Skip to main content
Highway Safety Grants Program

Automated Traffic Enforcement Surveys

Fiscal Year 2020


Beginning with Fiscal Year (FY) 2018, the Fixing America‚Äôs Surface Transportation (FAST) Act requires States that have automated traffic enforcement systems installed to conduct a biennial survey that: lists the automated enforcement systems in the State; provides adequate data to measure the transparency, accountability, and safety of each system; and provides a comparison of each automated traffic enforcement system with the Speed Enforcement Camera Systems Operational Guidelines (DOT HS 810 916, March 2008) and the Red Light Camera Systems Operations Guidelines (FHWA-SA-05-002, January 2005). These surveys are due on March 1 every other year starting March 1, 2018.

The surveys from States with these systems are listed below.

Automated Enforcement Survey Documents

The following states have certified that automated traffic enforcement systems are not used on any public roads in their State:

Alaska, American Samoa, Arkansas, Connecticut, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Indian Nations, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Mariana Islands, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Nevada, North Dakota, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.