Skip to main content

NHTSA Announces Winners of 2021 Public Service Awards

| Washington, DC

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration announced the 15 winners of the 2021 NHTSA Public Service Awards today. 

“Safety is NHTSA’s top priority, and we depend on our local and state safety partners to help us save lives on our nation’s roads. These 15 highway safety professionals have all made a difference in their communities, and their service is an example to us all,” said NHTSA Acting Administrator Dr. Steven Cliff. 

Dr. Cliff presented the awards at the virtual 2021 Lifesavers National Conference on Highway Safety Priorities on April 27. The conference is the nation’s largest gathering of highway safety professionals. 

The NHTSA Public Service Award winners will receive plaques engraved with the following citations: 

  • Robert F. Dallas, Esquire, transportation policy and law attorney, Buckley King LPA, Atlanta: For your dedicated work as a community advocate for traffic safety programs and legislation in Georgia.
  • Officer Frank Enko, Baltimore County Police Department, Dundalk, Maryland: For your extensive efforts to deliver advanced traffic safety training to the Maryland law enforcement community.
  • Sergeant Glen Glaser Jr., state DRE coordinator, California Highway Patrol, Rancho Murrieta, California: For your outstanding efforts to maintain the California DRE program through training and re-certification during the pandemic.
  • Captain William R. Haynes, retired, New Hampshire State Police, Center Barnstead, New Hampshire: For your leadership in dramatically changing the culture of motor vehicle occupant protection in New Hampshire.
  • Scott Kristiansen, Law Enforcement Liaison Supervisor, Illinois Department of Transportation, Lake Villa, Illinois: For your innovative development of a data-driven law enforcement agency recruitment plan to maximize participation in Illinois’ highway safety programs.
  • Lisa Kelloff, Safer New Mexico Now, Albuquerque, New Mexico: In recognition of your leadership in the traffic safety community and for championing key legislation to advance traffic safety in New Mexico. 
  • Stacey Manware, Esquire, Deputy Director, Connecticut Superior Court Operations: For your efforts to implement, promote, and share Connecticut’s online adjudication (e-adjudication) system.
  • Dr. J. Matthew Martin, tribal court fellow, American Bar Association: In recognition of your efforts to foster a better understanding of the judiciary’s role in promoting traffic safety and providing educational opportunities for tribal court judges.
  • Jerrod Moore, Tabatha Harris and Jodee Dennison, The Tribal Injury Prevention Resource Center, Albuquerque, New Mexico: For your dedication to delivering technical assistance and training to promote evidence-based best practices in motor vehicle safety throughout Indian Country.  
  • Nancy Scharenbroich, impaired driving prevention advocate, From the H.E.A.R.T, Sioux Falls, South Dakota: For your advocacy and commitment to impaired driving prevention through outreach and education in South Dakota.
  • Corporal Kyle Wills, Boise Police Department, Boise, Idaho: For the development of the traffic law enforcement engagement program, ensuring positive interactions and outreach throughout the Boise community.
  • Karen C. Wittman, Deputy District Attorney, Wyandotte County District Attorney’s Office, Wyandotte, Kansas: For your commitment to reducing impaired driving through traffic safety education, advocacy, enforcement, and prosecution. 

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Patrick J. Hoye, retired, Iowa Governor’s Traffic Safety Bureau: In recognition of your steadfast leadership, vision, and commitment to reducing traffic safety injuries and fatalities in Iowa and across the country.

More in Other