.

(b) If an instructor authorized under this section
accumulates more than 6 demerit points in a one-year
period as provided under sub. (3) (a), the department
shall cancel the instructor’s authoriza-tion for a period
of one year. The period of cancellation shall
com-mence on the date that the department receives
notice of the most recent conviction that resulted in the
person’s accumulation of more than 6 demerit points.

(c) An applicant for authorization under this section,
or an instructor currently authorized under this section,
may utilize demerit point reduction pursuant to s. Trans
101.07. If sufficient point reduction to bring the
demerit point total below 7 points is thereby achieved,
the applicant or instructor may reapply for authori-
zation immediately. A rider course is not acceptable for
demerit point reduction.

(5) INSTRUCTOR AUTHORIZATION. (a) All
authorized instruc-tors shall be assigned an authori-
zation number by the department.

(b) The authorization assigned by the department shall
be valid through December 31 of the third year

following the date of issuance, unless cancelled.

(c) The department shall evaluate each instructor’s
qualifica-tions under this section at least once every 3
years and shall cancel the authorization of any
instructor who does not meet the qualifi-cation
requirements. The authorization assigned by the
depart-ment shall be valid for a period of 3 years from
date of issuance unless cancelled.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff.
2-1-98; CR 07-084: am. (1),

(2) (¢), (d) and (4) (0), r. (2) (b), cr. (2) (e) Register
February 2008 No. 626, eff. 3-1-08.

Trans 129.11 Course evaluation. (1) Evaluation of basic
rider education courses may include any of the
following:

(a) An on-site inspection of the basic rider course
program by a Wisconsin motorcycle program chief
instructor or other person-nel authorized by the
department.

(b) A review of the ratio of passing to failing students,
includ-ing reasons any students did not complete the
course.

(2) An on-site evaluation may not be conducted by a
person who teaches at that site.

(3) On-site evaluation reports shall be submitted to the
department within 10 days of the evaluation.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff.
2-1-98; CR 07-084: renum. to be (1), cr. (2) and (3)
Register February 2008 No. 626, eff. 3-1-08.

Trans 129.12 Cancellation or denial of department

approval. (1) Authorization of schools or instructors to
certify students for motorcycle skill test waiver shall be
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cancelled and may not be renewed for any of the
following reasons:

(a) False or misleading advertising.

(b) Fraud.

(¢) Failure to meet standards set in this chapter.

(d) Failure to follow department-approved curriculum.
(e) Unsafe training facility.

(f) Unsafe motorcycles.

(g) Guaranteeing the issuance of a license upon
completion of the course.

(h) The institution at which the program is offered
closes or goes out of business.

(i) Failure to permit or cooperate with audits, inspec-
tions or reviews conducted under s. Trans 129.11 or

129.15 (5).

(j) The motorcycle instructor does not hold a license
required by s. 343.62, Stats.

(2) A school or instructor may be reauthorized after
cancella—-tion or nonrenewal when all the following
conditions have been met:

(a) Any period of cancellation as set by the department
has been completed and any revoked or suspended
instruction school or instructor license is reinstated.

(b) The school or instructor submits an application for
reautho-rization.

(c) The department is satisfied that the conditions
which led to the cancellation have been corrected or no
longer exist.

(3) A person adversely affected by a cancellation or
refusal to renew an authorization made under sub. (1)
(a) to (i) may request a hearing before the department
to review the cancellation. A request for hearing shall
be made in writing and shall be filed with the
department within 30 days of the date of the notice of
cancella—tion or notice that the person’s authorization
may not be renewed. If the department receives a
request for hearing which satisfies the requirements of
this subsection, the department shall conduct a prompt
informal hearing within 15 days after receiving the
request. If the matter is not resolved after an informal
hearing is completed, the person adversely affected by
the cancellation may request a full evidentiary hearing
before the department, pursuant to ch. 227, Stats. A
request for hearing shall be in writing and shall be filed
with the department within 30 days after the

completion of the informal hearing. A request for an
informal or a full eviden—tiary hearing does not stay the
effect of a cancellation or nonre-newal, unless the
cancellation or nonrenewal is expressly stayed in writing
by the department.

Note: Persons affected by sub. (1) (j) are afforded due
process by a pre-license revocation hearing under s.
343.69, Stats. History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No.
505, eff. 2-1-98; CR 07-084: am. (1)

(j) Register February 2008 No. 626, eff. 3-1-08.

Trans 129.13 Waiver authorization form. (1) Waiver
authorization shall be on a form approved by the
department. The form may contain space for any of the
following information:

(a) Student’s full name.

(b) Student’s date of birth.

(d) Student’s operator’s license number.
(e) Student’s sex.

(f) Date of completion of course.

(g) Student’s skills test waiver number or other identi-
fying number as determined by the department.

(h) Instructor’s authorization number.
(i) Authorization number for the instruction site.
(j) Instructor’s signature.

(2) A waiver form shall be completed by the authorized
instructor upon the student’s successful completion of
a basic rider education course.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff.
2-1-98; CR 04-132:r. (1) (c),

r. and recr. (1) (e) Register April 2005 No. 592, eff.
5-1-05.

Trans 129.14 Priorities.

The department shall administer the program to
support the following activities in the order of priority
indicated:

(1) Motorcycle riding courses.
(2) Public awareness program.
(3) Safety education.

(4) Improved testing. History: Cr. Register, January,
1998, No. 505, eff. 2-1-98.
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Trans 129.15 Motorcycle riding course grants.
(1) APPLICATION AND CONTRACT. Upon appli-

cation and approval, the department shall enter into
grant contracts with applicants for the reimbursement
of expenses incurred in conducting motor-cycle riding
courses.

Note: Application and grant contract forms are
available from the Department of Transportation,
Bureau of Transportation Safety, PO. Box 7936,
Madison, Wiscon-sin 53707.

(2) GENERAL GRANT POLICIES. (a) The
department in consider-ing grant applications shall
attempt to avoid or minimize the offer-ing of duplicate
courses by applicants in the same geographic area where
demand for courses has not exceeded the student
capacity of existing course providers.

(b) In allocating funds, the department may:
1. Give priority to training instructors.
2. Attempt to encourage courses in all areas of the state.

3. Avoid a concentration of grants in any one
geographic area.

4. Give priority to funding basic rider courses over
experimenced rider courses.

5. Give priority to creating new programs over
expanding existing programs.

6. Give priority to innovative or pilot programs.

(c) The department may award a grant or provide
funding under this chapter to a Wisconsin technical
college district, a school district, a unit of state, county,
or municipal government, or any other person or legal
entity that provides motorcycle educa-tion courses that

does all of the following:
1. Meets the requirements of s. Trans 129.09 (1) or (2).

2. Has facilities available to them, such as a standard
range or a range that may be modified to acceptable
standards and an adequately equipped classroom.

3. Has adequate motorcycles appropriately equipped
for training purposes available.

4. Has enough authorized instructors available to teach
pro-posed classes.

5. Has adequate financial resources to initiate a
program and meet program expenses, except for
government institutions.

6. Has maintained a permanent address for a period of
3 years, except for government institutions.

(3) COURSE REQUIREMENTS. To be eligible for
reimbursement, an applicant shall provide rider courses
that meet all of the follow-ing minimum requirements:

(a) The course is open to the general public.

(b) The course meets the curriculum requirements of
this chap-ter.

(c) The applicant has authority to use the course site by
agreement, lease or ownership.

(d) The course instructor has been authorized to
provide rider training by the department under s. Trans
129.09.

(e) The applicant has adequate audio-visual equipment
avail-able to teach the course.

(f) The range is properly laid out and painted.

(4) REIMBURSEMENT. (a) Reimbursement under
this section may not exceed either of the following:

1. 70% of the actual course cost.

2. An amount equal to actual course cost less the
amount stu~dents are required to pay.

(b) For purposes of this subsection, “actual course cost”
means allowable costs under Office of Management
and Budget Circular No. A-87, Cost Principals for
State, Local and Indian Tribal Gov-ernments, dated

May 4, 1995.

Note: The intent of this section is that courses be
funded 70% by state money and 30% by student fees
to encourage student commitment. OMB Circular No.
A-87 was published in the Federal Register for May 17,
1995, (Volume 60, Number 95) Pages 26483-26507.
Copies may be obtained from the State Law Library
Reference Department, PO. Box 7881, Madison, W1
53707-7881, (800) 322-9755 or (608) 267-9696.
The library does charge for photocopying. Copies are
also on file with the Attorney General’s office and the
Legislative Reference Bureau.

(5) AUDITS. The grant recipient shall be required to
keep accu-rate records of the use of grant money,
curricula, names of instruc—tors and students, atten-
dance, and the names of students who suc-cessfully
complete a course for 5 years. The department may
periodically audit these records.

(6) REPORTING REQUIREMENT. To be eligible for
funding under a grant, the grant recipient shall file the
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report required under s. Trans 129.08 (1) (d) within 30
days of course completion.

(7) INSTRUCTORS. (a) If necessary to ensure the
existence of a sufficient number of trained instructors,
the department may contract with qualified chief
instructors to provide instructor training.

(b) If there is a need for instructors, the department
may reim-burse the training costs of approved persons.
Reimbursement may cover tuition, course material,
meals, lodging and any pre- approved additional
expenses. The department may reimburse 50% of these
costs after successful completion of the training, and
may reimburse the remaining 50% after the newly
trained instruc—tor has taught an entire riding course.
If costs are less than $100 in claimed expenses, the
entire amount may be paid after the newly trained
instructor has taught an entire riding course.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff.
2-1-98; CR 07-084: am. (2)

(¢) (intro.) Register February 2008 No. 626, eff.
3-1-08.

Trans 129.16 Public awareness programs.

The department shall aid other organizations in the
promotion of Type 1 motorcycle safety by furnishing
them with educational and informational materials for
display and distribution. The depart-ment may
contract with certified instructors to provide services
and programs related to public awareness of Type 1
motorcycle safety. History: Cr. Register, January, 1998,
No. 505, eff. 2-1-98.

Trans 129.17 Safety education.

The department may conduct public workshops, rallies
and programs to cover Type 1 motorcycle, moped and
motor bicycle safety-related topics such as alcohol and
drug abuse, the use of proper personal protective gear,
proper licensing, and improved driving techniques.

History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No. 505, eff.
2-1-98.

Trans 129.18 Improved testing.

The department may allocate funds to improve the
testing of applicants for Type 1 motorcycle, moped and
motor bicycle endorsements or licenses. The amount
allocated may be made available to the division of
motor vehicles to use for training or the purchasing of

equipment. History: Cr. Register, January, 1998, No.
505, eff. 2-1-98.

Trans 129.19 Motorcycle instruction school
licensing

(1) A person providing training on the operation of
Type 1 motorcycles for compensation shall be licensed.

(2) An application shall be on the form provided by the
department. Note: Application forms can be obtained
from and should be submitted to the Department of
Transportation, Transportation Safety Programs, P. O.
Box 7936, Room 551, Madison, WI ~ 53707-7936.
History: CR 07-084: cr. Register February 2008 No.
626, eff. 3-1-08.

Trans 129.20 Fitness for rider education school
or instructor license.

(1) For the purpose of determining the fit-ness of a
person to hold a rider education school or instructor
license, the department shall consider all relevant arrests
and con-wictions and make such further examinations
and checks as it determines are necessary.

(2) The department may not issue or renew a rider
education school or instructor license to any person
who, during the person’s lifetime, was convicted of any
of the following state laws; any local ordinance in
conformity with any of the following state laws; or any
federal law or law of a federally recognized American
Indian tribe or band in this state or law of another juris-
diction that would be a violation of any of the following
state laws if the person had committed the offense in
this state and been convicted of the offense under the
laws of this state:

(3) The department may not issue or renew a rider
education school or instructor license to any person
who, within the past 10 years immediately preceding
the date of application, was con-victed of any of the
following state laws; any local ordinance in conformity
with any of the following state laws; or any federal law
or law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe
or band in this state or law of another jurisdiction that
would be a violation of any of the following state laws
if the person had committed the offense in this state
and been convicted of the offense under the laws of this
state:
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Statistic Description
940.02 1st degree reckless homicide
940.06 2nd degree reckless homicide
940.09 Homicide by intoxicated use of vehicle or firearm
941.21 Disarming a peace officer
943.201 Unauthorized use of an individual’s
personal identifying information or documents
943.32 Robbery
94417 Sexual gratification
94430 Prostitution
944.31 Patronizing prostitutes
944.32 Soliciting prostitutes
944.33 Pandering
948.09 Sexual intercourse with a child age 16 or older
948.20 Abandonment of a child
948.23 Concealing death of a child (at birth)
948.30 Abduction of another’s child, constructive custody

961.41 (1) (a) to(1) (j)Manufacture, distribution or delivery of drugs

961.41 (1m) (a)to (j) Possession with intent to manufacture,
distribute or deliver drugs

961.41 (4) (am) Distribution or delivery or attempt to deliver or

distribute an imitation controlled substance

961.42 (1) Keep or maintain any place for drug use,
manufacture, keeping or delivering

961.455 Using a child for illegal drug distribution
or manufacturing

961.46 Distribution of controlled substances

to persons under age 18

Statistic Description

940.01 1st degree intentional homicide

940.03 Felony murder

940.05 2nd degree intentional homicide

940.22(2) Sexual exploitation by a therapist

940.225 (1) to (3)  Sexual assault

940.305 Taking hostages

940.31 Kidnapping

941.32 Administering dangerous or stupefying drug

944.06 Incest

944.34 Keeping a place of prostitution

946.01 Treason

946.02 Sabotage

946.03 Sedition

948.02 (1) and (2)  Sexual assault of a child

948.025 Engaging in repeated acts of sexual
assault of the same child

948.03 (2) Physical abuse of a child

948.04 (1) Causing mental harm to a child

948.05 Sexual exploitation of a child

948.055 Causing a child to view or listen to sexual activity

948.06 Incest with a child

948.07 Child enticement

948.075 Use of computer to facilitate a child sex crime

948.08 Soliciting a child for prostitution

948.095 Sexual assault of a student age 16 or older by a
school instructional staff person or a person who
works or volunteers with children

948.10 Exposing genitals or pubic area tochild

948.11 (2) (a) or(am)Exposing a child to harmful material or harmful

descriptions or narrations

948.12

Possession of child pornography

948.13 (2)

Child sex offender working with children
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(4) The department may not issue or renew a rider
education school or instructor license to any person
who, within the past 5 years immediately preceding the
date of application, was con-victed of any of the
following state laws; any local ordinance in conformity
with any of the following state laws; or any federal law
or law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe
or band in this state or law of another jurisdiction that
would be a violation of any of the following state laws
if the person had committed the offense in this state
and been convicted of the offense under the laws of this
state:
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Statistic Description (5) The department may not issue or renew a rider
940.01 15t degree intentional homicide education school or instructor license to any person
940.03 Felony murder who, within the past 2 years immediately preceding the
940,05 2nd degree intentional homicide date (?f application, was con—w{cted o‘f any of t.he
940.22(2) Sexual exploitation by a therapist fO.HEW1ng s;a;e l?“ﬁ; ar.1y local olrdlnance mn Cfozforﬁlty
940225 (110 (3) _ Sexual assault with any of the following st.ate aws; o'r any fe 'era .aw
- or law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe
940.305 Taking hostages ) . e e .
- - or band in this state or law of another jurisdiction that
940.31 Kidnapping . . .
— = would be a violation of any of the following state laws
932 Administering dangerous or stupefying drug if the person had committed the offense in this state and
944.06 Incest been convicted of the offense under the laws of this
944.34 Keeping a place of prostitution state:
946.01 :re;son Statistic Description
946.02 e 'o’fage Various Any felony not listed in subs. (3) to (5)
946.03 e zed't"l’" — 940.12 Assisting suicide
948.02 (1) and (2)  Sexual assault of a chi - - -
948,025 Enga%m in repeated acts of sexual 941.01 Negligent operation of a motor vehicle
assault of the same child 941.11 Unsafe burning of a building
948.03 (2) Physical abuse of a child 941.20 Endangering safety by use of a dangerous weapon
948.04 (1) Causing mental harm to a child 941.37 Obstructing emergency or rescue personnel
948.05 Sexual exploitation of a child 943.07 Criminal damage to railroads
948.055 Causing a child to view or listen to sexual activity
948.06 Incest with a child
948,07 Child enticement Trans 129.21 Insurance and bond requirements.
948.075 Use of computer to facilitate a child sex crime (1)
948.08 Soliciting a child for prostitution S ]
943,095 Sexual assault of a student age 16 or older by a A com.merc1al rider education school shall do all of the
school instructional staff person or a person who following:
works or volunteers with children (a)Hold minimum insurance of not less than $500,000
948.10 Exposing genitals or pubic area tochild because of bodily injury to or death of one person in

948.11 (2) (a) or(am)Exposing a child to harmful material or harmful
descriptions or narrations

948.12 Possession of child pornography
948.13 (2) Child sex offender working with children
947.015 Bomb scare
948.40 Contributing to the delinquency of a minor
948.55 Leaving or storing a loaded firearm

within reach or easy access of child
948.605 Possession of a firearm in school zone
961.41(1n) Possession of piperidine
961.41(1x) Conspiracy

961.41(2) (a) to (d) Counterfeit substances

Possession of controlled substance

(
961.41 (3g)
(

961.41 (39) (f) Possession — gamma—hydroxybutyric acid,

gamma—butyrolactone, ketamine or flunitrazepam

961.43 (1) and (2) Acquiring or obtaining possession of controlled
substance by fraud or forgery— counterfeit substance
or packaging

961.67 Possession or disposal of waste from manufacture

of methamphetamine

any one accident and, subject to that limit for one
person, to a limit of not less than $500,000 because of
bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in any
one accident and, if the accident has resulted in injury
to or destruction of property, to a limit of not less than
$50,000 because of injury to or destruction of property
of others in any one accident.

(b)Adjust the insurance amounts under par. (a) every 5
) p y

years by multiplying the requirement amounts by the
percentage increase of the consumer price index from
January 1, 2007 to January 1 of the next fifth year
(2012, 2017] and adding that amount to the amounts
in par. (a) rounded to the nearest $10,000 increment.

(c)Maintain a standard liability insurance of not less
than $500,000.

(d)File certification of insurance with the department
with the application for license.
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School Size Based on Signed
Completion Slips for the Prior Period

0—300 $20,000
301—-1100 $30,000
1101 or more $40,000

(e) Require the insurance carrier to notify the
department not less than 30 days before the policy
expires or is materially changed or canceled.

(2) The school shall obtain a surety bond or provide an
acceptable alternative based on size (3)

Customer shall apply to bond company if obligations
of the training contract cannot be met.

(4)A copy of the bond or evidence of acceptable alter-
native shall be provided to the department with the
application for license.

History: CR 07-084: cr. Register February 2008 No.
6206, eff. 3-1-08.

Trans 129.22 Cooperative rider education testing
program. The department may enter into a cooperative
driver testing agreement with a basic rider course
provider to conduct knowledge tests as permitted by s.
343.16 (1) (c), Stats. A basic rider course provider may
administer the knowledge and highway signs tests to
students who are currently enrolled in motorcycle rider
education. History: CR 07-084: cr. Register February
2008 No. 626, eff. 3-1-08.

Register March 2012 No. 675
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Motorcycle Training and Registration Data by County

STATE OF WISCONSIN FFY 2017 HIGHWAY SAFETY PLAN - MC-3

APPENDIX MC-3: MOTORCYCLE TRAINING AND
REGISTRATION DATA BY COUNTY

Complete Motorcycle Registration Training Site Information Training Was Offered In The County During The Month(s) Selected:
LISt'Of . Data by county by County (NOTE: Some Counties May Have More Than One Sponsoring Training Site And/Or Location) Scheduled Classes May
Countiesin vy thereisa  Nothereisnota  Yes, thereisa No, there is not a Vary With Demand And Classes May Be Added Or Cancelled As Demand Dictates
the State Of Training Site in Training Site in Training Site in Training Site in
Wisconsin the County the County the County the County Jul-15 Aug-15 Sep-15 Oct-15 Nov-15 Dec-15Jan-16 Feb-16 Mar-16 Apr-16 May-16 Jun-16
Adams 1,810 No
Ashland 966 No
Barron 3,549 Yes X X X
Bayfield 1,276 No
Brown 16,595 Yes X X X X X X X
Buffalo 1,172 No
Burnett 1,322 No
Calumet 3,754 No
Chippewa 4,955 No
Clark 2,174 No
Columbia 4,166 No
Crawford 1,133 No
Dane 23,572 Yes X X X X X X
Dodge 6,956 No
Door 3,618 No
Douglas 2,699 No
Dunn 3,029 No
Eau Claire 5,774 Yes X X X X X
Florence 354 No
Fond du Lac 7,480 Yes X X X
Forest 689 No
Grant 4,074 Yes X X X X X X X
Green 3,215 Yes X X X
Green Lake 1,365 No
lowa 1,779 No
Iron 519 No
Jackson 1,809 No
Jefferson 6,264 No
Juneau 2,266 No
Kenosha 9,547 Yes X X X X X X X
Kewaunee 2,112 No
La Crosse 6,650 Yes X X X X X X
La Fayette 1,208 No
Langlade 1,405 Yes X
Lincoln 2,473 No
Manitowoc 7,743 Yes X X X X X X
Marathon 9,423 Yes X X X X X X X
Marinette 3,695 No
Marquette 1,345 No
Menoninee 74 No
Milwaukee 30,617 Yes X X X X X X X
Monroe 3,661 Yes X X X X X
Oconto 3,780 No
Oneida 3,123 Yes X X X
Outagamie 14,239 Yes X X X
0zaukee 5,986 Yes X X X X X
Pepin 636 No
Pierce 3,179 No
Polk 3,491 No
Portage 4,225 No
Price 1,227 Yes X X
Racine 11,590 No
Richland 1,404 No
Rock 10,368 Yes X X X X X X
Rusk 937 No
Sauk 4,657 Yes X X X X X
Sawyer 1,029 No
Shawano 3,079 Yes X X X X X X
Sheboygan 10,069 Yes X X X X X X X X X
Saint Croix 6,613 Yes X X X X
Taylor 1,588 Yes X X X X X
Trempealeau 2,502 No
Vernon 2,095 No
Vilas 1,904 No
Walworth 8,583 No
Washburn 1177 No
Washington 10,241 No
Waukesha 24,822 Yes X X X X X X
Waupaca 4,390 No
Waushara 2,085 No
Winnebago 11,552 Yes X X X X X X X
Wood 6,033 Yes X X X X X X
(no county) 987
TOTALS 236,661 129,217 27 45
(With) (Without) (With) (Without)
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APPENDIX MC-4: WISCONSIN MOTORCYCLE SAFETY
PROGRAM POLICY AND PROCEDURE MANUAL

7.0
7.1
7.1.1

7.1.2

7.1.3

7.1.4

7.2

7.2.1

7.2.2

7.3

7.3.1

7.3.2

7.3.3

7.4
7.4.1

7.4.2

7.4.3

7.5
7.5.1

Technical Assistance

Purpose of Site Visits

To assure that RiderCoaches and sites are striving to meet the curriculum requirements of the
Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program (Trans 129) and of the Motorcycle Safety Foundation, as
defined in the RiderCoach Guide (RCG), range cards and Trans 129 Admin. Code.

To assure that ranges meet MSF requirements and have no insoluble safety problems.

To give instructional feedback, critiques and recommendations to local site coordinators, Lead Rider-
Coaches and RiderCoaches.

To identify problems and needs common to more than one site and recommend to the WMSP how to
address them effectively statewide.

Overview of Quality Assurance Visits

Quality assurance (site) visits are conducted by Wisconsin RiderCoach Trainers or other DOT-
assigned persons to determine if the curriculum is being provided uniformly throughout the state and
that MSF and state standards are being met, at minimum.

RiderCoaches do not “pass” or “fail” a site visit, nor will the RiderCoach Trainers rank any site against
another site. The visit is intended primarily to support and assist the RiderCoaches and sites in
becoming the best rider education providers possible.

Scheduling

Each regional RiderCoach Trainer is responsible to conduct a QAV visit at each site within his/her
region during the current training season.

Prior to a site visit, the RiderCoach Trainer conducting the visit may contact the local site coordinator
or Lead RiderCoach to arrange the visit. He/she may discuss the objectives of the visit with this
individual and send him or her an information sheet and a copy of the Rider Education Site Review
Form.

All initial site visits should be conducted prior to August 1 in order for the site to take advantage of
visit report/findings. Follow-up visits may be scheduled as needed based on the findings of the initial
evaluation.

Evaluator’s Report

During the visit, the RiderCoach Trainer will observe activities as unobtrusively as possible and will
not interfere in any way with teaching activities unless there appears to be a significant safety problem.
The RiderCoach Trainer will complete the site review form during observation.

Upon the conclusion of the activities, the RiderCoach Trainer will debrief the RiderCoach(s) involved.
He/she will emphasize both positive points and recommendations for improvement and will refer the
RiderCoach(s) to specific information in the RCG and/or range cards, as appropriate.

After the visit is concluded, the RiderCoach Trainer will submit his or her site review form and any
written attachments to the WMSP within ten days of the visit. The WMSD, in turn, will provide
copies to the site coordinator and the RiderCoach (es) observed. Among other things, information
obtained from all review forms is used to identify statewide training needs for the next training season.
Correction of Problems

Site administrators and Lead RiderCoaches are responsible for implementing any recommendations
made by the evaluator. Lead RiderCoaches along with observing RiderCoaches should submit an
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action plan to address any changes recommended. If a problem(s) persists, the site may contact the
RiderCoach trainer to revisit the site or contact WMSP about the issue.
7.5.2 Process for handling a formal RiderCoach complaint/grievance.

7.5.2.1 The written complaint/grievance is sent to the WMSP by E-mail or USPS.

7.5.2.2 The complaint/grievance is date stamped and given to the program manager to review.

7.5.2.2 If the complaint/grievance can be processed without a hearing, the WMSP Manager can expedite it.

7.5.2.4 If the complaint/grievance cannot be processed without a hearing, it shall be taken before the WMSP
Curriculum Review Committee. Any individual(s) on the Committee that have a conflict of interest
with the filed complaint will be excused and replacement(s) without a conflict may be recruited for
this hearing only.

7.5.2.5 Any finding of the committee will be final unless appealed to the Director of the Bureau of Trans-
portation. If there is an appeal, the Director’s decision will be final.

7.6 Limitations Not every RiderCoach can be observed every year.Evaluators will make every effort to

observe different RiderCoaches each year. It is the responsibility of local site Lead RiderCoaches to
continually observe and evaluate RiderCoaches at his/her site to assure quality control measures are

upheld.
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APPENDIX MC-5: WISCONSIN MOTORCYCLE SAFETY AND
AWARENESS CAMPAIGNS

g, . X .
\ %, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

$ %
= é www.dot.wisconsin.gov
Z & Scott Walker Mark Gottlieb, P.E. Division of State Patrol
Uy, W Governor Secretary 4802 Sheboygan Ave., Rm.120B
Ay P. O. Box 7910

Madison, Wl 53707-7912

Telephone: 608-266-1113
Fax: 608-266-9912

June 19, 2014
To Whom It May Concern,

The Wisconsin motorcycle safety and awareness campaigns are administered by the Wisconsin Department of
Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Safety. The motorcycle safety awareness campaigns are done in cooper-
ation with the Bureau of Transportation Safety and the Motorcycle Safety Advisory Council, a diverse committee
designed to provide direction and guidance from external organizations to our motorcycle safety program. This
letter is to satisfy the requirement for coordination on development of the motorcyclist awareness program for
23 CFR 1200.25.

Sincerely,

e Gatrg,-

Mark Gottlieb, P E.

Secretary
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APPENDIX MC-6: TOTAL MOTORCYCLE CRASHES IN 2015

COUNTY
MILWAUKEE
DANE
WAUKESHA
BROWN
WINNEBAGO
RACINE
WASHINGTON
OUTAGAMIE
ROCK
KENOSHA
LA CROSSE
WALWORTH
MARATHON
SAWYER
PIERCE
FOND DU LAC
MANITOWOC
SAUK
DODGE

EAU CLAIRE
ST. CROIX
COLUMBIA
JEFFERSON
MARINETTE
DUNN
GREEN
DOOR
WOOD
OZAUKEE
WAUPACA
GRANT
PORTAGE
BUFFALO
CALUMET
CHIPPEWA
MONROE

Total Motorcycle Crashes in 2015
304
147
131

93
80
69
68
65
65
62
53
46
44
41
40
37
36
36
33
32
32
31
31
31
27
27
23
23
22
22
21
21
20
20
20
20
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COUNTY
SHEBOYGAN

JUNEAU
OCONTO
CRAWFORD
DOUGLAS
BARRON
LINCOLN
POLK
TREMPEALEAU
VERNON
ONEIDA
LAFAYETTE
RICHLAND
ADAMS
CLARK
JACKSON
WAUSHARA
LANGLADE
MARQUETTE
WASHBURN
BAYFIELD
TAYLOR
GREEN LAKE
MENOMINEE
PEPIN
BURNETT
ASHLAND
FLORENCE
FOREST
IOWA
KEWAUNEE
PRICE
SHAWANO
VILAS

IRON

RUSK

Total Motorcycle Crashes in 2015

20
18
18
16
16
15
15
15
15
15
12
11
11
10
10
10
10
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APPENDIX MC-7: MOTORCYCLE
AWARENESS OUTREACH PLAN 2016

\\\\\\\\IHW/@

= 7 4 5 5

S Z Wisconsin Department of Transportation

% é-‘-: www.wisconsindot.gov

= &

'/’//,? \ﬁt\\ Scott Walker Mark Gottlieb, P.E. Division of State Patrol
ﬂfﬂlm\\\\ Governor Secretary Bureau of Transportation Safety

4802 Sheboygan Ave.
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May 23, 2016 Telephone: 608-709-0099

To: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration T T

Re: Motorcycle Awareness and Outreach Plan 2016

The Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program supports the state's overall safety policy and countermeasure program.
In 2015, Wisconsin experienced 81 motorcyclist fatalities, with approximately 60% (49/81) of those fatalities
occurring in the southeastern portion of the state where the majority of the population resides. There were 201,320
motorcycle registrations in the southeast region in 2015, which was 55% of the state total. Since 57% (1,255 /
2,221) of Wisconsin's motorcycle crashes happened in the southeast region, this area is being targeted in 2016
for numerous activities intended to reduce crashes and fatalities. Although the southeast region is being targeted
for programming, events and activities of the -Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program will happen throughout
the state.

In 2010, the Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program of the Wisconsin Department of Transportation launched
its Transportable High-End Rider Education Facility (THE REF), a 42-foot-long trailer containing two classrooms
and a garage area in the rear. One of those classrooms houses two traffic simulators with actual motorcycle controls,
while the other classroom contains a variety of audio-visual components, two of which are large interactive
computer screens. The rear-most portion of the trailer houses three training motorcycles which are used to conduct
an Introductory Motorcycle Experience activity, which targets prospective motorcyclists. The two primary goals
and objectives of THE REF are to:

* Promote motorcycle awareness and provide information regarding motorcycles and motorcyclists to the
general motoring public.

* Meet members of the motorcycling community face to face to promote motorcycle safety, motorcycle
training opportunities, and motorcyclist risk reduction techniques.

On an annual basis, THE REF spends 83 days at events and activities that are not only geared toward the motor-
cycling community, but events and activities that attract vast segments of the general public. For 2016, the
Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program's THE REF and its staff are once again making a concerted effort to target
and participate in both motorcycle-specific and general motoring public events and activities in areas where the

greatest numbers of motorcycle fatalities occurred in 2015.

In February of 2016, at the Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program's Annual Spring Kick-Off, staff from the
Wisconsin Bureau of Transportation Safety (BOTS) and the Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program's adminis-
trative staff visited with Wisconsin rider education and training staff from nearly all rider training sites throughout
Wisconsin to discuss the final implementation of the new basic rider education course curriculum in Wisconsin,
as well as discuss the means by which we can reduce motorcycle crashes and fatalities. Further, since a significant
number of our rider education training sites are located within our 2016 target areas, we are making additional
efforts to provide those sites with the necessary resources to make a difference in the reduction of crashes and
fatalities in Wisconsin.
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Continuing in 2016, and in partnership with ABATE and the Wisconsin Department of Tourism, an expanded
campaign is in place to further promote motorcycle awareness to the general motoring public and motorcycle
safety for motorcyclists through the use of radio and television PSAs in high fatality rate target areas and
throughout the state. In addition, motorcycle awareness promotional materials are being posted in highly traveled
areas, information centers, rest areas, and businesses that cater to motorcyclists. Further, numerous electronic
billboards have been selected in strategic locations and are being employed to remind the general motoring public

of the presence of motorcycles on Wisconsin roadways.

Since the early spring of 2009, WMSP and BOTS staff members have been conducting an in-depth analysis of
all Wisconsin motorcycle fatalities in an effort to establish an accurate profile of those motorcyclists involved in
fatalities and establish appropriate countermeasures to reduce motorcycle crashes and fatalities. To that end,
BOTS staff members study and analyze MV4000 Crash Reports, corresponding narratives, coroner reports, as
well as crash reconstruction documents. Performing this analysis over a number of years provides us with critical
information pertaining to where these crashes and fatalities most often occur.

In 1990, the Wisconsin DOT and the Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program established the Wisconsin Motor-
cycle Safety Advisory Council (MoSAC), which reports to the Department of Transportation Secretary. The
council is comprised of key members of the motorcycling community as well as law enforcement, highway
engineering, rider education, and others. The council typically meets on a quarterly basis contingent upon need.
In recent years the primary focus of the council has been to establish the means by which to reduce motorcycle

fatalities and promote motorist awareness.

To reduce motorcycle crashes and fatalities, beginning in 2010 and continuing through 2016, the Wisconsin
Motorcycle Safety Program is continuing to build its partnership with the Motorcycle Safety Foundation in a
concerted effort to provide a variety of appropriate levels of rider education to address all members of the motor-
cycling community. The overall function of the rider education program is to not only improve the skill level of
all participating motorcyclists, but to influence motorcyclists' attitudes, behaviors, choices, and decision making

in a positive manner to reduce crashes and fatalities.

Through analysis of motorcycle crashes, it is evident that motorcycle awareness on the part of the general motoring
public is a key component to reducing crashes and fatalities. A key issue that continues to be a contributing
factor to multiple vehicle crashes is the fact that motorists claim to have not seen the motorcycle. As a result, and
via an ongoing campaign through the WISDOT Radio Newsline, motorists are encouraged to Look Twice for
motorcyclists as they enter the driver's field of vision, change lanes, or approach intersections. In addition,

motorists are also continually encouraged to Share the Roadways with motorcyclists.

In 2016 WisDOT is partnering with ABATE in a campaign to encourage mutual respect between Wisconsin
motorists and motorcyclists.

Once again in 2016, Wisconsin has proclaimed May as Motorcycle Awareness Month by Governor Scott Walker,
urging Wisconsin motorists to Share the Road with motorcycles. WisDOT/BOTS partners with a wide variety
of law enforcement agencies on an annual basis to perform high visibility enforcement at major Wisconsin motor-
cycling events and activities as well as target areas where there were a high number of crashes and fatalities. In
2016, grants have been written to local, county, and state law enforcement agencies where those fatalities have
occurred in 2015 and may likely occur again in 2016.

Sincerely,
David Pabst

Director, Bureau of Transportation Safety

Wisconsin Department of Transportation
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WISCONSIN 2015 MOTORCYCLE REGISTRATIONS, MOTORCYCLE CRASHES, AND
FATALITIES OF MOTORCYCLISTS BY COUNTY IN TARGET REGIONS FOR FFY 2017
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F = fatalities of motorcyclists in 2015 49 fatalities (60% of the state total)
MR = motorcycle registrations in 2015
C = motorcycle crashes in 2015

1,255 motorcycle crashes (57% of the state total)
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201,320 motorcycle registrations (55% of the state total)
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Wisconsin Motorcycle Safety Program Quality Improvement Process
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APPENDIX MC-8: WISCONSIN MOTORCYCLE SAFETY
PROGRAM QUALITY IMPROVEMENT PROCESS

It has always been the goal of the Wisconsin Motor-
cycle Safety Program to provide the best motorcycle
rider training opportunities possible for the members
of Wisconsin’s motorcycling community. To that end
a Technical Assistance Program was established back
in the 1980s to provide the WMSP with a means by
which to review and evaluate the various training sites
throughout the state.

It was determined that a tool was needed to provide a
uniform assessment of the various training sites. The
form that was developed and created was called a
Technical Assistance Report (TAR). Technical assis-
tance visits were scheduled and were conducted by
each of Wisconsin’s four chief instructors at the time.

Though the Technical Assistance Report was fairly
thorough in covering the many aspects of a rider
education program’s training site, the system lacked the
necessary follow-up to the initial visit, with the
majority of motorcycle safety instructors considering
the assessment process to interfere with their work at
the training sites. The TAR was developed so that chief
instructors conducting the technical assistance assess-
ments would instead be considered help agents and
coaches.

Over the years the original Technical Assistance Report
was modified, updated, simplified and reworked in the
hopes of improving the overall quality assurance
process and thereby improving the quality of the
training being provided. The follow-up process
improved somewhat, and to some degree the uniform
delivery of the curriculums being provided were kept
in check... one of the most difficult problems to

address is what is referred to as “instructor drift.” This

term describes what occurs when individual instructors
or groups of instructors at a training site begin to put
their own spin on the curriculum materials. .. i.e. make
their own changes to the manner in which the
classroom material is delivered and/or the range
exercises are conducted.

In recent years, the Motorcycle Safety Foundation
(MSF), which develops, tests, and disseminates the vast
majority of the available rider education training
materials, became increasingly interested in a formal-
ization of the quality assurance process as it pertains to
the delivery of their curriculums by the various states
and military bases.

Wisconsin, always striving to be the leader as well as
an innovator in rider education, began working with
MSF staff in 2010 to develop the MSF Quality
Assurance User Guide, quality assurance visit forms,
and the overall quality assurance process in general.
The MSF provides the necessary quality assurance
materials and training, as well as providing a data
warehouse within which all of the quality assurance
assessment data generated via their on-line form is
stored. A few of the key components of the quality
assurance system are understanding gap analysis,
understanding  motor-skill ~ development, and
curriculum rationale. The WMSP currently has 18
trained and certified quality assurance specialists
(QAS). This group of highly trained help agents and
coaches is focused on the goals and objectives of the
MSF and WMSP to maintain the Wisconsin program

as the leader in motorcycle rider education.
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