Skip to main content

Public Hearing: Corporate Average Fuel Economy Standards


Virtual Event

Download a recording of this event

October 13, 2021
Begins: 9:30 a.m. ET
Ends: 6:00 p.m. ET

Based on the number of people who signed up to provide oral comments, this hearing will not go into a second day. All speakers have been scheduled to speak on October 13. 

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration is announcing a virtual public hearing to be held October 13, 2021, on its proposal for the “Corporate Average Fuel Economy Standards for Model Years 2024-2026 Passenger Cars and Light Trucks,” which was signed on August 5, and published in the Federal Register on September 3. This hearing also allows the public to provide oral comments regarding the Draft Supplemental Environmental Impact Statement that accompanies the proposal. For updates and additional information, visit

  • To watch the hearing (without providing oral comments): Indicate NO on the registration page that you do not wish to provide testimony.
  • To comment at the virtual hearing: Indicate YES on the registration page that you would like to provide comments. You will receive an email on October 11 with your approximate time to testify, and additional information about how to turn on your audio and camera to comment. Each commenter will have 3 minutes to provide oral testimony.

Within 24 hours of registering, you will receive an email with a link to join. If you do not receive that email or have questions about the hearing, please email


Last updated October 13, 8 a.m. ET

Oct. 13 | Time (ET)First NameLast NameOrganization (As submitted)
9:30 AMOpening Remarks
9:44 AMGregHarnedCenter for Biological Diversity
9:48 AMLaurieHolmesMEMA
9:52 AMKatherineGarciaSierra Club
9:56 AMSteveHendersonFord Motor Co.
10:00 AMPaulBillingsAmerican Lung Association
10:04 AMMichaelHartrickAlliance for Automotive Innovation
10:08 AMMathewPuthenpurackalUS Postal Service
10:12 AMDerekBlairRetired mechanical engineer
10:16 AMChristopherHartoConsumer Reports
10:20 AMMacDressmanU.S. PIRG
10:24 AMJonathonShevelewTesla Owners Club of Pennsylvania
10:35 AMDouglasGruenauIndividual
10:39 AMLynneM BaileyHurley NY Climate Smart Task Force
10:43 AMJuliaMcLaughlinAlliance of Nurses for Healthy Environments
10:47 AMAnnJaworskiEnvironmental Law & Policy Center
10:51 AMLauraBenderAmerican Lung Association
10:55 AMLizScottAmerican Lung Association
10:59 AMKevinStewartAmerican Lung Association in the Mid-Atlantic
11:03 AMMaxWengroffEnvironment America
11:07 AMLukeTonachel
11:11 AMJennaRiemenschneiderAsthma and Allergy Foundation of America
11:15 AMDevinWatkinsCompetitive Enterprise Institute
11:19 AMSamKazmanCompetitive Enterprise Institute
11:23 AMAndreaMarpillero-ColominaGreenLatinos
11:27 AMRJHarringtonSustainable Action Consulting PBC
11:35 AMJoshNassarThe International Union … (UAW)
11:39 AMScottHochbergCenter for Biological Diversity
11:43 AMJohnFuherGrowth Energy
11:47 AMDeaneWangNone
11:51 AMJamesTashjianMedical Doctor
11:55 AMRickGaston
11:59 AMMarkHardinNone
12:03 PMEdieM Sadowski
12:07 PMMichaelPanThe Veterans Health Administration
12:11 PMPawiterParhar
12:15 PMJennyChurchillSelf
12:19 PMAngelleBradfordSierra Club Delta Chapter
12:23 PMBeauBushor
12:27 PMShirleyFriersonAdvocates for Veterans Supportive Housings, Inc
1:00 PMStephenWymanEvolving electric motor company
1:04 PMBarinKulkarni
1:08 PMJohnnaThompson
1:12 PMFrederickMillerSelf
1:16 PMPatriciaKeefeClimate Committee of the Rochester Franciscans (MN)
1:20 PMJasonSherman
1:24 PMJeffreyAxelrod
1:28 PMNedSimon
1:32 PMTimBiglowRegistered California Voter, U.S. Citizen
1:36 PMFrankGranda
1:40 PMGregZahradnikZ Engineering
1:44 PMMindyTheroux
1:48 PMBenjaminGorman
1:52 PMWilliamAlvey
1:56 PMTomVan HeekeRivian Automotive LLC
2:05 PMAlexStavis
2:09 PMEleanorFarberSelf
2:13 PMBritHaddenInfinite Helpers Club
2:17 PMKostadinDyulgerski
2:21 PMMargaretOahranPersonal
2:25 PMKennColclasure
2:29 PMSallyTuckerNone
2:33 PMJenniferRoche
2:37 PMJoelZwald
2:41 PMCeciliaMeza
2:45 PMMichaelPetellleUnion of Concerned Scientists
2:49 PMMarcDrehsenUnion of Concerned Scientists
2:53 PMBethKarpfUnion of Concerned Scientists
2:57 PMDr. LindaSingermanUnion of Concerned Scientists
3:01 PMDr. RichardKannerUnion of Concerned Scientists
3:05 PMDr. ChristopherHaleUnion of Concerned Scientists
3:09 PMJonnaHamiltonUnion of Concerned Scientists
3:13 PMDr. JohnBodineUnion of Concerned Scientists
3:17 PMKeithPuntenneyUnion of Concerned Scientists
3:21 PMMarshaBuckUnion of Concerned Scientists
3:25 PMJuliaMcadooUnion of Concerned Scientists
3:29 PMKathyReiner, LNUnion of Concerned Scientists
3:33 PMGeorgeAgortsasSelf
3:37 PMScottShuler
3:41 PMJamesDrahovzalRetired
3:45 PMJenniferRentfleish
3:49 PMBillBradleeInterfaith Power & Light
3:53 PMRuthStriegelNew Mexico Interfaith Power and Light
3:57 PMSister JoanBrownNew Mexico Interfaith Power and Light
4:01 PMSandraHuckleberry
4:09 PMStevenSondheimSierra
4:13 PMWillAndersonSierra Club
4:17 PMBrigitteKondis
4:25 PMLioreMilgrom-GartnerCalifornia Interfaith Power & Light
4:29 PMQuintaWarrenConsumer Reports
4:35 PMChristinaKrostFaith in Place, Interfaith Power and Light (IL Affiliate)
4:39 PMRebeccaDuquesnoySheboygan Ozone Reduction Alliance
4:43 PMRebeccaClarkeSheboygan Ozone Reduction Alliance
4:47 PMDarrellClarke
4:51 PMGeralynLeannahRetired
4:55 PMDebraRappaportShir Tikvah Congregation
4:59 PMDanielSwartzCoalition on the Environment and Jewish Life
5:03 PMCassandraCarmichaelNational Religious Partnership for the Environment
5:07 PMDannyKatzCoPIRG (Colorado Public Interest Research Group)
5:11 PMMarkCooperConsumer Federation of America
5:15 PMMarkRoseNational Parks Conservation Association
5:19 PMDarienDavisLeague of Conservation Voters (LCV)
5:23 PMMarionKaple
5:27 PMKennColclasure
5:31 PMAviMerskyACEEE
5:39 PMJeanLarsonUnion of Concerned Scientists
5:43 PMNoahHoweCeres
5:51 PMRamonCruzSierra Club
5:59 PMClosing Remarks
Schedule of Speakers

The following NHTSA representatives are scheduled to listen to the oral comments: 

  • Dr. Steven Cliff, Acting Administrator, NHTSA
  • Ann Carlson, Chief Counsel, NHTSA
  • Ryan Posten, Associate Administrator, Rulemaking, NHTSA
  • Rebecca Schade, Attorney Advisor, NHTSA 
  • Vinay Nagabhushana, Engineer, Office of Fuel Economy Program, NHTSA
  • Gregory Powell, Engineer, Office of Fuel Economy Program, NHTSA
  • Hannah Fish, Attorney Advisor, NHTSA
  • Seiar Zia, Engineer, Office of Fuel Economy Program, NHTSA
  • Walter Lysenko, Engineer, Office of Fuel Economy Program, NHTSA 
  • Joseph Bayer, Engineer, Office of Fuel Economy Program, NHTSA
  • Paul Connet, Attorney Advisor, NHTSA
  • Bahman Habibzadeh, Engineer, Office of Fuel Economy Program, NHTSA

NHTSA is committed to providing equal access to this event for all participants. Closed captioning will be available. People with disabilities who need additional accommodations should send a request to no later than October 7.

Related link: