Skip to main content
Research & Data

State Data Programs

Not-in-Traffic Surveillance (NiTS)  

The Not-in-Traffic Surveillance (NiTS) system is a virtual data collection system designed to provide counts and details regarding fatalities and injuries that occur in non-traffic crashes and in non-crash incidents. NiTSnon-traffic crash data is obtained through NHTSA’s National Automotive Sampling System, General Estimates System and the Fatality Analysis Reporting System. NiTS non-crash injury data is based upon emergency department records from a special study conducted by the Consumer Product Safety Commission’s National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (NEISS) All Injury Program. NiTS non-crash fatality data is derived from death certificate information from the Centers for Disease Control’s National Vital Statistics System.

Crash Outcome Data Evaluation System (CODES)  

Crash data alone do not fully reveal the medical and financial consequences of motor vehicle crashes. Linking crash, vehicle, and behavior characteristics to their specific medical and financial outcomes provides a more comprehensive understanding of motor vehicle crash outcomes. Crash prevention and mitigation factors can also be identified through data linkage. From 1992 to 2013, NHTSA worked with States to develop data linkage programs under the CODES effort.  State CODES programs became fully autonomous in 2013.

Model Minimum Uniform Crash Criteria (MMUCC)  

The MMUCC Guideline, funded by NHTSA, is collaboratively developed with the Governor’s Highway Safety Association (GHSA), FHWA and FMCSA, State DOT and law enforcement agencies, as well as other prominent traffic safety stakeholders.  MMUCC consists of a recommended minimum set of data elements for States to include in their crash forms and databases.