Skip to main content

NHTSA Announces Model Year 2023 Vehicles To Be Included in 5-Star Safety Ratings Tests

| Washington, DC

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration announced its list of model year 2023 vehicles for crash testing as part of the agency’s 5-Star Safety Ratings system under its New Car Assessment Program. 

These vehicles represent approximately 86% of the new vehicle fleet, a broad cross section that will help consumers make purchasing decisions about the vehicles that best fit their needs. 

NHTSA’s New Car Assessment Program, the government’s premier consumer information program for evaluating vehicle safety, crash tests new vehicles and rates them on how well they protect occupants in frontal, side and rollover crashes. Results from these tests are compiled into a rating of one to five stars, with five stars being the highest.

“Safety is at the heart of everything we do at NHTSA. Our 5-Star Safety Ratings system gives Americans the information they need to consider safety performance in their vehicle choice,” said Ann Carlson, NHTSA’s Acting Administrator. “The program also helps reduce injuries and deaths by spurring vehicle manufacturers to incorporate vehicle safety technologies more broadly in more makes and models.”

The vehicle safety ratings are displayed on the window sticker of new cars, and manufacturers routinely use them in advertising.

Model Year 2023 Vehicle Models Planned for 5-Star Safety Ratings Testing

Make Model Body Style
Audi Q7 SUV
Audi Q8 SUV
Chevrolet Colorado PU/CC
Chevrolet Malibu 4 DR
Ford Explorer Gas SUV
Genesis GV70 SUV
Honda Accord Sedan 4 DR
Honda CR-V SUV
Honda HR-V SUV
Honda Pilot SUV
Hyundai Santa Cruz PU/CC
Jeep Grand Cherokee SUV
Jeep Grand Cherokee PHEV SUV
Jeep Wagoneer SUV
Jeep Wrangler Unlimited PHEV SUV
Kia Niro SUV
Kia Sportage SUV
Kia Telluride SUV
Lexus GX 460 SUV
Lexus RX 350 SUV
Mazda CX-30 SUV
Mazda CX-50 SUV
Mazda Mazda3 4 DR
Mini Countryman 5 HB
Mitsubishi Outlander SUV
Nissan Ariya SUV
Nissan Armada SUV
Rivian R1S SUV
Subaru Solterra SUV
Toyota Prius 5 HB
Volkswagen Tiguan SUV

Key: HB – Hatchback, SUV – Sport Utility Vehicle, PU – Pickup, CC – Crew Cab

NHTSA also announced the list of vehicles it will test to verify the performance of certain Advanced Driver Assistance Systems. The technologies for evaluation are lane departure warning, forward collision warning, crash imminent braking and dynamic brake support.

Model Year 2023 Vehicle Models Planned for Advanced Crash Avoidance Technology Systems Verification Testing

Make Model Body Style
Buick Encore GX SUV
Cadillac Lyriq SUV
Chevrolet Traverse SUV
Ford Bronco SUV
Honda CR-V SUV
Honda HR-V SUV
Hyundai Tucson HEV SUV
Kia Sorento SUV
Lexus RX 350 SUV
Mazda CX-50 SUV
Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class SUV
Nissan Ariya SUV
Rivian R1T PU/CC
Subaru Outback SW
Toyota Corolla 4 DR
Volkswagen Jetta 4 DR
Volvo XC60 B5 AWD SUV

Key: SUV – Sport Utility Vehicle, PU – Pickup, CC – Crew Cab, SW – Station Wagon 

NHTSA is working to finalize the significant safety updates the agency proposed in March 2022 to its 5-Star Safety Ratings program. The proposed updates included expanded testing of ADAS and a 10-year roadmap for future NCAP updates. These improvements are part of the Biden-Harris Administration’s efforts to improve safety on our nation’s roads and will help fulfill requirements included in the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, as well as the Department’s National Roadway Safety Strategy.

For more on NCAP, please see

NHTSA 202-366-9550