Skip to main content

NHTSA Announces Model Year 2024 Vehicles To Be Included In 5-Star Safety Ratings Tests

Agency also continues its work on significant safety updates for future ratings tests

| Washington, DC

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration announced its list of model year 2024 vehicles for crash testing as part of the agency’s 5-Star Safety Ratings system under its New Car Assessment Program. 

The listed vehicles represent approximately 86% of the new vehicle fleet, a broad cross section that will help consumers make purchasing decisions about the vehicles that best fit their needs. 

NHTSA’s New Car Assessment Program, the government’s premier consumer information program for evaluating vehicle safety, crash tests new vehicles and rates them on how well they protect occupants in frontal, side, and rollover crashes. Results from these tests are compiled into a rating of one to five stars, with five stars being the highest. 

“Our 5-Star Safety Ratings system continues to give Americans the information they need to choose the vehicle that’s right for them,” said Ann Carlson, NHTSA’s Acting Administrator. “The program also encourages vehicle manufacturers to incorporate advanced vehicle safety technologies into more makes and models, ultimately reducing injuries and deaths on America’s roads.” 

The vehicle safety ratings are displayed on the window sticker of new cars, and manufacturers routinely use them in advertising.

Model Year 2024 Vehicle Models Selected for 5-Star Safety Ratings Testing

Make Model Body Style
Buick Envision SUV
Cadillac Lyriq SUV
Chevrolet Blazer EV SUV
Chevrolet Equinox EV SUV
Chevrolet Silverado 1500 PU/EC
Chevrolet Silverado 2500 PU/CC
Chevrolet Traverse SUV
Chevrolet Trax SUV
Chrysler Pacifica PV
Ford Bronco (two door) SUV
Ford Mustang 2 DR
Ford Mustang Mach-E SUV
Ford Ranger (Super Crew) PU/CC
Genesis G80 4 DR
Genesis GV60 SUV
Honda HR-V SUV
Hyundai Elantra 4 DR
Hyundai Ioniq 5 SUV
Hyundai Kona SUV
Hyundai Santa Cruz PU/CC
Hyundai Santa Fe SUV
Hyundai Tucson SUV
Jeep Compass SUV
Jeep Grand Cherokee SUV
Jeep Wrangler (four door) SUV
Kia Carnival PV
Kia Seltos SUV
Kia Sportage SUV
Mazda CX-50 SUV
Mazda CX-90 MHEV SUV
Mazda CX-90 PHEV SUV
Mitsubishi Outlander SUV
Nissan Pathfinder SUV
Nissan Sentra 4 DR
Subaru Crosstrek SW
Subaru Impreza SW
Toyota Grand Highlander SUV
Toyota Tacoma PU/EC
Toyota Tundra PU/CC
VinFast VF8 SUV

Key: SUV – Sport Utility Vehicle, PU – Pickup, CC – Crew Cab, EC – Extended Cab, SW – Station Wagon, PV – Passenger Van

NHTSA also announced the list of vehicles it will test to verify the performance of certain advanced driver assistance systems. The technologies for evaluation are lane departure warning, forward collision warning, crash imminent braking and dynamic brake support.

Model Year 2024 Models Selected for Advanced Crash Avoidance Technology Systems Verification Testing

Make Model Body Style
Chevrolet Trax SUV
Ford Maverick PU/CC
Ford Ranger (Super Crew) PU/CC
Honda Civic 4 DR
Honda Pilot SUV
Hyundai Elantra 4 DR
Kia Telluride SUV
Land Rover Defender 110 SUV
Mazda CX-90 SUV
Nissan Rogue SUV
Subaru Crosstrek SW
Tesla Model Y SUV
Toyota Grand Highlander SUV
VinFast VF8 SUV
Volkswagen Atlas SUV
Volvo XC90 SUV

Key: SUV – Sport Utility Vehicle, PU – Pickup, CC – Crew Cab, SW – Station Wagon 

NHTSA is currently considering significant safety updates to its 5-Star Safety Ratings program. These updates are part of the Administration’s efforts to improve safety on our nation’s roads and will help fulfill requirements in the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, as well as the Department’s National Roadway Safety Strategy

For more on NCAP, please see

NHTSA 202-366-9550